(2006/10) OCTOBER 2006 MTB

Last try...
This is the Mamalove playpen I saw at IMM Kidsmall today, less the toy lah. Selling at $99 nett.
468088.jpg

Just came back from my lesson, went supper with hubby. tomorrow i am on leave so can sleep late.

Today lesson is benefit for mtb who who going for natural birth. hubby is taught 4 methods of massage to ease our pain during the first stage of labour and he have to learn and remind us how to breath when we are in pain etc..

I will still opt for epi if cannot tahan pain

wtan, cheer up for baby sake.
this few days i am also feeling down and quarrel with hubby, but everythng is okay now as we pour out everything and have a good talk. I feel guilty towards baby when i am sad, angry or stress.

no one will blame you if u take some days off to relax yourself, be it at home all day sleeping...stay happy!

i am looking fws for my 6th lesson next thursday as there will be a video of real giving birth.

did u gals went for lesson? never see u gals mention abt any lesson in this forum.

jenny,
you say playpen dark colour better. my mum always complain why my playpen so dark colour, attract mosquito and very hot. wonder where she got the logic from. haha!
anyway, my playpen was a cheapo one bought during JL sale last time. Most playpen cushioning not v good so must go and get a mattress to put on and if you can't find the right size, got to go and get it custom-made.

babygrace,
I find dark color better lah. Those bright color one, I dun like leh. Some more look so messy and dirty to me. Dunno why elders always like to say dark color attract mosquito hor?
How cheap is it? I wanna get cheapo one, cos should be using less than a year. I wanna to get one to place at my mum place though I prefer bbcot. I scare wait my gal complains her "sleeping place" aka my mum bed kena snatch by her mei mei lah. Thats why I wanna buy a playpen for mei mei to sleep.
Ya I know got to buy extra mattress. Getting the "standard" size playpen, so mattress won't be hard to find/buy

crystallized,
think you got the wrong person. me no giddy spell. think coral has.

jenny,
tks. will show hb tonite. maybe we will change. the mamalove one looks nice leh
we will most prob be getting 2 mattresses. 1 the normal foam type as a base then the latex one for bb to sleep on cos the latex one the max thickness is 1 inch only so need another one to make it thicker. i also prefer dark colours. hate those super bright coloured ones. after a while looked like nua nua and dirty dirty like that. yucks!!!!

jenny, The display lighter color playpen that I saw at KP is also dirty, like not advisable to get lighter color but the darker color can also see dust..

the one that me and selina saw like can place the mattress higher for afternn nap, easiler to carry BB out, are the other 2 brands the same? Think it will be impt to you cos' u using as a bed temporary right? else your mum might hv difficulty bending all the way to carry BB out

Hi hi jasmine..
Ya..this wk is the last wk that hubby & me is gg to buy those bbs stuff..aft that..we wont want to get anything much liao..if those like strollers can wait..then we will wait till bb is born 1st then buy ba..okok..do hope I get to find a cot we both like..thks..

Hi hi Janice..
U r rightcoz this is the 1st time in my job history that I have finance assigned tasks..i was employed by the co to do renewal of software licenses by contacting cust b4 their softwares expires..jus that this finance mgr (I think she needed an assistant) so she grab me to report under her when we have a change in the mgmt earlier this yr..i dun mind learning new tasks but I realized if u want me to follow & listen to ur views & act accordingly to it..its very hard to try to do it..coz it might not be my passion in numbers..but see how it goes ba..anyway, she engaged a temp accts exec & will be starting work this 1st..this new temp unlike me have finance background & I sincerely hoped that she can be able to help her out on the finance tasks so that my finance mgr may feel more relaxed at work also lor..**wink-wink**

Hi hi coral..
Ya, I agree with ur points..its hard to control our emotions at times..esp at this very moment..thats why I keep telling my hubby that I hope he will be able to impart some of his tolerance level skills to me..he can really be calm while I m the one that gets irritated very easily..i hope I get to learn how to manage my emotions better along the way..then at least can take things more lightly & not be always so grumpy ba..do take gd care of urself as well..walk slower & probably spend more time resting at home ba at the wkends..

Hi hi wei kuan..
Wow..so nice ahh..today on leave ahh..Okok...i will cheer up for babys sake..i guess once in a while..got to learn to let go of some bad emotions lor..not gd to keep them inside us at times alsothks..

hi hi jenny...
thks for sharing on the info on the playpen..sure it was helpful..thks..do take gd care of urself..hope u get a gd rest over the coming wkends..

Selina, mmummyjoy,
I think I have more or less make up my mind on Mamalove playpen, unless I see something better/stable than Mamalove one.. The one that I saw at Kidsmall, selling at $99. Cheong Choon is selling at $90. I will be getting from CC, cos will be buying a les babe infant carseat from them. Then ask Winnie to deliver to my place hee hee...

mmummyjoy,
All playpen have 2 height level, except for Luckybaby got 3. The 2 brands, do you refer to Mamalove brand or???
Once bb start to sit or learn on standing position, you have to lower the height in case bb falls out from playpen. Same applies to the bbcot.

Selina,
Winnie suggests at least 2" mattress, so bb will be more comfortable. Make sure the mattress thickness is not too high also, in case bb falls out.

Btw, when looking for playpen, beside looking at the design where some of you are concerned, take a good look at the base, the side bars (some very thin and filmsy). Basically, playpens are the same, only difference is size, height and stable.

Jenny
i oso got the rompers fr pangbaobao leh! I love it! hahahaha...
and the blankets she juz put up 4 sale, i find it quite cheap and nice prints leh. dun i dun need it liao. so wun b buying.

seh le lah! now i oso craving 4 sweet stuff.

i 4got ur addy liao. nvm can ask u again when the rompers hv arrived.

wah all talking abt playpen... not getting it yet leh. mayb later, when bb learns how to turn and play liao. by then will ask u 4 tips.
guess i am the only one tt likes playpen in bright colours!
but wat selina said is true lah, cant withstand the test of time, will look v old aft a while.

Selina
Pai seh! i blur lah. Coz i rem u both got no appetite.

hi ladies..wow the postings are very fast ya...me jus came back from MC yesterdae..have a very bad sore throat..and lost my voice too.. really so angry wif myself for falling sick at this moment... mummies, any remedies to clear my throat now... i try drink alot of water liao.. but jus dun seems working...and my family doc also dun dare give me medicine to consume.. oni gaggle medicine hopefully to clear my throat...
468381.png

crystallized,
which one which one? dun tell me the giraffe one hor? The blanket no need lah. Nice one, 1 pc will do (for going out lah). At home use cloth nappy as blanket better.
I dun like playpen in bright color leh, like messy messy like that wor. And look nua nua after sometime.

ilovemybabyg,
You go make some crysanthemum tea to drink. Clears your throat. I just recovered nia.

Hi janice,

The ikea private sale is for members only today, 8 - 10am, breakfast provided. After that, the sale is open to public. I have rec'd the brochure.

Breech position
===============
Yesterday went for my check up. Bb is weighing 1392g and is growing well. But she still in breech position. I saw from a book at this time now, I'm 29 wks today, the bb should be head down. Does any MTBs bb still in breech position too?

Golf ball
=========
Hi coral,

from yesterday scan, the golf ball is not visible in my bb anymore. Hope that it has really disappeared for good.

jenny & bbgrace
how often do u all bath NBs ah? Some said bath everyday, some say occasionally, some say bath only after umbilical cord drops off. so which one to listen?

jenny
yah lah, giraffe one. i gian giraffe v much one. how come leh? u dun like? my bb will b decked in giraffe gear! hahaha

yah lah, i dun think will get the blanket lah. alrdy got 1. see how lor. mayb i will consider getting dark coloured playpens aft wat u ladies mentioned, so my playpen wun look dirty.

jenny,
i got mine at $49.90. Used it for about 2 mths plus cos in the end, i switched to sarong cos he wasn't sleeping so soundly during the day.
i put the playpen in the living room for him to sleep so that i can keep an eye on him during the day. So i'll be reusing it for #2 this time cos daytime my boy is still using the cot for his naps. I also don't want him to think that mei mei snatch his cot away.
But my playpen dimension quite strange, so can't get the standard size mattress. In the end, i custom-made mine.

crystallized,
i'm using the play pen more as a day-time sleeping place for bb. When they can turn and play, don't think they wanna coop up in the play pen liao. A play yard is a better idea if you have the space.

gemini,
as of 28 wks, my bb oso breech position. gynae said no need to worry as most babies shld turn by 32 wks. so i juz talk to my bb everyday and asked him to slowly turn else he wun hv space as he grows bigger.

bbgrace
wats play yard? wah so many terms one ah...
i oso thot when bb is turning and can play, they dun wanna coop up in the playpen. so hv not decided to get it anot. see how 1st.

Hi crystallized,

thks. since my gynae also never mentioned anything to me, so everything's going well for my bb.
no wonder, these few wks, i can feel the heartbeat on my left tummy only.

gemini,
dun worry about breech position. Gynae can help to "turn" bb. If really cannot, then opt for c-section lor.
Anyway, there's still chances bb will turns.

crystallized,
I bath every day, twice a day.
I gian the giraffe but out of stock, so I got the duckie one!!!
Play yard ah, wait till bb can crawl time then buy. But I dun think you got space. It needs big area.

babygrace,
Wah liew, very cheap leh!!! But mattress size weird ah??
Your boy still using his cot? My gal long long time refuses to sleep liao. Maybe cos I let her sleep on bed with hb and me, she feels warm hahaha... Now she sleeps on floor, with mattress. Cot too small for her, she keeps knocking against her head/body kekeke...

gemini,
now i can feel bb's position chgg liao. he is lying on sides i.e horizontal now. i feel more movements ard belly button area when it used to b lower abdomen only. hope he is slowly turning.
else at the rate i am eating, think he will soon run out of space liao!

Jenny
oh u bath ur gal twice a day? isnt it too much? i was thinking to wait and see how. if weather is hot and my bb sweats alot then will bath him once a day and wash him wif cloth in the late aftn.

oh u oso gian giraffe one ah? hehehe..
u told me she selling slightly more exp but i alrdy decided to buy liao, so went ahead. guess i am early bird bah. the giraffe so cute!

wah kao, u all make me gian si boh? the play yard needs so much space! unless i staying in landed ppty lah. even i like it so much.

hi hi jenny..
thks for sharing on the tips to look out for playpens..appreciate it..hope u get ur ideal one at a gd price..cheers~

hi hi ilovemybabyg..
ya, listen to jenny's advice, drink some crysanthemum tea also..how abt eating fruits & or drinking honey water?hope u r not feeing tight at the throat fast..

hi hi gemini..
talk to baby..baby will turn lor..maybe u can try to stroll ur tummy to guide baby to turn towards the directions u want baby to head down lor..but dun stroll ur tummy too much lah..when baby kicks u then stroll ba..i think shd be able to help ba..but very happy to hear that baby is in a nice weight leh..so sweet to hear..cheers~

Hi ilovemybabyg,

No starfruit. Too liang. Actually crysanthemum tea and even barley water also cant drink too much too.

Hi crystallized,

Hope ur boy is turning slowly. Mine too. my gal loves to kick around my pelvic area which is quite uncomfortable and sometimes, i think she use both hands to punch as i felt movements on my left & right tummy.

hi gemini,
glad to hear tat ur bb is healthy & growing well. btw, how u differentiate bb' s head, hand or leg? me always confuse lel & ask my hb 'do u think it's boy hand or leg?' hehe.....

ilovemybabyg,
huh? go TMC to buy crysamthemum tea? I mean you can buy a pack from medical hall and make the tea yourself tat kind leh.
Starfruit is cooling stuff. I won't restrict you from drinking but in moderation, ok? Hee, I drink sugar cane juice everyday with ice some more :p For me, I dun care one lah. Last trimester body is heaty, can take some liang stuff but everything in moderation lah. You can try taking some green bean soup also, it clears the throat immediately.

crystallized,
My gal sweats very easily. I bath once in the morning, 8am+, once in late afternoon, 4.30pm. Then at nite before sleep, wipe body and change to pyjamas.

Hi wendy,

Thks for the advise. my hb sometimes also tickle my tummy just to make the bb kick.
hi jasmine,

hehee... i only got know that my gal is in breech position yesterday. forgotten to ask gynae everytime i go for checkup. last nite, then realised that since she's upright, the left side sensation that I feel should be her heartbeat. then left & right movements should be her hands. Me also just guessing only. Unless my gal is moving ard.

I know what you mean. Read in a book by 28 wks, sometimes can differentiate the bb hand or leg when the bb kicks. That why I also ask my hb can he identify is hand or leg.

Gimini, congrats! I'll be seeing my bb tmrw too. I'll be 28wks by then. I think it's normal for bb to be beech now, in fact a book say it's only by 34wks that most bb will turn heads down. So no worry lah.

hi jenny, thanks for ur advise again..me lazy to cook myself... so go tmc to buy those that they cook and bottle ready up one lor... mum also say now at 3rd trimer, we preggies' bodies will be heaty and ask me take more baths if possible....anyway, think i will go home and cook some green beans later..thanks jenny...

me dun feel very good liao... think i'm goin for half day later...feel breathless also...sigh...
catch up wif u ladies soon ya... take care mummies!!

jenny,
i thought all playpen comes in standard size but somehow i can't find the mattress of my playpen in kiddy palace, so i custom-make lor.
My cot is those that are convertible to toddler bed. My boy don't sleep in there at night, he prefers to sleep with us nowadays. So mei mei will sleep in his cot at night and in the play pen during the day.
i still prefer him to sleep in the cot during the day cos maid will be alone with him once i go back to work and if she's in the bathroom when he wakes up, at least he's confined in the cot and not walking around doing dangerous stunts.

crystallized,
that play yard u see in the pic is the enhanced version. The standard one comes in 4 panels only lah. I tell you hor, there will be further temptations to come and before you know it, u'll be buying and buying and then realise house got no more space. i've learnt my lesson liao.

hi muumies,
wow this thread is going super fast!

MummyToBabyCaleb,
oh but i tot towards the end of pregnancy will even eat more hehee initially i also din weight myself regularly, till recently discover the shocking truth hahaa yeahloh i always try to eat healthy home-cooked food

Jasmine,
tomolo i am going to visit my gynae, so till then i let u noe..think the baby should be around 1kg.

crystallized,
i noe of a website can calculate whether got reasonable weight gain
http://www.paternityangel.com/Preg_info_zone/Weight/CalcWeight.htm

hehee but dun think it too seriously, otherwise end up like me worrying.. oh yeah the nurse told me in 1 mth cannot gain more than 3kg as a guideline.

coral,
yup i think the weight should go to my baby more.. although i also feel my pants and tops all tight liao hehee going to buy those dress that can last me till full term

gemini,

ur baby also got golf ball? mine too. but my gynae say by 32th weeks, no matter if the golf ball is good or bad will automatically disappear one ley

hi coral
ur apptmt is always on sat hor?

hi rainger
when is ur EDD?

im in my 25 weeks my bb already head down, some people says bb may keep turning...so scared turn back the same position again,hehe

ilovemybabyg,
aiya no need to cook lah. You go medical hall buy a pack of chrysanthemen tea, go home just brew it with hot water, let it simmer for a while then drink, can le.

babygrace,
Err, maybe tats why you bought it so cheap bah. Maybe they try to clear the stock hor?
My bbcot also can convert to toddler bed, but aiya dun wan to convert now, cos I got a queen size bed in my gal room. I'm going to let mei mei sleep in bbcot at home, and playpen at my mum place.

gemini,
i think he is slowly starting to turn liao. muz give him time oso lah. scully i nag too much, he switch off oso.

Jenny
i din noe NBs can sweat so much leh. ok i think best to monitor and see how. did u let ur gal sleep in aircon rm? i dun think so rite? else she wun sweat so much.

Jasmine,
u can make out whether its leg or hands? we still cant tell. but last nite, baby was hvg hiccups. it was the 1st time i actually felt it. a series of rhythmic mild movements. i asked my hb to listen and he jokingly said he can hear our bb hiccup like adults do! hahaha

bbgrace,
oh got smaller version one lah? tt big version i sure wun buy, where got space lah.
aiyoh, many temptations alrdy. i juz ctrl myself and say its too early to buy now. i wonder when the right time comes 4 me to buy, how ah? my hse will become warehse man!

rainger
thks 4 sharing the link. oh i wun worry too much when all these info r juz as guidance. to me, as long as gynae din say anything, i dun really worry.
oh! i passed the test leh. i have not reached the weight the calculator says, so guess i am still ok for now. hehe

hi crystallized,
coz last appt (27wks), gynae oredi told me he on breech position ma.. so, my hb & me jz guessing lor. but i can feel his body on my left side. always a very big bump there.
yeah ... NBs can sweat a lot. my sis pass me those hand-me-down clothes mostly fishnet type. & i oso bought 2 pairs of fishmet bootie & mitten. my sis & MIL said bb will feel more cooling. then at nite, we will wear him in rompers (those long pant type) lor...

Hi rainger,

dun worry too much on the golf ball. It's not so prominent in Asian bb. They will disappear one.

the link that you posted, I cant open leh...

jenny, I oso want to buy a infant carseat, any model/price to share from CC? oic, all playpen has 2 level har..

crystallized, u also bot the same rompers as Jenny, that's cute, u ordered NB size or S size? the size of the stock ok?

aspialle, cos Sat then no need to take leave from work and hb can come too.

Rainger, Gemini's bb's golf ball gone liao. Mine dunno yet, got to see tmrw's scan. But my gynae say whether there or not doesn't matter. He say many healthy bbs got them. Abt 30% of Asian bbs.

Gemini, I think you mean very common among Asian bbs right?

rainger,
i dunno leh. my BIL told me in 3rd tri will eat less cos uterus higher up so squeezing our stomach lor... when i dun feel like eating, i eat a bit for the sake of my boy but when i can eat, i will eat a little bit more lor...

Tummy moving up
===============
hi ladies, i realised my belly is higher up already. really really uncomfortable like got something stuck at chest there like that. not only losing appetite but only becoming breathless easily. walk a short distance only i can be panting like mad liao...

I manage to get into Rainer's site. wow, they suggest I'm suppose to gain btw 13.35kg to 15.63kg at this stage, er...sounds like a lot leh.

Selina, I saw a documentary that we need to continue to eat to ensure a continuous supply of nutrients. So I try my best to eat lor. And last nite the documentary say that weight gain for bb in us can help improve their IQ too. So no choice, must eat even if we don't feel like it.

mummyjoy
the rompers i shared wif jenny, i haven seen it yet, so dunno. the ones i bought, i find it ok leh. but dunno NBs can wear anot. i cant rem wat size i bot, think its 3-6 mths, coz i noe babies outgrow clothings v fast.

Selina
this phenomenon is natural as ur tummy moves up. the trick is to hv a few small meals as the baby takes up more space this time now. and true, will leave u breathless easily.