(2006/09) SEPTEMBER 2006 MTB

Here's Enzo laffing away this morning... btw.. do your babies have oily skin? Enzo seems to have oily skin lehz... muz i blot?? hehe..

565576.jpg

gals

help ... think my ger going thru growth spurt now.
yest she starts to finish 100ML of milk which has never happen before .. rem I told u gals her milk intake is abt 80-90ML only ...

this morning... she had her feed at 9am .. then before 11am, she was screaming ... din realise she is hungry but can sense from her mouth movement. So I gave her 90ML and she finish it all ...

so I tot prob becos she poo this morning that's why she gets hungry easily. Then just now, before 1pm she is screaming again!! She just finish abt 80ML ...

is there a growth spurt at abt 3 mths ? she is turning 3 mth old this 19 Nov ...

Emma

aiyo enzo is such a happy boy !!

eh dont blot lah ... let it be .. prob can ask PD. Not good to intro our products on baby skin ...

daisybutton, okie! u can come out to pass me or not? Cuz me staying arnd yew tee area...not BP leh :p hopefully will be convenient for u to come to cck mrt ..... so that i can collect from u

daisybuttons,
actually my girl's pretty much awake in the day, all the way till 11pm. even if i pat her to sleep she will sleep for only 15 minutes then wake up with eyes wide open. she will then keep quiet or wail if she's bored. her bedtime is anywhere from 11pm-1 am. from then on, she will sleep for 6-7 hours. we put her in the stroller! she sleeps in the stroller. we used to put her in the co-sleeper but she wakes up every 2-3 hours. i think she loves the stroller. we also put 2 bolsters by her side and swaddle her so that she feels snuggly. i guess all these contributes to her sleeping for so long. my girl drinks 10 minutes but quite recently, she's been having 5 minutes drink twice. means she will stop after 5 minutes, play around for 15 minutes, cry then drink again for another 5 minutes. at first i'm scared she will only get the foremilk but her stools has been normal so far so i'm not worried. it's her new pattern lah. like someone quote, babies are so unpredictable!

hmmm...most of the babies don't sleep in the day ah? My ger sleeps alot leh...after each feed 80% she will fall asleep. Is that normal?

my bb also dun sleep in the day but after what my friend taught me .. now he finally does sleep ! :p

I used to give him 4.5 oz of EBM but my friend asked me to increase to 5 oz and let bb finish in 1.5 hours. It works and he has been sleeping well
coz their normal routine is 1.5 hours of play and 1.5 hours of sleep then the next cycle will begin again :p as he is on a 3 hour feeding interval :p

Riushiki

i believe that EBM taken out from fridge can only last 1 hr else bacteria may grow.

I will discard any remaining EBM after 1 hr leh ...

melissa
wah u mng all the household chores urself n still got time to look after ur bb? i just fired my maid (waiting for replcemt) so now gotta go all the things on our own. a bit worried cannot cope leh . this means u dun get to nap at all during teh day rite cos when bb sleeps u'll be bz catching up on all the housework?

my boy at birth oredi 3.4kg so i guess its normal tat he weighs more than your girl now rite? anyway girls normall lighter than boys one lah - smaller build too

rainnie
thks for sharing that link! it's really useful. hv saved it into my bookmarks liao ;)

emma
ur enzo is really one cheerful chubby boy! i wish my boy can oso laugh like dat. he is 6 wks old oredi n i'm still trying very very hard to make him laugh everyday... cant wait to see his first smile or hear his 1st laugh leh. how u make him laugh ah? must tickle him or just make funny faces n funny voices can liao?

anyway my son's face oso very oily until he kena some rashes cos of the oil. but PD said nevermind dun do naything abt it it will regulate itself after a while cos now bb skin just learning to to produce oil

wow, everyone's trying the nepia diapers and say its good. think must try it too hehee

anyone knows if mrs wong from TMC sees patients who dont deliver in TMC? Whats her contact number? I have a lump which I can't seem to clear and baby refuses to latch on .... ai...

remember a posting much earlier which mentioned abt a retired nurse who could clear blocked ducts at our house. I can't find that posting now. Anyone has her contact so that I could contact her if Mrs Wong does not see non-TMC patients. Tks in adv.

Little pony,
like you, i'm also planning to stop bf soon cos preparing to go back to work in dec. but now got to clear the lump first.

sunny
i believe mrs wong does help non-tmc patients cos i did call her previously n she said just go down there to look for her. however in the end i called the retired nurse cos i cdnt mng to make the trip to tmc to look for mrs wong. wat's ur email add? i can email the details of the retired nurse to u if u like. she manage to help me clear my blocked ducts

<font color="0000ff">riushiki</font>,
i also heard tat double eyelids can appear later. Hoping my girl will also hv cos both my hubby and i hv double!

hmm.. wonder if this applies to eyelashes as well? Trinity's eyelashes seem to be growing longer and more lately.

<font color="0000ff">PrincessEmma</font>,
U selling MamyPoko NB? Try posting in the Nov and Dec threads - tatz how I sold off my Drypers!
cos i think a lot of our bbs here would hv outgrown NB size already. Juz a suggestion...

<font color="0000ff">michelle</font>, I initially had another buyer interested in my Drypers and wanted to link her up w u cos I know u selling as well, but she didn't want in the end...

<font color="0000ff">ilovebabies</font>,
ur Rachel same size as Trinity ah? heehee.. but i find Pampers S a bit too big... doesn't hug her thighs well... accident waiting to happen!
For Trinity, sometimes the urine indicator turns blue where the butt is, not the front.

btw, i ordered the diapers fr the dignus website already. There's this rebate and referral system where u can enjoy discounts thru' monthly purchases of $30 or if u introduce 5 friends to make purchases. hmm.. not sure how the rebates are calculated tho...

hmmz.. is it becos baby now eyes is still puffy that is y doesnt appear. Sometime i will see my girl eyes got a little bit double eyelid but after awhile it will gone. Hoping my girl will have it cos both my hubby and i have double eyelid!

Anyone using Nuk latex teat experience this: when my girl drinking milk, the teat will flatten while she drinking leh, dunno whether need to release the teat from her or not then offer her again.

EBM can last only 1 hour outside fridge ? My friends taught me to put in a thermal cup to keep warm :x Does that help ?

Elaine
Must be damn tiring for u to wake up every 2 hours to feed ! :x My bb is on 3 hours interval and I already cannot take it :x

Riushiki, y do u drag the feeding process so long? Is that gd/safe for ur baby? Do u have any water in ur thermal cup? Cuz once u heat the EBM u are not suppose to re-heat them as they will cause baterial to grow .... I'll try to discard any unfinish EBM after 45 mins....coz too cold also not gd

michelle.... me juz keep calling Enzo's name in those teasing voice... then he will laff alr.... but it doesnt work 100% of the time.. depends on his mood.. he muz be aleart and well fed.. hehe.. then he will laff non stop.. hehe... my bro juz have to smile at him then he will smile back alr.. its quite cute.. hehe...

puppylove.. yeah.. me post alr.. today me first time try mamypoko on enzo and it leaked.. faintz...

i find enzo's lashes growing longer too..hehe.. so happy.. when he was born i was so sad cos his lashes were non-existant... lol.. now.. so happy... hehe...

puppylove

u mean there is a indicator at the butt area ?? where ? eh pls enlighten me hahah

Riushiki

i dont know if keeping it warm extend the BM duration outside the fridge.
For myself I will try to consume it before 1 hr.

Gals

i tried to use some FBM dated in Sept today and realise some smells fishy.
May I know what could be the reason ? I had fish stored in the freezer only last week but it was kept in a box.
DOes the fish actually contaminate my BM ?? so worried now ... hai ... my 30+ bottles of BM ...

Rachel's eyelashes grow thicker and longer since birth too !! Dont worry, the lashes are still growing ....

double eyelids on babies will appear after some time one lah. at birth may not be noticeable but if they hv it, it will appear slowly!

i just went n bot gerber milk bags cos ran out of caps for the glass bottles liao. got so many bottles but forgot to buy enuf caps. now my milk ss outstrip my son's intake, so end up hving too much milk. n this oso worries me cos im wondering y my son is eating less than wat i can produce in ebm! his daily intake is only about 600-660 ml whereas i prduce abt 900ml per day. how ah? how do i increae his milk intake? anybody got any ideas?

i oso will discard ebm that has not been consumed within an hr cos i think it will go bad too...

michelle,
talk about oily face. my bb oso suffered blocked oil glands. her face is oily too but PD said it's normal. for the blocked oil glands around her eyebrows, i was told to apply baby oil or olive oil. and ya hor you're right about boy's weight vs girl's weight. now i feel better lor kekee.

and yes i do the housechores by myself. probably got it from my mom. she's a super housewife so she's training me to be one. even during my confinement, she will supervise and sometimes i will do my practical training but now that confinement is over, im on it 100%. yes i don't nap at noon but thank God since bb sleep through the night, i can enjoy 6-7 hours of sleep now! so it's not much difference right.

sunny,
how do you feed your bb. if you can latch her directly, do so. babies clear blocked ducts effectively or apply hot compress and massage your breast in circular motion, clockwise.

e-ling,
me don't have that problem leh.

ilovebabies,
i read somewhere that if your BM smells bad then it is bad. doesn't matter how long you store it. bb's health must come first!

Whatzup,
Yes, i am using FM- Dumex. And I bought it from the distributor with a discount when you buy in bulk. If you are using Dumex and interested to buy bulk, let me know and i can give you the contact of the distributor.

Wow.. everyone into nepia diapers. I am also tempted to buy. I have just bought Drypers M size so maybe after this, i will give nepia a try. Yes, drypers tape so irritating!! haaa!!!

and oh.. and everyone waiting for bb to have double eyelids huh.. ya, mine too.. i am waiting for bb to have double eyelids as well... but i am contented with him in single eyelid becos like Korea superstar mah! haaa!!

<font color="0000ff">ilovebabies</font>,
the Pampers urine indicator is a yellow line running from the front to the back mah... and when there's urine, tat part of the strip will turn blue. So sometimes when i check Trinity, her front part is still yellow, but backside is blue. Tatz what i meant

i got 2 NUK bottle for milk, both the teat will flatten when my girl drink the milk leh. Somemore i find that the NUK bottle is difficult to close probaby - It will leak lor

joon, when i said nicholas fusses at the breast, i meant he would cry and push, as if he is trying to get away from the breast. at same time, he would be rooting and searching for the nipple with his mouth wide open.

Anyway, i notice he doesn't fuss at the breast anymore when i latch him on and sometimes he seems satisfied after 10 min of suckling if i have a full breast. but will still fall asleep quickly at the breast once the milk flow slows.

michelle, when i exclusively express BM for Marcus, i had to maintain expressing at 3 hrly interval to keep up milk supply, but also 'cos my breasts would be too engorged if the interval is longer. I did pump for at least 40 min per session at one point as there was just so much milk and i was worried of blocked ducts if i don't drain the breasts. The problem i see with exclusive expressing is the only way to tell body to produce more milk to feed a bigger appetite is to stimulate the breasts more by pumping longer and more often, but we risk overstimulating the breasts, hennce engorgement.

Are you giving Ethan 100% EBM now?

puppylove

tks ! stupid me .. was looking at the wrong thing all the way ...

gals

errr so FBM smell bad = smell fishy ?? anyway I took one bottle from oct batch and it smells ok. SO i have discard the Sept milk .. sob sob ... my hard work leh ...

Eling
I am using NUK latex teat .. so far no problem leh. u want to try that ? and you can sterilise the teat after every use.

i dun think ebm shd smell fishy leh. sounds like it's gone bad. perhaps can check the setting of ur fridge to make sure it's cold enuf?

DG
yes, ethan is on 100% ebm now
like i mentioned earlier it seems he's taking in less than wat i can produce now. so i think wat u mentioned is true cos i might hv overstimulated the breasts by pumping for too long cos i was oso worried abt engorgemt so wanted to really empty the breasts. i think its a chicken n egg situation huh :p

btw i had the same expreience wif ethan when i tried to latch him. he was obviously hungry but kept pushing the breast away. n the few times that i did mng to successfull latch him, he would drink a little while then fall asleep hence getting too much foremilk n his poo turned green
tat's y i made up my mind to revert to 100% ebm. but dun give up ok! continue trying to latch him n see if he does change his temperamt cos when they get older they do sometimes change

hi melissa, the cradle cap on the eyebrow hor, my CL showed me how to remove. she put some baby oil at the tip of one cotton bud and rub it over the eyebrow. it will come off and u can see yellow yellow at that end. then u use the other clean tip to clean off the oil in case baby accidentally touch his eyes. after she do that, no more cradle cap on eyebrow! hehehe.

ilovebabies, u have 30bottles ah? u actually took so many from the nursery wor..... i only have 7, and have not even used it hehehe. have a lot of milk bags though.

emma, eh u say order from webby hor? actually i tot the webby and direct supplier same thing leh! was wondering how come the number diff. so blur loh hehehee.

sunny, u have blocked ducts ah? i have some now, and even ran a high fever (38.6) last night, felt so lousy. the first time i have blocked ducts some time back, i used the gerber heat therapy pack to place on the blocked area few times a day. u can use some other water therapy also can. and i massage that area as often as i rem and can bear to, coz it was so painful. and i try to latch baby onto that breast first for most feeds, coz baby is the best drainer of the breast. i noticed that when my ducts are blocked, i dun get much milk when i pump from that breast. but baby can still drink full. now my blocked ducts have not really recover, but fever sorta went down. crossing fingers.

anybody knows how long it takes for BCG injection to heal ah? cos i notice my boy's injection scar looks a bit inflammed n like got some yellow stuff in the centre. dunno whether it's pus or not

my son is 6 wks old now

michelle, its ok that ur boi injection scar looks abit inflammed n got yellow stuff. It is normal so dont worry. As long as u keep it clean its ok
thats what my pd told me.

Daisybuttons, email u liaoz

E-ling, ya....the NUK bottle will leak if u never close tightly! U using premium or normal kind of bottle? Premium one i can never close it properly. As for normal one...only occassionally will have the problem. but no choice leh my ger likes the teat so much. actually the problem is cause by the teat, if u use silicon teat there wont be any problem at all ...

daisybuttons,
ah so that's call cradle cap ah? aiyoh i dunno liao! haha. i am putting olive oil now! thank you so much for the tip!

If I am interested in ordering the Nepia diapers...what size should i be ordering for my bb? He is currently wearing M size on Drypers... should I be ordering S size or M size on Nepia??
Anyone can give me advice??? How i wish i can get sample on Nepia. haaa!!!

little pony, i dont mind to pass u a few pcs of nepia to try ... but where are u staying? Will u be going to bugis? I'll be going there ya...

Rainnie,
Oh.. that's so sweet of you. I am staying at Jurong. Hmm.. no leh. I haven't got chance to really go out becos i am looking after my bb.
Very kind of you leh..

It's okie. Thanks alot though!

Michelle
thanks, I received your email.

Melissa, Daisybuttons
ya, i had blocked ducts and had fever (above 38), felt lousy too. My baby very impatient, dont want to latch on since 2 weeks ago cos she prefers the bottle as the milk flow is much faster. she will end up half screaming half crying each time i try to latch her on. Our parents will start scolding,say not to latch her on, cos if she cry too much will have a lot of wind in her tummy. hence,i had been feeding her EBM and FM.... know our baby is the best person to clear our blocked ducts but I cant get my baby to help - so sad
You all are more fortunate than me, got baby to help clear the ducts.
I have been trying to massage the area too, agree its very painful and the amt pumped out had reduced (maybe partially my ss had dropped cos baby didnt latch on)

Hi all, sorry no time to read all postings cos my bb down with very bad caugh
She is on antibiatic now...poor gal...

Sticky NUK teats:
Someone asked about which part of the teats is sticky, one of my nuk teats is sticky from the tip to the 'neck'.

ilovebabies, i would still like to share Nepia cos don't have anything more thing to buy from the website to get free delivery. Please email me at [email protected] for the arrangement as i may not be logging on this few days.

michelle

ya I threw away the FBM which smells fishy. very sim tia ...

btw the BCG scar will turn into a pimple like form with pus. Dont worry abt that. Just keep it dry and dont apply anything on it.

once the pus is out, there could be a hole .. like when we squeeze out pimple, we have this hole on the face. It will heal automatically. dont worry.

daisybuttons

i got my glass bottles from friends who stop BF. I only got a few from MAH.

drink more water since u having fever now and dont stop BF !

Littlepony

Wayne is wearing M ?????????? OMG ! he must be BIG !! post his pic here leh ...

elaine
i so so glad my baby is not the only "alarm clock" ard~! haha he oso wakes me up at 2 hour intervals nitely. sometimes extra bonus then will b 3 hourly, else it cld b 1.5 hrs.

ilovebabies
heheehe, my EBM has always smelt fishy and when i smelt my boy's mouth, its usually fishy smell! hahahaha
actually i din noticec my EBM got fishy smell until my hb told me. then he said probably due to the fish i intake as i can eat alot of fish a day. now tt u gals mentioned it, so its normal anot? btw these are chilled BM, not frozen ones leh. temp ard 2-4 deg leh. i usually store for max 48 hrs then discard it aft tt. oh dear, now i worried liao.
but not each batch of EBM smells fishy leh. btw so far any of u girls tasted ur BM? i find mine got a strong smell of milk, dunno how to describe it tt i cant bear to drink. i dunno how my baby finishes it.
how is EBM supposed to taste like?

littlepony
ethan was using drypers S size which was oso too tight for him but when i bot the nepia S size it is acutally a bit too big n he still has room to grow into it. so i think u shd still get the S size nepia cos the cutting is much bigger than drypers!

thks to all mommies who hv given me reassurance abt the bcg scar. was juz tat my son has not been sleeping well in the afternoons so we tot mebbe its the bcg scar tat's making him uncomfy

i started freezing my ebm today... quite sad tho cos it means the antibodies are destroyed rite? does it mean i shd still give fresh ebm fr time to time now instead of throwing everything into the freezer so that at least he still gets some fresh ebm wif the anitbodies?

sunny
dun be sad.. i had exactly the same experience wif u when it comes to BF! my son oso very impatient so will keep crying when i try to latch him cos the milk flow too slow n he prefer the bottle too. same thing.. my mother oso keep telling me give bottle cos bb cry to much will get colic. so in the end now i 100% ebm. u can also do it .. just pump very regularly, ie every 3 hrs, n ur supply wil definitely increase! then once u hv enuf, u can discard all the FM n go 100% ebm!! i used FM for about 1 wk till my BM came in n fr then on ethan has been on ebm
so dun lose heart ok? if u need any advice, pls email me n i'll help as much as i can!

i've tasted my own ebm too! n i oso find the milk smell very strong. it's quite sweet tho so i guess that's y ethan likes it
actually i find myself smelling milky the whole day.. cos leak n leak so everyday walk ard smelling like a big milk bottle :p

ilovebabies,
No lah..haa! i don't think wayne is big although weeks ago, Dr Ngiam did mentioned that wayne is overweight.. but now, i think he is back to normal. But yes, drypers size is definitely smaller than usual....

Michelle,
thanks! i guess if i want to change diapers, i should just get S szie then.

sunny, spoke to my LC this afternoon and she advised me to use heat therapy only BEFORE ur baby feeds or b4 u pump. coz the heat will create let down so if u dun pump or feed imm after that it will just cause the ducts to be more clog. and also, masssage ur aerola esp the part corresponding to the blocked part of the breast. then pump or feed. continue to pump okie! dun start changing to FM now coz u may risk more infection if u do that. stick to bfdg, either EBM or direct.

ilovebabies, hehe dun worry i will not give up bfdg coz of the blocked ducts. this is the time to do it more intensively to clear it. but can tell u not easy. whole of today my breasts feel so sore. sigh...

milk taste - hhmmmm... i did taste my milk before and i find it taste sweet and bit almond-y. i dunno why the almond-y leh hehehee....but it def is sweet. no fishy smell at all leh.

crystallised, if ur ah boy drink the fishy milk but bowel movement okie then i think dun have to worry.
everybody's milk taste diff one i guess.

i was wondering if my blocked ducts is due to me being lazy in positioning my baby when he suckles nowadays leh. last time i very conscientious hold him in the proper cradle hold or lying down. nowadays coz he fusses so much, i notice he better when sitting up. so many times i nurse him with him in a semi sitting position on my legs leh. that means his head is slightly turned towards my chest and my aerola will be a bit not facing fwd as well. u know what i mean? anyone of you shortchanging the positioning a bit too? hehehee.

daisybuttons,
i think i know what you mean about baby's positioning. i did that too sometimes. i dont think that's improper. remember that our aerola is round and there are milk ducts all around it. as long as the baby can get her whole mouth around the aerola, she will still be able to feed properly. i have been getting my bb to latch in all positions but all is ok so far. no blocked ducts or nipple sore or anything.

michelle,
i salute your effort to switch from FM to EBM by pumping regularly! not easy man! what pumps are you using?

michelle,
my bb also having the same problem. if he v hungry he will latch on for a while n then start crying. pls my milk supply nt really increase a lot for him. till now my bb almost 2 months, supply nt increase a lot..

Do anyone know what temp should the fridge and freezer be? If i got some milk in the fridge or freezer, can i suddenly after storing for quite some time and then after that adjust the temp?

littlepony, rainnie,
dun need to meet to pass a few pcs of diapers... can mail lah! heheh.. if juz 1 or 2 pcs, shld be able to fit into mailbox right?