(2006/09) SEPTEMBER 2006 MTB

peachie,
Yes of course the therapist is female. I wouldn't do it otherwise and I also book the same therapist b'cos I'm very embarrased about having the whole crew looking and then later talking about my crotch! LOL.

smiley,
I will bring in my own sanitary pads too b'cos usually hospital provide those with maternity loops. I hate the loops it's never aligned properly to my crotch so it will always stain me! But i would get the sanitary pads with cotton layers though, just in case episiotomy is needed.

Hi Melissa,

Thanks for all the info!

Smiley,
Yah, I heard hospital only provide those with loops, so I will bring my own sticky tape types. Also I don't know what Brand the hospital is using. I have sensitive skin and do get rash when using some other Brands. So I bought Kotex which is what I use normally too. Only this time I bought the maternity pads instead.

I don't know how heavy the flow will be, guessing may need to change more often than our heavy flow days, so maybe 3 - 4 times a day for 4 days, therefore 2 packs lor.

Am I being too kiasu?

Angeline

i will be bring one pack (10 pads). Think we'll stay there for at most 3 days. If your hubby drives, keep the extra pack in the car, then ask him bring up only when you need it. That's what I intend to do. Bring the min to the hospital, then the extras will leave it in hubby's car boot.

How long is the heavy menses going to last? Throughout the whole confinement? Wah, I cannot imagine not bathing, heavy menses, and breast feeding!!!

Btw, about bijou's question on washing hair during confinement... Just to share with you gals. I attended the ParentCraft lesson right, and the nurse said we can bathe and wash our hair.. It's because in China in the olden days, access to water is difficult coz need to travel long distance to get water from river or well, so they don't bathe. And weather might be cold, so they wear thick clothings to prevent "wind". Now in Singapore, so hot, all these not applicable...

SO, I tried to convince my mum to let me bathe during confinement and she gave me a stern warning to listen to her.. and I took it half-heartedly.. AND then last evening, when we went out for dinner, I ate kang-kong which my mum scolded me after that and said kang kong will give leg cramps.. But I remember in my class, the nurse said a little kang kong is ok, so I took my mum advice lightly as well.. BUT in the middle of the night, I really did get leg cramps!!! I haven't got it for weeks and suddenly I got it again last night!!

So, don't know whether it is coincidental or not, now I am beginning to think, better to listen to mums!! Heeheehee....

smiley

ahah naughty gal !! that day i dine out and papa almost ordered kang kong also until hubby stopped him ahhaha

got enough of cramps, hate it.

my mum said can wash hair after 3rd day and to dry the hair immediately ...

btw think the trainer at MAH mentioned the flow may last 14 days ..

hi smiley, what ur mom said abt kang kong is true. i knew this since young. so i usually dun cook kang kong at home. only when we eat out when my hubby feel like having kang kong then we take it once in a blue moon.

I've heard alot of real live cases where preggie friends ate Kang Kong and kenna leg cramps that very night. So I guess Kang Kong is a valid cause of leg cramps.
Don't know if there are any other side effects though

Me love sambal kang kong too!

Oh, I've just checked with SCBB (Singapore Cord Blood Bank) on the cord blood donation. It seems like MAH not on the list and I can't donate even if I want to!

ooh,,, so kangkong will cause leg cramp?? had been eating kangkong nobody tell me leh... for me if i stop taking the multi vitamin or "indian banana" for some time, my leg cramp will occur.... anyone share the same experience??

Yah loh... actually I didn't eat a lot leh, but I am surprised the effects is so strong!

ilovebabies, when your mum says can wash hair, does that mean that we can use normal boiled water with shampoo and conditioner or can only use herbs?

Btw, when using herbs to bathe, can we use shower gel? And can we wash face everyday with facial foam?

smiley

oops I din go into such details but she did mentioned abt the herbs and boiled water .. I tot that was for washing body.

i believe washing face shld be ok.. anyway the principle is to avoid contact with water right ?

so quickly wash and dry ourselves shld be ok, i presume ?

i think my confinement lady will prepare herbal water for bathing, washing hands , washing hair and face as well leh. I am expecting my confinement to go to the extreme .. Extreme traditional! haaa!! Dunno can tahan or not.. but well, i juz give a try lor.. if not, see how.

i see my mother in law collecting alot of 1.25ml bottles , empty ones. she say the confinement lady will prepare the water and store them in the bottles.. these r for washing hands and face lor. sigh!

hi ladies..
i love sambal kang kong too.... but cos after preg no appetite so far havent eat much of that... i'm in my 34wks liao... tonight going see gynae. hope baby grows well cos i'm having super poor appetite despite of all those vomiting... n i'm feeling extremely tired nowadays. e worst thg is this morning i discovered some stretchmarks on my lower tummy!!! oh my god.... i need to apply e cream everyday now... it might be too late but better than nv apply anythg

elaine

dun worry, i read from aug thread .. this gal lost 1 kg but bb still gained weight !!

i am praying everyday that I wont get stretch marks ok !!! anyway I dun really know how it looks like leh .. red fine lines ?

btw... a relative of mine told me just need to go medical hall n tell them u wanna buy those herbs to boil for bathing during confinement then they will know wat to get for u..... if u all really going for tat then got to prepare super huge pot to boil enough water to bath especially on those days tat u wanna wash ur hairs... as for me... i dont think i will be very strict on confinement thgs except for no cold drinks.... i will just bathe with warm water.. tat's all...

hi ilovebabies...
i saw somethg like deep brown line lines... dont know is stretch marks or just marks left by my panties.... anyway cant see very clearly got to wait for my hubby come back to check...

As long as baby gain weight then i will be happy.... cant wait for baby to pop out soon then i can start eating happily....

elaine,
hi! hope you r well. still having MS huh? hmm, can ask your gynae if there is anything that he/she can do to help you ease the vomiting?

Oh. i discovered stretchmarks as well.. i hv applied cream everyday but the marks just appeared along my side of my tummy .. near my hips.. then i remember... i didn't apply there. i was just applying it on my round tummy. sigh!!

ilovebabies,
it's red fine lines.. now, become darker. i didn't know what are stretch marks until i saw them on myself.. it's like you will be able to tell when u had it on you... just like people say how to tell between real contractions.. guess it's the same. We will be able to tell when we had them! haaa!

Hmmmm.... for the herbs, are you all using the packets one from medical shops or have to brew/ prepare yourselves? And are you using rice wine or DOM? I am quite unprepared for my confinement.

My MIL is helping me with confinement, but so far I see that she's quite bochup and has not prepared for anything yet, so am getting a bit worried.. :p

for the herbs, buy from medical shops. guess you can go get them now and stock it up.
Ask the people at the medical shops.. they will teach u how to do.

For DOM, if you r breastfeeding .. think it's better not to drink it.. but DOM is good for putting into confinement food or best if you drink a small glass.. and then it helps you to sleep very well.

hi littlepony,
i'm still vomiting everyday, doc did give me anti vomiting pills but after taking i will experience nausea... wanna vomit but cant vomit out e feeling is worst so i have stopped taking e med n let myself vomit..e feeling is better after vomiting.
hi smiley e herbs for boiling to bath comes in a pkt from medical hall... then just need to put e herbs into e water to boil ... after boiling just bath from e water lor... dont need to brew la...
dont think too much abt confinement la... just do watever she wanna u to do... or eat watever she cooks for u will do... dont put too much rice wine or DOM in e food if not baby will also get e effect of drowziness cos baby will get e alcohol through e Breastmilk...

Elaine,
poor thing leh. I bet u just sick and tired of all these. Hmm... i dunno what to advise but just wish you could tolerate.. u r reaching the finishing point alreadi!!! Jia You hoh!

hi ladies...
just back from doc... baby 34wks liao... but only 2.062kg... so small but gynae says nvm cos i'm very small size so if baby too big also difficult to give birth.... so far i nv gain much weight too... only 7kg.
i have decided to induce once i reach wk 37 n if my cervice open.. so e earliest my baby coming out will be 19 Aug
...... finalllyyyy.....

Melissa, thanks for the info, will ask my hubby to try calling out to bb and see if she respond

On whether kangkong cause leg cramps, i believe some vege cause cramps cos after eating a lot of lettuce i had achy legs all night.

dumpty/ilovebabies, i called Singapore blood cord last week, they are in the process of finalising the agreement with MAH so most probably we'll be able to donate our blood cord. They took down my contact number and will call me once it's done.

helo angeline and melissa, i called tmc few days back to ask what kinda pads they provide during our stay. the nurse say they have both, the loop and adhesive types. just that if c-sec or epi they will give loops coz need to use catheter for the mother. but they also have adhesive.

angeline, for nb diapers dun need to bring, coz think all hospital shld provide one pack for each mother, they will open up and use and the remainder u bring home, but of cos chargeable lah.

eh, girls ah, how to bring the pureen maternity pads to hospital ah? i been wondering how to, coz i cant fit it into the biggest ziplog bag leh. so how to keep it clean if i wanna bring? u girls bring the entire pack huh? so i tot maybe dun bring liaoz since tmc providing adhesive type also.

think kangkong gives u wind, so will get cramps. try to massage ur calves before you sleep it shld help.

about waxing hor, did you ask ur gynaes if we can do it? i also feel like doing it leh, but when i asked my gynae that day, she say better dun wax during pregnancy leh. anyone knows why?

as to the sticky stuff on baby when he is born, its called vernix i think. its protective and nourishing. some cultures and beliefs is to leave it on baby's body for him to adsorb it leh.....what i heard about coconut drink is it will help baby not get heat rash when born, coz ur body more cooled down.....

Morning...

Yday went for gynae checkup,did CTG.Anyone did that too?I guess from now onwards, every checkup will get to do CTG.
Nowadays feel giddy leh..dunno whether is it bcos of the weather. Haiz.
Finally my checkup has been changed to fortnightly.

triangle_right.gif
Washing hair
We can still wash our hair, maybe after that use hair dryer to dry our hair.

triangle_right.gif
Rice wine
During confinement,we can add rice wine into warm water to wipe our body.I have tried it for my 1st confinement. Quite refreshing, esp in this hot weather.

ilovebabies and elaine, thanks for the infor

elmo88, I went for CTG scan before, that time I had tummyache and gynae did a CTG scan for me coz I didn't know how to describe the pain and she was worried it might be contractions (though I was only in my 20+ weeks).

Basically just lie there and if baby moves, press a button right? The nurses and gynae all said mine's an active and happy baby coz she moves so much.. haha...

Hi Peachie, thanks for the info. I have arranged a meetup with my rep for this evening oredi, going for a tour at camden. will check with her this 1st yr fee waiver thingie b4 that. if she tells me otherwise, i will switch hehehee.

hi Cherrie

thanks for the info.. keep us inform ya !!

hi elaine

not to worry lah .. my bb is 1.9kg at 34 weeks also .. even smaller than yours .. i think smaller may means easier labour ? ahaha ...

476846.png

Elaine,
So you be the first one to pop in our thread!! Congrats! Don't worry about bb being small size. Small means easier labour, as what ilovebabies say!

Just take good care of yourself!

476868.jpg

Thanks Daisybuttons, I will take the diapers out from the bag then. Its taking up so much space.

Bjiou, no concerns lar. Just saying hi that we have the same doctor and I will also be delivering during the last week of Sept. So might bump into you during checkups. Dr Chew is so nice and soft spoken. I only met her once, but I'm sure she's the right person for me.

mornin ladies,

I went to buy a adominal binder yesterdae... for those intend to do C-sect, good to get one if not hospital will provide(will charge to d bill lah). still haven't decide whether natural or c-sect but my colleague recommend me to get one, to keep tummy warm a/f delivery...

elmo88, I went for CTG scan 2 weeks back as I was experiencing tightness continuously for 2 hrs... turned out to be braxton hicks.

Smiley, didn't press any button when bb moves... I just lie there for close to an hour...

yesterday I experienced BH contractions many times !! hai .. and I forgot to bring my medication to ofc ...
see.. w/o the medication it just comes non stop ..

will request to gynae to let me stop med at 37 weeks then let bb come out naturally

hi, just back from gynae's checkup.

bb is 1.93kg at wk31 day5 (almost wk32).

gynae did a rough estimation:

in 3 wks bb gained 0.7kg.

so she caculated bb wld be 3.3kg by wk38.

im so afraid she'll ask me to induce at wk38.

but luckily she just said we'll continue to monitor bb's growth in the subsequent checkup.

next checkup will be 2 wks later.

hi angeline and bena, thank u.

coz im having gestational diabetes so my gynae is rather concerned w the size of my bb as diabetics tend to hv bigger bb. she's afraid i'll hv a difficult labour.

ive checked w my gynae abt the finding of me being thalassemia minor carrier. she was oso quite puzzled why im detected as one since i passed the first test. anyway she says i may just be a subtle mild carrier coz my results shown was v close to passing rate.

well, i guess i just hv to hope for the best since there's nothing we can do anyway

daisybuttons, i think waxing is the same as epilating right, ie it pulls the hair out at the roots? if so, then i think the dr recommend not to wax cos apparently if u pull hair out at the roots, it'll cause your body temp to drop slightly. but shaving is ok cos the roots are still there. dunno whether this really is the reason lah

edksd, both our bb same size at 31 wks! i'm not diabetic tho so dr doesnt seem worried and said everything is normal.

edksd congrats on ur bb growth !! dont worry abt the test results .. just be positive ok ? and we know laughter is the BEST MEDICINE

bena

ya v fast hor ... this Sat 36 weeks liao !! OMG .. i still tell my gynae I am not prepared haha he "scold" me .. say I still want to enjoy ahaha

i said of cos !! still want to enjoy peaceful nites leh ahaha ...