(2006/10) OCTOBER 2006 MTB

Jen, i've intended to wean him off milk bottle at 3 so i guess i made good progress. was worried he might reject milk but this boy is a milk monster now. he still drinks 3 milk feed a day so even if he skips 1, still alright. infact he enjoys drinking milk & the new cup i bought him cos he could see the milk travelling up in a spiral manner & that amuses him.

Jer, that's how i console myself. but apart from the occasional night works & travelling i dun stay in office past 7pm. i like the nei nei one. so cute. cruise sounds good if we can all go together. definitely be fun. i remember when caleb was 6 mths, we went on cruise & so happened joanne & family also went on the same cruise so we met on board & it was quite fun though the time the babies spent together was very short then.

Selina, Jen, I've not waen CHar off bottle, cos that seem to be one thing that gives her comfort so I'm not pushing her, but guess she'll be forced to give that up once in childcare.

The other day Char was trying very hard to poo so her face was red and we laughed at her, she gaveus a dirty look and said it's not funny. The tone is definitely not that of a 3yo.

Jerene, Selina, sounds like great idea, if possible I hope to plan for one end next yr or early 2011 (cos I want Coen to be at least 1.5yo the food is easier). But timing all depends on the projs on hand and hb's work schedule.

Selina,
I'm worried with milk intake cos especially Jaslyn, she simply doesn't take more much FM now. She can ask for FM, but doesn't even drink an oz from it. Most time the FM is threw away.
My gals can go w/o milk for the whole day. Sometimes I have to force them to drink a bit.
But cold fresh milk is a different story. They want 大大杯!!

Coral, sounds familiar. Cos when i threaten Caleb with the cane, sometimes i will tell him i will cane him & show his teachers & classmates & they will laugh at him cos it is so shameful to be caned. He told me "No, mummy, they wont laugh cos it is not funny".

Cruise wise i am quite flexible but i dun think HB wanna spend so much on the fly cruise. so maybe a cruise to a nearer destination?

Jen, prob cos i have yet to intro him fresh milk cos taking my sis advice cos she told me if he drinks FM, no need fresh milk cos once he takes fresh milk, will not want FM again cos of the taste. anyway, caleb doesnt take cold stuff so not likely i can intro to him.

Selina, I'll also be going for a crusie to a nearer destination, that will be one I'm bringing my parents and inlaws, can't afford to bring the entire clan to fly cruise. Had wanted to bring them to Aust. but think cruise safer, if last min. hb can't go I can still bring the young and old there alone, but for Aust, dont think I can cope. Our kiddos speak like xiao da ren.

Jenny, if they drink fresh milk isn't that just as good? Char refuse fresh milk leh. So no choice gotta buy FM, which like you get throw away often too. Char always want to leave some behind regardless of the amount we give her. A bad habit. She only finish her milk at night.

Selina,
you are not alone, Desiree still drinks 3X a day of FM, each time is at least 8oz(240ml).
Somemore she is on Gain IQ kid, very siong.
I will let her be cos she dont take a lot during meals time, half a bowl nia. I just want her to have the necessary nutrients.

Cruise
Planning one next year to nearby countries. bringing my mum again since she like it.
Any chance we are organise one together?

Delphine, ok but Caleb eats alot. The amt of rice he eats is more than me definitely. He alone can finish 1 bowl of fish ball noodles by himself. after meal 1 - 2 hrs, drink 200ml milk than snack in between before his next meal. but he doesnt look like he is a big eater lor

Selina,
I intro fresh milk quite early, so that this lazy mummy doesn't need to bring barang out, can just buy off shelf =P
Mine drink 2 feeds 150ml. Sometimes 1 feed only.

Coral,
is good, but at the rate they are drinking, I will be broke haha... plus I scare constipation with too much fresh milk. Doc told me a glass per day will do, too much will cause constipation.

Updates on the Ricky Brothers
-------------------------------------

Really got a BIG scare earlier when the kiddos are sick at the same time, really very stressful moment for me..luckily they are recovering and I can take the HEAVY load off my heart..sorry for being soo long-winded..but was thinking it will be better for me to just share with u all mummies as well..

Indeed really can’t take it easy & ignore the signs when the kids are sick. I really have to thank mummies I smsed asking abt bronchitis & treatment with nebulizer…I can’t imagine if I just ask Mav to stay over at my mum’s place that night aft GP’s visit since Brod was also sick…the best part is Mav was still ACTIVE as usual..yelling here & there...

Brod caught the virus when we were out & started having runny nose + cough on Sun, so Sun night sent Mav to my mum’s place & Mon morn we bought Brod to see PD, the cough worsen on Wed night, so 2nd visit to PD frm my mum’s place & they gave more medications (7 diff kind + 1 nose drop) & now he’s recovering…soooo stressss when the 2 kids are sick..

Eversince Sun night we separated them, they only meet up on Wed night before we brought Brod to PD, so I guess that’s when Mav caught the virus from Brod.

So Thurs morn, my mum brought Mav to GP (near her house) & aft his noon nap, he got worse & was panting quite badly + breathlessly so my mum + my hb brought him back to GP when clinic reopens while I + Brod stayed at home since he’s also sick..they tried to feed him medication but he puked out immediately so GP asked my mum & hb to monitor coz maybe it’s bronchitis but since GP do not hv nebulizer so I told hb to quickly bring Mav to PD (near my house) for 2nd opinion & if needed to be on nebulizer, indeed, upon arrival at PD’s clinic, PD instructed Mav to be on nebulizer but aft the session, he still have wheezing sound & panting breathlessly so PD advised us to go to KKH immediately.

I packed for Mav & quickly parked Brod with MIL, hb brought Mav to my mum’s place for milk before rushing down to KK, at KK, the nurse station advised I registered for Mav while asked hb to go emergency room & got a doc to see Mav. Mav was given the arrow chamber (used for Asthma) with the puff for 4 cycles in the short time frame of 3hrs. Even fed him with oral steroid but he puked out too. His oxygen level was at borderline so doc admitted him at 3am & gave him oxygen to assist him to breathe better. It was a NIGHTMARE for me coz I never expect him to be soo SERIOUS  1st time on nebulizer & arrow chamber but still didn’t work well. I can’t get to close my eyes to sleep even thou I m soo sleepy while he had to be on the puff every hrly aft admission. Luckily it got much manageable in the morn & the wheezing in the lungs got better, doc concluded that he has bronchitis and viral infection that cause his lungs to be infected and with phlegm. As he got better on day 2 with minimal wheezing at his lungs, they dragged the hrs for the puff, esp during his sleep the oxygen level in his body was better, they took off the device measuring his oxygen level & he got discharged on Sat afternoon...

Selina, it’s indeed very nice of u to specially come over KK frm Bugis to visit Mav. Really appreciate your thots. Thanks for all.

selina
thats the amount cy drinks daily. izzit a lot? he is still on FM, alternating between gainIQ and baby'sonly lactose free coz he's a bit lactose intolerant and gainIQ does funny things to his tummy..

delphine
why is Gain IQ siong? izzit very strong? too heaty or too fatty? CY was on isomil but i figure not good for boys to be on soy for so long

Selina/Delphine,
wow...Caleb & Desiree can really drink.
A only take 150ml during morning & 200ml before night sleep.

Wean off bottle
Like <font color="0000ff">JEnny</font>, i also dun dare to wean him off from milk bottle although i so much wanted to do it cos he been damaged so many of teats. I have to change it frequently to avoid he eat the teat. hoho...
But he only drink milk frm milk bottle. I did tried to give him in cup..but he refuse to drink it &amp; told me it's not milk.

Jenny,
i forgot, which fresh milk u give to your gals? I is MEiji?

Dor,
but i saw frm facebook tat you slim down right?
Me hor so happy than i back to my pre pregnancy weight after bf A for 2 yrs. but within 3 mths after stop bbf, my weight shoot up, now 5kg extra..sigh!

cruise trip
Brought A to star cruise when he was 6mth old. so much easy cos he still bf &amp; haven't start him on solid yet. I will board Royal Carribean with family next month. So excited &amp; looking forward as this ship is so much diff frm Star cruise.

Alvis also start become chatter box. he kept telling ILs that tomorrow is friday even that day is just monday, cos he said friday he will be going to Papa Mama 's hse.
and he tried to speak some mandarin now with with those ang mo slang. bth...

Lilboymom,
think Delphine said Gain IQ siong is refer to the price.

Wendy,
Sorry to hear abt Bro &amp; Maverick sick &amp; paiseh that i still smsed you tat night.
How are them now?

oo..ya

<font color="ff6000">Happy birthday to Ayden, Kealen &amp; CY</font>

End Oct liao..

jasmine...
no la..no need pie-say la, me then pie-say leh..thks for ur sms too..i was quite busy at work so didnt hv time to reply u..sorry &amp; thanks for ur kind concern..the brothers are recovering...sorry that i cant join u on Sun for the mygym session..

Wendy,
sounded serious and really stressed! Every mother will be heartpained when the little ones are sick.
My hb always said kids are a piece of fresh from mother's body.

lilboymum,
Why dun you change CY's FM if he's not taking GainIQ well?
Delphine is referring to the price, very siong = very expensive cos both her gals are taking the same FM, gonna stock up a lot.

Jasmine,
The gals will drink from cup but will not finish all lor. They said FM taste smelly in cup.
The gals take all kinds of brand. Can be Meiji, Farm house, HL (yes even is low fat cos they simply love fresh milk).

Happy birthday + belated birthday to Ayden, Kealen &amp; CY + jadon + dagon

I'm simply restless today =P

Wendy,
no lal...no need to apologize.
shall wait till both them get well then we can arrange for a small playdate for them. our playday postpone so long liao...hehe

jenny..
maybe i was with Brod so i didnt "SEE" hw Mav reacted frm my mum's place to the GP &amp; PD, in a way i still think in my heart, he shd be ok aft the neub leh..then when PD told hb better to send him to KK, i got a "SLAP-reaction" immediately &amp; started to shiver...i really never expected it to be like this..doc say it's bcoz of the viral infection that worsen the case..but thankfully, he got better in the wheezing in his lungs by the time Selina visits (ie: the next day of admission), then I can managed to nap better that night..

jasmine..
ya lo..sigh..each time i wanted to go over, then kena disrupted..sorry ah..

Pediasure
===========
any kiddos on pediasure (1-10yrs) now? aa..coz i opened a tin to let Mav take since he's a super fussy eater (ie: do not want to take rice, only willing to take porridge &amp; pick out all the vege even when they are soo finely chopped) but think he didnt take it well &amp; cant even finish 50% of the usual feed if we give him Pediasure..so i m wondering if i can pass to any of the kiddos here drinking Pediasure..do let me know..thks..

Jenny,
A will never drink when he see i fill up the cup with milk. the kids are weird right?
I got give A low fat yougurt too..kekeke..
why restless? a lot of works?

Delphine,
Did you saw the advertisement today? Gain IQ was selling $49 (1.8kg) at Guardian. or 26.99 at Giant (with free Gain IQ bear). I already collected 3 bears and left 2 more. its a family.

mommies who kids drink Gain IQ
When you all intend to upgrade to Gain IQ kids?

Jasmine,
no lah, peak over, waiting for the next peak to bomb me in another mth's time...
maybe too occupied earlier, now like nothing much to do + after leave come back office, dun feel like coming back hahahaha... in holiday mood!

Jasmine,
I'm still thinking... maybe I will sell away the dora cos left with 1 pc, the gals sure fight over it. Jaslyn actually chosen this dora. How will she wants to share with jie jie.

Jenny,
saw some even return Thomas poncho. but i think still let A use cos it's still cover his body.
buy another one for Jolene la...

Don't want liao, thinking back, I have to wash 2 sets (now they share 1 towel after swim)! My mum actually bought My Melody towels for them before I bought the ponchos.

Jenny,
actually i also 'hiao' that buying tat poncho.
cos A refuse to wear it. at the end, just use like towel nia.
and this 'towel' hor so hard to dry as i hand wash it.

Me also hiao hahaha...
Actually more to cover their bodies lah, cos I changed them beside the pool, lazy to bring them to the changing room since go home will bath liao.
I'm fine cos I'm using dryer =P

Jenny,

oo..you didn't bath them there?
last sun brought A for his 1st swimming in his life, unfortunately he only play like 5min, then chased by guard liao due to thunder.
can imaging how disappointed of him...

No lah, go home then bath. Unless hb doesn't drive us there and I have to bring them to and fro myself, then will have a quick bath.
That's the disadvantage of outdoor swimming pool lor, dangerous with thunder also lah.
Rain or shine, got thunder or not, the gals' class will continue cos is indoor swimming pool, but hor still very cold if it rains lor.

Lilboymum,
As the mummies here have explained, i mean very siong on my pocket!! haahaa.

Jasmine,
Thanks for informing on the promo here.. gotta go stock up liao..
Desiree already on Gain IQ kid and denise is on Gain IQ.

Wendy,
Oh dear, sorry to hear that brothers are taking turns to fall sick. Please take care of yourself too.

Selina,
Cant tell Caleb is a big eater leh cos the last time i saw him, he is quite average build as a 3yo kid.

Jer
Alexis is so funny.......hahaha
Damien also does things like that. He goes touching his boobs, "Mama I also have milk"
So I'll say "Really?? squeeze out to show me"
"NO!!! Later I want to feed Ember one."

N just today, hubby told me my fil told D.
FIL: You are my baobei you know.
D: NO! I am not your baobei. I am Papa's baobei.
FIL: Okie, then you are my sweetheart.
D: Okie, I am your sweetheart

Oh yes n jus yesterday, I was telling D off for answering me "I know, I know" when I was calling him. N guess what he said, "Okie, only Papa can say I know"
Wah so angry lor I told him "NO! If papa say I will also scold"
See what bad examples do to our kids....arghhhh

Wendy
Wah so many things happened. No wonder never hear from you. Read ur post I also so scared. Lucky the kids are okie now.
U must take care too okie.

Jasmine
No leh my weight is still the same lor. That's why I say alot of ppl also comment lor that I slim down but then I didn't leh...weird right....
N I still cannot wear back some of the old clothes esp bottoms...........sigh
D's time I slim down n less then pre preg somemore within 9mths. Now E already 15 mths lor I still have 5 kg to go. Plus all the buttoms cannot fit. I think my big backside will never slim back down liao.......sigh

Wah going cruise aah....enjoy huh.

Jenny
True ma the kids last time is literaly apart of us ma...hehe

What happened to the poncho?? why got ppl want refund??

Good morning mommies!

Jen et al, where do you bring your kids swimming? Are they learning from a professional? How often do you go? Where's the indoor pool? Heated? Sorry huh, lotsa questions...

Wendy, that was such a horrid experience, I cannot begin to imagine how you must have felt...trust Brod and Mav are much better now. KKH is very fast to react to children' emergencies...

Dor, I want to go on a diet but as I am nursing and not much to boot at that, I am afriad it will affect baby so I continue to stay fat and tell myself it's okay (though it's hard to maintain the positive feeling all the time, darn miserable when you have nothing to wear coz nothing fits...)

<font color="ff0000">Happy Birthday to all our end Oct little friends...and to many more!</font>

Today is my fifth wedding anniversary, and I am on half day leave though I know I will pay for it over the weekend. We are going to Morton's at Mandarin Oriental Hotel tonight and bringing alexis! #2 gets to stay home, as I often tell hubby, he is a second class citizen! I bought a pair of Save the Children rings for us, feels good that 20% of that goes to charity

Have a good day, my friends!

Doreen,
Seems that with #2, the extra fats/weight just won't go off. I'm strucked with the stubborn 4kg which simply refuse to go off and I can't be bother with it anymore. Like what you mentioned abt slimming that time we met, I can tell you "yes on its appearance but not the actual weight lor".
The poncho measurement given and its actual measurement is a huge difference lor. And I think for one of the design, it is not a poncho but a wrap towel. The organiser is very good leh, she will be refunding for the wrong item, and yet she emailed us telling us no need to post back to her, but donate to charity instead. Didn't expect her to be so nice. My guess is she kena "cheated" by the china factory.

Jerene,
For casual swim or rather water fun, most times at safra clubs or my god bro's condo, next yr will include my sis's condo. I dun recall bringing them to any public pool yet cos I dunno where to go with lesser crowd. Moreover we are safra members, and the kids swim for free until they reach age of 5.
They have class once a week with a prof swimming pool at north area, which trains the future national swimmers (but I'm not towards that goal lah). Not really indoor pool but is sheltered. Not heated lah, normal public pool temp. Jolene will be proceeding one level up next mth. They conduct the test every few mths.
Co-incident, today is the 10th anniversary knowing my hb, and this year is our 七年之痒 LOL

Dor,
Never mind lal..as long as your appearance look slim. ppl won't ask abt the weight ma..
yeah..it's family trip.
overall cruise trip is just eat and eat. But this time we goona let A try a lot of their facilities.

Jerene,
Happy anniversary!

sometimes i disturb A that He is fat fat. but in the end he said "mama fat fat" oh..my!

Jenny,
I never ben safra pools although we are members too. But tampines branch always very crowded during weekend.
so, your sis bought condo at east side? so, you will come to east to swim hor? kekeke...
So, tonite going to celebrate with your hb? 10 years anniversary is not easy to reach.

wow..she really good that no need you all to send back the poncho? pity her kena cheated by the China supplier

Jasmine,
I only go on weekdays (take leave). Weekends cannot go de... A lot of swimming classes conducted from morning to evening, only left 12-2pm slot free.
I heard Tampines branch very nice, but I haven't go there yet.
Already had advance celebrations when we went on leave. Moreover, hb's bday coming soon, broke man!

Wendy, that's was really a nightmare. After reading your story I start to panic. Coen's been coughing since mid Oct and lots of phlegm, I just bought him to PD last Sat, but till now still lotsa of phlegm, not sure if I should bring him on another hosp trip.

Jerene, Happy Anniversary! My 5th Anniversary coming in a few month's time too.

Selina, from the pics you posted, can't tell Caleb eat so much a day. He must be very active to burn all that off.

Jen, I actully think you lost weight when I last met you.

Coral,
Bring Coen to see chinese physician. Yu Guo (or is it You Guo) near you mah, but waiting time can kills.
I trust TCM for cough and phlegm.
I do feel lighter but not the weight.

Jen/Dor,
At least you all left with those kgs which are less than 5.
Mine still stuck with 8kg after denise, haiz.. no hope liao lah.

ya. that's y i always tell my mum he waste all the food cos dunno where they go to since he dun look big at all just average like delphine mention. only consolation that he weighs quite a fair bit for his age. easily 15 - 16kg now.

coral, yes he is active but not always cos he loves working on puzzles so most time he occupies his time watching playhouse disney &amp; working on his puzzles.

wendy, glad the bros are getting better. dun mention cos i happen to be ard the area.

jas, caleb is on gainIQ kids already. on weight i think i am pretty fortunate that i was able to fit into all my pre-preg clothes even b4 caleb turns 1 &amp; the weight just kept constant since but the comment was always i lost weight which was not wat was reflected on the weighing scale.

jen, where is the girls learning swimming? my nephew is trained competitive by coach edmund in yishun? same person? that's on wkdays. BIL also coach him competitive when he is free. i havent started caleb officially on swimming but thru the not-so-regular swimming session we brought him where BIL coaches, he has progressed to be able to balance with the noodle &amp; kick 25m. he is also slowly gaining confidence in blowing bubbles &amp; my next step wld be to get him to be confident enough to put his head in the water.

jerene
did alexis sign up with aquaducks after the trial? i rem she was very water confident then...

cy is with marsden, after the trial i didnt like the facilities at aquaducks so signed up with marsden instead... heated pool at turf city, been wanting to change but so difficult coz now meimei is swimming too...have to find one that is willing to take bbs...he is ok in water coz he started so young. can dive and touch the bottom of pool but he mostly fools around too much..frankly the girls are soo much better, can coordinate and practise strokes..boys...fool around too much

i like OZ schools coz they teach free style then backstroke first. these are the most difficult and demanding strokes. most singapore schools teach breaststroke first coz it's the survival stroke and the easiest to acquire especially when there are more students around...

jen
im trying to stretch his tummy a lil. he was on baby's only lactose free, but that brand is honestly too expensive to continue that's why im slowly putting him on gain IQ. bit by bit so his stomach can take it...still in the process...

Clearing Bowls
==============

I know most kids clear their bowls daily but unfortunately Joanna doesnt. She only clear hers once in say...maybe 3 days.

Any of your kids same as Joanna? She takes both fruits &amp; vegetables. Any advise.

Clearing Bowls
++++++++++++++

I know most kids clear their bowls daily. Unfortunately, Joanna doesnt and sometimes she clear her bowls after 3 days.

She does take fruits &amp; vegetables.

Any advise.

Coral,
If you have time, do bring Coen to TCM. I feel much comfortable with TCM for cough and phlegm.

Selina,
Can you see Jaslyn is also another eater like Caleb? She eats and eats non stop, even when she's full with big tummy. Then she can tell me "mummy, I've big tummy, I've bb inside my tummy" **faint**
Caleb is very good already. Jaslyn just started as an official student 2 weeks ago and is learning on her kicks and bubbling. Still far from balancing with board, let alone the 25m.

jackiejon,
can't advise you much on this, cos I used to face this issue last time with Jaslyn. After she starts on swimming, she poo daily.
Last time she also very weird one, only poo at my mum place.

USANA Usanimals for kids
===========================
I've balance 2 bottles and would like to let go at S$25 for 2.(Retail selling around $30++/bottle). Exp date : May 2010.

My son dislike the smell and I still have an unfinished bottle. If your little one like it, pl consider this ya.

Interested can email me at [email protected]

Usanimals
They won’t touch their veggies, and that makes you wonder if your kids are getting vitamins, minerals, and antioxidants they need to grow up healthy and strong. Great nutrition gives kids a great start and Usanimals are one of the most antioxidant-rich supplements—specifically formulated for children—that you can buy. Usanimals also provide a comprehensive formula of vitamins and minerals that children need during this phase of rapid growth. And your kids will go wild for the wild berry taste and the wild animal shapes!

hi wendy,

after reading your story, indeed a very scaring experience for you... the 1st time tristan need to be on nebuliser, i nearly cried along with him... but lucky thing, his condition did not worsen. my advise, try to keep both brothers apart esp they are sick. immune system is quite weak, so if 1 bro is recovered, the other one still sick, may transmit the virus again.

hi coral,

do take Coen back for a check up again. nowadays whenever tristan had a cold/cough, no matter how slight is it, i definitely bring him to PD. just want to ensure that his lungs are clear.

hi jenny,

wanted to try TCM for tricia too. she has this persisting cold which wont go away even though we gave her cough medication. but this Yu Guo, got hear very long Q, unless weekdays slightly better, rite?
by the way, my colleague did not get any of the Doraemon biscuit moulds, she cant find them. sorry.

hi dor,

same here, everyone has been commenting i look the same as before pregnancy, so they get a shock when i say that i cant wear back some of my bottoms before preggie. think our hip area has expanded, esp for natural birth.

hi selina/delphine,

tricia is also drinking 240ml milk every morning, afternoon nap and nite. sometimes maybe even abit more, cos she see didi drink milk, she also want. she still drinking from the milk bottle. w/o milk bottle, think she cant sleep.
this girl is weighing about 18kg now...