(2006/09) SEPTEMBER 2006 MTB

Thanks rainnie! Yes, now that his face is cleared, I seems to be able to 'see' his features more clearly otherwise it's heart pain each time I look at him..

hmmm... I wld like to know too! Right now, I'm doing both : DBF & giving EBM... I think Der Nen is going through a growth spurt, so DBF now is damn tiring! My routine is usually like this...

If I DBF, I will pump both breasts to empty them. (that's what the lactation consultant at TMC told me to do)

If I give EBM, I will pump after feeding and store that for the night feed.

Can I ask : If ur bb is 3.5 wks old, how much is he/she drinking? And how long will this satisfy ur bb before he/she needs to feed again?

Joon, I feed my bb 100ml when he was in his 3rd week... It can last him for about 3 hours if it is solely FM. If I mix it with BM, it can last him at the most 2.5 hours.

Hi, u all have the 3 books by Mrs Wong? how much milk is enuff for baby....here are some info .... from the book

0-1 weeks --> 30-60ML (7-8feeds per day)
1-2 weeks --> 60-90ML (6-7 feeds p day)
2-4 weeks --> 90-120ML (5-6 feeds p day)
1-2 months --> 120-150ml (5 feeds p day)
2-3 months --> 180ml (5 feeds p day)
3-4 months --> 210ml (5 feeds p day)
4-5 months --> 210ml (4 feeds p day)
5-6 months --> 240ml (4 feeds p day)
above 6 months--> 240ml (3 feeds p day)

Hope this is helpful for u joon

erh... then how long should i pump each time har?? i am really lost leh... now already 2nd week and i can only get 40-50ml total after 45mins leh... why no milk??? sob...

Michelle,
70ml in 15mins... so good... mine is miserable... tried fenugreek, hot soup, hot drink, see bb's photo, papaya soup... everything doesnt seems to work... think I going to be depress again... hb so scared...

Hi Angeline,

Yes, please please please pm me her contact please.. i so desperate liaoz.. hope i can improve my milkflow ASAP.

Mummy of Rys,
i using single pump Avent Isis and worst then u lor.. getting ~20ml on left side and rite side nothing much flows out!

rainnie,
believe that this guideline is more for forumula fed babies, as i see the same guideline on the formula milk tin?

anyway, my girl, she refuses to take more then 60ml of FM at anyone time if i decide to supplement.. but her frequency is more then 5-6 feeds a day itz every 2.5 hrs on average?.. so i think it works out to be the same overall quantity per day. Assuming my girl gets min 60ml from both breasts, x 9 feeds per day = 540ml. still within the limits..

so mummies,

try to look at the overall consumed per day, less stressful..

rainnie and chocolat,
my girl also got bad rashes on her face.. was given a mild steriod cream to apply twice a day.. so ugly leh.. her full month celebration not pretty liaoz..

Yes Angeline!

I called her liaoz.. hope she can help me tomorrow and help me resolved my sore nipples and my girl's frustration at the breast and increase my milk and the flow rate!

jasmine, oh isit .. not sure leh .. that one i got it from Mrs Wong book :p din mention is FM or not...or maybe i never notice loh.
ermmm steriod ah ... try to use it as little as possible .. cuz it will make the skin thin leh....and baby skin sooo thin liaoz ... 8X

what kind of rashes ur baby have ah? mine she have pimples like white spot leh.....i wonder is it ok

yeah jasmine i hope tomolo the lady can help u
so that u will have a smooth BF journey!

hi joon...
dont worry so much abt baby intake...as long as he looks contented after each feeding cos different babies have different needs...it must also depends on e size of e baby. my boy is small so PD says he should drink ard 30-60ml(cos his stomach small afraid he cant take it) but he drinks 60ml from wk 1 to wk 2 every ard 3 hrly then same amt but ard 2hrly till he is wk 4. n during e 1 month check he gain 1.1kg which PD is very satisfied...... SO pls dont force ur baby to drinkif he really cant finish cos it will cause stomach upset..

Joon & dumpty,
Thks 4 ur encouragement!
now i dunno am i gg to b end Sep mummy or early Oct one...

Pig2
I am EXACTLY in same situation as u. i am 1 cm dilated, bb is engaged and if still dun pop these few days, am gg to b induced nxt tues since baby's growth has stagnanted and gynae say no pt keeping bb too long inside as my EDD is nxt wk. and yes, like u, baby is still active inside me. too happy wif the gd supply of nutrients, i think!

Sha
I am trying to walk more coz my cervix haven soften. but wif a heavy tummy, its getting increasingly challenging to walk. sigh

Jasmine

did u try the C-hold position to latch ur gal ?
sometimes if i dun do that, Rachel will not be able to grab my areola.

hmm jasmine, assuming u latch ur gal at 1pm, 3pm and 6pm.
Sugguest you express at 2pm, 4pm and 7pm ? I think within 1 hr, the milk would have come in already ya ?

Sorry cant help much cos now I seldom latch Rachel when I am busy or real tired. So most of the time she is on bottlefeed. Thus i am able to plan my time to express milk easier. Share with us what the lactation consultant told u ok !!

gals,

i think it is not advisable to express for too long.listen to your body, once you feel your sore nipple, better stop it. then express some milk manually and rub it on the nipple and let it air dry. It will moisturise the nipple.

i assume that milk will come in within 1 hr ? or does it varies from individual.
as for me, i pump every 4-5 hrs .. depending on my availability at that point of time. Sometimes I will jusst feel my breast and if it is hard enough (not hard as in engorgement), i will express the milk.

i heard from a friend that we SHOULD NOT express only when u feel engorgement cos you will have more fore milk than hind milk.

have you all tried to take the green papaya with fish head bone soup?
It really helps to est my milk supply leh ... I took it for a few days after I deliver. rem to use the NGOR HEE head bone.

michelle

yes baby will know when to stop when they are full. This applies to bottlefeed and latching. My gal will cry if there is not enough milk for her.

Agree with elaine that we shld not force feed the baby. And Joon is correct that we shld look at the overall feed per day, not per session. My PD also mentioned that my gal shld be given small frequent feeds. Now she is feeding abt 80ML every 3 hrs .. so it will be a total of 640ML per day. and she gained 1.3 KG within the 1st month also.

Joon,

not sure how do we cal the amt of milk to give baby.. i guess we have to trial and error ? increase by 10ML each time and see if bb can consume all.

Thanx for sharing the info Amy

Rainie,
Thanx for the table! Der Nen will be 4 wks old this Sat and he's still feeding 8-9 times a day, and avg 90-100ml each time. That's a LOT! (compared to the info in the table) Think I have an Incredible Hulk in my hands...!

Angeline,
All the best for ur consultation tom
Hopefully things will work out for u and Trinity
Keep us updated on how it turns out!

Elaine,
Wow, 1.1kg is very good! Are we supposed to visit the PD every month for bb checkup? My PD didn't say anything leh...?

I bought Fenugreek capsules and have been taking them since Wed night. So far, no drastic increase in milk... still waiting patiently for it to come gushing in!

rainnie,

ya, i using the cream only after bath 1-2x a day..

ilovebabies,
i trying all available positions.. still eh.. ouch! if i feed her direct, say 1pm, i am done by 2pm.. then i normally will try to stimulate with pump (gets mostly almost nil or max 5-10ml).. by this time, i am only emptying the breast! my milk still gotta wait another hr.. then Jadelle will wake up @ 3:30pm to 4pm to be fed liaoz... if i do express anything out.. it will be depriving her of her feed and she gets hungry still and cry after nursing..

joon,

i have been taking fenugreek too. but so far, no gushing milk! but i only take 3 tablets at one time..
cos i not sure got side effects boh...

jasmine

ok got what u meant. But even after u finish expressing, there is actually milk in our breasts leh. The pump will not be able to empty our breast effectively. probably now u want to alt your feeds betw EBM and direct feed ? then you know how much milk you have ? skip a direct feed and exress it out ?

dear mummies,
another tip on increasing BM supply. A can of Guiness stout a night (pls allow at least 3 hours before next feed / express). Apparent this is a trick the 'ang mo' use.

Michelle,
my baby Trinity is suddenly having hugh appetite today too. (today is her 9th day after birth). We had to feed her 60ml FM at 4pm and she didn't sleep, we fed her another 60ml FM at 5pm and finally she slept till 8pm. Then at 8:30 we fed her 60ml FM and she asked for more again (another 60ml) at 9:30. Isn't 120ml a little too much for her tiny body?

ilovebabies,
can try lor. I don't think will get drunk lar. But try at night instead of day, just in case. I heard that this is what the German hospitals give their mummies who aren't producing enough milk.

ilovebabies,
do you think she will drink 120ml and more from now onwards, or will her appetite drop again after the spurt passes?

Also, anyone can advise how to prepare formula in smaller amounts than multiples of 60mls? Eg. if I wanted to prepare 60ml, it is 1 scoop of powder. But if I want to prepare 100 ml, how to gauge how much powder to put in?
Or must we prepare in multiples of 60ml and throw away what we don't want?

finally a decent amount of EBM from me. Just managed to pump out 70ml. I know it doesn't sound like alot, but its encouraging enough for me when I got only 20 - 30 ml in my previous attemps.

On the down side, I didn't latch on since 10am this morning, so does that mean I only produce 70ml in 16 hours???

angeline
that's great news! its very rewarding to see the bottle fill up more than in the previous round rite? ;) anyway wat i read is bb will experience growth spurts every now and then, but they usualy last only a few days or a wk and then they shd revert back to the old schedule. can anyone else verify this?

guiness stout? wow that sounds gd man.. i hvnt had a drop of alcohol since i got pregnant! but i'm sure the older folks in my household wd not allow me to drink the guiness! hee hee

ilovebabies
thks for the reply on babies knowing how to stop when they're full. so when they regurgitate their milk, wat does it mean ?

Angeline.. think you have to pump more frequently.. i realised that when i pump every 3 hours, i get the same amount as when i pump every 4-5 hrs... only get a lil more in the morning cos i dun wake up to pump during the nights...

and realli? stout??? should we try??? i have one can at home.. leftover from enzo's bathtime.. (used it cos he was a lil jaundice.. ) but by right.. during confinement cannot take stout right? isnt it supposed to be cooling???

Guiness Stout
Mummies, if you are not drinkers, then I won't advise you drink as your body may not be able to "digest" the alcohol well. But it is true that many "ang mos" use this method.

Angeline, best way is to make a bottle of 120ml (2 scoops), and pour 20ml into a clean bottle and store in fridge. Use that up within 24 hrs after making. It is perfectly OK to store freshly made FM in fridge and use within 24 hrs. You can top that one up with newly made FM afterwards for subsequent feeds too.

crystallized, why do you want to be Oct mummy?

Actually I don't know if my bb has engaged already. Don't feel like my tummy has dropped any lower than before leh... is it very obvious in your case?

AMOUNT TO FEED BB
Mummies, pls don't use the guidelines on FM tins to guide you on bb's appetite. It is marketing gimmick, designed to get new parents to feed their bb more milk (seriously!). It is bulls**t that bb @ certain months of age WILL drink certain amount of milk as ALL BBs ARE DIFFERENT.

My son drank 120ml/feed when he was between 7 and 12 months and only starting drinking 240ml per feed when he turns 20months. So do many bb I know.

So, please don't be stressed if your bb drinks more or less than other bb. The best gauge is if they have put on reasonable amount of weight.

It may be good idea to have them weighed monthly to gauge their weight gain if mummies have concerns.

Sha, main reason for me to be SAHM is I am convinced that the first 3 years are very important years where nurturing is concerned and that by looking after him myself, I can make a big positive difference to the quality of his childhood.

I can always return to work in future to continue my career, but I can't turn the clock back for him.

domesticgoddess,
that is a great thing to do . . . as for me financially it can't be done now as I have done so much within a year:

ROM, buy house, renovating a house, customary marriage, and pregnancy till give birth . . . all of this is done within a year!!!!! Can you image what it is like, the $$$ in my bank account is almost gone more like it being rob!!!

Hi mums,
Just wanted to share what happened to me today... esp for those who are thinking of giving up BFg / having pumping problems.

- Yesterday, made the decision to switch to pumping and giving EBM, no more DBF
- Woke up this morning : HB gave EBM while I pumped
- Right breast hard & painful... little milk when pumping... suspected blocked milk duct (can feel 1 big lump)
- Stopped pumping to massage with hot towel... little improvement
- Increased power on pump... little improvement
- 3 hrs later, bb cried for milk... decided to latch him on, hoping he can clear the blocked milk duct
- 5 minutes later... BLOCKED MILK DUCT GONE!

My right breast is soft like a marshmallow again! Yay! If u're worried that ur pumping volume is low, don't worry ok! My aggressive pumping couldn't clear the blocked milk duct, but the little baby can! Just goes to show that our bbs are the best pumps in the world

Yeah Sha! 2 more days! hee hee hee...
actually, today, my MIL and HB are starting to go ard to distribute the cakes and ang ku kuehs... chop chop!

Joon,
Yes, the best way to get rid of blocked milk duct is to let baby latch on . . .the same thing happen to me both my breast!!!! So I let my baby latch on and it helps to clear the blocked milk duct.

So you start bathing the normal way liao?? hehehehe. . .

shhh... can u keep a secret? ;) I started showering illegally last week! My mom and granny know (I'm living with them now) and we all keep it a secret from my MIL (who comes almost everyday)... hee hee hee... my mom encouraged me to shower from week 1, but she said better listen to ur MIL, so 1st wk I tahan and never bathe... YUCK!

Joon,
me too. . .hahahaha. . .but not all the time lor. Can't stand nor bathing. .

Do you know that when our baby cry the best person to cry and comft them would be no other than the mother as they like the smell and hug of the mother!!! No bath of days smell like rotten meat right so the more we must bath to keep ourselve clean so our baby can smell us better lah.

sha... me dunno how to use the sling lehz.. everytime i put enzo in... he will struggle and cry..

btw.. i thought that romper was quite funny.. so bot it.... lol...

hi, anyone of u got v dry feet after delivery? duno why my feet are extremely dry even when i apply moisturiser on it which i normally dun. and some skin are starting to peel off. so ugly..

how do u all weigh ur bb at home?

me usually weigh myself first, then weigh myself w bb, then take the difference. duno whether accurate or not. mine is a digital weighing machine.

hi joon,

i bought zhaohui back to see e PD for hep B 2nd dose so at e same time e nurse will do an assessment of his growth together. u can refer to e health booklet to see wat ur baby shld acheive every month... then they will weigh him, measure his hand circumference n height too.

hi edksd,
i think i will let my boy jab watever Dr Ong think is neccesary. prevention is always better than cure

edksd,
I think it is due to dead skin that you are experiencing that is why it is peeling off. Need to get a scrub or exfoliate it or better still if can go have a pedicure.

I dont weight myself. . dont want to get myself too depress in the weight thingy. Hahahaha. . .

PrincessEmma,
What type of material you get??? I got the soft type and so far so good. I carry baby facing me first, then I put the sarong over us, I carry her with her face facing me and her tummy to mine tummy, she is more comfortable that way.

emma, ur enzo look so cute with the romper hahaha......and the words...hmmm :p eh...btw can let baby sleep on pillow liaoz meh?

edksd, yes definitely going for rotarix vaccination as for prevenar maybe later loh...cuz i saw e price hor very ex!!!!!

hi elaine, since our PD is the same, can u tell me what dr ong says abt vaccination? does he recommend to take individual or combined like 5 in 1 or 6 in 1? and when is the better time to take the rotarix and prevenar jabs?

i always wanted to ask him but everytime the appointment is like so short and so rushed tt i always forget to ask him.

sha, is the sarong really good? I might need 1 ... but i dunnoe where to buy and how to use!!! hahaha.... how much does it cost ah?

hi sha, duno why my feet got dead skin... dun dare to go pedicure later pple tot i got some kind of disease... like as if ive not enough things to be bothered w... sigh...

Rannie,
I brought it before my baby is born as I think it would come in handy. I brought at about S$30+ to 40. There is a instruction booklet and a CD ROM inside to guide you so dont worry.