(2006/10) OCTOBER 2006 MTB

hi mango,

yup. i was there with my hb. sitting next to the table lamp. i saw a maid carrying a little girl, thought she looks like ur Megan, so indeed it was her.

<font color="ff0000">Gemini</font>,

Aiya ...then you never call me !

<font face="Comic Sans MS">lilboymum,
I think maybe FM itself is heaty. Heaty stuff tend to make ppl body heaty. Usually the 1st sign of heaty is phlegm. Perhaps thats why must dilute milk.
Interesting.</font>

<font face="Comic Sans MS">freshpoison,
True lor. Haha, I very scared someone came up to me and called me, yet dun tell me who she is!
Jasmine is the notti one lor. That time gathering at babygrace place, she called me and stood there smiled at me. In my heart, I was thinking "die die, who's this, how come she knows me I dunno her de" hahaha... Ended, I recognise Alvis, and I "scolded" Jasmine hahaha </font>

<font color="0000ff">hey..i saw someone mention my name and sneak in now. wahahaha...

<font color="0000ff">Jenny</font>, aiya..i can recognise you cos tat time you all took picture during 1st and 2nd gathering n post at our yahoo group ma..same applies to Esther, she was shock when i called her at Giant Tampines. hehe..so mummies who have attend gathering b4, dun be surprise if one day Alvis' mum call you when see you somewhere hor.

I still din meet a lot of mummies here.

busy busy clear my work so that i can go holiday next week.
meantime arranging alvis album. kekeke...

hi freshpoison,

agree. we saw the babies fotos more often than the mummies.

hi mango,

if i remember correctly, u used to have long hair, rite? u got posted ur pic once.. hehee... cant comment except for your hair, but pai seh ya, after doing my lasik, if the aircon is too cold,i cant really have a sharp focus. so did not really see you clearly.
u manage to see me? i'm in a black shawl...

hi mango,

of course, i got see you lah... but blur image, like if u ask me whether your eyes single/double eye lids, cant see clearly... but can see that u v fair... oh, u did not see me walk past u lah, on the way into dr ho's room?

bbgrace
Emma starting her terrible 2s already aah. I'm suspecting D on the start already. Dun want to listen to me n wanna follow his instincts when walking.....sigh
Now he like to wipe the floor with his hand the moment he steps out of the hse....headach man

Jenny
Think cos the cars been the awhile liao n alot of kids will be playing with it 1. But so cheap hor cos we used to have 1 very long ago n it was bout $39. Big diff aah.

winniekok
hehe thanx. Yah his face really sharper liao last night we browsing his old bb pics SSSSOOOO chubby look so different from now....hahahhaha
For chinese n ang mo medi I try not to mix cos dunno will clash anot.
I think there's some FM that might cause phlegm n some might not n PD sort of know but think they can't announce to us nia. Cos I remember when D started full FM n he saw PD for his phlegm I asked if it was caused by his FM. PD straight away tell me Enfapro won't cause phlegm so its not the FM.

Agree with Jenny now they still too young to play with the car U wait till new stock come in then buy lor.....hehe
Cos my mum's neighbour has 1 n she leaves it outside her hse. So sometimes D will jus go n sit on it nia.

Jasmine
Yah the pic very COOL leh....hahaha

<font color="ff0000">Gemini</font>,

No leh.. i didn't put on my glasses and so many women in the room. You should hv call me lah.. That time i also chased after delphine after seeing desiree at punggol NTUC . I very ba one hee..

<font color="ff0000">delphine</font>,

Now i can't walk much liao, \ Very heavy , my tummy big big. yesterday my doc even commented tt my bb weight is above average..hee...

<font color="ff0000">Dor</font>,

Will u be buying new milk pump for the #2 ??
I now aiming for medela pump , hope to get gd deal from the fair so if anyone come across any gd deal , pls let me know

Thanks all mummies comment.

Think i'll take Jenny advice not to buy 1st, my boy still lazy to walk, so i'm waiting his next journey. Got plenty of time to play next time

Zaniten
=========
My colleague also give the same comment, her boy last time continue for 2yrs, it's really increase his appetite. But she also comment tat her cousin is opp side, cant c improvement for gaining weight. So I just see wat's his reaction lo. Altho it's a bit ex but give a try, one of my gal fren said her gal take 3bottles, after tat, her gal seldom sick, maybe the lung strong liao.

Lilboymum,
Ya he's skinny, only around 10kg on 15/2/08 at 16mth,,i think the idea weight should be around 11kg above? I called abortt nurse, she also said he's underweight, so advice me change to Pediasure lo, and oh..i find it's tooo sweet if we really follow the instruction exactly, 190ml &amp; 5 scoop of milk powder = 225ml,,even i only make 180 ml + 3.5 scoop oh, i still find it sweet la.

no lah n o lah.....10kg not underweight. i think by underweight should be below the percentile chart. else my CY malnourished liaoz.

good at 10kg lah. dun put on too much weight. else next time will have higher chance of diabetes, high blood pressure, heart disease etc...heeee...sour grapes hor...

mango
Not going to buy new pumps gonna use back my Avent manual cos I also dun really pump I normally total latch on. I jus buy new parts to change those old discolored 1. But I really hope I dun get to use the pump much. Cos I still have milk now leh n my breast very full sometimes very worried next time over supply then gotta keep pumping out.

Those BF till preggy 1 got leak milk anot huh when #1 cry?? Cos when D cry very cham hor will leak alittle leh n if he press on me also will leak abit. Sian lor hope I dun need to waste time keep pumping out next time.

lilboymum
Good ma u look on the bright side of it....hehehe

Winniekok
10kg okie ma not very skinny la should see by his height also ma. Last time D was VERY chubby becos he is short......hehehehe
Polyclinic nurse tell me 1 but they phrase nicer way lah lucky now he grow taller already. Even my dad told me that day last time he so scared D follow my FIL short.....haha

Jasmine
Alvis really looked like a big boy leh!

bbgrace
Emma is in her terrible twos now? OMG... still early 4 it rite? R seldom dare to throw tantrums wif me, though he does at times. he likes to bully his papa. Do u noe i am so "powerful" tt during my absence, my mum/MIL juz hv to use my name to threaten R, n he will look ard searching 4 me, then quickly do wat he is supposed to do? Aiyoh! I dunno to laff or cry man..

Jenny
now tt u mentioned, R did feel warm to touch on thurs, but it was 10 days aft his MMR jab liao. my mum called me, saying R seemed to b hvg a fever. he felt warm but there was no fever when she tested wif a thermometer. ANyway i asked her to feed him some paracetamol. By the time i got home, she said he was ok liao. so it might b due to the MMR jab.

dor
eih, oversupply then ask D whether he wants or not. you never know, sometimes when they see younger sibling nurse they also want...heeee...then you save more money liaoz.

heard todds drinking newborn milk will grow very chubby one...

D looks ok in height. how tall is he?

wenniekok.
have been giving my boy pediasure too. think a lot of mummies mentioned in one thread that if your tot really has weight prob, pediasure doesnt really help. as far as CY goes, ive been giving pediasure and nutricomb (calories powder prescribed by PD), but no use...weight still stagnant. he is just hitting the bottom of the chart.

i have a shortie featherweight...haiz...

babygrace, jrt
think terrible twos start around 15mths. yes, it's quite quite terrible. im feeling like a lousy mummy oredi.

jrt, i wish i was as powerful as you. CY's tantrums last forever, and he challenges me when i slap the back of his hand. he looks straight at me for long long while, eyeball to eyeball, then smile in triumph. whatever for???

lilboymum
hmmm, dunno issit gd or bad tt he freaks out at the mere mention of my name though i am not ard! but of coz to the caregivers, its def the best weapon to use.
sigh... so fr this, u def noe i am the disciplinarian while my hb is the goody papa...

yesterday brought both kids for their jab... altho got appt, stil had to wait 1+hrs for their turn.. so sianz.. but i stil like e PD lor.. bo pian got to "tahan" e wait... Ayden had his MMR yesterday n Belle took her 5-in-1..

today brought A to e airshow...<font color="ff6000">jenny</font> paiseh, yesterday nv log in cos too bz liaoz... did u go too???
me, only 1 word to describe.. <font color="0000ff">TIRED!!!</font>

anywayz, reach there juz in time for e flying display... initially A was very excited, but when the noise gets louder n louder, he dont want liaoz, wana go indoors.. end up, missed e airbus flying... other than that, he thoroughly enjoyed seeing all e aeroplanes model indoors.. n absolutely love e real A380 tat was on disply... he even had the patience to wait more than 30mins at e "gate" to e stairs to e A380, cos there was an angmoh who was randomly picking pple for a privilege chance to go up e plane..!!! but stoopid angmoh.. A wait till so disappointed until cry liaoz also dont pick him.... i felt so bad at tat point in time... when we wana give up n lead him away, he stil dont want to.. stil want to walk back to e plane... can reli see, tis e 1st time he really wanted something very badly, but i cant fulfill it... feels reli lousy leh.... *haiz*....

<font color="0000ff">teething pains</font>
haiz... poor A again "kena" major teething pains.. he's having 6 teeth breaking thru at e same time.. 2 on top, n 4 below... he aready hv 8 teeth now.. his lower gum swollen until his cheek also look swollen...

<font color="0000ff">bbgrace</font>
ya, 1st time see u sign up for trial class... good, can see emma liaoz... long time no see le... btw, can i kaypoh, where to see emma's video tat dor mention???

<font color="ff6000">dor</font>
can see D grew taller leh... mayb tats y he also look less chubby liaoz...
eh, A at november also weighing ard 10.6kg.. but yesterday weigh he's juz at 11kg nia.. so D's weight still growing well ar...
aiya, grandparents r like tat 1 lah... i "know" tis long long time ago liaoz, so when A first started solids, i already set the "rules" with my parents... plus my hb's family side witness the "fierce mummy" side of me b4 with my god-daughter... so they also dont dare to anyhow feed my son....

<font color="0000ff">terrible 2s</font>
haiz... think i'm also gonna have a hard time when A's terrible 2s start... he's not reli afraid of anyone in e family at all.. n only give me abit more "face"... been telling him for 3mths cannot touch e DVD/SCV box liaoz, until now stil doesnt listen... (he even can stand in front of e player, hand "pose" liaoz, then turn around n look at me, as if telling me "mummy im gonna press e player liaoz"... *pengz*) tell him for almost 6mths dont throw things liaoz, still throwing... wait for him to keep his toys himself tat day i will probably strike TOTO.. somemore now got maid to clean up after him, lagi worse... reli dunno wat to do with him sometimes....

Dor and crystallized,
Hubby and I feel that we are beginning to see the start of Emma in her terrible 2s. 2 weeks ago, she wanted the syringe when I fed her med and when i refused to give her, she had a major meltdown and cried for 30 mins.
In this week, she has bitten Joshua 2x already while fighting over toys.
Just now, hubby scolded her cos she almost pulled out a key from the laptop. She started wailing and when i came to check on her, she purposely cried even louder. Then i asked her who scolded and she can tell me it's papa, as if to gain sympathy. BTH....

starz,
The link to the video is in my msn header

Eh.... actually it's the not first time that i sign emma up for trial class lah. The last time i brought her for the JWT Gym with Damien, Mango's Megan and Jerene's little one (oops, her name just escapes me for the moment).

Terrible 2s
===========
Think my boy also started already. He will scream and throw tantrums if he doesn't get his way... No point reasoning cos he pretends he doesn't understand what I'm talking.

Huggies Ultra Promo
----------------------------------
Jus now went J8 ntuc n since D was not with me bought a pack n realise the promo really very cheap. Cos only till tml they will give u a $1 off voucher so its 19.95 for L/53 or XL/34. Plus get an instant dip. Normal size packs are now at 13.80.
So since D wearing this for bedtime n doubt he will stop wearing anytime soon will stockup the XL tml....hehe

lilboymum
I think D's chubby days are over lah he looks okie now to me dun want him to start being chubby again at this age.
He's already totally forgotten about latching on so dunno how he would react when he sees bb nursing....hehe
Ummmm think I forgot his height liao.....think should be 75cm when last measured at 15mths. I only know it was above 50 percentile liao so okie lah....hehe
Cos previously he was at 25 percentile lor so sia si wo.....hehe
CY so fierce aah will still look back at u aah. D dun dare wor either he cling back to hug me or he will ignore me dun look at me even if I turn his face to me....sigh

bbgrace
HAhahhaha...Emma so cute......hehe
N she bites aah.....Wah poor Joshua
OKie D not till tat stage yet...maybe I should pray harder he doesn't reach that kind of stage lah else he cry like that n bb cry I prob will cry with them liao....hahaha
I gave D a syringe to feed his stuff toy medi when he had to take medi...seems to make it jus slightly better.....haha
Jerene's Alexis.

OKie another complain.....hehe
I really can't stand that woman who goes to my inlaws place for mahjiong.
Today we went over n suay suay she was there not playing cos her heavily preggy daughter was playing. N she preyed on my POOR SON.

First she gave him a sweet open it for him the sour plum 1 in golden roll. She say this 1 u can eat n when D took it in his hands I pull his hand over n pop it in my mouth she still keep saying bite a bit for him. I ignore her n told D cannot eat. Purposly did it infront of her.

Then she went to ask my mil for biscuits. Think my inlaws know i am abit strict with D's food cos we went CNY visiting together. So my mil told her biscuits finised. (she actually gave D a pack of those chocolate pocky like biscuits n keep saying they are bb biscuits)
Who knows she go fridge dunno take wat pinch n stuff into D's mouth. Wah I so furious lor. Damn pissed but kept my cool dun wanna frighten D so after awhile I took D to the kitchen n made him give me wat was in his mouth. Think the stupid woman duno gave him wat think those CNY giam seng di cos its abit crunchy n dunno wat kind of taste.

So angry think I will ban going to my inlaw place on Sats jus to avoid that stupid woman.

dor,
Emma has a syringe from her doctor playset but she's bored with that already. I even gave her another clean syringe but she insist on wanting the syringe with the med inside. *faint*

oh yes, Alexis. Me cotton wool brain liao....

Die lah why I preggy liao like so many complaints.....hahaha
Is my bb gonna be a complain king or queen???

Okie lah not really complain lah but dunno wat my mum is thinking lah. That day she made D sleep she actually told me. When D very tired wanna sleep u need to carry n rock him to sleep.

I so shock man huh she never see my tummy meh n its still gonna grow somemore leh she expect me to carry D n rock him to sleep??????
So I told her my motive is NOT to carry D to sleep I've been training him to sleep on bed jus hugging me n patting him if dun want then dun lor. Anyway when bb comes or my tummy big how to carry. She still insist he want to sleep jus carry n rock him abit anyone also can. Siao lor......I sole caregiver whose's the anyone leh

N I really worried dunno wats in my mum's mind lor cos she sort of dun wanna work liao scared she say she help me take care of kids ask me to go work n pay her. Cos she's now happily telling ppl my son likes her alot keep wanting her to carry n that she's a grandma of 4 and a half cos I'm preggy......sigh

bbgrace
hahahah she wants with the medi?? Cos the color is nicer aah??? hehehe
Now that D is older feeding medi really a chore...sigh
He sees the syringe only he shake his head n start to cry......so sian

hehe I won't forget ALexis cos she was born on the same day as D...keke

Hi Jenny

please keep me in the loop as keen to join

Interested for MyGym Gymster Trial Class
1) jenny
2) jackiejon
3) freshpoison (WDL)
4) jasmine (GWC)
5) starz
6) Delphine(GWC)
7) vivian
8) crystallized
9) Selina (no preference)
10) doreen (WDL)
11) Coolcoolmum (GWC)
12) babygrace
13) pups
14) gemini
15)babe_ong

bbgrace
haha, i had a taste, or rather, R had a taste of the biting episodes. My niece is an expert at biting ppl and R kena many times fr her alrdy. But R retaliates by pushing her! Tit for tat!

R can oso complain when either me or my hb scolds/beat him for being naughty, to either party. hahaha

Dor
tell the silly woman off 2 stop feeding nonsense to D? if she dun give me face as a mother, then i oso wun give face one. i am oso quite strict when it comes to eating rubbish.

Crystallised
AT first I told hubby when her grandson born n she bring him over I will feed him rubbish also see how she feels. But I dun think I want to lower myself to her level.
Bochap her liao won't tell her off but I def won't give face anymore lor. I will jus tell D how irritating some ppl are.....hahaha
Since I have complained to hubby many times about her already. He dun do anything I will do something.......hehe
N if my inlaws not happy good lor they cn even forget about seeing bb #2.....wahahaha
See who scare who.......

No leh, Jolene wasn't chubby when I gave her nb milk leh.
In fact, I feel toddlers are quite active, and at this stage, they tend to be fussy with food. Sometimes eat a lot, sometimes don't. As long as they are in good weight, there isn't much to worry lah.
I agreed pediasure doesn't help with weight gain. My colleagues and aunt gave to their kids. I find the kids slimmer than before. I rather give full cream milk.

Starz,
I reached there, but detoured after seeing the crowd. Wasted the tickets.
I wanna go on trade days but hb not interested. Anyway trade days kids can't go also.

Terrible Two
I never know when it starts or ends. But I guess all along my gals have them even before age of 1. So I "ma pi" liao.
Jaslyn challenged me several times. If the daddy saw, Jaslyn sure "cham" one, she sure kena from the daddy. I'm a failure when it comes to discipline Jaslyn. It's only when I have the cane with me, then she will be scare of me. Lucky Jaslyn is super scare of her daddy. Sometimes I find it so funny.

jenny
i put pedisure in whole milk. not sure if it works leh. CY looks like a tot from refugee camp in Sudan.

dor
think D taller than that lah. coz CY was 75cm at 15mths, and the dietitian commented that that is only 10th percentile. then say something like CY short , also skinny....(sianz...)

just worried he so small size next time how to find girlfriend...

bbgrace, crystallised
i feel that biting is a defence mechanism especially when they are smaller size than their counterparts. coz CY bites whoever bullies him too (or he imagines bullies him, i dunno).

dor
i think grandparents/elderlies always feed bb junk. i think they may believe that it is a way to create bond with the tot, coz tot will def like them after that.

i only realise my ILs have been feeding CY Macz fries and coke whenever he goes over. so i just told them straight no no no....but no use now, coz they are so afraid i wont bring CY over anymore they will just lie to me

Crystallized/Freshpoison,
haha...yeah. mine no longer baby after he turns 1. really looks like big boy.

Dunno if i shave him till bald will he looks like baby? humm...

Dor,
I bought 1 pack XL size. and you know what i get? Huggies towel. and the lady willing change to the sippy cup. keke...
Now the cups become A 's toys. haha...

oo..XL size 48pcs.

Jenny,
aiya..din know tat u r going on sat.
if not, i can sms u then you no need to waste the trip to go there.
i saw the terrible jam when on the way back to home. then i told my col that so many ppl crazy to airshow. the traffic jam was so bad.

lilboymum,
yeah yeah..my ILs choose not to tell me (is it lie??) what they feed my boy.
but the funny thing was A poo at midnite (he suddenly change his pattern this 2 days), hb &amp; me saw there was a 'gua zi' in his poo.
so, this mrng i purposely told them dun anyhow feed him rubbish food.
i still never let him drink any packet or soft drink.

Dor
Zac also has the habit of using his hand to wipe the floor when he is outside. Really testing my patience man! Bring him to the garden, he loves to pick up dead leaves, twigs and pass to me. *faintz*. Now keep on telling him we dont pick up things from the floor, hopefully he will get it.

Starz
Zac also not particularly afraid of anyone in the family but i realise repetiton does pay off one day. Zac used to like to touch the scv box too and i keep using very stern voice to warn him. Now if i use the same tone and say "Isaac", he will make a U turn and find other things to play. But mind you, this was after countless month of scolding.

Terrible 2
==========
Zac has similar meltdown as emma but not very often and it always happen when his favourite thing is being taken away from him. Just last sat when we went to my friend's boy one year old party, he took a liking to the birthday's boy shoes and kept wanting to wear it. I took it away from him and the meltdown started, cried pitifully for 5min. No choice but has to sit next to him for him to calm down while other guests look on. Think being a mother also train me to ignore other pp's stares, more thick skinned liao.

I am bracing myself for more of these meltdown but guess i must be heng xin not to give in.

My little helper
================
As my tummy grew bigger, i also grow lazier. Zac has become my little helper. He loves to throw rubbish for me so when i am lazy to throw my tissue papers i will pass on to my darling to throw it in the bin. haha make him exercise and tire himself and also help this lazy mama.

Speech
======
Anyone can advice when our kids can properly communicate with us? like short sentences? So many pp has been asking me if zac can talk. I told them he can understand us and express by pointing at the things but can only speak a few words. They all seem to have the surprise look on their face like" u mean he still cant talk?" that got me thinking..... so what should be the average age?

alamak! you describe your own boy like that!

Jasmine,
You crazy ah? Shave Alvis??? Pls lah. If I'm him, I "hate" you man!
Oh is a last min decision cos I have tickets mah. Tot the gals will be interested, then when I reached Pasir Ris, I sianz liao, hb more sianz. So we went other place lor. In fact w/o agenda, we went to many places wor, also went to kapoh the Hasbro sales at SAFRA Toa Payoh. 1st time brought the gals to toys sales, they very excited wor. They kept digging into the boxes for toys hahaha... Hb and I just stood there and laughed and laughed. Should have take a pic of them... wasted.

jasmine
i wouldnt give CY any sweet or fizzy drinks too. ok except pediasure which is sooooo sweet, but elderlies seem to think sweet drinks good for kids.

Shirley
well, maybe i can add a few cent worth of comments on that...Language development differs from child to child, and it will not usually affect future academic achievement or otherwise.

However a few factors to consider:
1. Gender
Girls tend to speak earlier and are generally more expressive. It is not unusual to see a 2 year old girl speaking fluent, grammatical sentences, but rare for a boy.

2. Monolingual or multilingual
Bilingual or multilingual children tend to speak later. this is because children need to take time to sort out the different systems in the different languages. (Monoligual children will produce first words between 8mths-18mths, by 18mths, most can speak short phrases.multilingual children may attain this only at age 2.5 to 3)

Here, bilingual or multilingual means the child understands that one object has two 'names'. One in each language. In Singapore, many children are actually monolingual (aka singlish loh), coz many knows only one 'name' in any one language for any one object. Eg. jie jie, dog, mao etc

Multilingual children will settle their language by age three (yes really late) but by then they will have very strong command of the two languages and are usually more intelligent as more synapses are formed in their brains in the process...children can be exposed up to 5 languages before the age 2.

3. Of course the usual, the amount of stimulation they receive and the type of stimulation.Different people have different views on what is proper stimulation so i wont tread on dangerous grounds :p
(presence of siblings, TV, etc)

4. Under normal circumstances, receptive language is usually the gauge of development before age 3. That is how much they understand and not how much they can produce.

jenny
haha...mean mummy hor. but was this documentary on sudan and saw those tots there. actually some of them are even quite plump leh. my hb says coz these children are malnourished, so when they receive food, their body will respond very well by plumping up...dunno real or not....

<font face="Comic Sans MS">Shirley,
What do those ppl expect? Genis baby talk? At this age, our kids are learning to talk by mumbling. If they can talk some words, very good liao lor. To me, is a big milestone liao lor.

Talking about this. When Jaslyn was abt 13mths old. There's once we were at ILs place, my MIL was commenting to my hb saying Jaslyn still doesn't know how to talk well LIKE Jolene. XXX (my sil's son, same age as Jolene) already talking very well. I tell you lah, my face turned as black as a charcoal or even blacker. I felt like telling off my MIL. If Jaslyn at the age of 13mths old, can talk as well as Jolene, then I no need ppl to help me take care of Jaslyn liao lor. She's genis liao lor, I can call media in.

Back home, I told hb, "your mum got confused between your sis's son with Jaslyn is it? She blurred until she can't even tell her granddaughter (Jaslyn) just turned 1 not long? Compared her with her cousin who is same age as Jolene? Why don't your mum compare XXX with Jolene where they are same age leh? Biased also dun be so obvious can or not."

Sorry lor, I really got mad with my MIL's comments that day. In fact, I was so angry that I asked hb why his mum never comment Jo and Jas starts walking so early, and SIL's son only starts to walk at 16mths old leh.</font>

<font face="Comic Sans MS">jackiejon,
Dunno leh. But sometime back, I saw there's a thread discussion on this. Not sure if the thread still active, but I copied and saved at home pc for the contacts.</font>