(2006/09) SEPTEMBER 2006 MTB

Woohoooo congratulations Hellobaby!!

That is a big baby!!!

hi all... thanx for all the well wishes...

here's my v loooong birth story..
and a pict of my baby Enzo..

<font color="0000ff">Monday (04/09/06)

1900 Visited gynae at clinic cos baby Enzo din really move on Sunday.. Advised to induce juz in case baby no longer happy inside..

2300 cx in at TMC.. went to get prep and waited for gynae..

Tuesday (05/09/06)

0000 Gynae cx for dilation.. barely 1cm.. insert pill to induce.. sent to ward to zzz

0800 sent down to labour ward to cx dilation.. only 2 darn cm so sent up to ward AGAIN

1500 thought its abt time cos contractions are frequent @ once in 3 5 mins.. sent down to labor ward again cx.. still 2 cm!!!! (dunno why I have such a strong relationship this this Mr 2cm!!)

1545 Gynae burst waterbag... advise edd would be 9-12.. me being put on FAULTY CTG machine that shows contractions if 40 over.. so nurse thought no need epidural for this kinda pain level.. so I REN3 and I waited for 7 bloody hours in the prep room for a labour ward!! All the while, super painful contractions still show 40 on that stupid old cranky machine..

2300 finally got labour ward for me!!! ( cos they only have ONE person to clean all the labour wards after delivery!!) went in strapped on to new machine.. suddenly contractions show 80+ from the 40 on that stupid machine almost wanted to kill the nurses but actually pain still bearable.. hehe..

2330 gynae came and cx again still... guess???? 2 cm dilated!!!

Wednesday (06/09/06)

0200 cx again!!! 2 3 cm dilated!!!! Contraction pain now exceeds 100 me high on NO2.. but buay tahan alr gynae gives 2 options.. epidural and wait or epi and c-section by then.. me too tired after 26 hrs of labor so I chose C-Section with GA

0230 sent to O.T

0253 baby Enzo came to this world weighing 3.095kg, 48cm long, with a 33cm head hehe..</font>

Overall.. my experience with TMC labour ward staff and everything was not a pleasant one.. but the nurses on level 5 were great...

510239.jpg

Hi WeiKuan

I already started to take tonic leh. I bought it from the chinese medication hall..they say got diff types, some can take straight away some hve to wait for 2nd week or 12 days later.

weikuan,

my mum gave me drink a tonic to clear out all my blood clots n old blood in the uterus for 2 days, after which, i can start to take tonic..

congrats to hellobaby !

Emma, ur bb face indeed v round .. so cute !

Jasmine

glad to hear ur bb is doing fine ... phew ! what a relief ya ? now u can concentrate on est your milk supply and be a happy mother !!

Dumpty,
Sherilyn is much better today, the doctor have given the right medicine but the dosage is too high that is why she shit too much. . . after the consultation at MtA last night we are advise by another doctor to reduce the dosage and also there is another medicine to hold her bowel.

She is much happier and alert today . . . could not sleep last night so cuddle and breastfeed from 3am till this morning at about 6am then I put her down at her own bed.

Hehehe. . . not my hubby got the discount me go search and found out. As it is thru a friend who has a friend that is working one of the shop that sell the product so managed to get the discount lor. . . hehehehe.

Ilovebabies,
Yes, the pump is very efficient and good and saves me a lot of time as well. . within a short a while I managed to get the job done. . hahahaha. . . tonight my hubby will doing the graveyard shift coz he want to watch football so later need to go and pump out some milk for Sherilyn.

Sherilyn got some infection from the air so she is down with running nose but she is much better now. . .the stupid doctor in the poly clinic could not detect it.

Hehehehe. . .it is different, WX is definitely much stronger as she have been thru more than we can image.

I try to BF her every now and then when possible be it morning or night as I want to have more bonding with her. Like last night after I BF her I let her sleep at my chest and later put her next to me and sleep till this morning.. . .hehehehe. . .kick my hubby one side.

My menses is heavy the first few days but my MIL brought and make me some Chinese Medicine, according to the medical hall it is suppose to help clear it up faster within 2 weeks. . .so lets see it is now only one week. . hehehehe.

chocolat,
I'm packing my hospital bag now. Can you tell me what is not necessary to bring to the hospital? How about towels, hospital provide or not?

edksd,
Scary thought about induction. Some pple respond well to the drug and some people don't. At least I am already dilated and effaced and baby is engaged so I hope induction works for me. Now I'm quite looking forward for induction next week but we'll see what my gynae say on Monday. Are you having plenty of BH contractions? I have been having them everyday. Sit quietly oso got BHC. Today I want to go out to the Expo and walk walk a bit.. Ha..!

hi melissa, me no BH contraction at all. but since thur, i do feel a bit of menses kind of cramp. but just once or twice a day esp when im walking.

hi Sept mummies and MTB, I am back from a long MIA. Congrats to all those who have popped and those who are still waiting, gotta ENJOY your remaining period.

Mummy of Rhys and LittlePony, my EDD is 30th Sept too and there is still no sign of me popping anytime soon. Aiyo, maybe I will be "pushed" to OCT MTB thread.

cereal, *wink*. you are very funny... can't wait for bb to pop!

mummies who have tried naturally delivery without epidural or any other forms of pain relief, can you share how bad is it? I am now considering it for this delivery, but just considering and haven't made up my mind.

Sha

glad to hear Sherilyn is doing well now

think the GP is not good in treating newborns. I got complaints from friends also when they bring their newborns to GP. Think it's still best to send them to PD, at least I will feel more assured.

eh one thing to note .. dont carry the bb too often as the 1st mth is the crucial period, as in they pick up things v fast and know how to cry for attention ...

hai my Rachel is getting smarter lor.. sometimes cry a bit ... then if my parents carry her, she slept immediately. see .. naughty gal liao .. i scolded her at times ahah then she just look at me with her big eyes .. then I also soft hearted liao hahah

i latch Rachel on at nite too and i sleep with her as well so that I can monitor her. Hubby sleep on the mattress on the floor haha.

Dont worry abt the mensus, bf will reduced the flow real fast.

Do you feel ur uterus contracting ? I had it many times within the first week and can see that it shrunk real fast even before Mona's massage.

you are right, WX is very strong. Cant believe she went thru so much, but am very glad that Rayden is brightening up their days !

Ilovebabies,
Which PD you go to?

We try not to carry her most of the time, but when it come to sleep time she will want to be carry lor otherwise she will cry but so far so good lor, other than that we let her lay on the mattress and play on her own and we monitor her.

Your hubby get to sleep on the mattress my hubby still sleep in the bed, lucky he his not those that move a lot during sleep as well. Coz he want to sleep with baby as well he said, cant deprived him of that right . . .hehehehe

I can feel my uterus contracting when I latch her on during the first two days especially when I am in the hospital there is an aching pain but bearable. Hope it has contract back.

Mona is only able to massage me next Thursday but she will call me on Tuesday and let me know if she can come over on Wednesday, I hope so. Hope she can help to shirk me back as everything seem so big to me dont even darn to try on any of mine old clothes . . .hahahahaha.

Hope everything will go smooth for WX and all as well.

You know Qi Qi have a low placenta and she got problem walking now . . . come to think of it she will deliver in another two months time. . .how time fly and by then we can meet again!!! . . .hehehehehe. . .with all the babies!

Hi Sha

I visited the PD Dr Terence Tan/ Dr Lee Chien Yee at Kinderclinic located at Mt A. Dr Tan is the PD for Rachel at birth.

eeh ur hubby also loves Sherilyn alot mah ...

ya there's this mensus like pain when the uterus contract. Always feel v happy when I had this feeling. but somehow it stop oredi leh ... does it means it have shrunk back to the orig size ? actuallY i doubt so ...

ahah I am going to try my jeans when I go back next week ... hai wont give myself too much hopes. hehe

and my top is bigger now that i am BF, so dunno i can still fit in my working clothes. got excuse to buy new ones ?

eh i din know QiQi got this problem leh .. she did sms me but din mentioned to me. but think she is still working leh ...

ya I was telling her we can celebrate xmas day together with our babies ! wow .. what a crowd !!

hi wei kuan,
yes think that is wat they call it..

sha, ur gal is how many weeks old now? i still can't pump much out leh.. what am i doing wrong? bb can latch on well though, but i can't seem to express much at all to store.. any tips?? i am using the avent iq uno..

jasmine,
beside the shan hou tan, did u take any pills to expel the blood cot?
did u totally did not touch tap water at all. I find it impossible lai

Domesticgoddess.. *wink* *wink* too.. ar..haha..u know i hv always been funnie..dun u.. kekeke..
So u wana try w/o epi ar..i think i can't tahan the pain man.. sometimes my BH at nite already feeling quite painful.. the actual one..oh..man...

chng's wife.. where r u?? pop already? how come no sound over last 24 hrs.. kekeke

littlepony..ok.. u pop u will sms me eh?

Anyone knows whether it is possible to have no signs of labor even when one is 5cm dilated???
I heard from a fren that she did not have any "show" nor contractions when she was admitted with 5cm dilation (only some discomfort)....
...possible ma? no "show" when dilated till 5cm??

Thanks for officially adding me in the list and give me a place at the end on the waiting bench... haa...

Today just went for my 37wk checkup. Rhys is around 3.2kg. Big lor. Gynae say may monitor for 1 more week. Say 38wks very good time to induce. She scared that wait bb too big, very difficult to go natural delivery. But then if now induce, will be a long labour too... sigh... now I also dun know how....

Today, wanted to go out one but suddenly hor, like handphone battery suddenly went flat in 2 mins like that... very very tired. Told my hb and went back home to sleep for 2 hours. Was secretly wishing for Rhys to come out today... go toilet, keep wanting to see blood... haa... now this sounds familiar hor... someone here said that exact thing... haa....

How har girls? should I induce? or endure?

Mummie of Rhys,
We're in the exact position. My baby is also big and she wants to induce next week. How about internals? Did your gynae tell you how dilated/effaced you are?

wow,mummie_of_rhys, your bb is big. Mine is only 2.6kg at 37weeks though he put on 400g in that one week (and I lost 400g in same week *yeah!!*).
why did you say if induce now, will be long labour? any relationship there? what is bb's head circumference now? It seems like a lot of the mummies' gynaes favour induction. I've heard that mine is famous for not inducing bb unless absolutely no choice as induction tends to increase, not decrease, the risk of emergency c-section.

You take care and don't tire yourself out in the final weeks.

I am back!!!
My baby born at 6 sept 06 at 13:21pm induce natural birth without epidural.

My labour story
---------------
8 am: Admit to hospital. clear bowel, shave.
9 am: Doc come burst water bag, and put drip.
9:30am: can feel contraction come every few min but v mild one.
10 am: frd called. tell her that i can tahan. nt pain at all.
1030am: contraction get more painful.
11am: more n more painful contraction.
1130am: nurse come and check. 6cm dialate.
12am: nurse come again advise use gas and do tight injection. Then check again, 7cm dialate.
12:30am: doing the injection. Really dun like the gas because of smelly rubber, but no choice have to use. MOre n more painful and got need pass motion feeling. nurse ask to tahan cause doc on the way.
13pm: Was told doc down stair, can practice to push.
1321: Baby come out after few push.

Feel bleesed that it's a short labour and i manage to do natural delivery after C-section....

Wish all the mum haven't pop have smooth delivery..

510924.jpg

Hi Melissa,
Thanks, he only 3kg.. Luckily he not so big i guess that's why smoother delivery..

Wish you good luck and have smooth delivery.

Hi Melissa,
My gynae checked my cervix and not dilated at all. I think that is why she say if now induce, might be a long labour. usually if you already at least a few cm dilated, induce will be very fast.
Another case is that as domesticgoddess says, if induced without dilating, if in the end, turns out not dilating fast enuff or takes too long to dilate and bb in distress, most likely will end up e-csect lor...I dun want leh... so now i also dun know what to do...

thanks, domesticgoddess. I try to rest as much but still got to work leh... secretly hope that bb decided to come out naturally within this week. hee.. then no need to worry so much liao... sigh... must everyday nag at bb liao.. haa... "come out leh...come out leh..."

Ming liew,
Your bb so cute... so good, induce but fast leh... i heard of some cases, induced but took 24 hrs... end of e-csect... so happy for you... wish mine is that smooth and short...

Ming Liew, congrats! Ur BB very cute!!!

Cereal, I still sitting at e bench leh...So suay, my PC spoil...got to go my mum's place then can use...tat's y MIA lor. Dun worry, I sure sms u when it's my turn! Hahahaha =)

haven't been posting here coz have been kinda occupied

welcome to the oct mummies
and congrats to everyone who has popped!! ming_liew &amp; emma... ur bbs are so cuuuuuuteeeee!

anyway, i finally took my 1st shower yesterday, 1 whole week after giving birth, i finally WASHED MY HAIR! wah, the feeling is so shiok... i can't believe i managed to tahan 1 whole week... with all this haze and mucky weather too!!

just did my 1st malay massage today too... also quite shiok! another 2 hours and i can take out my binding
whoopeee! but it's really not that bad at all... quite comfortable actually coz everything is wrapped so tight. tomorrow she's going to do thigh slimming wrap for me! hee hee hee...

just a qn though... shld we give our malay masseuse an ang pow after all the massages? if so, how much shld we give? has anyone finished their massages?

Congrats to Emma &amp; Ming liew! Your bbs are so cute
Thanks to the new mommies for sharing your stories and experiences, been taking down notes when come across advice/tips, hope later will be great help.

Melissa, thanks for adding me to the list.

Wei Kuan, i read that we need to take Sheng(1) Hua(4) Tang(1) to expel the blood/lochia from our uterus. You can get it from chinese medication hall.

I went for wk37 checkup yesterday, bb is growing but now come another problem - placenta aging!
511181.png
So most probably i'll be induce some time next week
Doc said bb is not engage yet and my cervix is still tightly closed leh... my BH contraction also not frequent...there's no sign of labour at all, so kind of worried that the induction may fail and end up with c-section. Some told me to walk more so that cervix will start to soften, but doc advised to bedrest. I have been on bedrest for more than a month now, wonder if i have the strength/muscle to push for a natural labor
511182.gif
I have a feeling that i'll probably go thru c-section.

joon

i did not give any ang baos to Mona, just paid her accordingly. You engage her services ? Actually i love the tummy binder, it cures my backache i had for the first week due to epidural and freq bending down to the cot.

Congrats to Emma and Ming liew !!

Cherrie, dun worry too much .. your bb is considered full term and is ready to meet u any time. Seek gynae's advice ...

wahhh wooo hoooo ! my confinement is finally ending next week .... at least it rained today as i was feeling so hot for the past 3 weeks. Now I can only bath and wash hair every 5 days ... mum's order, cant defy hehe

me going home on next Sat and holding my gal's full mth celebration on Sun .. gonna call the caterer and confectionery tmr !! hope I wont be too late ...

Wow, ilovebabies,
Has it been almost a month since u've given birth????? Time flies huh! So fast! I still have 3 more wks of confinement left
and so far, I'm NOT loving my confinement.
YUCKS! But I guess I cannot complain coz my hb will let me bathe every 2 days
from now on.

Thanks for sharing the info on the ang pow. I won't give an ang pow then. I didn't get Mona. Mine's a recommendation from a friend. So far I like her - friendly, chatty and she seems quite knowledgable coz she used to work at KKH. Soon after she put the binder on me, I could feel air bubbles coming out of my 'down-there'! She said the binding will help get rid of air trapped in the uterus!

Cherrie,
Don't worry ok? If ur doc advises bedrest, then u'd better listen to him. He shld know what's best for u.
And be positive! Think good thoughts and be positive about having enough strength for the labour. You must tell yourself that YOU CAN DO IT! The mind is a powerful thing. We can do amazing things if we just put our minds to it! Women are strong. That's why we've been tasked to go through labour, not men. Think good thoughts ok?
talker.gif
I know you can do it

haven heard any mummies popping over this wkend yet... or the gd news will only b out tmrw?

Joon,
the confinement will b over soon lah. i noe its easier said than done. i think i will b super pek chek when i cant bath and so paranoia tt i smell!

emma &amp; ming_liew,
ur babies SUPER cute! very rosy complexion. wat u gals ate during pregnancy paid off.
thks 4 sharing the pix.

cereal, u haven pop?? Where's little pony? Popping?
Tmr I going for med appt...hope to get some exciting news from gynae. =)

ilovebabies &amp; joon, thanks for the encouragement. I believe mothers are incredible, hope i'll be one too

BTW, typo in the last posting, yesterday checkup was wk37+6days, bb is indeed ready to see the world

hi ilovebabies,

which caterer r u engaging??
cos i actually got 1 in mind but now got to look for another one cos tat caterer is not proving halad food

anybody got good caterer to recommend?? need Urgently !!! thanks a lot

emma and ming liew, your bb are so cute! Love their round faces.

joon and ilovebabies, how much does Mona charge for the massage? how frequent do you have her massage?

I remember having terrible backache everyday after delivering my first boy, but not sure if it was from my daily BM expressing or epidural or combination. maybe i should engage her services too... hmm..

cereal, you booked yours already, right? where from?

cereal, i have heard from another mummy who was dilated to 4cm with no labour pains or signs. she went to see gynae as part of regular visit on her EDD and gynae checked her and found her to be 4 cm dliated already. so she was sent to hospital ward for delivery and bb popped within 3 hrs (i think).

emma and ming liew,
congrats, babies are cute &amp; adorable! as always...

ming liew,
glad to hear that you had no probs going thru the VBAC. i wld think 3kg is quite big already if compared to mine. but isnt it a great feeling...to be able to give birth naturally PLUS w/o epi after a c-sect...
good job on your end!

DG,
been a long time. how are you coping? is Marcus getting excited abt getting a bro/sis???

good morning

Hi Cereal,
Yeah! Remember that night last Sat? So funny huh? It WAS real labour! Are u still getting insomnia?

Hi domesticgoddess,
I did not get Mona. I got another lady, recommended by my friend. Right now, I'm paying $380 for 7 days (in a row), $400 if u live far away. She provides her own binder, towels used during the massage and bedsheet. I think this is pretty standard. She is charging me extra for my thigh slimming massage. I just pay for the extra bandages, that's all. Each time she comes, it's 1.5 hrs. So far, so good.

Hi elaine,
Maybe u can consider Elsie's Kitchen? I used them for my church wedding reception coz they are Halal. Food is not bad. They have a wide variety of cakes and pastries.

www.elsiekitchen.com.sg

Hi Babyzucchini,
Thanx for the encouragement! I know... must bear with it... before we know it, it'll be over. I mean, ilovebabies has only 1 wk left!!! Btw, have u bought ur disposable undies? Coz I have leftovers that I can give away.

Anyone hasn't bought disposable undies and needs them? PM me!

Chng's wife, me still with bb in tummy
have not pop...hope u got good news ar.. must come share share after ur visit, ok....
yesterday i went shopping w hubby... dun really feel like going one but then i also hope to "induce"
... then at nite legs damn tired..

Joon, ya.. still getting insomnia.. but i really try to sleep also.. so last nite slept well..guess coz i was tired from the shopping..keke

Domestic goddess, ya, i booked my massage lady since June!!! haha

Hi Gals
Long time no post coz everyday is like a battlefield for me. I have to come up with a timetable myself to indicate the no. of soiled diaper, feeding time, sleeping time etc so that I can keep track of my bb's pattern. So far it has really made life easier for me

Breastfeeding is the most tough so far for me :x But I will try to complement with formula if he is crying for more after a feed. My friend asked me "Which is more important? BB hungry or the different type of milk ie. breast milk or cow milk as long as it's milk" hee ... I shouldn't feel too guilty if I got to top up with formula as my breast milk is not sufficient for my bb now ...