(2006/09) SEPTEMBER 2006 MTB

I am in my 35th weeks and 1 days now... Can't wait to see my bb and nowaday feel so tiring to move and can't sleep well at night..

woo so exciting and scary at the same time. looking forward for ilovebabies's update!

i have a big problem with acid reflux and heartburn. now getting worse already. any quick remedy?

ya.. i am also looking forward for ilovebabie's update! Dunno why but i feel she may b the 1st one to deliver leh!

Melissa, ya.. i also have problem with heartburn. I try to eat lesser each meal but suggest that you take frequent meals. I know caffeine is not advisable but if i drink a cup of tea down, i feel slightly better.

Hi Ming Liew,
U new to our thread? If yes, welcome!

hello and welcome ming liew
you're so close to full term! your wait is not long now. come 37 weeks, you can pray your baby to meet you fast! so lucky! me still have to wait nong nong!

littlepony,
what tea are you taking? you think we can take green tea now? i have plenty of jasmine green teabags lying around. i avoided spicy food like plague but still kanna! it's even worst at night evertime i belch it feels like i'm vomitting a little acid up my throat. so irritating!

Melissa,
I get that as well leh..the little acid in my throat. i understand! I just take normal english tea leh. Not sure if green tea is fine.. but should be alright lah. I not very sure.

Yes.. try to avoid spicy food.. today, i try taking soupy food and it helps abit leh. And i try drinking alot of water...

elo melissa, i just found out today hor that green tea shld be avoided coz it contains a lot of caffeine, not sure how true???

ilovebabies, inducing is more painful coz instead of allowing ur natural birthing hormones to work to dilate your cervix, you are using chemicals. these chemicals, though "similar" to what our own body produce, are not identical and will cause diff intensity of contractions i guess.

Melissa, I heard green tea contains caffeine as well... so it is best to avoid drinking it...

For those having heartburn, try to take small frequent meals and avoid spicy food. If this doesn't help, try plain antacid...

Hey,
i just msg ilovebabies to find out how she is.
Here's her reply:-
wah i got many spikes under ctg monitoring. no medication. cervix chk v painful. nurse say a little bit dilation. dr say might go into labour early!

..................I am getting damn nervous, excited and happy for her leh!!! Hope she is fine. I leave her to do the rest of update when she comes online again.

hi all! things hv been crazy in office so no time at all to read all ur posts. I'm actually covering for a colleague who has gone for maternity leave, so doing double work. Besides 'fire-fighting' every day, I also hv to prepare to handover work b4 I go on maternity myself. Feel tat time is really really short now! *panic!*

Bena,
is it u who visited gynae today and we're supposed to update each other?
My girl is 1.9kg at 33wks (dunno why gynae wrote 32wks on my card... my EDD is 25 Sept). I've gained 2.3kg since 3wks ago. Seems quite a lot hor? Next visit is 2wks fr now, which will coincide w my gynae's talk on labour.

So happy we finally caught the scan on videocam!! even played it for my colleagues to c just now.
Bb is lying across my tummy, head on bottom left, backside near the top, legs on bottom right, her toes almost touching her face!! So cute and all curled up! No wonder my tummy is so round and I've a 'depression' around my belly button area cos it's 'empty' there.. know wat i mean? and no wonder she doesn't like me to sleep on my left cos i'm pressing her head... haha.

I haven't been sleeping well these past week cos of the weight and discomfort. But I take it as 'training' for future night feeds.

ok, got to continue w my work - yes i'm still in office!! hope to catch up w everyone here soon, i miss all the chatting!!
Bena, look forward to ur update on ur visit!

Puppylove,
i am still in office as well. clearing my work and trying to do as much as i can before i go on maternity. Have an upcoming conference that needs preparation. Although I am not attending the conference (coz of my big tummy and can't travel) but yet, have to prepare. Sigh! So u not alone.. got me to accompany you!!

I haven't been sleeping well too coz of weight and ya, u mentioned, discomfort. Bb seems fussy about my sleeping position. can't coincide with his.. and he will toss and turn.

Morning MTBs,

Puppylove, yup, i went for gynae visit. My EDD is 20-sept and i am 33wk 1 day yesterday, so i think u should be in the 32 wk right?
Wow, ur bb seems bigger leh. I at 33wk, my girl is 1.8kg and doc is very happy with her weight. he say her weight is normal and very good weight. So i am 1 step closer to natural birth. Yesterday gynae put me on CTG for 30min and everything normal. My girl is sleeping so soundly she did not even move an inch! Everything is just great!

ilovebabies...how are u doing today? So excited and happy for u.

Hey hey, got a reply sms from ilovebabies. She is fine, back to work already. She will come online as she is having meeting now.

ilovebabies, so glad to hear that you are ok!

Mornin ladies,

As I didn't attend the prenatal course. I jst sign up for a seminar cum workshops on "Giving My Baby The Best Beginining". The topics include labour - all you need to know, Care for baby, breastfeeding workshop, baby massage workshop. Can find the details in the Mind Your Body section. For those mummies who also didn't attend the prenatal course, this might be useful:)

ilovebabies,take good care,,, rest more

ilovebabies,
yup, glad to hear u're ok! take care!

bena,
1.8 & 1.9kg quite close lah... heheh... My girl also didn't move an inch during the scan. Almost as if she's doing it on purpose cos she gets active b4 and after tat! haha... Did ur gynae predict birth weight? My girl shld be in the range of 3kg at this rate she's growing.

Is CTG something all of u go thru' now? I didn't leh...

I only hv time to do a quick scan of all the posts I've missed. Saw that some of u were talking abt bb born as boy altho' gynae said itz a girl. We didn't want the risk so we actually asked gynae to scan again y'day! Turned out she is indeed a girl, so no 'risk' now!

Puppylove, same leh. Before i was strapped to the CTG, she was still kicking me hard! Soon after scan starts, she stopped completely. Do u think cos they heard their own heartbeat? heheh.
Yup, during my last visit, gynae estimated weight of bb to be easily 3kg and more. Yesterday was my 1st time on CTG.

Hahah, talking abt girl becoming boy. My boss lah, he's the one whom experienced it. Mine should be confirmed a gir lah...every visit to the gynae, gynae will scan and scan and double check. Cannot be wrong. :D

ilovebabies,
good to know you're ok!

i haven't had any CTG scans. probably not even tomorrow since i never have any contractions.

Bena,
I'm also like you everytime went for scan will double check her wee wee. Must die die confirm it's a girl liao! Kekekee...

me back !!

tks for your well wishes ...

went to Mt A at 5pm and nurse put me on CTG machine for 1.5 hrs. During this duration, many spikes of contractions were captured on the machine, together with baby heartbeat. Bb was very very active during the monitoring dunno why ahah

think i have a few spikes that hit 100 on the machine ! nurse came in to chk once in a while and keep asking if i am in pain ... I was not ! i was busy watching TV hahaha

at the end of it, nurse updated my gynae and gynae ordered a cervix chk....

aiyo it was sooooooooooooooooooo painful .. i keep complaining to the nurse ... though she was slow and gentle i still feel the pain. i had a cervix chk by gynae before and I din experienced any pain then ....

nurse was very experienced. SHe touched my tummy and tell me the bb's is down, though I knew it from my visit to the gynae.

anyway .. nurse said I am a bit dilated. She showed me using her index finger, of how much she can entered my cervix.

gynae then tell me that I may go into labour early and I need to monitor my contractions closely. if it happens regularly (like 5-10min once) for 2-3 hrs continuously, I need to go labour ward again.

emoments, CTG is to capture the contractions and the bb heartbeat at the same time.

ilovebabies, wow. That was an experience man! Anyway, glad to know that you are well and back to work already! Actually i read form some website that dilation can actually happen few weeks to 1 month before EDD and it stays somewhere ard 1+cm...dunno how true this is tho.

ilovebabies,
hey.. welcome back! u have got alot of us excited for u yesterday! heee! Anyway, take lots of rest and well, keep track of your own contractions. Like i say, your princez can't wait to see u lor!!!!

ilovebabies,
wow, what an experience! how did u feel? Think u've one of the earliest EDD among us right? Which week are u now? 36th?

ilovebabies,
glad to hear that you are OK now. Phew....
Try to stay relax and take plenty of rest when possible. Walk less, lie more. (Minimize gravity effect mah.)

ilovebabies,
good to know you're ok!

i haven't had any CTG scans. probably not even tomorrow since i never have any contractions.

Bena,
I'm also like you everytime went for scan will double check her wee wee. Must die die confirm it's a girl liao! Kekekee...

emoments, no leh. For me, i did not have any contractions. In fact, i can't even make out if i have any BH contractions. I am quite jiat lat right :p
Anyway, gynae just arranged for me to do the CTG. The 30min results shows everything ok, no contractions and bb heart beat is normal.

Melissa, heheh...actually i did not request for gynae to do that, but he will do all the scans lor and tell us that "see, that's the buttocks, nothing in between, so it's a girl"...heheh

gals .. thanks !!

hehe I wasnt v kan cheong leh .. in fact u gals and my friends were ! heeh so cute ..

i am will be 36 weeks this Sat onwards. hmm still think it's too early for my gal to come out leh .. haha maybe she want to see National Day fireworks ?

hi ladies, sorry to cross thread...me early oct mtb...

hi bena, happened to chance upon that you are wif Dr KW Lee in GlenE ya...
me wif Dr Lee too...BB gal too...
my EDD is 3Oct & will be seeing Dr Lee next fri again...then following wk do CTG scan also...
very happy wif Dr Lee and his nurses ya...

479301.png

Hi Bena

OK, I'll check with gynea on my next visit... am curious on this CTG 'cos till now, I haven't had any chance to listen to my baby's heartbeat yet

wow ilovebabies, if you can give birth on National Day.. how nice... esp if yrs is the first baby on National day

Good luck

emoments, during the normal checkups/scans, your doc never let u hear bb heart beat? I get to hear it every visit as gynae will check on her heartbeat see if it's normal...but the CTG is for longer period.

ilovebabies, hahah...funny hor. We were so gan cheong for u!

ilovemybabyg, yup, me also with Dr. Lee. Heheh, Dr Lee and his team is great! I enjoyed every visit very much!

BTW, do you ladies have to pay extra for the CTG scans eventhough you are on package? i had to pay additional for the scans. Reckon my package only includes the consultation fee.

hi bena, not sure abt paying extra for CTG?? the last scan i did was the detailed scan and tat's was wif Prof Anandakumar at in Camden Medical...for this scan, i pay myself..dun knw for ctg scan...did u pay & roughly how much??

yah...enjoy my visit everytime too..love Dr Lee's team...

ilovebabies, glad to know that you are ok... I'll be seeing my gyane later and will do the group B strep test to check if I'm having any infection. Will keep you gals updated.

ilovemybabyg, u went for detailed scan at camden? Referred by Dr Lee? I did not go camden to do any tests leh. Dr Lee also never ask me to go for any additional scans, except those that he did during each visit. What does the detailed scan do? What kind of results?
Yup, i paid ard $30 for the CTG yesterday.

Am new here. Pls welcome me. ;)
I'm both a Aug 04 Mommy as well as a Sep 06 MTB and intend to deliver at MAH too and opting for 4-bedded.So we may get to see each other?? hehe

Bena,

For mine, CTG scans are not included in package so I'll have to pay extra for these scans. I haven done mine for this pregnancy yet.

Hi Valerie, welcome welcome! which wk are u in now? boy boy or girl girl for this one?
Ooh, so CTG scans are out of the package

hi bena..in fact, Dr Lee neber mentioned to me..kekekeke... he's not too encouraging on goin for additional scans...just tat i have many mtbs or mummies friends who went, then when they ask me, so i check wif the nurse and she arrange for it.. i was refer to Dr Lee by my aunt and she also went for detailed scan.. so went lor... kekekeke...
yap..for detailed scan, Dr Lee will refer the scan to b done at camden centre wif Prof Anandakumar..very prof & jovial guy too..for me, the detailed scan was done on my 22nd wk, Prof Ana was very detailed, the whole scan lasted for more than 2hrs..took a total of abt 70over pics..did scan on BB's organs and from her head to toes... literally everything.. my results is very good and afterwhich i just bring the report back to Dr Lee and he explain to me...
but X lor.. spend abt $250 for the whole scan... :p

emmm..thanks for advice on the cost of ctg.. will take note of it... me can't wait to see BB again...

hi ilovebabies, our nick very similar ya!! heehee... take care!!

so wat's strep test??

hi bena, actually, i felt that Dr Lee's scanning machine quite advanced liao... and he's very detailed and careful.. very pro doctor...

so u goin for 1 bedded room or 2 bedded? have u went for the delivery tour..will be goin for it soon too... heard tat can do pre-admission earlier so tat later dun need to rush...

ilovemybabyg, yup. I feel that dr lee equipment very advanced and he is very careful and very detailed...so i did not ask him abt any other stuffs, unless he says that i need anything else.

i went for the tour yesterday after my visit to dr lee. The tour is conducted on every tues and thurs only. I most likely take the 2-bedder. The room of the 1-bedder is just slightly bigger than then 2-bedder. The pros is that hubby and bb can bunk in with u 24/7, the cons is that it is about $800 more than 2-bedder. What abt urself? Tot of which to take already?

Yup, we can do pre-admission, about 1 month before can do the pre-admission liao.

welcome valerie !!

i am delivering in MT A opting for 4 bedder as well..when's ur EDD ??

ilovemybabyg .. hey ya ! hope the gals dun mixed up our nick ! hehe

Grp B Strep Test is to test for infection at the V area. If you r infected, it is best to go under medication to clear it as bb pass thru this passageway during delivery and may get infected as well.

479359.png

Harlo all! Seems like ilovebabies got everyone uptight and excited yesterday!
But so glad she and baby are ok.

I'm going for my checkup tomorrow! Yeah!
Hopefully can hear good news that baby is in position already.

Angeline, do you mind sharing more on the seminar with me? When will that be and how to sign up? Because I did not go for any antenatal class as well. Just reading up from the websites and learning from friends, which I hope can prepare me enough!

ilovebabies,

What an adventure day u had yesterday! Glad that everything is well and good! Take care.

All,

What is CTG monitoring? My last visit to gynae is at wk 32 and so far i havent done any CTG before.

By the way, have yr gynae ask u to start tracking bb movements?

ilovebabies,

I feel so excited for u. Just to share with you i had my 2nd kid at 36+weeks. So I will standby ard my 36 weeks oso which is 3 weeks from now. Hahah...but usually 1st time mum will be 37 weeks onwards lah. Anyway, you takecare.