(2006/09) SEPTEMBER 2006 MTB

haha joon,
glad i got colostrum-worry kaki! LOL.. ok ok will try to relax. it's just that my mom and sister didn't have good experience in breastfeeding so my phobia is there.

i just learnt that avent isis iq uno is sold out in a lot of stores! and it's expensive too. so did anyone got medela instead? manual or electric?

Hi Girls !!
Wow .. so many posts within 2 hours :p Was out for lunch :p

I am going to deliver at Raffles ... anyone delivering there too ???

Hi Melissa,
Ya! I know how u feel! Once in a while, I will inspect my nipples and squeeze squeeze a bit, but nothing!! I hope it all gushes out when I give birth! Was just talkg to my mum last night and she said when she breastfed my brother, every time the bb suckles, she can feel her uterus contracting! Wow! And she said breastfeeding can lose the weight very fast!! That's why I'm so desperate to breastfeed straight away, hahaha... so vain :p

I just saw the Avent pump at the Taka Baby Fair yesterday leh... now $700 I think, with free stuff (cups, breast pads or something like that). Have u checked out the fair? I'm getting the Ameda pump instead of the Medela.

melissa, i got the avent manual pump..coz i dunno how long i intend to breastfeed (BF) so did not want to invest in electric pump. I got my manual pump at the taka bb sale abt 2 weeks ago. for $79 it comes with manual pump + bag + storage bottles/teaks etc...etc..

if u interested to get electric pump, can see if someone is selling second-hand (if u dun mind).

Wow, ilovebabies has popped!!! That is wonderful news! Great that both of them are doing well!

Little pony, your EDD is very close to mine. Mine is on 19 Sept. Don't worry too much. How is the other gynea like? Have you checked out on him? What are your options? How many weeks pregnant will you be when your gynea comes back? Did you also find out what the chances of you delivering before he comes back? If you deliver before he goes on leave, is that possible? What are the pros and cons of inducing? And will there be any checkups to monitor the baby plus your amniotic level while your gynea is away? Who is doing the checkups, if any? Think you can find out more first, then assess your choices. At least you would have chosen the best option.

My gynea will only be back on 11 Sept from his conference. By then I am in my 39th week, which my gynea said that based on size of baby, it is very likely that I might have delivered. Based on that info plus the fact that I am not comfortable to be delivered by his clinic partner, I decided to opt for early c-section. My c-section was brought forward to the morning of 31 August cos 1 Sept is kinda rushed as he is flying off that night. Baby will be 37 weeks and 2 days by then, which my gynea insisted that he is full term. Given this, I also bo bian...

I am worried and counting down myself.

When are you gals working until? My colleague whose EDD is 28 Aug is still working today. She is only taking leave from tomorrow onwards, and that puts her at 39 weeks 1 day today. My boss is expecting me to work till 30th August, the day before my c-section. Anyone here working up till d-day? My mom's been telling me to take a few days off before the op to rest. But I still have tonnes of stuffs to clear... very sianz.... but working in a way is good also. Take my mind off the actual op and I probably won't feel so frightened.

Hi 77,
I'm working until the day I pop! My colleague is very scared... she wants to prepare towels and hot water every day! hahahhaa... I think u shld consider taking a couple of days off, prior to the op. Just to get urself relaxed and ready and it'll be gd to rest well b4 such a major op. For me, it's ok coz things are winding down at work, so pretty free... that's why can check the forum so regularly... hiah hiah hiah...

Hhmm, talking abt cracked nipples. Will the lanolin cream work if we don have oilive oil? I also find some residue in between the nipples and sometiems i also try to use wet tissue to clean it away.

Peachie, me going to work till THE day. Not planning to take any early leave, unless gynae give HL :p

77peachie, my EDD same as urs 19/9. my last scan u/s shows 12/9. gynae said stick to 19/9 as EDD. i m hoping not to go thru c-sec.. prefer virginal-birth.
me working till day of delivery. but gynae gave me a certificate to work from home bcoz i have had insomnia for more than 2 weeks..most days only sleep about 1hr or 4 hrs.. my boss also ok with me working from home..
but i will only work from home maybe 2/3 days a week..

I am taking leave from tomorrow onwards in case I need to induce next week :p

If dun have to be induced, I want to ask my gynae for MC to rest at home ha ha :D

ladies.. i m feeling some pain on my tummy... like tightening/stretched.. dunno how to describe.... anyone felt this b4? I always feel it...

cereal, these tightening may be braxton hicks contraction which the gals described. For me, i do have such tighening feeling, but i still cannot make out if they are BH contractions as to me, it just feels like my girl pushing her butt out

Hi peachie,
I haven't seen the other gynae. When my gynae returns, i will be at my 38th week. That's why my gynae say i can still wait for him to return and chances of me delivering before he comes back quite slim.

I hope not to induce and juz let it natural. So now, keep telling bb to hold on...

37 weeks considered full term so don't have to worry.

I am those that will work up to d-day. I don't feel like sitting and waiting. However, i do get very tired and heavy these days.. and even thou i am at work, i still feel quite listless.

Cereal,
me too.. .these r BH contractions lor... these r false contractions. But don't need to be alarm coz they shouldn't be too painful. If painful, means real contractions alreadi lor.

bena/little pony..
really ar? these are considered BH ar? coz like wat bena has described, it feels more like bb sticking her butt out and pushing against tummy... keke.
the tightening stays there one.. not like it tightens and relaxes.. so really also can't make out if it is BH.

u ladies also got insomnia like me? these weeks, i look at myself like i see a ghost.. bad eye bags and dark rings..

cereal, for me, the tightness is usually concentrated at the top of tummy area and whenever that happens, i will rub at it...sometiems it goes away...that's why till now, i still dunno if that's BH or just my girl :p

Yes yes...insomnia after peeing! so now i try to sleep earlier.

me too.. insomnia.. but try not to stress yourself too much...try drinking a glass of milk or milo will help you to get to bed quicker.
And of coz, even can't sleep.. just lie on the bed and rest..

Next time, we will be busy with baby.. so cherish the sleeping time we have now.

My bb's head has already been engaged. For those mummies whose bb have already been engaged, do you feel that their movement has reduced a bit ? :x

ya ya I got feeling of bb sticking his butt out and pushing against tummy too HEE HEE

I also got insomnia ... cereal, u r def not alone hee :p

eh BH is like baby's butt sticking out?? i have that all the time!!! so that's BH and really not her sticking her butt out?? i always pat pat her butt ley b'cos I tot she's very naughty liao!! LOL..

Cereal,
Try to calculate how many times you feel in an hour on the tightning. Sometimes, we can have mild contraction as well and it's best to check with gynae.

Yesterday, i told my gynae and he put me on CTG machine and he said just mild contraction. Nothing to be alarm of.

little pony, i did CTG (is this the one that has straps around ur tummy?) - if yes, i did it on sat.. and had mild contractions too.

the tightening that i feel.. just stays there for maybe abt 30 mins or so. but can't count # times in an hr coz it does not feel like tighten and relax

Engagement: the last time that word was on your lips, it was probably cropping up alongside terms like diamond ring, champagne and bended knee. Not these days, though. The only engagement youre interested in right now concerns the relationship between your unborn babys head and your pelvis.

Your baby is said to be engaged when the widest diameter of his or her head has descended into your pelvis; in other words, when most of it is down behind your pubic bone, ready to make the short journey through the cervix and vagina and out into the world. Your midwife will probably start checking for signs of engagement from about 36 weeks. Shell feel for the babys head, and then quite firmly try to palpate both sides of the head to assess how much of it is still up above the pubic bone, and how much has disappeared below.

In their training midwives are taught to mentally divide the babys head into fifths: they then judge how many fifths are inside the pelvis, and how many are above. This is why, if you listen in on conversations outside any pre-natal clinic, youll hear women saying how theyre two-fifths or four-fifths engaged.

One slight hiccup, though, seems to be that different midwives have different ways of looking at the engagement issue when it comes to writing it all down in your notes. What youll find is that some will record you as being three-fifths engaged, meaning three-fifths of the babys head is in your pelvis, and others will write the same thing meaning three-fifths are still palpable above.

All very confusing but, says Sue Jacob of the Royal College of Midwives, the main message you need to take away with you is that what you want is for four-fifths, or indeed all five-fifths, to be safely down behind your pelvic bone, and youll know youre in business for the birth.

Or will you? Well, its certainly a good sign but its not, on the other hand, a total clincher. If you go ordering your champagne supper for two days time, or planning your mothers trip down from Manchester for next weekend assuming your little bundle will definitely be out by then, youre being much too hasty. The fact is, babies heads can sometimes engage a couple of weeks, or even more, before you have any signs whatsoever of going into labour.

Its important to be clear, at this point, that what happens vis ? vis engagement with a first baby is very different from what happens when youre pregnant for a second or subsequent time. Basically, toned muscles and a uterus thats never been so stretched before means things are all a bit OK, a lot tighter on your insides when youre having your first baby, and as a result first babies tend to nestle down into their mums hip area, and then stay there, a lot sooner.

Second, third and fourth time around, babies tend to be in no hurry at all. Why should they, really: your now nicely pre-stretched uterus can accommodate them comfortably for longer, so they just dont feel the need to be squeezed down into the pelvis until labour is already well under way.

Thus your babys head being engaged means something quite different depending on whether its your first or second child: no need at all to worry, if youve had one or more babies before, about whether this one is engaged or not, because a perfectly straightforward labour could be just around the corner even if your little one shows no signs at all of heading south.

With a first, although its by no means a cast-iron guarantee of everything going swimmingly, midwives do tend to greet the discovery that the babys head is engaged with a certain jubilation. The reason is that, having got down into the pelvis, the baby has more or less proved he or she will, probably, fit through the gap.

Where a first baby hasnt engaged at 38 or 39 weeks, says Jacob, the question has to be asked: why not? Is the baby too big, or the pelvis too small, for the head to fit? And if so, what are the implications for the delivery? If youre nearing your due date and your babys head isnt engaged, do talk it through with your midwife or obstetrician: it used to be fashionable among the childbirth community not to set too much store by whether engagement had happened or not but, says Jacob, the tide is turning and its once again seen as a significant event.

Nor is it just about size and whether your babys head will fit through your birth canal. Once the babys head is engaged its pressing down onto the cervix, and there it has an important job to do in helping to ripen and prepare the neck of the womb for labour.

From a comfort point of view, too, engagement is definitely a good thing. Once the head is down in the pelvis youll probably feel a lot less squashed in the upper part of your body if youve suffered from heartburn, you may well feel it ease a lot. Known as lightening or dropping, the feeling of the babys head moving down for the birth is greeted the world over as a sign that things are quite literally moving in the right direction. You might feel you can get a lung-full of air for the first time in months and while sitting down may prove a distinctly odd sensation now theres a babys head wedged into your pelvis, the general verdict among pregnant women seems to be that the last few days and weeks of pregnancy are eased, slightly, by a babys descent towards the world outside l

Riushiki,

reaching there soon!!!!

Till date, two of Sept MTBs have popped. Ilovebabies on Sat, elaine on Sun. Who's next!!! muz msg us!!! Cheers!

Cereal,
think our body preparing for the real contractions so have been giving us some mild ones to feel how it's like .. heee!!
I also didn't count so when gynae ask me how many times i experience contraction a day.. i went like 'err, not sure leh!'... so have to put on CTG loh.. haaa!!

elmo and joon,

ooh.. i had those dirt on my nipples also and sometimes whitish stuff dried up there.. but i didn't know its' colostrum? i don't dare to dig it out leh.. pain pain!!

So, use olive oil ah? soften liaoz then dig out the dirt?? how how??

Joon,
Thks on the parking info. Will ask hubby to park there when i go for next mon checkup.

I also gg to work till the day i pop. Dont want to waste my ML and leave. Hope to spend more time w bb.

Bena,
I think can use lanolin cream as u r not breastfeeding now.

Duchess,
My elder kid will b with my in-laws when i'm in hosp. Haiz..sure will miss her one ;(

Littlepony,
Hmmm, wonder who will be the 3rd one to pop?heehee

Hi Peachie,

My friend also work till the day b/f she c-sect as she had alot of work to clear... all her 3 kids are c-sect during 38 wks.

My edd is 22 sep. I intend to work till the day i deliver if everything goes on smoothly.... but had been having BH contraction since few wks ago. gynae ask me to take more rest but due to work no choice alot of standing and walking. tellin my girl to stay inside "guai guai" unleast till 38 wks.

Riushiki,
don't be nervous. I am sure you will have a healthy and cute bb.. especially after so much of cleaning up and stickers you have... i am sure bb will appreciate your effort....

Hi Ming Liew

Wow ... are you as excited and nervous as me ? :p

Hope you will have a very smooth delivery and a super healthy and cute bb too :p

Hi Ruishiki,
Actually i hope bb come out soon :p feel so tired n hot. I quit nervous actually because i think of try natural birth this time. My 1st one is c-section..

Ya .. I am also getting tired from the sleepless nite and the big big tummy :x

I am looking forward to playing with bb ha ha ha :D

He is doing hiccups in my tummy now ha ha ha :D

Hi Riushiki,
Is this yr first bb?
Did u experience the kind of feeling that yr virginal like gonna tear off? I get this feeling much often now.. I suspect my bb will come out earlier le...

Ya my 1st bb :p

Gonna tear off ? Wow .. so serious ? Got vaginal pain but not so serious until want to tear off hee hee :p

I got thigh pain too. The thigh pain is worse than the vaginal pain :x

Ming liew,
What did your gynae say when u said u wan natural birth this time?

Sometimes i do encountered sharp pain at my vaginal.

Riushiki,
How come u got thigh pain?

Riushiki,
i've got vaginal pain.. and yesterday, my gynae checked my thigh n say thighs r fine..

Ming Liew,
Wow.. 38weeks.. u reaching finishing line!

Wonder who will still be in the race with me for the next two to three weeks?

To Elaine and Ilovebabies,

Congratulations on your newborn baby!!!! Take good care n I look forward in having you two back at the forum! heee!!
494982.jpg

Hi Riushiki,
Ya the sharp pain so that i think of is the vaginal start to dialate:p.

HI LittlePony,
My gynea encourage natural birth le and tell me nt to eat durian when i am 32 weeks so that my bb won't be too big.
He unlike my 1st gynea. my 1st gynea from begining said c-section is better cause faster n bb no need to go thru the kind of pressure. Then one day before my water bag burst she say my bb might be more than 4kg, ask me to chose a date for c-section.... but come out 3.46kg..

Ming Liew,
ya.. should encourage natural birth isn't it? so you will be going thru natural birth this time...

Haa. hmm, my bb abit small leh.. so i wonder should i eat durian or not.. i remember eating once and then, that week...bb is right on size.. but then, now.. bb is abit lagging behind.

Sorry for intruding..I am also a Sept mother, my Edd date is 4 Sept 06. I am 38 weeks this week. These few days I got very bad swelling of leg and hand and my doc advise me to be induced on this Sat. Wat do u gals think? Should I go for the induced or should I just let my baby come out by herself? I am very confuse now..Need your advise..

lichristin,
hmm.. why did the doc ask u to induce? reasons behind it? or just becos of the swellings u have?

Personally, i prefer bb to choose their own birthdate.. in short, i rather you let bb come out by herself ... since you r already in 38 weeks.... and normally, people say once you have swollen leg and hands, u r actually going to deliver very soon. why not wait?

ya lichristin, wat is ur gynae's reason asking u to induce this sat?
having read from websites regarding induce... i hv not come across one that says encourage induce due to swelling.