(2006/10) OCTOBER 2006 MTB

Jenny,
Ya, that was what I had in mind to do also. Just that my sis's wedding is this weekend and my parents have been busy last few weekends getting the house ready so no time to help me babysit. Will execute my plans soon.

Coral,
Not only make full use of our hands, i think very good for training balancing skills too!

freshpoison,
I was clinbing in and out of the car from the side where the bulky Britax carseat is and squeezing myself between that carseat and another britax infant capsule. All these in a small sedan car. The getting in and out of the car part was really unglam! Now, i am leaving the 2 kids in the back seat on their own unless the baby needs nursing.

<font color="aa00aa">bbgrace sorry for the late reply , if u haven't place any order yet, i would like to tag along to buy Hero Nutritionals Yummi Bears Multi-Vitamin &amp; Minerals -- 200 Gummies. Tks so much !!</font>

freshpoison
actually convertible car seats are a lot safer than other kinds. especially those with five point harness. unless K is very big sized, convertible car seats still the best choice leh...

think booster safer if the child is 15kg and above....

im like pups, but i converted the infant seat of CH into convertible liaoz...hahaha..can you imagine how much space i hagve???

pups, I was also squeezing to get into two bulky car seats and my hb was amazed that I can squeeze in betwee the seats. That time i was still preg. Haha, but now hb has moved hcar's seat to the front, though that's not my preferred arrangement, but he felt very uncomfortable see me stuck in btw two seats. Must be an ugly sight to make him constantly nag at me.

Here's Happy Coen after morning Feed
====================================
2460094.jpg

Jenny
its not by choice. I dread it. but it cld turn out to b a blessing in disguise. I'll fill u in later. dun wanna mention too much here.
I find the shallow bedrail not enuff... R can toss and turn so much til his head lands on the other side when he awakes. but coz its in his cot. i dun care. if he's sleeping in the bed, think he'll wld fallen off many times!

Shirley
Yah mayb they'll know instinctively when they sleep in the bed. I'll find out when I introduce to R.
soon, soon!
Yes, def we will do this b4 #2 comes out so he wun feel we r abandoning him. once we move to our new plc, i'll start this once he gets use to the new home.

Oh zac does not know how to open door knob yet? R learnt tt soon aft he was trapped inside the bedroom last yr. But soon he'll learn alrdy.

Dor
i am v paranoid abt R dirtying the toilet bowl and end up strong urine smell there tts y we always acc him to the toilet trip. else he treats the toilet as a playhse, always happy to go in!!! when he poos, he even wants to read mag juz like wat hb &amp; me do!

yah i shld learn to let go and its more sin nang 4 us...
he's off night diapers liao????? wow!

Coral
Coen looks so different here and he's all happy!

pups,

peifu... I never squeeze behind cos I trained my boy to sit by himself at the back ever since he starting going out wif us. Nw having trouble cos he's too heavy for me to carry him onto the carseat and he climbs in by himself but a bit 'kelian' to see him struggle since he has short legs... haha

dor/jrt
he knows how to turn the knob but too short to execute it haha so always use this to encourage him to drink milk

coral
that is a nice shot of coen! ya i know about multi tasking. during confinement i was like nursing lele, eating my dinner and scolding zac at the same time haha sometime also need to use my legs to stop zac from doing dangerous stunt.

freshpoison,
ya lor, thought 3-in-1 is a good idea. Phew, lucky mine in good use, though only use on weekends.

pups,
wait after yr sis's wedding lor.
maybe for tonight, settle with baby k, then can spend time with k before he goes to bed.

crystallized,
I agreed in cot, they really dunno sleep like what!!
Oh I felt the bedrail shallow and not enough support, but it turned out I was wrong. Quite strong, though look so "plastic kind of feeling".

did anyone of u mentioned abt ur kid down wif UTI sometime back? I rem i heard it somewhere but my pte ltd memory cells cant recall who was the one tt told me abt it.

A fren of mine whom's 6 mth old daughter is diagnosed wif UTI and she has been on 1 course of antibiotics. for some reason, PD (a famous &amp; reputable one) wanna do invasive tests on the baby for to rule out kidney &amp; bladder abnormalities. She's v worried coz test is invasive and baby is still so young.

If its one of u, can let me know wat sort of treatment was being carried out and how long did it take to recover? Any furthur tests done etc?

jRt, if I remember correctly it's ester...Ester, am I rite? That time they suspect Char of UTI, but only did urine test. But think the PD was harsh and i saw blood when they insert tube to draw urine, from then on Char was really really afraid of doc, until today. Another time they did urine test to check on Char's kidney due to her forever swollen eyes. Nothing too invasive though.

Jrt
Actually I also very worried D would dirty the toilet seat cos I think he still abit too young to know hw to aim properly. But cos sometimes I can't accompany him in when I BF E halfway n he is the bochap kind jus tell 'I want to shi shi' then he auto go toilet to pee liao. So I jus leave it lor since I realise he is able to pee inside....hehe
Now think become bad habit liao cos I jus ask him to go when he say he needs to. Like jus nw I bf ember halfway he say wanna poo. But he chose to use the potty so bring the potty out, sit infront of us till I finis Bf E then clean him.

Coral
Coen smile until the mouth so big....hehe

Shirley
Too short?? Dun look so short lah zac.....hehehe

Coral,
What a happy baby!
Baby K only smiled so widely after her first month.

Shirley,
Ya, hands, legs, body, voice all used at once to deal with the kids. Haha. Multi-tasking, like always :p

Jenny,
Actually EVERY NIGHT, I spend time with K on a one to one basis leh. I will read to him a few books of his choice before lying down to sleep together. Even during confinement, it didn't change. I will hand the baby over to the CL, and even when baby needed to drink milk, she will drink ebm while I focus on K 100%. Now, during that "protected time" hubby will look after baby K while I go through K's nightly routine with him.

Hi babygrace,
If you hav nt ordered, can i tag along? Frm Vitacost rite?

Childlife Cod Liver Oil Strawberry -- 8 fl oz
(2 bottles USD12.85 x 2 = USD25.70)

Hero Nutritionals Yummi Bears Multi-Vitamin &amp; Minerals -- 200 Gummies
(2 bottles USD14.29 x 2 = USD28.58)

Please email me ur acct to transfer if I can tag along. Thanks a million.

freshpoison and mango,
Noted your order.
I've got to split the orders into 2 lots. Can take in somemore. Anyone else wants anything, pls let me have them by tonight. Thanks!

i've placed the orders on sunday night. As for payment, will wait till vpost shipping cost is known then i collect everything.

I'm quite new to this area, recently moved in and live near Hougang ave 1. I'm looking for either good play group or day care center for my little girl. Hope some of you guys can help me. Thanks.

I wanna check... anyone trading in shares/stocks currently?
I'm quite interested but have never done it before so wanna learn from ppl who are veterans. Any advice?
My hubby and I have decided that we must start building our retirement nest if we ever wanna retire early.
We are familiar wif investing in properties but wanna branch out nw beyond this safety net.

freshpoison,
i've been trading in stocks using my hubby's account when i wasn't working.
I wouldn't say that it's for building retirement nest as it's more of a gamble for me sometimes using spare cash to earn some pocket money.
But there are some fundamentals that i abide by:
1. Do not buy penny stocks. I only get blue-chip ones. The value of my portfolio has dropped substantially since the downturn but these companies are still giving out decent dividends.

2. Do not contra. Buy only if you have the holding power.

As for building up retirement nest, I leave it to the professionals to do it. These days there are firms that serve as independent financial advisers (IFA). I prefer using an IFA as it is not linked to a single insurance coy or bank's products as the name suggest, they are independent. The only thing is that you've got to pay them a retainer fee for their service.

Hi babygrace,
These IFAs usually require a fixed amount as mthly/annual premium? Something like insurance? I have those, so now looking at what to do as and when I have some spare cash. We do not want to be tied dwn wif any fixed payments unless its housing related where the rental income is more than sufficient to cover the mthly repayments.

I'm interested in blue chips especially bank shares but hw to start an account? U trade or u have a trader/broker?
I'm not looking at contra esp in such volatile times.
Sorry so 'cheong hei' cos totally newbie... my hubby also trying to find out more fr his friends but a bit 'pai sei' cos both of us like very 'suaku' and it seems like everybody is trading leh.

hi freshpoison,

same as u... also interested to try trading in stocks to earn some "extra cash" rather than building my retirement nest... furthermore, i'm have never been a risk taker.
dont say u "suaku" hor, me also never do any trading before.

freshpoison, you can open an account very quickly with banks like DBS, OCBC, or places like Philip capital, GK GOh - GOh direct etc and start trading in a few weeks' time.

Last week hb and I were also calculating how much we must save a month as he'll prob retire in 10yr's time when teh kids are still in primary school. So now we make sure we save a sum every month so we have enough for them when hb retire. I was hoping to trade and earn some extra cash for retirement, but in the end too timid never do it. I have an accoutn with my financial planner who help me invest a fixed sum in cahs every month and since I never touch my CPF for house, I use the lump sum for investment. Must say he's quite good, for we saw the downturn coming way before it did, so did all the right thing thus never suffer much during this period.But i missed the March period only invested very little...Not sure if the're better opportunity in the next few months.

Just when I realise I need to committ quite a large sum monthly for the kids, my boss sort of agree to my no pay leave until next yr...It's a big sum of money to part with...though I'm more keen to stay at home with the kids, I'm not sure if it's really wise to part with the money since hb will be retiring really soon.

Now I dare not hope for early retirement liao. Think I'll have to support the family if hb really retires. For in Spore, it's very difficult to find a second career once you're over 40...

The silent reader open up now since you are in stocks and shares. I'm currently working as a PA to a FA at Phillip Capital and invest in some shares thingy recently. If any mummies would like to do so, feel free to let me know, i can intro my boss to you.

Coral is right, we'll need as least $800 a month to get an endownment (cause endownment includes insurance coverage although it's little) so i'll rather invest and enjoy higher interest since i got 15 years to spare (if it's for kids education).

Hope i do not sound like a FA, cause i'm not. I'm just voicing my views.

er, i got nothing to contribute since i know nuts abt stocks &amp; shares.

Can i juz get suggestions on wat to do wif R this sat when i am wif him alone coz hb needs to work the whole day till 9pm? i dunno how i am gg to survive wif him alone coz i still hv MS. Though i can get my mum to look aft, i prefer to give her the day off if i can manage it.

I got no car so gotta rely totally on public transport. really dunno where to bring him to tt its not too taxing on me (in case MS is bad on tt day) and yet can keep him entertained. I am stressed when i think of meal times... i dunno wat to eat. Haiz...

To sidetrack, my check-up yest @ 17 wks, gynae dropped a "bombshell". she declared i am hvg a girl, in which totally shocked me as I am expectg to see sthg sticking out b/w the legs during this check-up. i kept telling her its impossible and its gotta b a miracle to be a girl. gynae said "its a girl" no less than 5 times during the scan. told her i'll only b convinced during the detailed scan @ 20 wks. I was in denial mode whole day and i refused to believe her. she even printed the scan tt apparently shows the image b/w the legs and nothing was protruding out but still i refused to believe her.
i am not overly excited coz i alrdy psych-ed myself tt i am expecting a boy and this means both boys shld bond better together. then now it turns out tt i might b hvg a princess. i am really shocked!

gynae even got the nurse to cfm tt its a girl. but i still dun believe them. it was so funny!
coz i read in Oct 09 threads a few mums scanned earlier, said it was a girl (or was it a boy? i cant rem!) and it turned out to b vice versa during the next scan. i'm thinking mine will b like tt. still dunno wat to expect and i'll juz wait for the detailed scan then decide whether i shld b overjoyed.

hi ling,

U are maximus's ling rite? I'm interested. but I dun wan talk to ur boss yet leh, wait I never invest 'paisei'.
How do I open an acct with Philips Capital? Min sum to open acct? Does the acct need to be active all the time? What can I trade? Blue-chips? STI Index? Can explain further?

coral,

I wasn't affected by last yr's slump or involved in this yr's rally cos really know nuts about share/stocks. So nw wanna start learning just to be prepared for the nxt slump/rally...

We were concentrating on the property mkt cos wanted to wait for the 'right' time again. Was looking at landed but decided to diversify instead so managed to grab some good bargains.

So wanna try stocks/shares next but small time investors only cos of the risk involved.

I tot came into the wrong thread hahaha...

freshpoison,
I know nuts abt stocks and shares, nothing to contribute. Though I have been thinking to invest a bit but unsure with all these stuff, so never really take the step. I've a colleague's hb who works as FA. He did advise for "safe" investment, but my hb isn't keen.

crystallized,
CONGRATULATIONS!!!
See, told you got chance hahaha... I told you when I was preggied with Jaslyn, I ate a lot of McChicken. Anyway, from what I know hor, for boy boy hor, is very easy to scan, and will be able to scan as early as week 10th. Happened to my friend lor.
As for this Sat, why dun you just stay at home to do indoor activities with Reubern?

Hehe...I also know nuts abt stocks and shares. But hb yes.

Crystallized,
CONGRATULATIONS!!!
So happy for you.

My hb will stay at home to llok after A on sat morning as i need to work half day. He let A watch his favourite tv program, like The Backyarddigan, quite a nice show.
if me, i sometimes drawing or colouring with him. his favourite activities. can kep him quite sometimes. or reading loL...

mommies,

How to get A love to go to school huh?
Every morning ILs very hard to get him in uniform or go inside class room. But according to teacher, he is fine after went inside.
Is it separate anxiety?

Jasmine,

We stress to my boy that he is going to school to play wif all his friends. We kept telling him that there's lots of toys, books to play wif. We used the word 'play' instead of 'learn', 'study' etc. He was like A, refused to put on his uniform and kept saying 'not nice not nice.... But after a while, I think he kena 'psycho' by the words 'play', 'toys', 'friends' etc. Now he's ok and would even cry on Sats/Suns when he doesn't get to go to school.

Jenny,
Doreen said must start new topic mah... haha otherwise everybody MIA liao.

We were also not interested last time, but like coral, we calculated... with current pay and miserable bonus, hw to retire early. Really dun wanna work till I'm 60 leh. Nw already toes in the grave, wait 60, half the body in the grave no time to enjoy life liao.

Haiz, my hubby also clueless abt stocks/shares so both of us asking around to find out more...

I think my job damn 'jialat', only free to join the thread's discussion during hols.

hi crystallised,

See, there's such a thing called miracle... as long as there's 3 lines on the scan, it's confirmed a girl...

hi jasmine,

A just started going to school rite? give him some time, he will learn to love school eventually as it's slowly become a routine to him.

Freshpoison
Early retirement aah not my cup of tea cos my job hor cannot resign or promote or any benefit 1 n still must work till I die.....hahaha
Actually all of us also got that job. Being a MOM....LOL

Or since u now holiday aah start gathering lah??...keke
been a very long time since we last gathered.

JRT
hahaha wanted to ask u when I saw ur FB posting but I know u will say here once confirm so I wait n really aah....keke
Yah lah wait till detail scan hor if not later happy for nothing then very sian leh.

If ur MS still bad hor then stay at home better bah. Else if halfway outside u feel bad then hw?? Nobody to rescue u leh. Even now i go out with the kids I make sure hubby will come n fetch us. So worse come to worse I too tired we jus find somewhere to sit until hubby comes lor.
Maybe buy some paint n paper n let R color at home u jus sit beside him will do.....hehehe

Gemini
3 lines hor no matter how I see I also cannot see lines......hahaha
But that time dun care lah they tell me confirm girl then girl lor......keke

crystallized,
Congrats! Your wish came true

freshpoison / gemini
Coral is right. You can open an online trading account with the banks or GK Goh etc. Hubby's one is with DBS-Vickers and it's linked to his bank account. You can get an application form from the bank and they can guide you through.

As for which stocks to buy,you can do some research here http://www.sharejunction.com/sharejunction/index.html

My IFA looks over my entire wealth planning including insurance, estate planning and tax planning. Note that IFA is different from normal FA because IFAs do not earn commission from the products they sell so as to maintain their independence. Their source of income comes from the fees that the clients pay them for managing their account.

When we first engaged them 5 years ago, they relooked at our insurance policies and coverage and we dropped some of those duplicate ones that we had. That's the beauty of an independent FA. Last time, we bought insurance from different agents who were only interested in selling their companies products hence resulting in unnecessary coverage.

The IFA also manages a portfolio of investments for us and it's generating a healthy return. You will have to work with the IFA on how much you can contribute to your planned savings either on a monthly or ad-hoc basis, it's up to you and depends on your targeted retirement nest.
Just to share, hubby met up with the IFA today and the IFA projected that we should be able to pay off the housing loan of our new place in 5 years time and if we contribute x dollars monthly into our savings plan, we should be able to retire comfortably with the money to fund overseas education for the kids. My point is that it's not too late to start planning now.
There are a few IFA firms in S'pore. You can find them dishing out financial advice on Sunday Times money pages. Depending on their target clientele, the minimum fund for them to manage varies.

jRt, congrats first! Hehe, if youy ask me what i'll do with Char when alone, I'm more daring, I brought her to zoo, to the beach, to the park and shopping mall and of course there are times when we just stay home. Those were the things I did with Char when preg and had bad morn sickness, but this mum will do anything to please her gal. ;P.

BBgrace, can recommend your IFA? My Fa currently tied with an insurance company though he promised htat he's starting his own independent company, he has yet to do that, thus I feel compromised at times due to his conflict of interest...

Freshpoison, I sort of gvae up the idea of a 2nd property cos too much committment, cash is king.

Jasmine, Char also dont like to go to school now, her reasons, she dislike her English teacher and also the helper kept using fear tactic on Char like telling her the cleaner uncle would catch her etc...I'm going to tell them to stop doing that durig the meet-the-teacher session next monday.

Dor, I second the idea of a gaterhing since I'm also very free. I can offer my place(@ telok kurau), just that might not be a good place cos no access to public transport.

Freshpoison,
Thanks for your tips!!

yeah..all along we kept telling him tat go school teacher will teach him sing, draw ..etc. maybe we should change instead of telling him learn but tell him what he can play at school.

Gemini,
He started this 2hrs playgroup early this mth.
But his getting worse now, dun wan get out frm highchair cos he dun want go to school, dun wan to wear uniform, till BIL use cane to ask him wear his pants.

Coral,
use fear tactic? shouln't do that, right?
If gathering at your place, i sure can make it. keke...cos it's near to ILs place. Alvis school also at Telok Kurau.

sometimes I feeb bad towards A too. cos he will change to another school this Aug. At 1st we tot let him attend 2hrs playgroup then next year transfer him to kindergarden. Whose know to secure a seat at Nursery next year, he have to start pre-nursery at the new school this Aug,1-3pm. Hopefully he can adjust well.

doreen,
u are so rite abt our 24/7 job... haha
Nt hols yet, nt results processing but I've completed my stuff and currently trying to shake leg abit b4 the whole mad rush starts again with the new semester.
Yah, shld hav gathering again... keep me posted