(2006/09) SEPTEMBER 2006 MTB

edksd

aiyah u shld have told us !!! cos Rachel is always crying so loudly during bath .. v sim tia ... ehe but it's better late than never ya !! will try out later for her evening wash up !

<font color="aa00aa">ilovebabies</font>,
thanks! i've decided to bring bb to the polyclinic for the jabs. ;)

on bathing, i learnt fr parentcraft to place a washcloth on bb's chest as a security blanket. Works for her! ;)

Hi to all,

I wonder if anyone has this problem. My gal has this big piece of "pi sai" in the nose since Monday. I thought she would be able to sneeze it out in a few days. Sometimes can hear her snort coz of that, kinda comical hearing that :p

It isnt causing any problem. Anyone knows of any tricks to get rid of it?

Shirlyn

i have i have ! Rachel has this big sticky pi sai which makes her breathing noisy. I used Pigeon nasal cleanser to suck it out but not successful cos it was real sticky. But it came out on its own the next day. prob i have managed to move it out a little using the cleanser. otherwise I would have leave it there cos I dont think there's anything I can do.

ilovebabies

I've heard comment that the nasal cleanser does not work for the dry one, more for mucus. Anyway, I might give it a try if it still doesnt come out by next weekend.

I have this urge to stick something to remove it. I know, i know, it is BIG no-no.

edksd,
I think the rental is $7/day for 1 week, or $5/day for 1 month. I started with 1 week and extended to 1 month. My baby also has a tendency to stare into space. Our family says she's playing with the angels, cos she is usually smiling when she does this.

emoments,
I just realised that we delivered at the same hospital and your date was 1 day before me. Perhaps we attended some of the lactaction and parentcraft lessons together?

Little Pony,
Wow, potty training a 1 month old. What an accomplishment. My mum keeps telling me I should teach my girl how to shh shh at the prompt of our 'signal', but I keep thinking she is too young to know. I guess I was wrong and should also start potty training her. You really are a good DIL for being so obedient. My mum still thinks that I have not taken a shower to date, but actually my hubby and I 'pah kat' and I always shower in our room's bathroom late at night when everyone else in the house in asleep.

Michelle,
We only went out with BB once so far. But yes, we did but EBM in cooler bag and brought a flask of hot water too. Joon's suggestion of getting hot water from coffee shop is great. However, it happened that BB got hungry when we were in the taxi and luckily we were able to warm the milk up for her in the taxi and feed her promptly before she started wailing.

PrincessEmma,
My BB makes alot of noise when she is pooing and peeing too. I think some babies are just not yet acustom to the feeling of passing motion, etc. I am sure that my BB is not constipated cos she poos many times a day (almost with every feed) and her stools are rather watery (she is on EBM)

cereal,
my mum actually wanted to shave BB's hair on her full month, but we told her NO WAY ! We comprimised with a quick trim so she can still have a chance to keep BB's 'tai mao' with the umbilical cord. Your photos of Keira are so cute. My BB doesn't really like to be naked. We have no chance to see her so happy undressed.

ilovebabies,
thanks for the tip on soothing BB during bath, I will give it a try too.

I second the gathering for us Sep'06 mums. I would love to be able to have a chance to meet all of you before I return to HK in mid Nov.

joon, cereal, sure! will let you know once we have playdates going.

GATHERING
Hey! Hey! I am still "suffering"... my confinement won't ends till 10th Nov. Sob! sob!
But do go ahead and organise a gathering, but must post lots of pictures. Then organise another one lah, so Nicholas and I can join in.

cereal, we not shaving bb's head too. Don't believe the myth.

Angeline, are you returning to HK for good?

LittlePony, I almost fell off my chair when I read the amount of tonic you had. Wow.. actually I don't mind eating them if only someone here can cook it well. Your MIL actually can be bothered to cook so much for you! My MIL only "talks", no action kind.

Today Nicholas threw up 3 times. First time was after my MIL burped him and some cottage-cheese like stuff came out of his mouth. Quite a lot leh.

Then he slept for 4 hrs and when I woke him up to BF, he latched well for 10min on one side, fell asleep and when I removed him from breast, he threw up so much milk. Changed him and started rooting so I thought must still be hungry, put him on the other breast and fed well for 10 more min. Then when I removed him from breast as he fell asleep, he threw up a lot of milk again.

Now it makes me wonder if he is suffering from reflux. Aiyo, if he is, it is going to be painful for everyone..

anyone of your bb went through above before?

i know it is common for newborn to posset (threw up a bit of milk) but this seems like a lot of milk, though he is not throwing up like the merlion-style which is definitely considered vommiting.

domesticgoddess

my gal was suffering from reflux also. PD prescribed RIDWIND to be given to her two times a day. And to elevate her after every feed for abt 30 mins. It does helps and now I think she is much better as she is able to burp easily and seldom regurtitate milk. And she fart a lot more now ahhaha ..

probably her digestive system has matured ?

Haaa!! For those who heard how much liquor and ginger i have taken and fallen off the chair... hmm... i myself have fallen off the chair coz unknowingly, i didn't know that i have taken so much.. only at the very last stage, my MIL told me. haa! And guess what, all the confinement food i have taken cost up to $2k. I can't believe it myself! .........

And today, my last confinement dish of the night is fried rice mixed with beans and ginger... and of coz , a super big bowl of chicken soup!

And since the day i delivered, i have been drinking chicken essence everyday without fail.. so i have also consumed a total of 40 bottles of chicken essence.

Now, i am wondering if my husband could sponsor me to a slimming course! Haaaaaa! Shit.....my weight hasn't decrease significantly!!

Cereal,
finally get to see how Keira looks like.....hey, i love the pictures you posted it on!

So how about the shaving of hair? have you decided where to shave?

Ilovebabies,
I am going to try not removing the mittons off Wayne's hands when he bathe. Every bath is always a challenge. When he cry, my heart very pain each time.. coz he cry until no sound one leh.. u know that kind of cries lor!!!
Today, my mil bathe him and he also cry.. and i tried holding his hands.. and he quieten down quite a lot.. then i realised, he worry he fall in the bath tub!

Littlepony

wah wah i am really impressed by your confinement !!

yeah so I guess my Rachel is not the only baby who fuss during bathing hehhe

ya she does cry till voice break and sometimes I realise her voice is abit coarse due to the constant crying. Really v sim tia.

and hor sometimes I have to sing to my rachel to clam her down ...heh somehow she loves to listen to my singing and she will "oooh ahhh" with me when I sing !! amazing !

ilovebabies,
haaa! well, i am thinking since i am doing confinement at my mil's plc , i might as well just listen to her lor! haa! make my life easier mah.. and i still have to rely on her to take care of Wayne in future.. haaa!

She's very happy with me and err.. I SCORE POINTS lor! haaaa!!!! hyprocrite hoh! haaa!!

Ya.. me too.. very sim tia leh.. and i pat his back to ease his crying.. and he started sobbing!!

Btw, Wayne doesn't like sucking pacificer leh!! Hmm... he kept puking it out!

Wow, didn't realise tt so many bbs here didn't like baths too! I thought DN was the only one.
Thank goodness I now know abt the mittens!

Little pony,
U are a very good girl. Congrats on ur last day of confinement!
Aiyoh, u really drank so much chicken essence? I think my MIL will want to exchange DIL with ur MIL! hahahaaa...

Cereal,
Tt's a great idea! Count me in if there's going to be a meet-up
Gotta be after the haze though... my hb, parents and PIL will all scream if I bring bb out in this weather.

DG,
No worries, we can wait til after 10 Nov! Looks like the bloody haze is here to stay for a while longer

Angeline,
When u returning to HK?

ilovebabies,
Spa bath! hahahaha! Must be!

<u>PI SAI</u>
I don't clean DN's nose at all. I just wait for the stuff to "come out" or at least, come close to the edge so I can pick it out. Is it necessary to get a special nasal cleaner?

my son oso join the club for hating baths! and all along i just tot he liked being a dirty bb cos every time bathe oso cry until no sound come out one. will def try out the mitten trick tmr

as for the pi sai in the nose, i oso wait until he sneeze so that it is pushed further out n nearer to the edge of the nostril so that we can use cotton bud to twirl it out. otherwise if its far in there's no way to get it out. btw, a fren of mine told me tat if u wanna remove the snot, do it first thing in the morning cos tat;s when its still wet so easier to remove

hi mummies.....

anyone of u put ur baby on "yaolan" already?? Zhaohui is 2 months old today... me n hubby bought an electric "yaolan" for him just now cause i'm already so so tired n my hands r so so painful carrying him for hours everyday. *cross my finger* he seems to like e yaolan very much, just hope he can zzz better with tat. But i'm also worried tat he will be addicted to it. Anyway without e yaolan... he already demand me to rock n swing him to sleep everyday.

Joon,
Sherilyn now can sleep for 4 hours and drink about 125ml per Avent milk bottle . . .hehehe. . Not that bad lor.

Littlpony,
You ate up one year supply of ginger. . Maybe two years . hahahaha. . I salute you TOO!!

Ilovebabies,
So far so ok lor.

Pi Sai,
Sherilyn have a lot of it coz my poor baby come back home from the hospital with nose infection the stupid PD in MtE could not detect it. What I did I have this small little tweezers that is meant for nail art, to put out the Pi Sai in the nose with a pair of steady and gentle hand so far so good and it clear her nose with no harm. But I never go deep, sound dangerous right??

BOM BOM TIME (Bathing Time)
So there are many babies that cry a lot during bath time. . hehehe. . at least Sherilyn is not alone. But she has improved now. . .as I try not to let her mitten during the day but of coz I cut / trim / file her finger nails every 3 to 5 days. I am training her to be brave . . hahahahaha.

Elaine,
Nope. I am worried about putting bb in yaolan... especially if next time, i am bringing bb to my mum's plc or anywhere, i worry.. they don't sleep unless they are put in yaolan. But that's only my worry lah.

And yes, i know how tiring it is to carrying him for hours... coz i am doing that as well.

hi littlepony,
tat's my worries too but I compared e time he will stay @ home than bringing him out... I still give in to getting a yaolan for him cos he is super demanding n i'm taking care of him alone, really tired to carry for hrs unless he is really deep zzz if not after I put him down for awhile he will start screaming again. I just got to cross my fingers tat he Can zzz if I carry n rock him when there is no yaolan.. hai wat to do

elaine,
i know what you mean..haaa!! it's tiring and i have to admit that if taking care alone, then really no time to eat too! haaaa!!!

It's okie lah. every kid is different.. your worries may not be worries.. perhaps your kid will adapt very well when there's no yaolan

Yaolan??

I was apprehensive about putting my gal in one at first. I did not want her to rely on it to sleep. Anyway, coz of "unforeseen circumstances", she is now sleeping in one. She sleeps in yaolan in the day and she seems to sleep longer and better. I think she is not that easily startled. Any noise,i.e. garung guni man with the horn, she would have that startle reflex - both hands stretched outwards.

In the night, she sleeps in her cot. So far, already 1 week, everything is alright!

DG, Joon,
I'll be returning to HK on the 15th, it will be good if we can meetup before then. Haiz, have to go back, settle down at home for 2 weeks and back on the office in Dec. I sure will miss taking care of baby then.

PI SAI, my PD taught me how to clear. I used wet cotton bud to dig out the pi sai, i can manage well and clear those deep inside one.

ilovebabies, i also had that model of the fridge to go cooler bag, i think that is the only one that is able to maintain cold for 16hrs. i got it free from TMC one of the PD clinic, the clinic nurse give it free to me one

i love babies
i thought rotavirus is oral vaccine? why need to jab as well?

with regards to pi sai, i use pigeon nasal cleanser, so far it works. my gal's those dry but sticky type blocking the nasal airway at times affecting her feeding. the trick is to suck deep but gently a few times.

hi ilovebabies, how long hv u been giving bb ridwind? PD asked me to give 3 times a day, when bb is better, one time a day. i gave bb 3 times a day for 2 days. after tt i gave 1 time a day for 3-4 days. and then stop giving. he's still throwing up milk. shld i continue? i read somewhere tt some just drop a drop into the milk instead of giving 0.5ml directly to bb thru the syringe.

thanks for the tip, blessedmommy
i shall go get it later, i think the baby feels upset wtih the snot in her nose.

e-ling
i dare not use the cotton bud. i think it's too "dangerous", might even push it even further into the nostril.

PI SAI,

no point buying the equipment to suck out the mucus!!! I bought 2 different kind, 1 is using hand to squeeze the pump to succk out the other 1 is using mouth to suck. Both doesnt work at all! So please dont waste ur $$$ on the equipments...use tissue or cotton bud will do! cheap and good

my ger loves bathing! She sometime will cry after bf! becoz she wants to bath and once my mom start preparing her barang barang for her bath she kept quiet and start to wait patiently!!! ;)

E-ling,
U're very lucky to get a free cooler bag!

Rainnie,
U have a water baby there! Must let her take swimming lessons, I'm sure she'll love it! hahaha...

<u>Gathering</u>
Yeah! Let's do it
before we all go back to work
... I can help organise too... DG's confinement ends 14Nov, Angeline's going back to HK 15 Nov... any suggestions when we shld meet up? Suggestions where?

blessedmommy, my PD told me ... if the PI sai doesnt irrtates her/him just leave it. My ger nose very senstives....every day also got mucus inside her nose. So no choice! when its nearer the outer layer I will use cotton bud or tissue to make it out.

U may go to kiddy palace or NTUC fairprice they do sell small version of cotton bud

Unless ur baby is having breathing difficulties, then u might want to try using the following method --> use ur mouth to suck them out! thats what my mom told me which works on one of her friend's baby and my hb colleague's bb!!!

GAthering
It's ok if you gals want to go ahead and have the first gathering this month or early Nov. I can always join the next time.
Anyhow, thanks Joon for being always so sweet to want to wait for me.

THROWING UP
So only ilovebabies and edksd's bb have thrown up?

ilovebabies, when does your bb start to get better? at 4 weeks or earlier? how often did she throw up before you started the medicine?

Nicholas was up feeding at 2am, 4am, 6am, 8am and 10am. Each time he would cry and root and suckle real well for about 10min, then start pushing the breast away. for some feeds, he suckle longer.At the 10am feed, he fed for only 3 min and then started fussing. When we burped him, he threw up so much that looks like at least 50-60ml!! Anyone has experienced this before?

joon, yalohz...when my ger is older i intend to bring her go swimming keke

ilovebabies, do u have the link to the BP for the fridge-alike thing u mention earlier? I'm keen to get one....

Gathering? together with baby or only mummies?

hi ds, 50-60ml is quite a lot. mine is abt 1-3ml only.

usually after breastfeeding, sometimes i burp, sometimes i dun. coz if i burp, he'll wake up again. but my purpose is to make him sleep. so i dun burp. and later i realise he puked out some milk in his sleep.

nowadays i try to burp. even w burping, sometimes he still pukes out in his sleep. so i try to let him stay vertical for longer while before putting him to bed.

elaine

i put Rachel in the yaolan at my mum place too. But i dont rock her to sleep.
but she dont seem to like it. Sometimes only when she is in deep sleep, we put her in the yaolan.

eling

wah TMC clinic so good ??? the bag is FOC ? sure or not ????

blessedmommy

hehe ya wrong info .. i haven decide whether to give Rachel the rotavirus vacinne. Very ex.. one dose cost $160.
A total of 2 doses to be taken. PD says kids up to 5 years will get a severe diarhoea once so i duno whether shld take or not.
how abt u ?

edksd, domesticgoddess

i have been using RIDWIND for a few weeks. Initially i gave Rachel once a day. After we saw the PD again, she says it's ok to give twice daily.
So I put in the EBM and feed her. She seem to be able to burp much easier and she seldom regurtitate milk now. I will monitor and reduce the dosage accordingly.

She starts to get better after we use RIDWIND a few weeks ago, which is after she turns 1 mth old.
Before she take this medicine, she throw up a few times a day. V sim tia. SOmetimes thru the nose too and she will cry out loud !

btw when they throw up, do u think they throw up the stomach acid as well ?

rainie

the BP taken place a few months ago when I was still pregnant. Look under the marketplace thread in this forum.

oh gals

btw, today tried out the mitten trick on Rachel again and it works !! Me so happy !

she was so kuai during bathing and smiling all the way !!!

So have u gals tried ?

WE shld share such tricks in future... it really benefit us !

i love babies
haha.. for once i tot mine is wrong info. pd recommend me to take for my gal cos i hv 3 preschoolers at home, scared they bring virus hm from school. but she say if bb is only child at hm not nec to take. but it depends on individual i guess. is it 2 doses? i tot my pd said one dose only n to be given when the bb reach 3 mths max. btw, u taken the 6 in 1 for rachel? how much u pay?

rannie, thks for the info. yah most of the time the pi sai doesnt irritate bb but it does irritate me hee.. but i can tell she quite uncomfortable with it.

DG
my pd say spitting up milk is quite common. but if it occurs at almost every feed n in large vol u may hv to watch out for reflux. try to elevate bb after every feed n smell if the bb breath is sour not. if yes, most prob is reflux. u can try the rid wind. i find it good too.

blessedmommy

ya my PD said two doses leh. I paid $300+ for the 6-in-1 jab. Ya she took her first jab yesterday on the thigh. So sim tia when I saw the PD jab her ! But he was fast so her cries where short.

eh I cant stand the pi sai also.

Btw gals, when we get back to work, how are going to sterilise the pump ? I think most of us will express twice in the ofc. So can we sterilise once at home before we leave for work ? How do we store the sterilised pump then ?

ilovebabies, I tried looking thru the forum ... dun have any more
saw another forum selling @ 40 plus...so ex ...
but it seems so gd to use leh!

I oso have the same question..how to steralise our pump when we are back in the office...can use hot water rinse it?

i love babies
thks for the info. i will check with pd again. wow the 6 in 1 so exp! some pd r v good at giving jabs so our babies "sufferings" r shortened haha..

i read somewhere that we only need to sterilise our pumps once a day. the rest of the time maybe just use hot water. not sure if this is the practise by working moms.

btw, any of u taking the prevnar jabs for ur babies?

hi gals, i am also a sept mum and like to join you folks

My son is coming to 6 weeks and i am on DBF. very xiong and tiring ..

re : throwing up
DG, My son also regurtitate rather often and when i asked the PD, she told me is rather normal for baby < 3 mths old leh.. But for my case, i think he really has a lot of 'wind' so i bought infacol and now he is able to burp much easier (in fact, sometimes, he will burp himself when i hold him upright) Also, after feed, have to keep him upright for at least 15 mins before i put him back to his bed. The condition seems to improve

I have questions for those on DBF as my boi seems to be hungry every hour - only daytime (nightime is pretty consistent - every 2 hourly. somethimes, i am so amazed, he seems to have an alarm clock to remind him of the time..hahah . During Day time, the problem is he always drink a bit each feed and that's explain why he needs to feed so often... sigh.. do you have the same problem. I am thinking of pumping out and feed him instead so that i know that he is getting the right amount and probably not require to feed every hour.

sterilize pumps --> maybe those using dual pump have to use one at a time.. then u can bring 2 sets of funnels and use them at different times... then no need to sterilize at work alr..

Joon.. thanx for the reassurance on the menses thingy... aniwayz... it has stopped.. not even one wet pad... but it was fresh blood for a while... so weird right... sounds pretty abnormal to me....

pi sai --> me use small cotton buds to help enzo remove them too... 100 cotton buds for juz $2 from daiso.. v good.. smaller than those i see at kiddy palace..

vomitting --> the other day i accompanied my sil and my nephew to take his flu jab at his pd.. enzo vomitted all his milk there.. so i immediately asked the PD why.. he said that babies vomit when they drink too much... that's the most common reason he claims... cos when bbs are hungry, they tend to drink too much too fast, their small intestines cannot handle, so they vomit... i was told not to worry...

DG,
oh yes i just recalled pd said throwing up of milk will improve by the time baby is 6 weeks old. so is all those baby acne that u see on their face. seems like 6 wks is the "magic" number.

ilovebabies, yah lor the nurse give me free cos i actually when there just to get the catalogue and the supplier contact number so the nurse very good know i wanna buy and she give me her one that the supplier gave to her for free cos she dun need it.

I chose 5 in 1 jab which recommended by PD which cost me $590.

yah lor i also wondering how to sterilise the pump, maybe i will bring my Avent manual pump and my electric single pump so can use two time. Wondering whether manual pump part can connect to the single electric pump motor or not? How u all wanna bring the pump to work? Buy a travel bag??

ilovebabies, your boss allow u to pump at 10am and 2pm? Normally at home i will take my own sweet time and pump using 45 to 1hr, wondering i can go work can cut short the pumping session to 15 to 20mins or not cos i wanna to discuss with my boss whether can break my lunch time into 20min (to pump at 10.30), 20mins (to have my lunch) and the next 20mins (to pump at 2.30am) or not. Perhap she may be good and allow me to pump and give me 1 full hour for lunch. Haha dreaming...

shirlyn, i will wait until my girl sleep then dig the pi sai out and i dun need to put the cotton real deep into the nasal, i just need to make wet the cotton bud and clear the side one then it will bring out together with the deep inside one.

when u all go back to work, still intend to wake up in the middle of the night to pump milk?
Now i already start to only wake up pump after 7hour of sleep at night. When going to work, will drag to 8hrs. If not very tire when work due to insuffient sleep