(2006/10) OCTOBER 2006 MTB

dear ladies
thank u all for yr concern. C is finally discharged ytd. her phlegm and mucus is clearing up but still hv to let her inhale the nebuliser every 4hr at home.

she's back to her normal cheerful self BUT now she's refusing milk! i dunno y. she will cry when feeding but the funny thing is she prefers plain water.

before her illness, she use to drink 180ml every 4-5hrs (sleep through at nite) now, max 120ml.. but most of the time is ard 90ml.. sometimes even 30ml! daily intake now drop from average 850ml per day to now 500ml per day.

i ask my PD he said its normal coz she has been growing rapidly (now 7.6kg at 19wks) so she's slowing down her milk intake. its not a cause for concern since she is still drinking water. but im still worried leh.

she can go up to 4hrs without wanting feeds and even when i feed her, she will only drink very little and cry.

is it time for me to intro solids?? she use to be a very gd gal.. now so fussy!! abit cannot take it liao

Hi gemini,
Wah so fast got tooth. So cute.

Hi selina,
I also got the bumbo but my boy will bend dwn to try & eat the centre portion. He also discovered his foot. Soon he will prob start doing yoga and try to eat his toes.

Gemini
Tricia tooth so cute. Damien's tooth also erupted yesterday already yipee so happy.....
But really worried he bite me whe I latch him leh

Janice
Err I latch n walk around the fair leh...hehe
Not the whole fair though cos D dun drink so slow.....hahaha
I even latch him while shopping in Safe leh....hehe

Jasmine
My BM very powerful hor think he took all my fats mah.....kekeke
I actually just eat as normal leh no special food. But I do tend to eat more fish becos they make my breast fuller. Make me feel that I have alot of milk for D...hahaha

Storm
Glad C is back hm n well. But err can't help in ur qns leh cos I total latch n even though D seems to be drinking lesser n faster, I dunno how much he drink but still every 2 hrs.

selina,
Don't worry about the big small eyes. Joshua used to have it also and it's more obvious when he sat upright like Caleb as compared to lying down. but his eyes are more even out now as he grows bigger.

doreen,
tell me about biting! Joshua used to gripe the nipple and pull when he was teething! ouch!
i will tap his mouth and tell him sternly no!

bbgrace
oh if that is true, then at least i dun hv to worry so much. but then if he dun teethed so soon, i wun suffer fr painful bites? a way to console myself? haha hv heard frens & coll whom their babies hv teeth commented they really bite! OUCH!

Coral
aiyoh, think u rem wrongly lah, i think i posted tt PD said TV is not gd 4 babies under 6 mths, not 2 yrs lah.
else poor thing lah, only aft they rch 2 yrs old then can watch TV... the VCDs usually says aft 6 mths anyway rite?
love the pink thermal suit 4 bot 4 Char. she will look so cute in it!

Doreen
so u juz 100% latch and din express milk all these while?

Selina
now tt u mentioned, i saw C's da xiao yan, but issit coz the dbl eyelids on the other eye haven emerge?

Selina
btw wanna ask u, how u gonna sterilise the milk bottles and pump during cruise ah? cant b lugging the whole steriliser there rite? i am still figuring a way out. worst scenerio, am gg to juz wash and use hot water to soak the pump. i wun need to use any bottles 2 feed R but my sis will hv more headache coz my niece on TEBM.

Doreen
when u latch D and walk ard the mall, do ppl noe u r latching? or rather, do u get curious stares? coz i find tt most ppl dunno i am nursing and some will curiously try to find out why i am covering up my poor baby. and best, some ppl dun even noe its a baby i am carrying. i find it so puzzling coz cant they see a pair of legs sticking out????

jRt, I remember your 1st posting saying not under 6mths, so i went to buy vcd, then after I bought someone posted not under 2yrs lor...Actually i do let Char watch TV but just stopped dedicating 30mins a day for her to watch liao lor.

jRt, when I latch Char in restaurant or mall and walk aropund, pple will stare curiously why I hold my bb in such a weird position. Someitmes if it's women I'll say to them I;'m feeding then they'll smile. For men I ignore. I also afraid if Char teeth too soon i'll have to give up BF. Cos now whn she doesnt want to eat and I force her she'll bite me real hard so cant imagine if she has teeth.

Storm, it's quite common. Many of our bbs are feeding less. Char is also like this, now can be drinking half the amount as compared to before.

Selina, we tot it looks too big too. But after letting Char try it on it's fine. According to sales lady, size 1 is for 6-12mths, but we bought size 2 cos size 1 too fitting liao, can be uncomfortable and also will be too small very soon. Now Isetan got sales so could be cheaper than Kiddy Palace.

coral
oh then i dun think i am the one tt posted no TV for kids under 2 yrs... v poor thing leh. somemore coz we make a conscious effort to stop R fr watching TV, at times when he managed to take a peep, he will watch wif all his attention. so funny.

they will sure bite us when they start teething, but muz tell them it hurts and stop them fr latching until they dun bite. not sure how to do this lah, bbgrace will b in a gd position to advice us.

hey u oso noe how to latch Char and walk ard the shopping mall wat, so u dun need to see how i "dance" liao mah....

gemini,
tats fast for T on teething

Jasmine,
Dun bring A for new prints hor, cos neo prints are using flash lights, which is q strong.

Jo,
since you already planned for No. 2, go and buy the playpen lah. Won't be wasted one. Some more can pass to your sis hahaha
Janice is right, I'm using babycraft playpen, bought it at $90 (I think) from CC, and Winnie delivered to my place cos she said too heavy for me to carry back. Is abt 20kg. I placed the playpen at my mum's place for Jaslyn.

Selina,
The da xiao yan, dun worry, usually for bb is like tat. Grow up will be ok.

crystallized,
On cruise, if the room you are staying dun have a kettle, then ask for hot water from room service lor. Actually can just wash with the water and use a bit of hot water to pour over the pump/bottles, leave them in the container for a while then ready for next use liao. The steam will helps to sterilise the stuff. I only sterilise once in the morning and once at nite b4 sleep.

Jenny,
hahaha...didnt bought A for neo print lal. tat's my hb handphone. we can add background b4 take photo using the hp.

Doreen,
YES!! ur BM really powerful.
i really envy u lal. As a SAHM, one of the benefit is can total latch on. i enjoy it during my confinement, no need to pump, no need to wash & sterilized pump & bottle. yipee...!! lazy mum..

coral / crystallized / Doreen,
wow..u all very steady lel. till now, i only can guai guai sit down & latch only. really cant figure out how to bf while walking or dance lel??? hehehe...must learn frm u all.

Crystallized,
u no intend to pump or bottle feed R during ur cruise trip?
i'm planning to do tat when i going back to m'sia next mth. tat's y i ask u whether our supply will b enuf or not if we total latch cos i too long didnt total latch on liao.

crystallized,
pai mia..... i'm usually up latest by 7.30am cos will kenna woken up by either one of them. This morning i was up by 6.45am. i went to bed last night a bit earlier at 11plus. cannot tahan liao, told hubby to take care of Emma's last feed. but in the end, i also kenna woken up by her cries.

As for bb biting while feeding, i told J very sternly no and tap him on the mouth when he does that. Seemed to work for me.
But then hor, i r'ber when he was about 1 yr old, he had this tendency to bite me on the hands cos the poor boy was teething. And the thing is that he ONLY BITES ME and no one else. Am i so delicious or what?!!! haha!

good morning gals

missed so much postings over the weekend. as usual busy playing with baby isaac

sling
-----

doreen, wendy! me so happy that isaac likes the sling. brought him to breakfast in the sling for consecutive two days and he slept inside the sling. hee hee so happy. although the colour of the sling not very nice, cream colour reminded me of gunny sack.

solid
-----

i missed out on the earlier postings on how to make puree. does anyone have receipe on how to make apple puree. isaac has increased his intake for rice creal to 1 tablespoon for 1 week so thinking of introducing apple puree.

travel fair
-----------

jo there is really travel fair last friday leh but not natas fair. ah ya wat a waste. anyway i taking half day to go book for my tour this afternoon. u book ur japan trip liao bo?

starz

i think A will not be in the same sleeping position thu the night, usually they will turn their head and move their bodies. when isaac first slept on tummy, i was quite paranoid and kept waking to check. but now i dont wake up and check until he cries.

crystallised,

love those pic of R. think i will go and take similar photos for I. i went to check out on the swimsuit all very ex, think will jus let I wear the swim diapers and a t-shirt. did u buy floats for R?

jenny

that was cute, Jas riding behind jo! is that at the gym? looks fun ya. my hubby has been bugging me to find out the schedule. wait till he sees ur clip, he will bug me for second baby and the gym! haha

shirley,
This is how i used to make apple puree

1. Cut the apple into quarters and steam for about 5mins till soft.

2 Scrape the apple using a grater, leaving the skin only.

3. Feed the baby

What i used to do is the freeze the balance in cube trays.

morning gals..

didnt log in over the weekends and there are so many posts to read...

thanks 2 me, my boy now is sick!!..suffering from block nose...hb bringing him to see PD later...feel so bad..and worst thing is i haven even recover from my own sickness!!...

Bank Account

I opened a POSBkids a/c for my boy (you will be given a dollar form the bank)..realised the interest rate is pathetic...i decided to maintain this a/c since there is no minimum requirement...and whenever the a/c hits a thousand or so..i will transfer it to fixed deposit with finance companies since the interest rate is so much higher....

bank account
------------

i open up bank account with SCB cos the interest rate is higher think around 2.2% for the first 50,000. its the esaver account

Jenny
yah actually thats wat i intended to do lor. soak them in hot water aft washing. actually i think its considered clean enuff as long as we wash properly.

Jasmine
i will latch R fully while on cruise lor. i usually dun btl him during wkends anyway unless i hv dinners to attend to. u mean u dun latch A on nowadays>? i think there shldnt b any issue coz i pump ard the same amt everyday. so i still can givr R watever he wants during latching.

bbgrace
i always wonder how come the babies muz wake up so early? really pai mia...
hahahaha, not sure if its only u that is delicious, but coz u r the MUMMY so bully u lah!
at least thats wat i think. now everyone and everything is delicious to R coz he puts everything in his mouth. and those tt he cant bring to his mouth, he will lean fwd to "taste" it!

Shirley,
yah u snap I in the pose and show us lah.
got lah, we got floats for the 2 babies. hope they dun freak out on tt day can liao. i am looking fwd to the water time! mayb Caleb will join us too!

crystallized
dun intend to bring steriliser will just get a kettle fr them to boil water to sterilise. that's what i do at home too.

i really very excited leh. hb says the gala dinner must pay right? so he say see how if caleb's schedule allows us to go cos only 2 of us with caleb so no one to help if he wanna slp then only 1 can go out. daytime i not so worried cos got ergo he can slp in it but i'm more particular abt his nite time slp.

btw your swim diaper still got balance? the one sis passed to me is M for 11kg onwards. scared too big leh.

storm
horray glad to hear C is back home. dun worry abt drinking less they will pass the stage

jenny
so cuteee but hor like so violent like that.

Da Xiao Yan
===========
tks ladies for the reassurance but still like quite worried if it doesnt correct later. super obvious lor.

Latching outside
=================
when i still bfg, i used to latch n shop at the same time too. sure got pple kpo stare stare then i just stare back n smile. esp ah soh like to stare n point point here n there. sometimes i will purposely let them see a bit of caleb sucking then they will like pai sei dun dare to look. i very notti hor.

Babies on FrisoGold1
====================

For babies who are drinkiing Friso1, pls stock up the milk. cos there is a shipment delay so currently the milk powder quantity are limited. the shipment will come in end Mar/early Apr. I have went to NTUC and there are not much left..

hi morning ladies...

freshpoison,
hehehe.. i can hear ur car e very 1st time u came to collect e medela funnels from me... so i guessed right.. hehe..

esther,
glad to know Jovan is physically fine... sometimes reli bo pian.. if bb "pantang" then try n observe wat triggers this off lor...

moonbaby,
eh.. my son only took 1 5-in-1 jab b4.. tis one got no lump leh.. only last time take Hep B got one lump only... but if he's alert, playing n drinking well shd b okay bah... if u worry, juz call e PD n ask???

coral,
wah.. ur weekends v bz hor??? nowadays i try not to arrange too much "activities" on weekends liaoz.. else end up Monday more tired + monday blues...

u nv wait for Private Sale to buy ar??? its nex week leh.... im going to recce recce tis weekend...

jo,
not silly lah... i have a bb cot for A now, plus another smaller bb cot, and 2 playpens.. all hand-me-downs... but for me, playpen is to put in living room, cos he started flipping liaoz, cant put him on sofa.. e rest will be putting at my mum's plc nex time when she start bringing him over...

storm,
wat does ur PD advise abt starting her on solids??? i know its worrying when they r not drinkg milk... i also worry all e time, cos my boy stil drinkg v little, sometimes he dont wana drink milk at all... im waiting for his checkup on Fri to check with e doc wat he says.. then take it from there lor...

<font color="0000ff">Latching</font>
my dear A had started "biting" me liaoz... he's been biting the teats when bottle feeding him for awhile le... but over e weekend, i latch him on, he bite me a few times liaoz... n its super pain leh!!! im wondering if he's teething too, cos nowadays he bites on his fingers all e time too... drooling non-stop also... now im abit scared of latching him on, cos when he bites, i tap his cheek n "fiercely" tell him "NO"... he still can "bite n pull".... *OUCH!!!*... try to pull my nipple out lagi more painful.... how huh????

Shirley,
Yes, at My Gym. The youngest class starts from 8 mths.

Selina,
You need to check if kettle is allowed on board. I remember some electric appliances are not allowed to bring on board.
The Gala dinner, not sure if there's any change since my last visit to cruise. All restuarants on board will be closed. You kind off kena force to attend the Gala dinner. Appropriate dressing is a must. For mens, at least a polo t-shirt, die die must have collar.
Yep, told you my 2 gals very hiong one haha

Similac FM
========
Not sure if those mummies realised this, do you find the scoop of the powder dispenser got a lot of powder residue after you pour the FM to the milk bottle (with water)?
I realised this since the 1st time I use FM on Jaslyn. My mum, hb and I are suspecting the improved version seems to be more sweet, perhaps sugar or anything sweet is added.
I dun have the powder residue issue last time on Jolene. I'm thinking to change the FM to Nan.

Starz, since the swimsuite already on discount, I doubt it'll go down further, and anyway I might not hv time to go PS leh so just buy first. I also have the same fear as you on latching on cos Char already bite me twice. super painful too.

crystallized,
i still latch A after i back frm work everyday. but long time didnt let him fully latch on for whole day. i wanna try out one day, if the supply relly enuf for him, then i no worry when bringing him to m'sia. cos currently he will bottle feed FM once a day.

Starz,
yes...very painful. me kanna few times during weekend too. i kpet on shouted 'OUCH', but he still enjoying doing tat. notti boy...

Jenny,
after saw Jo playing with Jas, think 2 yrs gap is the best if we wanna to hav another kids. see them playing so shiok. me & my siblings not so close cos our gap too much liao.

jenny
no lah not bringing kettle but will ask them for one instead. a bit siao to bring kettle leh.
is it! wah lao. like that i better stock bread or cup noodles so if i dun wanna go still wont go hungry

have the same prob with similac too. so last time not like that hur

moonbaby
after each jab, i will use hot towel to massage the jab area so far caleb no swelling. mum taught me. for caleb also no fever so far.

jasmine
the last time i watched the bao bei yi bu yi bu lah on tv, 1 mummy was saying when bb bites, \u pinch bb back n tell bb it is painful cannot bite than slowly her bb stop biting her liaoz.

Finally caleb can sit on his own for more than 2 secs.
711872.jpg

Selina
i juz called the agency to ask abt gala dinner and kettle. They said gala dinner is only 4 the 4D3N cruise (so we no need to worry abt it liao) and there r kettles onboard in the cabin, so that solves our problem. juz need to bring a container to soak our things can liao.
now tt i recall, i rem vaguely i only attended the gala dinner during 4D3N one... but the cruise was like 7 yrs ago! haha

i intend to bring R to the adult pool (if they allow) so need a float. worried the children's pool might b too crowded. and oso the children's pool hv more of slides etc, so not suitable 4 babies lor.

oh the swim diapers got extra. i pass to u on tt day lah.
i realised the S diapers r quite small, but guess it shld b ok since its supposed to b fitting.

Selina
u wun go hungry one. coz the buffet at the highest deck think its level 12 got FOC buffet whole day till late at nite... dun worry lah. unless u talkg abt wee hrs u r hungry then need to eat cup noodles (but dun think so coz u will b sleeping by then)... if u read the guidelines, they got say mah... dun worry! no need cup noodles! we alrdy got so many things 2 carry, leave out the noodles lah. btw the beer there is nice & cheap, many other international brands. i rem i enjoyed it so much (i hate beer) but they were so tasty! this time cant drink though.

Jasmine
how abt wkends? u oso dun latch A 100%?

Selina
can lah, u can carry C but i might wanna let him enjoy in the float 4 a while mah. somemore my niece oso gg there, so let the 2 of them "bang" each other! hahahahaa, machiam they can fight!

me no beer drinker but the beer there really nice.

crystallized
just spoke to my sis to get her advice on swimming for caleb during the cruise. u might wanna take note:

- 1hr b4 swim to give bb milk
- limit exposure to 5-10mins max 15mins for their age
- absolutely no float at this age. just carry. bring along a cup n floating toys will do
- check bb stomach b4 swim (press to make sure stomach is soft) do this regularly while swimming to ensure bb not drinking water from the pool which can intoxicate them. if signs of stomach bloated, quickly remove bb from pool.
- best time for swim is late morning cos morning sun not so burning.
- prepare warm milk for bb to drink after swim cos to warm them up
- thermal suit, regardless of thickness, bb will still feel cold at this age so better to limit timing in water n give bb warm milk after that immediately.

Jenny, dont know why cant open your video leh.
I suspect teh residue is due to the water vapour from the water causing some powder to stick onto the scoop...

Selina, can I ask why absolutely no float/ is the kind of float that your sis is talking abt those simple kind wiht just a ring? Good idea to let bb drink warm drinks after swimming. I shal dry her and latch her on in future. But late morning the water still cold leh. I usually do early evening around 5pm when water warm by the entire afternoon sun and sun just set so not so hot for bb...

Jasmine,
Yep, 2 years age good... but tiring haha...

Selina,
Not sure can ask, but did you put in the request? Tell you hor, usually Star Cruise ignore requests one. Damn tao one.
Just go for the dinner, eat and go lor. Some ppl really dress up like going for ball leh. Ha, anyway Crystallized said no Gala dinner lah for your cruise lah. But good to stock up some cup noodle for in case though the highest cafe is opened till wee hrs.
ya, last time similac not like this one... hb find it more sweet for the improved version. So, am thinking to change to Nan after Jas finishes her tin. Think by then may be follow on liao.
When you gals going for cruise?

My A is teething too. Spotted a white dot on his gum since Sat... his appetite oso reduced since Sat... abit worried...

Gemini,
Did you bring your Tricia to PD when you spotted her first tooth? Is it necessary? What did you do ? Did you apply any teething gel?

Coral,
You are right, is the water vapour. But last time I dun have this problem leh. Is only with this improved version...
Hmm, you check out Jo's blog for the video clip. There's a few more. If you can't view the latest posting as at today, try to type "www" in the URL. Dunno what's wrong with blogger.