(2006/09) SEPTEMBER 2006 MTB

ya so true elmo88..
HR juz did a calc for me, if i were to deliver on 28 Aug as suggested by gynae, I would have to ret to work on 20 Nov...still so far away fm the Dec festive seasons..

Riushiki,

Wow, ur hubby so sweet.My heart will melt if my hubby tell me that and wont mind having more kids. Heehee.

Yes,that time my ML started once i delivered.

Just checked
I think cannot lah. We have to declare the date of our delivery and that will be counted as the first day of maternity !! :x

It's a rule :x stupid .. thought i can "bluff" the company to eat up some days hee :p

Riushiki, hee..my HR told me it's the RULE too..so bo biang..

elmo88, my EDD 11 Sept. I'll be week 38 on 28 Aug. Gotta deliver early due to bad bleeding fm placenta detachment last mth and also now low amnio fluid.

hee hee :p He siao siao one. Sometimes nice, sometimes not nice :x

Anyway, Sept no public holiday so we didn't lugi. But there are 2 holiday in Oct !! Deepavali and Hari Raya !! We lugi 2 days !

I think officially we only have 82 days maternity leave and not the full 3 months :x

yes, I'm actually on hosp leave now since last mth and by hook or by crook, I would have to start my ML once I deliver cos would have used up all my hosp leaves by then anyway.. hee..

Hi Chocolat
Your gynae is giving you hospitalization leave for you to rest at home izzit ?

Must rest well then :p

For me, I am supposed to have an induced labour by 5th of Sept coz my gynae going overseas on 7th of Sept .. 3 days before my EDD !! Actually quite pissed with him
but what can I do ?

Just got to ask my bb to cooperate with me and come out earlier :p

elmo88,
I would have to be induced but hopefully I can still go thru natural birth cos my cervix not open yet...I think cos gynae didnt chk for me during the last visit. Btw, are u also delivering in GlenE? Do u know if they have CD player in the delivery suite?

Hi Elmo
I will be at Raffles Hospital coz I just done an ovarian cyst surgery with the same gynae last year ... so sticking back to him :p

Actually I will want to go TMC but he don't operate there :x

Hi Riushiki,

yes I'm on complete bed rest at home...bit boring though but no choice for the sake of my bb : )
Yea, talk to ur bb sure it'll help!

elmo88, hee juz saw ur post u r deliverin at Mt A...can ignore my qn then

hee my bb is supposed to be a miracle baby coz gynae told me the chances of me conceiving straight after my surgery is 0%. I am supposed to be on hormone injection from dec 05 to apr 06 but I asked him to give me one month grace period to try for a bb naturally.

Alas ... managed to have this bb boy in dec 05 and my gynae was speechless. He said I am his first patient to be so "lucky" in his 25 years career :p

So I hope my miracle bb will continue to cooperate with mummy to have a natural birth

Littlepony,

Maybe wait for ur HR ?But no harm if u want to submit to them now.

chocolat,
Ya, bo bian..for the sake of our little ones.We are reaching our finishing line soon.
I found myself dragging to work everyday.

Riushiki, I should be induced on 28 Aug provided my amnio level stays in the safe zone by then. Yes, I heard induced pain is more intense so I've opted for epidural. I'm too timid dun wanna take chances le..hee

Little Pony, think that form is compulsory. Why not chk with ur HR, cos you would have to submit to them anyway.

Riushuki,

Indeed he is a miracle bb.
Maybe during dec05(festive seasons) we r more relaxed , therefore chances of conceiving are high?haha~

Hi Elmo
We shouldn't think about the pain now ... my friend's bb arrived in her 37 weeks so maybe your bb will be early too :p

Ya my gynae said should be around X'mas day when I conceived hee hee .. my hubby so excited to know it's X'mas Day coz we were on top on a snow mountain that time ha ha ha ha :D

Elmo88 and chocolat,
thanks. okie. I just filled it up and then check with my HR.

It seems that there are alot of MTBs giving birth at the beginning of Sept isn't it? Hmm.. mine is close to the end.. 18th Sept.. so i guess while most of you are enjoying the times with bb, i am still in the waiting game.

Riushiki,

You r right! We shld not worry abt this n that. Must stay positive n happy.
My 1st one came out 9 days earlier, lets hope this bb will b early too n arrive on 1st sept(teacher's day).

Hi Elmo,

Hehe, my baby is confirmed to come out on Teachers' Day (1st Sept). Just visited my gynea yesterday. He is going to Athens for a urogyneacological conference from 1 Sept (night flight), and he will be gone for at least a week. So he gave me the option of being operated upon from 29 Aug (wk 37 onwards). So there aren't many dates for me to choose from in the first place. Thought I should choose the latest possible date so that baby has more time to mature. Baby should be 37 wks and 3 days by 1st Sept.

He will operate on me in the morning of 1 Sept, monitor me over the afternoon, and he shall fly off. I am to check into Raffles Hosp by 6am of 1 Sept, and the op will commence promptly on 8am. Haiz. Thereafter I shall be looked after by Dr KK Chow, who will be covering him in his absence. You are under KK Chow right? How is he?

I am having a mixed bag of feelings right now.... happy that my baby will be out soon, but frightened of the c-section. I am counting down to D-day now....

hi Peachie,
Wow. that's a nice date isn't it? So you goin c-section? ...

Hey, next time the whole school will celebrate teacher's day and your bb birthday too! haaaa!!!

Don't worry. Ceasearan should be fine.

Hi peachie !!!
We have the same issue ! Gynae going overseas and we are both with Raffles ha ha :D
Who is your Gynae ? My gynae is Dr YG Tan :p

U going for C ?

Hi littlepony,

Yep! I only made up my mind on the date this morning. It was a rushed booking of the operating theatre and the hospital. It was a difficult decision for me.... 29 Aug baby just reached 37 weeks, 30 Aug baby will share the same birthday as my father in law, not much diff between 31 Aug or 1 Sept cos I will be looked after by KK Chow.... So in the end I decided on 1 Sept (since baby will have a little more time to grow)...

Thanks for the encouragement! Hope the op isn't too bad. Thought a c-section will have less risk on the baby since baby is big sized. The diameter of his head measured 9.29cm yesterday, when I am 35 weeks pregnant. It's okie for me as long as baby arrives into this world safely. I am just frightened of the pain.

Hi Riushiki,

My gynea is Christopher Chong. His conference is a last minute thingy.... sigh..... So bo bian also...... If not I would have preferred to wait till baby is 38 weeks. :p

The baby is pretty big sized, so gynea shared that I may have a difficult labour process. My friend's baby got stuck in the birth canal when she gave birth in March this year, and the blood pressure and oxygen level of the baby dropped to dangerous levels and baby had to be in NICU for a while. So I thought that c-section is safer for baby.

Given the size, gynea did share that big sized babies normally come 2-3 weeks earlier, and my gynea will be back must likely on 9 Sept or 10 Sept. By then baby will be 38 wks 5 days and I might have gone into labour. My gynea did share that if I want to be operated upon when he is not around, KK Chow will be the gynea to deliver. Since he is not my gynea all this while, I am reluctant to change gynea for the delivery.... Hence the huge dilemma and the earlier date.

Hi 77(peachie),

Yes, my gynae is KK chow.Not to worry, he is an experienced gynae.You will be well taken care by him ;)
I heard alot of gd comments for Christopher Chong.If KK chow not around, he is my standby gynae.

How big is your bb ? I am currently in my 36 weeks 6 days and my bb is around 2.8kg ....

Yah .. i also dun want to change my gynae
Dr Tan going away on my 40 weeks so will have to induce by 39 weeks latest

Dear Elmo,

Thanks a million!
That really makes me feel a lot better! Guess all of us are happy and comfortable with our own gyneas.

Hi Ruishiki,

Dunno about the latest weight cos my gynea had to rush off for a delivery yesterday after seeing me, so yesterday's checkup was pretty rushed. The last time he measured was at 33 weeks and baby was 2.8kg, with the size of a 36 weeks plus fetus. But yesterday he only measured the head and the heartbeat. As he was on the phone with the hospital midwife, I didn't ask much.

So nice and envy to early Sept MTBs.. sometimes, the good thing about c is that you know which date you r expecting to see bb. But of coz, alot of us also prefer to be 'caught in surprise' and go thru the natural birth.

Now i m wondering..if some of the gynaes r going away for conference... dunno my gynae attending the conference or not?! he better don't! haaa!!

Little pony, I'm having e same worry as you. Hehe..Goin to ask gynae on my nx appt if he's going overseas or reservist in Sep. Will be very sad if he's away...

Chng's wife,
ya.. i was supposed to go for checkup this coming sat but becos my gynae attending conference so have to delay till Monday. Check up is fine leh... but what if he is attending conferences again when i am going thru labour. I go kaypoh and check with the nurse on my next appt as well. heee.

gals

better chk your gynae's availability soon .. I chk with mine quite some time ago .. cos I would very much love to have my gal deliver by my gynae ehhe

i have also submitted the CPF form to my HR. I think it is mandatory. I think my HR is nice enough to put this form in our company's intranet.

peachie

dun worry k... i think you have made a good decision to go ahead for c-sect based on ur bb's head size. I dun want u to suffer so long for labour then end up in emergency c-sect too ...

so cheer up ok !!!

my gynae say bb born from 36 weeks onwards is consider full term !! so u r going to deliver in week 37 which is perfectly fine !!

I just came back from shopping with mum hehhe so tiredddd .... but gynae has advised me to walk more so that I have an easier labour ...

will see my gynae next Tue .. not sure if I will dilate further to 2 cm ?

Hi elmo,

Agree with you! I can't wait to see baby!

Hi littlepony,

Don't worry so much. Sometimes an element of surprise is good....
Don't have to count down to a certain day which can be pretty scary when the day draws nearer.

The concern about the gynea going away is very real... All along I have been happily assuming that my gynea will definitely be around. So sometimes it is good to find out. At least if gynea is going away, it is best that we know as soon as possible such that alternative arrangements can be made, and we have time assess the pros and cons of all such alternatives.

Hi ilovebabies,

You are incredible! I get tired very easily these days. Cannot even walk very far without running out of breath.

From most of the books I read, 37 weeks is considered full term, and a baby born at 36 weeks should not have much complications, though will be borderline premature. However, I will still prefer to let the baby stay inside for a while if possible, since the last few weeks are still crucial for the baby to lay down fat cells (such that he/she can regulate his/her temperature), and we will transfer our antibodies to him/her (although breastfeeding will also do the trick, the trasfer process is not as efficient) which is crucial for the first few weeks of survival. That said, my gynea did share on Tues that it is very critical for all mums to be to monitor the fetal movements in the last few weeks of pregnancy. Basically the placenta matures at 34 weeks, and thereafter although it is supposed to continue functioning till at least 42 weeks, some placentas may deteriorate and become less efficient in transporting food and oxygen to the fetus. So any reduction in fetal movements should be closely monitored, preferably by a CTG machine. My gynea was telling me on Tuesday that he delivered the 2nd live birth of a woman on Tuesday morning, whose 1st pregnancy ended at 37th week when her fetus suddenly died in the womb. It was truly devastating. So it is important for all of us to start monitoring the fetal movements for this last last lap....

Hope you dilate to 2cm!
Soon you will have your little bundle of joy in your arms!

oops. i realised my feet looks a little bit spongy looking.. and then realised that it is slightly swollen. I didn't care to make a big fuss out of it... just merely mentioning to my hubby that i feel my feet looks wierd. Then he started getting worried n nervous. And I am the one who tell him to stay cool. haaaa!!

hi peachie

thanks for your info .. ya we have reach the last lap and bb's well being is very crucial now I agree. everytime my bb is resting, I like to disturb her by tapping on my tummy and she will responds. this really puts me at ease. I did 3 CTGs so far and all seemed well for my gal. But still we have to be v conscious of their activities.

Don't worry k ... you'll see ur baby v soon.

Littlepony

tell u, my hubby is also more kan cheong than me. I keep telling him not to be nervous during my labour and rem to take photos !! ahha

490001.png

peachie and chocolat, all the best to both of u! Take good care during these remaining weeks to give your baby (and yourself) as much nourishment as possible!

I've also been happily assuming that my gynae will be around when I deliver leh. Actually I've not discussed the birth plan with him at all. Wonder if he'll have time to talk about it with me when i go for my checkup this Sat.

I am starting to get nervous and a bit impatient too. Can't wait to see my bb :p

ilovebabies, how do you put up the cute pic on this forum ? Can teach me ? Thanks

Riushiki

sure ... go to those bb websites and create a pregnancy ticker. for me, this picture comes from www.babyfirstsite.org. create an account with ur EDD details and start to create your ticker. everyday morning go to this website and get the ticker image. it will be updated accordingly to ur EDD date.

right click on the image and do a SAVE IMAGE AS in your local harddisk.

When you are about to do a posting in this thread, u click on the UPLOAD ATTACHMENT button below this page ... and point to the image that is saved in ur hdd and voila !!

Hi Elmo / Riushiki / Chocolat :

My EDD is 12th Sept,just one / two days apart !! Awaiting good news from Riushiki / Chocolat / Amy /ilovebabies / Peachie / Elaine .

Hi Peachie :
I have a friend who is kind of timid by nature and she went through the C-Sect with two major concerns only :
1) She was numb from waist down , the only thing she did not like was the noises of equipments during the operation .
2) She had to walk after the delivery and the first attempt was painful.
All the best ya . Use your "Mummy Strength" !!