(2006/10) OCTOBER 2006 MTB

Hi I went to Stemcord exhibition and bump into Vivian. We both paid $50 to log ourselves in, and if don't want just have to waste the $50. Vivian and I decide that we can help each other save $100 by doing this. I cite someone as my referral and split the $100 referral fee 50-50, then someone cite me as her referral and we split the $100 50-50 again, so each person will save $100.

I read from their websites to know who's their foudner and my gynae told me too. My only worry abt Stemcord is whether they're financially viable. Cos they are new and they are not as big as Cordlife who has banks in Aust, Thailand, China, HK, America, Indonesia, Philippines, UK, Others. However, Stemcord assured us that should they really really decide to end their business, they will always get an alternative bank to help storage and like Selina say, they're planning for expansion.
Cordlife is preferred by some cos it's AABB acredited, while Stemcord claim to follow AABB's procedures strictly, it's currently approved by MOH only but not AABB acredited.
Cordlife will charge for transfer of the cordblood when it is required for transplant, but stem cord will not if it's being transplanted in Spore.

In yesterday's promotion, the $50 is for registration, and the rest of the money goes to the respective hospital we're in. I think GlenE and a few other charge $400, TMC $450, SGH & KKH $500 and NUH $0. So the price range from $50-$550. The usual price was $1150.

All these info I learn from their websites. I'm still contemplating but most likely will go to Stemcord if Hb has no issue.

bbgrace, oh, it's near mosque? We did not really racky since we're no longer house hunting. Lor M is still not as ideal as Lor N in terms of walking to roadside to take taxi or bus or to go to the amenities. Good Luck on your house search.

daisybutton, just to answer your qn on stemcord's storage. Well, it doesn't make sense for currently use, but if R&D manage to improve within our/our children's life time for stemcell to be used in rejuvenating organs, etc, we may only need a tube for each process, thus their storage system. Why do you have to make the decision by your gynae visit tomorrow?

Gemini, I did pre-admission cos Wei Kuan ask me abt it so I asked my gynae abt it during my visit for her. And well, the nurse told the admin staff who do it for me when I do my payment...Well, at least settled liao so one more thing off my mind.

Hi Coral

i bought it fr westmall..also saw it at bugis few weeks ago..

i just bought this jap green tea cone fr 7-11 today which taste good and leaves no color on my tongue. Contains red bean inside soemmore. Somemore , it is only 1 buck, compared to the uzumaki one at 4 bucks !

Sorry for MIAing these few days. Been busy with lots of things. Today is school reopen day, so work work work...

Anyway, Rhys and I are fine except this little boy is very active recently. Last nite, maybe he too excited for mummie to start work today, so din not want to sleep... in the end, his poor mummie, me, have no good sleep last nite... got to wake up early somemore... *yawning*

Selina, I also set my next checkup on 1 Aug liao... hee... so that I can see him on my birthday and celebrate with his papa after that... hee... *wink*

STEMCORD
========
So nice to meet Coral that day during the roadshow and as she had explained, both of us paid the $50. Think most of the things, coral have alrady explained in details liao... hee... Me very blur one, only pay the money and get out of there...
And mmummyjoy, stemcord DO COLLECT from MT.A, $400.
Hey, me and coral are thinking that if more mtbs are signing up stemcord, we can refer each other and get $100 rebates lor... anyone interested?
So far, got me, coral, selina liao... who else? Diapers very ex leh... must save more money... haha...

FOX BB
======
Wah lao... I bought my rompers and blanket liao then sale!!! Peh Chei leh... sad and angry...

DRYING RACK
===========
I finally bought one from carrefour liao... but haven take pic. Will upload here once I got the pic.

DOREEN
======
I love the polo romper!! I also want!!!!

Halo ladies,

Have been MIA for so long... miss all of you here.

I have been sooo busy with my work(Stressed! stressed! stressed!) that no time to come in but do glance through some postings lah.

How are all the mummies here? I will be seeing my gal gal this thursday, if i'm not wrong, in my 29th weeks liao.

my bb gal very active at night and will protest if i miss her meals, haha...

So everyone here looking forward to the DAY??? must be lah since we have been through so much, this is the day where we get to see this little bb who has been in us for 10 months.

Do take care ladies, will try to come in when i'm free.

coral, thanks.
I am going for my scan and gynae appt on the 26/7 and will ask gynae to let me fill up the pre-admission form, so hubby on the actual day can accompany me and not spent a long time filling up forms.

470984.png

delphine, i am not sure if i am looking forward for that day, too scared to think abt it. happy but also fear.

went to cut my hair today, cannot tahan the weather this few days, now regret, i need another 2 to 3 mths to grow back my hair.

Hi hi ladies..
Me on leave today to clear some of the stuff..managed to confirm the baby cot at last..bought the BabyCraft cot (white color) from Taka at last..felt more comfy with the height of the cot coz i think i felt my arms are shorter so easier for me ba..paid$319 in total..didnt get the Taurus cot from Baby Kingdom..tmrw got to go bck to work..duno why..it's not a nice feeling that I have to know that I need to go back to work tmrw..seems like things are so diff aft wat happened last wk for me at work..now I just want to get over July fast..

Hi hi selina..
Oh..u went to get a deal at the stemcord exhibition ahh..ok..gd that u r able to make the decision as well..how much do u have to pay for the package?i was thinking that I might need a few pieces to bring along to the hospital so since I m bored at home..might as well wash them lor..glad that my dad is ard to help me hang the laundry as well..then I just packed them into the ziplock bags then into the plastic drawers..i will see how it goes..maybe aft I delivered, I might wash them again with water and sun it b4 I let baby wear ba..but I realized the Kodomo bb laundry detergent has quite a lot of foam..i hope I didn't pour in too much ba..keke..now only left the misc lik cottons buds/balls & bb lotions not settle yet..also not got the bottle cleanser & sterilizer..hehe..actually me now using the J&J products..even shampoo also..so next time will share with bb as well..

Hi hi mummyjoy..
I guess ziplock bags are the best ba..at least just squeeze out the air & zip them up..easier to pack ba..

Hi hi Doreen..
Thks for sharing on the sale at fox..thks..

Hi hi coral & vivian..
Can tell me more abt the cost breakdown on Stemcord, I will discuss out with hubby & see wat he say...thks..thks..

helo selina and coral, thanks for replying hehehe. hhhmmm... i see. but u know hor, i can't help wondering how do we get unbiased information abt these 2? coz each webby will tout their advantages and defend their practice. about the storing in 4 vials, coral i know what you mean. true, if R&D advance, theres so many things we can do. but thing is, right now hor, in non-profit webbies or public cord blood banking webbies, they say that for a child below 4yrs old, usually need one full cord blood collection to save him. for one below 8kg, 2 person's cord blood. the argument follows that actually that amount of cord blood collected at birth is rarely enough.also hor, they say for most diseases needing stem cells to cure, most of them already present during birth. that means its likely that if the cord blood is collected for one baby and the baby grows up to develop something or other, his cord blood can't be used anyway. in fact, storage of cord blood is more for the sake of the siblings or family members than for the baby himself. at least thats what i read, thats why i super confused now. many ppl, after realising this, are opting to donate their baby's cord blood to SCBB (public bank). me have been pondering over this for so long but have not come to conclusion.
even my gynae says she feels its not necc....

oh, to ur question, why i need to let her know by tmlw, is i am 32 weeks tmlw. she prefers i let her know early whether i wish to store or donate, and if store, store with which bank. she needs it in her records so she knows what to prepare on the day of birth.

ooops. paiseh, thread crash and wrote so lo soh a post hehehe.

Vivian
Buy liao no qi gek lah got excuse to buy again lor....hehe
Me also bought a few liao than go sale so ask hubby to go again....hehe
Anyway cos sale not so much design to choose liao.

Mummyjoy
Me went to the Fox Baby at Suntec. Think Marina one also quite big maybe will have more stock if U wanna go. But the newborn size some look small also can get the 3-6 mths stock up lor....haha
Me very KS one.

ilovemybabyg
hehe cannot control our shopping aah me just told hubby we got to stop buying cos like enough liao for now but got sale.
Who can resist....hahaha
But lucky hubby saw the rompers n he like it a lot too so he dun object to me buying more....hehe

Infact right after we collect the ON rompers go home he ask me to surf the net for more baby clothes to order.

wendy,
don't need to buy the baby lotion yet.
Sometimes the hospital pack will have some freebies which includes samples of baby lotion.
Anyway, SG weather is so hot that i don't think you'll need lots of it unless bb is in aircon the whole day. Just make do with the samples first and then get them later.

daisybuttons,
i know what you mean.
I've stored the cordblood for my #1. Did it at 33-34 weeks. This time round, i won't be doing it for #2 cos i figured the cord blood would have a chance of being compatible between siblings.
i'm all for donating my cordblood this time round but recall reading somewhere that there's a charge for them to come collect from private hospital.
here i am, thinking of not wasting the cordblood, but to pay in order to donate it, i will have to think twice.

hi babygrace, yah loh u still have to pay to donate? hhhmmm.....maybe u can confirm this by calling SCBB. btw, if can store for the 2nd offspring, wun it benefit the 1st offspring then? coz 1st child's cord blood likely cannot be used for himself mah. me just thinking out loud. last night discussing with hubby about this, he said let's just store with private bank, at least for the first child. as to stemcord or cordlife....still not decided....

doreen, TQ for the sales info., just saw the polo rompers no more stock
I very suaku, fox BB marina has branch? can't recall seeing in their website.

hi morning wendy, nice to be on leave once in a while to relax...tis morning i managed to win food voucher again hehehe its a high tea frm Marina Mandarin

i decided to get luckybaby cot white colour frm Cheong choon selling $319, free mattress and 5 pc bedding, tink similar to urs

Nowadays bb kick very actively esp evening and morning...sometimes v hard ro slp at nite

vivian,
nice to hear from you again and know that Rhys is doing fine and being active lately. think the stemcord thingy, besides you, me and coral, think gemini also signed up. i will ask my gynae the next time i see him and see what he says ba... the most forfeit the $50 only lor...

coral,
tks for the info on stemcord and cordlife. me really dunno which is better than which. like vivian me also damn blur lor.

delphine,
i'm looking fwd to THE DAY too but mixed feelings actually. Happy and excited while at the same time scared and worried. Happy to be reliefed of a burden and all the uncomfortable feeling of nausea etc, excited to be able to see my boy very soon, scared cos not sure what to expect etc, worried cos not sure if i can be a good mummy.

bb clothes
==========
fox clothes are nice but i realised the material not very good so i did not buy too many from there. so far only bought i long sleeves for my boy to wear at night. we bought 3 pants for my boy last fri cos my 2nd attempt to buy pants for him from jshoopers failed again cos the design OOS. went taka and saw sale 3 for $10 so hb say buy. bought 3 different sizes 0-3, 3-6 & 6-12 mths. so can slowly wear until cannot wear lor. anyway not ex so ok lah.

bb lotion
=========
agree with babygrace. me prob wont get any lotion cos got samples at home so will use them since i reckon wont use alot even if we do use it. my boy will most prob sleep in aircon with us at night only then only apply lotion ba. day time will let him sleep with fan on. so now must go buy fan for my room...

daisybuttons,
dun worry got thread crashing.

wendy,
tks for informing on the kodomo detergent. me bought another brand of liquid detergent for my mum to use. will alert her not to put too much. but i reckon she will end up washing them by hand.

hi selina,
yeah....my MIL definitely will wash bb clothes by hand. she oredi said early, bb clothes very easy to wash coz all small. she prefer to wash by hand. but then if she didnt wash for me, i oso will hand wash ba...

hi wendy,
glad to hear tat u finally bought bb cot. So, when u ask taka to deliver to ur hse? now arr, everyday i can see bb cot (in another room), its make me so excited to wait for bb deliver. my hb even said bb so small, but the bb cot so big, he sure very comfortable one.
i saw the cappella stroller at metro. me & hb do agree wif u tat this model (707) is better than tat one we saw (S-228). I do check wif winnie frm CC, they sell it at $220 (much cheaper than metro $249). Sure will get from CC if we wanna buy stroller, but not now ba,,,
thanks for ur recomm S-707.

Mummyjoy, I did not say stemcord don't collect fm Mt A leh. i only listed a few that I remember, haha, didn't know you expect me to list the full list. Me at work so don't have all the info with me.

Diasybuttons, acutally, the saving in 4 tube is just an extra step for probable future use, but might be just a redundant step if technology don't advance fast enuf...Actually I'm not saying it's a real plus point, but was just relating what the stemcord person said.

Actually, I don't have any preference for either one. To me pros and cons for both lah. Depend on how one choose. At first I was thinking I'll only bank for 1st child, but then the chance of compatitbility between siblings is only 25% , so if anything happens to 2nd child and 1st child's one not compatible, will my 2nd child think I'm unfair to only bank for Jie Jie? Hehe, thinking very far ahead...just some thoughts that come to mind when considering all these stuff. I hope this wkend will have chance to share all these info with hb so he can help me make a decision too. I was keen to go public banking, but then again, as a parent to be a bit selfish, want to do my best for my child...My gynae say as a practioner, he should encourage public banking so more life can be save. And if one go for private, it's really like investing in the future when technology is so advance that it can be use for things like anti-aging, etc...So no straight ans, see how we choose...

Wendy, the promo over. Now flat fee of $1150.

hi hi babygrace..
dun think my hospital give us any samples leh..i think hor..only some milk powder samples leh..alamak..in that case, i might not be getting the lotion liao..probably just get the Ru-yi-you will do ma..kekeke..also the misc cotton buds etc..sterilizer also..oh ya..receiving blanket also..thks..

hi hi aspialle..
on leave also cannot take my mind off work also no gd lah..i think i must learn to relax myself more ba..but was gd that i kept mysef occupied over the wkends washing up the clothes..haha..wow..u so lucky ahh..win food vouchers again..so nice..i think the luckybaby one is not as high leh the height to carry baby..is the luckybaby cot also displayed at robinson & tangs?

hi hi selina..
ya..i also didnt know..then realised like alot of foam even thou we follow the instructions to match how many litres of water to how many cap..then i realised seems like a lot of foam..so this time round..i will take note not to put so much lor..i got to even scoop up the foam from the washing machine..if ur mum is gg to wash a lot..then better ask her to use the washing machine ba..

hi hi jasmine..
ya..at least things are settled also gd lor..i ask them to deliver by end of sept..i think shd be ok ba..by then..oh..u went to see the carpella stroller too ahh..ya..find that one (707) better...somemore got reversible handle also..then basket quite big also..not bad la..ya, CC is selling at $220..not very ex..are u getting the blue color one as well?

hi Selina,

Dun worry too much, like me just take one step at a time ba...
we will pick up at different stages when the baby is born & practice make perfect.

Hi selina,

Yup, my hb have signed up with stemcord, but have not checked with gynae whether is it wise for me to do so. Same as u, if decided dun want, forfeit the $50. I think my hb also pay $50.

Dun worry too much, talking of worrying, I should worry more than the rest of you. I felt very guilty cos "indirectly" my gal is also absorbing my medication esp now my dosage has been increased. Now just hope that my gal grow up healthy.

Hi coral,

I did not know that the compatibility between siblings is only 25%, quite low. I see your point on public banking but if I'm not mistaken, they do not collect from some private hospitals. I'm quite blur on such things.

Gemini, you're right. They still have not been given the approval by a few private hospital to do collection there. Can't remember which are the ones they can go to. Gemini, I don't mean only 25% compatitbility btw sibilings, but I mean only 25% chance of total compatitibility btw siblings. This is the same case as bone marrow.

delphine, gemini,
i know. guess i'm called 'superparanoid_mtb" for a reason ba....

bumper playmat
==============
chanced upon a BP for bummper playmat and got this piece at S$119.20 (after 20% discount). U.P. S$149.

Size : 1800 x 1250 mm
Thickness : 11 mm

Material : soft PVC (non-toxic)

here's to share:
471509.jpg

Hi selina,

i saw some playmats at Mini Toons too. More designs, like Pooh, Thomas & friends, etc. but i'm not sure whether it's the same as the one you have bought.

Hi Gemini,

The ones selling at mini toons are not the same quality and material as the 1 Selina bot. those are call floormat, made of PE material, SSW oso carries them. the 1 Selina bot is called bumper playmat, made of soft PVC, the texture is much much softer. I hv both, bot frm previous BP. am tinkg of getting 1 more of the bumper playmat but stil cant decide wic design i want. mayb will wait n c if they'll bring in new designs.

u can refer to the SSW website to check out the diff.

Floormat:
http://www.smallsmallworld.com/children%20floormat.htm

Bumper playmat:
http://www.smallsmallworld.com/bumper_playmat.htm

Hope this helps. :)

Bunny, why do we need floormat/playmat? Is it bcos they're softer, so bb won't hurt themselves if they play on them and also more hygenic than playing on the floor?

Gemini, i oso din knw the diff at 1st, so went to buy the floormat since its cheaper. later, saw feedback in the forum abt the bumper playmat, so decided to give it a try since i intend to get 1 more place 1 in the rm and 1 in the living hall so tat i dun need to bring in n out all the time. no regrets for paying more, the bumper playmat is really soft n cooling, even my hb oso like to lie on it.

Hi Coral,

its something like those ABC mats, u lay it on the floor for ur baby to roll n crawl, n u don hv to worry they'll hurt themselves when they fall. but of cos u mus make sure ur bb is w/in the mat lah... hee.. gd to use on cold weather oso as our floor will be quite cold, so don ned to worry if ur bb will feel cold if they lie or sit on the floor. my gal sometimes will lie on it while watching tv.

one advantage as compared to the ABC floormat is tat its easy to clean n keep, juz use a damp cloth to wipe can liao. as for the ABC mat, u got to take out pc by pc, clean 1 by 1, den put them back again pc by pc.

i was using the ABC mats b4 i bot these floormat/playmat. i notice my gal likes to pull out the alphabets n bite, n i read abt the toxic in the mats, so don tink its healthy n hygenic for the bb lor. good that i chanced upon these playmat/floormat.

I did not know how much the private hospital charge for donate cord blood to the public, but KKH is charging a fee of $20 for the admin, cleansing, store etc..
I am thinking of donating to the public.

471816.png

Can I check with you all what is the "pigeon cleaning detergent" used for? Is playpen or baby cot better for new born? What else do i need to buy? I am really lost now...

I am doing some shopping for my baby who will be due in mid or 3rd week of Oct as per gynae advise last week. So meanwhile, rushing to shop first.

GingerCat, if the pigeon cleaning detergent the one I know, it's for washing bb's milk bottle, cups, etc...

Bunny, thank you for your advice. Looks like it's something I can add into my wish list.

Mummyjoy
Marina have its at the centre there. ANyway it is link to Suntec mah so can go to the 2 places to see when u go.

Selina
THink my sis say the FOX bb rompers material is thinner than mothercare one but I think okie for me lah. Cos scared my bb like me and hubby perspire very easily...hehe
My sis is a mothercare fan.

<font color="ff0000">SICK SICK SICK
====================
Hi ladies. Me down with sore throat and running nose. Cant get to sleep since 5am
luckily my boy is super sleeper. nv wake up even when i cough or sneeze... he just woke after i took some biscuits as hungry... guess will have to go see GP later for my sore throat.... me once got sore throat will get fever so very scared will affect my boy... so worried... think i kana from hb

bunny,
tks for the info. now at least i wont regret buying cos after paying was thinking y i spend so much...

doreen,
oic... i dunno abt mothercare but compared to those sold at KP or KM, think the material not as cooling lor. but guess the design will make up for it ba...

gingercat,
playpen or bb cot is all up to you. i personally prefer playpen cos cheaper n easy to store away when no longer in need cos i dun plan to let my boy sleep in it for too long. will train him to sleep on mattress beside my bed when he starts to turn ba... a lot of mummies here are or have bought bb cot, especially those that can convert to toddler's bed cos think they want they bb to sleep on it for long. it's really up to you lor... there is are a couple of lists circulating. hope these helps
mime_pdf.gif

things to buy for bb.pdf (43.1 k)</td></tr></table></center><center><table border=1><tr><td>
mime_msword.gif

Things to buy for bb.doc (47.6 k)</td></tr></table></center>

hi selina, take care..drink more water and some crysantheum tea..me jus recovered from my sorethroat &amp; blocknose..but din take any oral medication...i just gaggle the medicine that my GP gave me to treat the throat but not for oral purposes..then the rest of it, jus keep drinking fluids..think u shld quickly go see a doctor ya...
take care...
472138.png

Selina, take care. Many pple in my office fell sick too. my hb also sick, so i quickly boil chrysantheum tea for him. I think rest, fruits and lots of water will help. the nature way is best for pregs.

hi hi coral..
okok..thks..can tell me how much u spend if u sign up at the rdshow?

hi hi bunny..
thks for sharing on the playmats..thks..

hi hi Selina..
do hope u rest well..drink more water..also take more fruits..maybe can try to take some honey as well..at least can help to smoothen ur throat ba..

hi hi ladies..
i realised the rubber fitted sheet i bought i coated with a layer of powder..wonder if anyone of u actually give it a wash &amp; dry it or u all intend to just use it on baby directly ahh..me now also a little blur on the usage of this rubber fitted sheet..kekeke..

Hi selina,

do take care. drink more water and rest more. For temporary relief, suck on VicksDrop logzenes. Seems like we are in the same boat, sore throat is our "killer". Once I down with sore throat, prepare for cold/cough. More serious, then will led to fever.

Hi Selina,

Do take care, i was down wif stomach flu last week... got it frm my gal... nowadays the weather rather hot, so mus drink more water.

my hb oso complain y the bumper playmat so ex, den later when he see the real thing, he say if got discount can get 1 more... i oso bot 1 to use at my mum's plc. so total i got 2 bumper playmat n 1 floormat. my dad say i very "she3 de2".

the spree are quite frequent, tink stil can wait lah... anyway, not in a hurry to get another 1 yet. mayb i can start a spree when im on maternity leave... hehe... i did 1 b4 when i wanted to buy my 2nd bumper mat.

wtan,

u can use a damp cloth to clean ur rubber fitted sheet den air it will do.

hey ladies,

any of u started feeling really hot alrdy? i think i am beginning to. And i wonder issit coz of the weather or pregnancy?
so hot nowadays tt hv to switch on the aircon to be able to sleep. sometimes i really feel like not wearing anything to bed.
i think its gonna get worse soon as we advance into our final stage.

selina,
its the cranky weather lah. drink more water. and i think now our body getting really heaty as compared to the 1st 2 trimesters oso. can drink some cooling stuff to cool down our body.

oh btw abt the cordblood banking, am gg to donate to public bank. think they do collect fr TMC lah. but anyone noes how much they charge? quite funny leh. donate to them but we still need to pay?

Wendy, for rdshw, $50 to Stemcord, and the rest of money depend on how much your hospital charge. KKH &amp; SGH-$500, GlenE, Mt E (Can't remember the entire list), etc - $400, TMC-$450, NUH - $0.

Crystallized, why don't you call and check with them, most accurate mah. I've been feeling hot for quite long. In the past, I freeze at night and Hb got to accomodate me. But now, I on the air-con so cold that even when Hb shivers, i still complain hot. In office I also complain hot all the time even when i don't waer much...

coral,
i think u hv reached "THE" stage where u feel super hot. i used to hear my frens whom were pregnant saying they switched on the air con and fan at the same time when they sleep. and like u, their husbands used to b the one tt can tahan cold better. but when they got pregnant, their hubbies oso cant the wives. hahaha
seems like these few days, my temp is rising and my hb is saying i am finally feeling hot when he is not.

u bring a fan to the ofc to blow at u lah. its more comfy. my fren used to tell me she brought a fan to the ofc 2 use. else she cant tahan wkg! hahaha

Relaxation technique
====================

hv not been sleeping well for the past few days liao till afternn 'gong gong', my mind seems to be very alert after 2am, hv tried hot bath/milk etc, anyone can share relaxation technique? frustrated with the aftnn tiredness, mood swing and cried ytd
BB seems to know and light pet on tummy like consoling me...me really a bad mummy, keep crying

I been feeling warm too tho rm temp at 23degree, heard our bones will get loose during preggy so worry that the chill will get into the bone and next time will suffer back ache like siao but use fan will also be equally jialet right?