(2006/10) OCTOBER 2006 MTB

hi coral,

thks for pointing that out. I'm trying to say though most Asian bbs have it, it will not be a concern.

mmummyjoy,
Winnie from CC recommended me Les Baby one, $69 or $79 only, can't remember the price. It comes in red or blue color. I dunno the model, but my colleague has one and she said easy and nice to use. Dun intend to buy too ex one lah, cos going to upgrade when bb turns 9 or 12 mths old.

mmummyjoy, maybe now got light baby blue and pink, saw on babytown website, is called Ace Baby Infant Car Seat in their website.
468552.jpg

468553.jpg

Hey! Working fine leh! Where's everyone!

Have u gals confirm and reconfirm baby's gender? So far only the technician at the detailed scanning told me my baby is a gal wor. My gynae never confirm because baby always strike wrong pose. only bought milk bottles..

Gemini, my last scan is during my week 19, now baby week 29 already and have not gone for a scan.
next wed is the scan and i will find out what's the position. Till now, i still do not know where is the head and feet by touching, but i have a feeling mine is a breech too cos the kicking is always at the bottom.
dun worry, gyane told me by week 32, most baby should be head down

Janice
Same as u only during detail scan found out bb is boy. My gynea never reconfirm yet cos my last appt she rush for delivery.
Than me keep teasing hubby say maybe next visit my gynea say actually is girl the birdie they find is finger....hahaha

But detail scan got 1 pic of bb backside showing birdie so can't be wrong lor.

Actually my bb headdown since detail scan liao so can know which kick are legs and which are hands.

Gemini
My bb respond to tickles on tummy too...very cute hor. Yesterday i disturb my bb. Was holding a bottle of fruit juice in front of tummy in the qeueu feel a bit cool but i purposly leave it. Than few secs later bb gave me a big kick......hahaha

aspialle,
i'm turning 26 wk tomolo! EDD is around 24/Oct!

crystallized,
yeahloh later i going to see my gynae see what he says abt gaining too much, i failed the weight calculator test by 2kg hehee, hubby also ask me not to eat so much liao :p nm see wat gynae says first

Gemini,
thks..initially i worry very much, but hor i went for a 2nd opinon recommend by my gynae since we so worry. then after 2nd opinon also okie then i more relax now loh. hehee as long dun find 2nd marker should be ok 1.

Coral,
actually hor it doesn't matter gone or still shown now, bcos by 32 wks will surely disappear one ley. yup i read some articles, it's also common in Asian babies, so the chances are good for us hehee we must prayed hard
aiyah all of u say the weight gain sounds like a lot, but poor me overweight using that link :p

mmummyjoy,
dunno ley, but i use the website, i also overweight liao :p but this a rough guide only lah. dun take it so seriously loh

MummyToBabyCaleb,
ohhh, sounds logicial too! so i better dun control my eating so much, maybe later in my 3rd tri, i will dun feel like eating too.. hmmm but right now i enjoy makan so much heheee

Rainger my EDD 25/10

hi doreen u v cute hor make fun of ur bb,hehehe
i love the feeling now, cos know when bb is awake. esp early in the morning, always kick kick me hehehe...but i feel tummy getting heavier and heavier.....sometimes wearing my undies also cannot balance myself :p

Just went for checkup. 27wk5days. Bb is 1.2kg. For the first time we can see it's a gal!
Luckily, cos the 5 sets of new clothes I bought were all for gal gal.
BB is still in breech position. She's very cute, so much space but still squeeze herself to only the right half of my tummy, curl the hands and legs to one corner, no wonder I always feel her kicking and tickling me on my right. I've put on 3.5kg since last visit. Gynae say I'll end up as a heavier preg lady, but he say alrite lah, no need to diet now, worry later. Now I got quite bad water retention too, legs like pig's trotters. But gynae say no need to watch my diet leh. He say in preg your body tells you what to eat, even if it's unhealthy stuff it's only for 9mths, so no worries.
Hehe, so I can continue to eat what I want. Gynae, say that bb has 100% chance of survival if born tmrw, )of course got to stay in ICU), so he say to look out for any sign of birth from now on. Things are getting more and more real now!

Rainger, my bb's golf ball still there.

Wei Kuan, golf ball is the white dot in the heart. Which is actually the concentraction of tissue. I've done the pre-admission, I just ask my gynae abt it and his nurse arrange for the counter staff to talk to me abt the charges and fill in the admission form, the medisave forms for me. So on day of admission, I'll go straight to delivery suite and they'll call my gynae, arrange my room and bed. So all's done!

Aspialle, I also hv problem wearing my panties and pants. can't lift legs up, like the tummy in the way and also off-balance. So hb ask me to sit down and wear. Now also hv problem washing my legs, always trouble hb to wash for me. When move in with inlaws must put chair inside bathrm cos can't hv hb come in.

hi coral,
congrats tat u confirm having a bb gal!! waa....ur gal growing well oo... my last appt, 26w5days, my bb is 900g. wonder how much he grow when we see him on next friday, 29w5days. excited for tat.
hmmm...i think i shld check wif my gynae or nurse there about the admission procedure at raffles hospital. so far didnt see any threads talking about tat.
did u gynae mention anything about the white dot?

Selina,
Yes, can be used as basket. Eg. If you going to a friend's hse, you can carry bb in it and bring up, no need to find a mattress at your friend's hse for bb to lie.

rainger, er..heavier by 2kg is BB or yourself? My gynae say most impt is BB growth, mummy got heavier probably cos' of fat deposit etc. can use this BB weight chart but some feedback say this chart a bit 'underweight' so if u in 26wk, probably can use the advance wk 875 to 1005+/- grams as estimation. Dun worry ya, like what selina has mentioned, our appetite might not be too good in 3rd tri so probably can help to cut down then.

25 weeks 13.62 inches 1.46 pound 34.6 cm 660 grams
26 weeks 14.02 inches 1.68 pound 35.6 cm 760 grams
27 weeks 14.41 inches 1.93 pound 36.6 cm 875 grams
28 weeks 14.80 inches 2.22 pounds 37.6 cm 1005 grams
29 weeks 15.2 inches 2.54 pounds 38.6 cm 1153 grams
30 weeks 15.71 inches 2.91 pounds 39.9 cm 1319 grams
31 weeks 16.18 inches 3.31 pounds 41.1 cm 1502 grams
32 weeks 16.69 inches 3.75 pounds 42.4 cm 1702 grams
33 weeks 17.20 inches 4.23 pounds 43.7 cm 1918 grams
34 weeks 17.72 inches 4.73 pounds 45 cm 2146 grams
35 weeks 18.19 inches 5.25 pounds 46.2 cm 2383 grams
36 weeks 18.66 inches 5.78 pounds 47.4 cm 2622 grams
37 weeks 19.13 inches 6.30 pounds 48.6 cm 2859 grams
38 weeks 19.61 inches 6.80 pounds 49.8 cm 3083 grams
39 weeks 19.96 inches 7.25 pounds 50.7 cm 3288 grams
40 weeks 20.16 inches 7.63 pounds 51.2 cm 3462 grams

coral, congrats to u confirmg a bb gal
I looking forward to my next scan too.

Jenny, Thks for the pix, I saw the ace BB range too in shopping mall but haven't come across les BB infant car seat. ya, the advantage of it is can bring to fren's hse, some also use it in the restaurant, probably strollers too bulky.

Jasmine, my gynae say of no consequence. I take note of it cos the ladies here mention. Your bb will be 1kg + too, by then.

Thanks mummyjoy.

Wei Kuan, no more forms to fill in. Just go straight to the delivery suite with the envelop of pre-filled forms.
Any lady sign up for the stemcord at the exhibition. Hope to be able to go down later. My hb been working this wkend.

Cordlife promo now, registration at 1k. Called Stemcord, they say their registration at 500+ during the exhibition.

hi hi jenny..
thks for sharing on the infant car seat..i agree with u to get a simple one then later upgrade to a bigger one as bb grow..at least dun hve to spend that much as well..kekeke..

hi hi coral..
wow..so happy to hear that u get to confirm the gender of ur princes..hehe..very happy for u that she's growing very well leh..oh, u also got water retention ahh..watch ur intake for salt ba..u r taller so i guess no issue with u putting on more weight lor..eat more fruits as well...dun worry much abt the golf ball..tell baby to grow healthy & come out..i do agree that now will have prob wearing pants leh..that's why for me, if my in-laws are not at home..i will try to "wrap" my big towel to come out of the bathroom..kekeke..but if not, i will take a longer time to wear my pants..get a small stool with back support then lean against the wall...it will help u to sit down & wear lor..

hi hi ladies..
me got some ziplock bags to keep the baby clothes i have washed..then ask my dad to squeeze out the air for me..then i also wiped the toyogo plastic drawer to start storing stuff in..but got to air the drawers lor..coz the plastic smell quite heavy leh..so hopefully the smell will slowly go away ba..

just went for my gynae visit at week 28 on thursday, bb is still in a head down position..has been that way since week 24 ..hope it stays that way ; p

btw, my wt gain has been 5 kg since my last visit, in a frame of 4 weeks...gynae so stunned !

i swear to stay off chocolates & icecream on thursday, but submit to temptation of the Uzumaki Icecream just now...4 bucks for a cone of green tea ice cream that turns my tongue green...think they must have put a lot of colourings ; (

hi hi jo..
nice to hear from u leh..nice to hear tht bb is on head down position as well..keke, how heavy is bb now?wow..the icecream sounds very tempting leh u..aiyo..wait i cant resist the temptation ahh...i better dun think so much lah..

jo, you bought the ice-cream from Bugis? I saw it a few times not tempted, just hada small of of ice-cream too, weather too hot. Since gynae gave me license to eat whatever I want so I shall just follow my heart on my food.

hi coral
congrats on having a gal

thanks for finding out infor on the cordlife tingy. If u wan to attend the talk first u can give them a call to find out their schedule..i may go in Sept

Good Morning MTBs

I have been very busy for the past weeks to come into the postings. How are all of you?

I have been urgently looking for nanny staying in Seng Kang (Rivervale side) area. Does any of you know of any good nanny staying that area?

coral,
congrats on confirming your gal... can she sure has grown big yah... prob cos both u n hb r quite tall so ur gal also got long limbs ba...

i went down to stemcord exhibition yesterday. locked myself to the deal they have n waiting for the consultant to call me re the agreement n collection kit.

jenny,
will still b getting the playpen at kiddy palace lah... since we having vouchers from hb's colleagues so might as well.

wendy,
so u washed the clothes liao. me still waiting to go sis place to select and pick clothes and stuff then bring home ask my mum to wash them all at the same time. dunno when she intends to do that but i'm leaving that to her. she might do it only in sep ba... nearer to my edd. now she sure says too early.

about those plastic drawers the reason why i dun like to use them is they tend to turn black after a while, especially the white parts. there will be black marks though they can be easily cleaned off. so thought if using tt to keep bb stuff like not very good lor. just take note n remember to clean the drawers regularly ba...

jo,
the playpen we saw think according to mummyjoy is baby1st. you can check out the pic from archives at http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/353640/467241.html?1153299570.

aspialle, coral, wendy,
me still wearing mostly pants these days. do realise balance prob too but so far still quite manageable for me lah.

bb bath
=======
spoke to my sis yesterday re her choice for bb bath. will prob use J&J since tested by my sis for both her kids. according to my sis, the other brands like kodomo has alot of lather. in order to create more lather, manufacturers put in this chemical called sodium laurade sulfate (spelling dunno correct but close lah). this is potentially very lethal when consume so she prefers those with very little lather cos scared bb will by chance swallow the lather while bathing them so no good for them lor. for your information only.

vivian,
havent heard from you. hope u r well n fine

doggiemummy,
how r u n your twin boys doing?

hi selina, u have signed up with stemcord yesterdae too? me too, my HB was very keen to sign up so we went down and take alook.. called my mtb friend to go down to check it out too.. me now waiting for them to call also and will check with my gynae when i see him this fri... yeh!! can see my BB again...heehee...

then selina, what are the recommended brands for BB bath? me will be buying them most likely this wk...

hasn't been sleeping well last nite..whole nite feeling nausea again...sigh..
470511.png

I asked a few frens & they all swear by Gerbers Grins & Giggles, so i ordered during a drugstore spree organised previously. Much cheaper than buying fr sing. Mayb u wanna consider cos it really smells heavenly....

ilovemybabyg,
i will go with J&J. my sis recommended the top-to-toe one. will get that as well as the claming bath one for night use ba...

so cool. can see your bb so soon. me seeing gynae 1 aug, then after this will b twice weekly liao...

hi selina, thanks for ur advice..will be keen to go for J&J also.. cos J&J everywhere also can buy, more convenient ya...heard some mummies in other threads talk abt "lactycd" (dun knw how to spell)..i look arnd in most stores also can't find.. can oni find "seb mec" i think... so give up...think i will go ahead wif J&J...
ya..like d smell for the calming bath for night one also...heehee...

1 aug, veri soon also..coming ya...
wow... time really flies...soon all mtbs here in oct thread will be goin for fortnightly visits liao... then soon weekly... kekekekeke....

wtan, me too, bot a few big small ziplock for BB clothing. I also use bigger vaccum bag too for the same purpose

jo, I oso saw the ice cream, long Q. ya, me & selina saw the Baby1st dark blue color playpen, oh, she has given u the pix

selina, was too tired so didn't go to stemcord ex, is the deal good? Any highlights? I checked with all my frens and they mostly with cordlife.

ilovemybabyg, u too signing with stemcord, any info to share?

mummyjoy,
i asked for the diff between stemcord n cordlife n was told it is in the storage. stemcord stores in 4 valves while cordlife stores them in 1 bag format. according to stemcord, once thawed, the stem cells cannot be frozen again. hence the disadvantage for storing in 1 single bag cos can only use once. as for stemcord, their estimate is if the need arises, each time will need 2 valves hence the 4 stored can be used twice.

like coral said, stemcord founded by doctors while cordlife founded by businessman. stemcord currently has 1 bank in singapore but will add another one soon. cordlife only have 1.

signed up during the exhibition total savings i think about $750 but cant remember the breakdown.

The thread is moving very slowly today. That's surprising

Coral,
I went to see The Bale on saturday. Don't really like the location cos it's next to a mosque. I still prefer Lor N or M or closer to the park connector side.
Went to see another soft launch at Lor M, Le Merritt. No showflat, just only model. I like one of the penthouse house. Nice layout, price within budget but 2 of the bedrooms kenna the west sun. Sigh! the search continues.....

Hi coral,

so fast you have signed up the admission forms already! My gynae nurses have not tell me anything but it's ok for me lah. I think they will let me sign in due time.

Stemcord & Cordlife
===================

My hb has helped me signed up for Stemcord last fri during the roadshow. Yup, Selina, i think the savings is about $750, can't really remember.
I have yet to sign on the consent form but after I have signed, just give Stemcord a call and they will come and collect from me.

According to my hb, cordlife is better than stemcord, hence it's more expensive though both of them are using the same techniques.

hi gemini, so another stemcord mummy... heehee..
for me & my HB, initially, our concern was the cost at thousands over dollars, so we were very hesitant to sign up..but since now stemcord offers at $450, so sign lor...yap..u r rite cordlife is more X. anyway, whichever it is, it's for the good of our BB ya!!!

hi Coral, I am a Sept MTB, sorry for thread crashing. :p happen to read that you said stemcord founded by docs and cordlife by biz men huh? so wanted to ask you, how do i find out this info and background? coz i am very undecided now betw whether to donate or store. and if store, i am more towards cordlife coz knowing that most babies or kids will need one full vial or more, stemcord's storage din make sense for me. but if ur info is right hor, then it may sway my decision towards stemcord. can you advise pls? coz I have to make a decision by tmlw my gynae's appt leh.
really appreciate it....

Hi mtbs

For those who like FOX baby clothes they now having very good offer. Cos per clothing already 30% than if u purchase 3 pieces they will give another 10%. Yesterday bought 2 rompers and 1 top/shorts set cost me only $28.
So happy......but not a lot of design left.

Just collect my spree from Old Navy and love the polo rompers I got for less than $10. Look so nice...hehe
My bb always kick when I tell him I bought things for him...haha
Kana affected by my good mood I think.
470801.jpg

doreen, I oso saw the fox bb sales at bugis but no NB size liao
the old navy polo is nice, how much was it in USD and the shipping charges?

Ummm USD 2.99 now so 2.99x1.63x1.09=S$5.30
Bout there maybe + $1 cos vpost shipping charge.
If u want better quickly join the BP cos they closing soon cos sale ending.

My hubby so crazy when he saw it he ask me to order again so I buying a bigger size this time the 3-6mths I think 1st mth can wear.

Hi mummyjoy,

since cordlife is more ex, maybe they offer something better than stemcord loh.

for bb's names, you can try www.babynames.com.

Hi ilovenybabyg,

i will check with my gynae as to whether i should store the stemcells. Cos I may be a thalessima minor. Tests show that my results is slightly higher.

heehee..doreen..me also went FOX yesterdae at suntec.. bot two denmi short bottoms and a denmi skirt coupled wif pink underwear for BB... very cute.. quite worth while ya... 3 pieces for $46, additional 10% off.. very tempted to go back and purchase more tomolow... :p

love ur rompers too...!! very cute...

hi daisybuttons,
my knowledge is limited cos i only spoke to stemcord n not cordlife. stemcord is founded by 3 docs who are either oncologist or hematologist. according to them, they are the the first licensed clinical laboratory to offer private cord blood banking in Singapore. again according to one of the founders who were present at the exhibition yesterday and who gave a talk, only small amount is needed to be used each time. the reason why stemcord will need at least 2 vial is that 1 will be for testing while the other will be for actual usage.

mayb coral can give you more info on cordlife or both ba... hope the above helps in anyway