(2006/10) OCTOBER 2006 MTB

Pups
Take heart. I believe its part of the Terrible 2s cos its similar to something I posted before. "They will keep doing something jus to make sure you are consistant" Which means they will keep doing that something you said not to jus to make sure that it really is something that they cannot do.
D is doing that too n it helps me alot when I 'blank' out myself totally ignore his crying n tell myself its not him its jus a phrase. It really helps me to handle him better after that, cos I look at it at a better way n dun scream at him in fustration.
For D....I make it a pt to make true my words. When I tell him to sit there n wait until we finis our food, I make sure he waits till we finis our food. I will explain to him that he has finised his dinner but we have not and we are very hungry. So could he please wait until we have finished then I will let him out.
I think in a way he's used to it so he will stay there although he will still keep saying "I wanna come out."
As for meltdowns.....ummmm....I not very sure if D has them(not sure hw its classified) cos I will ignore him if he doesn't listen to me. I will tell him (n make sure he hears me loud n clear)"Since you dun listen to me, I will not talk to you." Then he will start going "Mama I want to listen to you" So for him it doesn't last long.
Maybe u can try ignoring n make sure K knows u are ignoring him becos he's doing something you do not like. See if it works for him. Cos mostly I think its the attention they want, n if they dun get the attention from it they will stop doing it.

Jrt
I have a portable cane too!!.......hahaha
Cos when at my dad's place n D gets unreasonable I have to scare him with the cane n I took the retractable pointer I used when I taught last time. Jus to scare n have not used it to cane before. Now I jus need to remind him "I have the cane u know?"......hahaha

GEmini
jenny say those clips i saw in kiddy palace before.. Quite ex they selling there.

Jenny
same as u, i eat junks during my pregnancy heee...

It's ok not to eat multivits cause i didnt had mine to. whenever i take, i puke and like merlion.. then cannot go work..hahaha so in the end gynae ask me stop taking. When i had #2, i had food poisoning 4 to 5 times! every mth at least 1 and i fall sick very easily.

Today so funny, kat saw KFC flyer and she just finish a bottle of milk. then she whole day keep taking the flyer to my aunty and say 'mum mum'.. whole day!! until my aunty frustrated! hahaha..

pups,
Terrible 2 Issue! More to come when approaching age 3...
My patience is dried liao.
Jaslyn has been unreasonable for many many mths ago till I lost count. I got so endure to her screaming and cryings that I can turn DEAF towards her!
Most time we will tell her to stop her cryings, if she doesn't, she will be brought to one side and we will let her cry until she feels like stopping (ppl see us as alien parents, but this is the only way to stop her. We don't care ppl starings). It can take an hr, I have to admit her crying stamina very good! My hb will tell her sternly to stop crying, then ask her to count 1-10, take deep breathe then talk to her. Usually my hb can settle her within 10mins. If is me, die ah, Jaslyn will cry and cry waiting for me to give in. When she really makes me fedup, I tell you hor, I slap her mouth many times to stop her. Not that kind of hard slapping lah. So, usually I leave her to hb to settle.
For dining issue, is it only recently he starts to leave the table after his meal? Or all along since young, he was "released" after finishing his meals?
I tell you hor, Jaslyn has been chased out from home by my bro few times liao. Last time, bro pushed her to a corner in the kitchen, then to toilet. Now is outside the house. She will grab to the gate and koala bear her legs around the gate and refuses to let go. My bro will try all means to push her out, so that he can close the door (so far he fails to close lah). She can only enter the house after she stops her nonsense. My bro is asking where to buy the handcuff, so he can cuff Jaslyn to the gate, then he can close the door in peace. Jaslyn also suay lah, meet my bro. She got one pattern, my bro sure finds something to break her pattern de. She dunno got caned by my bro how many times le.

Doreen,
no lah no lah, booster seat even easier to buy haha.

Adeline,
Now hor, whenever I ask the gals what they want to eat (for meal), Jaslyn will replied me: "Hmm... I want McDonald's!" Then gave me a very cheeky smile.

pups
for a while after the arrival of ch, cy has all these strange meltdowns too. not the terrible two kind. more of coz of sister...they will take time to get used to one another. give it around 6mths. unloike dor's damien, cy isnt very sweet kind. if i told him i wanna sell meimei away he will tell me ok, sell to karang guni, give me the money...it can only get better ...

do you sleep train Kaeris?o dear..sorry for the spelling..

lilboymum
Haha CY very cute aah still tell u sell already give him the money.....kekeke
Once in a while D will tell E "I dun want you" but soft soft lah cos he knows I will get angry. Then I jus tell him simply got few variation "Okie lor you open the door n go since you dun want meimei" or jus give loud n kua zhang "Huh? What did you say".....hehehe
He will normally reply "I want Meimei"....keke

Adeline
D also fastfood boy. He knows all the names liao MOS burger, KFC, MacDonalds, Pizza....hahaha
That day he said "KFC de mos burger". We were like "huh...new brand aah"...keke

Wah is this #2 phenomenon?! I scared now tt u girls r talkg abt it. To be frank, i gotta say tt R is quite well-behaved. Esp when he is alone wif me. At times when there is no choice and I need to bring him out alone (esp now tt i am pregnant), i will talk to him the night b4 and juz b4 we go out that he has to be good and not ask me to carry him etc, he cannot run ard like a monkey blah blah. Hv to say tt he really understds wat i said and behaves. Wif hb, its a totally different story and he wants to b carried all the time. but he knows i cant carry him and is satisfied when i explain.

I hv heard many mums complain tt watever methods applicable to #1 does not work on #2. Issit coz #2 knows tt they r the youngest and being doted on???? scary leh!

Jenny
I wished R will like Mac! The only thing he eat at mac is french fries dipped in ketchup and he licks off the ketchup only! So the same french fry can be used many many times till it becomes lem-beh! cannot stand this boy. then when we pass by mac, he will shout, "I wanna eat macdonald!" like real!!!

Dor
Ur D and my R sama-sama. Can understd wat i say to him. At times i really feel tt he is so sweet and behaving like a little adult. At times when he screams to come out fr his high chair when we dine o/s, i'll say that he had his dinner but now its mommy & papa's turn coz we r hungry. He will stop fussing immed. But coz hb is ard, he 4gets after a few mins and attempts again, then i'll repeat till we finish dinner. though gotta repeat a few times but at least it still work.
i LOVE to dine wif my sis & BIL, coz R is afraid of them!!!! They dun even hv to utter a sgl word and R will b guai thru'out the dinner session. Ooohhhh, i love this. even at home, all my mum hv to say is "Yee yee is coming, u better behave and sit quietly while ah-mah cook dinner!" R will sit there guai-guai!!! So effective! hahahaha

Crystallized,
Can still drink caffeine during pregnancy, just don't go overboard

K will be ultra sweet when we tell him not to misbehave when we are out and when we prep him before events. He will go "ok!" chirpily. Then when he starts his meltdown, he is like someone who has lost his mind. Uncontrollable. We do acknowledge that he feels insecure, but we have given him all the attention we can! We do it at the expense of the baby cos it is like when he wants mummy, baby will be passed to daddy. When he wants daddy, baby will be passed to mummy. When he wants both daddy and mummy, baby will be left alone in her rocker until he is pacified. I really feel very bad towards baby K.

Sleeping arrangements... Me with baby K in the kids' room, K with daddy in our room. There are times I run back to my own room cos I prefer my own bed, then baby K will be alone, with the baby monitor :p

Dor,
We tried telling him nicely to wait for daddy and mummy to finish our meal but he will cry out loud that he wants to get out. So much so that we get dirty looks from other diners already. So malu ok...

Jenny,
No, from young he is trained to sit and wait for us. We will keep distracting him and he will oblige.

lilboymum,
You got her name right
I don't know how to sleep train her! She has a mind of her own... wants to sleep means wants to sleep. You can have a party going on with drums beating above her head, she will still sleep. If she wants to be awake, the darkest, quietest environment also she cannot be soothed to sleep. She was kept awake at my parents' place yesterday for a good whole afternoon and evening cos she was so distracted, yet yesterday evening, she still cannot go to sleep.

Crystallized,
K likes fries. He can eat a lot by himself so we end up having to eat the fries at double speed if we don't want him to eat too much. Oh, this boy loves Mac's Curry sauce... he can dip and lick the sauce like R! Think cos that curry sauce is sweetish.

crystallized,
is like that one lah, when your kid eats fast food, you tend not to let him eat.
when he doesn't, you will wish he does.

pups,
since you mentioned Kaelen will listen if you pre-prepare him. In that case, try to on and off talk to him. Praise him when he is a good boy.
Jaslyn always feel very pleased with herself when we told her "you are a good girl today", "good behaviour" kind of praises.

Jenny,
No, he only listens at that point when we prepare him. The moment he is outside, it is a different scenario no matter how nicely he has promised in advanced.

All talking abt Terrible 2, think my A wll be the champion!!

think he still cant talk so he cant express his need.

pups,
A also likes fries ana like you, we need to eat the fries at double speed to prevent he eat too much. but this boy totally cant eat spicy food.

Jrt
Yah heng our kids can understand quite well. Else will vomit blood talking to them.
Ember now will also act like she's scolding when I scold D. So.......sigh.....I also dunno hw next time when she's so screamy nw already.

Why R so scared of ur sis?? D is better behaved when he's alone with me. Like nights when hubby not around n I have dinner with him alone he doesn't fuss to come out. He jus talks n talks to me in the high chair while I'm having my dinner. Then I will let him out only after I have wiped him clean.
D haven tried the ketchup but he loves mayo n tartar sauce.

pups
I dun give in to D if he choose to want me or hubby. Cos I dun want him to say things like "I dun want (who)". I'm abit strict in this kind of thing lah. I will make him understand that I am not his mum alone, I am also Ember's mum and I have things to do. The world dun revolve around him alone. N if I have to carry Ember he will have to make do with what I can do with 1 hand. If he doesn't want to then so be it. He will normally accept it once I explain to him. Lucky for me else I will not be able to do anything.

D also loves fries alot but we will restrict him to an amt we place infront of him the rest are out of bounds. But ofcos we have to eat quickly when his are finishing.....haha
D so loves the mayonise.

Jenny
wah! kim hor.. u ask her what she want to eat.. she always tell me '吃饱了'.. fainted! hahaha..
I know how u feel! cause kim sometimes will have her nonsense. Recently she is more temperamental wor.
Dunno why but keep insisting that i be with her 24/7 and cannot leave her sight.
Jaslyn is like kat also.. hahaha.. fainted!

Doreen
wah.. u always bring him to fast food? ah kat cant speak yet.. can only say mum mum.. she lazy to even wave her hand now. very proud one. when u ask her kiss u, she will open her mouth big big and place on ur cheek then say 'mum mum'.. Sighz.. thats her favourite word.
LAst sat during mother's day dinner, we had 8 course meal and kat follow whatever i eat then kim run about. Sighz.
Last time kim eat dun run about one only recently.

Last mon went to novena buffet for dinner then hor.. i nothing to say abt kim lor.. the glass door, when people open door, she purposely place her hand in between the gap. when the door closing then she faster take her hands out. i was so angry when i see that. i dunno where she learn it from and it's so dangerous! then i scolded her and left her crying.
Then after a moment, i saw the haversack with her pampers missing. This naughty girl, carried the bag and climb up the stairs as if running away from home.
very headache...

Jasmine
How is alvis reaction? kim loves fries and nuggets too! hehee..

Adeline
Wah Kim will dare to walk away like that aah. Then gotta keep an eye on her....so dangerous leh if she really walk off.

Yah we eat fast food quite often, very guilty of that. Esp if I'm out with the kids. Easiest is fast food lor. But I will try to let D eat more healthy like Mac can choose the corn n apple juice for him.

Jasmine
Think cos A at home got ur inlaws to pamper him that's why he can do anything he like ma. But in sch he is okie right??
I see his coloring so nice leh D still cannot lor. Color all over 1.

Pups
I hv alrdy broken this caffeine rule soooo many times. when i had R, i was super guai... even drink tea, i oso make sure its decaf, else i wun take. wif this #2, i am alrdy left wif such a pitiful list of choices, so i juz whack watever comes to my mind as long as i can take.

Seems like now K has taken advantage of the attn tt u both r showering on him coz he knows he calls the shots. i cant advise u too coz i might b in the same shoes when its my turn. I'll go mad and do the most insane thing, i guess!

I am pondering over the sleeping arrangement oso. I suspect it might work out to b like urs currently. coz bfg mah, easier to sleep wif baby. but in the early stage, not possible to hv everyone sleep together coz baby makes alot of noises, the elder one will not get a peaceful sleep. however in our room, we def cannot squeeze in a mattress for R and cot for baby. unless one of them co-sleep wif us which i am not gg to agree on. so one of them will hv to go. i might chase hb to sleep wif R in another room coz I am bfg so need better quality sleep, thus sleeping on my own bed is the best! hahaha

R loves the curry sauce too! ever since he discovered tt curry sauce is not spicy, he has been asking for tt each time. Problem is, R is not really into french fries... he is into the sauce! *faint*

Jenny
at times like this, i wld rather he loves Mac or willingly accept food. he still does not eat in sch and at times when my mom fetches him aft class, he is prob hungry but doesnt know how to express, so he ends up squatting down and say "stomach pain pain" when its prob hunger pangs coz he got no energy to walk. v worrying!!! my mum keep harping on the fact tt R is such a fussy eater coz i insisted to start R on solids only aft he turned 6 mths when she said tt i shld start at 4 mths. so angry each time she said tt.

Dor
till now we r still not sure y R is afraid of my sis & BIL despite seeing them almost everyday. but he adores my BIL. however the moment he knows either one of them is gg to punish him, he literally wets his pants. i am so angry when he does tt! cannot ctrl bladder!!! even when i am to mete out punishment to him, he turns wobbly and start to hold his penis and i know he's gg to pee!!!! and he usually does b4 we can get him to pee properly.
#2 picks up things faster coz they hv an older sibling. i forsee next time both me & my sis 2nd one will pick up nonsense faster fr their gor-gor and jie-jie!

Dor,
Not that we want to give into him. We understand he is feeling insecure now and are trying our best to help him ease into the role with sibling. K is the type when he starts crying and yelling, there is no end and we will spend a lot of effort just to calm him down. He is just not the type we can let him cry until enough lke Jenny's Jaslyn. This boy will never stop and we are afraid it may trigger a fits attack.

How I ish K can obey instructions like D, despite trying to test water still.

crystallized,
I suppose we have indulged in him a little too much but cos this boy is quite mature for his age and understands a lot of things (when he has a clear mind), so we tend to talk to him and help him ease into situations and circumstances. Just that he is displaying very trying and impossible behaviour at times and it is getting too frequent.

hi pups,

your mum did tell me about baby K sleeping patterns... maybe she cant sleep well at nite is that u are not sleeping beside her? cos some babies prefer "human smell", if u know what i mean. like tristan, he sleep better if someone is sleeping next to him. cos now, we are sleeping over at my parents place, not sure when we moved back to punggol, he can sleep alone or not, cos he will be sleeping on the mattress on the floor, while i'm on the big bed.

hi crystallised,

since birth, #2 has never sleep with jie jie even in the day. like what u say, if baby wake up, i would not want him to wake the rest up. tristan sleep with me in the master bedroom whereas tricia and her daddy in another room. in the 1st 3 mths, tristan sleep with me on the bed (lazy to put him in the cot) but i tell u, he occupied 3/4 of the bed, but after he know how to roll, off he go to the floor...

is it becos your sis & BIL dont play with him? that why he's afraid of them? as for the part on not starting him early on solid food, my mum have another opinion, she felt that the more early the baby start on solid, the tendency of the baby to be fussy on the food will be higher.

hi dor,

as i always say, D has been a very guai boy, u indeed have trained him well...

terrible 2s
============
*sigh*, think i'm facing even more tougher cos tricia has so curly hairs... well, it's may be just old wife tale, but i believe in it now :p... she can be very stubborn and refuse to do/listen to what we want. furthermore, she has been spolit rotten by daddy which now is a bit too late for daddy to remedy anything, in general, she will still get what she wants, most of the time.

hi pups,

can understand your feelings on not lettin K cry too long in case it trigger another fit attack...
i really really do hope it's just a passing phase of their unreasonable attitude...

Gemini,
That is possible but I really don't want to start her off with co-sleeping. K was trained to sleep in his own bed UNTIL his gastric flu episode. Really don't know how to move him back to his own bed now.

Hey, I have picked K up twice (last friday and yesterday) and both times you were not there!

pups
Actually I cannot stand kids crying for long kind, so maybe subconsiously I have been trying from the start not to allow D to cry for long. Lucky ignoring D helps snap him out of it else I dunno what I would do cos I'm not the kind who have alot of patience.
Maybe asking ur mum to help with K this period?? Cos she was his main caregiver before you give birth she might know what clicks for him n be able to help ease K more smoothly into brotherhood??
Cos I am main caregiver for D n I know hw he works. Which is why I rather ask my mil not to come over after the 1st week of confinement n handle everything myself. Cos D did revert back to his normal self once he acertain tat everything is the same as before.

Oh you read about kids recession?? Not sure if its the correct word but I read abt it jus before Ember was born. Some kids tend to revert back to babyish when new bb arrives or something might trigger it. Then they will be like when they r younger dun talk properly, dun understand things they normally do.
For a period I was worried D might cause he will act like meimei sometimes.

Gemini
Wanna remedy still can lah since they still young but will be very difficult esp ur hubby. Cos he will have to change pattern be firm. Even my hubby until now also happy happy do this not happy cannot do kind. Then I tell him so many times he gotta be firm stick to something cannot happy then can not happy cannot. Even he cannot predict his mood hw to expect D to predict right?
So I'll jus be the main bad guy lor....haha
But sometimes I am the good guy too cos the good guy(hubby) is home too little of the time.....keke

Thanx for the compliment but I still think D is okie only lah. Jus that cos I am the main caregiver I know him inside out so can handle him better.
Now when we go out he is havoc 1. Machiam like let loose like that. Like at my parents place, they always give him sweets which I dislike. So I told him to tell me before he eats sweets. But what he did was, he will come to me open his mouth n show me "Mama I eat sweet".....sigh...
I already prepare tml chiong sales must leash him before we go in........hehehe

JRT
Oh okie I realise this is a period, their not able to hold pee when scared. So dun scold R for that lah okie? Cos I think R also feel bad when he wet his pants.
We realise this when we brought D to sinseh for his mysteries tummyache that time. The sinseh told hubby that kids this age will also tend to wet themselves cos they still trying to master control of whether bladder full or not. So after that stage then they really fully grasp control.
Which I think is very true cos jus before D keeps wetting his pants which I tot was very weird cos he is already fully toilet trained. N totally dry for like few mths. Then he started to wet his shorts alittle everytime,really very little small wet patch only. 1 day changing like 3 shorts and I must keep checking him and wet doesn't mean he wanna pee. N when he crys definately his shorts will be wet or he will need to pee. So I started making him wear underwear so if its wet I jus take it off n he wear shorts only.
Then now I guess he's over tat stage already cos he doesn't wet his shorts often anymore. At night I have stopped wearing diaper for him too.

pups
E started off with being able to fall asleep on her own n sleep on her own in the baby cot. I was of cos happy but felt so lost suddenly.....hehe
Then when D claimed the baby cot back, E came back to sleep with us on the bed. N now she needs me to sleep with her......sigh

hi pups,

hehehee... my parents are back last thurs, so my dad pick her up on fri onwards... u are still on ML, hopefully we can bump into each other while u still on ML. cos sometimes, my dad not free, so i will go pick her...

i tell u, we sort of give up in training her to sleep alone. as tricia sleep with her daddy on the floor, so we wanted to let her sleep on the bed. so after she fall asleep, her daddy will either carry her to the bed or go and sleep on the floor... guess what? the next morning, i wake up, both of them are sleeping on the same mattress/bed.. sigh i also dont know how...
for #2, in order to have some proper sleep, will co-sleep, the rest will wait till later stage then talk about it... hehee...

Dor,
Even though we take care of K on our own only in the evenings and over the weekends, I think I know K better than my mum! Haha. Of course she has her own ways of coaxing him, but we do understand his temperament too.

Yes, I have also heard about the reverting to babyish traits part. It is very reassuring to hear that K is not the only one like that though his behaviour does seem a notch more difficult to handle than most. Lets hope he snapsout of this phase soon. Really testing our patience.

Oh, I am starting to notice that K seems to be sad these 2 days. For the past 2 days the sadness snaps on before bed and in the morning. I wonder if it has to do with school.

Gemini,
I am still carrying baby K now! She still not in deep sleep and keep stirring.

When are you going back to work?

Gemini
I also abit giveup on making D sleep in the bbcot. Actually not I giveup lah its hubby who's lazy.
Cos everynight D fall asleep in our bed. Then when we are going to sleep we will push the bbcot to stick to my side of the bed n put D in it. D has actually been sleeping in that bb cot on his own for 2mths plus since CNY without incident. He will climb over to our bed in the mornings.
Then 1 fine day he decided not to sleep in his cot anymore. He will refuse if he knows we are putting him in his cot. Or he might wake n immediately climb back over. If he is still asleep when we put him in, then he would stay there till the next morn.
But lately, hubby would rather jus squeeze at the edge of the bed then try to put D back into his cot.........sigh

Pups
Urrrrr what I meant was make everything like it was before bb K was born. As in the routine.......hehe
Yah cross finger for u K snaps out of it soon.

Oh yes talking abt sch hor. D had this mysterious tummyache that wouldn't go away at the start of the yr which lasted more then 1 mth. 1 of the sinseh we consulted said it might be D have not got accustomed to meimei's arrival n so it triggered this tummyache. Cos he felt D's hand n D is actually okie jus tummy wind only. But then meimei was already 6mths old lor n he has never displayed any signs that he's not accustomed to meimei's arrival.
So we suspected it was his JG playgroup. Cos the tummyache started 1-2 weeks after sch started. N we decided to stop his classes after the term ended cos he really didn't like the class so much esp the english class he would not even participate. N once we stopped the class we realise few weeks later his tummyache really was gone.

But I'm abit worried if he doesn't like his nursery class will it happen again? I can't change class for him like that right??....sigh

Dor,
Oh, that is what you mean.... but K's routine didn't change at all leh. We stuck to doing things just the way before baby K was born. He goes to school in the morning, afternoon my parents pick him up from school, evening he comes home. The only difference is, he sees me at home with baby K when he leaves the house in the morning (which cannot be helped!) and either he returns home to me and baby K in the evening, or if I join hubby in picking him up from my mum's place in the evening, baby K is with us. But these are unavoidable.... cannot leave baby K somewhere on her own :p

Adeline,
Kim will take her bag and just walk away? Very dangerous leh.

crystallized,
My sleeping arrangement hor, we all slept in the master room until Jaslyn turned 18mths.
Infant time, Jaslyn slept in cot, Jolene on mattress in between the cot and our bed. When Jaslyn fussed at night, we had to be careful not to step on Jolene kekeke...
Anyway, when Jaslyn fussed for milk, diaper change, we would just carry her to the other room to settle her. It worked for us.
I dun like the idea to co-sleep with the gals cos will be hard to train them to sleep themselves later (the gals were trained to sleep on own since infant, didn't want to spoil the routine). Plus I want my bed, and I also dun like to idea to sleep separate with hb.
When the cot was removed, both gals slept on mattresses. Then moved to their room together when Jaslyn turned 18mths old.
Now, they have no problem sleeping alone when the other doesn't come home.

With regards to afraid of yr bil and sis, some kids are just like that. They will "scare" of one person for no reason. Like my gals, they are very scared of my bro. However, they play with my bro till very crazy kind. I think is a kind of respect.

pups,
For a period of time after Jaslyn arrived, Jolene was really very unreasonable. She was feeling insecured. For minor minor things, she would cry for no reason. Her cryings made everyone in the family very tiring. And at the point, my mum was really exhausted. She called me few times a day to complain and nag, telling me how notti Jolene was. It went on for about 6mths+. Jolene was then very sticky to me as well (might be led to this cos I was alone with her during my maternity leave, I spent a lot of time bonding with her and leave Jaslyn with my mum). She was scared of being alone. However, she was a great jie jie. When Jaslyn fussed a bit, sometimes was just making some sounds when she turned, Jolene would rush up to her and called for us to attend to her immediately and we had to explain there wasn't a need to. She was very attentive to Jaslyn. That's why for that 1st 2 mths, we had to separate the sisters.
Maybe if you can afford, leave baby K with yr parents for a day or arrange short outing at some nights. Along with yr hb, bring K out for some bonding time. Leave out baby K, so that K has the full attention from both you and yr hb. Keep him assured with mei mei arrival, both of you still love him. With yr description of K, he is lacking the security from you and yr hb.

Gemini
Not tt they dun play wif him leh. In fact R loves to play wif my BIL but coz my BIL is stern when he metes out punishment, i guess R is afraid. I often tell R he is so fortunate tt his daddy is not my BIL. Coz most times when we (me & my mum) see how my BIL metes out punishment to my niece, we oso feel heartache. Even my sis will quarrel wif her hb coz she felt its uncalled for. But then again my niece oso v naughty & mischievous. at times she juz testing her daddy's patience when she knows he is not to be tested with.

Dor
the funny thing is R only wets himself when we wanna punish him. he is literally wetting himself! machiam like watching TV drama hor! the moment we see him crying, the next moment he auto will hold down there; the next min he wets himself... release full bladder somemore!!!

i oso brought R to sinseh v frequently coz of his running nose episodes and R tends to hv bloated stomach. so we cannot give him too much food at 1 go else he'll say he has stomach ache. so now we know how to ctrl.

Jenny
Ur room big enuff to accomodate everyone. mine is def not enuff and unless 1 kid co-sleep wif us (which i am not willing to start this habit), this arrangement is simply not possible even if i want.
i oso dun like the idea to sleep away fr hb but if we dun do tt, one of the kid will b sleeping alone. so i am trying to start R on this b4 #2 arrives.
yah think R is exactly like jas... scared of ur bro but can still play crazily wif him.

Pups, I can fully empathise with you. Char's behaviour took a bad turn when Coen arrives. She's very unreasonable, cries over everything, purposely do naughty things to get our attention (if we did not notice the naughty acts, she'll come over to us and tell us and show us.) Just last Sunday she told hb and i that she's no longer happy, she's angry wiht herself, she's sad. She's not a good gal, she's now a naughty gal. those were her exact words. I think she knows she's not doing the right things, but she can't control herself. She's very protecttive of Coen, yet she's vying for the limited attention that mum and dad can spare. Hb and I just have to continue to correct her and shower her with lots of love and attention. Every night my CL pity me, cos I have to hold Coen wiht one hand and nurse him and the other hand to change CHar into pajamas and feed her milk. Cos when I dont do that Char would lie there limb and look very disapoointed and stare at me with her eyes wide open and refuse to say a single word. So I'll just have to rough it out during this period. During weekends, we'll ask Char what she wants to do and hb and I bring her to do it, to me, I dont care abt confinement liao. In fact hb was saying ask the CL to stay for another mth, but I see no point since I've been doing lots of things that's taboo for confinement period, so why bother to spend the money for a CL for another mth. I dread next mth cos hb has lots of biz trips. I'm thinking if I should move in with inlaws for a few mths...

jRt, for a period of time Char would literally wet herself too whenever it's punishment time or when she cries...now it has stopped. I think it's a phase.

Dor, I notice the same thing in Char too. Totally toilet trained, then suddenly fr a period of time she may wet herself with small patches. Now she's over that phase too. But she's not toilet trained at nite. Although I had wanted to be like Delphine to train her when I wake up to nurse Coen, but realise I'm jus too tired and Char's too heavy for me to carry to toilet and she's too deep in her sleep for me to wake her up...

Gemini, HCar has natural curl too, and true enough,she's very stubborn. When she refuse she refuse. Haiz.

crystallized,
My colleague removed her bed and moved out some furniture from her room. Placed the mattresses on floor and the whole family slept together in the master bedroom. If you are able to do so, you just need to endure the most 2 years. It might be shorter like 1 year+. Then move both kids together to their room. No need to train both kids separate to adjust to their room.
If you realise, my master bedroom has a platform. I regretted big time for having it. Cos the mattresses couldn't place side by side in level. So, for a period of time, Jolene slept at the small place in between my bed and the warerobe. The mattress can only be placed 3/4 of the width. And Jaslyn slept beside my bedside where the platform is. I had to place some pillows to prevent her from rolling/falling down the platform. There's no space to walk lor, except walking on mattresses.
Anyway, now all back to normal.

Just do some trial and error and see what's the best solution. It's only a matter of few years, not forever. I know of a family, all moved out and placed mattresses in the living room to sleep.

pup
i cant recall how zac behave when lele was born. Not his best behaviour but also he was only 18 months, quite a lot of things still do not understand. i vaguely remembered a few times that i smacked him during my confinement, i felt super bad about it after that cos i think the taking care of 2 take a toll on me and i felt that i am venting my frustration on him. i read an article about children of their age (3 years)feeling stressful. i think we may be forcing them to grow up too quickly to meet our demands. it is not easy to be patient in your shoe but i think this is most needed at this point. being his mother, you know best what kind of tactics work best for him. it takes time for K to finally settle and accept the new member of the family. meanwhile, grit your teeth and go through it. when you think back and look at them playing together, you may not be able to remember all the hardship you have went throughor the naughty things K has done .

As for baby K sleeping habits, i think she may too young to sleep train she is now 2months? i started zac sleep train around 4 months but lele i was a bit lazy so only at 8months. their first few months sleeping pattern is quite erratic and it only start to stablise in the 3 or 4th month. i think once the drinking pattern is establish the sleep pattern will follow.

you may want to get him to choose a bed to entice him to sleep in it. zac was very happy with his elmo bed when we first got him so the transition from cot to bed is very smooth.
2457490.jpg

Jenny
In my tiny room now, there is only our king sized bed, wardrobe and a small bedside table to put R's milk btl, hot water btl etc for his 1st feed & the cot. I cant possibly remove the wardrobe... there is no space else to plc the wardrobe. Space now is a huge constraint. i get a big headache hvg to think abt it. somemore we need to shift soon. fill u in when got time. so by the time we move, i'm preg and thinking to pack/unpack again is a huge nightmare. will think abt the sleeping arrangement aft we shift. am hoping we dun downsize again. v scared!

Coral
Oh Char oso wets herself? At times R will do tt when he's too engrossed in playing... then he suddenly need to pee and came hurriedly looking 4 us. by then one huge patch formed on his underwear liao.
hope its a phase but he has been like tt for a few mths alrdy.

Shirley
Zac dun toss/turn in his sleep? then u guys not worried abt him falling off or is the bed alrdy v low? or a mattress is placed beneath? So he sleeps alone now?

crystallized,
not going to renew the lease? So fast going to end liao, like just move not long wor.
Issac's bed got bedrail mah. I find kids toss and turn a lot on mattress but not on bed.
Jaslyn sleeps on my mum's bed, no bedrail. She will knows if she's near edge, then will crawl back to her position to sleep.

Dor/Jenny
Ya.. i was shock when i see that.. must keep her within our sight.. sometimes she jus run off when she see something exciting.. Sighz..

Abt wetting pants, kim will only wet her pants if we scold her. She do it on purpose.

Jrt
Zac does toss and turn a lot but somehow he never fall off the bed. The first night we let him sleep in it I was quite worried put bumper mat and pillow under the bed. After sometime he seem ok so I stop doing that. Yup he sleeps alone since birth. He will knock on the door when he wake up in the morning and we will go rescue him. I think it will be very soon he will learn to turn the door knob.I think if you r thinking of letting R to sleep alone, start training now so that he won't feel deserted when the sibling come along. Zac change room so that lele is in the room nearer to us. The change took place 2 moths before lele is born.at time he still ask to sleep in the cot with meimei and tell us that cot was his.

JRt
D also went through a few mths during the short wetting phrase. N I think I really very lucky cos hor D goes to the toilet to pee by himself for quite long liao even during the phrase where he will wet his shorts. Only if he poo then I have to go n clean him. So I gotta keep checking his shorts to make sure its dry, esp after he comes out from the toilet.
So by right I am very sin nang liao....hehe
Even morn he wakes n need to pee he will go by himself if I'm to lazy to get up...hehe

Coral
I used to use the potty when D wakes to pee at night. So dun have to go all the way to the toilet I jus bring the potty to him. N cos he's a boy easier lah jus make him stand will do.....hehe

Shirley
D slept in bb cot cos we bought a new mattress for the cot with the intention of letting E sleep inside. But D took the bed for his own but after 2 mths + he now keeps coming back to our bed to sleep liao.....sigh
Wah Zac sleep with the door closed aah?? Such a big brave boy. So cute he will knock n wait for u guys to open the door. D has learnt hw to open doors although we seldom close them, he learnt to open papa's door to talk to him when he baths....hahaha

Jenny,
Thanks for your suggestion. That was what I had in mind also, to bring K out for bonding with just him alone. Will really have to get down to doing it

We knew he was feeling insecure and we tried to give him as much attention as we can. But I guess, we still have to work harder at that.

Coral,
That is what I am doing now! Hold and nurse baby K with one hand and do whatever K needs me to do with the other hand. Cos he demands for mummy only.

Shirley,
The bed part doesn't work for K. We hyped him up about his new bed and he even chose his own bedsheets. But now, he is only willing to go onto his bed to play but not sleep there.

My boy also doesn't sleep on his own bed. My mum's place simply too small liao...
Agree wif the terrible 2s... My boy has also been testing and pushing his limits but we are very firm so he usually gives up after a while. However, there have been occasions when he will have his melt-downs but thankfully, they don't happen very frequently.

I've been toying wif the idea of a booster because the car-seat takes up too much space already.
BUT Jenny, I'm very interested in the device u showed. Most likely will try that.

pups,
what I did last time was, I would arrange for nite outings on Fri, cos hb didn't need to work on Sat. So, we would leave Jaslyn with my mum on Fri nite for a few hours, and hb and I would bring Jolene out to shop/eat or just walking about. Usually we landed up in cafe chatting with Jolene. Then she would start playing with mixing water with coffee or chocolate in the cups or ate her slice of cake. I find it better than shopping or walking about.
During daytime, sometimes I would bring her to playground or brought her on bus/mrt ride to some shopping centres when my mum helped to bbsit Jaslyn.
Without baby along, our focus are on Jolene only, and she enjoyed the full attention on her. This helped to spread the message that we still loved her despite the arrival of her mei mei.

freshpoison,
pups got hers from Kidzloft. Adeline saw Kiddy Palace is selling.
Actually, booster doesn't really save a lot of space (still take up 1 person space). Just that it is easier to remove when not in use, unlike the convertible carseat, so troublesome and bulky.

jRt, it lasted for a mth or so for Char.

Dor, diff for gals to use potty if not fully awake. Boys easier to aim.

Pups, no choice right? We'll learn to utilise both our hands more effectively.

freshpoison, do not Jenny's advice that the clip should not be used on its own.

jenny,
My car seat is the britax convertible kind, so damn bulky. Plus, it's a little high for my boy to climb in. I will go kiddy palace and see if they hav it.

freshpoison,
mine also very bulky. Bought the 0-8 years old kind. Tot just buy 1 to convert, no need to buy so many different types of carseats haha..

jenny,
yah lah... no experience, tot like that can save $$$, dun nd to buy so many... in the end, nw stuck wif a dinosaur. throw away/give away/put @ hm all heart pain... nt fully depreciated yet.