(2006/09) SEPTEMBER 2006 MTB

By the way, anyone has any experience or knows anyone who delivers at Raffles Hospital? Checked with my gynea and he confirmed that he is a visiting consultant there, and I can delievr there although he is based in GlenE. So I guess I will be delivering there. Fell in love with that place when I did the hospital tour... there is a waterfall garden on the maternity floor, and the whole place is so tranquil and new and nice. The rooms are much bigger than GlenE too and the package is also cheaper than GlenE. Not sure about the service though. Anyone also know what they provide? Do they provide certain necessities FOC (such as maternity loops, toiletries kit, infant clothes on day of discharge) like other hospitals do?

Hi ilovebabies,

You 36 weeks already!!! Wow, that's fast! Just finished reading the August thread. Seems like there are quite a number of moms who are 2-3 weeks early. Actually from 36 weeks onwards baby is considered full term already.
You can pop anytime. That's so exciting! Do let us know if you pop hor.

Hi Angeline

Oh, you seeing Dr Chew also. Hahah oh ya we may bump into each other actually. now im seeing Dr Chew every 2 weeks. How abt u? Oh this is my 3rd pregnancy with him, im so comfortable with him even he dun really talk but I think he know when to raise a concern lor. I going to see him this sat, when is your next appt?

Thanks all for your feedback on the "sld or sld not" and how frequent we sld wash our hair. Hahah..I listen to too many ppl untill abit blur liao. Btw, I bought a dry-shampoo from guardian yesterday, cost me $9.90.

Oops Bjiou, I just realised I made a mistake. Mine doctor is actuall SC Yeoh and is a Mdm. Sorry. I got confused. But we are still delivering around the same time right, so might end up as next door neighbours.

I will only go back to SGP on 2/Sep, by then I think will probably have to visit doctor every week until delivery.

Hi Smiley, hows your skin tag at the armpit? Mine is becoming darker and darker, almost like a mole now. Yucks. Hope it goes away soon.

Hi Ladies, went for my med appt yest. BB was ard 2.2kg @ 32 to 33 weeks. Should be average size ba.. Nx appt will be 3 weeks later...so sad...seems that many of u here are visting gynae every fortnightly.

smiley and chng's wife

Dry-shampoo is a type of spray that will absorb oil and grease from your hair. You just need to comb it after a few spray from your hair. So the sales girl said with this we can wait for few more days before we wash our hair. But my friend actually recommend me powder type anyway can only find this so will try this 1st.

hehe can't help laughing when i noticed they put dry cleaning to a new level and have dry shampoo now. reminds me of dry ice too.

chng's wife,
How come your appt is 3 weeks later? Which gynae did u go to? My 32wk-appt isn't until this saturday and i don't know when my gynae wants to see me again.

So glad to know most of you and your baby are doing well. I'm going for me next checkup this Sat also, same as Melissa. Will be 33 weeks by then. But last checkup shows that baby is in breech position. Really makes me very sad because that means I'll need c-section if baby don't turn

jasmine, elaine and ilovebabies, all the best to the 3 of you! Think you will be really one of the first among us to see your dears soon! So envy... ...

ilovebabies, heheh...better start preparing yourself...like peachie mentioned, u may just pop anytime. So excited for you. Keep us posted!

Hhmm...the dry shampoo is sounds just great. Will go shopping for them as well...

Dumpty,

Hey, 33 weeks still early to tell if baby's head is turning down. Don't feel sad. You still have a few weeks more. give baby some time.

I am also going for checkup this coming Sat. Seems like alot of us going for checkup.

dumpty, don't be sad and don't give up. I've seen in discovery channel that there was a mum with baby in breech position. She spent the whole night talking to baby and baby turned around the next day and she could have natural birth. So start sayanging your baby convincing her to turn.
Good Luck !

dumpty, don worry abt the position. My cousin's boy did not turn till she is abt 35-36wks...still got time for bb to turn...

yes dumpty,
Pls don't be sad. I heard that one position that could influence your baby's positioning is to be on your hands and knees (cat-like position) and start to flex your back. It's a good exercise for blood circulation too. What Bena said is true too. My gynae mentioned it before. I also want to avoid c-section liao!

Gals, really appreciate your encouragement
Makes me feel lots better. I'll definitely try the exercise suggested by Melissa, and also try talking to baby, like what angeline suggests

Yah seems like many of us have appointment this week hor. My tummy grew a lot in just 2 weeks. And the funny thing is that initially I have a round tummy, now it is becoming more pointed. More true to the myth already.

I'm panicking leh. Every night need to take my medicine otherwise I'll get very painful contractions. I hope baby won't pop yet. I've not even reached 33 weeks until this Friday.

dumpty, dun be disheartened by ur baby's position. do read up on turning breech babies, one good position is all fours position like what melissa said. and try talking to your baby. if this fails, there is always the manual turning by gynae(got % of success) or hypnotherapy.

dry shampoo! saw it before at TMC shop, and also at ntuc healthcare. think not difficult to find. that time having 2nd tots whether to buy only...

peachie, i have checked with my rep. its a miscomm hehehe, she tot i was referring to the waiver of 1st payment, which to some ppl is actually the 2nd yr payment. she told me 1st yr fee is usually waived in the contract. like what u say. i am super tired and groggy today, not going to meet her liaoz. have changed to tmlw......Zzzzzzzz.....

oh forgot to mention. for those ladies who wants beansprout pillow but MIL or mothers cannot do for them, can consider buying from vivian in the october thread. i ordered from her and just got mine yesterday. quite happy with it!
coz its the right length and size, outside will sell you more exp. so besides BP, can get from her. i quite like her pillowcase designs. just for your info!

Hey Angeline, just curious har.. are you Singaporean or are you from Hong Kong? I have always thought you are from Hong Kong, but I noticed you use "sayanging" this word, which is usually used by Singaporeans. Heehee.. so I am just quite curious..Heehee... sorry har.. just side-tracking... :p

I also worry baby won't turn to right position leh.. Will ask my gynae when's the latest latest week baby should turn. I find that if baby turns too early, like very uncomfortable leh.. Imagine us doing head stand, like very uncomfortable eh? :p

Melissa, I'm seeing Dr Adrian...I also dunno y my appt so far apart leh. Anyway, if I feel uncomfortable before e nx appt, I visit him anytime lor.

My BB is facing down since 29th wk..I hope I will give birth on 1st or 9th Sep, even though my EDD is on 19th. Hehe.

Angeline

talking abt armpits .. i hate it .. the skin tags are there and the whole area has become darker !!

even my neck has become darker .. so sad leh ...

my bb has been down since 7th month .. glad to know she is still in the same position, unlikely to move oredi cos head is heavier ... so i am one step nearer to natural birth, i hope !!

Smiley, I am SGP Gal. My hubby is HKer, and we stay in HK. But I will go back to SGP to deliver and have confinement.

ilovebabies, nowadays I use the Nivea deodorant with whitening to try to prevent the area from getting darker and darker.

Angeline, oh i seee.....

Forgot to reply you on the skin tag.. Mine is still the same, but the area around my belly button is very dark now..
I have sort of "forgotten" about the skin tag already since the size is about the same for months...

I use deodorant these days as well.. At least now I don't smell so bad and don't sweat so much at the armpits anymore.. :p

have u gals thgt abt starting a savings a/c for bb after birth? Anyone started 'research' on which bank has the best rate?

i recall reading something in the internet that the SGP govt got some special account for SGP babies right? The govt will match every dollar we put into that account isn't it. The clause is that the money can only be used for the child's education purpose.

Is this correct or did I recall wrongly?

Smiley

oh same here .. the tummy area surrounding the belly button is v dark leh ! v ugly

Angeline, Smiley

i thought deodorant is not good ...actually i also used it prior to P until hubby saw a report on deodorant .. think it's something abt closing the pores in the armpit or something like that .. hence I stopped using it after that ...

Hi daisybuttons,

So u made up ur mind abt CB banking? I haven't... sigh.... It is really a lot of $$$.
The worst thing is that time is really running out, so got to make up my mind soon.

Hi dumpty,

Don't worry about baby's position. I read in a pregnancy book that one way to encourage baby to turn downwards is to get into the all-fours position as suggested by Melissa, as this will create more space for the baby and baby will also have more space to turn...

Maybe you can try that?

My baby has resumed the head down position since week 26... Maybe he cannot wait to come out.
But since his size is quite big, I am mentally prepared to deliver him through c-section eventually.... So all his efforts in doing headstand is wasted.
haiz.

Hi Chng's Wife,

My EDD also is on 19 Sept!

Same as ilovebabies, my bb has turned since 28 weeks... Still got another 28 days to my EDD ... started counting down already

Hi Chng's wife, melissa,
I'm also seeing dr adrian. appt is still 3 weeks apart... dun knw when he will increase to fornightly maybe in week 34???

Angeline, Smiley,

Agree with i love babies on the deodorant. Also saw the report a couple of years back then stop using. Cause i sweat easily, so last time used it to prevant smell, nowdays the most put some powder there to absorb the sweat...

My bb still lying across my tummy, can be quite irritating when she give a box and a kick at the same time ...... but also a sign that she"s healthy>>>
kao_smile2.gif

hi, my bb hasnt head down yet too. but gynae didnt show much concern abt this. i think maybe by next checkup (wk34) then i ask her.

notice something funny about my baby. I find that she's almost like a infant now. Whenever she feels hungry, she fusses about and starts kicking like crazy. I have to eat some snacks to fill her up and when she is full, she will quieten down and go back to sleep again.

Any of your babies like this too?

hi angeline, i didnt monitor bb this closely so im not sure if it's regular or just conincidence.

but i do notice sometimes when im eating, bb will kick quite a lot. so i'll tell him, mummy is eating now, u wait a while hor, the food will reach u soon, be patient.... hahahaha....

actually I feel quite guilty for not being able to talk to baby as often as I would like. At times when I know that she is awake and moving, I would like to talk to her. But how to in the office with so many pple around, they will probably think I'm crazy. So will just have to ignore poor baby.

just now i went to marks and spencer to look at the nursing bras. wow! so expensive. $120 for 2. but they really looked v comfortable.

i shall go mothercare take a look and then decide whether to get it there or not.

Angeline,
ya.. i believe your baby will understand your situation. sometimes, i whisper to my baby in the toilet! haaa! what a place hoh! but luckily, my office toilet quite nice and conducive to zzzzzz! haa! No lah.. but i actually do try to spend more time talking to baby.

dumpty,
u mentioned ur gynae gave u medicine cos u experienced contractions. R ur contractions regular or during the nights only?

think i've walked too much these couple of days at work. Hv been feeling some discomfort, even some downward pressure. But the pressure can also be due to the infection I had, which perhaps is not cured yet. Then just now someone (who happens to be an experienced mother of 3) commented that my tummy looks "low" and predicted tat I can give birth anytime!! wah... so scary to hear tat cos i'm only approaching wk 33 on Thur! I know I've got to relax and take things easy at work, but the workload has been terrible - actually i'm still in office now! *sigh!* Hope I'm not causing undue stress on bb...

puppylove,
oh dear you're still in the office? I think it's ok lah if have you no choice, but stay seated and switch on some soothing music ok. Get hubby to fetch you or take a cab home.

Hi puppylove, i get contractions quite regularly throughout the day. But at night it'll get very tight and sometimes can last for at least 10 secs or more. Nighttime contractions are painful also.

Now encouraging baby to turn heads down :p Telling him mummy would like to give birth to him naturally... Hehehe...

Smiley
Dunno leh...didnt pay attention to the brand. Already put inside my hospital bag. There is only 1 and only in the guardian phamarcy.

Angline
Ha..no wonder you say "she", tot you type it my mistake. Oh ya..maybe we are neighours in the delivery ward.

Daisybutton
Are you taking any med to stop the contraction? It sounds scary. Me too, I had bleeding during my 28 weeks pregnancy and was awarded to check if is going to be real labour. Lucky it stop on tat day and everything is back to normal but I tink took another 2 weeks MC after tat, juz in case. Now Im back to work and monitoring.

edksd, I'm not doing also...

ilovebabies, I have been experiencing pain at the butt area last week (both left and right side), especially so when I'm getting up from the chair or bed... My hb tried massaging, but it didn't really help.

amy

same same !! but mine is always on the right .. then sometimes if i shift my sitting position, it does helps a bit then it comes back as I get up from the sofa .... hubby tried to massage but to no avail leh ..

amy

i dun hve leh..but my tummy really big. I am around 43inch leh. Find myself cant hold the weight anymore. I think the pain from ur butt is due to the weight when you sit too long.

hmmm... pain in the butt. I don't have it yet. But the streching of the tummy is getting more and more uncomfortable.

Definately, can't sleep on the back anymore. Any when sleeping on the sides, will have to keep tossing at night. Cos when sleeping on left side, the baby weight will pull and stretch the right ligament. When I wake up from the discomfort, will have to turn and sleep on the right. Keep having to change positions the whole night nowadays.

Me too.. pain from butt not yet.. unless i sit too long. But yes, i agree with Angeline.. i can't sleep on my back anymore. the weight of baby pushed it down and making my spine painful. I have to sleep sideways too but sometimes, bb spend alot of time figuring his good position as well.

I cant sleep on my back too .. i will pant and pant for air !!

but turning from left to right or vice versa is becoming v difficult nowadays .. and my hips aches as well !!