(2006/09) SEPTEMBER 2006 MTB

wow this is getting exciting. wonder how ilovebabies is doing!!!

dumpty, i'm going for my 35 week check-up only next saturday. i really can't wait. i'm feeling so heavy and sometimes i feel the pressure in my pelvis. just yesterday i went walking around in toa payoh kiddy palace and I believe i had BH all the way liao! it keeps feeling tight and quite uncomfortable and my thighs aches.

so today i'm on one day rest!

elaine!!! congratulations in advance for you!! can't believe you're going to deliver tomorrow! you and ilovebabies are competing!! jia you!

492405.png

I have a BRAND NEW Tiny Love Symphony-in-Motion Mobile which was purchased recently for sale. I realised that the mobile does not fit my playpen. It suits a cot better. The box has been open. Other than that, everything is left intact. My friend said the musical mobile has helped her child to sleep. It's definitely a good purchase!

I am selling the mobile for $90 (a discount of $9). Please email me at [email protected]. Self-collection at Hougang Street 51.

hi missk, if u've purchased ur mobile from a sales, it shld be less than $99 unless ur model comes w the remote control?

Hello All,

I've been reading posts but not writting cos i've like nothing much to write about except complaints! hahaha..

It's really getting all too exciting for us here...

I'm wondering, even though i'm a 2nd time mom, i can't seem to remember wat to pack for the hospital stay.

Can someone help me by pointing out anything which i might have missed out?

I've already got the followings:
Maternity pads and breast pads
Nite gowns x 3
Nursing bra & panties
Toilettries
Go home clothes
some money for vending machine and taxi ride
balloon for my 1st dotter as present
Newborn clothes/mittens/botties/blanket/hat
Marriage cert will get hubby to dig out later.

what else did i miss out?

Hi Riushiki :

Thank you for the info and pic about mucus plug coz this clears off my doubts .

Hi Olsen :
I have a list of chinese herbs given by the confinement lady , there are around 20-23 types and it costs me less than S$200 to get all of them . According to the owner of the medical shop , he said this confinement lady has the experience coz all the herbs she needs cover all the possible ' pregnancy sickness ' ranging from backaches , indigestion etc . ( He mentioned at least 5-6 of those common after delivery effects ) . Let me know if you need the list . I hope the confinement lady is a good cook though .

Hi Elaine :
Great ... hope you have a smooth delivery ya !! Awaiting for your post .

Hi Duchess :
Add in slipper coz you might want to take a hot shower .

Congratulations Elaine!!!!!!

I'd love to know how far along Elaine was and what's baby's weight at birth vs what's the weight last checked via ultrasound!

hmm.. dunno if she will mind me revealing her bb's birth weight not lehz... but can tell u, that its only 0.015kg lighter than her last ultrasound.. hehe... so quite accurate..

Congratulations!! "Our" 1st baby has popped, hee hee hee...

If I'm not wrong Melissa, Elaine was 37wks along when she popped

Wah nice timing to pop. So happy for Elaine!!

Hey i've been having frequent loose stool and a lot BH recently. Everytime I walk a lot I will feel some kind of contraction and I feel pressure in my pelvis. But I'm only 34 weeks along leh. I remember u guys discussing about this when u're over 36 weeks. This morning itself I have to go toilet a few times for loose stool and frequent urination. Dunno if it's diarrhea or what but will go to c my family doctor soon.

Edksd, what's your current symptoms?

493086.png

hi melissa, im having loose stool starting from 7-12 aug tt wk (cant remember which day). tt was only my wk 33.

initially i oso tot maybe i ate something wrong or what. but when it happened for few days till a wk, i started to suspect it could be what the girls here hv experienced too.

frequent urination too. feel the urge but when go toilet only a little bit come out. i rem my friend experienced this too just a couple of wks before giving birth.

as for BH, i do encounter it more often than before. but im still not sure if it's BH. mine is tightening of a certain area rather than the whole tummy. and usually happen when im walking or standing up. so i tot it could just be bb squeezing at tt particular corner.

melissa, has ur bb turned head down already?

Morning MTBs.

Wow! Elaine...CONGRATS! 1st to pop! Now waiting for either Amy or ilovebabies liao. Must rememebr to keep us posted.

This is getting so exciting!

Riushiki, thanks for the photo and the info. Really helps to clear my doubts!

493107.jpg

edksd,
Yes, my baby has been head down since 28 weeks. She's so kuai-kuai stayed there till now. It's easy to check. I just let my hubby listen to her heartbeat. If it's down low then I know that she still has her head down there. But I'm sure she's not engaged yet. Yesterday my aunt went to kaypoh lifted up my shirt and told me baby hasn't dropped yet but I look huge lor like a bus. LOL. All our symptoms are similar now. I'm afraid that if I walk too much i just might go into pre-term labor! Scary. My appointment is not until this Saturday where I will be in my mid 35 weeks. I heard that babies born in 35 weeks should have no problem breathing as well. They're pre-term and not premature. I really want the baby to come out at my EDD but at the same time can't wait to see baby's face! Ha!

Wow, This is so exciting!!!
So Elaine has given birth! Congratulations!!!

Anyone knows how ilovebabies is coming along?

By the way, what are the symptoms that the baby is arriving soon (besides the mucous plug thingy)?

hi 77, if muscus plug is out, wait for either

1. close contraction
2. water bag burst

but if either close contraction or water bag burst before muscus plug is out, better to contact gynae.

hi melissa, i dun think our turn is so fast right? at least another 2-3 wks more to go. my next checkup is next Mon. supposed to be this sat too but we dun usually go during wkend, so make it to Mon instead.

Gals, need to check...are any of u experiencing some aches at the pelvic bone (pelvic floor - the bone beside the v-area)? I am getting this ache starting last thurs. It kind of aches when i walk or move my legs when lying down...

It's monday and guess most of us are still working ?

I have absolutely no mood to work !!!
Am I the only one here ? Any of u feel this way ?

Are you gals going to take a few days leave before D Day ? :p

hi riushiki,

my edd is 28 sept, but i'll be starting my maternity leave on 15 sept.

coz 15 sept - 10 dec will be my 12 wks maternity.

11-13 dec will be taking the 2 days statutory childcare leave

14-end of the yr will be taking my remaining annual leave which has to be cleared by this yr.

so i'll be returning to work next yr only.

Riushiki,
I'm at home. Not working today. Will go visit family doctor to check if I'm having diarrhea or not. Hubby also won't let me go to work today. Somemore, I'm supposed to attend this long meeting today and I don't know if I can survive that.

Bena,
Yes I'm experiencing that if I walk a lot or faster than my usual speed. I think that's just the ligament getting sore b'cos it's supporting the weight of the baby. If i get that, i will sit down and rest. But once I get up, I will experience lower back pain.. ha! Looks like we're all in this difficult stage now.

edksd,
You're right, I don't think our turn is so fast. At least I hope I can make it till mid Sept.

edksd, wow. U have everything planned out already! That's great.
For me, i can't take leave after maternity cos have to cover my boss when he goes for his annual holiday with his famiiy....so i will work till D-day...unless gynae give me h.leave. Don want to use my annual leave

Melissa, really? u also experiencing the same ar? Does urs go away? I know i walked a little too much aon thurs and on thurs night, i have that ache...till today, i still having that ache

hi bena, of course hv to plan out early so tt my colleagues are informed and get prepared to take over from me. in fact now im quite relaxed as they're taking over my tasks, im just supervising to ensure they can do it.

for my co. we can only bring forward two-third of our annual leave, which i did and left me w the remaining leave which i need to clear by this yr compulsorily.

I am going for my checkup this friday ... my gynae said my amniotic fluid a bit low. If still low this coming fri then I may need to have an induced labour next week liao !!!

I am thking maybe I should apply for 2 days leave this week ... so that I can rest a few days in case next week really have to go for induced labour hee :D

edksd, good to hear that you have handed over ur stuffs. I still haven not done that 100% yet...heheh.

riushiki, yah, maybe u should take thurs and fri off to rest. The last time i think ilovebabies also low amino level and she rested well over the weekends and her level increased. Rest more.

Talking about ilovebabies...haven seen her around. Wondering how she's doing.

Ya ... going to check with my boss whether it's okie or not ?

By the way, u gals should ask your gynae about the waterbag level coz I ask him to check for me one .. if not I won't know it's a bit low too :x

Hi Riushiki,
I think that's a good idea. Rest well and maybe the waters will increase... prevention is better than cure! Shldn't be induced unless really necessary. Take it easy ya?

Hi edksd,
Wow, well planned!
Great job!

Hi 77,
edksd is right abt the close contractions & waters releasing. Besides that, if u suddenly get the "nesting instinct", that's another sign
Also, when bb is engaged, u're supposed to feel less pressure in the chest area coz bb has moved down (so easier to breathe), feel more pressure in the pelvic area (need to go to the toilet more often), and maybe lower back ache.

Bena,
My pelvic pressure did not sustain. If I rest enough, it will go away. If I start walking a lot again, it will come back.

edksd,
My maternity leave will start only in 18 Sep but thinking of getting gynae to give me HL a week before that. ha! I'll get back to work in mid-Dec and will let my sister babysit my baby once I'm away. But if she needs to go to work (she's a teacher), then I will take leave and babysit my baby and her kids as well.

Bena,
Do u have lower back ache too? Coz 1.5 wks back, I felt what u and Melissa are now feeling (pelvic ache) and when I went to see the gynae, she told me bb was engaged!! I also had hip ache and lower back ache :p and had so much trouble getting comfortable before falling asleep... :p

joon,
I don't think so. My tummy seems high still and I'm still having heartburn at nights. Is yours engaged? Take our your ticker ley, need to know how far along you are.

Before my bb engaged, really have difficulty in breathing properly :x

After the engagement, I feel "lighter", can breath easier but now I am having BACKACHE and INSOMNIA !! :x

493163.png

Melissa,
Then maybe it's just the weight of the bb in front that's causing the aches and pains. Try this...
1. Fill up a long old sock with uncooked rice and tie a knot on top.
2. Microwave the sock, until the rice is nice and warm.
3. Place it wherever you're aching.

I've been using this at night and it does help to ease my lower back aches. A hot water pack thing will work too, but I didn't want to buy one, so I use that and it's free!!
(learnt it from my childbirth class, haha)

I'm 38 wks now! So fast!
493173.png

joon, yup, i am beginning to experience backache after i got the pelvic ache. i only get backache when i lie down and try to turn to my side...other than that (walking, etc) no backache.
My girl is still very active leh. Is it true that once bb is engaged, the movement will be lesser?

Will check with my gynae tmr. Going to gynae visit tmr.

Hi Bena,
Yeah! Check with ur gynae
So exciting eh? I too get back aches when I lie down. But also when I walk too long, sit too long, or stand so long... er... that's like all day! hahahahaha... I read too that bb's movements are supposed to be reduced, but for me, no leh! He's still kickg and punchg away

Update us after ur gynae visit!

hi edksd,
U are very tactful!! hahaha! Anyway, I read yesterday that sex is used as a natural way to speed up the labour process (if labour slows down) coz the ejaculation contains oxytocin which is released during labour. So I think maybe not a gd idea unless u want to give birth quickly! hee hee hee...

edksd,
Heehee nong nong time never got intimate. If we do, hubby will never ejaculate inside b'cos he's afraid I might go into labour.

joon,
Wow thanks for the tips!! That's useful! You're full term. Hope you're next hehehe.

edksd, me also very long never do. 1st tri, dare not do anything, cos i am spotting. 2nd tri, gynae say low placenta, must stop all activities. 3rd tri, also dare not do anything, scared induce labour.

Hahaha! The topics u gals are on today is so funny. I'm also having all the aching that you gals hv mentioned...sianz...the worse is I'm not able to sleep properly @ nite, always wake up in e middle of e nite then think of funny things. So fed up! No energy to do anything...

Hope to get some gd news from gynae today...finally seeing him after 3 weeks of long wait.

Chng's, me too. 2 nights back, i had such a bad back i couldn't sleep. all position also not right...heheh. Then sometimes wake up to pee, couldn't get back to sleep after that.
Enjoy ur visit and keep us posted of your progress!