(2006/09) SEPTEMBER 2006 MTB

domesticgoddes.. dun you mean, "i wanna look not pregnant too!!!"?? hehe... wont that be more wonderful??

melissa... not promoted lahz.. preggie that time then feel like princess... wanna eat what wanna buy what all can.. now.. sigh... so change the nick to perk myself up a bit lohz.. and i din even know we could change our nicks till i saw a mom did it... lol.. so decided to change mine..

you realli amazing lehz.. squeeze nipple can get so much milk... so cute!! hehe...

moms.. do u all still feel like a wife? as in now our boobies become like cow tits... me dunno how to use it as a wife anymore man.....

Chng's wife.. dun feel guilty.. me also v lazy to pump every 3 hrs... and i hate the sterilizing part... sigh... sometimes me wait till like 4 hrs.... and at nights i dun even wake up to pump... hehe.. lazy momma..

today is our first day out with baby and I am so proud of her (and us too). Was rather nervous yesterday, worried that my hubby and I will not be able to handle her outdoors today. But luckily everything went well. We were able to change her diapers (both pee pee & poo poo) in public. Can even warm her EBM and feed her on the ride back in the taxi. She was also such a princess, not being shy of strangers and not crying loudly (just an occasional wimp to tell us she is hungry).

Update... crystallized has given birth today! I just found out from the Oct_MTB thread.

Aiyo, she beat me to it! Now only me left!!!!

Mummies here must cheer me up if I get blue and bored during my confinement leh... since I will be the only one "suffering" while you are all out shopping and eating goodies... *sob*

Angeline

I suggest you increase your gal's feed by 10-20ML each time and see if she can finish it, instead of giving her 100% more.

anyway congrats on the incr of your milk supply !! I rem I was so excited when I saw a decent 50ML on the 1st week of confinement as well !

michelle

when bb regurtitate milk, it could be due to over feeding or the maturing digestive system. My gal has this problem of the reflux of the digestive system which causes her to regurgitate milk easily. Thus PD prescribed RID WIND drops for her. It seems better now.

Littlepony

i kept Rachel's cord as well in an angbao. I even kept the hair that my MIL trimmed. Btw wat powder did u use ? I just dried it, that's all.

btw I introduced pacifier to Rachel slightly before 1 mth. Prior to tat, I also realised that she treat my nipple as pacifier and suck for a few mins and dozed off. It is not healthy as it may turn into a habit. Anyway I read that it is ok to give bb pacifier from 3rd week onwards.

elaine

i have the same worry as you on putting bb to sleep on their back. usually after feed, Rachel will def have to sleep on sides. but she already knows how to turn her body and head and lie on her back. And before she regurtitate milk, she will be v uncomfy and make lotsa noises. That's when I will elevate her.

Chn's wife

dun feel guilty lah .. just do whatever u feel happy ok ? Let's try not to compare lor ...

Angeline

wow u did great !! I was nervous when I brought Rachel out to compass pt last Sat too ... and we have to time it really precise so as not to hit her feeding time .. but well ... she was early for her next feeding and luckily we were on our way back home already ... phew ! Didnt know it is such a difficult task ! ha !

hai, now as a mother I feel I have v little personal time. Used to color my nails, moisturise my body regularly before pregnancy. Now i dun really have the luxury to do all these ...dun feel regret though just feel a bit sad for myself haha

now that I want to put moisturise my hands, I will think twice cos i have to handle all the bb stuff and carry my gal as well so I wonder is it safe to put them on ? any advice ?

congrats crystallized !!

domesticgoddess .. u r very much needed here leh !! what will happen when u deliver ... we need so much advice from you ! ehhe

domesticgoddess,
dont worry it would soon be your turn to pop and before you know the confinement month is already over and we are here with you as well.

Chng' wife,
It is okie to give your baby EMB, BF or FM as long as your baby is healthy.

Dont give yourself too much stress and pressure, having and raising a baby need alot of time and patience so take it easy and one step at time.

ilovebabies,
personal or beauty time? hahahaha. . you can forget it about those stuff till you have settled in then you can start to plan on what you want and wish to do

ilovebabies,
dont know yet waiting for news . . .haiz don't know whether can make it anot. Anyway, I have another interview on Tuesday and it also an established company in the electronic industry.

So now just wait and see lor . .. both companies are also not bad, keeping my finger and toes cross that I get the job.

Sha

dun worry ... prob two companies offer u at the same time ..hehe then u r spoilt for choice !! hehe but the 1st coy u told me seems more interesting hor .....

ilovebabies,
I understand what you mean, when I went down to Junction 8 the other day with my hubby I feel that I am so out place need to get more new clothes, shoes or bags. . .hahahaha. . .otherwise I feel that I am so aunties now, no make-up, no nice clothes, no accessories, alamaka. . .

ilovebabies,
ya the first company is more interesting provided that they are willing to take me in. .. so I am hoping only and it is at Great World City!!! Shopping Centre not that bad right.

The other one is also not bad lah it is at Raffles Place.

Sha

yes yes ,... that day went TB plaza and saw this nice top .. guess what. . 1st time in my life i worry that I can't fit into this FREE SIZE top ... damn sian ... haha ... anyway I din try cos Rachel was crying for hunger.

eh GWC not bad ! and got v nice food on the opposite Zion Rd hawker centre. eh the 1st coy name starts with E ? hehe

ilovebabies,
i hope that I get the job first . . hahahaha. . .then we can talk about the discount and many other stuff that come along the way as well. . .hehehehe. . .so pray for me. . .hahaha

Sha

as of now, I prefer to bring Rachel back daily. My mum did mentioned that if I am too tired or I need to OT, she can take care of Rachel. So let's see how lah ... but I dont want to tire my mum also .. waking up at nite is not easy. But I will try to wean her off nite feed prob from 3rd or 4th mth onwards. Friends told me to give water when bb cry for milk then slowly they will wean off nite feeds.

how abt u ? MIL taking care of Sherilyn ?

Sha

of cos .. secure the job first ... earn some $ and pamper yourself !! i really feel i owe myself a lot for giving birth to rachel hahaha

Ilovebabies,
yes my MIL will be taking care of Sherilyn but I too will bring her back but if I am too tired or will be working late I will let her spend the night at my MIL's place. Thou my hubby said that he can handle her if I need to come home late.

During this confinement month my MIL is already doing the night shift so far she is quite happy doing it.

They will increase in the milk intake and slowly they will wean off the night feed all this will come in automatically lor.

ilovebabies,
so far my hubby has been nice to me, he did mention that we go massage when we have time together and if I want to go facial or pamper myself "personal time" just let my MIL take care of Sherilyn.

I want a balance in life thou after giving birth to Sherilyn I still believe that we should have some personal time as well/

Sha

for u it's not really a prob cos u stay so close to ur in-laws... that's the advantage hor ..

wah ur MIL v nice hor .. she is still happy doing the nite shift ! some ppl may complain lack of sleep leh ...

oh so weaning off nite feed is auto ? hope so .. i know some bb need nite feeds till 1 yr old leh !! can imagine !!

Sha

of cos .. we cant dedicate 100% of our time to our kid. We need a life !

think things will be better when I return to work..... yawnnn so sleepy now.

talk to u again ... c u this sunday

ilovebabies,
That is the advantage of staying close to my MIL lor. . . Sherilyn is good hand so I dont have much worry.

Yap that is what I know and hear as baby grow their intake of milk increase and will sleep longer thru out the night as well. As long as you feed them full they will sleep all the way till morning.

I rented a Avent isis IQ duo pump today and just had a go at it. I must say it is really less tiring to use than the manual single pump and much more time efficient. Managed to squeeze out 60ml. Will try again in 3 hours time. Have to get my supply up to meet baby's demand. She is currently drinking about 80 - 100 ml of formula every 3 hours.

got a question. Is formula more 'filling' than BM? I gave Trinity 120 ml of EBM this afternoon but she got hungry again in less than 2 hours time. I wonder if this is just her growing spurt, or is BM less filling on her stomach?

hi angeline, where did u rent the pump? and how much? i tried it at parentcraft and the petal-ed funnel is really comfortable. tot of getting 2nd hand from parentcraft.

edksd,
I rented the pump from the Avent office located at Gateway building. You can rent by day, week or month. If you decide to purchase the unit after the rental period, they will only charge you retail price minus the $$ that you paid during the rental period. Also the units used for rental are not brand new, so there is also a 10% discount of the retail price of S$799. The Avent's office phone number is 63919191.

I agree with you that the petals are really very comfy. I tried the Medela when I was in the hospital and found it rather painful, couldn't tahan the pain for very long. I also found the IQ system very useful and the machine was very quiet. I was pumping with baby sleeping beside me and she didn't even notice it.

Hi Girls
I am pumping while reading and writing this message hee :p

This handfree thingy really not bad :p Now every 4 hours i can pump 4.5 oz around 125ml .. just enough for each of his feeding session :x If the next session dun have, I just give him formula lah. Dun stress ourselves so much :p

My boy refused to be put down to his cot now
I am having a hard time to get him to sleep in the day time ... so this morning no choice got to throw him in the sarong. So far a bit better but he still wants pple to be near him.

Another photo of him. Do u all think he look like la pi xiao xing ? ha ha ha ha :D

529800.jpg

ilovebabies,
my Zhaohui also know how to turn his head liao... tat's e problem cos nowadays i will put him down with his head facing left then he will move to zzzz on his rite again... now i got no choice but to put his little bloster on e rite to support his whole body to turn left... haahaa but never expect he is still struggling to turn rite...

elaine.. i thought they long long ago will know how to turn head alr right? enzo think less than a week can turn head alr.. when he went for his 1st week cx up, dr keoy put his on his stomach, he could even lift his neck up to change the side he's facing... we were pretty amazed...

hi check w u all, this morning i went to a private clinic they oso hv vaccination.

their 5 in 1 is only $84 per jab and 6 in 1 is $94 per jab.

my PD's 5 in 1 is $126 per jab and 6 in 1 is $157.5 per jab.

i wonder is there any difference in the jab medication? why the price difference?

Riushiki,

Your boy is so cute... eyes very big hor... mine opposite... eyes small small like me.. haa...
Wah.. 125ml... envy... i think i need 2 or 3 session then can get that amt leh... sob.. wat to do...

Anyone know how to increase output from one of the breast that is not producing very well?? My left breast hor, really jialat leh... not engorged at all. Very soft. Can only produce 20ml every time while my right side can give like 50ml...
Anyone can help???

Here is another funnie pic of my Rhys...
530032.jpg

hi angeline :

Baby on BM gets hungry within 1-2 hours , on FM around 2-3 hours for my case . I actually tasted my own BM , is a little sweeter compare to formula and fluid . According to CL , baby on FM will have solid poo and he poos at specific timing whereas baby on BM poos after several feeds . I haven't really try full FM as yet , hence , do not know how true that solid poo thingy she was mentioning .

mummy of rhys :
i oso like that , left breast producing , right breast soft soft , press and squeeze oso around 10-25 ml only .. dunno what to do leh ..

hi gals :

have been reading birth summaries and seeing new baby photos ... :> , adorable which comes with responsibility .

if not mistaken , two more on the waiting bench . similar to most mummies here , trying to increase BM supply but did not put too much pressure on myself , i have to switch between BM and FM since my supply does not meet the demand of 90 ml every 2-3 hours .

i am sick of my confinement food too . did not bother much since i have only one week plus to go . more challenge to come as i will be with the baby on my own b4 passing him to the babysitter ( another set of concern , hopefully i get the correct candidate )

edksd,
The price difference is quite abit, anyway I always feel the PD is charging rather high as they are specializes. Maybe that is why the price is difference.

I don't think the medication is of much difference as well.

Anyway, I bring my baby to polyclinic during the first two weeks and will bring her to the polyclinic for the jab on Monay as well. It is much cheaper then PD.

Ladies, my BB is 19 days old. I'm considering increasing her milk intake to 120ml (FM). Is it ok? Or is it too soon to increase?? 90ml doesn't seems to be enuff for her leh...always hungry at e 2nd hr.

chng's wife, if you think your bb is still hungry after finishing 90ml, then just giving her 120ml at next feed to see how much she can finish at one go. That will help you gauge her appetite.

mummie_of_rhys, let your bb suckle on the left breast which is producing less milk first, so he can empty that breast (as bb can really empty milk from all milk ducts better than any pumps) before moving on to the other breast. Also try to stimulate your left more frequently by expressing. Over a few days, you should see improvement.

ilovebabies and sha, thanks..

I just saw gynae this morning since it is my bb's EDD, but no sign of him coming lah.. the water level is still very high and placenta is still strong, so gynae said he can still stay inside for a while since bb is also putting on weight. Sigh...

domesticgoddess... truth be told.. me v tired of expressing milk alr... realli hope its juz a phase i'll pass... dun wanna give up.. but its realli tiring...

furthermore... my milk supply also not great and not enough to satisfy my son's appetite.. so quite sad..

Help, my massage lady cannot make it last minute
Anyone can pass me Mona's contact plezzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzz?

Aiyo, all your babies so chubby! Mine still skinny even though he gained back the weight he had lost when discharged.

Here's a pic of him laughing in his sleep. Wonder what dream he is having... Hehe

530471.jpg

It's 4am now and "factory" is expressing milk hee :D

I giving my bb 125ML per feed now and he finished every drop :x And he is feeding on a 3 hour interval so that means he is drinking 1 litre a day.

Going to take him for the first vaccination later :x Hope he will be okie ... guess better to bring a pacifier down to calm him down after the injection ?

Dumpty, your bb is so cute :p The smile is so sweet. A bb's smile is one of the sweetest thing that you experience as a mummy
for me :p

By the way, I'm signing up with Raffles Hospital for their vaccination package :p Anyone else sign up with them ?