(2006/09) SEPTEMBER 2006 MTB

rainnie.. pigeon got sale... u want i sell u mine lahz.. hehe... me not using.. sell u pigeon give u avent free!!! lol...

me not sure when the sale will end.. never ask.. paiseh..

rainnie... think the pnemococcal jab is 168 at our pd if u dun remember wrongly..
if take now muz take 4 lehz.. after 6 months take 3 i think.. then after 1 is 2, after 2 1 jab enough.... so me dunno when i would let enzo take lehz... 4 x 168 is alot lehz!!! but of cos he gets protected sooner lahz...

michelle,
Actually my can of FM was opened long long time ago already from the first day of discharge. We already used up 4/5 of the tin. It was only this 2 weeks that I managed to catch up with her demands. Hope I will not need to open the 2nd tin.

I recall Joon mentioned previously that after the growth spurt, BB's consumption will go back to what it was previously. So I guess you can try to give 100ml again?

From the books that I have read, if the latch is correct, then the nipple shouldn't hurt. Maybe when you go to TMC can get Mrs. Wong to check on BB's latching. You will be bringing BB along right?

I didn't get you PM message, but I have PMed you my MSN ID. Let's chat more over MSN.

Got a question here, can anyone help advise?

For the first time last night, Trinity had her last feed at 11pm and didn't wake up for feed till about 6am. That's a 7 stretch where she usually would have 1 to 2 feeds inbetween. I am happy that we can finally get to sleep longer in the night. However, on the other hand, I am also worried that she is not getting enough milk.

This afternoon she somehow sleep for 4 hours straight twice. Thus making her total consumption for the whole day about 600ml. She usually takes about 750 - 800ml for the past 2 weeks.

Is this normal, or should I wake her up to feed her? I am worried that she will be 'under feed'.

emma
i read in babycentre that boys will not v foreskin till they are much older so there's no need to retract it to clean for now

i'm going to be circumcising my son when he is abt 3 mths old. of course, his grandparents dun agree n hv no idea why we want to subject our son to this pain. but we feel tat in the long run it is better for him as it prevents possibility of an infection in future so isnt it better to suffer now short term than later on suffer long time rite?

rainnie
i will be giving my gal the rota vaccine when i bring her for her 6 in 1 at 3 mths old. i hv 3 pre schoolers at hm so i dun wanna take the risk shld they bring hm virus from sch.

i love babies
pneumonia jab? r u talking abt prevnar? im not sure if i shld giv my gal this vaccine cos its 4 vaccines for bb 6 mth n below! thats really alot of vaccines!

michelle
u circumcising ur son for hygiene reason? i heard its better to do it when they r older, like 3-4 yr old as babies penis n its skin r growing all the time. u consulted ur pd abt this oredy? i hv no heart to do it for my boys. i once saw a boy did it, it was red n sore, so heartpain esp he screaming in pain. but well, its only a few days n he will hv a clean private for the rest of his life.

blessedmommy
actually on the contrary i read its better to do it when they r still in the hospital just 3-4 days after delivery! but we cdnt bear to do it then as well, that's y decided to do it at abt 3 mths. the PD we consulted said its absolutely fine. yes, we're doing it purely for hygiene reasons - like u said, bear wif a few days of pain to enjoy for the rest of his life
besides they wont remember the pain when they're so young so it wont be that traumatic rite

Angeline,
How old is your baby?

My baby is now 7 ~ 8 weeks and she can sleep for 4 to 5 hours that is rather normal. Coz they have developed a sleeping pattern and they don't get hungry easily as well.

ilovebabies,
No problem on the sling. How you getting use to the sling already??

there will time when Sherilyn is fussy just before her bedtime I will put her in the sling and walk around the house and within min she is asleep in it and I can just sit down and watch my TV program in peace without tiring my arms.

I am the walkable / moveable sarong "ya lao". . . hahahaha. . . This trick work almost all the time.

michelle
u r right too. they will not remember the pain if u do it young. when they r older it will be more traumatising for them. the boy whom i saw did his was abt 5 yr old. aiyoh i see also heart pain. which pd surgeon r u using for the circumcision?

michelle... thanx.. i went and read up after i read ur msg.. realli puts me at ease.. but i think i'll still circumcise him... maybe at abt 3-4 months too... cos i think if we wait till 3 - 4 yrs.. they are able to go scratch the wound themselves... which would not be good... so now would be better... hopefully all turns out well...

Angeline.. its normal for babies to zzz and not wake up for feed... rest assured that if your baby is hungry, she'll wake up and make u lose sleep...

babies are able to zzz longer now cos their stomaches have expanded, thus able to hold more milk to be digested over a longer period.. Enzo is now feeding every 4-5 hours.... i am waiting for the day i can zzzzzzz through the night!!!! hehe..

ilovebabies,
S$300+ for 2 jabs, beside 6 in 1 jab what other jab did Rachel had??

if the cost is S$300+ than it is almost the same as polyclince.

which clinic did you go for the jab?

BB wayne is refusing pacificer even though I given him and hold on to it while he suck. After a few suck, he will puke it out.

And now, he is sucking on his thumb instead. I am worried that it become a habit and he will be sucking his thumb and then difficult to kick off this bad habit as he gets older.

Anyone facing this problem as well?

little pony, mi ger suck the pacificer for abt 10-15mins before she puke it out. she is still wearing mittens ... (now 5 weeks and 6 days old) remove it when bathing her she already put her thumb into her mouth .. so i''m also pretty worried when i stop using mittens .. and she suck her thumb

littlepony,
Sherilyn also have this habit but we give her pacificer and it works. At the start she puke out all the time so we have to hold not just a while but for a long while till she get the hang of it.

We just keep washing the pacificer when she puke it out and give it to her again and again and again.

But when she is in my MIL house she do not have any pacificer therefore she feed on her thumb. My MIL dont believed or disliked pacificer so it is another problem. . .sian.

I think all babies just like the sucking as it clam and smooth them down.

I too think it is better to give pacificer rather that they suck their thumb. Sucking their thumb is a terrible habit and it is even hard to get rid of it than pacificer.

But my MIL thinks otherwise. . .so sian.

sha.. me done with that.. now got one last one.. deadline was monday.. lol.. still struggling to complete.. but once that's gone!! yippee!! i'm free!!! till exams that is.. hehe...

how's ur job hunt coming along???

PrincessEmma,
going for a few interview today. . .wish I could get a good one with more $$$ so that I get got goodie stuff for my baby girl. . hehehe. .

When is your examination? I am lucky coz i completed all papers during my first terminster.

rainnie

I forgot to ask for the breakdown of the 6-in-1 and pneumonia jabs that day. See if I rem to ask when I go next time .. which is 2mths later hehe

blessedmommy

i did ask PD if bb can take so many vaccines at one go .. well he assured me that it is ok. So I proceed. Me first time mothers, listen to PD only hehe

btw my sis also circumcise my nephew at birth. She says newborns will not understand the level of pain so it's best to do it as early as possible.

Every baby reacts different to the jabs. My niece and nephew did not develop fever at all since birth after jabs. My rachel temp went up to 37.7 that nite and it subsided after we gave her a dose of medicine.

Sha

hmm my "sling skills" are still not as good as you ! ha !
but as I was shopping in vivocity on Mon, a lot of mothers and MTBs was staring at me ... hmm tot this sarong sling is very common nowadays. There's this ang moh granny who keep staring at me and eventually walk over and peep at rachel and sayang her head ahha

The other jab was vaccinne for Pneumococcal Disease.

We went to Singapore Baby Clinic at GlenE, PD is Dr Ngiam.

Littlepony

Yest i caught Rachel sucking her thumb ! OMG!

nowadays I dont let her wear mittens during the day to air her hands. I guess while I was not looking, she woke up from sleep and start sucking the thumb ! I quickly shove the pacifier into her mouth. She is very receptive to the pacifier, thank goodness. Hai .. how to prevent the sucking ah ?

It is more diff to kick the habit of sucking the thumb leh .. i find that it dont look nice esp when we are outside.

Sha, why do u need to keep washing the pacifierr? I wash it twice a day, morning and nite only. You can cover the pacifier after each use.

eh i understand ur pain .. how to argue with MIL ? u mean she dun mind Sherilyn sucking the thumb ?

Good luck for ur interviews today !!

i ever caught my mom ... taking off her mitten to let her suck her thumb luckily she never coz if she's not hungry she wont wan to suck any thing. only caught her sucking twice when bathing hehe

Check with u ladies on e vac...

According to e PD, he recommend me 5 in 1 for 3rd and 4th mth. After tat, then take 6 in 1. How come some take 6 in 1 straight?? Confused~

mommies
its indeed hard to break thumb sucking habit. my 3rd boy been sucking his thumb since newborn and he reject pacifier. but thank god he only suck his thumb when he wanna sleep and he does not suck his thumb outside. now there is a hard lump on the knuckle of his thumb, v unsightly!

ya now I am on high alert whenever my Rachel is sleeping.. see if she suck her thumb haha

i gave her a small bolster my mum made, for her to learn how to grip with her hands and at the same time, to block the pacifier from dropping out. Hope it works ...

i m deciding between tmc n glenE (either single or double bedded) to deliver my bb due end apr 07.
can d mummies (natural birth w or wo epidural) kindly share w me your hospital bill af medisave deduction?
i wen to d hospitals website n got d pkg fee but i heard tat d actual fees paid n pkg can differ quite a bit.
i delivered my 1st bb at kkh n my ex-employer paid evytg so din check out d bill/cost.
appreciate your help.
tks tks

Chng's wife, if i'm not wrong there's a total of 3-4 jabs for 5 in 1....the very last 5in 1 will go along with hep b 3rd doze.

but some opt to take 5-in-1 together with hep b 2nd doze...tats why loh...

anyone staying near yew tee/cck area? i got 3 pack of pampers dry (S) size to let go leh...cuz dunno isit i dont noe how to put it on for my ger or my ger butt is too big....open 1 pack (use only 1 pc) willing to let go at $25 for 3 packs....if anyone keen can email to me at [email protected]

blessedmommy
i cant remember the name of the PD surgeon but he was recommended by my gynae. i'm goin to see my gynae tmr for the 6th wk check up so will ask him again for the surgeon's name. will let u know once i hv it

sucking thumb?! oh dear.. i hope tat doesnt hapen to my son when i start taking off his mittens! he's still now trying to learn how to suck the pacifier! still the same leh... suck suck then the whole thing fly out :p dunno whether it's cos he still hasnt learned or he really doesnt like it?

i tot if we take 5-in-1 then we dun need to take 6-in-1 anymore? still must take meh? tmr my son oso goin for his vaccination - hep B 2nd jab. hope all will be ok...

eh why everyone worried about baby sucking thumb? i must be clueless or what b'cos i find that very cute! haha. whenever i bathe my bb and take out her mittens she will suck her thumb and i just let her b'cos she looks soooo cute. besides, if sucking her thumb can soothe her so why not let it be? anyway she's not a big fan of the pacifier but she has never had any trouble falling asleep without it. she no longer suckle for comfort too.

sanrio,
if u're still checking out this thread, i gave birth in glenE, double-bedder, normal delivery without epidural, after medisave, final bill is 600+

Sha.. my papers are on the 13 and 17 nov... me starting to put enzo at the nanny for 1/2 day from nov onwards.. me starting to feel the separation anxiety alr.. sigh.. but no choice lahz...

hi sanrio,
my bill @ tmc for 3days 2nite 1bedded with companion(breakfast only), induced forcep delivery with epidural is ard $1600+ cash after medisave.
e bill varies depending on gynAe n PD charges too.

sha,
my BB is 5 weeks 2 days old. Should I wake her up routinely to feed her? Are you very good with the sling? I am thinking of buying a MIM or babyHugz, can teach me how to use too?

How do you know when to increase the milk intake huh? My gal's been having 100ml / feed for the past 2 weeks now. How do I know should I increase the amt? Now that she is sleeping longer in the night, should i give her more for her night feed?

Chng's wife,
I wanted to give my bb the new 6 in 1 jabs (to be taken in the 2nd, 3rd & 5th month) as recommended by the hospital PD. However I change to another PD ard my home area and he advised me to let bb take the 2nd dose hep B in the 1st month, followed by 5 in 1 during the 3rd & 4th month and then 6 in 1 (which is inclusive of the 3rd dose of hep B) in the 5th month. Understand that this is the modified 6 in 1 immunisation schedule. He discouraged the new 6 in 1 cos he doesn't like bb to take fever medi in the 2nd month and advised us to wait til 3rd month then take the 5 in 1 (both 6 in 1 and 5 in 1 may cause fever) cos he believe bb is stronger then for the medi. I think he belongs to the more traditional and conservative type. But I have heard that fever incurred for the 6 in 1 is not as bad as the 5 in 1. So at the end of the day, it's your preference.

Michelle,
Same like you, I also feel shooting pain whenever bb latch on my right breast. I went to see Mrs Wong too but there was nothing she could do for me, ie latch position is correct, no thrush infection, bb sucking well. She said could be raw nerves in the breast tissues. She claimed it could be the pump that has caused me the "damage" (but I dun feel as sore when I am pumping leh). In the end, my gynae advised me to latch on my left and to pump on the right so that my right breast can recover 1st. Have been pumping on the right for the past 2 days and I just latch bb, surprisingly (thank goodness!) there was no pain except when he "bites". You may want to try pumping to let your breasts rest for a while first? But it'll be good to let the professionals take a look and give you some reassurances and advices.

Hi Joon,
Is the lilyzpad really good? Saw you got another pair in the other thread
. Thought of getting one too cos of sore nipples and leakage pro. It was hard plastic, rite? Abit same like breast shields except without the flat rubbery thing behind, is it?

Ilovebabies,
Yes she doesnt mind Sherilyn sucking her thumbs but not the pacifier. . funny logic right.

So tired of interview. . haiz. .

Baby will not get rid of sucking as it soothe and clam them. As they get older they will not suck pacifier anymore instead they will talk back and argue with you then you will miss those days that they only know how suck. . hahahaha.

The sling is common but not everyone enjoying or know how to use it. The same here - eyes staring at me when I sling Sherilyn and go shopping. I think some are wondering whether I am the maid or the mother . . hahahaha. . . so I think I better wear nice nice and put on some make-up.

Rannie,
you are lucky as not all babies love bathing lor.

PrincessEmma,
Take is as training coz eventually you have to go back to work by then you would not have that missing feeling.

Anyway, your nanny and baby have to develop the chemistry between them as well so half day training is good enough.

Angline,
Do wake your baby up when they are asleep. It will be automatic. . hahaha. . .whenever your baby is hungry she will cry for milk then you feed her.

No problem can teach and demonstrate to you how to use the sling. I do a lot of practice at home coz my baby love to sleep in the sling and it makes carrying her around easily as well. Get the satin one and cotton reasoning being Satin is much softer and airy baby will like it.

Monitor the way your baby drink milk if she finishes the whole bottle of 100ml and still cry than you should increase the intake slowly to 120ml and monitor again.

I notice that my baby drink more when she is in deep and long sleeps, she can drink up to 125ml especially in the middle of the night but in the day time she only drink about 80ml or less depend on her mood.

Sha.. ya lohz... sooner or later also muz let him go to the nanny's... so now practice first lohz.. furthermore, Enzo is starting to recognise pple... only i can put him to zzz now.. so if i dun send him to nanny soon, tsk tsk tsk....

aniwayz.. good luck for ur job hunt!!! me wanna be a sahm and teach tuition from home.. but my mother objects violently!!! sigh.... and i dunno if i can get a steady flow of students either... so many qn marks... its such a major decision!!!

Sha,
I was thinking for going to MIM shop tomorrow. So you suggest either the cotton twill or cotton sateen issit? But MIM website no more cotton sateen leh. I was considering the thai silk, no good issit?

<font color="aa00aa">ilovebabies, domesticgoddess</font>,
i rem u gals mentioned ur bbs had reflux. HOw often was the vomiting? Was it every feed? My gal regurgitates almost every other feed, sometimes just little trickles from corner of the mouth, sometimes more.. like a mouthful of milk. Then yesterday she actually vomitted quite a lot... maybe 15ml? And at another feed, dunno if it was a sneeze, but suddenly she had milk spitting out forcefully fr her nose and mouth! Both happened while she was suckling.

I try to carry her semi-upright during and after every feed to keep the milk down. Doesn't work every time. Am afraid to hold her forward to burp in case she spits out again, but not burping properly will make it worse... Does it sound like reflux to u??

Angeline,
Get the light weight type not the pure cotton. Pure cotton will be too warm and not comfy for your baby. Thai silk is also good.

PrincessEmma,
Sherilyn also the same here only me can put her to sleep my hubby did try but she do not like it and make so much noise. I guess they are use to mummy moreover they have been in our tummy for so long plus we BF then so I think they prefer mummy to daddy as for now. . hehehehe. . . the smell of love and comfy. . hahahaha.

Provide tuition at home. . wow. You can try those day care centre or tuition school not too long hours as well - I think. Go check it out.

puppylove,
you might want to check if your baby has lots of wind in the tummy. Per my understanding if baby have lots of wind in their tummy they tend to throw the milk and they get very irritated easily especially during the night time.

Try giving her woodwards grip water every morning for one week and monitor again.

Hi Sha, where to get the grip water?

btw, do you all find your babies tossing around very hard and struggling when they pass motion? My baby always looks very uncomfy with face all red during that time. Also she has lots of gases. After the stool and gases were all out, she looks much at ease. It's quite painful to watch her only but cannot help. Could it be due to the fenugreek that I only started to take 3 days ago??

Megan,
you can get the grip water from any of the TCM hall, just tell them it is for baby wind in the tummy and they will know it is a very old brand and I use it when I am a baby.

Sherilyn will toss and stretch till her face red during passing motion once the stools is out she feel so at ease and happy.

I think it is rather normal just like us adult when we need to pass motion we sure feel uncomfortable or painful rush all the way to toilet and push hard after which we feel so at ease as well. Dont worry about it. Instead I find it rather interesting watching her passing motion, when she is done I will change her diaper and she will smile or laugh. So cute.

Last night was a "miracle" Sherilyn had her feed at 10:30pm and she went into the play mode. We just put her down in her bed and let play by herself till about 11+ close to 12 I carry and coax her to sleep and she sleep all the way till 5:30am this morning for her milk!!! WOW !!!

And I feed her 130ml and she finishes up the whole bottle of milk. . .hahahaha. . anyway yesterday she did not sleep much during the day that is why she is so tired and sleepy.