(2006/09) SEPTEMBER 2006 MTB

puppylove

i wasnt the one who wrote to ST forum lah .. i just paste the content here for sharing ehhe...

but I am one of the lucky ones .. our mgmt converted a unused room as a nursing room. Though there is only 1 and there are lotsa nursing mothers, I guess I just have to be contented.

cherrie, i am also using NUK latex teat, do we need to use the vegetable bottle cleanser to wash the teat and sterilise huh?

My girl also refuse bottle, the way u mentioned also work for me but just worried if go back work then how?

Eling

i use the pigeon bottle cleanser to clean the bottle and teat. Buy a teat cleanin brush to clean the teat. the same goes for the bottle.
and of cos u need to sterilise the teat cos that's where the baby will drink the milk ! how do u clean it now ?

cherrie,
i tried that method of switching the breast to bottle while baby is asleep. but she could feel the difference, immediately protested.
i just bought nuk latex teat, gonna try that tomorrow.
while i was out, my MIL fed her using the latex teat that was given by hospital and she drank without much fuss.
or was it coz i wasnt in the house?
anyway, i hope she wont refuse nuk latex teat.

me same also use the bottle cleanser and then sterilise. Y i asked becos i read somewhere that for NUK LATEX teat, it is advised to just use boiling water to wash before and after each use. If not very easily spoilt.

shirlyn, for me sometime the method work sometime wont also and she will suckle for afew mouthful and cry. Dunno y.
I tried to stay away my girl while my maid feeding her but sometime work sometime dun work. Hai

e-ling
"sometime work sometime dun work"
aren't babies always like that? UNPREDICTABLE
kao_confused.gif

E-ling,
If i nt wrong, the latext teat nt suppose to sterilise every use right? Just sterilise 1st time and then soak in hot water after every use.

daisybutton, after hearing good comments abt nepia hor....i think i dont mind to share ... if u still need ppl to share do let me know hehe

fyi, robinson nursery department having sales....regular items for avent are on 20%...some other brands are on sales as well

Ming liew, oh dear.....are u sure cannot sterilise every use? I have been doing that leh! meaning can only sterilise once a day? or only ONE time thru out the whole use of the teat?? where u get the info from ah?

hey gals,

i think it is ok to sterilise the teat.
lifespan is abt 4-6 weeks or when the teat becomes sticky.

=====taken from NUK website==========

Here is some information on our teats that we think you'll find useful.

When the rubber part of the NUK latex teat starts to become sticky and swell up, these are typical ageing characteristics that can appear after approx. 4 weeks of use. The reason is as follows: NUK latex teats are made from high-quality, natural latex.

The life of a teat will depend on a range of different criteria. The food and even the constituents of the baby's saliva are significant here, the fats in the food accelerating the ageing process. Other external influences, such as the effects of strong direct light or heat can also damage the natural material.

Our tip: Store the teats away from direct heat and sunlight.

Boiling the teats for too long or using a pressure cooker to sterilise can also cause premature ageing. <font color="ff0000">The rinsed teats should be sterilised either in a steam steriliser or boiled in a normal saucepan for 3 minutes.</font> The important factor here is that the teats are placed in the water once it is already boiling.

i love babies
my recipes sure simple ones lah. im such busy mommy where got time for fanciful recipes? but gotta gimme time to compile ok.

sha &amp; daisybuttons
gimme some time to reply ur email ok.

daisybuttons
i dunno how to collect the nepia from u leh. but i read that rainnie wants to join u so maybe let her take over my share lor. hearing all the good comments abt nepia im also tempted! maybe i try other means to get my hands on the diaper. thanks anyway!

BOTTLE REJECTION
had this with my 3rd boy. wah v challenging times! he only took the bottle for 1 mth then rejected all the way. so until now he is drinking from a cup using a spoon!!

apologies...have been so bz with bb for the whole day. He's evidently only sleeping for abt few mins each time, juz got my mum to help me for a while..for those awaiting blessedmommy's prawn mee's receipe!! Here u are...

what u need :
yellow noodles/kway teow/bee hoon (whichever u prefer)
prawn
pork
kangkong
bean sprout
a pot of stock (i use ikan bilis, pork bones/ribs, and soy bean)
fish cake

1. fry some oil (not too much) with lots of chopped garlic till fragrant
2. set aside the oil
3. fry the chopped garlic (wo oil) with a 2 tablespoon sugar until sugar
melts then add dark soy sauce ( i use tiger brand the v thick one)

1. cook the stock
2. boil the prawn together with stock until cooked
3. take out prawn, deshell and put the head back to the stock to cook
4. add the fried garlic mixture into stock
5. add pork n cook for a while (not too long if not pork v hard)
6. cook for abt an hour plus or until fragrant then take out the ikan bilis,
garlic etc... from the stock

1. bring water to boil n cook the noodles
2. slice fish cake
3. slice pork thinly
4. boil kangkong
5. put some fried shallots &amp; peeled prawn
6. pour soup
7. BON APPETIT

helo whatzup, if u have fever and flu u can still feed baby but try to wear a mask when u do it coz u may pass to him when sneezing or coughing accidentally. though our bm got antibodies but thats what my GP advised. its not easy those few days i was sick, wearing a stuffy mask to bf esp in the middle of the night. somemore my mask is not those cloth type, its the super N95 masks used during sars period hahaha. left over stock. KS mum right? what a relief when i can stop using it.

ilovebabies, i know kg cannot be used to estimate diaper size. but u ask me what size mah and i dun have nepia or pampers small yet, so cannot compare so tell u weight loh hehehee.

chocolat, thanks for helping post the recipe!

blessedmommy, sounds very yummy leh! about nepia, u sure u dun wanna share liaoz ah? how about u share with ilovebabies coz she stay SK much nearer to you? will be easier for u to collect.

rainnie, since blessedmommy is not sharing, can share with you. so now we got 4 lah, i will go ahead to order and try to reach the supplier tmlw. yeah yeah, finally getting some nepia! i started using my mamy poko small today, like it so much very happy. i find mamy poko thicker and cushier than pampers, though pampers seem to be more absorbent. so far these are the best 2 brands to me. hope nepia can be as good.

shirlyn, thanks for the teats info. i din know that! okie okie will be more careful about the nuk teats. when they say till teats become sticky is it sticky inside or outside ah?

edksd.. Enzo also sleeps tummy down in the day.. it realli is better.. even when there's thunder, he's not startled... when he zzz tummy down, he can sleep from one feed to another.. good for me to do thing!!! hehe..

daisybutton, okie! thanks let me know how much and if u wan me to transfer the money to u first or not k....email me ... incase i miss ur posting :p [email protected]

Shirlyn, the info is indeed very useful! Thanks so much

shirlyn, thanks for the info, but we still need to wash the teat using the pigeon bottle cleanser right? Yah u mentioned sticky, where sticky> The whole teat?

And recently i discovered that when my girl drinking milk, the teat will flatten while she drinking leh, dunno whether need to release the teat from her or not then offer her again. Anyone have this problem also?

haha, chocolat hi5. Pumping milk leh since my girl wake up for milk.

Me so angry now, dunno y my electric pump kept stopping by itself. Argh...

daisybuttons,
Thrush may cause bbs to be irritable and have trouble feeding. That is why I suspected this when my boy refuse to take his milk sometime back and is fussy. From what I understand fm my PD, thrush is usually found on the sides of the tongue and 'clumpy' look while milk stains is one uniform patch. Thrush is not easily clean off and may bleed.

oh no...and it has to happen at this time of the 'day' when aim is to get things done and over with..maybe reassemble the batteries and try again?

no leh.. using electricity. Dunno what happen! Need to bring to Avent to check liao. Dunno got charges incurred for that or not. Hai

<font color="0000ff">ilovebabies, cherrie</font>,
I want to try nepia too!
Can I share w u gals cos I juz wan to get 1 pack first? I stay in Hougang... But not sure how to collect cos I'm "stuck" at home w baby. Can only come out if I can find help at home and even then, it can only be a v quick trip out for me! But if u gals want to stick to 2 packs each, then itz ok. No prob one!

Trinity's size is somewhere between Pampers Premium NB and S.. NB a bit too tight for her, S is a bit too big! heheh... So if I'm getting Nepia, think I shld get S.

<font color="0000ff">daisybuttons</font>,
Same same, I also like Pampers and Mamypoko! The Winnie the Pooh designs are so cute hor! I always show my girl the diff designs b4 I change her, but pity she's too young to appreciate!! kekeke... If got urine indicator, even better.. wonder why they dun hv...

btw, whenever I change Trinity's diaper, she'll cry and even scream like crazy. Any of u facing the same thing? The only time she's quiet is when she's full, but I usually change her b4 a feed cos otherwise, she'll squirm in discomfort in between the feed and I'll hv to stop and change her. So no choice, got to tahan her screams and quickly change.

Just want to share some experience :p

My boy didn't poo for 4 days and he is on 90% breastmilk. Called up Mrs Wong and she taught me the following:

1. Do massage on his tummy
2. Lift up his legs and do cycle motion
3. Use a cotton bud and tickle his anus

Wow .. I did twice and he immediately passed motion on the second try :p

puppylove, I am also staying in Hougang leh :p
Maybe we should have a Aug/Sept babies get together from this thread :p

chocolat
thanks for posting recipe for me! if not i gotta write all over again.

daisybuttons
ya me intertested in nepia. but how ah, i love babies stay nearer to me lah but i also got difficulty to collect leh. cos my maid is new only 5 mths old n she is super blur that kind. i dare not let kids be alone at home with them so i hardly go out on my own now. sigh.. miss my previous maid!! anyway u gals post some comments on nepia after using ok. i must get to try them one day!

<font color="0000ff">riushiki</font>,
interesting tips, esp the last one! haha.. my girl still pooing a few times a day, but will definitely keep these tips in mind!

u live in HG also? *hi-5!*

eling... my avent pump also will stop by itself.. but that happened for a coupla days last week.. then this week ok alr... v weird.. dunno y...

nepia... me also want to try nepia.. but i have lotsa pampers at home.. from nb to m size.. lol.. recently went to JB to stock up.. hehe...
those who wants to order.. i thought its a minimum of 4 packs? after that whoever wants to add on should be able to what.. no???
does anyone know how many pieces of M there are in each pack of nepia?

Whatzup, Thanx for the encouragement on job search! Still sending out resumes so waiting for the calls for the interviews to come. But seems so slow. I cannot imagine being a SAHM leh. :p

I'm keen to try Nepia too! Anyone in Woodlands/Admiralty area wanna share? Btw, Cherrie, can share on the number to call for Nepia? Why's there 2 different prices ($14.7 or $15)?

puppylove

sure sure let's share ! hmm we can work out how to pass the diapers over. no worries !

eh my Rachel is almost same size as Trinity I guess. NB too tight, S a bit loose. But S is great lah .. at least got room for her butt to move about ahaha ..
so far I experience one poo leakage with Pampers S size.

eh ask u gals, how come I dont see the urine indicator appear on PAMPERS when my ger wet the diaper ??

btw my ger will be v quiet when I changer her diaper ahah opp of trinity.
I will always tell her "CHANGE DIAPER !!!" then she will stay still.

blessedmommy

where do u stay ?

This is the website to buy Nepia pamper :p
http://dignus.sg/baby-diapers-nepia-c-194_195.html

My friend going to send 4 packs to me later as a gift
Will provide feedback to u girls whether it's good :p

So far, I have used dryper, pureen, pamper dry and premium and mamy poko. The best are still pamper premium and mamy poko. Dryper sucked :x

Attached are two latest photos of my boy ... want to ask u gals whether will double eyelids appear later one ? My ah boy so far has only very little double eyelids :x Will appear when it's older one ? If not, next time he will go and do his own hee hee :D

565454.jpg

565455.jpg

ya man riu.. ur boi so chubby!!! lol... he looks like he'll have double eyelids..

on the other hand, dunno enzo will have not... but i've consoled myself,, korean men so cute.. but all also single eyelid ma.. so ok lah.. lol

<font color="0000ff">riushiki</font>,
thanks for the nepia weblink!

<font color="0000ff">ilovebabies</font>,
hmm... according to the website, think i can order a mix of diapers. So i can order the MamyPoko my girl is using and at the same time try out 1 or 2 packs of Nepia... still can enjoy free delivery. Correct hor?
Then in that case, i'll place order for myself, and won't be able to share w u le... Hope tatz all right w u! Sorry ah... really prefer the convenience of delivery to my place!

PrincessEmma .. ya ya i also thinking korean men no double eyelids .. somemore my boy is conceived in Korea one ha ha ha ha ha :D

My bb should be around 6kg plus .. dunno exact weight :p

He is still not sleeping throughout the nite
Will wake up at 3 to 4am just to take 2oz of milk. If dun give him, he will scream hell :x I am waiting for the day when he can sleep at least from 12 to 5 w/o waking up :p

Ops by the way, I just checked on the net and realized double eyelids will develop later for some !! Sometimes it will only appear when bb is a year old or more hee hee :D so still have hope ha ha ha :D

michelle,
wah your bb grows so fast! he's over 5kg already? amazing! my bb is still 4.8kg leh.

dumpty,
good to see you! we're all busy too. but if i can't post, i will read. now that confinement is over, i do everything myself. laundry and bathing baby, all i do myself. my mom only does the cooking hehe.

riushiki,
thanks for the tips. i have yet to see a day where my bb don't poo. she poo lesser now but when she does she can poo A LOT until leak! so i have to wash her clothes everyday! troublesome! eh where's your bb's neck?! hehee. so chubby! im not sure about the double eyelid issue but so what.. jonathan leong has single eyelid and he's so CUTE.

my bb has been consistently sleeping through the night. she sleeps 6-7 hours nightly. if her last feed is 1am (i'm a night owl), she will wake up at 7 for feeds. i am worried she might go hungry at night so i asked my PD and he said not to worry, i'm one of the blessed mommy. she don't wake up at night means she has reserves. oh now my bb is like a camel liao ha!

565519.png

Ruishiki

aiyo ur boy is soooo chubby !

dont worry abt double eyelids. i have seen a lot of kids develop them later ... my ger is the lucky one .. she has it at birth oredi

puppylove

it's ok .. no problem !
Cherrie if u follow puppylove order arrangement, it is ok not to share ...

hi edkds,
ur info makes me feel better... cos my boy have been drinking every 2hrly..... even at nite
he has become my alarm clock... a super super alarm clock tat will ring every 2 hrs

i'm so so tired... lacking of sleep!! waiting for e day when he can sleep throughout e nite!!!

aiyoh i typed such along message then hubby go and accidentally close that window! brrrr....

dumpty, my friend whom i said is sharing the nepia stays in woodlands. if u want, can add u into the order making it 5 packs. lucky emma remind me or else i still blur tot only 4.

dumpty, rainnie, joon, the nepia delivery office not open today. i only ordering on monday. will let u know the confirmed cost first before u trsf to my acct. so watch out for my posting or email next monday.

ilovebabies, perhaps girl girls wee wee at the centre of the diaper while the indicator is at the front so it doesn't show? hehehe me just guessing.

melissa, ur girl wakes up at 1am for feed on her own or u wake her up? if u wake her up, where is she sleeping betw 8 (if this is her bedtime) and 1am? i am asking coz my boy is sleeping so soundly at 11pm i can't bear to wear him leh. even if i manage to by changing his diaper, he at most drink 8mins only. what abt urs?

double eyelids - yah loh! i also waiting and waiting for my boy's dbl eyelid to come out! coz both hubby and i have very defined double eyelid, i even have triple on one eye. like seh ngeh (lopsided) like that hahahaa.

chocolat, when ur pd say sides of tongue, is it SIDES/EDGES or just OFF CENTRE? my is off centre leh. i not sure if it bothers him, sometimes he cries sometimes he can drink 20mins without drying. funny leh.

bleesedmommy, maybe u can do what puppylove is doing, order some other brands of diapers too at same time so he can deliver to ur house since its hard for u to go out?