(2006/09) SEPTEMBER 2006 MTB

hi puppylove, personally i'd not go for tt trip. bb is still young to be brought out. if u need a break, u can still enjoy and relax at home, depending how u do and feel it.

mummies, thanks for replies on the nursing bra and DOM..

michelle, wahaha.. that sounds like super potent recipe... but i don't know if i can make myself drink it too.. i don't like smell/taste of chicken essence nor DOM.. and no water added some more.. OMG!!

ilovebabies, the FBM can last 3 months (according to some sources) but it is just my personal preference not to freeze for past 6 weeks, as it won't be suitable for an older bb, though still drinkable. Once BM is frozen, it will kill the antibodies which is only present in BM (and not FM), but there is really no other way to stock up BM for longer than 48 hrs.. so if you are returning to work, you should stock up..

i prefer to give bb fresh BM, EBM in fridge, FBM and lastly FM... in this order. So when I do freeze any excess EBM, i would give to bb once it has reached maximum 6 weeks storage in freezer and freeze new BM.

puppylove
i agree wif the other moo moos here.. going for the trip may end up to be even more tiring for u cos u hv to look after the bb n everything. it's not the same when u travel wif a bb.

stay home n get more rest instead lah. if bored, just bring bb out to the shopping centre for a while then if tired can go straight back to home sweet home mah. imagine if bb dun like genting and cry all the time, how u gonna soothe him when home is so far away??

ilovebabies, once you return to work, why not try latching bb directly at night instead of expressing? most mums i know express at work and bring home the BM for bb's feeds the following day and they latch directly in the evening and middle of night. That way, bb still gets closeness to you via direct latching.

e-ling, i defrosted FBM by placing the milk bag in a container of water in the fridge overnight. usually after 12 hrs or so, the FBM is completely defrosted.. then i would pour into normal feeding bottles and warm up, just like what you would do with BM stored in fridge.

puppylove, if you can feed bb via direct latching and no need to express at all, then i think it can be quite easy to go for trips... hb can take care of bb's other needs like diaper change and carrying bb (if using slings, even better). But if gotta express, then very tiring for you..

thanks domesticgoddess, then upon defrost, how long the milk can still kept in the fridge huh? How to check whether the breastmilk is spoilt? Is it that the frozen breastmilk must totally defrost (without seeing even anymore small small ice?) before we can warm up the milk for bb?

domesticgoddess, emma
yah DOM does taste real bad doesnt it! but guess we no choice lor.. hate oso must drink. anyway i got only 1 more wk and no more this kind of yucky stuff!

btw, how big is the medela milk bag, ie how much can it store? and say if you only express about 100ml per session, do u put it in the bag and it goes straight into the freezer? then at the next session, how do i add more into the bag cos the previous one would oredi be frozen rite?

I AM A SEP06 MOTHER:

5.00am - wake hubby up, a little cramp.
Took a bath, pack some items and went to KKH.

6.30am - Reach KKH, went to the delivery suite.
CTG scan and cervix was checked. CTG show contractions was weak
although I feel pain every 5mins and have show. Cervix was still thick and
was dilated to 2cm. Was told to go home first to monitor.

7.30am - Go KKH McDonalds eat breakfast with hubby, I was feeling so
uncomfortable and have to walk and stop at every contractions.

8.30am - The pain was quite unbearable and went to KKH Delivery suite to ask for
admission now.

9.00am - Was at labor ward and strap to CTG scan and have to lay down.
Was checked by MO and was told that it was still early, mostly by evening
or nighttime will deliver as this is my first child and cervix was thick
during the 6.30am check-up.
Was told that she will come to check how many cm I have dilated at about
11.00am (2hrs time).

11.30am - I tahan the pain till 11.00am, really cannot tahan by 11.30am and press the
red bell many times to ask for epidural, MO check my cervix and said I can
start pushing as it was already 10cm and don�t need epidural anymore. My
gynae was not here yet, but I did not care and start pushing, after 2 push,
my waterbag burst.

12.30am - Gynae reached and did a slip for me (no feelings cos contraction pain is
worse than anything), with another 2 push, baby is out. Stitches also done
(no feelings also) cord blood also collected for donation.
I was tested GBS positive and they did not even have the time to put the
antibiotics for me, lucky blood test shown that GBS did not infected baby.
Actual labour pain was from 9.00am to 12.30am (3.5hrs). I was consider
lucky as dilation was fast and need not epidural. Maybe it was due to the
swimming and walking daily.

sob sob... yesterday evening my right breast engorged again even though i was pumping every 4 hrs... only manage to get 20ml from that breast.. then so pain.. and i got fever somemore... my hubby ask me to stop bfing alr...
so pain!!! me tried to let enzo latch on to empty the breast but it was sooooo painful when he sucked on my nipple... i couldnt take it lehz... contractions without epidural also not that painful lehz...

emma
i had a bit of engorgemt initially and altho it wasnt that serious, it was painful - so i can imagine how much more painful yours must be now! anyway i think u need to use the hot towel treatmt and massage your engorged breast. the malay lady who came to massage me previously also said that you need to pull out your aereola and nipple too cos sometimes it may be a blocked duct and this will help to unblock it. i hope you know what i'm tokking about cos a bit hard to describe leh

btw if u hv fever, think u need to visit a dr rite?

weikuan
congrats on your relatively fast delivery! mine was also about 4 hrs and i oso same as you - by the time i wanted epi the nurse told me oredi too late cos 7cm dilated liao. so i took the thigh injection instead.

so r u at home now wif your bb? when did u deliver?

michelle.. me tried the hot towel massage... its better now.. but still pain lehz... maybe later i try the pulling one.. hope i dun pull out the whole thing.. muahahaha...

hihi, i need advise.....my ger's nose is block with mucus....how can i help to extract those irritating mucus out ah? Beside bringing her to PD...which I felt not worth it loh....her breathing like not very gd....can hear the kind of sound..when she breath!!

michelle, I dont think u can mix the milk u express together ya....and store it.

E-ling, freeze BM after defrozen can only store for 24 hrs....(domesticgoddess, am i right?) how to know if BM is ok for consume ... u have to taste it urself!!!! thats the only way to know if ur BM turns bad or not

oh the bags are so small ah? tot it's like 500 ml bags or wat.. heehee. so even after the BM is frozen oredi, i can just add in the next batch and it's ok?

anyway i think i'll just continue using those glass bottles tat i got fr the hospital first. if not enuf (which is a gd sign cos it means i hv lots of milk rite!) then i'll go buy the medela bags. are there any cheaper alternatives tho? i'll probably just express into a bottle first then pour into the bag instead of expressing direcrlty into the bag

rainnie
you can buy those nasal pump thing (i saw before pigeon has) that lets u suck out the mucus one. i've not tried it before but i think it may work lor

Emma,
It sounds to me like you have blocked ducts. I had a bad case of this 2 Sundays ago. Breasts were engorged, great pain, felt like I had fever and was scared that I might have developed matitis as 2 big lumps started to develop in my armpits. I tried to pump, but only got a miserable 30ml and breast were still hard and painful.
Got a lactation consultant to come in the morning to help deal with it. She used hot towels to warm up and relax the breast tissues and started to massage it with what seems like all her might. Must tell you the clearing of the blocked ducts was DAMDED PAINFUL. I had to control my tears, but was definately screaming out. However, once the blockages were cleared, the milk started flowing like no body's business and I felt much better. However, I got engorged again the same night and this time I tried the cabbage leave. Did really help to soothe the engorgement pain. But please be careful when you use frozen cabbage leave (I suggest to check every 15 minutes, once you feel the pain is now bearable, pls remove the leaves), cos I left it on for too long (hours) and my breast just shrank. I am now still trying hard to get my milk supply back.

The trick with the hot towels, is that after you apply the hot towels, you can try to feel your breast for lumps and massage hard with pressure on the lumps (like trying to push coagulated milk through a tiny duct). It may be painful, but must bear with it to clear the ducts. It is also impt that you also feel your areola area for small lumps, cos there might be blockages there too, and try to clear these blockages using the pinching, pulling and twisting method. It sounds a little like torture, but if you clear the blockages in the breast tissues, but not those in the areola, the milk will still not be able to flow out. Imagine, all the heavy traffic getting stuck and the bottle neck.

After doing the above, your pumping should be able to draw out more milk and help to soothe your engorgement.

Hope this is of help to you.

hi all mummies,
i am a Sep06 mother.. would like some advice fm u gals.
1) do u drink Anmum-2 or Enfa mama to increase the BM?
2)my CL cook fish for me everyday, she says papaya soup doesn't help much in increasing the BM, is it true?
3) wat is matitis? As i also have lumps near my armpits
4) how to wake my bb who is sleeping sounding and reject to drink BM?
thanks in advance..

thanx angeline.. i'll try ur methods... next session: 2pm... hope all's clear after that...

expressing alone with bb is so tough... scared he cry lahz.. scared this scared that... how to have more milk??? argh...

rainnie, what i suggested to e-ling is to feed the thawed frozen BM as soon as possible instead of keeping it in fridge for another 24 hrs, though theoretically it should be able to keep for another 24 hrs.. but the shorter the time we keep any thawed frozen food (especially milk products), the lesser the chance of bacteria growing and contamination.

Emma, oh no! that is engorgement. Was going to suggest cabbage leaves too, but Angeline has described it all. Hope you managed to clear them by now..

If you can't clear the lumps despite your efforts or they are just too painful, please go see your lactation consultant ASAP as further delays will only cause more pain later.. just like the "traffic jam" that Angeline described. All the best!

mummies, how much weight have you all lost so far?

Aiyo, I think I am going to be putting on more weight 'cos bb is late and I am suddenly developing lots of cravings for the worst kinds of food - chocolate, mooncakes, ice-cream and Ya Kun kopi!!!!!! OMG!!!

now u making me hungry too lah... :p~~~ next wk i'm gonna indulge in all those sinful food. counting down...

i very pathetic. put on 20 kg but now only lost 9.. still got 11kg to go leh. dunno how long it'll take to get back to my previous size.

i have been indulging myself wif chocos, mooncakes n tibits liao...*sinful* i wonder can i reduce those unwanted FATS or nt

i put on abt 13-15kg.....lost abt 7kg.....

mmhh... seems like I'm lucky on the weight gain side. Pre-pregnant was 48kg, on day of delivery was 61kg (put on 13 kgs). Day after delivery was 58 and now 2 weeks 3 days later weighing 53kgs. Another 5 kgs more to go.

I'm a Sep 13 Mother, delivered my boy Zachary, natural birth with Epidural. It was a short delivery, was still working in the morning, having show during lunch time, went to my gynae at about 1pm & Baby Zac was delivered at 6.30pm.

Everything just happen so fast..like factory

Btw, need advice from mothers here if your wound heals almost completely after 3 weeks?

Mine is not as painful now, no feeling when i walk, but still feels abit when I'm sitting down. Stitches still there.

I'm extra cautious here coz my wound was having infection after I went back to my gynae 3 days after discharge. He re-stitch back the infected area. Super painful man, *sobsob*

Thks in adv for your advice

ilcy
congrats !
i deliverd just 1 day after u
my wound oso not as painful now but like u said, when sit down sometimes still can feel slight pain and the stitches oso hv not fallen off. i think in another wk's time it shd fall off oredi rite? i oso wondering how come it takes so long...

hi Emma,
oh...engorgement again...
i was down with high fever 39.5 n e right side of my right breast engorge, pain n swelling last tuesday. my right hand cant lift up n i dont have strength to carry Zhaohui... i cant even tough my right breast is SUPER painful!!! start shivering too... so faster call hubby back to take care of baby. then went to read e breastfeeding book by Mrs Wong n realised i think i have mastitis(inflammation of e breast)..
hubby suggest to go see Dr Adrian but i'm so so weak to go let alone still need to bring baby... even more tiring
So i went to take 2panadol but after an hr fever still there, hubby prepared to massage with hot towel but is so painful that i just need to lift my hand a bit i can also feel e pain... so no choice... ask hubby prepared ice packet...
after placing ice pkt there, is really a relief.... i start massaging my breast with e ice pkt there.... after an hr of massaging is really a relief... start to latch my boy too. fever start to go off after i take a nap...
then i change to hot towel massaging when is not so painful.... lucky e swelling goes off 2 days later....

Hi Michelle,

Maybe I'm overly anxious here..heehee..
Got too much plans in my mind after my confinment next week..dieting plans, exercising, full time mummy after CL goes back..so hoping to recover fast

Cheers!!

can help me to answer my above qns 1,2,4?
cos my BM is getting lesser,and tend to rely more on FM now..
thank u very much..

hi rainyhood, after discharge from TMC I never touch on papaya with fish soup...and i dun drink millk. I only drink black dates drinks and milo....take meat every day..my ms is abt 100ml-150ml....so really depends on individual?
as for the last question, ermmm u try to massage ur bb tummy and burp ur bb....to make ur bb wake up? thats what the nurse @ TMC taught...but i never use cuz my ger auto wakes up for milk

Littlepony says:- No i didn't. But some mummies do. It depends on individual. If you like, you can drink.

Hope it's useful enuff
2)my CL cook fish for me everyday, she says papaya soup doesn't help much in increasing the BM, is it true?

littlepony says: My CL also cook fish for me everyday. I didn't take papaya soup. But some people do take and proven increased of BM. Some didn't and yet BM supply also have. If you don't have problem with BM supply, then don't have to take papaya soup.

3) wat is matitis? As i also have lumps near my armpits

littlepony says: Matitis is inflammation of breasts. May cause fever. Lumps near armpit are blocked milkducts. You may need to massage and try to unblock them. If can't, you may ask massage lady to try massage it for you too.

littlepony says: Sleep is very very important for bb. If bb is sleeping sounding, then don't have to wake them up if they missed their milk time. They will wake up for their feed if they are hungry. Don't have to wake them up! let them sleep!

puppylove,
i think bb still young to go overseas for trip leh... 2. 5 months only.. hmm, well.. it's up to you really.. of coz u know angmohs bring their kids here and there when they are 1st month old only.. haaa!

hi rainnie & little pony...
thank u very much for your advices..
guess i am too kancheong especially, bb refuse to latch on, i usually will give FM.. (on the other hand, BM is little)
Family support is important on BM, as my parents and in-law have the thinking BM is not enough to feed the bb, that why maybe i feel discourage sometimes...

My CL also say don't wake up bb.. coz they will naturally wake up for their feeds. Sleeping is good for their brain development. I understand that there are different schools of theory. Hmm...you see the situation and judge lor...

Don't be dispair. Hey! i am those with not so much BM and I supplement with FM when not enuff ...and at night, i give FM.. I admire those who can give total BM but u know, i just try not to give myself too much pressure. At least, bb gets abit of our BM... So don't worry too much!

I suspect probably you have blocked ducts.. if you can unblock them, you may find your milk flow increasing.

hi rainyhood, i think we've similiar problems...

1) no i dun drink those milk. try to hv a hot drink just before u breastfeed or express milk.

2) both fish and papaya fish soup are helpful in milk supply. so ive been taking fish everyday. papaya fish soup every now and then, not everyday.

4) if he's wrapped/swaddled up, unwrap/unswaddle him to wake him up. but sometimes it's just difficult, let him sleep, try again later.

during my initial stage, i oso faced stress in breastfeeding. but im glad ive overcomed it though not totally.

i had c-section. during my 4D3N stay in tmc, i latch on bb to stimulate the milk flow, but no milk at all.

my mother, my mother in law were worried, asked me why dun supplement w formula, blah blah... luckily my hubby stood by me and supported my decision.

nurses and doc say bb can survive w/o milk for 3 days coz of their reserve. so on the 4th day i was worried mad when there was still no milk. but fortunately it came on the 4th day afternoon

however the supply was extremely low. so my son did not gain weight at all. 1wk+, during PD checkup, PD sent me to parentcraft to review on my breastfeeding.

they told me to breastfeed every 2 hrs. i think it's crazy. how to wake a bb up every 2 hrs to feed him when he's not hungry as i believe if he's hungry, he'll wake up and cry.

few days later i went back to parentcraft, this time w a different solution and a more acceptable one.

now i breastfeed him every 3 hrs or when he cries, after each breastfeeding, i cup feed him another 20-30ml of expressed breastmilk and then i pump out and store my breastmilk.

today he's 3wks+ old. im glad he has put on weight finally

hi rainyhood

Ans: I drink those left over during pregnancy so is Anmum for preg mother but i nv drink everyday la... so dont know can increase e supply or not

Ans: IF e fish ur CL cooks one is "ngoi hee" then is e best to increas BM. my mum steam tat for me everyday during Confinement.

ans :touch e baby's chin lor... sometimes i try pulling my breast away he will faster wake up n start sucking again... heehee

rainyhood, if you are going to direct breastfeed, from what I have read from books and learnt in the hospital, no need to wake baby up, you should feed just based on their demand. They will know how to wake up and 'ask' for food when they are hungry. However, if it is more than 4 hour since their last breast feeding, then maybe you can change their diapers to try to wake them up and tempt baby with your nipple to see if he is interested.

ilcy :

I am not too sure can you get this : Xylocaine Jelly 2% by AstraZeneca group . I was given this to put on my stiches , I can sit properly after two weeks .

domesticgoddess :
a little slow in respond ...my CL uses DOM , smash and squeeze the ginger , steam black chicken for 4-5 hours ( you drink what comes out after steaming the black chicken together with DOM and ginger juice , leave the black chick alone , is tasteless anyway ) , it tastes good , the teo chew name for this is ... alas , dunno how to type .. ok , "chicken" in teo chew .. sounds like " quay egg " , you could use XO or VOSP as replacement for DOM ... but still DOM is better ( maybe because I like the sweet taste )

rainyhood, it is actually a myth that drinking milk will increase supply of BM, but Anmum and Enfamama is useful as dietary supplement to the quality of BM if nursing mum is concerned about the nutritional value of her diet as they are fortified with vitamins and minerals. But if you are already taking multi-vits, then they are not necessary. I drink them though during my bf days as I like the taste of Anmum2 mixed with Milo and I drink about 6 cups a day, just before bf/expressing.

michelle, rainnie and angeline.. aiyo! I put on 14kg so far and I am sure can pile on more.. DOH! But I can't keep the mooncakes away fast enough to chomp them all down.

whatzup, thanks for the recipe. How much DOM to add and must add any water? Can use normal pot to cook as I don't have slow cooker? My hb joked that I should finish up the bottle of DOM I got 2 years ago during my confinement (for my first delivery) to clear the shelf space for him to put a new bottle of vodka! LOL!

rainyhood
i drink enfamama but i dun think it helps increase the milk supply, its more for fortifying the BM (dunno true or not oso lah).

as for the papaya/fish soup thing, i've had it twice but i dun think it seems to work wonders leh. my BM supply slowly increae day by day - not like today drink the papaya soup then tmr suddnely got increase by 50% or wat.

i oso tot if bb is due for feeding and is sleeping that we shd wake him up, but it seems its not necessary to do so, cos even if u wake him up he may be too drowsy to drink. so just wait and let him ownself wake up then feed lor.

anyway i can understd how u feel cos my mom oso very discouraging about breastfeeding - keep saying bb is very hungry, dun starve him, BM where got enuf etc... in the end i made the mistake of listening to her and giving bb FM and fr there on it just went all wrong cos i cant latch him on anymore. but in order tat he still gets BM, i express every 3 hrs to keep up the supply. more siong on my part, but at least he still gets BM rite?
so dun give up... hang in there ok!

ilcy
yah i oso very kancheong cant wait for the stitches to heal completely then can sit properly to feed my son! nowadays wanna feed oso uncomfortable gotta keep shifting here n there. sian hor?

cabbage leaves: if you hv engorgement & its really bad like i did on the 5th day, this is a gd method to help relieve it.
however mummies, pls do not leave on too long as mentioned by angeline as my lactation consultant said that leaving the cabbage leaves on the breasts can slow down milk supply or even stop it!

DG,
I know you had posted a question for me last time but cant remember what it was
i delivered on the 2nd, 3wks early by VBAC as planned. how's your VBAC plan going?

wow, this thread is still so active! where do you all find the time??
my saarah is very active & restless in the day. thank god at night she is more settled!

hi sasha, i can't rememberr the question either. never mind. so far no change to my VBAC plan as my last gynae visit on Saturday showed placenta still strong and bb can still wait for another 2 weeks. But I am getting real tired physically as I can't sleep well. So far no labour signs at all.

Are you BF Sarah?