(2006/10) OCTOBER 2006 MTB

Pups
Which hospital are u in? Still got computer 4 u to use! U stayed in v gd room issit? Heee...

For a moment, i oso thot u had c-section coz u said baby's heartbeat dropped to dangerous levels. And glad that u managed to deliver normally.
U had to take medication to prevent early delivery rite? So was it natural contractions this round?

Yah i oso rem when I delivered R i was so occupied in the hospital. But u said nothing to do now???

Gemini
I think the article 1st came out last Fri... yest got another story? And the lady got caught? So it was indeed a scam?

hi crystallised,

i think i know what pups mean, by very free this 2nd time round... cos we know what's the procedure now...heehee..
for the article, me not very sure leh, cos it's my hb who tell me one...

hi pups,

i will say 1st week will be v chaotic, esp everyone in the family have to adapt to the new baby, and also how K will react to meimei, can tell u the 1 mth confinement will be over very fast! esp now got 1 todd and 1 bb to handle!
oh ya, u got engage a confinement lady?

crystallized,
I am in TMC. No ah... I just took the single-bedded room. But I was assigned a room on the 5th floor which is a newly renovated floor and they provide this computer thingy which can be used for surfing net, doing in-house shopping, some pre-load games, some parentcraft programmes, etc. I think the room rates for this level is a bit higher than the normal single rooms but not as high as those deluxe rooms. We actually had no choice cos the single bedded rooms on the other levels are fully occupied. Actually even without this computer, my hubby did bring his laptop along cos we knew have free wireless access.

Erhm, this time really not that busy leh. Perhaps really like what Gemini said, we are "seasoned" already :p Either that or more bo chap now. Haha!

Gemini,
Yes. I can anticipate that, which is why I say the battle will start once I go back home. Yes, I am having a confinement nanny this time. During K's time, my parents did my confinement for me and I really enjoyed my confinement in terms of food and freedom, though I took over totally at night so that my parents can go home and take proper rest before helping me during the day the next day. This time my mum couldn't help cos her arthritis problem is back. Anyway, with a confinement nanny, I hope I have more time to rest at night.

Gemini,
Yeap, I read. Someone posted the URL in that thread. But think they said on bail under investigation, not yet arrested.

pups,
I know what you meant! Same lor, that time me also bored, but ok lah, enjoyed the days there if not go home will be battle time. But hor my hb enjoyed the stay more than me hor, he said "hotel stay" haha... That time I bo liao till went ard TMC to "shop".
That lady you mentioned, she's due in apr, and yes, bb will be born in jail.

crystallized,
the other story is a scam last year. The lady was selling vouchers online. In jail now, and preggie.

i agree that with #2, I was very free at the hospital. Spent a lot of time sleeping, reading and surfing the net

I guess it's partly because we already know what to do, not so kancheong and compared to the 1st time where we kept the baby in our room most of the time cos thought must look out for baby's signs to bf them on demand. By the time it's #2, i'm confident that baby was not starving, fed her only when the nurses bring her over. Plus i had fewer vistors with #2. Told a lot of people no need to come lah since they came before last time for #1. haha!

pups, rest well while you can now!

Pups
I thot u delivered in Mt A.

Yah TMC got renewly renovated rooms. I visited my fren when she delivered last yr. She stayed in Exec room! Wah shiok!

So its only on the 5th level? I see... That time when i delivered, they were undergg reno, i was put in 2-bedder on 1st night. Only 2nd day PM onwards i was transferred to 1 bedder. That time shld hv insisted for a sgl bedder! I might hv been upgraded to a better room! Hahaha!

How's ur bill size now? I only rem paying $1.5K cash incl deposit when i was discharged.

For tbfg mummies, not much rest even at night. So even wif a CL, she still brought R in for night feeds. But coz its #1, so I din feel it was tiring then.

Jenny/Gemini
Yah i read tt lady is in jail and will b delivering there.

Collected the Crocs Girls Alice from spree. Too big for Jolene. I'm getting a new pair for her, and will be selling off the big pair.

If any of your friends are interested, I'm selling at the price from Spree $18.50 for self collection. For postage, will be $20.

Model: Girls Alice
Color:Chocolate
Size: C12/13

Jenny, thanks for the info on spree 4 will check it out. Saw the girl alice crocs at Parkway parade selling at $29 per pair. But only Rudy Red abd Grapes colour. Have not collected mine cos hb busy, now asking it to be posted to me.

crystallized,
I do not know if it is only on the 5th floor, but know there are such rooms on the 5th floor. In case you are interested, these rooms are about $56 more than the normal single rooms, and are known as premier single rooms. But this is way lower than the deluxe rooms at $150 more. Anyway, there is a discount for these 5th floor rooms now cos of some partial renovation still going on on that floor, so after the discount, it is about $16 more per day only.

Mine is natural, assisted, with epi. Our cash portion (for both mum and baby and daddy as full-boarding companion) is $2200, including deposit.

Talking about tbf, baby was still quite sleepy in the hospital and they only brought her in for one feed in the night. Last night at home, she demanded 3 feeds between 2am and 6am. And I am experiencing engorgement problem now.... already totally forgotten how painful it is when hubby help me massage the lumps into smaller pieces. I think my labour pain was not this bad!

coral,
so cheap?!
I saw Checks at West Coast Plaza selling $54.95.
How come huh??
Anyway, I'm getting another pair for Jolene. Really very nice, I like the chocolate pair.

pups,
That is not very ex leh. About the price I paid last round.

Jenny, yap, they were having crocs sales, think not only Alice but got other designs too.

Help!!!
=======
Char has been refusing milk for 3 weeks liao. Her intake is about max 300ml per day...anyone share similar experience and how to get out of it? Tried cups, straws, spoon feed, coaxing, scolding, distraction everyday is a battle but she is damn stubborn when refusing to drink no way to force down her throat. Fried told me might be depression as the due date draw nearer. He said his kid experienced that just b4 his wife delivered and was back to normal after the delivery. Has anyone heard about such cases before? I'm so stressed everyday trying to get her to drink milk or eat her food.

Coral,
You means char milk intake is about max 300ml after she refuse her milk?
I thot it's normal, cos they are big now & take more variety of food now. Like A, he only took 1 btl 150ml morning and 200ml before bedtime. so, his intake only 350ml.
But sometimes he also take another 120ml during teabreak.

Jasmine, but I read some where that they're suppose to drink 750ml per day, Char was drinking about 600ml per day before her strike, now she drinks about 50-80ml per feed for 3 times a day so it's about 150ml to 200+ml for normal days and on certain day when she totally refuse solid her milk intake goes up to 300ml as I feed her 4 times of milk. This girl now don't want solid nor milk...

Coral,
750ml? no way for Alvis to archive that even though during those old day when he din took much solid food.
If you concern abt her calcium intake, how abt give her cheese or cheese cake? but she also refuse solid food now? she not hungry?

Coral, is Char refusing solid food as well? Did you check her mouth & gums? Check if her tummy is bloated..

hi coral,

why not give a call to your PD and check out? Or ask someone else to give her milk? like for tricia, she will only drink water in CC when her teacher feed her, at home, only a few sips even though i have with milk bottle/cup/mug/water bottle.
she drinking 610-640ml++ per day, and sometimes even more, cos when she see didi drink, she also want milk...

Jasmine,Jlyn, Gemini, she's refusing solid as well as milk and has already lost 1kg. These 2 wks might be due to her flu that's why she refuse soldi but b4 her flu she's alreayd refusing milk. I've checked to see if she's got ulcer or anything, but no leh. The only problem is after she's toilet train she's not pooing regularly and I suspect that might have affected her appetite. Gemini, ya, we try to help different pple feed her as well, but it only works for a while like she'll suck a bit or have 1 sponnful then she either spit it out or run away. Gemini, that's what my friend said, if didi is out, Char may start to drink again when she sees him drink. But that'll be another 6+wks later, dunno how much weight she'll lose. And I also dunno why she's not hungry. For example on Sat she only had 10ml of milk and a spoonful of porridge until 4+pm when she ate a piece of triangle carrot cake. The at nite she drank some milo. what kind of diet is this...so unhealthy for a growing toddler. I'm feeling so stressed. Another stress factor is my niece is always sick from her childcare so Cahr will fall sick on MOnday after visiting inlaws on Sun. Then I get her well and come SUnday again. Think I'm going to be thick-skinned from this week onwards and prevent Char form nearing niece. Now even my hb is sick, at night gotta take care of Char cos she's been down with fever for 3 days and hb coughing non-stop, so me can't sleep. Really need to stay well cos can't imagine sick preg taking care of sick toddler and hb. haiz.
Sorry for long post, letting off steam.

Jenny, tt money for the items but realise you did not include the cost for postage and material for the last time + material for this time, let me know how much and I tt that later. Thank you.

hi coral,

*pat*pat* do take care, u need to rest too...
is Char taking vitmains/supplements, at least (might) help in building her immune system.

<font size="+1">JTS :-

http://www.jurongpoint.com.sg/images/stories/thomasfriends.html

Catch Thomas &amp; Friends LIVE this March School Holidays!

Watch how Thomas the steam engine saves the day LIVE at Jurong Point Centrestage (JP1) from 14 - 22 Mar 2009 at 1pm, 4pm and 7pm on Weekends and 1pm &amp; 7pm on Weekdays (No show on Monday only)

With just a minimum spend of *$80 mall wide kids will also enjoy a ride on the Thomas &amp; Friends themed train at Level 2 (JP1).

Rides operate from 11am - 9pm daily, except on Mondays. Minimum spend of *$80 applies and entitles 1 adult and 2 kids (aged below 12 years) to 1 ride.

NETS IT! on 14 March and you’ll stand to enjoy a exclusive show at 4pm.
Simply present your NETS receipt at Centrestage to qualify.
Limited to the first 40 shoppers only.

2237735.jpg

Coral,
I see, is crocs sales. No wonder so cheap.
Hmm regarding milk intake... Actually Jaslyn only drinks 1 to 2 bottles per day. Afternoon nap time and at night before sleep. We made 150ml and she never finishes. On good days, she will drink 3 to 4 bottles. It all depend on her mood. And at this age, I'm not surprised if Charlotte wants to wean off milk. My mum said my bro and me wean off FM at age 1+, we just simply refuse milk. If Charlotte intake of solid is ok, then no need to alarm. 700ml+ milk is really a lot leh.

The intake for Charlotte last Sat, I always experience with Jolene. It also puzzles me why her intake of food is so little. But as long as kid eats a bit, play and active like normal, I think no need to be too worried. They are not infant now, can tell you when they are really hungry.
The weather recently is really bad. My gals fell sick last Fri, and Jaslyn's fever got higher during weekend. Vomit many times per day, a lot of phlegm, and ended I brought her to TCM. I'm glad I did despite the heavy rain. Dr examined and told me Jaslyn was panting hard, which may lead to asthma if not treated in time. I asked him for chinese medicine that will helps to get rid of stubborn phlegm. He gave me this medicine which works real well.

You refer to the voucher ah? Aiya no need lah. BTW, I haven't go post office yet. Raining at my place, so I didn't go out. I will try to post out soon hor.

Jlyn,
Are your boys still having problem with phlegm? If so, maybe you wanna give this chinese medicine a try. My aunt saw and said this is a very good medicine to get rid of stubborn phlegm. I think I too desperate when I was at TCM that day haha... Dr got stressed by me.

Coral
I dun think they r supposed to drink 750ml of milk now, its a lot since they r supposed to b on solids alrdy. But R is drinking a lot of milk though. at least 4 bottles a day, sometimes up to 5. Total intake is abt 650ml-700ml. I allow him 4 bottles only after he has taken his main meals. He knows that milk is not a substitute IF he dun eat well.
I agree wif Jenny. Perhaps at some stage, they juz are not interested in food for some reasons. But if she's playing well and no other unusual symptoms, shld b ok. But i know its hard not to be worried. Hv u brought her to see doc?
Offer a variety of snacks like fruits, yoghurt, bread, bao etc? Hope it improves soon.

Pups
Heard for 2nd time mums, the milk comes in much earlier. Prob why u experienced engorgement so fast. So how's ur little darling now?

Jenny,
hope both of them get well soon.
btw, is that medicine bitter? cos i knew that 蛇胆is very biter as my cousin took 蛇胆 itself when she was young.
It's very good.

Jasmine,
I didn't try. But I think is very bitter cos Jaslyn "q" her face when she drinks. She's quite a pro when coming to drink chinese medicine, so when she "q" her face, it must be very bitter.
I mixed the powder with water for her to drink.

Coral,
I agree with the other mummies that 300ml per day is still quite a decent amount of milk. K's regular intake is 450ml, never 750ml type of range. I have also read some time back that toddlers do go through stages of food idiosyncracies... they may just want one type of food (bread, or anything else and may not be healthy choice) for a period of time without any other variety. There may be something that Char is interested in? They will outgrow this phase.

Crystallized,
My milk supply kicked in about the same time as first baby. I believe I had such engorgement problem as well just that I had forgotten about it after so long. Haha. The block this time is really bad that even hubby who is helping me massage it off is getting exasperated. :p

Thank you Mummies...Feel so relieved after reading your posts. Felt like such a bad Mummy when I can't think of how to make her eat her food or drink her milk. I can't scold her just hug her and ask if she's hungry and she like so ke lian tell me sh;es not hungry and don want to eat and me keep nagging her to eat. I feel bad but was worried that she's not getting enough. if this is a norm, then ok lah.

Char has seen a doc but she also refuse the med. Worse thing si my Mum started her on anti-biotic which I usually wont and now we have to think of ways to let her complete the course. Really a tourture every morn and night.

Jenny, take you time to post, I still have 1 big tub so wont need it any time soon.

Coral,
If I can't post out by Sat, then gotta wait till next weekend liao hor. It's too bulky to go into the normal letterbox, so need to make a trip to post office.

babe_ong,
Still waiting for your payment before I post out hor. Hopefully can post out together, so no need to make another trip to post office.

Jasmine,
My mum tasted the medicine in its powder form, she said not very bitter. Not sure if mix with water will be bitter??
Anyway, since Jolene has some coughing yet to recover, I asked my mum to give her a dose too.

Long time no post cos super bz at work... N nowadays only surf on my hp,so sometimes lazy to type.. Hehe..

Pups,
Congratz on ur princess arrival!!!
How r u n kaelen coping??

Coral,
like e other mummies' advise,dont hv to worry too much abt char's food n milk intake..
3 weeks back ayden was down with stomach flu. During tat time,he also refuse to eat..then we had to dilute his milk so drastically on PD's order tat he didn't drink much also. He barely eats a few mouthful of food each day cos we think his stomach was very uncomfortable.. he even refuse his fav baby corn n only accepts raisins.. So we juz gave him wat he wants.. Tis lasted 4 2weeks.. He lost so much weight tat I cld feel his shoulders bones so protruding when I hugged him... Super heartache but he was still active n normal otherwise... N when he recovers he start to eat normally again.. So its juz a phase n it will pass... Most impt 4 u nw is to pls take good care of urself too..or I believe when char is truly hungry she wil ask for food..

Starz,
Thanks! Well, as you can see, I am awake at this unearthly hour, pumping away. Haha.

For myself, I am still quite ok cos I have a confinement nanny this time and I have outsourced night feedings of ebm to her. I will wake up just once to pump though I deal with a late night pump before I sleep. I will latch the baby on during the day.

As for K, I think he is still coming to terms with it. I do note some strange behavior coming from him.... don't know how to say but I think he is really trying to deal with the situation. Sometimes I feel so bad about the changes and adjustments he has to go through. When my mum cited some incidences to me e.g. like some of the things he did to indicate he misses home so much when we were in the hospital and he stayed over with my mum, I can't help but cry! Poor boy... he is at the stage where he knows there are major changes, he is coping with it himself without voicing it out explicitly.

Pups
i was quite lucky to not suffer any bad engorgement wif R. In fact i think it was only twds the end of confinement tt i experienced it. So i wld say R is an efficient latcher. Haha... He latches on 1.5/2 hrs in the day. Night time is abt every 2-3 hrs. Somehow was so "high" on bfg tt time i did not feel tired. Cant imagine gg thru this the 2nd time. While i was bldg up supply, i oso woke up in wee hrs of morning to pump. Super tired but had to press on to build a gd supply.

How did u prepare K to meimei's arrival? Much as the preparation is done, i guess the little ones still need some time to cope. The way he is coping machiam is like how adults does it.
So u will still bring him home very night now?

Jenny
I think by the time i reach there, the shoe u told me will end up in other shelves liao. Haha

crystallized,
Here is the cow at work again. Haha.
Mine is a sleepy latcher... latch and get so comfy she falls asleep! I am mindful this time cos I over exerted myself during my first confinement, insufficient rest etc that I ended up being diagnosed with chronic fatigue syndrome in the second month which lasted a good 4 months! I don't want to go through that again, or at least a milder version if need be.

We did tell him about meimei's impending arrival, that he will teach meimei how to play, read, sing when meimei is older, things like that. But like what you say, the actual thing is always different from the picture painted. And yes, the scary thing is he is behaving like an adult with major changes but I wonder if he is really able to do it with his current level of maturity (though I know is higher than his peers).

Oh yes. He is still home every night
Which is why I really appreciate the presence of a nanny whom I can pass the baby to if he fusses. But come the 2nd month, I think I will just die having to cope with both!

Pups
Heee, think u r experienced enuff being a 2nd time mum. Stir her, disturb her! U haven posted a pix of her rite?

Chronic Fatigue Syndrome??? How did u end up wif such a condition? Coz u had no nanny the other time and ended up doing a lot of stuff on ur own?

I think its a gd idea to bring him home every night so he can bond wif meimei and not feel outcasted now tt meimei is here. By the time nanny goes, more or less u get the hang of routine and i think it shld work out fine. Dun think so much for now! Worry when week 3 comes!

Thanks Starz for sharing and comforting me.

Pups, when I hear about Kaelen, I feel so sad and worry the same might happen to Char but I don't think the hospital will allow her to stay over.

Think I'm going into mild depression. Loss of appetite &amp; sleep and I feel like tearing and feel ultra frustrated. I'm feeling very vexed, there's no way I can make Char take any medicine but she's coughing very badly and keeps waking up at night to cough and she's still running slight fever. My hb has to work late this week so I've got no one to turn to or talk to about all these. I feel so lost. I'm very worried about #2 coming too. Cos hb's boss going for major op during my due date period, so hb gotta cover twice the travelling during those few months and my mum refuse to stay over with me after my confinement nanny is gone, I'm wondering how am I going to cope. With all these on my mind and the fact that I've not prepare the bb stuff and lotsa work to clear b4 maternity leave I just feel so frightened.

jrt
u still here?? havent go isetan ah

Coral
like most mummies mentioned here its only a transition, past le should be ok liao. For Jovan, i am still thinking how to make him eat meat, since he turn 2 till now, he doesn't eat meat at all not even when we mince it!! Machiam vegetarian, only eat vegetables, tofu and egg nia *faint*

jovan'smum, then he's like my brother. Not a vegetarian but refuse to eat meat since young...Gotta find other food to supplement that. Think there's just too much on my plate for now.

Esther
I'm actually on MC tdy. Been sick since Sat. Will b gg Isetan later though. Mtg a fren for lunch.

U not gg?

Coral
*pat pat* there is juz too many things on ur mind. Relax, else u will suffer fr Prenatal depression b4 u deliver. Things that u cant ctrl, dun worry too much. Guess by then u juz play by the ear or perhaps let Char stay over at ur mum's once every few nights if ur hb is not in SG. When the baby is here, u cant afford to think so much. Bad 4 ur health.

Make a list of things to do &amp; prioritise. Owise u will nvr get started. Baby's stuff can start preparing liao. U still hv a few more wks to go. Take care.

Jrt
Huh, than must drink plenty of water to flush out the toxins.. weather these days not good *sigh* not going cos not much things to buy this time round, and the things i want i already ask my friend to reserve and collect for me. U take care ya

crystallized,
Trust me, she cannot be stirred! My hubby tried all sorts of way to disturb her but she still bo-chap. You know, yesterday when we brought her to the clinic to check her jaundice level, the PD lift up her leg to take off her socks then go and get the needle for pricking.. and this girl fell asleep with her leg in the air. Haha! We were all having a good laugh. Then again, she is just 6 days old. When she gets older and start waking more and fussing more, you will hear me with a different set of complains! heh.
No photos yet cos I have not uploaded any yet! :p

Yes, my mum did day confinement for me but I wanted her to go home and rest for the night. So, I did all the night shift myself. On top of that, I was bathing her myself from day 1 also cos my parents still not used to handling a fragile newborn. I was really really hands-on for K.

Yup, hope that there will be a good routine worked out by the end of my confinement. But then again, how to talk routine to a one month old baby?! Lol.

Hey, load yourself with Vitamin C. Get Manuka honey with higher UMF. (at least a UMF 16)

Coral,
Don't think so much. I know it is easier said than done but things will work out. For Char, anyway of bribing her? Gummy bears? Her favourite snack? Some syrup or juice?
Your mum doesn't want to stay over then you move over to her house temporarily?
Prepare your baby stuff first, which should not be a lot since this is the second one and a lot of things that Char used/uses are still lying around, right?

Coral,
Oops... my msg was truncated in my previous post!

Wanted to tell you that you know how I had to abandon my work after my preterm labour scare right? The office will not close down because of us one.... no need to worry. Try taking your maternity leave one week in advance to just rest and take care of baby matters? It is your entitlement and really, office will float somehow. If really cannot, ask gynae for MC then let your HR deduct from your ML accordingly. Your mental health is more important. Your two kids need you!
Take heart and take care

babe_ong,
received with thanks.

crystallized,
thats why I copied down the model # as well lor hahaha.. can find then buy, can't then suan le.
I can't take leave today liao, been absence from work for since last week, a lot of work for me to clear and I need to clear by tomorrow!

esther,
how come you are here haha
Jaslyn also dun really eat meat. The most she chews and spill out.

coral,
I agreed with pups. Office will not closed down w/o us. So dun worry too much. Your health is more impt than work. Since yr EDD is approaching soon, why dun you just start your ML to rest at home. Remember, once bb is out, you won't have much rest!

Pups
Hahaha, wah she's really the ultimate! Either one of u or hubby a dead sleeper? R is like me... Super light sleeper... stirs easily... when i hv my #2, i vow to start Tai-Jiao as soon as his/her ears are developed.

Ur girl so funny lah!~

Then this time make sure u really rest enuff. When i hv my #2, i oso muz make sure my body recuperate enuff esp if i am not gg to hv #3.

Ok thks 4 the tip on manuka honey! they r so exp!

Coral
I agree wif Pups. The company will not collapse juz coz we r not ard. I've always told this to my hb whom is a workaholic. I said if anything happens to him, its the family that will worry and suffer coz there is only one of him. Whereas in the company, they can easily hire another person to replace him!

Jenny
I got the shoes liao.
Guess wat? I spent only $50 at the sale tdy. Hahahaha... its record breaking for me! I am so proud!

crystallized,
Hubby is more of a dead sleeper. Yet need to give credit to him cos he does hear K cries last time and wake up to respond to them. Haha.

I know. Which is why I stopped buying manuka honey even. Haha. But in your case, I think it is worth the investment since nothing else seems to really work.