(2006/10) OCTOBER 2006 MTB

hi aspialle,

pls be prepared. in the initial few months, upon entering CC or playgroup, kids will tend to fall sick, as they are adapting to the virus there.
what i'm currently doing, is to give vitamins to boost up the immune system.

few nights ago i melted!!
Kim was in her sleep and she suddenly say 'mommy..' i didnt reply because i saw her eyes close.. then she said 'mommy mommy..' so i replied her 'yes kimberly..' she tell me 'i love u.' goodness! yes i have heard i love u from her many times but this time she said while she sleeping! i was shock and feel so touched by her..

Aspialle,
Alvis also down with fever and flu after 3 days in CC. Then after on and off fever espisod during that month.
Thinks it's quite common for kids to fall sicks when they start schooling.

Adeline,
Happy huh...

I still waiting A to tell me this.

pups
When u due aah?? My desitin creamy exp 08/2009 haven open n dun think I will use it. U want??
But how to pass to u aah?

Adeline
Sweet hor. Even when she's sleeping.
Sometimes D make me very angry but when he keep coming n sayang me n say he's sorry my heart will also melt n feel bad I scolded him.
Kids hor say this kind of things make us feel so warm.

Gemini,
K did that? Aiyoh... he is really that friendly with everyone ah?! Haha. But sigh, I had to keep him home today cos he is down with runny nose :S I may still keep him at home tomorrow if he is still unwell. I am just worried that after a few days of not going to school he is going to show "pattern" again on Monday! This must happen when he is finally settling down.

Tricia will figure out what is going on, don't worry

Aspialle,
Like what Gemini mentioned, it is common. K is down with flu too after one month in CC.

Adeline,
I was also very surprised when last week, K suddenly looked at me and said "mummy, I love you." *melt*

Dor,
I want I want. Me due in March. Eih, how to collect from you huh... where you stay huh? Bishan area is it? Maybe I can pick it up from your place one weekend?

Jasmine
i think we always said i love you to her so she always tell me too.. only to me.. so hubby is jealous hahaa..

dor/pups
ya lor..
Soemtimes she made me regret scolding her hahaha.

Adeline
haha this morn I told D he never tell me good morn. So he said good morn n walk off. Then I ask him "ehh never kiss me aah?"
So he came back n kiss me. THEN I asked "You never say?"
Supposed to be "good morn" then kiss me 1 ma, he can auto do that to meimei every morn but for me must ask 1.
But he said "I love you".....hahahaha

pups
I stay Bishan near braddel road there. Or else if I going CP I tell u or I pass to bbgrace??
hehehe

Dor,
Damien very sweet also leh ;)

Maybe I can pick it up from you one day after work. It sounds like somewhere we can easily detour when on our way back. I pm you my contact number so that you can give me your address can? I think this way may be easier than meeting up at CP or going through bbgrace. Oh, remember to quote me a price eh? Thanks!

i just receovered from dengue fever and just realised that my HR is basing my mc on calender days which consists of a public holiday and sat, sun....so sad cos i was not hospitalised and was issued outpatient sick leave and i burst my mcs...........haiz

Good morning ladies

I went to studio loft CNY walk in promotion with lele, first time brought her out without her bro tagging along. Really a good bonding time with her and we had great fun. although the wait is quite long.
2072768.jpg

Yest D was like broken pipe nose keep running. N he can't sleep well at night cos nose very stuck will wake n cry. So last night went to see PD liao n.....Wah he sleep so well.
Think too well until he forgot he never wear diaper n pee......sigh

Shirley, lele looks so huggable and I love the smile on her face. She's such a pretty doll.

Aspialle, they can count in the Sat, sun and PH?

Dor, how do you train D when he sleep huh? I have yet to do that for Char so still wear diaper when she sleep though she can be totally without diaper during day.

Insecurity
===========
2nd or more times Mum, do your kids experience extremem insecurity when you're preg? How you assure them? Char is now so insecure she'll onyl want me to do everything with her and if I'm late from work, she'll keep looking for e. And she keeps wakign up in the middle of the ight crying for me and hug me really tightly and cried very pitifully. How? I already try to spend entire wkends with her, try to be hm before 7pm and pt her to bed, tell her I love her and never reject carrying her with excuse of bb...

Shirley,
Wah, Lele hao ba ba!! Nice!
Wah, you walk in ah, waited very long?

Coral,
Jolene used to stick to me when I was preggied with Jaslyn, but not to the extreme like Charlotte.
Can't help you on this. For me, my hb/mum would always talk to her.

Crystallized,
I wanna settle accounts with you before CNY. I still owe you $$$.
Can SMS me, cos I'm on leave on and off for these 2 weeks helping out my mum's baking and settling my overseas sprees.

Jasmine,
The name sticker should reach me either today or tomorrow.
You want me to post to you first? Or wait for tupperware to collect together (shd be end of this week or next week)?
BTW, can pass the tupperware to my friend and you collect from her? But has to be arranged asap as she's leaving for hometown next week.
Or I ask my sis's bf to send to your home? It may be very late at night, ok with you?

Shirley,
Aiyo.... lele so cute and pretty! Saw her picture and was thinking that my girl will be this age come next new year. I certainly hope she will be as cute as lele! Haha.

Coral,
I am facing the same problem with K. Very sticky to me and when sleeping, he will insist on plastering his face next to mine (even when he is having the flu!), or if he is facing away from me, he will insist my body is next to him, or he will pull my arm to wrap around his body. I accept it as a phase cos of our pregnancy and just accomodate whatever I can. However, during times when he is not conscious that I am not with him, I just pretend to stay away so that hubby gets close to him. I am hoping to train such that when I am busy with baby next time, he will still feel very comfortable with daddy. Actually he has always been comfortable with daddy until recently lah.

Gemini,
How is Tricia adapting? You ok with the cc so far?

Jenny,
Can post me the name sticker 1st.
As tupperware. dun pass to your friend 1st cos my timing clash with her one.
me also going back msia. do let me know the $$ i have to tt 1st then we re-arrange again, k?

oo..yea. anything can just sms me cos i m also on leave tomorrow. busy with the new hse.

hello ladies

thanks for your compliments on lele

Dor
I bought the dress from one of the BP, actually a lot of mummy bought, there are 2 other girls wearing the same as lele. think the dress a bit tight on her liao, hopefully can tahan till CNY. I like the material but a bit hot cos not cotton.

Jenny
Haiz waited for almost 1hour. Luckily went to yum cha with lele first if not i sure faint. I tot will be very fast and need to dress the kids in the CNY suit but some mummies went there to change and when its their turn, still changing. haiz so i kaypoh told the incharge why not let those ready go and take so the queue will be moving, hope i have not offended any other mummies. u know when come to this come of promo sure a lot of pp one so i am actually prepare to wait liao. luckily lele was quite coopertive.

pup
when is your etd? maybe same birthday as lele? i am sure your gal will be as cute, if not cuter. i think all babies very cute (when they are not crying). some of the toddlers really know how to pose for photos, dont think zac can do that.

Coral
i am not sure if zac went thu that stage during my pregnancy but i remembered he was more difficult to handle. throw more tantrums. some people attributed to insecurity but i think its more of a phase. You may want to let go of certain duties to your hubby e.g. showering her or feeding her. Zac didnt take to my hubby initially but we just ignore his cries and slowly he learn to accept.

Coral
Actually I didn't train D for night. I think cos he's used to not peeing in diaper in the day already so he will wake if he needs to pee. Then lazy me won't wear diaper for him when change into pj cos very troublesome to keep taking off n putting on diaper when he needs to pee. So only when we are going to sleep then we will put on diaper for him but morn he will wake to pee then take off.

Ummmmmm, maybe I abit 'cha tao' in this insecurity area cos for D I didn't really feel it. I jus did everything as normal n since we are already sleeping in the same bed so still the same. Maybe jus avoid talking about bb to her for awhile.
For me was I will once in a while tell D to interact with my tummy n tell him bb inside. N there was a period he sort of ignore my tummy. So I took it as a sign that he was not 'that' comfortable with the bb idea n left him alone UNTIL he himself start talking to my tummy/touch my tummy.
BUT I would prefer letting them get used to the idea that bb is coming soon n that there will be some stuff you cannot do with them once bb arrives. Else you start only when bb arrives it will be worse. Like for D I start making him walk by himself when we go downstairs n use my big tummy as an excuse. Until now when he askes for me to carry when I'm carrying Ember I will jus ask him "I carry meimei how to carry u?" n he will get the idea n not fuss.
But when I am not carrying Ember I will carry him for awhile if he askes, cos hubby keeps carrying him now.....sigh

Shirley
Oh....aiyah cos Ember also scared hot 1 she n D same perspire alot. But so nice lor the outfit.
Ember has 1 the red with white frill very cooling kind....hehe
My mil bought for her 1 but quite nice okie lah.....hehe
But lele's nicer!!!

Jenny, thanks. I don't really dare to ley my parents or hb talk to Char cos they not as sensitive. They'll say bb this bb that then think they'll make things worse.

Pups, Shirley, Dor, thanks for sharing your experience. Actually, hb bath and clean Char up every weekend even before I was preg, has been trying to bond them. She used to want daddy when she some to bed, even though she'll stick to me. But now, she just want me. Actually she loves my tummy, eveyday when I go hm the first thing she does is kiss didi and then sing to him before she greets me. So I'm not sure if she's jealous of bb or just a phase like what Shirley says. Pup, Char was also down with flu but insist on kissing my lips, my nose, etc, I can't reject her, luckily my immune system quite good. Just hope she'll cry less often in her sleep, it pains me to see her this way.

Dor, I see. Actually we do the same for Char, usually after she pee and abt to go to bed then we put on diaper for her an she'll wake in the day to pee. Soemtimes the diaper is dry but sometimes it might be wet. Maybe just hv to wait till they're completely ready before we let them go diaperless at night.

Coral,
You want to train Charlotte off diaper for night?

For off diaper at night, I will advise to wait till the kids are ready. It's not easy for them to off diaper for nights now. Personally, I feel off diapers for daytime already very good cos save a lot of $ liao.

For night, it's ready when you observe Charlotte's diapers were dried for few nights or perhaps 1-2 weeks. For me, I'm not taking the risk to wet the mattress (a lot of work to wash up, especially if mattress kena urine). Hence, for Jolene, she's dried for night for a year, before I totally removed her diaper (even though she would wake me up to remove her diaper to go pee). It's only after a year of dryness, my friend told me Jolene was ready, and Jolene, she requested herself not to wear diaper for night anymore, then I totally removed. And for the 1st 2 weeks w/o diaper at night. I woke her up every 2-3 hours to pee, and slowly dragged the interval timing to 4-5 hrs. At first, she got angry cos I distrubed her sleep cos she felt why this mummy was waking her up when she herself could wake up to pee herself.

off diaper for night.
just remembered on monday night, cause after kim's bathe i did not wear pampers for her and i fall asleep while she watching TV.. then shortly after she fall aslp at about 8pm+..
Then when i woke up at midnight i forgot about pampers!! then when i realise, she's still dry.. does that mean she's ready to off diapers at night? no urine at all leh.. then when i put on diapers, she urine.. but she sleeping. how she know?
And.. i do not dare to let her go without diapers when we outside. should i try or wait? cause she can tell already except when she want to poo she cannot tell.

Adeline,
Jaslyn goes bed at 8pm+ when she's back at home. She will pees before she goes off to bed. Diaper is dried when I go to bed at 12am or 1am. I observe usually is between 2am+ to 5am, there's one time urine.
Unless you want to train her, if not Kim will pees in her sleep one w/o herself knowing.
When a kid is ready, it means dry thr out the whole night for several nights.
As for outing, I put her on with pullup. Easier to go pee outside. And Jaslyn is allowed to pee in her pullup when she's too urgent or when we can't find a toilet nearby. YOu know some aunties hor, they dun bother if your child is in urgent to go toilet pee... they won't let you cut queue lor. So, I'm not risking. Even if is journey to and fro home or relatives places, I also put Jaslyn on pull up, in case traffic jam, and she got the urgency for toilet calls (I kena once lor, traffic jam and she wanna pee, and worse,I forgot to let her wear pullup. I ended ask Jaslyn to "ren" till home).

Adeline,
To add on, you can try for short trips w/o diaper/pullup. Jaslyn goes downstairs dun wear pullup. But if we go shopping, she will wears.

Shirley,
EDD is 20th March thereabout. When is lele's bd? Not all kids look so natural in front of the camera. Kaelen for one is only natural looking if he is not conscious of the camera. If you ask him to smile, he grimace instead! Either that or he goes all serious.

coral

yes lor, they take into account my PH, sat and sun for my MCs , and becos of that i exceeded and needs to take 3 days of no pay leave becos that 3 days im not working

hi shirley,

lele looks v cute in the oufit! find that CNY clothes for girls look more nice than boys! ya, she really know how to pose for camera!

hi pups,

Tricia is adapting very well as compared to her previous CC. in the previous CC, she cried during the 4th day but hor for this CC, she did not and i did not hear anything from the teachers. in fact, the teachers were telling me she's v guai. *faint*
for eg, this morning, reach CC around 9am, they were @ playground already, so i brought her there. upon seeing the kids/teachers on the basketball court, she run toward them and forgotten about me..
so far, i'm very satisfied with the school, can't find any faults with it... :p

Potty training
==============
tricia finally willing to sit on the potty! yesterday, realise that she has farted and put her on the potty. is more for her to urine, who knows, after a while, i go see the potty, she has pooed inside it! me & my mum were so happy, finally she willing to poo in potty. on sun, as my hb is washing her, she tell him she want to urine and take the potty, true enough, in a short while, my hb really can see her urine in the potty!
really hope that this time round, she can be toliet-trained.

pups
lele's birthday is on March 28. hee maybe has the chance to be the same but second child usually is earlier than ETD. Lele was born a 38weeks baby.

aspialle,
You don't have any more annual leave to help offset?

Gemini,
Good to hear Tricia is adapting so well
She reaches there at 9am meaning she will miss the music and movement session everyday? See if you can bring her there at 8.30am or not lah, then she can have fun with the songs and actions. I think K enjoys that part.

I need to put K there at 7.30am every morning. He is usually the first 3 kids to reach school. Poor boy but no choice lah. So he gets to eat breakfast and play with the toys there until 8.30 when activities start.

Potty Training
K is totally not ready for it leh. Kept refusing the potty. Sigh.

Shirley,
I don't think will be so late in March. I am just hoping it will be sometime during or after 38 weeks! I had some scare 2 weeks back when I kept having frequent Braxton Hicks and cramps.

hi pups,

yup. we are trying to reach at 8.30am. managed to do so on Mon. ya, i think too, she will enjoy the music and movement. past few days, my alarm goes off @ 7am, supposed to wake up but hor, tristan also wake up at this time (another alarm clock), which i will try to pat him back sleep. so in the end, tricia wake up ard 7.30 which plus her milk, our breakfast, we leave the house ard 8.30. furthermore, just change a new maid, so i'm the one who change tricia.

for potty training, give K some more time, just like tricia, we sort of give up past few months, think when they are ready, they will tell us loh.

Jenny
The problem with her is hor.. i wear pullups hoping she will tell me 'mommy go toilet.' but she wont. she will pee inside her pullups wor.. even i wear training pants she pee in her pants..

Gemini,
Congrats! Tricia is doing great!

Pups,
Wait till after your delivery. Now is not a good time to toilet train. If not, he will feels the negative thoughts. Maybe you can try during your maternity leave after you are more settled with #2.

Adeline,
Same like Jaslyn few mths back. Sometimes on and off, Jaslyn will tells me she wanna pee, and while telling me, she pees in diaper knowing "it is safe to do it". Take it slowly and just remind Kim.

Gemini,
If only I can wake up at 7am! Haha. My alarm goes off at 6am but there are times I just cannot drag myself up and will only wake up at around 6.10am. On good days, K will sleep through when I do my make-up and changing and only wake up around 6.50am which we will feed him milk, change him and get him out of the house. On not so co-operative days, he will wake up about the same time as us, hover like a little puppy around my leg as I do my make-up or his daddy has to eat breakfast and play with him at the same time. We have to leave the house around 7.15 to 7.20am. For me, I will only eat my breakfast in the car after dropping him off at the cc, then reach office then drink my coffee as I check emails.

Jenny,
Ya, will try to wait but also don't want to miss the "window period" for toilet training lah.

Jenny, thank you fo the advice. Char's diaper hasbeen dry all night for some time liao, but I just dare not take the risk too, so maybe like you say, after a year ba. But the funny thing is she'll still wet her diaper during nap which is much shorter than at night. Maybe because at night I did tell her to wake up to pee if she wants to or else she'll wet the bed so she got more cautious???

Gemini, congrats. When they're ready, it's quick and easy to tilet train them. For me, Char is totally ok with pee but for poo, she had phobia after her first potty poo, so till now she'll constipate 3-4days and find chance to poo in diaper. Very tough issue.

Pups, each kid has their time, so just give K more time. One tirck work for Char, that is before i train her on anything, I borrow books on that topic and read to her about it for 2-3wks before I start the training. At first she was very agaist potty after I read her the book "big girl potty", she was familiar with the experience and after 3wks, she was receptive and toilet train on the first day of our attempt. Then I borrowed her a book on sleeping in own bed. Read to her for two weeks, and she took to her own bed immediately...I was trying to get her to accept the idea before introducing it to her...Not sure if this helps. But I just learnt form bringing up my first child is, give them time, they'll surprise us when they're ready. When they're not and we force them, both parties are gonna feel miserable.

Aspialle, did you check wht MOM FAQs to see if it's right for company to include wkends and PH for MC?

Growing big
===========
I'm growing big too quickly that my gynae is telling me to cut down on my carbo intake but can't helpit always hungry. And now gynae is very worry for me on whether I can loose it all. I'm not 6.5mths but my measurements are that of 8mths when I was with Char. ;P Jiat lat!

hi pups,

poor thing, if i have to change job, i do not know whether i can still wake up at 6am nowadays.

hi coral,

1 trick that works for tricia when she younger, is when she fart, we put her on potty, and she poo inside it. maybe you can try this too.
oh, really? can tell me the full title & author (if possible) for the 2 books? want to see whether it will work for T too.

as for growing big, my advise to pregnant ladies, if feeling hungry, pls eat, of course in moderation lah. i realise that boy & girl development are different, for instance, tristan is 9.7kg at 5mth2day whereas tricia only have this weight when she's around 9 mths.

coral

im in civil service , we are not covered under the MOM employment act.......based on govt policies, they base on calender days so no choice

Toilet train
===========
Ted is almost toilet train as he knows to go toilet to use potty at home during day time and nite time although he wears diaper, it is usually dry...........

however , he is attending playgroup.......then he duno hw to tell the teachers there and maybe new place, new environment, he seems duno wat to do.......then come home keep going to toilet......wonder if he tahan until come home...

Coral,
We have read potty books to K and he said he wanted to use potty too. But when it comes to the practical part, he chickened out. What is the title of the book for sleepign in own bed?

I am growing faster than for first pregnancy too. About 3 weeks more advanced. But this is me, baby still on track and still on lower end of measurement which was the same for K. I think I only have capacity for smaller babies :p How much have you put on to date?

Gemini, as the book was from the library and I chanced upon it, I did not note the author's name. They have series of big girl potty, big boy potty, big girl xx and big boy xx (i can't remember the last two).

Pups, the story book on sleeping in own bed was borrowed sometime agao, and again I chance upon it so forgotten the title, Basically it showed a girl moveing on form her baby cot to big bed and how she and her soft toy over come the many excuses to not sleep in the big bed and finally they realise in the big bed they all get to sleep together and that idea appeals to Char. One rcent one that I got for her was something call Goodnight sleepyhead, if I remembr correctly. And it shows a child playing on her bed with lots of her toy and how she greets each of them good =night and put them to bed individually and how she clean up the mess in the room and say good night to her Mum before she retire to the comfort of her bed. Again, Char likes this and keep saying her own bed is also very comfortable like the girl's bed in the story. I've put on 10kg, my waist is 38" and I'll be 26 wk this Sun. In the past at this time my waist only 36"...Xiao liao! Gynae predicts that I'll put on 20+kg at delivery time. For Char's time I put on 17kg.What about you? My bb's growth so far is in the mid-range. Like Char.

NTUC pulls-up
=============
any mummies who use it, any comments? is it good?

cos tricia CC prefers the kids to be in pull-up, so thought of changing her to a cheaper brand, since it's a 2-3 hours usage only. so far, ntuc is the cheapest. she's using nepia currently which i abit heartpain, use for 2-3 hours only.

hi coral,

hmm... which library u borrow from? Marine Parade branch? cos some of the libraries, the kids collection very pathetic, so far, i find that Marine Parade have quite a big collection and the books are still quite new.

Gemini, i'd tried drypers pull up. Quite gd. I like Huggies pull up also but the cutting is quite small. But I find both Drypers and Huggies better than Mamy Poko Value pull up (cheaper version of mamy poko normal pull up).

Gemini,
I read a thread on NTUC Pull Up. Feedbacks aren't good. Then later many mummies are trying to sell.

Jlyn,
You tried Mamy Poko Value Pull Up? I read some mummies complained abt leakage. Any so far? And how cheap is it? I saw Sheng Shiong selling, orange colour packaging.

Coral,
Thanks for describing the book.
I have never measured my waistline before, not in first pregnancy, not in this pregnancy either. But from visual inspection, my tummy does look a lot more huge. I just stepped into 31 weeks yesterday and my weight taken last Saturday showed 6kg increase. I only increased 6kg by the time I reach 34 weeks during K's time and only gained 9kg for the first pregnancy. So, looks like I am going to exceed the 10kg mark this time. I somehow put on faster this time though I don't eat a lot of chocolate like last time. Baby is still small... at 29 weeks only 1.2kg.

Gemini,
Can't help you for the pull-ups part. K's daddy is willing to indulge in his atas backside and he is wearing the original Mamy Poko pants. One day 3 - 4 pieces for half a day. I heartache ah. We tried Drypants before but didn't like the cutting. As for Nepia, it gave K the itch.