(2006/09) SEPTEMBER 2006 MTB

Bena, I kept thinking abt labour pain lah...then worry abt e BB and all sorts of funny stuff. Think if this goes on, very fast I'll become panda. Heehee

Hahaha. chng, don worry so much. when the time comes then worry about it. try to rest more over weekends. I can wake up at 8am, then later 11am i go nap, then after lunch 3+pm i nap again...heheh. That's my activities during weekends if i am not going out. sleep, sleep and more sleep

Hehe Bena,
I'm just like you. Nowadays, too lazy to go out already. Come weekend, I will sleep and take as much naps as needed. And we'll look over baby stuff, see if it's complete or not. Maybe my nesting instinct has kicked in. It's very rare that I can sleep through the night nowadays. Sure wake up b'cos feeling uncomfortable.

Melissa, u so good...can sleep thru the night. I definitely will jave to wake up to pee at least once...even when i already tried taking less water after dinner and to pee just before i go to bed. But i definitely will take more naps over weekends to make up the loss of sleep during weekdays :p

Wah, so shiok! U gals still can take nap. Come weekend, I'll try to make or rather force myself to go shopping, so as to make myself walk! Hahaha. Then my poor hubby will suffer...

Hi MTBs,

Just back from my checkup. My mucus plug came out on sat morning.Gynae said my bb's head vy low, expected to come out early.
Today at 37wks, he did strep b for me.

Elaine,
Congrats!!!

No news from ilovebabies yet.Wonder how is she?

Btw, i did not receive any reply from puppylove. Can i pm any1 my contact so that i can inform u all once i pop?

elmo88,
heheh..
itz ok, sorry for being MIA for a few days. Too pre-occupied and stressed out w work and home. Also having a bad dose of the nesting instinct yet feel so helpless sometimes cos cannot do much physically.

Hv juz briefly read thru' past posts.
Elaine: Can't wait to hear abt ur labour experience!

It's starting already hor? Sept MTBs starting to 'pop' one by one!!

Like some of u here, I've also been feeling v uncomfy at night - aches and frequent BH so much so that I can't sleep. Sat night was the worst - not sure if it's bb trying to engage. I rem some of u saying it can be quite painful when bb's trying to engage right??

My gynae also never mentioned anything abt amniotic fluid level. Will ask him next visit next Tue. Thanks for the tip!

Chng, i try to take 15-20mins slow walks after dinner on weekdays, so come weekends, i will sleep lor :p I quite scared to go shopping over weekends. The crowd is quite terrible. Went shopping at carrefour yesterday and the trolleys are all over the place, ppl pushing here and there.

Elmo, congrats! So is ur bb engaged already? I would like to find out how it feels like when bb is engaged. Remember to sms us when u pop!

Hi Puppylove
Did you send the list to me ? I didn't receive leh until today :p

I woke up at 4.30am last nite to drink a glass of hot milk and eat biscuit !!! ha ha ha ha :D

My mind also full of bb stuff ... thk here thk there :x

And I got a lot of weird dream !! Do u gals have weird dream too ? Read it's common coz the hormone is playing with us :x

congrats elaine.... waiting to hear ur labour experience :)

Riushiki
Me also can't sleep thru the night already... will wake up ard 4 or 5 am then can't get back to sleep.... sometime also weird weird dream on labour... haha maybe tinking too much already.

Riushiki, i also have weird dreams, but most of the time i can't remember once i open my eyes...but i never dreamt of anything about labour b4.

hee hee .. i even dreamt of ex bf .... told my hubby and he kept asking me the details ... aiyo but the fact is i can't remember the moment i woke up :x :x

I already went to the toilet for 3x this morning for 'big' biz .... think my hormone asking my body to make more room for bb liao :x

well... i dreamt that my water bag burst and it was so real that the 1st thing i did when i woke up was to check the bed! was going to shake the hb awake and ask him to send me to hospital too!!!

Oh yah, talking abt water bag burst. Are u gals going to prepare plastic sheets to line ur mattress? How big is necesary ar? I not using plastic sheet cos it will make a lot of noise. I have this pvc sheet, but not big enough to cover my whole mattress...so dunno how leh...need to cover the whole mattress or not?

I think the moment the waterbag leak, we will wake up liao to put on sanitary pad ?

Most of the time, the waterbag won't burst yet .. will have show and contraction first ...

Right ?

Membranes rupturing / waters breaking, no contractions

What if? Looking after yourself with broken waters

The bag of membranes, or sac of waters (known as the 'amniotic fluid') can rupture or break at any point in the labour process. This can be from prelabour, up until the actual birth. Breaking the waters is definitely a sign of prelabour, and one that your caregiver should know about.

Did you know?

There are two ways broken waters can present:

A slow trickle, or leak
A big gush

A slow trickle, or leak. The sac can have a small opening in it, so that the amniotic fluid only trickles out slowly over several days. The water can dribble away intermittently with movement from you or your baby (or with a contraction). The water can also come away as a slow leak if your baby's head is very engaged. This is because the baby's head is sitting snugly over the opening of the cervix, letting only small amounts of fluid drain away at any one time.

Many women who have a slow, fluid leak find it quite difficult to know whether the fluid coming away is either urine or the amniotic fluid. One way to tell is to be aware that amniotic fluid will generally continue to drain away, even after you have emptied your bladder. If you do notice water coming away, go to the toilet and empty your bladder, then put on a pad and see if any more comes away over the next couple of hours.

If in doubt, sometimes the smell of the fluid can also help you know. Amniotic fluid does not smell acidic, like urine. The smell is somewhat odourless, or has an almond-like aroma (some people liken the alkaline odour of amniotic fluid to the smell of male semen. This can make it more difficult to tell if you have just had intercourse).

A few women will experience what is called a 'hind water leak'. This is where a small hole opens in the sac, usually up behind the baby's head, closer to the baby's body. Hind water leaks can continue as a slow dribble or leak, or can stop after a short while. The fluid can stop coming away because the two layers of membrane (in the sac) are able to 'slip' back over each other, to reseal the hole. This is why some woman will notice a dribble of fluid, and then getting nothing more for several days until the fore-waters (or the part of the sac in front of the baby's head) break with a gush.

Image 3-15 shows the bag of waters in front of the baby's head intact, the arrow indicating the place where hole in the sac may be.

NOTE: If you think your waters have broken contact your caregiver for advice. Keep any pads or under wear and take them with you for your caregiver to look at.

If there is some doubt as to whether your waters have broken, your caregiver may use one of the following methods to try and determine if they definitely have.

They can:

Place a speculum into the vagina (the instrument used to take a pap test) to see if the water 'pools' or collects on the speculum. Sometimes the caregiver will take a swab test (sterile cotton bud) to send to the pathologist to check for infection.
Use an 'amnicator'. This is a long, orange coloured cotton bud that changes in colour to navy blue if it comes in contact with alkaline fluid, such as amniotic fluid (like a pH indicator).

Sometimes neither of these methods are conclusive and even the most experienced caregivers can find it difficult to know if the waters have definitely broken. In this case, it is often just a 'wait and see' approach, observing if any more comes away over the next few hours / days. Most women can go home to 'wait and see', unless the baby is premature.

A big gush of fluid. Some women's waters will break suddenly with a large gush. This is more common if the baby's head is not fully engaged and resting snugly on the mother's cervix (for example with second (or more) time mothers, breech babies, posterior babies or twins).

The connotation of a 'gush of waters' makes some women a little nervous about going out. It can conjure up visions of "a mop and bucket needed in aisle 8" of the local supermarket. In reality, this rarely happens, but it may be handy to carry around a large sanitary pad and a change of underwear in the last couple of weeks of the pregnancy!

Image 3-16 shows the waters in front of the baby's head before breaking.

Image 3-06 shows the waters now ruptured after a big gush of fluid.

NOTE: If you think your membranes have ruptured and your baby is not due (before 37 weeks). Contact your hospital or caregiver immediately, regardless of whether you are having contractions or not, as your baby is regarded as being premature.

OR

If the membranes rupture, and you notice a discolouration of yellow, green or brown in the fluid, it is necessary to contact the hospital or your caregiver straight away. The discolouration is probably meconium, (the substance in your baby's intestines that is passed as the first bowel movement), which is sometimes passed before the birth, staining the amniotic fluid.

Depending on the thickness of the meconium (a very faint discolouration may not be of concern, compared to a 'pea soup' consistency which is more serious), it may indicate that your baby could be distressed, or has been stressed at some time previously. Keep any tissues, underwear or sanitary pads with the fluid on them to show your caregiver. You can read more in meconium stained amniotic fluid.

ive this waterproof mattress cover for my bb cot. i wonder if i can use it for myself first???

place it below the bedsheet positioned at my lower body portion. dun think when waterbag burst, the water will be tt much to flood the whole bed, probably just the lower body portion as the sheet will absorb the water??

From the website ...

A big gush of fluid. Some women's waters will break suddenly with a large gush. This is more common if the baby's head is not fully engaged and resting snugly on the mother's cervix (for example with second (or more) time mothers, breech babies, posterior babies or twins).

The connotation of a 'gush of waters' makes some women a little nervous about going out. It can conjure up visions of "a mop and bucket needed in aisle 8" of the local supermarket. In reality, this rarely happens, but it may be handy to carry around a large sanitary pad and a change of underwear in the last couple of weeks of the pregnancy!

Hi bena,
I bought a pack of waterproof/water-resistant liners from Guardian and have been sleeping with them under my bedsheet for the past week. I found it near the section where they sell all the adult diapers. I thought about putting plastic, but I move so much during the night it'll prob end up on the floor! The ones are bought are supposed to soak up liquids and they're really flat, so I don't feel it at all. (I put 2 under me at night)

riushiki,
yup, i sent the list to u this morning. The yahoo email u gave me. Can check again?
Need ur HP no. too, or else we can't sms u!!

Hi Joon, how big is each sheet? How can i identify these liners? What brand?
Yah lor, i also toss and turn so much, i think the sheets will just end up on the floor :p

elmo88

You going to pop soon? So excited...everyone is going pop anytime. I hope my baby will pop during my 37 weeks which is 2 weeks from now. I feel so heavy and lazy with my big tummy. Sleeping is a big problem for me. Sigh...

oh ya...me too..i need the contact person number too. Once I pop..i can oso inform her. Heheee..keep the thread updated.

Bena,
I got those liners from Kiddy Palace, think a pack of 6 cost about 5 bucks. Can't remember well. It's around that price lah. Maybe I'll start laying it out after I lost my mucus plug. My mom told me, when her waterbag burst, she soaked up the whole bed! Eeeiuww scary. Don't want to spoil my mattress!

Riushiki,
I just pooped for the 3rd time as well and still feeling like I have to go the toilet! I also self-check for UTI by using the Biotest test strip that I bought from Watson. Happy to know I have no UTI.

Riushiki,
That one is to test for urinary test infection. B'cos I have frequent peeing and only a little come out, so I'm very worried, I had to self-test. I have history of recurring UTI before so I'm familiar with the symptoms. Usually they can test for one during your routine check-up. Don't worry. I was just being kiasu.

Paisay.. my due date is still a long time to come. EDD is 27 September liao. How come you have to be induced? I don't know what my birth plan is. I'm opting for natural birth when the time comes. We'll see how it goes after my 35wk+ appt this Saturday.

Hi Bena,

The sheets I got are called "Highly Absorbent Underpads" and it's the Guardian house brand. There are 10 pieces in a pack and each is 17"x24". I think they were about $9 for the pack. It's blue on one side (feels kinda waterproof) and white cotton on the other side. Very very flat. I placed 2 under my bedsheet. So far no bursting waterbag!!

Hi Joon, thanks for the info! I will go check out guardian. Reckon these underpads will be much more comfortable than having the PVC. PVC is so hot!

bjiou,
I also dunno when my gal gg to pop. Feel so heavy now and sometimes have to use my hands to support my tummy when walking.

Joon,
Thanks for the info!We can also use these underpads during confinement since we will b having heavy flow.

Helo MTB in Sept...

I am new to this forum, although I am also a MTB in sept. Only discovered this site last week, so I hope I am not intruding into all your discussions.

My EDD is 19/9 but latest scan showed 12/9. Currently 36 weeks and waiting for THE day to come...

Hi Jean,
Welcome welcome! It's never too late! So far, 1 of us has already popped... she was induced on Sunday and has a healthy baby boy

Congrats on ur new bundle of joy!

Bena,
No prob! And yes, they are very comfortable and soft... don't feel it at all

oh.. thanks joon.. in case u find it weird.. I just changed my "nickname" but I am still the same Cereal.. :)

I am always glad to see/hear that others have had safe deliveries.. I am hoping that my bb's head will turn and position herself so that I can have virginal-birth.. and no complications..
Right now, my bb has been switching positions and moving alot.. still have not "settled" into position yet..and now am 36 weeks.

I wonder when is the time bb will/should engage? And i supposed being engaged and head down are 2 different thing right?

Hi Jean! Welcome welcome!!

Are you expecting a prince or princess? Which hospital will you be delivering in?
Feel free to join us. We are all here to share info.

Hi Cereal, don worry about the bb position at the moment. Some of our posts previous mentioned that bb may just decide to turn and be engaged within a few days.
Yup, i think head down and engaged is 2 different thing. My girl has been head down since for a long time already. Guess she prefers to do the hand-stand...hehe.

Hi Bena, I am expecting a gal
and delivering at Gleneagles. I have just done my pre-registration with the hospital on sat, so that neither me nor my hubby need to queue for admission on THE day.

Would like to share with some of you if you have not known this... my gynae has told me to "prepare" for my nipple starting 36 weeks onwards by applying Olive Oil to my nipples... Anyone using this method too?

In fact, my nipples started to crack at 28 weeks.. told my gynae and she asked me to dip some olive oil to cotton pad and leave it overnight with nipple and the cracks will "drop off" by itself and do not peal it. I tried this.. and it works!!! now my cracks are gone.. and I m applying olive oil to my nipples after shower.. but not religiously every nite :p

I've news of ilovebabies but was absent from work and didn't have internet access.

Hey, ilovebabies gave birth to baby girl, Rachel on 19/08 at 1448pm. Baby Rachel weigh 2.41kg and ilovebabies says baby petite girl but both of them are doing well.

I have to spend 20 mins reading through the forum since i have missed it for just 3 days. haa!

I went for my gynae checkup yesterday. Guess what! My gynae going on leave for 10 days from next week till beginning of Sept! Tian ah!!!!! I have mild contraction and was put on a CTG machine. Gynae checked and said he foresee baby shouldn't be out within these two weeks and he say ' you wait for me!' Alamak. I hope bb can wait becos i really want my gynae to deliver bb for me.

And bb is at the small size.. although i put on weight. And it means that the weight is on me and not on bb. Gynae didn't say anything but he say it's good to deliver then. Hope so leh!

So i guess, i won't be seeing my bb until close to the D day........actually, i do want bb to come out earlier.. but now, without my gynae's presence.. i rather bb comes out later.

494347.jpg

Wow !!! So exciting !! 2 of them have popped ! :p

Nervous .... :x Who's next ? :p

My bb's head has been engaged and I'm having BH contraction a lot .... and no other symptoms ... wondering when will be my turn :p

WOWwwww!!! Another bb! Good to hear that she's doing alright, and bb too

Congrats ilovebabies!! Share ur birth story with us soon
Can't wait to read abt it!