(2006/09) SEPTEMBER 2006 MTB

puppylove,
This is what the LC told me.
As baby grows, they will learn to suck better / stronger. Thus, they can suck more out in the same period of time. Also the breast will adapt to the sucking pattern of the baby and be able to 'spray' out more according to baby's sucking strenght.

my fren told me cannot eat bread cos its got yeast which contains 'air so obviously that'snot gd rite. dunno whether is old wive's tale or not tho. anyway eat in moderation shd be ok i guess

hey, my lochia actually decreased until very little for the last 5 days and i coud just wear a panty liner. however today suddently a lot again and a chunk of blood clot actually came out. is this normal ah? now i have to wear those overnite pads again

i cant stay in bed all day eiter cos it'll drive me nuts wtih boredom! i hv been watching dvd , surfing and walking ard the house. initially pple ard me nag and say i need to rest but after a while i think they give up on me liao. hee hee

nappy cream
Agree that we don't have to use it at every nappy change as too much chemical is bad for their skin, unless we use organic brands which are just ridiculously priced. if need to, use sparingly.

emma, I always stock up on nappies and baby wipes. Cheaper in the long run.

mummy_of_rhys, if Rhys is going thru growth spurts, just feed on demand. it usually only last for a few days. some babies take up to 50% more per feed, some just need to eat more frequently.

mummie_of_rhys, no need to give Rhys water which will take away his appetite, unless he constipates badly due to his FM intake.

puppylove, bb just become more efficient eaters as they grow, like what Angeline said. My galfriend bf both her children in 10 min each feed when they were 7 months old.. and they were big babies so eat a lot.. must be super efficient eating machine.

crystallized, good for you!!!
I can fully understand how you feel.... and so nice to see how much you are enjoying motherhood already.

Are you returning to work or going to be SAHM?? Looks like you are going to be the kind cut out to be SAHM... hee hee..

angeline,
My heart ached when I read your post. And I am truly so happy for you that you managed to overcome all the pressures and persisted.

IMO, it is most important that your hb is 100% supportive of your wish to TBF. So do engage your hb's help, support and understanding to fend off all negativity so you can concentrate on your bf.. worse case, just tell your non-supportive family that YOU are the MOTHER and you WILL do what is BEST for YOUR Trinity. (sorry, if this sounds rude and blunt, but I did exactly when I felt enough is enough. I told my mum, aunt and MIL off).

Your BM supply WILL definitely catch up with demand eventually. See, just 3 days and output has increased!! JIA YOU!

i made the mistake of not being rude enuf that's why failed in DBF. but at least i insisted on pumping out BM and now bb is on TBM - llucky never listen n give in to my mom again cos she say pump n pump waste time n i need to rest more blah blah blah...

now i realise how challenging it really is to DBF. if i hv a no.2, i will certainly not make the same mistakes i did this time around.

domesticgoddess
how is ur baby progress? any signs? when is the latest that u will hv to deliver?

me SAHM? i wish ah! heee, much as i wish to b a SAHM, (this has not occurred to me b4 i delivered but now i see my bb, i juz wanna spend all my time wif him!) it will not b feasible financially. so option is out.

hey thats wat i told my mum oso! i will surely wan the best 4 my own baby. who wants to starve ur own baby rite?

like Angeline's baby, mine had at certain timing, demanded to b BF almost hourly. but i persisted and BF on demand. so far, family members did not comment or discourage as they knew i am v persistent on DBF. even my hb is on my side now. so wif a supportive hb, thats half the battle won. and oh, i kept telling my hb tt we shall prove to them BF babies can b easily as chubby & rosy as FM babies. (i am not trying to put down the mummies whom r on FM.) juz tt this is a misconception and i wish to correct it. i tell my boy to do me proud so the effort spent BFG him is well worth it.

michelle, we all learn from mistakes and I have learnt tons... At least it is not too late for you still and your bb is on TBM!

crystallized, actually don't know when is the latest bb has to be delivered, though last Sat visit (on my EDD), gynae said if bb and placenta are still healthy and I am not too tired, can afford to wait till week 43! I think that is CRAZY!

Actually I am also confused now if I have been experiencing tightening/contractions etc.. the past 2 weeks.. this morning i decided to take some time off to paragon myself (while hb took marcus to zoo) and just after 10 min walk, i felt some tightening on lower abdomen. but it stopped after a while and no recurrence until half hr ago.. now it seems to be back every 10 min... but my bb is also moving inside while i feel the tightening.. so i don't know if it is bb's moving that is causing it or is it contractions..

mummies, how ah?? though this is my #2, i never had experience with contractions before as marcus was delivered via elective c-sect.. so never felt contractions.

crystallized, actually i have seen lots of TBF bb at TMC before who looked like 8 months old when in fact they were only 5 months. No joke!!
Super chubby.. i think their mothers' milk very "bu". LOL!

hey, i read from oct thread you have lost all preggie weight, except for the last 1kg...envy!!!

domesticgoddess
hey if the pain gets stronger and closer together, then its definitely contractions! so just monitor closely n see how it goes. so excited for u.. cd this be it?!!

haha :D anyway how come your dr suggest keeping until wk 43 ah? i tot it's not very gd to go beyond 40 wks cos may hv other complications?

i am very impressed over mommies who's trying hard to DBF with no support from the family! Jia you! I hope you can think of us as a "family" who supports your course!

also, another 2 cents, i know that our heart aches when we see bb cry and tend to supply FM if we think she's hungry but why not latch her again and see how she goes from there? she will be forced to learn how to suckle properly. i have my periods of bb's growth spurt and i let her suckle as much as she wants for 3 hours in the middle of the night. i was so stressed that i am tempted to give her FM but I thought of a win-win situation and persisted. i'm glad i did b'cos i later learnt that by doing so, bb is telling my body to supply more milk for her in future, b'cos her demand of milk will increase.

angeline,
really admire your spirit and your goals. keep it up! and i think that since i'm on TBF/DBF, my bb must've been able to suck stronger 'cos i can only manage to BF her for 20mins at most. sharp contrast with 1hr that someone mentioned here. my breast can leak furiously and if i squeeze, it can spray milk too. so duration doesn't matter right as long as baby is satisfied? also, till now i have no idea if my breast is empty or not. i just have this thought that i will always have enough milk for the bb.

michelle,
if i follow my mother's cue, my BM would've dried up and i can't BF my bb anymore. both my mom and my sis only DBF at most 1 month then they give up b'cos it's inconvenient and they can't stand the engorgement fever. luckily there's internet and group support like this so we're more informed of what to do whenever something undesirable happen. i'm glad most of us are still here to lend our support else i don't think we can BF for long.

oh me using pureen brand for nappy rash. can't tell if it's good or not b'cos i just started using. but so far ok lah since my bb never fuss over her nappy rash.

domesticgoddes,
i'll be back to work on early December. already, thinking about work upsets me b'cos i'll be away from bb and since i can't even pump out much, i don't know how bb can survive without me. you think the lactation consultant can teach me how to pump or not? I'm so dumb. so far if I'm engorged and baby is asleep, I just express manually with hand. at most i can get 75ml only but that rarely happens. and what to do if only one breast is engorged? do we need to feed bb more from that breast?

emoments,
my mom is not strict about confinement at all and i can eat bread but i hardly do so as i find myself always thirsty rather than hungry. if im hungry, i'll just have a bit of rice and whatever dish my mom cooks, half of the usual serving and i make it up by taking twice the regular serving of water. like i say i am always thirsty!

babyzucchini,
haha now i have tbf buddy. jia you!

pupplylove,
i think they might take longer if they need more milk but only for a while b'cos after a while our body will listen to the bb's cue and probably milk will flow faster, thus the time taken might go back to normal and bb will still be full. make sense or not? i dunno, i'm a first time mommy learning everyday hehehe.

mummy_of_rhys,
if bb is on growth spurt, do feed him whenever he wants to. he is telling your body to make more milk. don't follow what the book says, listen to your instinct and listen to the bb's cue. sometimes i feed my bb every hour b'cos she will cry for milk but i dont find it strange b'cos after a few days, she'll be back to her 2-3 hourly feed again and she is more chubby now!! my visitors already noticed. so happy liao.

elaine,
congrats on being a TBF convert!

riushiki,
my bb is unusually noisy when sleeping at night sometimes even cry but when we checked her, she's just having a nitemare and sleeping soundly. my mom said it's normal so we thought nothing of it. no white noise, i think my hubby's snoring has become "white noise" to her.

sasha,
another TBF buddy. how do you cope TBF and having running toddlers around the house? you're exacty like my aunt. she has 3 kids and one newborn and she's TBF mainly b'cos of economical reason. but don't TBF actually makes pple like us smell like milk all the time? haha.

i was 61kg before pregnancy but lost 3kg during my 1st trimester. at full term pregnancy, i was 66kg. so total gain is 5kg or 8kg? i dunno. but today i weighed myself and i was so thrilled to learn that i am now 51kg only! wooooot!!! started to feel like i was a swinging single before marriage! haha.

hi edksd,
oh... tat time he was admitted with jaundice level 19 n Dr Ong prescribed Enfalac HA for him. Then he was discharged with jaundice level 8.3 but after discharged he jaundice came back again.... so till now he is still very yellow... wonder when his jaundice will goes off...

wah melissa! envy your weight loss man!!! if i only i can be like dat too. guess teh DBF really helps huh! i got a looong way to go leh. btw, any idea if pumping out milk burns as much calories as DBF?

i like your comment "BF wd hv dried up" hee hee... funny

wow! melissa, you are 10kg lighter than your pre-pregnancy weight??? OMG!!

A LC can advise you on expressing too, but you may want to try it with a good pump first instead of hand expressing which is really tedious. If you intend to continue BF bb via EBM after returning to work, then you need to work on getting her used to the bottle a month before your ML ends, as it can be a gradual process for some bb who prefers breasts to bottle teats.. so gotta start giving her EBM via bottle in early Nov. Just start with replacing a feed with a bottle and once she is receptive, can continue latching on until the last week.. then try giving her all her daytime feeds via bottle and in evening/night feeds, latch on.

if one breast is engorged, then just express a little from that breast to relieve the engorgement and latch bb on to empty it..

eh michelle,
my birthday-cum-hospital buddy hehe. what's your GlenE bill ah? how much cash do you have to pay after medisave? i was a 2-bedder and i pay $600+ in the end, not bad huh. you single-bedder? i have no idea if pumping milk burns the same calories, maybe ley b'cos the body still need to convert fat to milk so what i meant was, the process is still the same only the output is a bit different. so i guess, same? i stand corrected. i think i attribute my incredible weight loss to less eating and more drinking and even more DBF..no wonder my bb girl poops and pee a lot lar. do you know that everytime she cry i give her milk first? then my hubby say i something wrong so he usually will check her diaper first and turns out that sometimes she poops. anyway my bb oso never reject my milk. guess she got used to it already hahaha.

michelle, same amount of calories as calorie burning is tied to the production of BM, not the extracting. So the more BM you produce, the more calories you burn.

woot domesticgoddess you're fast!!!

thank you so much for the advice! so if i express first, i can still save that milk right? it'll be foremilk right b'cos it's watery and not white. so it'll be like, when baby latches on, she'll get the hindmilk and i'll end it with foremilk? hee hee sounds funny but hey whatever works man! thanks!! what pump are you using?

Can you ladies fit into ur old clothes?? I'm gonna faint.... coming weekend is my gal's full mth celebration!!!! But I can't fit into my clothes!!!! Die....

I starting to be 'pai seh' already lar. Just wanted to share my experience with Melody and hopefully can encourage her to persist on. I am still learning and trying. Many thanks to all the mummies here who encouraged and supported me when I was on the verge of giving up.

Really quite bothersome to pump cos timing is goes roughly like this.
0000 - 0030 : pump out
0031 - 0045 : wash pump, sterilze, assemble for next pump
0100 - 0130 : feed baby, wash feeding bottle, sterilize and get ready for next feeding.

so only 1.5 hrs in between each pump to do own things.

Once milk supply is up and enough to keep up with Trinity's demand, will definately try to total direct breast feed

Waa... Melissa, you manage to lose 10 kgs from pre-pregnancy weight. So envious. I hope I can lose more than pre-pregnancy weight. Hopefully can go down to wedding weight. :)

melissa, think i was online when you posted. that shows how "free" i am..

yes, you are right about the foremilk and hindmilk. you mean you will top her up with the expressed foremilk which you have collected? i suppose you can do that if she is not too full (else you may end up having to waste it) or store that foremilk in fridge, then continue to express after she has finished latching, so you get some hindmilk too and mix that to the previously expressed foremilk. But ensure that you cool the hindmilk in fridge for a while so it is also cold when you mix with the foremilk. Then you can freeze it.

michelle, I had elective c-sect before, so hoping for VBAC and my gynae is famous for VBAC, so he has more tolerance and will usually encourage mummies to wait.. he is very pro-natural birth type, will not recommend induction unless medically required (even large bb is not a medical reason for induction as i previously mentioned), also he doesn't do episotomy and will not give epidural unless mummy wants..

anyway, he said most importantly my placenta is still strong (that was last week, so donno what is like now), and bb still healthy and amniotic fluid level still very high, so all signs show i can still wait.. plus my blood pressure etc.. all good.. but he did mention that at week 41 (ie. tomorrow) he will check again and if I am feeling really tired or there is reason to induce, then he will do a slow induction.. the kind insert a pil and i can go home and wait...

mummies, pls bear with me while i vent my frustrations..

i just called my mum to inform her that i have been feeling some tightenings which is 10 min apart between 7.30pm and 8.20pm, then they stopped and started again after 9.30pm..

anyway, i called her to ask her to come and stay overnight so that in case i have to go hospital with hb before dawn, and my son were to wake up in middle of night, at least my mum can comfort him and put him back to sleep. so far my maid has not been able to successfully put him back to sleep should he wake in middle of night.

And i had discussed this with my mum before. But now (at crucial moment) she just said "oh won't be so fast lah.. maybe you only give birth tomorrow morning" as if she can predict. When I said I am not taking the chance, she then suggested that my hb takes me to hospital and come back home! So I grumbled that I will be alone at hospital with my contractions, she said "oh you won't be alone, there are nurses there with you. Anyway, why need hb there, you only need nurses and doc"

By then I was already seething.. so i told her to forget it if she doesn't want to help and don't bother to come. I will get my maid to settle my son.

melissa, forgot to answer, i was previously using medela mini-electric, but i think i really used it so much previously that the motor may not be working properly for long now.. so i am just considering if it really died soon after #2 is born, should i buy the same or something completely different.

But i won't fork out so much for the Medela PIS though..

Anyone else using other brands of electric pumps? Good?

DG,
I am currently using the Avent ISIS Duo (rented only) and found it to be quite comfy.

Must say the suction is not as strong as the Medela I tried at the hospital though.

Sorry to hear about your mum, good that you still have your maid to rely on.

I think the suction will help to extract the milk out?
But personally, I found the Medela when on full strenght was too strong and painful for me. The Avent seems to work fine for me right now.

But since these electric pumps are so expensive. I think its better to rent and try out first or borrow from friends before investing in one.

Hi Michelle
Yep my mum said last time her mum forbid her to eat bread too 'cos it got yeast and she's surprised my CL gave me bread to eat immedately after I got discharged. But she's ok if I really want to eat lah.. she said nowsdays confinement seems so different from b4... I love my mum, man! She's more open to changes

However, I tried to avoid bread lah, so I have been eating mee sua every morning... till a bit sian! That's y I wanna check whether u mummies eat bread or not?

Hi Crystallized
I also eat wholemeal bread in hospital.... that's b4 I know abt the yeast thingy.

Talking abt bf... sigh... when I was in hospital, my Sisters-in-laws (I dun have parents-in-law) all try to discourage me from bf... actually my hubby is the one who wants me to bf.. and he kept quiet when all of them came down on me... initially my mum also, but she kept quiet when I told her I wanna try... I was on the verge of breaking down too.. then after they left, I scolded my hubby for keeping quiet. He said I can just ignore them, but so many of them all ganged up against me, they even told my hubby off, he just kept quiet and ignore them... even tell me, if I dun wan, then dun wan lor... I was so stressed up.

That night, I called my mum to complain abt them and the next morning, she told one of the sister not to pressurise me. Just leave me to do my own decision. After that, they all keep quiet liow...

But then, other problems occurs lah... last time, whatever they say, whether right or wrong, I just kept quiet... but when they mishandled my boy, I told them tt's not the way, they got angry... sigh...very hard to please... I broke down many times 'cos of this also...

Now I'm really glad my hubby is busy at work this week and hardly home... so the sisters won't come & visit so often...

So I can understand those mummies who managed to bf w/o any support from the family.. it must be a very stressful period..... GO GO JIA YOU!

Hi Wei Kuan

Yes, the suction of the pump is very impt... last week, my breasts was very heavy, but I'm unable to pump any milk 'cos the suction of the pump seems to have lost its power... my breasts became very painful eventually that I took a taxi and went to the nearest shopping mall to buy a new pump... after that I am able to pump all my milk out... *phew*

Hi Angeline

I bought the Medela pump but I find no difference b/w the min and max power strength leh... the first one b4 it became spoilt, yes I do find the difference.. but not this new one.. but surprisingly I manage to pump so I didn't bring back to the shop...

sometimes i just dun understd family/inlaws and why they cant see that they are giving us additional stress by poking their noses where it doesnt belong. anyway kudos to all those who still mng to BF even with all these negativity around them! even taking care of bb, oso got differences. sometims i see the way my in laws handle my son, i oso disagree but i just keep quiet cos how to tell them off rite? they hv their own way of doing things and we have ours - 'we' being the younger generation that read more widely and hv access to internet with a whole wealth of info. anyway... if i dun look then i wont know, and then i wont feel so frustrated :p

i've been up since 4.30am cos bb woke up crying so changed his diaper. after tat refused to go back to sleep and MIL came in to take over. so now bb's wif them in their room and i cant get back to sleep so went to express milk and then now sitting here surfing.

domesticgoddess
can understd how u feel.. sometimes mothers are like dat, arent they? my mom oso pisses me off at times and i hv to try real hard not to yell at her. anyway gd that u hv this forum to vent your frustrations at! on the flip side, some pple hv such 'hands on' parents that they dun even hv a chance to take care of their own bb on their own even if they wanted to

angeline
i'm using medela PIS. so far so gd no complaints
initially the full strenght was oso too painful for me then i realised it's cos i was using wrong size breast shield. the one that comes std with the kit is for regular size nipples. they do hv larger sizes so tat the nipples wont rub aagainst the sides of the 'tunnel'. after changing to the bigger size one, i find it so much more comfy! anyway check out the medela website - they do explain how to ensure the breast shield is the correct size for u.

emoments
wish my mom was like yours so modern. my mom is really difficult cos she has her own ideas and imposes them on pple ard her, the "its my way or the highway" kind of person lah. so many things she told me i must do/cannot do during confinemt dont make sense at all and sometimes the advice she dispenses is also wrong! anyway wat she says now i just listen in 1 ear and out the other otherwise i got even more frustration to deal with. really cannot handle much more liao...

Me facing the same problem with all diff comments from diff women as well..

Like not giving enuf BM, not giving water to baby, baby very small size, not as chubby as those on FM etc etc..

The worst pressure faced with BF is when Baby admitted to hosp due to very high jaundice. NICU for a day, & 4 days in normal nursery for Phototherapy. PD says stop BF for a day or 2. Cried so hard whenever I visted my Baby in hospital (& mum tell me to stop crying or else will turn blind...i scolded her..dunno what kind of theory, how to control in this kind of circumstances)heehee

Luckily, these days were over. Me continue to give EBM in the day ( so that "they" can see that I'm feeding enough & yet Baby is still enjoying my BM) and supplement FM at night.

Baby is still having slight Jaundice, me still getting comments from my CL like because I'm giving EBM, so Jaundice will go down very slowly, make me feel that I'm like a bad mum...But I heck care man..Doctor say can give mah..

Looking forward to Baby's 1 month, & I'm going to try TBF & direct latching again without my CL around. Very xian to argue with her already. Miss the days when Baby suckle on my nipple, so cute..Wish me success!!

Hi Michelle

Can understand your frustration with your in-laws, same case here.. sigh. Want to say them also cannot... tt's more frustrating... I tried once and they got angry... so now all I have to do is to keep quiet and everyday pray they won't be coming... .sigh... so stressful whenever I see them coming.. thou their intentions is good, but... sigh.

I'm scared of Sat whereby the whole bunch of them including kids will come... then my boy will start to cry badly after that... sigh.

just read tt some of u feel frustrated n stress now. I had post natal blues after my delivery, tried to bf but was discouraged by ppl ard me. Fortunately, hb was supportive of my decision and he wants our bb to hv bm as well. The few few weeks of try to build supply is nt easy, but when supply is stablised which is ard 6-8 weeks, things will be better. I'm still bf my 9.5mths bb, his weight is an average 18mth bb. Hope u'll be successful in bf ur bbs.

wow... YL.. v encouranging!!! thanx!!!

think DG go labor alr is it? never see her the whole morning.. hehe.. hope all's well with her and bb..

wah now i realised tt u gals face more -ve comments abt BFG than me and its great tt u all can stand firm on ur decision. We all muz Jia You & prove them all wrong!

Domesticgoddess
i gained abt 8.5-9kg in total for my pregnancy. my bb weighed 3.1kg and i dunno where the rest of the weight goes to except 4 my placenta and breasts. and so lucky is my tummy is not "loose" aft delivery, which is usually the case rite? alot of my frens & relatives say i got no tummy. think now my tummy is like pre-pregnancy (i got tummy then) its not firm but neither issit wif lotsa loose skin. juz look like a normal tummy. hahaha... sad thing is my stretch marks lor. but i tell myself its a trade off lah. gain not much weight 4 pregnancy and now not much of loose tummy, wat else can i ask 4. so this stretcmark is a "gift" fr the pregnancy lor.

wah wait till wk 43? think u will b super duper tired. well, wait and see how. ur baby certainly hvg a gd time inside there!

i oso confused when i had contractions tt day. somehow it din seem to fit the usual description like pain coming fr the back to the front, wif whole tummy contracting. mine started fr lower abdomen all the way running to my entire tummy. no backaches. it was only when my contractions interval were dead regular then alarm bells sounded! haha...

dun get angry wif ur mum lah. sometimes old folks r like tt. they wld like to think its ok and we r getting too worked up over small issues. when my baby had jaundice, they insisted feeding him dong gua water. i gave in, coz it was only a few sips and i fed him using spoon. its to oso shut their mouths up lah. anyway juz a few tiny spoonsful and thereafter my baby still wants milk. so i am ok wif it.

Melissa
Yes, me oso like u, juz BF on demand. i watch the clock juz as a gauge but i dun really follow rules like feed every 2-3 hrs. its seriously on demand. when my baby awakes and he makes suckling actions, he will b put to my breast immed. i juz record the times he BF as a record.

wow! u lost so much weight and is so much lighter than pre=pregnancy? GOSH! envy!

Chng's wife,
though i am left wif only 1 kg, i doubt i can fit into my pre-pregnancy pants. when i went back 4 check up, i was wearing maternity jeans. top wise there is not much issue though.

emoments
i am still eating wholemeal bread now. hehehe... i used to not like wholemeal but now during confinement it suddenly tasted so good to me!
not intending to stop eating.

so sorry to hear u had to undergo such a stressful situation. i can understd if i am alrdy stressed down here wif juz some conflicting impressions on BFG, ur side is worse. juz come in here to pour when u r upset. hope it helps to make u feel better. keeping inside will not do u any gd.

hi ilcy,
actually ur CL is rite tat baby drinking BM tat's y his jaundice level dont go down so fast but dont care wat she says.... when my mum know tat my baby jaundice is cos by my BM she actually also suggested tat i stopped BF n give baby FM but i dont care cos PD says now baby is big enough so as long as his liver his functioning well, jaundice will no longer cos any brain damage to him.
my hubby read up books abt jaundice too n also after PD reassurance abt baby's condition... he continue to be very supportive on BF

BM is really good for baby... so try to give baby as much as u can lor....
my boy already 7wks old but still very yellow... but i really immune to ppl comments...

my MIL also telling me tat better to give baby some FM n not TBM... cos as usual she says baby will be bigger drinking FM... but i just ignored wat she says

Emoments,
I eat bread during confinement as well. but ya, my mum did mention that don't eat bread too often because of yeast. You can eat biscuits mah.. Besides mee sua, my CL also cook mee hoon or lao shu fen for me.... so well, actually there's alot to eat during confinement.

<font color="0000ff">crystallized, angeline, domesticgoddess</font>
oh i c! so bb will become more efficient in suckling as they grow! Maybe my Trinity is a slow drinker, so needs 1 hour per feed. Hope it can get better over time!

<font color="aa00aa">btw, do ur bbs pull away from ur nipple to rest in between suckling? And u've to latch them on again to continue? My Trinity does tat all the time. But the worrying thing is tat she cries when she "dis-latches", like she's frustrated abt something. I initially thot I didn't hv enough milk, so i'll squeeze my nipple to ensure milk is indeed coming out, and it is. Anyone know if this is a sign of gastric reflux, cos my girl also vomits/spits out some milk after almost every feed? REad somewhere tat for reflux, milk can come back up the throat during feeding and irritate the bb, which will lead them to pull away fr nipple in distress. Anyone can advise on this?? Thanks!</font>

<font color="0000ff">angeline</font>
thanks for sharing ur experience. Altho' all our situations r diff, it's heartening to know how some of us conquer our difficulties. Yup, we're all here to support one another!

Do let me know if the cold towel works for u too! kekeke... But dun shock bb by applying it on her face suddenly. Juz use a small corner to dab dab her cheeks or mouth.

Re ur mum's theory on swaddling, interesting enough, it's another thing we've in common!! My Trinity doesn't like her arms to be contrained cos she likes to sleep w arms open wide. So we only swaddle her from waist down. However I notice Trinity startling herself awake quite a lot. My mum then went to swaddle her whole body and amazingly she slept soundly! Thereafter I tried to swaddle her similarly but she always kicks and fights herself loose... Maybe I shld let her fall asleep 1st b4 swaddling her hor? heehee...

<font color="0000ff">domesticgoddess</font>
Wk 43!! Thot most gynaes won't suggest more than 10-12 days beyond EDD.

Sorry to hear abt ur mum. Hope things work out for u! Do monitor ur contractions. For my case, I had cramping feeling the day b4 I delivered. Didn't think they were real contractions cos they went away after a while. Had the show the next morning and delivered tat night. The contractions u're feeling may be early signs, so do note them down and monitor. All the best!!

mummies, i am STILL HERE and bb is still INSIDE!!

Saw gynae this morning for m 41st week check and he did a cervix check... and guess what, my cervix is STILL CLOSED! I was shocked actually and I think my gynae was too, but he tried to hide it.. The amniotic fluid level still very high (same like last week) and placenta still strong and bb still growing. HC is already 35cm (now a bit worrying) but I forgot to ask about his weight..

anyway, no more contractions and cervix still closed, so not much to do but wait. He did ask if I want to be induced though he would still recommend I wait more if I am not too tired.. sigh... so wait lor..

domesticgoddess
you're still ard! we all tot u go n 'sei' liao. wow HC 35cm is really quite big leh. i hope u are on the bigger size side yourself otherwise w/o episiotomy some more, i really dun know how the bb gonna come out! looks like your kiddo really is too comfy inside u liao. must be all the mooncake you're eating and he oso enjoying it hee hee

my son oso doesnt like his arms to be swaddled! so we give him 'free play' when he's awake but when he's sleeping we will swaddle back inside cos like u gals said, he will scare himself and start crying if his arms suddently flail out when he's sleeping.

<font color="0000ff">michelle</font>
ethan looks so alert!
yup, their features change so fast. We dun really notice since we look at our bb every day, but if u compare w earlier photos, u'll notice the difference. Think I'll really miss this cute cuddly stage next time! (forgetting all the endless crying and sleepness nights! haha..)

<font color="0000ff">domesticgoddess</font>
did ur gynae say if HC 35cm is an ok size for u? I had trouble delivering Trinity not cos of her weight but her HC of 34cm. Her head wouldn't decent further despite my efforts to push. Even the gynae and nurses admitted that my pushing was v. good already, but i was too small for her head. I was already fully dilated, so gynae had to use vacuum. End up he used more pressure than normal and Trinity had some bad wounds on her head as a result. If she hadn't come out during tat final push, i would hv gone emergency c-sect. Sorry, dun mean to scare u. Juz wan to share my case, esp. since u're going for VBAC.

puppylove
Yes, my bb, i noticed these 2 days pulls away fr my nipple aft like 8-10 mins on my breast at times. and once he pulls off, its so hard to put the nipple back into his mouth again. unless i try to diaper change him, it might work. else most times, his mouth will give me the signal "i had enuff, i am not gg to open my mouth again!"
so no choice, juz let him b and wait 4 the nxt feed.

and yes, these few days, i noticed he does sort of like gets choked while drinking BM. but no milk trickles out fr his mouth leh. what i did was to burp my baby. gastric reflux? dun think so bah. hope not. i juz thot as bb grows older, they r better at suckling so more efficient in emptying our breasts for the same amt of time. btw my baby is only 8 days old.
so many things to learn fr u mummies.

i oso noticed my baby does not like to b swaddled. when he sleeps wif us, i only cover him wif a blanket or diaper, and let his hands hv free roaming. i like to see him stretching or making movements.

Domestic goddess
my baby's HC is 35 cm when borned! i was v v worried abt this b4 delivery coz i wanted to go thru a natural delivery. luckily everything turned out fine. how tall r u? if u r not petite, usually gynae will say there is no issue. once my gynae knew i was pretty paranoid over his HC, she refused to tell me baby's HC at each visit, saying i will manage.

if cervix still closed, better not to induce yet as it juz means not ready 4 delivery. luckily everything else 4 u is going fine &amp; healthy, so u can afford to wait somemore. u tried gg 4 slow walks? the day b4 my delivery, i was at the gynae. i was 1cm dilated but my cervix is still hardened. so i knew hv to walk more. i went shopping immed aft the visit and VOILA! i had contractions the very next morning. mayb its juz a coincidence but no harm trying.

during labour, i was told though my baby's head was alrdy v low, he needed to come down somemore. so we coaxed him and encouraged him to quickly come down so mummy &amp; daddy can quickly see him. we talked alot to him during labour and i feel it did worked leh. maintain a +ve attitude is v impt.
these r things beyond our ctrl but we can keep up wif a +ve attitude and its half the battle won!

michelle
thats a very alert ethan looking ard. and i got the same shirt 4 my son but ur ethan fills up the shirt much more nicely than my son. my son looks so "lao hong" when he wears shirts now. but nvm, will catch up soon!