(2006/10) OCTOBER 2006 MTB

try to eat more fish for your second preganacy, its produce milk, heard zoe tay taken a lot of fish and she is still breastfeeding now

i am in my 11 weeks now and yesterday is the first time i vomit, so sian and hope is the last. i guess i can't take spicy food.

Hmmm, heard from my friend that if we breastfeed, chances of getting pregnant very slim but still, it's not foolproof.

Wei Kuan,
Fluids also play impt part for BF. If you want to BF, must drink a lot of soup, milo and all kinds of drinks.

ndra,
I only partial bf my gal for less than 1 week cos my condition after delivery didn't allow me to. Then my ss also not much. Hence, I decided to stop and had more rest for myself to get well, so that I could attend to my gal. I dun think I will BF long for No. 2 too. I try to, but won't force myself. I almost got myself into post natal blues.

ndra and 2nd times mums,
Can I check if your No.1 is fussy these few days/weeks/months?
My mum, aunts and friends told me when mother is preggie with No.2, the No. 1 will fuss and cranky sometimes. I found my gal does fuss for nothing at some time and insists wanting me to carry her. My friends told me they seems to have 6th sense and will know a little sibling is arriving soon.

<font color="ff6000">hi mummies</font>
monday <font color="0000ff">bluez</font> ah... sighs...

End of 1st tri is 13-14wks
so do hang on for a while more.. we will be soon in our 2nd tri..
am counting down to wk14!!
i still got abt 5wks.... *neck getting long liao*

BFing
well, for me, only managed to partial BF for 4mths
am hoping to TBF tis time round though... hope I can do it.
Oh, you still can get preg while breastfeeding, we are still ovaluting even though there's no menses.. tt wat i heard lah..
as soon as i stopped BFing at 4th mth, my menses came immediately 1 mth later.

<font color="ff6000">coral</font>
gd to hear from you again. was wondering where have u been as did not see your post for the past few days. Do take care.. rest well ya..

<font color="ff6000">jenny</font>
hmm.. tink my gal still the same lei..
maybe since preg till now, i seldom go out.. rather be piggy at home .. hehe..
went Sheng Siong last evening with ILs, towards the end of the trip then she wanted me to carry her, tink she's tired bah..
other than tt, who carry her also can..
at home, she got toys n ppl to play with.. prob didnt have the time to tink abt tt bah ... haha
usually when she's tired wanna sleep then will start looking for ppl like me or my mum to put her to sleep

Hi MTBs,

Wow, so many posts! Can't catch up with the reading. Hope that everyone is well.

Just a update, I'm just back from Ipoh yesterday since Fri. (a short holiday). So now is still very tired. Legs muscles still aching from climbing too many stairs in one of the caves...

I have arranged to go for the OSCAR at TMC this Wed am. I know that I promised to let you know more on this test but I have forgotten all about it, pai seh. Doing the test so as to have a peace of mind through the rest of the pregnancy.

jenny,
I also suspect my girl knows about no. 2 coming.. So cranky.. Cant leave her on the cot like b4, have to carry her whenever she's awake or she'll start screaming.. Even have to carry her to coax her to sleep.. But my hb says that i think too much already.. She's still a bb, wont know anything one

Gemini,
OSCAR test needs to go TMC ah? Aiyo, I better check with my gynae on my next visit. He told me is a blood test only leh.

Hi Jenny,

So far, only TMC offer this test only. If your gynae is from there, the price will be lower than those not from TMC. Got this info from my sis-in-law who deliver in TMC.

Yah, it's a blood test and include a scan. I thought the scan is done at the same time? Me got confused over the triple test and OSCAR. Never mind, after I done the test, will update you. How many weeks are you? OSCAR test can only be done in the 1st trismeter.

ndra,
I dun believe it when ppl told me. But somehow these few weeks hor, my gal also dun want to be alone. She will wants me to carry her for no reason. Now she has this bad habit to lie on top of me when I'm lying on bed regardless is my back or my tummy, then refuse to get up.

Gemini,
OIC, I tot the blood test is done at my gynae's clinic together with the scan. If need to go TMC, then I re-consider le.

Triple test is another kind of blood test but since you are taking OSCAR, I think you can forget about triple test. It is only 60% accurate compare to OSCAR test which is 90%

<font color="ff6000">jenny</font>
hey, my gal also got tt habit dunno since when.. slightly before i found out i was preg!
every night i would accompany her to sleep on my bed.. she would just climb onto me and fall asleep very fast! thereafter, i scared it may become a bad habit, i juz let her lie a while on top of me then i put her back onto the bed.. now she hardly does tt liao.. then me this siao mummy wanted her to do tt again, sometimes i wld just carry her n sleep on top of me for a while ...

oh, do let me know wat they hv respond ok.. thanks! hvnt go find out abt it yet too.. :p

Hi #2 MTBs,
Were u able to "sense" bb going to b boy or girl before gynae tell u??

Old folks say if it's boy, the mummy's neck will be very "black" and dirty. The face always oily and nose is round round one. Tummy is pointed.

If it's a girl, mummy will be very mei mei wor. Tummy round round also. True??

Hi babygrace,
I do hope to know BB's gender on Week 12. Then can start buying clothes etc. Otherwise can only see but cannot buy those cute little clothes leh.

Hi Jenny, so OSCAR is a dangerous test ah. Anything dangerous, i rather dun take.

Hi ndra,
Welcome to the club!

Hi Wendy,
I moved house yesterday. Got to work today. Sian..very tired. Usually if u get backaches, do u apply ointment or those plaster??

<font color="ff6000">ndras</font>
welcome!!
wow, so fast you are having no.2 ah... ;)
congrats!!

<font color="ff6000">janice</font>
hmm... when i had my gal, i always tink tt im gg to have a gal and true enuff its a gal..
now ah.. i dunno..

when i was preg with my gal, my aunties n cousins tot i was gg to deliver soon when im only in my 6-7mth.. tummy was quite big
then my cousin told me, when she had her boy, her tummy was small, turned out my nephew was 3.7kg+ at birth.. whereas her gal, tummy big, but lighter than brother at birth..
both my mum n MIL had small tummy too when they were expecting boys... whereas my mum also ballooned when she was expecting girls..

those old folks saying.. maybe true to some mummies i suppose.
my frens commented tt i looked radiant when i was preg with my 1st.. oh, tummy also round round one.. keke..

chihiro,
No problem. Let you know when I receive reply from TMC.

Janice,
haha, I dunno how true those myths are. But hor for sure hor, when I carried my gal hor, I was mei mei lor. But my tummy is pointed one leh. Then hor I very happy lucky going that time and felt pregnancy was so easy :p

Not sure if OSCAR is dangerous test lah. I only know is blood test leh. Blood test shouldn't be dangerous bah???? Gemini will be taking hers this Wed. She will update us what the doc/nurse does lah.

Dun apply oint6ment or plaster leh. Preggies cannot leh. I just use hands to rub rub for a while. Use plenty of cushions to support my back when I sit.

Janice,
When I was having my girl that time, everyone says that it's a boy when they look at my tummy.. Haha, but 1 night I dreamt that im holding hands with a little girl in a playground so I woke up &amp; tell my hb i got a feeling that its a girl

Usually if by 4-5mths still cant see if it's a ger or boy, most prob, its a girl. Thats what I heard..

Anyway I got a so-called chinese calendar from my aunt that can predict gender of bb. Seems quite accurate. Online also got leh, maybe u can try
http://www.motherhood.com.sg/tools/gender.asp

Hi Chihiro and Jenny,
I " kind of" feel that my BB is a boy though it's still too early to tell..Mayb I'm getting uglier rather than more mei mei..

When my friend's sis was pregnant, my friend said she can SWEAR that her sis never looked SO beautiful in her life before! HAHAHA..

Jenny, so u didn't have MS ah? So lucky wor! Ok, will wait for Gemini's update! Meanwhile, found some info on OSCAR- it's a Uscan (http://www.babycentre.co.uk/refcap/544491.html#0)
PLUS
blood test (http://www.babycentre.co.uk/expert/557433.html)

Cannot apply ointment or plaster ah?! I just applied yesterday and today! Aiyo......got stuffed nose also

Hi hi weikuan..
Wow..so nice to hear that u managed to get a fix doc..which is also gd for u..hmm..somemore staying in the ward is FOC, so I guess its really worth the wait to see ur baby with the unpredicted appts scheduled for u..so will u be staying in the a-class ward or theres a limitation to the ward u r allowed to stay? Thks for sharing that by eating lotsa fish will have more milk..this is something new to me..thks! u vomited? Hmm..is it u ate too much? Hope u feel gd, coz spicy stuff can be quite bad when u vomit..

Hi hi doggiemummy..
Thks for sharing the calculation to us..hmm..maybe can double-check with gynae on this as well..interesting..

Hi hi ndras mum..
So sweet to hear that #1 is only 5mths..i m sure, must be very cute now..heehee..then #1 &amp; #2s age difference wont be that much lor..heehee..maybe later when u r gg to do ur next appt, can check with doc on bbs growth lor..

Hi hi jenny..
hmm..i got this qs, do u know if we will still be menstruating during BF? U mean if one is expecting a boy, then will not feel like preggy is very happy-go-lucky ahh? Ooo..

Hi hi chihiro..
I guess times will come very fast for us awaiting for the 2nd tri to come..heehee..me too..looking forward very excited to the coming of the 2nd tri..heehee..do u know if we will still ovulate but no menses then will we still get preggy then during BF?

Hi hi Gemini..
I m sure u must have an enjoyable trip..yaDo come &amp; update us on ur test..will u be able to know the result immediately? Hmm..i m not sure if TMC is the only place to do OSCAR test..coz I made appt to go to CAMDEN to do the FT Scan..not sure if its the same..hmm..think this visit got to check out with gynae..

Hi hi Janice..
Thks for sharing on the old wives tales..its really very interesting..heehee..someone told hubby that if i crave for spicy food, usually its a boy but if i crave more for sour food, then its a girl..so cute hor..then hubby ask if I crave for any of those, then I replied telling him, if its saltish? Heehee..i dun apply plaster or any oil.i just rub gently &amp; put my hand behind to support it &amp; then rest, aft tht will feel better..

Hi mtbs,

I have consulted my gynae regarding the OSCAR test and triple test last sat. What she said is that OSCAR and the triple test(with u/scan) is the same except OSCAR is what TMC called it. That explains why Gemini mentioned that only TMC is offering it.

Any gynae clinic can also perform the triple test.
It is just a blood test.
But usually my gynae say will not only do the blood test, she will combine with the scanning of the thickness of the layer of fluid at the back of the baby's neck, which is also what OSCAR do...

if it is too thick, you are on the high risk.
(my gynae tried to scan for me during my last visit coz my bb's position is perfect for the scan but as he is still small, it is still not very accurate... but tentatively, it looks normal)

It is not entirely correct or wrong to say that the triple test is less accurate than OSCAR.
If you take the triple test + the uscan of the neck fluid, (which is exactly the same as OSCAR), it will be 90% accurate just like OSCAR. So there is no need for everyone to take OSCAR in TMC.

I have agreed to take the triple test + Uscan on my 4th mth since my gynae says there will not be any difference in accuracy whether it is taken eariler or later.

One last point, OSCAR in TMC is much more expensive than having the same test (triple + uscan) with your gynae....

Think if you are still in doubt, you can always ask your gynae...
which I did... helps a lot in clearing my doubts and opening up my options...

hi hi Vivian..
thks for sharing abt the info on the OSCAR Scan..it's really very informative..for the peace of mind, i m sure it will be worth lor..i have a colleague, she's also 26 when she got her 2nd preggy (1st child)..her gynae suspected that the bb's neck is very thick &amp; adviced her to go for the scan..even aft the scan, the gynae still feel that a 2nd opinion shd be sort..she went for a 2nd opinion &amp; it's ok..also did a few bloOd test just to be sure..her boy is fine..vrey healthy &amp; strong..

hi hi Jasmine..
i guess i will be gg for the scan..i hv arranged for my appt to be on 4th Apr at Camden instead of Raffles/TMC..wat abt urself?

Hi Vivian,

Thks for the info.

My gynae did advise me that the triple test is good enough for me. If I remember correctly, (I was quite confused after the explainations on the 2 tests), for triple test, you have to do the blood test and scan separately whereas for OSCAR, it combines the blood test and scan together. OSCAR is done earlier in the pregnancy stage than triple test. Maybe for me, I want to have the assurance earlier so that I do not need to worry unecessarily for the rest of my pregnancy.

Hi ndra's mum,
used your calculator liao. Was thinking age of mum is according to the birth year or birthday. hee...anyway, kiasu abit. tried both. It's a BOY! Hey! It'll be fun if we all use the calculator and then confirm the results later. See accurate or not!

Mayb u already secretly hoping it'll b a girl, so dream will also dream of girl lor!

Got a friend's sis went to pray at 4-faced Buddha in Thailand. Gynae told her BB is a girl. She went to pray to ask for boy. And... BB really turned out to b BOY wor! Believe it or not!

My SIL also did tell me that these are all tests and they may not represent the true picture.

One of my colleagues who did the triple test, her baby's has a very thick fluid content and can't detect the nasal bone, very high chance of DS. But after subsequent tests, her baby is ok and fine now. Can see the nasal bone. At that period of time, she was under extreme mental and physical stress...

hi hi janice..
haha..hmm..see whether if the link is true..i hvnt go &amp; check it out..was thinking of checking out maybe later..heehee..oh, ur friend really did that &amp; it turn out according to her wishes..wow..this is cool! but i guess most importantly is the baby is healthy &amp; safe..for me, i m ok with either boy or girl..i love babies! heehee..

I was 1 of the 1st intial visitors in the thread coz my EDD is early Oct. But i cldnt follow up coz u gals so active!
So whenever i can, i will pop in to see wat u ladies chatting abt. I seldom post lah, coz cant keep up.

Now i am approaching my 12th wk, no signs of morning sickness slowing down. QUite sianz...
any ladies like me?

And i am feeling so under nourished coz i dun eat veggies (except salads) and no fish 4 me (except fish fillet or fried fish) thats really horrible rite? and "best" of all, got constipation!
no remedies 4 any of these symptoms till date.

Eating all the rubbish and unhealthy food coz on my MS. feeling quite guilty twd my baby though. And cant take too sweet stuff coz i end up hvg this funny metallic taste in my tongue the whole day. really can drive me nuts!

U gals discussing on OSCAR &amp; triple tests... i guess i am taking mine this coming wk when i see my gynae.

As 4 the old wives tales, haha, some of which i heard b4. quite true.
i guess we will all find out 4 ourselves in months to come how true these tales r!

ndra's mum,
Welcome! Another 2nd-time mother! My boy is now 13 months old.

janice / jenny/ wendy,
I heard different versions of what the mommy is like when expecting boy or gal. Some say that expecting boy, mommy will be prettier cos gal will take away mommy's beauty. And having boys means sharper stomach. Anyway, for my boy, my stomach is very sharp that from back view you can't tell that i'm pregnant. Plus my complexion was definitely better. A lot of pple cant tell that i'm pregnant esp when i'm seated cos i didn't change much. So i guess, boy or gal, all mum-to-be can be glowing and happy.

2nd time mommies,
My boy is definitely more sticky to me now. He'll come up to me and throw himself against my stomach. If he wakes up in the middle of the night and sees me, he'll want me to carry. And when i let daddy sleep with him in his room, he's guai guai go back to sleep. Most jialat was last sat at the gynae. He was happily playing with daddy outside and but when he went in and saw me doing my scan, he insisted that i had to carry him. In the end, i let him sit next to me during the checkup and jab.

PREGNANT WHEN BREASTFEEDING
I breastfed my boy for 1 yr. Didn't get my menses for 11 mths. It doesn't mean that bfg will not hv menses, some will have it after 6 mths of so. you can still get pregnant when breastfeeding. I'm a classic example

I'll be bfg #2 when the time comes. it won't be easy with #1 around but i would want to give him/her the same as i gave #1.

Want to add on another old wives tale I heard.
Those with no. 1 if your no.1 keep sticking to you most prob your bb is the opp sex....hehe
Dunno how true is that lor was told by a mother of 3

But when my sis was pregnant with her first son her complexion was flawless. Than she told me when she pregnant with her 3rd daughter she keep having bitter taste in her mouth...

ndra's mum
They use chinese calculation right??
So think should use chinese or english age??hehe

Btw dunno if our pets are also that sensitive cos when I put my puppy on the bed when I'm using my laptop he will come and lie on my lap and lay his head on my tummy. He never does that before he used to just lie on my lap or sleep beside me. He keep doing it for a few days.
Anyone got similar experiance??
My mum say I siao.....hahaha

Good morning mtbs...

talking abt boy or girl, I kinda feel that mine is a boy leh... but calendar shows girl leh... so disappointed... think I somehow kanna influenced by my family liao... wanted a boy more... haha....

Hopefully, next mth can take a peep on the gender of the bb... =)

tks, wtan, I am only entitled to B1 class, not A. but if I want A, i have to top up the diff. not worth, I hope mine is a natural birth so that can discharge and recover faster.

Hello Ndra,

The chart is very interesting!
But teddyhope is right, shall we use chinese or english age when calculating the chart ah?
Cause if i use my english age, i will have bb boy and bb girl if i use my chinese age...

Hi MTBs, thanks for all your concern. I just quit my job yesterday as my boss don't allow me to take leave to rest. I'll be out of job from 19 Apr. Think I'll rest awhile and try to look for contract or part-time job in May. Do let me know if you come across any lobang.

Hi hi crystallized
Very nice to hear from u..so nice to hear that u r approaching ur 12th wk soon..maybe u can try to drink some soupy stuff..hope u do feel better..as for the scan, do u have to go &amp; see a specialist instead of seeing ur gynae? Hmm..i thot it will usually be done outside the gynaes clinic? Do hope to hear more from u often..cheers..

Hi hi babygrace..
Thks for sharing with us abt the old wives tales..hmm..indeed very very interesting..hmm..i think most importantly is that the best goes to the baby..be it boy-boy or girl-girl..i m sure a healthy baby will be the best..heehee..ur baby boy is so cute..stick on u so much..heehee..its so sweet to hear that u will be BF ur #2 the same way to #1..thks for sharing with us abt being preggy even during ur BF..heehee..

Hi hi teddyhope..
Hmm..i didnt realize if my Chihuahua is sticking to him as often coz I will ask him to come &amp; look for me..but I will tell him to help look aft my little baby inside but he will turn away his head..haha..maybe I will give it a try tonight at my mums place &amp; see if hes reacting more closer to me..hee..

Hi hi Vivian..
i guess as long as the baby is healthy then is good..so keep the excitement till next mth..do keep us posted then..

hi hi Wei Kuan..
oic..i guess as long as theres entitlement &amp; u need not pay, it will surely be good..r u working in the hospital?

hi hi coral..
it's very nice to hear that u have finally made the decision..i guess it's a gd choice...no point making urself feel more stressed esp at this moment of the time..it will surely be worth..take this time to rest well &amp; replenish ur energy &amp; i m sure it will benefit ur baby..cheers~

hi hi ladies..
here's what i found abt some of the Old Wives Tales to share with everyone..some seems interesting..haha..

http://www.storknet.com/cubbies/pregnancy/owt1.htm
http://womens-place.com/pregnancy/oldwives.php
http://www.kidshealth.org/parent/general/aches/old_wives_tales.html

Pregnancy If a pregnant woman is denied a craving, the first place she touches with her dominant hand will become a birthmark on the baby.

If you want a boy, drink cola products, eat more red meats and stick with salty snacks like pretzels and chips.

If it's a girl you desire, both partners should eat lots of vegetables and fish and bulk up on sweets-especially chocolate!

Is it a boy or a girl?

If you're carrying high it's a boy and low, it's a girl.
If you're carrying in front, it's a boy and wide, it's a girl.
If you crave sweets, you'll have a girl.
If you crave meats or cheeses, you'll have a boy.
If you get red highlights in your hair, you'll have a girl.
If your belly gets hairy, you'll have a boy.
Dark nipples mean you're having a boy.
If you have morning sickness early in pregnancy, it's sure to be a girl.
If you look a little "rough around the edges," it must be a girl because girls steal their mother's looks.
If your skin breaks out, you're sure to have a girl.
If your right breast is bigger, it will be a boy. If your left breast is larger, it will be a girl.
If your hands are dry and chapped, it will be a boy.
If your feet are not colder than they were before pregnancy, you're having a girl.
Suspend a needle from some thread and have someone hold it one inch above your hand. If the needle swings back and fort, a girl is in your future. If it moves in a circle, you can count on a boy.
Hang your wedding ring from a strand of the father's hair over your belly. If the ring moves side to side, it'll be a girl. If it swings, it will be a boy. Also, be sure to count the rotations that the ring makes to find out how many children you'll carry in your lifetime.
(alternate version) To predict the sex of a baby: Suspend a wedding band held by a piece of thread over the palm of the pregnant girl. If the ring swings in an oval or circular motion the baby will be a girl. If the ring swings in a straight line the baby will be a boy.

Wah liew, I'm away for 1/2 day only and there were so many postings!

Janice,
I think my MS more or less over le. I got heartburn instead.

Wendy,
After birth, you will have menses (not known as menses, I forgot the name le) for at least 6 weeks. We still ovaluate when we BF, so BF doesn't mean won't get preggie. In fact, the 1st 6 mths after birth are very fertile period. We still will have menses while BF. My menses came immediately 3 weeks later after I stopped BF.

Vivian,
OSCAR test is a new test on top of triple test. According to my gynae and what I read in internet, triple test result is only 60% accurate, hence OSCAR was introduced this year. Anyway, both tests are testing for the same purpose.
I understand SGH is offering OSCAR test at only $150 only. OSCAR test is performed between week 11 to 14 and triple test is at 16 weeks.

crystillized,
Dun tell me you are the unlucky one who has to go thr the MS for the whole pregnancy hor!!! I did know some women kena MS for the whole pregnancy **fainted**

babygrace,
My gal also throws herself against my stomach! I think they know hor?

teddyhope,
I believe pets are same as babies. Especially doggies are very sensitive.

babybenmen,
hahaha... different age different gender ah? Then you have twins lor kekeke...

coral,
Wah, your boss really dun "ti liang" you leh. In this case, take this chance to rest more. How are you now? Getting better?

hello wtan,

i heard about this one:

To predict the sex of a baby: Suspend a wedding band held by a piece of thread over the palm of the pregnant girl. If the ring swings in an oval or circular motion the baby will be a girl. If the ring swings in a straight line the baby will be a boy.

I thought this is quite true cause it was introduce by a friend and they say can test on our parents to see its accuracy!
I tried on my parents and it works!

Hihi Jenny,

My gynae confirm i only have 1 bb liao...
Now only gan cheong to know bb boy or bb ger only...keke...

Hi Jenny,
The triple test is just the blood test,that is why it is only 60% accurate but if it is accompany with the fluid scan, it is the same accurancy as OSCAR. My gynae has informed me that there is a new triple test which can be taken as early as 3rd mth. So it is almost the same as OSCAR liao...

Well, i think it is up to individual whether to take OSCAR or others since the purpose is all the same, to make sure the bb is well...

Hi coral,
Take care of yourself lah... now can rest for a while and enjoy your pregnancy... what kind of job you looking for?

Hi hi Jenny..
I guess it vary from individuals body..thks for sharing abt this to us..i m sure it will be very useful to all..thks! I guess the part u dun crave for the pork seems interesting..but as for the pimples breakout..hmm, I guess maybe u really have good complexion &amp; thats why dun have the breakout..

Hi hi babybenmen
Oh really! Hmm..this is indeed interesting..but hor, I m wondering any idea which side of the palm? So does it means that I hold the thread in a horizontal manner across my palm then then roll the wedding band from wrist to the fingers tip? Seems very interesting leh..haha..