(2006/10) OCTOBER 2006 MTB

my baby time slot:
last feed at 10pm and morning first feed range from 6-8am.
If I am going to work, she have to wake up at 6am.

coolcoolmum,
hb bought the nail clipper set from tomwee (something like that) and it comes with nail cliper, scissor & files. the files r not so rough like adults ones. so some times i see his nails not long enf 4 me to cut safely, i will file. or sometimes i will cut then file cos after cutting they will have sharp edges so i will file them smooth.

i usually press down the skin on the finger to expose as much of the nails as possible then file. anyway the file is not rough so wont be painful ba...

coolcoolmum,
Caleb's last feed will be ard 11 or 12 at night followed by 2 or 3am then 6 or 7am. but sometimes he will sleep thru the 11 or 12 feed n wake at ard 2 or 3am. realised he has a long sleep of 5 - 6hrs but this is nv thru to morning. mostly is from 9pm to 3am or so. very sian lor. tried to make his long sleep in the night but nv succeed. tried waking him to feed him at 11pm but end up he still wake up at 2 or 3am. so i give up liao. like vivian, i will let him wean himself off nite feed. a bit tiring for me cos hb doesnt help wif nite feed but no choice cos i cant make myself feed him water or sugar water. his nite feed is still abt 100 - 120ml same as day time.

hopefully he will auto stop nite feed by 4mths ba. i can just pray n hope it happens that way.

coral,
The instructions on the FM tin says to discard 4 weeks from opening. Very wasted lor, that's why i uesd to buy the small tin cos sure can't finish.

vivien,
babies these days are different from our time, that's why your mum finds it hard to look after Rhys. That's why my mum don't dare to look after all her grandchildren.

Doreen,
Hope you are feeling better. During the entire year of breastfeeding, doc will only give me meds that are safe for bfg and usually not that strong. That would mean that it'll take longer for me to recover and let my body fight it out on its own. No choice lor cos i dun want to discard my BM.

hi hi ladies..
i m back at my in-laws' place..sorry for not being able to post..alot of things happen lately..anyway..i just hope that things get better along the way for me..dun want to get affected & worsen my ss..

hi hi coral & selina..
i guess i need to have more practise on craddling Mav..but nice that we are able to meet up that day..just a little ke-xi that we didnt get all of them to have a photo taken..keke..my hubby commented tat Charlotte is very lady-like & her cries are very sweet..as for Caleb..hubby like his eyes..also said his hair very nice..o hpe that we get to meet up again..

hi hi selina..
i m ok to meet up on 17 Dec..for lunch..this time round...hope i get to learn more frm u & do correction methods..in case i didnt get a chance to come online..can sms me to confirm the venue?thks hor..

hi hi doreen..
hope u r getting better now..aiyo...very wasted leh..wow..u got v gd supply leh..anyway, frm now onwards can continue to give ur EBM, right?hope D will get back his appetite soon..hugs..oh..my R middle finger not recovered yet, now worsen to the index & thrumb...i m getting worried..duno if it worsen, will i be paralysed?i m scare leh..here's a photo of hw bad my scald is & also my fall recently at the leg..crumsy me..
613294.jpg

wtan,
what happened? The pict look bad.

Jenny,
I received the eamil thks. I will order Sealer as seems to be very good on baby skin.
As for the car seat, front facing seat, does it mean sit at the back but face in front or sit in the front?

wendy,
your thumb looks bad. didnt see it that day. tks for the compliment on Caleb's hair. think soon no more liao cos he's beginning to start losing them.

did you burn yourself? seen doc? plse do if u have not. and avoid getting it wet n soak cos bacteria will grow in such conditions. always keep it dry.

very hard to confirm dates leh... think i might end up just ti kum ti kum 1 date. and so far still no offer for a hse in central location leh. will sms u when confirm.

coral

Charlotte is so lady =)

Wendy

aiyoh, poor u..mz take care hor

haiz, so my frozen milk will do more harm to K than fomula milk ?

selina
my boi same as Caleb. he can sleep from 6pm till 12am for 5hr or 9pm to 1am then at 3-4am he will sure wake up. after that will be 5-6am, this feed is usually less than 3hr. his 3-4am and 5-6am feeds only take in 60ml. i'm also thinking how to shift his 5hr sleep to mid-nite so he only wakes up at 5am. there was once i woke him up at 10 or 11pm to feed him in hope that after that he'll sleep thru. but who knows after that he stayed up till 2am!! so now i dont dare to wake him up liao.

wei kuan
i gave him glucose water to test whether is he really hungry or is it just a habit, but sad to see that he is really hungry lor. not going to do that again.

wendy
wah, the pic really looks bad. you must take care leh, esp u starting work soon.

wei_kuan,
Neck stable is not the only reasons, infants need to sit in rear facing cos if we jam brake or wat, the impact for them will be lesser. It is not advisable for infants to sit in front facing until they turn 1 or grow beyond the recommended height.
By the way, do you understand what front facing and rear facing means ah? Front facing means bb position is like us, face look to the front. Rear facing is bb face looking at the back.
Front Facing is NOT sitting on the front seat leh. Rear Facing is NOT sitting at passenger seat.
For Sealer order, why dun you get a pack from Giant or Sheng Siong to try first before deciding wanna to order in bulk? The price is almost the same, just that free delivery to our home with min 2 ctns of order.

crystallized,
aiyo, the scratch looks painful wor, especially near the eye area.
R also taking Similac? I also threw away the balance of the FM. So "xin tong", like throwing away my $. I asked hb to use it as creamer for his coffee hahaha... He stared at me... I told him "hey, my $ leh"

Coral,
You can continue to give EBM to Charlotte. Now you know why I dun freeze EBM? Even the nurses at TMC told me to use up the EBM within 48hrs, best within 24 hrs. Partly I dun like the idea of freezing EMB. I make use I used up all the EBM within 48 hrs and discard those after 48hrs.
FM once opened, must discard after 4 weeks, unless you store the FM in those Milo tin.

coolcoolmum,
slowly for weaning for nite feed. Some bbs can't wean off in just a few weeks. Jaslyn will have 1 nite feed at around 4am+, no matter what time is the last feeding (can be 7pm, 8pm or 10pm).

Jo,
For the nutrition value, see Coral's post at 5.19pm. Coral understood what I mean liao.
When I mean is those frozen EBM, some mummies may have frozen them for weeks or mth. Say, the milk was expressed when bb was 1 mth old. But only given when bb is already 2 mths or 3 mths old. Babies at different age require different nutrition, so the nutrition value will change. Frozen milk won't do harm to K lah, just that bb at different stage requires different nutrients.

Selina,
Err.. Think I deleted your email address liao. Give me your email again and I send to you.

Similac Price
===========
Remember last year when Jolene is taking, it is selling $28.50, then $28.90, then $29.30, then $30.50, then this year when I bought for Jaslyn, it is selling at $31.70! Wah liew the price like stock market.

b4 i 4get... CoolMum, did u ask me abt pigeon's peristaltic teats? i am using them and R is taking it well. i hv them in standard and wide-neck size as i hv both types of bottles. currently, R is on M size as he is alrdy 2.5 mths old. other than this teat, he is pretty flexible, can drink well on avent one as well. but in order to prevent confusion, i stick to pigeon. paiseh, wat other qns did u ask ah?

yes, yes, i'm the one who asked the qn. 2 more qns.

1. will the teat gets "deflated"/"bian" easily and hv to pull out the bottle to let air go in to "inflat" the teat? u know what i mean??? i tried the latax teat before and it has that problem. Ever saw my relative used silicon teat before also hv the same problem.

2. is the teat soft? i find avent and NUK silicon teats very hard.

Wendy...
aiyo... your leg and thumb look bad leh... better take care... can sense that you are having some difficult time. If you need someone to talk to or just a listening ear, call me ok? I am back to full time mummy liao. So call me anytime.

Selina,
Thanks for the link. I also interested. Ordering 2 trays too. Anyway, you got info/instructions on preparing puree for bb? Wanted to learn to make but dun know where to find info?

*****Mittens & Scratches*****
All mummies here surely can understd my heartache when i saw his scratch, esp when it was discovered in the wee hrs during his feed. i was so shocked to see the deep cut and awoke my hb to show him. and can tell u all tt it was literally heartache too! felt my heart go sng sng...

and i dun like to let him wear mittens coz his hands will smell oso... coz his fingers quite bah bah, i realised in b/w his fingers, he will trap some dirt, so i will wipe in b/w twice a day to prevent smell.

Doreen
if i were u, i wld hv slammed the stupid gynae for saying the sentence "its only for 5 days"!!!! HELLO!!! what an insensitive sentence. obviously she does not understd how a mummy feels. i wld hv gone to another GP or even back to my gynae/PD to make sure the medication is safe 4 bfg, unless my condition is so serious tt i really cant BF while under medication, then its another different story.

Anyway glad tt Damien is growing healthily and v adorable!

aspialle
his nails not tt long, juz tt babies hv this amazing habit to scratch themselves though their nails r so short!!!! i hv to watch him v closely when he is not wearing mittens and he starts touching his face.

heehhee ur boy's 2nd pix soooooo funny!

Vivian
so these few days is training for u to b away fr Rhys when u go back to work ah... sigh, sure will miss ur boy lor. i bet i will oso...

yah i prefer to let him go w/o mittens oso... usually when we go aircon plcs and when he sleeps at nite, his mittens will b on. else he ends up scratching himself again.

ur Rhys v cute now hor!!!

eh its gd tt at least he has some papa and mama time preference. at least daddy can feel he is impt and special too. my hb is slowly getting used to coaxing R as well.

Selina
u cut Caleb's nails while in the car????!!!! Steady leh! i usually try to do it when R is asleep. but tt day when i cut both his fingers, he was not sleeping but i was desperate to trim it in case he scratches himself again. who noes, he din scratch himself but his silly mummy hurt him instead.

oh similac was alrdy v exp then ah...

CoolMum
OMG! tt was a pretty bad scratch oso!!

aiyah nite feeding still not fixed 4 my boy. his last feed is ard 9-10pm, aft which he will wake up ard 1+ to 2.30am. then aft tt hor, erratic cycle again. sometimes he wakes up aft 2 hrs, at times 3 hrs.
i dunno when will he ever wake up only once a nite. but i doubt its anytime soon coz he is a small drinker. cant tahan so long w/o feeds.

wah most mummies here hv their babies not wakin up so frequently at nite liao. how abt Coral? Charlotte's drinking cycle any better?

May
heee so funny! at times i am oso like u. switching sides to feed baby until in the morning when i wake up, i cant rem how many times i fed him! hahahaha
but i think it din matter as long as baby din cry (meaning he is not hungry). but nowadays i seldom lie down and latch unless i am super tired. usually i will still get up to latch him coz at least i noe he is drinking.

Wendy
take gd care & get well soon.
dun think abt unhappy things liao.

Jenny

yah tt scratch was extremely near to the near area. in fact it was so near so near when u pull down the lower eye lid (mayb juz a few mm away)... really heartpain man.

R only took Similac tt time when he was in the phototherapy session. i went home to rest and express BM. so meanwhile he had 2 servings of the milk. since then, he has not touched FM anymore. wonder how he will take to it now.

hahahahaha! so funny! the way u describe similac's rocketing price!!!

CoolMum
nope, the teats does not inflate like NUK ones. in fact the peristaltic teats r gd coz they dun trap air bubbles. when R drinks and the rm is v quiet, i can hear the air bubbles releasing itself constantly, as long as he is drinking. think its the special function of peristaltic teats.

erm, the teats r ok to me. neither hard nor soft. i find avent's harder. juz buy a pair to try out lah, i dun bother whether its hard or soft, as long as R is ok to use them and teats dun cause wind to him.

vivien,
can share with you on pureeing food when the time comes. if you want to do advance reading, this book "Super Baby Food" is very informative.
You can check out the website here
http://www.superbabyfood.com/

i used to puree and batch freeze them over the weekends cos i didn't have the time to prepare food for joshua when i was alone at home and when i subsequently went back to work. it's very convenient but given a choice, i would prefer to prepare fresh for him.

wendy,
you take care. call me if u need to talk.

Hi mummies / mtbs,

I am sorry to pop in here..

I am a mummy from MTB Feb07 thread.

Juz to ask if any1 of you hv maternity clothes to spare or can lend me your maternity clothes (blouses / pant) coz I will b giving birth in 2 months times but my maternity blouses are getting shorter and tighter and most of which I can't wear to work now due to bigger boots and tummy. Dun wan to buy anymore coz already my 2nd baby and "closing shop" soon.

I will surely return u after use if lend me.

please let me know.

thanks & cheers, bitbit

Hi babygrace,
I nd to construct a sink @ e roof garden. Dunno y the developer din think of including that.

Hi jenny,
Ok, will give ur contractor a call & c wat he say. Hopefully he wont scold me cos I nt doing any reno since on a tight budget. Already trying 2 save on my lightings, curtains & furnishings.

I nd some help here. Might hav 2 give up my doggy 4 adoption cos my mum insist that dogs & babies r nt suitable for each other. I also dun wanna tax her cos she will be looking aft my boy when I go back to work. Any of u hav frens int in adopting a pet. mine is a 4 yr male maltese who's very frenly but abit attention seeking. these days too busy 4 baby & i feel so bad that I'm neglecting him.

Nite feeds

very unpredictable. usually ard 1am, 4am, 6am. So veri tired everyday cos hardly enough sleep plus I nd to pump & supply getting fr bad to worse. Prob going to stop soon.

hi freshpoison77, i have a dog too. When I had my 1st child I have tot of giving her away.. but scare she's cant get use to new home and duno hw her new owner will treat her.. Now my son is 2yr plus, he enjoys playing around with dogs. So maybe u wan to ren for 2 yrs ??

freshpoison, oh dun say sorry, I am jux asking around, some of my piece also borrow from my friend who is taller than me.

may, I stay at Bt Panjang.

If you are able to lend me can you PM please?

Thanks & cheers, bitbit

Was busily tending to K alone these days and can hardly surf the net, cos she fussed when in cot...

For the first time, she slept from midnte to this morning 7 plus..wonder how long this will last lor

Vivian
Rhys is indeed getting cuter =)

Coolcoolmum
haiz..dun noe y babies nowsadays like to scatch themselves & made mummy heartache.

vivian,
i havent done research on making puree for bb yet. will share when i come across any. saw u placed orders liao. think the spree ending soon cos now oredi 59 trays liao.

bbgrace,
tks for the link. yah agree given a choice, i wld rather prepare them fresh but anticipating work schedule, i ordered 2 trays to standby in case really need to freeze them if no time to prepare everyday.

bitbit,
sorry i cant help cos i didnt have many maternity clothes. i wore normal clothes during preggy (bigger size to accommodate bigger tummy & boobs) some even wear until tummy exposed during later stage.

freshpoison,
prob today or tmr ba since 2 dates is this wkend. i might end up just ti kum ti kum the dates since quite a few mummies said once date confirm then they see if they can make it. quite hard to coordinate like that lor but will try my best to please everyone.

crystallized,
no lah i not so steady. dun dare to cut his nails in the car. i only file them when in the car. better than nothing. what u can do when cutting his nail while he awake is to quickly snip a small portion of the nail (not too deep) then use your hands to tear it away (cos still soft so can tear). like that can prevent taking too much time to cut n end up cutting the flesh. my sis taught me this. then later slowly file them smooth.

jenny,
i think the price for Similac was already high last time compared to other brands but now higher. yah like stock market but tis one only goes up n nv comes down.

GUILTY GUILTY
=============
i feeling very guilty now. i smack Caleb last nite during his nite feed cos he just kept crying n crying when btl feeding him. tired while at the same time scared he hungry but tried coaxing him n feeding him he still kept crying. really cld not take it so i smack him on his tighs than he cried even louder... must b painful... i really dunno how to overcome his prob when btl feeding. prob might go get the pigeon teats to try out for him n hope it gets better. really stressful especially at night... tis morning when he woke up, i talked to him he smiled n laughed making me feel even more guilty

Selina

hehe, can I suggest any date after 17 dec, cos i oversea leh, but wanna meet up with u gals...

Can I check who has bring ur child for 2nd 6 in 1 jab at how much ?

<font color="0000ff">GATHERING
==================
<font color="0000ff">Looking at my chart, since most mommies are avail on</font> <font color="0000ff">Sun, 31 Dec</font><font color="0000ff">, shall we fix the date on 31 then? Next day is public holi. Any objections? Sorry I have to fix a date so more mommies can confirm if they can make it or not.

Date: Sun, 31 Dec 2006
Time: 12noon</font>
<font color="0000ff">Venue: Still need volunteers to offer their house in central area</font>

<font color="0000ff">Response:
1. Selina + HB + Caleb</font>

selina,
Not only the freezing tray. Good to get those air-tight containers to store the food cubes after freezing them. I use the lock-and-lock types.

Hi may,
I want 2 try but my mum not very keen cos she staying wif me &amp; she keeps worrying that the dog will bite my boy when he starts to crawl. She feels that she cant keep an eye on my boy 24/7. I also dunno wat to do since me &amp; hubby working hrs very long. Usually leave early come back veri late so my mum on her own most days.

hi freshpoison, if u r worried dat ur dog might bite ur bb, hw abt fencing up ur dog when ur boi starts crawling? My case is the same as yours, my mum is always on her own with baby and dog. We taught the dog not to go into the bedrooms after my bb is born, sometimes he forget we will tell him in a stern voice. By the time my boi learns to walk (my boi skip the crawling stage) doggy have aldy understand that bedroom is offlimit for him. Nowadays its quite funny to see both of dem playing together. But ofcos i dun know the temperment of your dog. I have 2 dogs, 1 at my home and 1 at my parents hse. My home one sometimes can be quite bad temper so whenever my boi is ard her i will keep a look out so that he wont play too rough and provoke her. My parent's dog is very frenly and mild temper, whatever my son do to him he will just bear with it and sometime he jus enjoy playing with my son. Ofcos dogs are dogs.. sometime if my son play too rough the dog will bark or seem crazy.. but overall i tink the dog is good for him. nw I had my 2nd bb, with my son and dog at my mum plc. my mum is more or less use to it.

hi bbgrace
thanks for the info on making bb food. So far i still hv no idea how and when to go about doing it.

Anyone with problem clicking on the video? I clicked on it and it says error on page.

selina
last nite i also smacked my boi's backside. Gave him milk he drank little bit, carried him he still cried and don't want to sleep. Don't know what he wanted. Even he didn't cry when i smacked him, i also felt bad.

Jo
glad to hear that K started to sleep thru the nite liao. good for u.

MS
==
My MS also seems like getting lower and lower... very sian, don't know can endure till i go back to work or not.

BBgrace, ok. I better throw away my tin. Only use 5times then throw, very wasteful. But no choice.

Wendy, your hb cute leh, we always say C cry so loudly next time no BF, but your hb actually find her cries sweet, so she still got hope. Haha. You poor thing. Must take good care of yourself, else can't care for Mav. Hehe, I know how to tell pple, but never practice it myself. We all must take good care.

Selina, C'lotte also dropping hair. Now growing fine new hair, so don't think she'll hv long enuf hair to look nice in dresses by CNY. When you smack Caleb is it the painful kind? I smack Clotte a few times too. Though I think it's not painful but I feel bad too. Trying to control my temper.

Jo., thank you. Clotte like to act lady but when it comes to feeding time, she looks barbaric to me.

Jenny, so if store in more air-tight tin I can keep the FM for longer period? For I don't see Clotte finishing the FM.

Bitbit, just PM you.

Gathering
=======
I'll have to give it a miss as I have NYE's ball to attend. Actually a bit sian to go cos still fat fat so sure wont look nice. Every year actually look forward to it cos hb will bring me go buy new dress for the ball but this year...sigh.

Here's a pic I took of Charlotte today.

613962.jpg

Have bought the nestle formula milk - Nan for New born on the day when I discharged fr hospital on 10/12 but only use for 3 feeds. now breast milk supply started to flow y'day so intending to totally bf.

anyway, interested in the nestle formula milk cos selling it away at $15. bought it at $27+ AT ntuc. pls PM me. thks.