(2006/09) SEPTEMBER 2006 MTB

Anyone hiring a babysitter to look after your child when u go back to work? Can share your 'hiring experience', i.e. how did u source for one, what points do u look out for (eg. bbsitter must be pro-BF? bbsitter mustn't be looking after other kids...?). After much deliberation, I've decided to look for one instead of getting my mum or MIL to take care. Someone who should live near my place at Hougang. I've only these couple of mths to source for one, so getting a bit gancheong... Any advice from anyone who's getting bbsitter's help? Thanks!

puppylove,
you mean you live in Hougang. Me TOO...
What a coincedence ! Both gals called Trinity. Both hubby helping with confinement, both in Hougang. We really should meet up!

Puppylove,
I've just asked my mum about babysitter in Hougang and apparently she has some contacts. Why don't you PM me and we can discuss more.

hey mummies who are still latching your bb on, did your bb struggle during latching in the first month?

I am still TBF but now have resorted to giving EBM via bottle few days ago as Nicholas would fight so much during latching, even when he is hungry. I didn't express much in the first 2 weeks, just latched 100%. Then few days ago, I noticed he kept falling asleep and LC told me it's due to milk flow slowing down and advised to express. But after 3 days of expressing and my yield increasing to 150ml per session, Nicholas is still crying, pushing and fighting me a lot whenever I latch him. I dread the thought of expressing 100% like what I used to do with Marcus and this is beginning to upset and stress me out.

melissa, e-ling, joon and ilovebabies,

I remember you mentioned you latched your bb on in the first month. did you express daily for the whole month? Any problems during latching?

I called up parentcraft at TMC and both LCs gave me different advices. Margaret said it is common for bb to fall asleep, didn't mention anything about slow milk flow or need to express. Just told me to put bb to cot whenever he falls asleep. But Mrs Wong said it is due to slow milk flow and told me to express daily for the whole month in addition to latching. But that didn't solve the problem of Nicholas crying at the breasts even when my ms seems plenty.

Anyone has same experiences that improve later? I need some inspiration. Some hours of the day, I do find myself on verge of giving up as i really dread the expressing and I know I won't be able to express with so much dedication this time round with a toddler around demanding my attention.

DG
i only managed to recently latch my son on but he keeps falling asleep too and he can suckle for an hr and still not empty even 1 breast. now i'm begining to feel that expressing is faster n saves time! initiall when i tried to latch him on, he oso fought n struggle so much that i gave up. i hv no idea y tat happened ( i assume it was cos he was used to the bottle flow whcih was faster) so in the end i resorted to expressing.. but now that he doesnt struggle so much at the breast, he falls asleep ?!?! reall not easy and i oso know how tempting it is to just give up and go wif FM...

but DONT GIVE UP so soon! u were the one who encouraged and inspired me to express to keep up the milk supply. even till today, 6 wks later, i am only able to get abt 120ml per session while u oredi hv 150ml! so u definitely hv enuf for nicholas. dun let it go to waste yah?

i dunno y nicholas behaves the way he does n both LC give u different advice. but i do know that a bb's character changes as they grow, so mebbe for now just give EBM first n then try again in a few days or wks time cos he may hv changed his temperamt by then n will happily latch on?

dont give up ok!!! hang in there!!

domesticgoddess, dun give up. I do experience that previously with my gal. Mine is due to slow flow (blocked duct) and also latching position. After went to TMC lactation consultation, everything solve. Maybe u wanna to go down to seek their help instead.Actually both of the consultant are right, it is normal for baby to fall asleep and it may also becos of the slow flow that make them fall asleep. So you need to use compresser (u may want to look at this website http://www.breastfeedingonline.com/newman.shtml for the video) method to increase the flow so there is milk to make baby continue sucking rather than fall asleep. At the same time if baby really fall asleep, u must put your baby back to the cot, dun let them suckle for comfort if not next time thay need to be put on to your breast in order to sleep.I also find that sometime it maybe due to baby too hungry and make a fuss (my girl is one of them, that will fuss on the slow milk flow and get fussy dun wanna drink when is too hungry) and it will be very difficult to get them suckle, perhab u want to comfort ur baby and calm him down before offering your breast. During the first month, i expressing milk most of the time cos that time i got problem latching on due to the reason i mentioned above, after i consult LC and it improved alot then i increase time in latching on but i still continue expressing and feed in bottle. Now my gal wanna my breast instead of bottle le.

domesticgoddess,

My girl fall asleep ALL THE TIME during breastfeeding! I did not express daily during the first month b'cos I didn't know how to use the pump then. Latching is no problem. I would hold my bb's neck like a C position and tease her chin with my nipple. She would find it and put it in her mouth. If it's still not quite correct I will relatch her. Then she will happily suck away. If she falls asleep during suckling I will wake her up by stroking her cheeks or play with her ears. Her cue that she's had enough is when she lets go of my nipple and not wanting it anymore even when I tried to force it in, she will seal her lips tight. Then I burp her and put her to the crib. She will sleep for at least 3 hours lor. Sometimes she does cry but I simply tahan and let her suckle till she stop crying. There might be times when she's hungry and my let down reflex is a little slow to react but it's there eventually. So far no problem, I have confidence that things have been going great and she has enough dirty diapers a day. Plus I'm happy with her weight growth

melissa
i think after i mng to latch my son on successfully, he seems to fall asleep at the breast now! how ah? then he doesnt want to drink at all but when i put him down he starts crying again
like dat very tiring leh

just came back from PD, apparently BB is considered 5 weeks 5 days and not 6 weeks. Anyway, her weight at discharge was 2.3Kg and she is now 3.9kgs. She's got mild colic, so was given some drops to ease her grouchiness. Hope it really does help make her a happier BB. This is the price my PD quote for the vaccines :
6 in 1 @$122 per dosage
Pneumococcal @$170 per dosage (needs 4 doses)
Rotavirus @$95 per dosage (needs 2 doses)
Will visit him again in 2 weeks to get the 6 in 1.

anyone knows of any places with nice nursing clothes? i went to those maternity shops in suntec, but limited choices. all so boring.

Hi zz,

your scenario is somewat like mine. my boi also sleep halfway thru feeding n willl wake up in no time for milk again. Wat i did at night is to 1st let him latch on..then when he falls asleep, i feed him ebm thru bottle...the bottle somehow can get him to 'wake up' and suckle. you try and see if it works for u bb.

domesticgoddess

is your boy having difficulty in latching that's why he fuss a lot ?
i guess he gets too impatient in getting his milk ya ?

have u try the C-hold or U-hold position before latching him ? I have problems initially until i use the C-hold position for Rachel then I let go after she has successfully latch on.

however for my case now, my milk flow is TOO FAST for my gal so if i latch her, she tends to choke easily and i can see milk flowing out of her mouth. So I prefer to give her EBM now.

michelle

aiyo ur Ethan so chuby and v alert hor !
i like the first pic best !

Angeline

where is ur PD located ? the Rotavirus dosage is so much cheaper than wat my PD quoted me. He quoted me $160 per dose leh !

edksd

u having 2nd one ? ehee why u looking for maternity shop ? Or looking for nursing tops ? Me too looking for one ... any idea ?

<font color="0000ff">angeline</font>,
wow! i wonder wat else we've in common!!

U've contacts for babysitter? That's great!! I've PM'd u already. Thanks so much for checking w ur mum!
======
<font color="0000ff">domesticgoddess</font>,
my gal struggles during latching too and I suspect itz due to slow milk flow too. Wat I do is to keep switching her from left to right breast whenever she struggles. Not sure if itz the best solution but it does work, cos tat'll give each breast some time to "rest" and let the milk "accumulate".. know wat I mean? So Mrs Wong asked u to express daily... is tat to increase milk ss so that flow will also increase?? hmm... I haven't been expressing much so far... maybe I shld start doing so now...

sometimes the struggles/crying is due to wind in the tummy. After burping, she'll resume latching. Maybe u can try burping?

=====
<font color="aa00aa">btw, does express amount equal how much bb is drinking while latching on? let's say expressing yields 120ml each time.. does it mean when u latch bb on, she's only drinking 120ml? I thot I read somewhere tat bb can actually suck more milk than u express out, and tat express amount does not accurately equate to milk ss... Can anyone verify this?

DG, mrs wong asked u to express daily as in express immediately after latching or before latching or in between latching sessions? did she explain what's the purpose?

i think in one way or another we all hv similiar bf problems.

anyone of u breastfeed at night by lying down on the bed with bb? i've been doing tt for a few wks for the night feeds. it's not so tiring for me. but then i kind of worry whether bb has enough or not. and usually i dun burp him after feeding as most of the time i just fell asleep.

for those who're latching on most of the time, how do we know if our supply is dwindling? wait till we see bb grows slower and slower? alamak, cant be right?

after breastfeeding bb, i find tt my bb is always v alert and awake. how ah? does tt means he has not drink enough? coz i tot when bb is full, he'll be like drunk and want to sleep.

another thing is i find it hard to get bb to sleep. i duno why he's always alert and awake most of the time. i try putting him to the cot to let him sleep on his own, pat him to sleep, carry him until he sleeps then put him back, but all failed, he'll still wake up and cry.

the only way is to sleep w him and let him suckle till he sleeps. i know this's not right and is a bad habit. but what to do? otherwise i think he's not getting enough sleep.

edksd, i seldom bf my ger using lying down method. Only used it when I'm very very tired. Cuz this method my back will ache! hehe

suckle ur nipple till he sleeps ah? perhaps u want to try using pacificer instead? not gd habit esp if u going back to work, ur babysitter will have problem making ur bb sleep!

hey Joon, u getting a baby carrier ah? I have the MIM sling but hoping to get a carrier so my hubby can carry baby and look manyly hehehee. saw u organising a BP? whats the discount? and why have u settled on ergo u know? btw, i have got my ameda pump though i initially only wanted it in dec. coz when i first tried my avent manual, i find it cannot make it hehehe. so faster get ameda one. now i find the avent one also works for me liaoz, hehehe.

oh ilovebabies and sha, heard u girls tokking about sling. sha, u very good at it? i been trying it on in the usual position (cradle hold) but not perfected it yet. he seems not to like it coz i not doing it properly. any tips?

rannie rannie, saw ur earlier post on pampers dry small size. u still have it? is it the baby dry or the dry and fit? i am interested if its the dry and fit....pack of 58 issit?

if u get backache when u lay down nurse, try putting a pillow behind ur back to support it.

daisybuttons

i just started using the sling .. not v good at it though. The tip is ... dont follow the video ! hah ! I was trying to follow closely on the video but failed.

DG,
Pls don't give up. It was with your encouragement that now I manage to give my Trinity total EBM. No FM for the past 2 weeks liao. I'm sure you will pull through with some perserverance.

Puppylove,
I haven't received your PM, maybe something wrong with my email account. I have PMed you my email address, pls re-send.

ilovebabies,
My PD is located in Hougang. Let me know if you want the full name and address.

edksd,
I think one of the ways to check supply for DBF is number of wet diapers produced by BB. If have 8 - 10 wet diapers a day should be OK. I used to latch on lying down too espcially for the wee hours feeds. My BB is also more alert now. I think its normal for babies to have more awake time as they get older. But a little more tedious for us as we will have to entertain them.

Sha,
from the looks of it, you can soon hold a seminar to teach all of us how to using the sling correctly :)

So anyone organizing the gathering?

Sorry, have been MIA for a few days coz surfing around looking at slings and baby carriers!!!!! (i.e. SHOPPING!) Pls forgive me if I've missed any of ur qns or comments!

daisybuttons,
Glad u like the ameda! It's not bad huh? I like it too
Yup yup, I've finally decided to invest and get the Ergo. Asked ard and everyone tells me to just get that and forget the sling. My friend lent me her MIM sling and I tried it one afternoon. It's not bad, but my back did start to ache and all that fabric - very hot leh! So far, all those with the Ergo says it doesn't give you any backaches at all. (hooray! I'm not getting any younger man)Yup yup, I'm starting a BP for the Ergo. If we can get 10 orders, we can get 20% off. If not it's only 15% off. U keen?

DG,
It's so weird that 2 LCs gave you different advice! But ultimately, they still support u DBFg I'm sure? I think we all know how u feel.

When I first started, I was THIS CLOSE to giving up on BFg, on the 2ND DAY! --- bb kept fussing at the breast (squirming), took a LOOOONG time to latch on, latch on wrong, nipples hurt etc etc... but u were SO encouraging on this forum tt I told myself to stick to it! Of coz, I kept telling myself, if it doesn't work it, just let it be. If FM was bad for bbs, it wld have been banned don't u think? So occasionally I wld just give EBM and a few times, FM. But I still kept DBFg, sometimes once a day, sometimes more. Without knowing it, I increased the frequency of the DBF sessions until one day I DBF the whole day! (even at night!) I think the turning point was just after his 1 mth bday. So it took me just over a month to switch to total DBFg.

Don't give up ok! Perserverence pays! Now, DN can usually empty my breasts in 30 mins.
He gets faster and faster. He's 8wks old now (today actually!) and just a mth ago, he was taking up to an hour. So don't give up, Nicholas will get the hang of it eventually. It's LOOOONNNGGG, but it'll happen. And if u're too zonked out, just give him the EBM and rest. Nothing wrong with that!

edksd,
I tried lying down and BFg at night once. Very shiok! So comfy! I fell asleep immediately
and woke up 2 hrs later in a panic. Oh shit! Did I crush my bb????? Thankfully no, he also knocked out next to me, hahaha... But I dare not try again, coz I'm like a little pig. The minute my head hits the pillow, that's it man... zzzzzzzz... Also, like u said, lying down and BFg surely sleep one! So no burping and tt time I did it, didn't even make it to the 2nd breast!

Yeah! DN is the same! Now, he doesn't fall asleep after drinking. Just 2 wks ago, he would still fall asleep after drinking, but suddenly one day, he stopped! I used to try to force him to sleep but he'd cry and cry and only stop when I pick him up and talk to him, so it's not that he's not full. I think he's passed the "sleepy stage". I read up and it's quite normal. As they get older, they stay awake longer in the day, and their naps get shorter and shorter. After drinking, and if Kai doesn't look sleepy, try playing with him. Maybe he's also passed the "sleepy stage"? Kai shld be abt 6-7 wks old now? Coz if he is, that's abt the time DN started being more alert in the day too. (DN is 8 wks old today)

Michelle,
Ethan is so cuuuute! Wah, his face has changed! More mature
And I notice he's got little shoes! So cute!
Saw that u're getting the BabyHugz sling-pouch. Keep us updated on how you like it! (and how Ethan likes it, hee hee...)

joon
thks for the complimts
yah i love his little shoes too - his 9-yr old cousin bot it for him!

your DBF story is so inspiring. i hv only just started to latch ethan on few days ago n he is oredi falling asleep at the breast n can suckle for 1 hr yet still not empty it! in the end i still hv to pump and give him EBM. even more time consuming then me juz going straight to express the milk :p so its actually very tempting to just feed EBM all the way. the only times i wish i cd direct latch him is when we;re goin out n we hv to grapple wif bottles n cooler bags and hot water then its so troublesome .

anyway i think u mite have mixed me up wif someone else, cos i bot the ergo carrier not babyhugz. but ethan is still a bit too young for the ergo i think cos i tried it on and his neck is not well suported. i think min the bb needs to be at least 3 mths old to be able to use it properly. aiyah if i know u all organising BP for ergo i shd hv waited! i bot at full price leh...

Michelle,
Aiyah, I blur already! Sorry for the mistaken identity, hahaha!! Malu malu...

Aiyah! I shld have mentioned something abt the Ergo earlier then u can join the BP. We'll, right now, response is pathetic, so I don't even know if I can get enough orders to get the discount! Well see... if u want to use the carrier with Ethan now, u'll have to get the infant insert. Which colour did u buy?

Don't give up on DBF! It really DOES get easier and easier. My mum was so wonderful. The 1st two weeks home with bb, I was so grumpy and frustrated with DBF. She was the one who told me not to give up and she said it's really tough at first, but don't give up. Once you make it past the difficult first few weeks, u're home-free!! Coz it just gets easier and easier. It's a shitty process - long and difficult, but trust me, it does get easier. U will get the hang of it, and most importantly, so will Ethan! Give him some time to learn and get used to DBF. I used to think that bbs naturally know what to do and all we have to do is put our breasts there, but it's not really that true. It's their first time too!
Don't give up ok!
558066.gif

joon
i did get the infant insert too but somehow it still doesnt seem to work leh. i saw the video on how to use the insert n the bb in the vidoe oso looks older than ethan cos the neck is much stronger liao. i got the indigo solid colour - dun really like the critters
but the infant insert no choice so got the critters one

u r so fortunate to hv a pro-BF mom. it reall makes a LOT of difference u know. even till today my mom still doesnt understd y i wanna BF my son and wake up a few times a nite to express milk for him. she was so discouraging during my 1st nite in the hospital n kept urging me to give bb formula! anyway tat's all in the past now. i guess wat i can do now is to look fwd n perservere! but wat happens when u go back to work ah? do u still plan to latch him on during nite feeds? actually i oso tot bb naturally know how to suckle haha :D just "plug n play" rite? hee hee.. but now i know there's so much more to BF n both mommy n bb hv to learn to perfect it together wif lots of practice ;)

helo ilovebabies, oh really ah? the cd doesn't work? aiyoh i thought it taught quite a bit leh. intending to try it more often tmlw see if i can get the hang of it. so what did sha teach you?

rainnie, no prob hhehee. hubby just bought mamy poko small today. will try that first.

Joon, i quite like the ameda, but when i pump when i latch baby, i prefer to use avent, easier to handle with one hand. hehehe but if i want efficiency then ameda lah! eh, u know where to get those bras that allow you to do other things with the double pump hanging out of your boobs? u know what i mean? came across it before. copy it down somewhere. but now too lazy to go find leh. wondering if u know.

oh i am interetsed in the ergo if its 20% off. can u show me what it looks like and which model it is? got webby? thanks!

Michelle,
Yeah! Plug n play! Hahahaha, good one! I too, thought I'd suddenly "know" what to do as a mother when the bb pops out. Alamak, bluff one! I didn't even know how to hold him properly on day one! Yeah, I agree, the pple ard u are SO IMPT. If their energy is positive, it makes SO much difference. I am lucky to have a pro-BFg mum. After giving birth and seeing how difficult motherhood is, I love my mother more and more each day! Now I really understand why we celebrate Mother's Day. Plan to do something really special for my mum next year!
558081.gif

Daisybuttons,
Joon to the rescue, hee hee hee...
http://www.mumsfairy.com/theoriginal.htm

I know what u mean! I'm getting a manual pigeon pump tomorrow! For pumping after latching on, and in the middle of the night... so much easier than plugging in the ameda... :p

Great if u want to get the Ergo! Here's the link to the BP I'm starting. Spread the word! Hopefully we can get 10 orders.

http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/cgi-bin/forumboard/show.cgi?449156/557489

Joon,
I totally agree with you, being a mum now really makes me realise how 'wei da' they are and how much heartpain I must have caused her for all the times when I was naughty.

hi mommies
my boy has been sleeping thro the nite the last few days.. he will hv his last feed at 12am n then the next time he wakes u is 5am+ oredi. is it ok for him to go so long without having his milk ah? he's only 6 wks old.

and if this continues, doesnt it mean he's eating even less now than before cos he would have missed 1 meal rite?

michelle,
my girl hasn't slept through the nights yet but it's normal for her now to sleep 3-4 hours which is good enough for me b'cos a good deep sleep must be at least 3 hours. so i'm no longer tired like i used to. if every 2 hours jia lat liao. do you know your bb's latest weight? i guess if their stomach is big enough, they're able to stomach more milk and can sleep longer. don't worry about the change, i think it's normal and doesn't mean the baby is eating less.

Michelle, its normal ya. My ger slept for 5 hrs before the next feed as well. that happen a few days before she reach 6weeks

Her last feed at 1am and sleep at 2am...wakes up at 6am for milk ;)

Pupplylove,.
My gal is only coming 8 weeks.

She sleep thru out coz she is tired she did not sleep much during the day therefore she will sleep longer during the night.

Yesterday was another miracle she had her feed at about 9:30pm and sleep all the way till 2:15am then she drink 120ml and sleep till 6am.

Think as they grow bigger around the 3 or 4 month when their stomach has expand and drink more milk they will be able to sleep longer during the night.

Angeline,
Hehehe. . .I am not expert lah. Just keep using the sling and you all will also be expert as well. .. hehehehe. . I keep exploring new method in using the sling as well.

hi joon, eh thanks for the webby but its not exactly what i mean leh. but this mumsfairy contraption works for you? did u buy? i saw a bra version before, wonder which one is better.

melissa and michelle, those of you who had last feeds around 12midnight hor, what time is the prev feed? coz my boy sometimes wakes up at midnight to feed, but sometimes doesnt.

michelle,

It's good that ur baby can sleep. Mine dun sleep. Tat is veri tiring. even when she sleep, she wake up every 2hr for feed, other days she can stay awake from mornin 8am to 7pm at nite, tat is really a nitemare for me.

Anyone else baby that is 6 wk old also so alert?