(2006/09) SEPTEMBER 2006 MTB

melissa

my gal is always shy leh .. for the past 2 visits, my gynae cant take a snapshot of her face cos she always cover it with her hands leh ..

i guess she is running out of space in my "4-room flat" womb ahhaha

hi emoments,
i experience pain on my lower tummy... especially when baby wakes up n start moving... i've ask my doc abt it n he mention tat my baby's head is over there so his head is pressing it so i feel e pain..... sometimes it can actually wakes me up from sleep...
i was wondering....... if this kind of movement i also find is painful then how can i tahan with labour pain.... haahaa e pain actually on start very recently.... how many wks r u in now??

Hi elaine

I'm 31 weeks 5 days today.....

The pain is still bearable, just tt my col told me she dun experience it and how come I experience it... tt's y a bit worried lor...

I feel a lot of difference this week... suddenly feel very heavy and big.... can't walk fast and far now.... hmm...

hi emoments,
does ur pain comes only when baby moves?? for my case it is... cos i can feel baby moving his body 1st then followed by his head seems like turn then i will feel e pain.
check with ur doc during e next visit but if very pain better see ur doc early.

Morning Ladies!

How's everyone doing today?
Yesterday, my girl push the knee (i think it is based on last position check) so high up and when i rest my hands on her knees, she quickly retreat back..heheh...so cute leh.

So happy, today going to visit the gynae. Can see my little angel again liao :D

478490.jpg

oh i have a qn ..

wat's the diff between natural birth and induce labour ? is there any diff during the birth process? will it be more painful in the case of induce ?

i always read tt induce is more painful, but ive no idea why. if really nd to induce then i'll ask my gynae as i really dun hope to induce. let bb choose his own birthday

478578.gif

ya why ah ?

any experienced mothers who went thru induce ? i tot it's just starting the contractions as per natural birth process ?

nowadays i keep telling myself, giving birth next mth liao... wah.. sounds like v fast...

but actually still got 6-8wks more to go...

tomorrow bb cot delivery... one step closer again...

luckily work nowadays not so stressful... can relax a bit...

im really v curious how'd everything goes on tt day when im going into labour...

i asked my hubby not to encourage me to take epidural. i really admire those who didnt. nowadays v rare liao. i hope to go thru the pain to the v extreme before i decide whether to surrender or not. at least going thru it for the 1st time knowing my own pain threshold, next time i know what to opt for...

478603.gif

edksd

oh that's the reason ah ?

my gynae also say i have to assess my pain threshold during labour and req for epi when I want to.

anyway some say you may dilate faster with epi, cos you will be more relaxed. we dilate faster when u feel relax.

i head that if eventually want to opt for epi, must opt for it earlier...else even with epi also not much help...but i dunno what they meant by 'earlier'...i also hope to go thru without epi. At least can experience the entire process.

anyway the midwife will chk your cervix before they use epi on you .. so still subject to their approval as well .. think some said can ask for epi when u r abt 4 cm dilated ..

my gynae just say depending on my pain threshold ..

my gynae have not actually gone thru a formal round of discussion with me regarding birth plan. I only asked him if i can go thru natural and he say shouldn't be a prob...other than that, nothign was discussed
Do you think i should probe further or just leave it as it is?

Today also going for the hospital tour. Any qs i should ask or anything i should keep a lookout for?

Hello good morning girls,
I think induction maybe more painful b'cos they will also inject some kind of drugs to hasten up delivery. And to hasten up delivery, your contractions will be a lot worst, it's a result of your muscles trying to expand. I may be wrong. Where are the 2nd time mummies huh? Hehe..

478638.png

Bena,
maybe can ask about visiting hours and what kind of daily necessities did they provide.. like towels and stuff.. that's all i can remember.. can the others chip in? I'd like to know too.

Bena

i went thru MAH tour weeks ago also...the lady was very detailed with her explanation so I din really asked a lot.

She even described the birth process in the delivery ward, where the gynae was sitting, where they chk the bb, the resting place for hubby etc ...

she also showed us a 2 bedder ward, but i opted for 4 bedder.

hmm think that's abt all ..

for the hospital tour actually nothing much to ask leh. i think the most impt is u must feel comfortable at the delivery suite and the room. most of the things are rather standard eg. the equipment. so just go and hv a feel how u like tt place or not.

478680.jpg

hi bena, i think u shld ask when in doubt, some gynae are quite passive, only speak when asked. u paid him right? so u've the rights to know what u'd need to know.

we cant change the other party, but we can make the situation better by making an effort ourselves

478683.gif

ya ya ya .. i always prep a long list of qns for my gynae .. and he is used to my style oredi

edksd, your pics are sooooooooo cute .. really liven up this forum !!
478686.gif

i asked my gynae is it true tt epidural makes us relaxed (not in pain) and therefore helps in faster dilation. she says yes.

but becos of epidural, in the later stage (where bb has crowned and we need to do the pushing), we might hv a longer time coz we're numb already, the pushing may be more difficult since we cant feel the urge to push.

so she says all in all the nett time is almost the same. meaning the time u saved in faster dilation might be spent in the time u take to push. so in the end it's all the same.

but of course it still depends on individual's experience la i believe.

like my friend, she asked for epidural rather early as she has lower pain threshold, by the time bb crowned, the epidural effect has already gone, so she was in such a great pain. and plus her gynae was late, so she cannot push first, hv to wait for gynae's arrival. by the time her gynae came, few pushes and bb was out.

478692.gif

hi ilovebabies, yeah, just to brighten up the threads a bit by posting some pics.

dumpty, how many hrs of sleep u usually hv? me abt 7-8 hrs daily. i find tt 3rd trimester is slightly more tiring than 2nd trimester, but not as bad as 1st trimester.

and oso the appetite in 3rd trimester is the best, seems to get hungry more easily.

edksd, I have about 7-8 hrs of sleep daily too. But throughout the entire pregnancy, my energy level had been very normal until recently. Actually my appetite was better during 2nd trimester. Now, most of the time feels tired only. Don't feel like eating.

I also have 7-8 hours of sleep but now even walking to work is tiring! My legs just feel heavy, maybe b'cos baby's weight is weighing me down. Sigh it's only Thursday today. How I wish it's Saturday already so that I can see my baby! By babycentre standard, a 32-wk baby should weigh an average of 1.7kg. Hopefully my baby's around there lah.

edksd,
Yes you're brightening up the forum nicely! Keep those cute images coming!

dumpty,
I'm very tired right now too! I feel like taking a nap but I'm really uncomfortable with napping in the office! It gives me a headache!

hi dumpty, so i guess u didnt hv morning sickness during ur 1st tri?

hi melissa, u hope ur bb weight will be up to standard, i hope my bb weight will not be too much over standard :p we all hv different hopes

btw, my bb was 1.9kg at wk31 day5. slightly bigger than average according to my gynae.

478729.gif

Thanks gals...will ask my gynae later when i see him.

I am also having 7-8 hrs of sleep and still feel tired. I am getting more breathless these days also...and the legs feels so tired...probably cos of the weight that i put on.

Bena, me too. Just walking slowly for even 5 minutes and my legs feel like breaking already

Melissa, my hope is same as edksd. Hope baby will not be too much over standard!

edksd, I did not have very bad MS. Maybe just slight but most of the time I'm so normal nobody guessed that I'm pregnant.

Yesterday you gals were comparing your waistline measurements. My first thoughts were : Hmmmmm.... can still see waist ah? Hahaha...
But that aside, out of curiosity, I measured my waist/tummy too! Am at 37"!

Hahah...dumpty, actually i think at 3rd tri, i can see more waist than before leh...during my 2nd tri, totally like a barrel!
Whenever i measure my 'waist', hubby will say that that part not the most protruding...so i also dunno which part to measure. If i measure the normal waistline, mine is 39+", but if i measure the most protruding part, then it's bigger.

hey gals

same here.. i cant walk too far .. so always lunch in at the canteen .. boring but no choice leh

u know till now I can still see my waist .. though I'm having a gal .. gal tummy shld not be pointed and shld have fats all over the waist according to the myths ehhee anyway am still proud i still got waist !! ahha always show off to my hubby

melissa

dun think too much abt bb weight .. she will grow healthily dun worry. anyway low birth weight doesnt mean she wont gain fast when she's out ya ?

aiyo 3rd tri and 1st tri a bit diff for me .. 1st tri very tired cos can feel heart working very hard and everyday was so restless due to MS and ligament pains. 3rd tri had much better appetite but even with enough sleep, still feel sleepy hor ?

and legs are always aching and the stupid cramp at my right butt ! ahha

478755.jpg

ilovebabies,
i have been getting sharp cramps on my calves in the middle of the night but i have an immediate remedy! i simple flexed my leg by pointing my feet towards me. it works like a charm and I can go back to sleep again hehee.

bena,
measure the most protuding part lah. that's how i did it and i'm a little over 37". it looks huge lor so I can't imagine MTB's having a bigger measurement! you're huge! hehee..

ilovebabies, same same. I can still see waist despite having a gal. That's why my boss is laughing and telling me sekali later turn out to be boy :p

hi melissa, i used to do the same as u whenever ive cramp at the calves at night.

until one night, after i flexed my foot, the cramp at the calves went away and immediately at the shin, it cramped. this's the first time in my life tt i encountered cramp at the shin!

shin is front of our calves.

so i quickly woke my hubby up as i simply cant move my foot as i tot i can do the opposite, flex the foot down.

after tt incident i asked the antenatal class instructor, she told me tt when we flex the foot ourselves, we're using our muscles to do it. by right we shld relax and let somebody else to flex it for us or flex it against the wall.

anyway, from then onwards, every night hubby will massage my calves for me before bed. and i seldom get cramps nowadays already.

478777.gif

ilovebabies. whenever i woke up in the middle of the night of whenever i have the urge to stretch, i will always stretch with my feet pointing upwards...if i try to stretch with feet pointing front, i can feel the legs begin cramping...so i never stretch with feet pointing forward...always upwards

Melissa, i am not considered huge liao...i think in the previous posts, some of us are having 43" waist...that is huge!

Bena
hehehe sorry.. then again i am short liao only 157cm so i think i look big lor but I guess you're taller!

edksd,
very interesting information about shin cramp! how does your hubby massage your calves?

during the antenatal class, the instructor did teach us how to massage the calves.

2 types of massages. 1 is stroking it upwards from the ankle to back of the knee area. another 1 is twisting upwards. i duno how to explain the twisting portion, must demo la.

478795.gif

Melissa, heheh...then again, i may not look big, cos i have put on LOADS of weight...heheh.
Anyway, don worry about ur tummy size and bb size. My frd's sister recently gave birth to a bb boy who is 3.8kg and her tummy is very small. ppl still tot she has a few month more to delivery.

Bena

same here, I love the stretching leh .. ya always kana cramps after the stretch hahha ... really torture myself lor .. but dun really stretch too much, scared the "balloon" on my tummy burst ahha

i measured 39"+ also and I am only 1.61m tall ...

my col also teased me say I have a boy at birth ... then my gal will be confused .. keep addressing her "rachel"

Heheh...ilovebabies, we are kind of similar...i am 1.63.

Hahah...i also scared the balloon will burst...i used to loved to stretch a lot...but evern since preg, dare not do much stretching :p

My boss told me that this happened to him leh. Through his wife's visit to the gynae, the gynae scan and told him is girl...he happily went to prepare all the girly pinky stuffs, then on the day of delivery, a bb boy was delivered. His gynae can still tease him that his boy is very good at hidding and that he should be happier that it's a boy :p Poor bb boy, he had to live with all the pinky girly stuffs...hahah!

Yippee...me leaving for gynae visit and hospital tour soon.
Will be back with updates later.
Tata gals!

Bena,
That's what I'm scared of leh! I bought everything in pink and call her a girl's name already. It's terrifying to get a boy! Now I badly want a girl even though earlier, I would prefer a boy hehe. And 3.8kg on a small tummy is unbelieveable!!!

edksd,
Your phone got camera right? Record lah. Then upload here lor.

melissa

wat's ur gal's name ??

same here .. my sis and SIL passed me all the pinky stuff leh ... but I have tried to avoid buying pinky stuff on my own ..usually i get yellow and white lor

gals, i called my gynae cos my tightening has been v freq these few days even though I am on med

gynae wants me to go MT A labour ward now and put me on CTG monitoring ..

ooh oh here's comes another tightening .... update u gals later ...