(2006/09) SEPTEMBER 2006 MTB

rainnie.. i no choice.. enzo head alr one side flat cos he only zzz facing his right... so put him on that pillow then he will zzz facing up... sigh.. his head realli one side flat alr lehz... how???

sha.. mine is the satin material one... i have the cotton material one too.. but that one is v heavy.. so i dun like that... maybe i juz need more practice..

edksd,
dead skin around the foot is rather common so dont worry about.

Coz we walk alot and our foot get wet easily as well making it more dry as well.

PrincessEmma,
I brought the satin material it is much softer and more comfy for the baby as well. Don't like the cotton material as it is too think and baby might not feel comfy in it as well.

Yes pratice it more at home and you will be comfortable when you do it outside.

I brought it so that I can go shopping . . hands free!!!

edksd,
with the new born we tend to forget about appearances which is a very sad thing. . also must learn to relax. Who will help you to look after your baby when you are back to work???

edksd, why is appointment time with Dr Ong always so short? If you have lots of questions for him, does he usually take time to answer them or you feel he rushes through them?

dumpty, thanks for wishes. Think my bb may end up arriving in Oct. Your bb was born on my wedding anniversary. I had secretly wished for my bb to arrive on that day too, but alas no such luck! :p

Sha, oh yeah, i can understand what you mean.. I think we can only enjoy being SAHM if finances is no issue, else we will find ourselves wondering about the "opportunity cost" all the time which makes life miserable. Part of the joys of being SAHM for me (and many of my SAHM friends) is the opportunities we have to take our little ones out often and exposing them to different experiences which can really cost a bomb if we are not careful.

Sha, u finishing confinement soon ah...so shiok. I still have 1 week to go...Argh~ I miss my own cooking so much...hahahaha. Miss my fried mee hoon miss my nasi lemak.

domestic goddess, thanks for your advice. This way I can prepare the formula for my hubby for his night shift and leave them in the fridge. He is still unable to prepare formula. (and frankly I don't trust him to be precise with the measurements)

hi domesticgoddess, dr ong runs between 2 rooms in the clinic. so it's really like going for a war (to me). he'll come from the other room and then to our room. usually he doesnt even sit down at his desk, he just stand and examine the bb, talk to us, etc. so i kind of feel tt it's quite rushing for him and dun want to take up too much of his time like tt. maybe im still not used to him. only been to him for 3 times only.

Anyone has allergy problem, I'm having some rashes quite itchy, dun knw is due to the herbal bath or not. Anyone knw if dun bath with the herbs can bath wit hot water only?

Chng's wife,

You can still have fried bee hoon but no nasi lemak... no cocount during confinement. Yesterdae my confinement lady cook curry chicken for me w/o d coconut. Heehee finally something different other than ginger or liquour.

hi sha, my mother will look after bb for me when i go back to work. after confinement, the remaining 2 mths of maternity, i'll take care of bb myself. but of course i know my mom will sure come to help.

im on total breastfeeding. so i feel kind of uneasy not able to be there to breastfeed my bb when im out. i dun want to bring him out. he's only 2wks+ old.

and our bb full mth celebration is next sun. alamak. i dun even hv chance to go for facial. and i only started my post natal massage this wk as i had c-section.

Hi gals, here's a picture of Gabriel @ 2 days old

529231.jpg

I dunno if my milk supply has come in. Sometimes baby cries for more milk just 30 min after his last feed even when he had been nursed for 45 min. This can continue for 3-4 hrs. But after that he'll be ok again. And I have been waking up at 4 am for 2 days to express because my breasts feel so hard. I managed to express 120ml this morning at 4am but that's like 5 hrs after my last feed lor.
Dunno if enough or not.

Chng's wife, you only left 1 week ah? I only just finished 1 week of confinement leh. Already start counting down...

edksd, when i first use the herbal water my mom boiled for me ... to bath i felt itchy as well. 2nd day on wards my mom gave up the herbal stuff and used ginger & lemon grass...thats much better for me! Why not try using this? it helps to remove wind as well ya

I try TBF for the past 2 wks, find that bb tends to sleep a/f 5 mins. Have to wake her up a couple of time so feeding time is long 30 min or 45 mins. But she can wake up 20mins later crying for milk. So now I try to pump out for her but a/f she is full she refuse to sleep. She had treated my breast as a pacifier. wan to suck suck till she fall asleep. Anyone face the same problem
How to solve arh?

I just finished my 5 days massage session half an hr ago
Mona is a very nice lady!!! She only charge for the plastic wrap ... will continue with followup session heehee

melody, not bad leh...still can hv curry. My MIL scare this scare tat...she dun allow me to eat alot of stuff.

Dumpty, we were once counting down to our delivery date. Now, it's another counting down.... Hahahahah

rainnie,

I jst had my first session wit mona tis mornin. Agree she veri nice. Then she ask me how do I get to knw her no. I mention the forum and she said she so fully book tat she had to reject some. Haha seem like the forum is doing free advertisement for her. How much have u lose a/f the session?

chng's wife, oh!!!! did u managed to lose any weight? Are u going to do any followup session with her?

After counting down confinement....if u are going back work ....den u will have another count down again lol heeee

melody, oh isit?? So we are the lucky one? I only managed to lose abt 2-3 kg .... day 1 she ask me to eat less rice and drink less water .. but i never seek her advise! I continue to drink lotsa water cuz i cannot survive w/o plain water!!!
But i'm very happy cuz my tummy prety flat liaoz heeee before she did the massage my tummy look like I'm 5 month preggie....now looks like 2-3 months? heeeeeee

rainnie, I did lost some inches. But I still hv very big hip leh. How huh? I dun hv the courage to stand on my weighing machine yet. Haha. How abt u?

The countdown on going back to work will be quite sian... dunno if I bear to leave my BB anot. Been taking care of her 24hrs...

Chng's wife

Ya lor, if confinement is done by MIL or Mother they will tend to be more careful. Cannot eat this or tat but if by confinement lady they can cook anything we want except those tat we can't take lah. Tonite I'm going to have western food heeheehee

Chng's wife, I lose abt 2 inch ba.....i did not keep track for 1st day leh...cuz i din noe i have to keep a record lol

Melody, my mom quite open leh .... she even do pork chop for me to eat heee .. as long as not cooling stuff and is heaty stuff .. she will let me eat

rainnie,

Tat's good... I'm also looking forward to reduce the 5mth preggie tummy hahaha

Chng's wife

I'm also a big hip gal... was askin mona how to reduce the big big butt...she tell me not to swim walk will help. I will probable take up yoga a/f d confinement. But i guess by nature a pear shape will still be a pear shape

chng's wife, cannot drink...those are cooling stuff leh....

pls include me ... big hip gal as well hehe...huh no swim ah? i doubt i can swim also ... when my breast keep leaking milk .. hahah wait the swimming pool will have the milk smell!!!! LOL

ya manz Chng's wife! irritating right! I scare when I go shopping hor .... e disposable b pad is too full and leak out!!! so malu that happens to one of my friend leh....sighz how to do shopping

michelle,
My bb's umbilical stump fell off in the 7th day. I used the hospital's alcohol clothes. My malay massage lady taught me not to rub it inside out like the nurse told us too, but squeeze the cloth so that the alcohol solution will penetrate the stump. It came off just 2 days after that. I am trying to feed my bb with EBM too but I didn't express it. I notice that when I'm breastfeeding, my other boob will leak so I simply contain it with my milk bottle and within 10 minutes i can get slightly more than 20ml already. After that, I express manually using hand for another 5 minutes then I can get 30ml. Still so little amount of milk!

About the growth spurt, yeah I'm with you!!! Recently i find that my bb is always crying for milk especially at nights! She will cry for milk and I will feed her till she falls asleep, only to cry again when I put her down, check her pampers for poop and changed her, then she cry for milk again, put her down, she never sleep!! After a few minutes she cry for milk again!!! *faint*

rainnie,
hahaha.. i think i everyday oso smell like milk!

chng's wife....
u so cute... yes indeed we r really leaking everywhere... i cant stand my clothes!! full of milk smell.... eeeeee yucks i finsh confirnment liao but got to wait for opportunity to bath cos my baby wants to carry carry n carry. once i put down he will start crying even got chance to put him down i will need to pump milk
being SAHM is not easy if he wants me to carry 24hrs until he can walk .. hai i start giving him pacifier cos he keeps crying. anybody put baby on "yao lan" already cos my mum suggest tat i shld get one since baby want ppl to carry.

edksd,
i agreed with u tat dr Ong is super busy but just ask him watever qns u have. sometimes if u have doubts u can actually call up n ask his nurse cos they can give u some advise then u might not make unnecessary trip down. btw Dr Ong jab is 5 in 1 unless u wanna 6 in 1 then u got to tell e nurse. my 2 nieces r seeing Dr Ong so from my sis, she told me tat Dr Ong says 6 in 1 is stronger n afraid baby cant take it so 5 in 1 is sufficient... tis is y 5 in 1 2nd hep B jab is during baby 1st month whereas 6 in 1 2nd hep B jab is when baby is 2months old cos e tendance of baby having fever after 6 in 1 jab is higher so got to wait till baby 2 months then give e jab then uf baby fever can take med. 1 month old baby is too young to take med. anyway u got to make up ur mind whether u wanna 5 in 1 or 6 in 1 so tat u know when to bring baby to see him again.

Domesticgoddess,
Yes totally agreed on the opportunities cost and lost as well. . hahahaha

Chngs Wife,
YES, I am almost done with confinement. So when are you inviting us over to your place for Bee Hoo and Nasi Lemak???

Edksd,
My babys umbilical cord stump came off in a couple of days think it is the third or fourth day after she is back home.

I have the itchiness as well, it could be our skin not adapting well as we never clean ourselves "properly". What I did is that I brush and scrub myself from head to toe and it helps.

You need to relax and have some time to yourself before you totally have not time since there is help now better make good use of it. That is what I do so I managed to sneak out for facial, dont worry too much. I too am BF my baby but I tell myself that I need some personal time as well otherwise I will go crazy you know the sudden change in life.

edksd, didnt dr Ong give u some powder to apply on baby's umbilical cord?? hegot show u how to apply e podwer?? must really apply inside e hole then e umbilical cord will dried up n drop.

PrincessEmma,
If your bb's head is flat on one side, you may consider buying pillow that contains the shell of beansprouts in it.. The shell of the beansprouts helps to make the bb's head more proportionate after bb lie on the pillow for some time.

little Pony.. i have tht pillow.. but i thought its to put on his tummy when he's zzzing??? its for comfort right? wouldnt it hurt if his head were to be placed the those shells??

Melody,
my bb has also treated my nipple as a pacificer. But my case is slightly different, he will be given FM at about 10plus at night.. then, he can't get to sleep.. he needs to suck suck and treated my nipple as a pacificer.. or else, he can't sleep.
I plan to give my bb pacificer only after the 1st month... so now, just have to let him treat my nipple as pacificer sometimes.

I wonder if anyone of you keep bb's umbilical cord? My bb's umbilical cord drop off a few days after he was brought home and i put some powder on it n kept it in an angbao.

PrincessEmma,
my mil did it for my niece who has an enlongated head...(like a mango shape).. she was sleeping this pillow for a while and now, her shape of head was fine..back to normal. You can give a try.

Sha,
powder to keep it from being smelly.. my CL helped me to do that leh.. that's what she say.

Chng's wife,
ya.. counting down to another different thing.. that's end of confinement.. ya, when you treating us over to your plc for good food? haaaa!! Don't drink green tea lah... drink red dates tea better!!! haa!

Oh.....my prince crying again! sigh! got to go!

Emma
Zhaohui's head also face on e rite liao...

cos i'm sleeping on his rite so i usually put his head facing me when he zzz after feeding so tat if he vomits milk i will know. now igot to start zzz on his left liao. for those mummies who put ur baby zzz head facing uprite, wont u all worry he will choke by thosemilk he vomit out during zzzz?? me so scared cos my boy always get choked.

I kept my baby's umbilical cord but i put it in tissue paper and label it. Think I need to transfer it to my unused tablet plastic container. That's what my mom told me to.

Emma,
Wow now promoted to Princess already liao ah? Hahaha. Ya lor. I tried Medela mini electric pump for 15 minutes only get 10-15ml at most. Waste electricity liao! Tried manual pump oso same. So now since I have good let-down, I just use my hands to squeeze my nipples I can get double the amount for same time.

wow rainie, very encouraging leh.. I want to look like 2-3 months preggie too. LOL!

And LOL about your comment on swimming and leaking in the pool. Same thoughts crossed my mind. heehee..

my ger also treat my nipple as pacificer

jus now i got a shock when she vomit milk out....is alot!!! not little bit nia....tink she suck too much from my nipple liaoz LOL...scare die me! Luckily my mom was arnd .. to help me if not i sure panick onez....oh no she's crying liaoz got to go....

Hmmm...I feeling very guilty. I'm considering giving up breastfeeding. Even thou I dun latch on, I find it a chore to pump and pump every 3 hrs. Seeing u gals pumping and latching make me feel very bad...