(2006/10) OCTOBER 2006 MTB

Jenny,
Old time fine, now reward.

Finally the 2 gals zzz...

Tks for the ideas gals....

<font color="ff0000">Starz,shirley</font>,

Only 3 of us..my bb not gg. This trip is for Megan. Infant rate is $400. travel by CX

<font color="ff0000">Bebeong</font>,

Ours is $2400 including of Disney entrance tickets and a stay at disneyland hotel

Starz
Infant rate so cheap meh???
That time I travel by SQ D infant also $300+ leh. U better double check else u kanna shock when u pay.

Jenny

i tried to order from tower.com but they are not accepting my credit card

"The card you have entered is not 3D secure enrolled. Please provide a 3D secure credit card or a credit card issued by a US institution to complete your order."

Did u use a singapore issued credit card to make payment previously?

aiyoh din know got so much more petition than wat was reported in the papers.... jia lat... its a story tt nvr ends... watever the cut off date, someone will def b left out...

babe
I had no problem previously paying with my s'pore issued card.

dor / starz
I also paid $100 plus for Em for infant seat with SQ

bbgrace
Is it?? why ah?? cos U bought direct from SIA??
Big diff leh double the price I paid.

See so many traveling make me gian also. Hopefully my trip next yr can materialise but duno how to enjoy my shopping with 2 kids plus E abit small to enjoy yet leh abit wasted when she can't even play anything.

babe,
Same as babygrace, I've no problem using SG CC.
I saw some mummies having this prob. Can do you a
checkout using google instead?

Doreen,
I agreed Starz's infant ticket very cheap.
I paid close to $300 when we went bali, and
I booked directly from SIA.
My hb's colleague paid $500+ for a child ticket
to US. Infant ticket already cost closed to $400.
So he decided to top up to pay for child ticket
to get his 10mths old bb for a seat since flying
time is long.

freshpoison
Wah kaoz......so high the price.
Lucky I'm the kind who only go for shopping so never fancy these kind of places.....hehehe

But I'm very curious leh why we go by same airline SIA to same destination but 2 very diff price for infant aah?? Can anyone enlighten me please if u know??
Dun want to be cai tou if I going with infant again.

dor,
I duno y e diff so much too..I called to ask only...haven't book yet. Maybe diff dates diff price?cos e lady did mention tis price is only 4 now lor..

Today I brought belle to join in e synchronize breastfeeding at suntec..quite an experience..e amazing thing was, there was a 6yr old child there tat participated!

hi doreen,
yah lor, but my boy never travelled on plane b4, so thought of bringing him since 2 other couples wif bbs also going. But there goes, my yr-end bonus.

Starz
U went aah??
Read in another thread about the 6yr old. Cannot imagine leh Bfing 6 yr old. Now I already cannot imagine myself still bfing D liao...hehe

Doreen,
My guess is starz one is promo price. SQ for a
period of time (you have to keep refreshing to
check for latest date) will have those promo for 4
to go. The tickets will be very cheap and
usually grab up very fast. But 4 to go tickets
are adult tickets, no infant fare.
My understanding is example for SQ flight, they
have Y and Q class fare for economy class.
There's no difference for seating in terms of
window seat or aisle seat. Just that this is the
"rule" to block off some rows for Y class and some
for Q class. The airfare to HK for example,
difference will be ard $300 exclude tax.
Some difference in amt will be the taxes and fuel
charge which keeps on increasing these few mths.

Finally booked my tix to HK liao. i scared delay some more, i can totally 4get abt the entire trip... Travelling wif cathay n departing 3rd wk of Sept...

Some questions:
1) Is the water drinkable from the tap in HK or we hv to buy bottled water off the shelf?

2) Since R is taking infant rate for plane ride, i was informed they only provide bottled food for him. Was planning to cook his lunch n bring onboard the plane but heard its not allowed. True? (we r taking the 10+am flight n rchg HK ard 2+pm)

3) Disneyland: I did not book tix wif the agency as they said there is no promo n its better if i buy tix at the booth on the same day. <font color="0000ff">Dor, u did this rite? Bot it direct at the booth on the day?</font>

jrt
you wanna check with them again? coz i booked with SQ for two trips and for both thye offered kids meal or weaning food (not bottled) as well as milk powder.

the kiddy meal was really really good. good selection and yummy (not very healthy though) too...

dor,
i booked directly with SQ the in Apr, also dunno why it's so cheap.

crystallized,
No problem for SQ to serve kids' meal even for those paying infant rate, just have to let them know beforehand when booking tix.

lilboymum &amp; bbgrace
Yah mayb i shld check wif CX... coz yest i asked the agency staff n she said airline only gave bottled baby food. i went like huh? then can i request for kids meal or even adults one? she went cannot, coz only paid infant fare... i was like??? i cant imagine the airline not acceding to my request if i were to ask onboard.
ok i'll probably try to call on my own then...

how abt the water in HK?

Jrt
Hk water not drinkable. N I would rather bring Sg water over for our tods water n milk cos incase they shui tu bu fu then u got more problems. Anyway suitcase is empty when going ma jus check in the water lor.
Disneyland I realised its cheaper to purchase it ourselves in HK n now exchange rate even lower think even cheaper there. N not long queue when I go but I went on weekdays.

bbgrace
So good mine double the price leh didn't even get better service....hahaha.....but I dun think I will be so goot lat to book myself if I were to go again so definately won't get that kinda price......sigh

jenny
I know I am VERY late in saying this but paisay lah my brain still not functioning very well....hehehe
Cos when I went taka bb fair the milk bottles got all the size leh. So think they replanished the stock. But I didn't do any exchange too lazy...hehe

crystallized,
1) For kids, no matter where, I will buy bottled
water for them. In case, they dun get used to it.
2) I think cannot bring food onboard. If you want
child meal, better call CX to check and inform.
Not sure if they will give cos you are paying for
infant ticket, not child. SQ more qing cai.
3) I think 3rd Sep still ok, not very peak, less
risk to run of out tickets.

Doreen,
Oh yes, the stock for standard neck big bottle
came in last Sat/Sun. Just 2 days after I traded
in mine.

good morning.

HK trip again arr? hehe..here is mine.

dor,
i paid abt $100 when booked infant tix for A during Feb 08. they din mentioned it's on promo lel.
but i did checked with agency tat time, they charged abt $20++ if compared booked directly with SQ.

Crystallized,
hehe..finally decide your trip.

yes..SQ did provide kids meal to A even we took infnat tix. the food quite nice but A dunno how to appreciate tat time.
bottle food? maybe you shld check with cathay again.
Re water: i take advice frm mommies here. bought distill water &amp; boil it at hotel. bring thermal flask so tat can store some hot water.

cryatallized,
Better call CX directly, i don't see why it should be a problem to provide kids' meal. But don't wait till you go onboard. Kid's meal are special request items which they may not hv any extras if you wait till then. I didn't ask for any food for Joshua last time when we by CX when he was 15 mths. I brought his porridge up on board to feed him. This time round with 2 kids, i didn't even bother. haha

Water-wise, i buy the bottled distilled water for them.

freshpoison77,
You are paying child fare or infant fare?
I read your posting above said child fare, if so,
kid's meal will be provided. For Crystallized, she
is paying for infant fare, thats why she is asking
if kid's meal is provided.
Each airlines has its own restrictions, so it's
better to check with them directly. I know Qantas
very strict and services not good.

I checked CX website tt says they will provide food for kids... and yes i will call them up as the date draws nearer. i dun mind cooking n bringing it onboard but if they say cannot bring food, then wat am i supposed to feed R? i dun think they r tt strict, but juz need to call &amp; request prior to boarding.
For disney tix, i will buy over there. coz my hb not keen to go there, kept saying R dunno how to enjoy n its a waste for 2 adults to pay S$100 to get in. i told him R will def enjoy the rides. disneyland is for R, not him! so scully if i buy tix here n he insists no need to go disneyland, then wasted liao.

Dor
I'm one KS person, so i'll def bring a few litres of water to check in. hahahaha...

Jasmine
yah, finally BOOKED!
guess i will oso do likewise. buy water n boil over there. yes, thermal flask we always carry ard, even in SG.

FP
yah heard qantas services so-so... each airline diff practice... better check their website n call to cfm...
if u paying child fare, then by right they shld provide a meal, juz like adults.

crystallized,
Tell your hubby he could be wrong that R won't remember or enjoy the rides. Till now, Em still remembers when she sees the photos. She tells me "Mickeyland!" when she saw the pics. This girl doesn't know disney but she knows that's where mickey is hence mickeyland. haha!
As for rides, they are very mild so it will be enjoyable for toddlers.

I know at such young age, they probably will forget some of the things but the experience will stay with them. Over the weekend, we brought the kids for a night stay at Ritz Carlton, the moment Em saw the bathroom, she was very excited and wanted to remove her clothes and said "i want to bathe" and started fiddling with the taps. She certainly remembered her stay at Langham Place. And she remembered the fireworks that she watched on saturday cos last night she asked, "mommy, bring emma see fireworks again?"

Better call ahead to CX to check. Also, even tho R is too big for the bassinet already, just request for it cos that would mean getting front row seat. CX also does online check-in so you can do that to get better seats.

freshpoison, dor
ya, i went... not reli as "spectacular" as i expected tho'.. mayb cos raining, e turn out was very disappointing... i keep hearing them announce abt e 6yr old child still bf-ing.. but i couldnt see e child... ya, agree e mum muz be super.. i also cannot imagine myself bf-ing belle till so big....

<font color="0000ff">tap water in HK</font>
eh.... not drinkable ar?!?!?!?! i've been boiling n drinking e tap water there for as long as i can remember leh... so far so good leh...
if u all never "say" abt this now.. i'll prob be boiling e tap water over there for e kids too leh...

bbgrace
precisely based on wat u mummies shared, i feel R will def enjoy the rides. so i kept insisiting we muz bring R to disneyland though i am not keen at all.
and the agency lady actually told me there is factory outlets juz 1 or 2 station away fr disneyland so i muz go there! hahaha

Em so cute! she can utter such a string of sentence alrdy!

Oh i assume i will get the front row? No?
i hv to request ah? i wan the bassinet... yah even though R cant fit in anymore, i guess it might still b useful. yes, will b checking in online too. thks 4 the tip!

babygrace,
i'm always amazed by emma's development leh... can imagine her with her demure looks n voice asking u to bring her see fireworks....
my belle is getting to be a lil chilli padi too... always wonder how to "tame" her cos she's fiercer than ayden....

<font color="0000ff">belle milestone</font>
again, "salah" thread lah.. but i not active in the "right" thread so share here again... belle is reli very much faster than ayden was.. last week juz b4 she hit 9months old, she's pulling up to stand liaoz.. now she always keep standing up in e playpen/cot, n will call out for our attention by screaming! i think ayden @ 9mths was only able to sit independently, n juz started crawling...

babygrace,
Jaslyn was terrified with fireworks haha...
She remembers fri nite fireworks.. So when sat
fireworks were abt to start, she wanted to leave!
Kept signal us to leave and kept mumbling!

starz,
I did boil the tap water in HK to drink. For
adults only lah. Even BKK I also boil and drink.
Just dun give kids.

crystallized,
You gotta do check-in to get front row. Can
request when you do booking for tickets. If not
may not be able to get row front seats when you do
check-in.

jRt,
yupz, there is a shopping mall FULL of factory outlet stores just 1 MTR station away.. e station is call Tung Chung.. e last station. just out of tat station u can see e shopping mall liaoz...
i went there for both my last biz trip.. i wouldnt say its good shoppin lah, i juz went there cos e Esprit outlet in TST moved n wasnt open... the brands there got: Nike, Adidas, NewBalance, I.T. outlet, Club21, UCB (benetton), Esprit.. some kids' brands at e top level.. think tat was it..
if u looking for kids' stuff (n dont mind BARGAIN/Cheap stuff).. Fa Yuen Street (just next to "Gold Fish Street") is much better.. e "pasar malam" type of stalls... got loads of kids' clothes at very cheap prices.. juz take MTR to Prince Edward station, i think its exit B2, then gotto walk abit... but duno how to explain e exact directions to u leh...mayb u reach e station le ask pple, most are quite willing to oblige...

Hello ladies

Brought the kids to Singapore flyer on sat. We gang ho bring them to sit on the train cos dont want to be caught in the jam but the walk from city hall to the flyer is damn long. Me not so bad cos using carrier to carry lele but my hubby xiong carry zac still must carry umbrella.

Actually find the flyer ride so so only mayb cos lele was really cranky and so didnt enjoy the ride and the fireworks was delayed so didnt managed to catch it on the flyer. However we did manage to catch it on ground. Zac was quite fasinated with the fireworks. He hardly blinked his eyes for sometime while looking at the firework and then to our surprise he exclaimed "wow!" and pointed to the sky.

Freshpoison
u going to nz? i brought zac to chrischuch in january. the long flight can be quite tiring but we enjoyed the trip very much, nice place but food very expensive.

Shirley,
Wah liew... Sat rain was heavy man!
I was proposing to hb to forgo car and go by bus so
can watch from fullerton area instead (cos we kena
in traffic jam quite badly for fri nite, got home
after midnite). But becos of the rain, we went in
car, kena jam again but sat nite slightly better,
reached home slightly before midnite haha..
Hmm sat fireworks very nice hor!!!

Hi ladies, a good news to share but keeping my fingers crossed.

Been feeling unwell and saw a doctor on Fri, she insisted that all signs show that I'm preg, I refused to believe her so she made me do a blood test and confirmed that I'm preg. But due to the cramp that I keep having she's worried that it might be ectopic. So I'll be seeing a gynae next Sat to have a scan and confirm all is fine. Otherwise I should be about 6wks preg. Haha, my boss sure think that I get myself preg after hearing the perks, but well, it was not planned for, in fact when the announcement was made I was prob preg. Hb and I just decided to let nature take its course and who knows I'm preg so quickly. No wonder CHar started to be extra sticky 2 wks ago and kept saying to my tummy: " Baby drink milk, good boy." Then I tell her mummy no bb lah. Note: Char likes boy, she keeps saying hse's a boy too.

Freshpoison, yours is not the most ex. paid 1600+ for infant seat. No seat, no meal only baby food. Agree lasik is my very best investment.
No regrets!

Jenny, Char's afraid of firework too. We can view from our balcony, but Char would even forbid us to watch as she's afraid. I think it's the sound for her.

Trip
====
Since I'll be a MayMTB, I'll have to cancel my Perth trip in Apr09, but will continue my Bali trip this Nov, but guess I'll have to refrain from most activities. Really mixed feelings. Happy to be preg, but already start to worry abt my preg.

Jackiejon, Thank you! I wish it's Dr Tan again, but since he's with Raffles, and I still prefer KKH, I'll prob try out Dr Han How Chuan for my first visit next Sat.

Coral,

crystallized,
Yup, Em can string short sentences now. Sometimes, sequence a bit salah or gets the "you" and "me" mixed up cos i refer to her as "you" so she's still uses the third person when she's talking about herself.

Bassinet seat must request, just in case there are more infants on board than the required bassinet points. Actually if you don't need it or they think that R is too big, they wont fix it there cos it's bulky and blocks the person at the window seat from coming out.

starz,
If it's for my own consumption, i will juz boil from the tap like what i've been doing for all my past HK trips. But for kids, i just want to be safer.

Em is a chilli padi at home only, outside she is as meek as a mouse. Vivian can vouch for that. haha!

jenny,
My kids are also afraid of fireworks that's why we would not want to brave the crowds, only to have them say they wanna go home! Watching indoors would be the next best alternatives. Ritz Carlton has the best view since it faces the marina platform squarely.
I saw the traffic on sat night, so jammed up. If it hadn't been for the rain, i think it's even more crowded.
You watched both nights? Sat one nicer?

I see....I am still with Dr Tan for my routine checkup.

Seen him last month due to my period not coming for 4 months due to some medicine that I am taking for my headache.

At first he thought I am preg.....LOL

Bbgrace, thank you! Haha, Char is the same, she'll also use you on herself since we always say you.
Think girls are faster, Char also start to speak in sentences.

Crystallised, I agree with bbgrace. They can remeber the trp even at this age. Char can remember touching the horn of the bull at wall street, the boat ride at Niagara falls, the ducsk in the river, etc. She's been asking me to bring her to sit airplane. That's why I plan the two other trips.

Jackiejon, LOL, if you're preg then we'll hv bb in the same yr again.
Hope you're well now. How's Dr Tan? Busier?

Babygrace,
I am very impressed with E speech development.....Jo still not yet reach to that stage.

Nowadays, Jo loves to bite her brother.....whenever she do that, we will beat her mouth (not too hard) and tell her she cannot to that to her brother.

The blue black mark can take about 3 - 4 days to disappear.

Coral,
No matter what, I wanna congrats you first!
Pray hard for you, everything will be fine.

babygrace,
Yes, went for both nights. Fri no crowds at all.
Sat one is very much nicer than Fri's.
Jolene loves fireworks, she saw till very shiok.
Yesterday night still asked me if we are going
haha.. I told her to watch from TV (olympic
closing ceremony got haha)

Coral,

haha...i got false alarm last wk. if not, we r in same mth again. kekeke..

Crystallized,
hee..told your hb alvis enjoys the ride in disney. we even went back on 2nd day (suppose go somewhere) just to let him have another round.

jackiejon,

so long din hear frm you.
Jo love to bite her bro? A sometimes will do tat. we cant beat him, he will do more.
i justignore him.

Jasmine, ha, if not we can share our experience again.

Jackiejon, Char used to like to bite too. This around 12mths+. I used finger to beat her mouth everytime she bites and after 3-4 times she stopped. At first, I just scold her but she wont listen so in the end no choice gotta beat. Thpough I'm very against beating...but she started bting PILS so no choice.

hi coral,

congrats... wont b able to congratulate u in person on sat cos me bringing students to malacca for 3d2n.
wow, ur 1600+ infant seat win already...