(2006/09) SEPTEMBER 2006 MTB

lichristin,
Dun think it makes sense to be induced just b'cos of bad swellings of hands and legs. My friend was suggested induction b'cos her amniotic fluid is low and might cause fetal distress. Ask your gynae if it's medically necessary.

Hi Little Pony,

hmm the reason why the doctor ask me to induce coz he say my water retention very bad, and he afraid it might affect the baby and also my blood pressure a bit on the high and tats why he suggest that. But i am very confused too coz I don seem to have any sympton of giving birth yet leh, except bad swelling so also not sure if to continue waiting or go for it...Sigh...

Hi lichristin

Our EDD is the same! What is your doc's reason for inducing you? What did he tell you? Personally, I feel that natural is best. My doc has also suggested inducing before, but she didn't insist on it la... I said I don't want to be induced.

When you are induced, they inject oxytocin into you, and that's like being thrown right into the deep end of the pool immediately. When you go through natural labour, we all start off at the shallow end and slowly move towards the deep end, (I'm talkg abt the intensity of the contractions) so our bodies get used to the feeling of the contractions and we can deal with them better.

I think the big question now is, why does he want to induce you if it's only swelling and water retention that you've got? (coz water retention and all that is pretty common)

Hi all, my waterbag burst this morning at 11.30am... It actually trickled out, not big gush as what some had experienced... Went to SGH to do CTG just to be sure and was asked to be admitted.... Gynae said if contractions don't start by 11.30pm tonight, she will need to induce me tomorrow... Will SMS one of you after I give birth.... Pray for me okie...

Hi Cereal & Melissa,

I also don think it makes sense to induce due to bad swelling leh...guess maybe I will tell my doc I rather continue to wait...Thks for the advise...

Hi Lichristin,
One of my frd induced bcs her 1st one is a stillborn pass EDD. That's why 2nd one, at 38 weeks the doc ask her go for induce..

Hi Joon,

hee we have the same EDD date. So do you have any sympton yet? I don seem to experience anything except for my bad swelling...guess I think I should continue to wait...whre u giving birth at?

Hi lichristin,

Just read ur last post
So besides water retention and a slightly high blood pressure, there's no other reason? Is he making you decided soon?

Well, before you decide, you should read up on natural ways to combat those problems. For eg, reducing salt intake can help lower BP, or a bit of walkg at ur stage now might also help.

For water retention, drink more water (yup! yup!) and reduce salt intake. Our bodies retain water becoz there's not enough water being taken in.

So, there are natural ways to combat/help these problems, and personally, I think these should be looked at first before medical intervention.

Just my 2 cents' worth!!
Hope it helps!

lichristin, i dunno ur gynae so i really can't comment if he/she is giving the best advice to u. For me, if my gynae ask me to induce due to a particular reason, i will tend to trust her professional advice. So i think u better talk to ur gynae again and find out more on why/how does your bad swelling/water retention & blood pressure will cause harm to ur bb. If ur gynae after explaining the reasons and still advice u to induce, then u might really want to consider.

amylim,
Oh gosh! You r 3rd on the list then! Congrats!!!!! Hey, msg anyone of us!! you have our numbers hoh!!! Take good care! JIAYOU!!!!

Hi lichristin,
Yup yup! 4 Sept!
hee hee hee... I can't wait to finally meet my bb! I'm sure u feel the same
I did have some swelling like 2 weeks back, so I drank more water and whenever I could I elevated my legs. (like sleep with my feet on pillows) I also went swimming coz I read that was supposed to help. I was lucky, it went away after a few days.

I think if ur doc is not pressuring u to decide so fast, try all other methods to help those problems. You never know! Things might get much better! But ultimately, he is the expert here and if after trying other methods, nothing improves, we should still listen to their professional opinions right?

I'm going to TMC. U?

lichristin,
ya.. speak to your gynae first. If putting induction off will harm you or your bb, then seek your gynae's advice. If not, then like Joon says, reduce salt intake or raise your legs with a pillow while you sleep could actually help with the water retention...

Hi Cereal,

Hee, maybe I will try to ask him more when I see him this Saturday...thanks for yr advise, I also don wish to go through induce for my baby to be out...hehe...

Hi Joon,

i will try yr method and see if it help this few days. I also cant wait to see my bb..getting sleepless nite these weeks as I keep dreaming of how it is like to experience contraction..hehe..
me too giving birth at TMC...I choose the 4 bedded ward hoping to have free upgrade...hehe...

Wow! Amy! I just read ur post! Be calm and relaxed... don't panic ok!

According to my childbirth book, here are some natural ways to initiate labour...

1. Eat spicy foods. Stirring up the digestive processes also stirs up your birthing muscles and your body into action.

2. Make love. Semen contains the hormone prostaglandin which helps to soften the cervix. (but don't know if this is pleasant when we're all so big and heavy!!)

3. Stimulate the nipples. This releases oxytocin which can start uterine contractions.

4. Walk!!

5. Cleanse the bowel. Emptying the bowels can stimulate the production of prostaglandin, the hormone that thins the cervix.

Hopefully, it'll happen naturally and you won't have to be induced!! Good luck!! We're all rooting for you

hmm... my gynae told me to avoid intercourse after 34 weeks. Even putting olive oil to nipples that i spoke abt earlier should only be done after 36 weeks... coz all these methods to induce birth has potential risks of causing distress to the baby...which is harmful.

As for me, i have never stop eating spicy food even when i preggie.. keke. That one i really can't help it, coz no spicy food = no more enjoyment in eating :p

Haaa. me too. sometimes, just need to spice things up so i feel eating spicy food got taste.. other than that, food seems almost tasteless.

Oh dear! Cause the bb distress? I didn't know that! Well, I doubt any of us here have been "in the mood" for the past few wks... er... at least I know I haven't!! hahahahaha

ya joon...how to hv mood when tummy so big, constant backache, sudden leg cramps...and most important.. soooooooooooooooo hot ;)

no intercourse after wk34 is it becos dun want to get in contact w sperm which will cause the duno what hormones which will ripen the cervix or something like tt?

then how abt intercourse but not in contact w sperm, is it ok?

melissa, me too still hv the mood. in fact throughout the 9 mths, i always hv the mood but first tri, didnt do coz worried abt miscarriage. 2nd tri, still worried. u know la.. super paranoid abt it. so now 3rd tri, really cannot hold it any longer.

edksd, no intercourse reason is to minimize any excitment which may cause/trigger contractions - which will potential cause distress to baby...
but if u hv not had probs with tat.. i guess u can continue to enjoy ... hehe

edksd,
yeah we always play safe. hubby will be using the rubber for protection. b'cos i told him the sperm can cause contraction so he's also cautious.

halo gals

here I am ... back from a sleepless nite

here's my labour story:

18/08
was on half day on Fri to go shopping with mum.
reached home at 5pm, had shower.

545pm - i can feel mucus plug out again (was out on Thurs nite and Fri am) and follow by a gush of water. went to sit at toilet bowl and feel more sipping out. luckily before I heed u gals' advice and put on a thick pad.

6.30pm - reached MAH and put on CTG in delivery ward. still 1 cm dilated but can feel bb head. nurse called my gynae and he say let my body decide when bb will come out.

640pm - clear bowels with the thing inserted into anus (called enema or something ???)

1120pm - CTG shows some contractions of abt 100 but I only felt mild contractions.

19/08
825am - cervix chk shows 2 cm dilated only
830am - clear bowels again.
905am - gynae sugg that I put on drip to induce the contractions since my waterbag was dripping whole nite without any actions.
1005am - starts to feel the effect of the drip and contractions coming in v regualarly.
1054am - 4cm dilated
1140am - asked for epidural cos contractions hit > 100 and feeling the pain esp at the pelvic and back.
1245pm - nurse clear bladder and i am 8cm dilated. Had the side effects of epidural and getting shivery once in a while
1335pm - 9cm dilated .. nurse came in to prepare me for delivery and oredi ask me to start pushing. at this pt of time, it is a training session for me before gynae comes in.
1405pm - gynae came, ordered epidural dosage to be decrease and start the pushing. two nurses assisting me and push my tummy. hubby was beside me to press my head down during pushing as advised by nurse. Gynae using a vacuum on my gal's head as I cant feel much due to epidural thus I dont have the urge to push. Gynae and nurses keep encouraging me and ask me to imagine how I pass bowels.
1448pm - baby rachel is out after many pushes !!!

my advise is that if u gal wanna use epidural, ask for a lower dosage so that u can still feel the contractions and thus have the urge to push. I was too comfy as I cant feel anything ehhehe

i was discharged on Mon and yest nite was a sleepless nite for me. Many ppl tell me that bb is adapting to a new env thus she behave diff when she was in hospital. And her feeding time was v irregular which according to friends, it's normal.

so before I could sleep .. she may be waking up again ahaha and my gal is sooooooo comfortable when I latch her on that she always sleep. And she has slight jaundice so I am afraid that my colostrum amt is not enuff for her daily fluid intake. so i decided to alt her feeds btw BM and FM. need to bring her back to MAH on thurs for jaundice chk again.

so I guess we have 2 gals (incld me) her who popped ah ? and heard amy is the next right ??

gals just be relaxed during contractions, it does helps in the dilation .... good luck !! my gal is waking up v soon for her feed eheheheh

ilovebabies,
so excited juz by reading ur birth story! It sort of pre-empt me on wat to expect too and sweet little gal u have there! She looks so contented, comfortable and xing4 fu2 from the after-bath foto..

cereal/littlepony/bena,
I'll also be delivering at GlenE most likely on 28th Aug. Will be checking on the condition of my cervix this Fri. Hope everything is good for a natural birth though I'll be induced!
Btw, the $30 carpark coupon is for multiple entries & exits for a duration of 3 days. I got this coupon too when I was admitted last mth due to bleeding. This is the so call special rate they have for patients there lo..

ilovebabies,
CONGRATS! Great that you shared your labor story...me..waking up at this wee hours coz suddenly felt some contractions while sleeping..then now can't sleep so here I am reading ur story.. THANKS and CONGRATS once again. BTW, do u think epidural was necessary after ur labor?

Chocolat,
wow.. u must be looking forward to THE day. I really can't wait for mine to pop man. Thanks for the info re parking too.

ilovebabies,

Congrats!How nice to have ur bb w u right?
Hmmm, when will be my turn??
You rest well and take care!

cereal,
I dont think after the labour, u still need epidural.

Hi ilovebabies,

Congrats! Your baby looks real cute! With so much hair some more... Hehe...

Now it's Amy's turn. Wow, this thread is getting exciting everyday!

peachie,
Yes, yes, its getting exciting. More and more MTBs are popping.
You r counting down right?

I feel so sianz of waiting leh..

Amy, take care and hope to hear good news from you real soon!

ilovebabies! Thanks for sharing ur birth story. It's really exciting! Can't wait for mine!
You take good care and do pop by whenever possible.

Chocolat, looks like u will be the 1st to pop among the GlenE MTBs and 28-Aug is just NEXT WEEK! Getting all excited? Do keep us posted!

ilovebabies,
Congrats! Welcome back to the thread and thanks for sharing your story n experience with us. I am sure this will be the beginning of your motherhood! haaa! Bb Rachel looks so sweet.

We are waiting for Elaine to come back with her story and of coz, Amy is next! Heee!!!

chocolat,
u mayb the 4th to pop then? Keep us updated when u finish your checkup on Friday then.

Thanks for letting us know about the multiple entries n exits at Gleneagles using the $30 coupon.

I've got mild contractions yesterday night and i wonder it happens to you gals as well? But of coz, the contractions were mild and I am able to sleep so I shouldn't be alarmed , right?

Now, i am recording down the timing of the contractions and see how it goes.

ilovebabies,
congratz!! u've made us all so excited and looking forward to our turns! Do rest as much as possible and login when u can!

Anyone heard from Amy yet?

btw, do u gals want to start a list of those who've delivered? something simple so anyone of us can update and post if we get any info.

eg. (1) nick, date of delivery, time, girl/boy, weight

congrats ilovebabies,
your gal looks so cute. I got a little teary eye just reading your story and seeing your pixs. I'm sure I will one of those who will cry buckets when I carry my bb in my arms.

epidural really don't hurt ah? I am kinda considering to change my mind from C-sect to Natural with epi. Cos I want to be able to cuddle bb immediately after delivery.

wooott!!! congratulations ilovebabies. baby rachael is so cute!!! and thanks for sharing your birth stories!! jia lat it took a long time to dilate! don't you feel the pain looking at the big epidural needle? isn't it huge? rest well my friend!

chocolat,
thanks for sharing the parking coupon info! $30 for 3 days ah.. sounds ok to me.

for those who are timing contraction, may i suggest http://contractionmaster.com/ I got this from another forum. but you must have laptop or sitting in front of the PC lah. i have started having contractions too but they're irregular so I'm not worried.

puppylove,
we used to have a table listing of every sep MTB. i think someone started it but it's been a long time. think she's e-ling? long time no post though. i can volunteer to take over since my work requires me to sit in front of the PC all the time.

495537.png

Angeline, me too. I got teary just reading ilovebabies posts. Just cannot control those tears. It's just so sweet!

Congrats to ilovebabies! Baby Rachel look so sweet! Resembles u more isit?

I'm having cold sweat breakout now and then. Think I'm very nervous already when the Sep MTBs start to pop one by one....

495567.png