(2006/09) SEPTEMBER 2006 MTB

eling
u bought 2 pumps? i was thinking of getting medela PIS but worried my supply will diminish when i get back to work.
the thought of preparing for the "milking" session is scaring me coz i'd have to leave my house by 6.15 when i go back to work. that means i have to wake very early. dare not think about it now... *refused to face reality*

** lock-and-lock boxes are those clear plastic boxes with a clasp on each side. they come in different sizes.

shirlyn
my hubby always say she look like a boy, esp when she wear pants look so round so ask me clip her hair. the clips i bought r v soft n gentle compared to those sold outside. i heard applying olive oil on the hair will help hair grow faster? not sure how true cos never tried.

yes i find nepia thicker compared to pampers but its really soft!!

blessedmommy
olive oil? hehe... coz of her cradle cap, i am applying everyday.
in 6 weeks, her hair has grown abt 1cm. think xmas, her fringe shld be long enough to clip.

ur hubby so cute, asked u to clip her hair. when i put hairband for my babe, my hubby asked me to remove it...
i bought a few clips from the BP in the forum, fabric kind, kinda soft. being a kiasu mummy.... stock up first .

hi DG,

im still pumping after latching but tt could be like half or 1 hr after latching then i got time to pump. hv to burp and make sure bb sleep already then got time to pump. esp now im on my own, still hv other things to do.

bb nowadays suck for 5min and sleep mode already. otherwise if not in sleep mode, he'll be playing w the nipple as it spit out and suck in the nipple continuously. i think either i've not let down yet or no more supply already??

so what i do is just to be patient, keep latching him on correctly when he's playing w the nipples.

whatever i do managed to pump out, i'll give it to him after the next latching session. no point freezing it since antibodies will be gone.

Some update:

My gynea checked and found no blocked ducts, no lump, no redness. He said if got redness, then mostly likely it's infections. I seem ok except for this pain. I told him my intention to stop bf, but he advised me to try taking antibiotics for a week and see how.

Sigh... pain is still there, hope it's not as pain. Will monitor and see how.

Btw, we can go any doc to ask for medicine to stop the milk supply, right? Find my gynea checkup very exp! And also, if my pain doesn't go off, I'll need to way ways to stop liow

emoments
by taking antibiotics means u cant bf now, rite?
i understand ur frustration for not having ur 'prob' solved. seems like wait-and-see is the solution since the professional doesnt seem sure?

yasmine,
i brought her to Dr Gong Wei Kin of Kinder Clinic in Gleneagles. Nice chap. Even strike up a conversation with my mom when she accompanied me for baby's immunization. my princess's name is Hannah.

blessedmommy,
wah so envy lah u can use the hair clip for your bb!

edksd,
sometimes after 5 mins my bb fall asleep liao so i will tickle her ears or kiss her cheek then she'll wake up and suck again but eyes still closed. i will continue to latch her till she spit out my nipple. after that she will go into deep sleep already liao..zzzz..

emoments,
really sympathize with you leh. try the antibiotics first see how. yes there's a medicine to stop milk supply. but i'm not sure what the impact is in future. i kind of believe that if you do anything to stop natural occurences, surely got side effects one. but don't quote me lah. i can be wrong one. you can try weaning naturally, no more latching, just pump out only enough to relieve engorgement. then slowly decrease frequency until your milk stop lor.

my mum says can apply BM on baby's head every morning and the hair will grow thick. my SIL did that for my niece and indeed she has thick nice hair now.

emoments

I agree with Melissa, dont take those pills to wean off BF. I heard it makes ur boobs smaller. I have a friend whose SIL took it and got the side effect.

tomorrow im going to tmc, does anyone knows whether they sell frenufreek? i rem i saw a display of motherlove products for increasing BM. which one is better hah? goat rue or frenufreek?

shirlyn, yup i got two pump. Initially i bought a Avent manual pump after that i feel hand aching so buy another Avent single electric pump, so now i use the manual pump part to be connect to the electric motor also, so actually i can use it for two pumping sessions

ilovebabies, i am using Avent pump.

melissa
ur princess name is hannah? nice name. mine has a jo in front heehee...

shirlyn
i got my clips from babetitude. i also got it from bp but we do it within my circle of frds.

emoments,
glad that you r fine... if u plan to stop bf, don't take pills coz i heard can make your breasts smaller leh (unless u not happy with your original size).... just like what melissa say, stop latching and pump enuff to stop yourself from feeling engroged.. slowly, the milk flow will decrease.

edksd

u using latacyd ? i have 2 unused bottles.
would u want to buy them from me ? ehhehe

i tot we always need to use shower foam and shampoo all the while ?

Hi Shirlyn
This antibiotics is safe for bf.. so can still continue.

Hi Melissa
Actually I dun latch on, or rather baby dun wan to latch on. Gynea also advised me to reduce the frequency of pumping, but I find my milk supply a lot since yesterday (haven't even start to reduce the frequency yet). It was real painful just now...... but I'm still controlling myself from pumping... wanna drop the afternoon pump.

Hi ilovebabies
Is the small boobs the only side effect? If yes, I dun mind 'cos my boobs super big now.. so ugly :p I'm worried whether got other side effect... 'cos I also only heard of small boobs.

emma
yah i think more exp. goats rue selling 40 over dol per bottle. how much is fenugreek? i tot need to take a lot then have effect right?

shirlyn
yah v v cute. agree its exp but its gentle to young babies' hair compare to those sold outside. my opinion lah. she is my first gal after 4 boys. so u can imagine how long i hv waited to doll her up lah LOL

hi mae,
do you latch your boy or give ebm? Actually sometimes my boy can last 4hrs after only 80ml of ebm. what i find frustrating is how he will cry after drinking 30ml to 40ml, and refuse to take any more, then we have to carry/burp/wait a bit before he will take the remaining 40ml. then sometimes he will need top up of 20ml to 40ml etc..so to get him to drink 100ml can take up to an hr. It would have been so much easier if he would just take a bottle of 100ml (or whatever amount he needs) at one go! LOL!!

hi edksd,
I can understand how tough it is, but you are really diligent, i must say, to be still pumping after every feed.
If Kai falls asleep after 5 min suckling, how long will he sleep for before he wakes for next feed?

hi blessedmommy,
how many times do you express daily to feed yr gal during daytime? What do your other boys do while you express? I find it so challenging to manage Marcus while i express, esp sometimes when midway thru expressing, bb wakes and wants attention too. Sometimes Marcus doesn't want to play with my maid, so donno how to handle both bb and marcus and still express properly.

Also, do you take yr boys out often? we tried to go out for dinner last night with both boys, MIL and hb and I was so stressed as Nicholas cried half the time. Not looking forward to more confinement at home till bb is older as i used to be out daily with marcus.

emoments, from my experience, even if antibiotics is safe for bf, think it will give bb diarrhoea as the antibiotic will pass thru bm to bb and will kill the friendly bacteria in bb's tummy. so it is advisable that you include friendly bacteria in yr diet for a month after yr course of antibiotic, so they are passed to bb if yr are latching. Or you can get friendly bacteria cultures to add to bb's bottle.

emoments

i am not sure of other side effects leh... sorrie

blessedmommy

u have 5 kids !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
wah ur gal must be your PEARL OF YOUR PALM ... zhang shang ming zhu .... heheh

no wonder u r blessed !

DG
i express 5 times daily. she take 6 bottles n 2 latch on. i only direct bf total on weekends n when im out with her. sad hor she gotta take more bottles than breast on weekdays but no choice cos i need to tend to older ones n i need her to hv a fixed feeding schedule so i dun hv to offer her the breasts so often. u know how bf babies love to doze off at the breasts then feed lil n frequent etc...

my other boys keep themselves occupied when im expressing. i guess they hv company n r older. ur marcus is younger thats why he tend to stick to u more. my gal sleeps a lot so i guess i hv it easier. most of the time when im expressing she is sleeping. when she is not, i just put her in rocker beside me n talk to her.

does ur maid know how to carry nicholas? if u trust her enuf maybe u can get her to help u carry when u express?

yes i take boys out often. its really a challenge to bring 4 kids out i tell u!! i sling my gal so its easier for me to move ard. its definitely not ez to deal with more than one child but i survived so can u!! just takes time n getting used to. things will get better as they grow older so hang it there!!

blessedmommy

really pei fu u .. u persevere till the 5th pregnancy !! i think i would have stop at 3 !

u r my role model ehhehe ... u must be v young to have 5 kids !

blessedmommy,
Wow... 5 kids.. haa!! I pei fu you leh! How did you manage all 5 kids.. Really a challenge and ya, my role model! Coz i handle one kid, i already have most of my time filled up alreadi.

i love babies & little pony
i got 5 children lor but unfortunately i lost my 4th boy at 7 wks old due to heart complications last yr. it was only detected when he was 5 wks old. i was so devastated n i nearly fell into depression. but i gotta be strong for my other kids n so i picked myself up again. n somehow i dunno how i managed to conceive my gal. so i alwayas believe she is God's gift for me. thats why i always tell ppl i hv 5 children, 4 on earth n 1 in heaven

anyhow, i only got 4 preg leh. cos my first 2 boys r twins so only consdered 1 preg. short cut lor hah...

me not young leh. i just celebrated my 30th bday on tues!!

hi, mommies, i am so happy to see so many beautiful BB pictures!!

Blessedmommy, Johannah looks cute w the hairclip! U're one super duper mommy, can handle your kids & BB all at the same time! You are only 30! :)

Michelle, ur BB boy is very stylo & handome, he's got very nice thick hair! :)

ilovebabies, Rachel is such a cute darling, next time can join beauty pageant already, so young know how to do world peace sign. :p

E-Ling, Amabel looks so girly, especially the last pic, very cute!!

Melissa, ur BB girl very cute leh, got so many different expressions. She's got big beautiful eyes! My BB girl looks kinda boyish too, now even worse, last week me & hubby brought her to shave off her hair. Her hair was growing very messily so no choice went to cut off, else till ch new yr very ugly, so we thot we shave off & let it grow nicely till then.

Shirlyn, ur BB girl looks so happy! Very pretty girl leh. Doesn't look boyish at all!

blessedmommy
glad that u are going strong after been through a difficult period. truely children's are god's gift!
btw 30 is not old...

i'm considering taking fenugreek, suspect my milk supply is decreasing. better to have more supply, can pump and keep.

blessedmommy,
I think you have been very positive n i like your attitude towards life!!! Yes, indeed u are a blessed mommy with such a cute bb girl.

Hey, you r 30 and u have 5 kids.. i am 30 and i have only one! haaaaaaaaaaa!!!!

mommies, thks for ur encouragements!! having to deliver n bond n spend time with ur baby only to see him leave n never to see him again, i think that is a mother's worst nightmare! but mothers r all strong, we will do anything for our children ya??

blessedmom,
yes.. somehow, we have this inner strength that we will do anything for our kids... haaaa!!
Don't think too much.. look at your darling girl and she is definitely a GIFT!

hi domesticgoddess,

ur situtaion sounds so similar to mine. My boi ofo drink 40-50 ml then will cry cos got gas, thus need to burp him b4 continue feeding. My boi oso drinks abt 60-80 mls per feed.

i latch him on in the day, then feed him ebm at nights. He oso can take very long to drink if he is sleepy...quite tiring for me. If at nite the ebm i give him not enuff then i latch him on until he full lo.

Wat is ur feeding interval in the day? mine is ard 2-3 hrs interval per feed. Mayb u can PM me, we exchange contacts so can discuss more..hee

little pony
thanks!! well.. i know my boy is in a better place n we will be reunited when i get to heaven too!!

wayne still so chubby. where got lose baby fats?? i love his innocent look! so cute!

dunno if i have posted this before.. but here's Enzo's passport photo.. hehe...

580051.jpg

his face v oily hor.. lol.. forgot to blot before taking the pict!!! luckily passport photo is black and white.. cant see the oil.. lol

zz,
c'mon take out your bb's pic lah! yeah lor my girl shave head that's why hair is like that. makes her look boyish. still waiting for her to be fair. now she's still quite red like newborn!

by the way, the term newborn is until what month ah?

e-ling,
yeah lor the last pic is very cute!!! her eyes look big! eh why she like to frown ah? haha.

blessedmommy,
your nick really match you. i know what it's like to lost a child, some more you lost it after 5 weeks, really devastating. but i agree with you, with one lost, you get a bigger gift - a girl. wah i'm so happy for you! 30yrs is young leh and you have 5 kids already! really salute you man! which means what age did you get your 1st?

littlepony,
don't be sad lah. he's still chubby and cute mah! i heard some babies lose some weight after immunization? did that happen to you?

PrincessEmma,
Hee hee hee cute!!! How did you manage to get him to pose like that?!!! Wah so early do passport photo already ah! How much ah? Tagged to yours or his own? Biometric passport right? Valid for how long? Must renew every how many months? I want to go shopping in JB leh but my gerl no passport.

hehe.. melissa... 70 bucks for biometric passport that is valid for 5 years! its his own passport.. hehe.. i also wanna bring him to JB, thats y made it so soon..
he was looking at hub while i was taking the photo..
kept snapping till i got a useable one.. hehe

wow 5 years! his features will change a lot during those 5 years are you sure the govt will let this? or they'll just advise you to change picture? is that chargeable?

melissa
thanks. difficult for me to accept cos he came out perfectly healthy n v chubby. skarly i bring him for full mth check up pd say got v serious heart condition. my world crashed lor that v day itself.

i had my first boys at 23+.

btw, my gal also came out v v red leh until abt 5 wks still red. i was told red babies will be fair but i still waiting leh. she so tan!

emma
eeee... so cute. enzo always got a cheerful face hor even if he dun smile.

melissa.. me not sure lehz.. maybe wil have to change when the custom officer doesnt recognise him lohz...

blessedmommy.. so young!!!! and 5 kids!!!! kudos to u!!! lol... me will realli stop at 1... hehe.. and ya.. enzo's got a cheerful face.. will be like mommy.. class clown every year!!! even now in uni.. also class joker!!! lol