(2006/09) SEPTEMBER 2006 MTB

ilovebabies,
Why do I wash the pacifier - to keep it clean then I put it back into the cover. When I am out I will bring along with me a small container which I will put a wet handy and I also use it to rise the pacifier in it with warm water before put it back into the cover.

As for the wet handy it is to clean her hand just in case she suck her thumb and also to wipe off the milk stain outside her mouth and her checks and I will wash / rise the handy it in the toilet.

I brought two pacifiers so I will sterilize one every night. I am a very kaisi mummy and I think it is more hygiene that way as well.

Melissa,
We are worry about baby sucking thumbs coz it is a bad habit and will grow with her as well. Dont want her to suck her thumb till she is five years old right that would be a disgusting scenes and not cute anymore. .. hehehehe.

Moreover if she developed this habit of sucking her thumb it will affect her thumb and nails growing stage. My elder sister has this habit and sucks her thumb every night till she is in primary school that is why her thumb and the nail are very ugly. She spends quite a lot of money on manicure to make her nail look better now.

puppylove

ya it does sounds like reflux to me too cos my Rachel had the same symptoms when she was younger. Now she is much better. She only regurtitate milk when she latch on and I think she suck too much from my breasts. Other than that, she is ok .. can burp easily. SOmetimes when she dont burp i just carry her upright for 10-15mins and put her to sleep. I still give her RIDWIND twice a day. It's time to reduce the dosage.

Sha

wah .. so much for the pacifier ah ! I am more "chin chai" ahhah i just rinse with plain warm water morning and nite.

a non bb qn to ask... pls help if u noe... tks...

wher to buy those sticker to stick clothes to our body so tt wont "zhao geng"?

ilovebabies,
me kaisi mummy mah. . .don't like the idea of putting something into her mouth without ensuring it is clean.

As the Chinese saying. . "trouble come out from the mouth sickness come in from the mouth." So whatever goes into Sherilyn's mouth I will take note as her immune system is not strong yet.

edksd,
you mean the double sided sticker right?? I have seen it at Metro's cashier in paragon next to the lingerie department. Go check it out.

ilovebabies, how long hv u been giving bb ridwind? is this still ur 1st bottle of ridwind? i try not to give whenever i can, if really no choice then just once a day only.

hi edksd,
i'm using 2nd btl of ridwind liao... intially i also control e amt to give to Zhaohui cos i dont want him to take too much med but 3wks ago when i brought him to Dr Ong n tell him my boy keeps crying n crying, cant put down to zzzz peacefully so he check his abdominal n told me got lots of wind inside n ask me to increase e ridwind dosage to 4 times a day!!! but i only give 3 tomes a day n guess wat... from then on Zhaohui cries lesser n can put down to zzz more easlier
now i decrease to twice a day.

\mummies... do y all burp ur babies after every feed?? cos i nv burp Zhaohui if he fall asleep straight after drinking cos if i try to burp him he will wake up n start crying then it is difficult to put him to zzz again
i read from books saying if babies can fall asleep after drinking dont need to burp them... dont know true or not.

edksd

I am in my 2nd bottle as well, twice a day. Same as elaine, the PD listen to Rachel's tummy and said there's a lot of activities inside. But she can sleep easily after feed.

elaine

i always make it a point to burp Rachel even if she is asleep. if she wake up, i just pat her to sleep again. if i burp for a few mins and still she dun burp, i wont continue.

help .. rachel tends to fall asleep easily during feed. She can feed on 40ML and doze off. Then if I insist she drink, she will cry. So now I have to wait till she is half asleep then she will drink with her eyes closed hahaah ...

oh so how ???

When we DBF our babies, there's a diff btw the foremilk and hindmilk. How abt for EBM? Is the milk expressed 1st foremilk? If so, it means we must express long enough to get the hindmilk too?? but i can't see the diff in EBM.... So confused now, advise pl.

sunny,
when you express, the foremilk will look very diluted and the hind milk thick white colour. How old is you BB now? When I initially start to express, the colour also look very much the same but as the weeks go by, the milk seems to get creamier and the hind milk colour more and more white.

i love babies
is ur teat flow too slow? mine used to be like that too but since i changed the teat size she drink faster n will finish before she can fall asleep. but i also realise she drink faster in her semi-coma state haha... if she is fully alert she is v kpo always look around n listen to ppl talking n take long time to finish milk.

Chng's wife,
I think there are 3 6-in-1 and 4 5-in-1 jab till bb reach 18 months . there are 15% off at the 24 hour clinic at cck, the one same in dr adrian clinic.

I'm from Oct thread but my bb was born in sept so here to look see. Need some advise hope someone can help.

I check with polyclinic regarding price for 5-in-1 $294.70 n 6-in-1 jab $320. Does anyone know if this is price of per dose or for all dose??
Becos S'pore Baby Child clinic quote me $126 n $150. Amount difference very big.

Michelle
Saw that u plan to circumcise yr son when he is 3 mths. Can I know where u are doing it n hw much it costs?? Hubby was planning to circumcise my son when he is 5 yrs old n now see ur posts. I think I rather do it when he is younger.

Me back from MIA since last post that said I'm suffering from depression. Was lookin for ppl to talk to but at the same time computer spoilt, very jia lat, baby cry I also cry. Even worse is my bb super alert wake up every 2 hr Can't go back to sleep cry... make me so pek chai that I almost wan to struggle her.... anyone bb also the same case??? How to make her sleep more?

Today went to PD for her injection. I choose the 6-in-1 jab for her. cost $400. Finally she can sleep this afternoon only wake up for feed.
My bb suffer from colic... PD jst give me a medicine to help her to relive the wind in her stomach at the same time apply "Lu yi you" Any advice from other mummies?

Little pony,

Can I have the distributor no. for the dumex gold powder? My bb also drinkin that brand. Had been supplement it since my milk supply still low.... dun knw is becas I'm too stress.

elaine
i will oso always burp my son after every feed even if he is sleeepy cos i scared dun burp then too much wind accumulate inside until kena colic then even more torublesome! but if after stroking for about 10 min still no burp then we juz put him back in his cot to sleeep.

doreen
i hv not called to enquire abt the price yet cos still got about another 1 mth plus to go b4 he hit 3 mths. if u want the PD surgeon's name, juz PM me yah

my son oso cry and turn very red in the face whenver he wanna poo poo. sometimes he will be sleeping very peacefully then suddenly start crying then iwonder y n after a while i will hear loud fart and poo poo sound... i asked the PD today he said its normal cos bb not used to it yet
but will get better over time

blessedmommy

yes I tried M size teat for her .. but realise it's too fast for her .. milk flows out from her mouth and she will cry.

I even tried Avent bottle .. same thing.

hai .. how ah ? but she also tend to drink faster in semi-coma state leh ..

edksd

I apply RU YI oil on my gal twice daily .. one after bath and the other time in after evening wash.

melody

are u ok now ?? Hope you are smiling more often ... dun get too stress out ok !

Melody,
Hope you are feeling better. If you feeling depressed, try to stay calm and remind yourself that days will get better once bb is older. That's how i did myself self motivational skills! haa!

Try calling 62464222 - Tobbie Baby Product Paradise....for Dumex Gold...

So i guess i wasn't the only one with bb sucking thumb lah. Now, i am training him to suck the pacificer....sometimes, he does it well...sometimes, he get very paranoid.

littlepony

paranoid ?? wat do u mean ?

Rachel only manage to suck her thumb once.. these few days i saw her licking her fingers. Seems to not knowing how to coordinate her fingers and put in her mouth. ahha so before she got the chance to suck her thumb, I offered her the pacifier which she took it happily.

Oh.. wayne frown, turn face red, and started venting his anger by kicking his legs after seconds of sucking pacificer. he tot it's my nipples that he is sucking.. coz he likes to latch on to sleep and we are now, trying to kick this habit of his.....

oic

hey that's a bad habit ! yeah pls kick it off asap ! Rachel had this habit before she turn one mth old too. I din realise until my SIL told me she need a pacifier to sleep. My mum tot she miss my breasts ahhah

Ya.. it's indeed bad habit.. and therefore, my mil say muz kick the habit coz if i go work, she doesn't have my nipples to offer him....

Wayne started to recognise words like ' sleeping' in hokkien... and he also know that if we put his hankie underneath his neck, it's feeding time n he also recognise his milk bottle.. if we put his hankie and show him his bottle, he will stop crying for a while..... very cute.

ya ya

my mum also say bb will recognise the gesture of putting the hanky under the neck. Rachel too... but she stop for a while only and cry if I am too slow to offer her the bottle ahhah

rachel can recognise words "CHANGE DIAPER !" then she will stop fussing or crying if i put her down cos she knows I am only changing her diaper. It works everytime hehe ...

must talk to them more often ... and i realise Rachel loves to hear us sing to her .. she will stop moving and concentrate on your singing and smile

hey any mommies here who are TBF but still the menses came back? i tot if TBF wont get menses so soon one rite? mine came back oredi leh.. sian

michelle

my mensus is not back yet but I know of mothers like you who does .. not sure why though.. did u ask ur gynae ? does it means your body is ready to conceive ??

i asked my gynae n he said some women r like dat lor. and yes, definitely can get pregnant again!!! so he said gotta be careful unless want no. 2 ;) actually he said even if menses did not come back, possibility of getting preggie is still there...

u must be kidding! cant even mng this one now :p

ya i tot no menses means not ovulating but he said not necessarily so cos we ovulate b4 the menses comes, so by the time ur menses comes n u discover it could be too late ;) then rachel will hv a younger sibling real soon! hee hee

angeline,
thanks for the info
my gal's 4weeks now, sometimes all i see are the creamier white hindmilk, dun seem to see any dilute foremilk leh, so thought foremilk and hindmilk are mixed together when expresssed.

ilovebabies
my gal oso got wind in the tummy, per the
PD, can apply Ru Yi oil on her tummy which i'm doing so. If Ru Yi oil dont work, then take wind drops.

michelle
so fast your menses is back
hope mine wont be so soon since i'm only doing partial BF and supplementing with FM.

sunny03sunny
yah lor... i oso very sian cos my frens were telling me no menses when BF and i was looking fwd to tat! then dunno y i must be the special case kena come back so fast..hai...

Pacifier,
If baby keep licking/sucking figure, mean they need pacifier to get into sleep? Mine is not leh, that day i saw my gal, licking her mitten (she is still wearing mitten) while she is sleeping at night, i tot like what you all said, she may need a pacifier to get into sleep. I give her and she will suck then i went back to sleep then the pacifier drop and she cried then i try offer her again and again until in the end she cried real loud so i ask my maid to make milk for her to drink although she just drank 1.5hrs again. And yes she is hungry rather than wanting the pacifier. So is it mean that keep licking figure while sleep mean they are hungry?

This is how my gal look when she is forcing herself to poo.
556672.jpg

Something to share. Received the reply from BMSG Counsellor on the problem i face, hope this will help anyone who face the same problem as me:

>baby_age: 2months 2days
>breastfeeding_status: total_breastfeeding
>Help! My gal don't want bottle.
>question: What i should do now? I need to go back work in mid of next month and my daughter, Amabel refused to drink from bottle at all. I have been giving my gal drink my ebm through bottle and also sometime latch on but out of the sudden, this few days my gal refused to drink from bottle. She will suckle a few mouthful of expressed milk from bottle then start crying then we got to comfort her and try offer her drink again but she will again suckle for afew mouthful then cried and that repeat again and it will take her an hour to finish the milk. Most of the time, we have to feed the baby the bottle before she wakes up but in light sleep mode, cause like that she won't really notice that the milk she drinking is from bottle. Sometime not to see her keep crying like this and got no choice but to let her latch on then she will stop crying immediate and happily drinking my breastmilk. But i can't keep letting her latch on cause i will need to work and love to let her latch on when i am at home with her. What should i do so she will drink from bottle while i am away from work and will also latch on when i am back? Please help!

> BMSG E-Counsellor <http://us.f340.mail.yahoo.com/ym/compose?to=bmsg999@yahoo.co.uk&amp;yy=15036&amp;y5beta=yes&amp;y5beta=yes&amp;order=down&amp;sort=date&amp;pos=0> wrote:
> Dear E-Ling,
> Some breastfed babies are smart enough to refuse the bottles if the mother is present since they know what's BEST for them. Do not be too worried first. Firstly, were you very near to your baby when you tried to get someone to introduce the bottle? It is normal for a breastfed baby to refuse EBM if he knows the mother is nearby and will be confused why wouldn't the mother be direct feeding instead. Most babies will not take a bottle if they know their mother is nearby, because they associate their mother with the pleasure of nursing. To begin, I would suggest you get away while you find someone to introduce the bottle. These are some of the ways that will help your caregiver to encourage your baby to taking a bottle:
- Try offering the bottle before the baby is likely to be too hungry, before his usual nap time, as he may be more cooperative about trying something new. You can try to feed the baby the bottle before she wakes up but in light sleep mode, you can tell by observing your child if she is starting to have somelight movements and on the verge of waking up.
- Hold the baby lovingly while giving the bottle.
- Wrap the baby in the mother's clothing with her smell on it (eg. your home wear or night gown) while offering the bottle.
- Instead of pushing the bottle nipple into the baby's mouth, try laying it near his mouth and allow him to pull it in himself, or tickle the baby's mouth with the bottle's nipple, just as how many mothers do with the breasts.
- Try running warm water over the bottle nipple to bring it up to body tempature, like the breast.
- You may have to try different bottle nipples to find a shape, a substance (rubber or silicone), and a hole size that the baby will accept more receptively. Some babies prefer a larger or smaller nipple hole or different nipple types and shapes.
- Try different feeding positions. Some babies will take a bottle better in the nursing position, others like to sit propped against the caregiver's raised legs (like sitting in an infant seat), etc. - Try to feed the baby while moving rhythmically -rocking gently, walking, or swaying from side to side - because this may be calming to him; some babies who refuse a bottle at other times will take a bottle when they are riding in a car seat.
- Insert the bottle nipple in to the baby's mouth while he is sleeping.
- Keep trying, but remember the baby can be fed the mother's milk using other feeding methods, such as cup or spoon, if the baby continues to refuse the bottle.
Some babies also do go on "reverse-cycle nursing", ie. drinks rather little in the day or when the mother is away, and go on a "nursing marathon" to catch up with all the milk feeds when the mother is back home.
Last but not least, keep up with your breastfeeding efforts. Remember that it wasn't a mistake that you have always offered breasts first to your baby as direct feeding is the BEST. Bottle refusal is usually a transitional phrase and eventually your baby will recognise that if you're not around, she will have to take a bottle as subsitute.
All the best!
Noelle Tan
Volunteer Counsellor

i immediately after reading the above email, we went to 'Great world city' to buy a NUK latex teat (already got a NUK bottle but the teat is silicon one), cause I read somewhere that latex teat texture is more like mother's nipple. Hoping that this will work on my gal since she don't like to drink from Avent bottle. Came back home, I faster wash and sterilize the teat and bottle, going to give to her after her shower. And surprised... that day she don't want to leave the bath tub at all after shower. When my maid carry her from the bath tub, she start crying then she put my gal back in the water again and she stop crying. I ran into the room when hearing her crying and asked my maid why she crying. I asked her to put my gal back into the tub and she stop crying immediately. Being worried that she will catch a cold since the water will turn cold eventually, we got no choice but to carry her up again and of course she cried again. Haha! She really like water a lot. Hope can bring her go swimming soon. I then passed my maid my clothes that I wore just now and place it on my gal's body. My maid start feeding my gal whilst I stay at the room surfing net. After 5minutes, never hear my gal cry at all then I peck at them and asked my maid whether my gal got drink milk or not.
My maid reply: oh... Amabel finished the milk already.
Mummy reaction: Huh!
Mummy asked: Amabel finished the milk in how long?
Maid replied: 5mins.
Mummy reaction: Wow! Me feel so happy and surprise cause everytime she will take about an hour to finish the milk.
Sorry for the long post.

michelle

so do u see the mucus prior to mensus to see if u r ovulating ??

sunny

i use RU YI oil on my gal twice daily. I have reduced the wind drops dosage to once a day. Will slowly wean off.

Little Pony, ilovebabies

Dear Mummies, read that some of u had taken the mitten off. But my baby nail quite long and she like to scratch her face. When will it be advisable to take mitten off?

Another thing to share is that yesterdae my gal went for her first 6-in-1 injection. Although PD said only 20% chance of fever, we still got a bottle medicine for her. KS mum.... during midnite her temp went up, so we feed her the medicine, and the temp goes down fast.

Check wit u ladies, anyone compare between nuk &amp; avent bttl. Is it true nuk bttl better in prevanting colic? I'm giving both to my baby and it's seem like avent bttl alot of bubble during feeding

eling

congrats !!

but hor.. my gal also have same prob but I think she is not refusing bottle. She is just being fussy. Even when I latch her .. she fuss abt and cries at times.

I change to Avent teat and M size NUK teat doesnt seem to work. Have to pat her and wait till she get to the semi-coma state then she'll finish the milk.

thanks for sharing the info !!

melody

my gal dun wear mitten in the day now. I trim her nails real short to prevent scratching. I guess it has to happen once or twice (as in scratching) and slowly they'll learn. Some say bb frm 3 mths old onwards do not require mittens anymore, guess I started early. Rachel is only 2mth+.

My gal also has slight fever after the jab and like ur ger, her temp went down after one dose of med. Which PD and clinic did u visit ?

I also intro avent and NUK bottle to my gal. But I dont know which one is better in colic control. When u see a lot of bubbles means ur ger is drinking the milk. Just rem to hold the bottle upright so that the milk fill the WHOLE teat to prevent her sucking in air.

michelle,
My menses also come back but it's like on n off one day have abit and the other day stop. I ask my gyne dand he said it's normal

chg's wife,
havent' decide where to go for the jab..

mummies who using NUK bottle now. What size you all given to your baby huh? M size is it too fast for them? I know S size is for thin lique but is our EBM consider thin lique?

sha, ilovebabies,
thanks for ur reply on baby throwing up milk. My girl seems to be better now, only spit out once yesterday and I think tatz cos she drank too fast from the bottle. Will continue to monitor, and of course burp her as much as possible.

sha,
how old is ur gal? usually at what age do bbs start sleeping thru' the night?

ilovebabies,
ur gal had slight fever after which jab? My gal had her Hep B jab y'day and seemed to be feverish after that altho' the nurse said there shouldn't be any side effects...

E-Ling,
I'm giving my girl size M teats for 'milk'. Works well for her altho' there's usually an initial confusion when she doesn't know how to suckle the teat and may end up sucking too fast and choking. So got to be quick to pull the teat out. But after that initial few suckles, she'll start drinking well.

my son oso using M size NUK teat for EBM - seems 2b doing well

ilovebabies
i dunno leh - i didnt really pay close attn to whether got mucus or not b4 the mens

michelle and ilovebabies, i giving my girl NUK Msize teat for EBM, sometime she may also sucking too fast and get choking but sometime ok leh so i dunno whether to change to S size instead or not.

Hey all,
Just came back from supposedly 2nd 6-in-1 jab in Kinder Clinic. Too bad can't take it b'cos both me and baby are not 100% fit. My bb still has phlegm in her chest and I still have runny nose. I'm supposed to go for my rubella shot today. But I went for pap smear instead. My episiotomy and internal wounds are ok and have obtained green light from gynae.. heehee. My bb at 1.5mth is now 4.8kg and 53cm tall. Head circumference is 37cm. She was 3.2kg and 50cm at birth. I guess she prefer to grow sideway first than up.. ha!

556929.png