(2006/10) OCTOBER 2006 MTB

Delphine,
wah so fast ah. I find PG charges reasonable lor. Their cake yummy also.
No need, I seen their whole albums before (been to the shops many times liao).
Actually... I itchy also lah, wanna try smiling orchid cake, that's why I choose them over PG cos I getting sick of PG cake. So, which flavour you order? Their "workmanship" depends on who design the cake tat day, unless you request for... their boss, chan wei (babygrace, correct? Hope I dun remember the wrong name.) So far so good lah, is just that the wordings din write very nice (saw some pics from the bday threads which the mummies posted their pics). Personally, for Jolene's first cake from PG, the wordings really looks ugly on the real cake, but lucky pic turns out ok.

Jasmine,
If thats the case, you get from PG lah. Cos PG entertains call and email. For Jolene's cake, I only went down once to pass them the figurines, the design of cake etc are done via phone and email. Payment is made on the day of delivery.

Delphine,
No problem
But do note that the assessment is done by nurses, not by doctors. K did his in Hougang polyclinic and the nurse who assessed him was an experienced one so I don't have anything to complain about.

Jenny,

I thot shooshoo more expensive?? I rem seeing it cost ard $30+ leh... I bot the first pair at $30+. Cannot rem exactly how much liao. And I forgot I bot M or L size... *faint*
And this time ard, I dun want to spend too much so hunting for something that is cheaper, but cannot find... and cheapest I found here is weesteps which is cheaper than shoo shoo, so I give it a try lor. But I must say, I prefer shoo shoo...

Talking abt feet size, Rhys' 13cm liao leh... big boat ah... sigh...

Jenny,
Yes, Pine Garden's young boss (actually it's his family business) is Chan Wei. He's more a business person, not a baker in training (though he decorated my cake for my 18th birthday, that's very long time ago hor? haha)
The main chef is Li Keow (his cousin), she's the one who is trained to decorate cakes.

JCU stands for james cook univeristy
i wanted to take course long ago but was pregnant, taking psychology cos its my interest, dun like biz degree although got a banking diploma

Dad recovering but BIL still in hospital ICU down with blood cancer, haven recover so now i also running to hospital often too

thanks all for the concern!!!

hi delphine,

thks for the info. was trying to call SK polyclinic to check but no one pick up the phone! ok, will ask my hb to bring tricia down since he need to clear leave...
also, can I have the Pine Garden pics too? i got try their chocolate cakes before, find it ok. (maybe i'm not a cake lover).the lychee martini contain alcohol, rite? i cant take any alcoholic stuff. me lazy to check out other cake shops, so might as well order from PG. how many days in advance they need to do the cake?
thks!

maybe u can post the pic taken of both D & T at bbgrace place...

Hi Gemini,

This lazy mum here still have not upload the pic taken at bbgrace place.. will try to upload and post it here. Didnt manage to capture both at the same time, think there is one where T is smiling and D's back is facing the camera.

ok. will send you an email on PG cakes. they need 3-7 days in advance for order depending on the complexity of your cake. as what i have understand, the lycee martini cake, only the lycee is alcoholic(very mild,according to the salegal) and the cake is not.

Oh yes, by the way i have already collected your tees. shall pass it to you over the weekend.

hi delphine,

yah. think i remember now. i think mine is D is facing the camera and T look away...

thks for the tees. sms me when you want to pass to me.

Jasmine,
Actually won't lah. I've seen their cakes w/o figurines and is sweet looking (I mean for gals' cakes lah)!

Vivian,
Ya shoo shoo (~$35.90) more ex than weesteps ($26) but hor happy kids shoe (~$15.90) much cheaper than weesteps leh.
I mean I dun mind paying more for shoo shoo cos I can try them on Jaslyn fat feet. Weestep can only buy online is it? Then I can't try mah. So if Jaslyn can't wear, the shoes "becomes more ex" compare to shoo shoo liao. Dunno you catch wat I talking?? Cos I also dunno wat I'm talking hahaha.... My mind very messy now with all the works stuff...

pups, Shirley,
I got reply from kidzcottage... they can only upload pics this weekend... Dunno if I should wait, cos that means these few days Jaslyn no shoes to wear le (somemore public holiday...), by the time I got from kidzcottage, sekali Jaslyn can't wear liao. Think I close my eyes and settle for shoo shoo

Delphine,
Lychee Martini is nice.

babygrace,
Oh yes, I spoke to Li Keow for Jolene's cake. She gave me lots of ideas.

Ok anyway I found this website selling all kinds of soft soled shoes http://babejoy.com/shop/index.php?cPath=43
Daisy roots the most ex lor.

Hi Jenny,

Really??? ok.. at least feel more "an xin" liao... cos scare my guest cannot take such unique favour.
Heard their triple chocolate also not bad but personally not really a chocolate fan but my hb is, so we fight lor then i win.. haha!!

Delphine,
My hb loves it but not me haha...
Yes, their triple choco is very nice. You should buy a slice to try. Is dark choco leh, not too sweet. And not forgetting their black forest cake, real cherries with rum leh.
If you are not really into whole chocolate cake, you can consider choco + orange zest, it's nice too and for those who dun like choco to be too filling, this is just nice.
Dun try the strawberry flavour, nothing to fancy about.

Delphine,
The black forest cake and lychee martini are 2 of my favourite. The black forest has more alcohol than lychee martini. I can't really taste the alcohol in the lychee martini one. I always ask for my lychee martini cake to be coated with valhorna chocolate instead of fresh cream. Somehow chocolate and lychee goes very well together. But the problem with having choc coated cake is that there is limited design u can do.

btw can u forward me the pics as well. i can email the boss lah but he's a busy man now, so i just want to take a look at the designs first and finalise it b4 i contact him. My email is [email protected]

Coral
Long time didn't see ur postings liao. D can stand quite steady n can stand while without support liao but still can't walk lah dun think so soon cos he still not that stable yet leh. How's Char doing now?

TEETHA
---------------------
Sorry mummies,
I am really very forgetful now. Haven been meaning to post about this for weeks n I still forgot. Until now I see its being mentioned.
Its very good for Damien. The 1st time I gave him it was like haven sent kekekke. Cos he keeps waking up crying n wanna slp but dun want to slp kind like worm crawling up n down all over me so I fedup fed him 1 packet n few mins later he slp by himself liao.
The next few times I gave D was also similar lor he always settles down after a few minutes.
Thanks Starz for introducing it else I sure will have more sleepless nights.
Cost $18+ for 24 very small satches.

bbgrace
if U can wait I pass u some when I go over to get my stuffs. btw thanx for intro the sambulco cos its really effective for D.

dor,
wah, you make the teetha sound like sleeping pills. Thanks, i hope it'll work for emma, she still wakes up a few times at night. Poor girl and poor me :p
I think sambulco helps both the kids also. And i think it helped me to a certain extent. At least my cold didn't turn into a full blown one.

Jenny,
For Kidzcottage, they send out their things quite fast. At least that was my experience when I ordered the last time.

Wah, all of you make me drool at the PG cakes! Delphine, can forward me the pics too? [email protected] Thanks!

Delphine
can email the pic also
think Starz also interested
me busy got no time to call them

think our theme care bear and cake might turn out to be very similar!

bbgrace
Cos it has camomile n it calms n soothes them. Plus its easy to make them eat cos its sweet hehe.
Luckily his 2 lower teeth finally made their appearance liao if not hor I think I will go mad man n now he keeps biting me again n can't scold him 1 leh the tears keep flowing n flowing until u carry him. Really very sai nai BTH aah.

Btw wanna share I BTH hubby also. This morning D's diaper which I changed at 3am leaked at 8am lor so I changed his pj while hubby was in the toilet washing up. Then the moment hubby open the toilet door D called him very loud n clear "Papa".
N u know how he react anot. He jus smile at him nia n walk off. Like as if his son does this everyday. So I asked him if he heard his son call him he jus said "Yes".
Then I asked him to jarga D while I go toilet. N come out to find him playing with D n making him laugh like ah siao. Heng I still managed to make D sleep back till 10+am. Else I sure panda man.

playard
========
starz

do u hv the measurements for the yard? am thinking of getting 6panels but i need to know the specs coz dunno my place have enough space..

Delphine,

Can I have the pic from PG too? Me should be ordering from them coz too lazy to find others and since so many good reviews until I also want to try their cakes... hee... my email is [email protected].

Alternatively, maybe you can use the yahoo group to upload the pix under PG cake design album or something like that, then easy for you and all we do is to go yahoo site... just a thot...

Dor & Babygrace
Pardon me, didnt know that there is a teething powder in the market (only knew about teething gel

Where can we buy it?
What type of brand did you buy?
Do you mixed it in their milk?

Gd morning..

Delphine,
Thanks for the email.

very nice those cake.

Jenny,
agree wif u. gal's cake design more nicer.
after received Delphine's email, i itchy hand n email PG request for boy cake design, not so fantastic compare to gal's cake design lor...

share wif u all the cake design for boy 1 yr b'day cake

914730.jpg
914731.jpg

914732.jpg
914733.jpg

if u all saw Dephine email on those gal cake hor, u all definitely drooling..

TEETHA

Me also wanna know where to get it?
i also going crazy if she continue to wake up at night

PG cakes
sory Delphine
I think type too fast and miss out saying can email me the pic for the cakes from PG
thanks my email [email protected]

TEETHA
Let me answer for starz and doreen. You can get Teetha from vitakids at forum, paragon, vivocity.
It's a homeopathic remedy ie use natural herbs. The active ingredient in there is camomile which is supposed to calm the baby. Can read more about here
http://www.nelsonshomoeopathy.co.uk/coffee/pages/0991766259.shtml

Jasmine,
All black forest cake have alchohol in there, it's just how generous they are. PG's black forest is very generous with the cherries which is soaked in rum.
It's up to you whether u want to give it to baby or not. U can just give the cake portion, don't give the cherry or filling. Anyway, babies don't eat so much also. Just yi4 si4 yi4 si4 only. It's not only the alcohol to worry about, cakes have eggs in there so some babies may also have an allergic reaction to it.

<font color="0000ff">delphine</font> tks for helping me to check. will try to find time to bring caleb for his assessment.

<font color="0000ff">balloon contact</font> let me get from my friend n revert later

<font color="0000ff">pine gardens</font> my friend had a PG cake for his son. looks really nice but hor when i eat the cake, got sour sour taste leh. think is the colouring cream or something else but i didnt really like it cos of the sour sour taste.

hi hi...

<font color="ff6000">selina</font>
i was trying to sms u tis morning.. but M1 network down leh...
i called winnie liaoz, her playyard stocks are not here yet... but she says can maintain $105 for purchase above 10sets.. so u wana wait or not???

<font color="ff6000">storm</font>
i dont have e specs leh...
paging for any mummies with e playyard, can you all help provide e specs please????? i dunno how accurate my "estimation" is, but width of 1panel is approx 1metre???? e height about 60-65cm? e base of these panels got "suction cup" to "stick" to e floor...

<font color="ff6000">jenny</font>
thanks... tis not e exact bag i wanted, and i've tempted someone to start a spree with a webby that sells the ones i wanted... retail price also $20+, juz have to pay abit more for e freight charges nia.... hehehe...

<font color="ff6000">doreen</font>
hehehehe... u machiam advertising for teetha leh... it works so well for damien... while for A it didnt work like miracle.. think A might b more "resistant" (or rather stubborn)...
how? u finish harry potter liaoz???? tot u "in hiding" to finish e book.....
hehehe.. ur hb so "cool" hor.. D call him no major reaction ar... my hb hor, would prob have cheered e house down liaoz... cos recently he hardly home mah.. (work bz), so whenever he ask A "where is daddy?", A will look at e huge photo frame in my bedroom leh... my hb so sad...

<font color="ff6000">pine garden</font>
i went to PG over e weekend n bought their cakes to sample liaoz... my personal comments ar:
lychee martini - very nice, not too sweet, can't taste alcohol
black forest - can taste a little bit of alcohol in e cherry... not too bad...
triple layer choc - very good (according to my mum, as she's e choc lover). A loves it too.. not to sweet, juz "moist" enough for a choc cake...
tiramisu - MY FAVOURITE!!! e rum is e "killer".. after abt 2yrs of abstaining from alcohol, i actually felt a lil "high" from e rum in tis...
brandied cherry cake - not so nice, alcohol taste also very strong, but cake quite bland... dont like
strawberry choc cake - not nice either...
hehehehe... machiam cake review like tat.... they can actually do 2 or 3 layer cakes with different flavour for each layer leh... for those "undecided" ones, can try ar....
price list attached here...

915070.jpg

Have send the pics to your respective emails, enjoy!

Hi viivian,

Can you upload for me at yahoo group cos no access from office... thanks a lot!!

Hi Selina,

No prob, intend to bring D to go as well.

pups,
I can't wait cos Jaslyn needs to wear tomor. Anyway I bought a pair of Springy shoes from a shop at United Sq. Perhaps I will buy another pair from kidzcottage if they are selling cheap.

Jasmine,
those cake design hor, I think PG "copy" from smiling orchid one.
The black forest only the cherries got soak in rum, cake wise is ok.

starz,
You bought so many to try the PG cake ah. Ya lor I agreed strawberry no nice. Really regret doing strawberry for Jolene's cake. But funny, guests said nice. I think it just sounds nice to say "nice" to show the gesture nia. But I'm disappointed with it.

hi starz,

hehee... will be like u too. since Sun need to go MIL place in AMK, so will go over and buy slices to try again.
i have actually tried before a few during preggie, but my choices quite limited cos I cant take alcoholic stuff at all.
/blue{black forest cake}, tried a few mouths and dun quite like it, maybe it's a bit sour.
/blue{chocolate cake}, my hb say not bad for a chocolate lover
/blue{tiramisu}, will try it, personally i like tiramisu but some places one, i cant take cos they got alcohol in it.

starz,
Thanks for passing me the teetha today

Check with you and Dor, how do u all feed the powder to your bb?
Tried pouring it on a spoon and giving to Emma when i gave her the midnight feed, end up half of it on her clothes and on my bed. sigh... looks like i'll just add into her milk the next time.

<font color="0000ff">PLAY YARD MEASUREMENTS</font>
The measurements are 1m x 1m, plus a bit more cos the corners are curved so can't really measure accurately.

I think this will interest mummies who need to rent helium gas. Saw this posting from one of the mummies (happymumtobe):

"I have made a booking to rent a helium tank from a party shop at Holland V, the rental is $30 for 1 day. The tank can fill abt 35 latex balloon. You may go check it out. The shop is call Party City, tel:64626011/63362161"

But if Selina's contact for the guy who does $1 for a balloon which he will inflate and tie... I think it saves the hassle to do ourselves.

Babe
the sambulco is ummmm how to say.......like a tonic??
Its all homeopathic remedy so using herbs. Sort of help to strengthen their upper respiratiry(dunno spelling). N help them recover faster. Cos D has abit of mucus sound n once a while will have running nose for like 1-2 hrs. N like too mild to see pd so I tried to give the Sambulco n it makes it better. So dun need to go n see pd at all..hehe
Hope I'm not doing advertising again hahahha.

bbgrace
I actually jus tear the sachet open at 1 side n pour bit by bit into D mouth directly. Then feed him water after I pour finish all lor.

Starz
U gave Ayden in the day time is it?? Cos I only gave D at night n if he keeps waking n crying. So maybe he already blur blur n in sleep mode liao so he will auto go back to sleep on his own when it takes effect...hehe
Or maybe the sweetness make him stop crying then he blur so jus continue sleep....hahahaha
Actually I mia so often cos D teething very siong lor n I very lack of sleep so sometimes I fall asleep with him.
N yah lor I bi guan siu lian to read the Harry Potter. Jus finished Wahaahhahahha
I think I am trying to delay finish reading it lor cos nothing to look forward to already leh.
My hubby aah idiot 1 lah if D was calling me hor I tell u I sure SOOOO happy man. But he like no feeling 1. Mei liang xing aah.

Okie u all make me so GIAN to get a nice cake for D liao cos probably not celebrating(still awaiting the bomb from my fil) N now hor dunno if I wanna order when I should collect cos dunno if he will drop bomb.

Starz
can u email me the price list? too small leh, cant see clearly. coincidentally we juz went to buy PG cakes for sampling as well. Hee... i juz tried lychee martini and black forest. the lychee martini is special in a sense tt the flavour is unique. and yes, i agree tt cant really taste the alcohol at all. perhaps aft hearing rave reviews abt their cakes, i actually expected the cakes to b better, so i did not hv the "wow" feeling when i ate the cake. the cakes r juz nice in moisture. not too dry.

bbgrace
Emma so chubby! feel like pinching her! hahaha, me a sadist!!!

I have finally add the album called Pine Garden Cakes Design in yahoo group, have a look if you are interested.
Too free now cos on leave tomolo, long weekend!!