(2006/09) SEPTEMBER 2006 MTB

ya 39 weeks is a norm. 37 is quite early for first bb leh ... but in Aug thread, the earliest was 36 weeks leh ...

ya BH contraction is really uncomfy .. so tight that I cant move abt easily

Riushiki,
Yes, my 1st one was out 9 days before EDD.I think most 1st born will be out by 39wks.

Hellobaby,
I hope bb not too big so that i can have a easy delivery.
When is ur EDD?

ilovebabies, if it's real contraction you wont be laughing now lah i think! :p haha

Elmo88, my EDD is 9th sep. ya my gynae also said bb too big more difficult to come out. but guess so long bb healthy lah... i'm prepared to go c sect if really need to. some things are just beyond our control right? ;) so i'm taking things as they come.

hellobaby

hehe u r right .. but hor .. tot it becomes more painful gradually ? anyway I am monitoring for any backache cos contraction always accompanied with a pain in the back as well right ?

ya my gynae dun wan my bb to gets too big also cos I told him i wanted natural birth badly

ilovebabies, actually i'm experiencing backache now too and pain down there whenever i got out of bed, also these few days my legs and hands are so swollen. all signs of labor i read...but hor... i dun think i'm that near labour since my bb not engaged yet... i think you have to know your own body very well to detect the changes when the real contractions come. everyone is different i believe. I'm speculating mine will be another at least 2 weeks before the real one hits in.

I detected my pregnancy abt a week and slightly more before i missed my menses cos i could see the changes on my breasts. i think my body reacts very fast to changes with my hormones or etc.

i want natural birth too but i will listen to gynae's advice when the time comes for the safety of myself and my bb. think gynae knows best what's good for us.

hellobaby

hey i am also experiencing the sudden swelling on my hands and legs only frm week 36. Prior to that I dun have much swelling.

My bb is not engaged as well .. but as I mentioned earlier, a friend of mine delivered her boy recently and he was only engaged during the delivery process .. amazing.

yes, heed gynae's advice, nothing is more impt than our safety.

i think this is the time we shouldnt think much about the labour for a while and take things as they come. I am building more bonding with my bb in my tummy. i read that bb will remember better what she is learning inside the tummy than when she is out.

I'm talking to her every now and then and also singing her nursery rhymes. I think she is listening cos she has been very active lately when i started talking to her more actively.

and i guess we will all miss the days when our babies were in our tummies when they are born. so cherish the moments now!

right ! i will miss her kicks and movements leh .. and I miss carrying her around.. was telling my hubby that I can fly once I have deliver ... ahha the watermelon on me is out finally !!

oops I have been lazy lately, have not been singing to her .. think better do it now since we still got the chance.

hahahahahaha.... yaman a big watermelon! no joke! really heavy leh.. but yes i love carrying her around too!

ya sing songs to your gal! hee...

am going out for lunch now. talk to you gals later... hv a good lunch!

Hellobaby,

You r right, these things are beyond our control. Same as ilovebabies, i really wanted natural birth badly bcos i cant imagine my tummy kenna cut ;(
But of cos, safety comes 1st so let our gynae decide.

ilovebabies,
I also experienced swelling recently..i think on my hands.I cant take out my ring now.
oh ya, rem to take out ur jewellery before you all gg to hosp for delivery.

ya ... the feeling of the backside and legs popping out of the tummy is really funny hee :D

Now he is kicking me hard again after lunch :p Later will fall asleep again after he has enough kicking time hee :D

Who do I send my details to in order to be in the mailing list with all of you ? :D

ya.. the other day, i was also thinking i will miss bb kicking me and therefore, muz cherish this moment. Btw, my BH contraction seems less frequent these days leh. Anyone knows why?

Puppylove helping to do the mailing list. You can pm to her.

elmo

better remove ur rings fast ... dun end up cutting your ring in the jewellery shop. I stop wearing rings since I am 6 mths pregnant cos I wont know when I will have the swelling.

actually u can wear anything in the delivery ward if you are going for natural birth.

littlepony

it could be that you have rested well over the weekends that's why the BH contractions reduced.

BUT ... for my case, though I have stop the medication I also realised it is has reduced a bit ... not too sure why too ??

ilovebabies,
oh maybe that's why.. normally, i feel super energetic on early part of the weekdays.. and when it's Thurs and Fri, i felt breathless and weak. Guess rest is damn impt!

But oh, yours reduced as well? hmmm.. haaa! maybe you r like me, we have enuff rest???

littlepony

that's what my gynae said .. in fact i told u my amio fluid increases yest right ? he said I rested well during weekends, that's why.

i like to take naps during weekends ehehe ..

My gynae never mentioned anything about my amnio fluid :x I am going to ask him this friday :x

Sigh ... I hope my bb will come out before 5th of Sept coz I am supposed to have induced labour as my gynae going overseas !!!

My EDD is 10th of Sept :x

Riushiki,
Normally, babies come up at the 39th week.. so don't have to worry so much.. but ya, like what ilovebabies say, talk to your bb lor!

Ilovebabies,
Ya.. recently, i also take naps during weekends... so shiok right?!

wow, the thread moves fasst today. half day din come in, i missed 1 archive liao :p

ilovebabies, littlepony, mi also catch every moment over weekends to sleep. weekday nights cannot sleep well. After waiting up to pee, very difficult to get back to sleep. Weekends i can wake up at 9+am, then afternoon 2+ go take a nap again. I feel like a kid...have to take afternoon nap before going out...else feels so tired. hehe.

Mi went to get the dry shampoo yesterday. So small a bottle...dunno how long it will last.

Okies lah, mi going to gynae visit soon liao. Will be back with updates later in the day

same here ... difficult to go back to bed after pee pee .. why har ?

Okie will start to talk to my bb tonite. Must ask him to come out before 5th Sept but after 38 weeks to be safe :p

hi ladies...
i went gynae last nite... was in my 36wks n 3 days, will be going back to check whether cervice open or not this sat....if everythg goes well i will admit on sat nite to induce n deliver my "naughty" boy on sunday..... finally i'm reaching my ending line but thinking of e labour process puts me off abit.
i've been feeling very weak n restless recently cos vomiting had increased n i got no appetite to eat too... experience a bit of swelling on my fingers n toes but after massaging it will goes off... noticed some stretchmarks on my lower tummy too...

anyway despite tat i cant eat well but baby really clever to take all his nutrients from me... he gains 400grams since 2wks ago... now he is 2.4kg n my weight actually decrease by 1kg since 2wks ago... wow... this pregn is really a good slimming programme for me...

Wow, all talking abt sleeping. How i wish i'm on the bed now, esp on this rainy day.

Elaine,
Why u need to be induced?You r only 36wk+.

think elaine suffer quite a lot this pregnancy with the non stop vomiting according to her previously hor ??

elaine .. jia you .. can see the finishing line oredi ..

yes bb suck the nutrients from the mother no matter u gain or lose weight. thus it is very impt that the mother take calcium and iron supplement to nourish herself.

Elaine,
You r the 1st on our thread to pop! Congrats! You r like a dark horse leh.. i mean everyone expecting ilovebabies, amylim to pop and here you r .. popping this Sat!

I understand what you mean.. about you having constant vomiting and i guess u just wanna to end this .........

Anyway, hey.. wish you n your baby well. Are you in our mailing list? Join us.. so that when u pop, just msg anyone of us and then, we will put the good news up on the thread!

Ya.. elaine suffered alot.. and she mentioned this before in our thread. Some of us knew she is going to induce.

Yes... jia you, elaine!

Elmo88, you said the same thing as me leh.. how i wish i could sleep in at home this rainy day.. what am i doing at work!!! haaa!

Ohh~ no wonder..she's inducing so soon.

I wish to give birth after 36th week also.
Having so much of body ache...
Does anyone have those blue black kind of pain at tummy area. Not e whole tummy lah, jus a small portion. It's really killing me!

Elaine ... jia you !!!

My bb also same time as yours

I am having leg ache
dunno why :x like just finished running 2.4km like that :x

oh.... sat i will be in my 37wks tat's y doc say can induce for me if my cervice open but if nv open then i got to choose to go through c-section or wait until cervice open. anyway i will choose to wait until cervice open then induce cos so scary to have a cut on tummy. Just hope tat my cervice will open by sat.

elaine

then u better start walking now !! go shopping !!

i was 1 cm dilated last thur, then I went on a full day shopping on Sat. Doc chk my cervix on Mon say it has soften as compare to last Thur. he say it's a good sign for natural birth .. so he ask me to go for more shopping ehee

hi ilovebabies..
i wish i can go shopping too... but i'm really feeling very weak n tired recently cant go out cos will feel very unwell after walking for a while. anyway to open cervice other than walking??

hi elaine,

ur edd is so close to mine. mine is 9th sep.

i heard of squatting helping to open cervic. but please take extra caution when you do that ok... balance urself... dunno if this help.

I wish u a smooth delivery! keep us posted!

hmm elaine

i dunno other methods leh

ya maybe u can try Hellobaby methods. do it close to a chair so that u can assist yourself while standing up.

Elaine,
you can pm puppylove coz puppylove is the one who is helping us on the mailing list..... but you can pm me and i can convey to puppylove .. any method you want.. no problem! heee!

Ya.. i heard squatting is good leh.... so why not try that....

u nervous about the whole thing or not? heee. abit getting excited for you alreadi!

Puppylove, have just PM you again my detail.

ilovebabies and elmo88, yah lor long time nv come in cos have to handover job to Temp staff so no time to come in to see. Wah today so many post, no time to finish reading all. All my checkup so far all ok. Went for my weekly check and recently check was just last sat, baby weighted 3kg and not yet engaged, have done the Group B strep test, no infection. Gynea encourage me to walk more which i alway do. Next week will need to do CTG. Went to the Taka fair on Sunday and have bought a manual pump to try at promotion price and also bought their steriliser.

hi E-ling,
ya.. long time nvr hear from you ... good that handover job is done.. so you can relaz and just wait for the magical moment.

I KS.. i hv also more or less handed over.. and didn't dare to start new projects. Will do those projects when i return from my maternity leave.... Right now, i just assist my boss in some stuff. He also don't dare to give me alot of things to work on...

Natural Induction Methods
First, RELAX! Forget due dates. Due dates are simply an educated guess, did you know only 4% of births happen on the "due date"? Your anxiety is pumping adrenaline at high levels into your system and this could very well be further delaying any progress or starting. Concentrate on the wonderful feeling of the baby's movements inside you and how productive labor will be when it does begin. I know this all sounds a bit repetitive...however, the more you struggle to initiate labor the more your body becomes stressed and a body that is stressed will not start labor simply as a built in natural defensive response to perceived "danger". Even though you might not be in actual danger, your stress levels tell the body that danger is imminent and this further delays the natural release of oxytocin into your system. Go take a warm bath, eat a favorite meal, drink plenty of fluids and let nature take its course. The best things in life take their time.

In dealing with natural induction this list will start with the safest and least interventionist and will explain each method and the pros and cons of each.

Start with relaxation techniques, to get you relaxed then use some visual imagery of labor beginning. The most important thing to do is to find a way to relieve stress and related tension. Tension works against labor. Relieve it, let everything go, and you may be surprised to find yourself in labor.
A bumpy car ride may sound like an old wives tail, but if the baby is not in a good position, your sitting and relaxing while being moved by the car through bumps has worked.
Spicy food has been suggested, and if you are not prone to heartburn from spices why not give it a try. One word of caution though, heartburn during labour is not enjoyable!
Before proceeding further, this is only a list of suggestions. Please consult with your doctor before trying any of these methods.

Prostaglandin
The next step is prostaglandin. Prostaglandin is the hormone that softens the cervix, preparing it for birth. It does not stimulate your uterus, thus is very safe. Two ways to introduce prostaglandin are:

Making love with your husband or partner once a day, don't get up right away after and elevating your hips is a good idea. This lets the prostaglandin in your husbands (partners) semen coat your cervix that helps to ripen it. Also semen orally has been said to help, as prostaglandins are absorbed orally as well as vaginally.
Take Evening Primrose oil. It doesn't START labor, only prepares the cervix. You buy it at just about any health food/vitamin/herbal type store. It comes in capsules that look just like vitamin E. You can also massage it onto your cervix as long as the bag of waters is intact. If your water breaks and labour does not start soon, do not bath (shower instead), avoid sex and anything that could introduce germs into your vagina including vaginal checks.
Prostaglandin induction (using an artificial prostaglandin gel) is the first step usually taken for induction in the hospital to soften the cervix, making it more favourable for an induction with an artificial oxytocin drug.

Oxytocin and Emenagogues
Oxytocin is the hormone that your body uses to stimulate uterine contractions during labour. It is also the synthetic form of oxytocin that is used for induction and augmentation in the hospital. You must use caution when using these! After trying one, wait several hours to see if it has worked. If it is used too much or too often labour may become too intense for you and baby. If you experience any side effect, discontinue immediately!

Nipple stimulation is a well-known method of contracting your uterus. Used by midwives for centuries, it not only stimulates the uterus during labour, it is very beneficial after the birth to aid in expelling the placenta and thus avoiding hemorrhage. As this method uses your natural oxytocin, it is the safest form of induction.
Accupressure on the Spleen 6. For more information on this, ask your Doula or a good reference to this is The Birth Partner by Penny Simkin.
Blue or Black Cohosh are emenagogues. It is often seen as a last ditch method, but if artificial induction is threatened this is a much more natural form of induction. Don't use it if you are anemic or have a history of postpartum bleeding, high blood pressure or excessive blood loss during birth. Use only under the guidance of a qualified herbologist or naturopathy and with the acceptance of your primary caregiver.
Hey, go ahead and have that glass of wine you have been dying to have! At this point it may relax you-hopefully enough to bring 'em on!

Castor oil
One of the very possible side effects of using castor oil or an enema is the mom having bad diarrhea with cramps that can lead to dehydration, which is why my midwife suggests steering clear of it! I've also heard that it is believed to be associated with a higher risk of the baby passing meconium before or during the birth, but have seen no conclusive studies on this.

Castor oil cocktail works by stimulating the bowels, which in turn stimulates the uterus. Metamucil works too and is much easier to take!
An enema also works the same as castor oil, and though invasive, it may be the one to do the trick.