(2006/09) SEPTEMBER 2006 MTB

Smiley,
actually, i don't feel like throwing a celebration either.. but then again, i doubt i can escape from it. Therefore, i guess i will hold it merely for close relatives. As for friends, guess i will just have to give a miss...

My hubby say hold it in a restaurant rather than home coz if home, it's going to be a big mess.

We are still thinking....

Little Pony, my hubby and I also think that holding it at home would create a big mess after the party. I am worried that my MIL would insist holding it at my house since she always think that she wants to showcase my house to her relatives who haven't have a chance to come to my house yet

My hubby did assured me he will put a firm stop to it if his mother insist to hold it at our house, but I am worried my MIL will win coz she will be doing confinement for me at my house, so she will conveniently invite the entire "village" over.. :p

Actually hor, in contrast to you, I rather invite close friends than relatives leh.. :p

Smiley,
You must have a very nice house, if your MIL wants to showcase it. :)

I'm not into throwing party at home. But I am considering to invite close relatives to the baptism which I will schedule approxmately around the full month. Very the baptism, we can maybe go somewhere for lunch or tea.

I have seen my Ang Mo friends (as least in HK) that when they throw such party at restuarants or hotels, the guest are to pay for their own share. IE, the couple have a special deal with the restuarant for a variety of menu / or buffet and the guest pay directly to the restuarant.

Is this acceptable in SGP?

Smiley,
i tried holding a house warming before.. and true enuff, we can't stop people from eating in the house and when they left, the house was in a terrible mess. So from then, we try to limit to small groups of guests instead of huge ones.

Oh.. i had to invite relatives.. but for friends, it's optional. But i know i will give my friends n colleagues cakes lor.

Smiley

think u may lose in this battle hehe ..since she is staying at ur place leh ..

i will hold a full mth celebration with close friends and relatives. So cakes will be delivered to my place and I distribute on the spot

that's the usual practice in my family.

As for col, I'll just give out vouchers.

Angeline,
Normally, if you throw such party at restaurants or hotel, the host will have to pay for the bill, not the guests.

The guests will not come empty handed. They will bring gifts or give red packets to you for your baby.

But you have to pay for the bill.

ilovebabies,
how i wish i m staying at a condo and that solves all the problem leh.. haaa. i staying in hdb.....muz suggest to govt next time.. hdb should also have proper function rooms!

littlepony

me too !! hey we stay near each other mah !

actually our void decks got some sheltered R&R area right ? but v hot .. and bb will be hot and cranky unlike function room in condos

ilovebabies,
i stay at tiong bahru area leh. i believe you stay at Sengkang izzit? that's what i recall..

Err. ya.. my void deck got sheltered R& R area! haaa! but don't think so lah.. too hot alreadi!

i stay at Hougang and hv an aircon function room. If any of u staying nearby and interested, u're most welcome to use. But not FOC lah..
Got to pay for the aircon. Think the last time my friend used for her daughter's 1st birthday, she paid $50 for the aircon plus $200 refundable deposit. For me, I don't intend to hv any 1st month celeb cos will imagine myself tired and too busy trying to adapt to parenthood!! Maybe for 1st birthday instead??

ilovebabies, shall i answer your lizard question or not since there's a 'ban' on this topic
471743.gif
See this website, quite funny
471744.gif

Wah...you all thinking about full month celebration already..i have not thought about that. Thanks for the websites, all look so nice...
I will most probably be holding a full month party at home since this is our first baby. So guess i'll be looking for caterer instead of sweet gifts.

Hi Daisybuttons,

I work in the finance line.... so not a food scientist or nutritionist....
But I read all sorts of junk and have a good memory (although getting poorer these days due to info overload), so I know.... There was a huge debate about whether jelly and other food gums are halal some time ago cos they contain gelatin from animal origin, and the same applies to genetically modified vegetables that have animal-sourced genes... well... For Malay friend of mine loves Gucci bags, somehow I never found the courage to ask her whether she knows most Gucci bags are made of pig skin or have pig skin lining.

Well, so many posts in one afternoon! Hi ilovebabies, yep... I am the one living at Anchorvale area too! Our mothers stay at Redhill, so we do have pretty much in common.

I also am thinking about the issue of full month cakes and full month celebration. My child is the first grandchild for both my parents and my in laws, and to my grandparents, it will be the first great grandchild.... So my mom have indicated that she wants a big full month birthday celebration
So although financially tight, also bo bian. haiz.... also dunno how many to invite. The way things go, it seems that I will have to invite the immediate families from both sides, which is really a lot since I have 18 uncles/aunts plus their 30+ children who are my cousins.... and that is only my relatives... counting my husband's will be much more.

Anyone thought of where to hold the celebration already? I live in a flat, and the void deck will be hot and humid. I dun want the entire kampong of relatives to swamp my home.... However, to go to a restaurant and treat so many people will burn a huge hole. Does anyone know of any place that rent its premises quite cheaply, and allows external catering? The thought of organising the celebration is giving me a real headache....

As for lizards, those who are afraid of them can buy lizard patch at home. Saw places like homefix and this home improvement shop at Taka selling lizard patches some years back.... It is basically a sticky patch (on both sides) which you can stick on your walls or below your cabinets, at areas where lizards frequent. When the lizard step on them, they will be stuck and will starve to death there.... Or you can throw them out with the patch.... Just a suggestion on how to get rid of lizards if you really cannot stand them in your home. but otherwise, they are pretty harmless creatures that help to reduce the mosquito population at home.

peachie

what a long post !! ok so u are in my Sengkang kampong ahah

wow guess your guestlist will be very long and if I were you, I wont hold the celebration at home .. it is going to be a mess.

Any friends/relatives staying in condo ? rent the function room ?

in any case, the cheapest mode would be to cater for catering right ?

let me brainstorm for u ..

Angeline, my house is so so only lah.. very normal HDB flat.. haha! Just that it's newer than my MIL's and slightly bigger, that's why she prefers to hold it in my house.

Hey gals, ask you. Will you sms your friends and colleagues after you have delivered and when you are still in the hospital to announce you have given birth? And will you include the ward number in your sms to let them know which ward you are staying??

Wow. So fast thinking of the full month! I feel that reality of giving birth seems to be just starting to sink in for me leh.

I've not packed my hospital bag. An April Mum is telling me to start packing now for any "Just In Case" (touch wood) situation.

Also have been planning to TBF, but then, I've also have been told to prepare a small tin of formula milk as standy. Anyone of you gave a thought to what brand to standby huh?

Hi Cherrie,

As far as I know it works like this - for friends and relatives (plus anyone else who has bought you something for your baby) you either give cake or you give treat. It is either one and not both. Actually I am pretty lazy. The best choice to me is to buy cake vouchers from Bengawan Solo and mail them out. Easy peasy.... no messy celebrations, no guest list, no need to deliver cakes to their homes. For gifts, most of your friends and relatives will visit you at hospital or at home with gifts for yourself and/or baby during the first week of birth, and so just need to remember who has given you something and remember to reciprocate via a cake or treat during the full month.

So you are staying at SK as well! A lot of SK dwellers...
Just go to Compass Point on a weekend and that place will be swamped with kids and pregnant mums!

Hi ilovebabies,

That's exactly what I thought. Haiz.... Plus close friends, my rough tally will be at least 100 pax. Really difficult to hold at my home, plus there are old folks around (esp my 2 grandmas), so cannot get them to travel all the way to SengKang. Very headache. My husband is a member of The Legends club, and I asked for a quotation for a birthday party in one of their function rooms sometime back.... And they quoted me $5K for rental and afternoon tea catering for 100 pax. Almost fainted.... Heard Yishun Safra also got rent function room (and can cater from outside). But my mom not very keen on Yishun cos it's out of the way for my relatives. So it is a real real headache.... Got to think now or once I give birth will not have time for this. So the best option is still cake vouchers.... $8 per voucher per family.... I can settle everything within $500.

Hi Smiley,

Yes, I will sms close frens and relatives after I delivered to let them know that the baby and I are well, and the weight of the baby, an the ward number. All my frens do that after they delivered, so it's pretty normal to do just that.

Hi dumpty,

Haven't packed my hospital bags as well... Plan to do so at my 34th week.

Morning MTBs, wow...i had a hard time catching up with all the posts. I think come to 1st month celebration also headache hor...dunno what to do, who to invite...even if go for the simple cake vouchers, also dunno who to give to.
Eg: if a colleague buys u gift...then the others don have, do u still give the cake vouchers to those who did not buy anything for u/bb? or just give to those who visited u?

Hehhe..i also haven't gotten my bags packed. Don talk abt bag, bb cot also haven get yet :p

Dumpty, usually the hospital will have forumla, unless u have a specific brand in mind...else don have to pack. For me, i most likely going for similac...so i will check with the hospital which formula the provide...if it's not similac, then i will prepare a tin for just in case.

Dumpty, usually the hospital will provide you a certain brand of formula. You may wish to try that brand of formula and see if your baby is fine with it. If not, then you change. If baby okie with it, then you may wish to stick to the brand. It really depends.

Don't think you need to prepare one tin as standby unless like what Bena says, you have a specific brand you really wanna to use

This month's issue of Motherhood magazine has a special section on breastfeeding which i think it's quite informative.

Anyone of you subscribe to Motherhood magazine or other parenting magazines???? Just wondering coz i dunno if it's worth subscribing to such magazines or not.

Little Pony, I don't subscribe or buy any magazines coz there's already abundance of information in the internet, no need to spend money to subscribe to magazine.. most likely the editors get the information from the web too right?

i dun think i'll be subscribing to these magazines. maybe i dun hv the habit of subscribing mags. i just see what's the topic for the mth and if interesting, then i just buy off the shelves.

sometimes it gets pretty boring to keep reading abt parenting, children, etc. though i know we're going to be parents soon. sometimes i'll get myself a spa or travel mag to read. feel more relaxed this way.

sometimes the topic is for parenting troddlers or older children, so may not be applicable to us now. either we read and forget or read and rem or read and keep the mag aside and in the end one whole stack of rubbish taking up space there. when space runs out, just throw them away, including what we read :p

this's just how i felt.

hi peachie

wah then it's a real headache for you. Then probably you want to travel on the day to distribute the cake s instead ? at least it shows your sincerity

hi smiley

ya it is quite a norm among my friends to report the birth of our bb and the necessary info.

i've packed my bag .. have yet to put in hubby's car .. well i guess it's time for me ...

472185.png

yah loh... if not, just come to this forum and ask loh.. very easy.. heeheehee... can have different opinions from different people somemore.. :p

and yeah i agree abt surfing the net too. maybe im in the IT line, so everyday online is a must and info is within reach anytime

thanks for your advices!! guess i do the same as well.. just see what topics r featured that month and if interesting, then get.. OKie...

Yes, i do admit i have alot of magazines at home!! haaa!! and taking up space...

ya same as edksd, i buy only when I really need a mag to keep me occupied or some free gifts caught my attention hehe

i will opt for Similac .. but I am lactose intolerant so I wonder if my gal has it ... if she does, I may have to take Isomil (soy based milk).

Actually, i have this little fear in me since i am very young. I didn't like the smell of milk powder. If i smell it, i probably may puke.

Right now, the biggest challenge I have is to overcome this milk powder fear sydrome!! Oh gosh! Now, i worry if baby puke milk out, i probably will also puke....

littlepony

haha really ?
then do u drink milk now ?

oh have to overcome lor .. or just go TBF! then you will have no fear abt milk powder !

jia you !

for bb 1st mth celebration, my mother is asking us to bring bb back to hubby's parents hse and to hold the celebration there as a respect for them as grandparents.

but my hubby was thinking our place is bigger and more convenient. and he doesnt want to tire out his parents. but actually nothing much to be tired abt right? just tt hv to clean up after the party which my hubby can do it.

so i asked my MIL whether is it ok to hold the celebration at her hse. she said anything is fine. alamak. i told her it'll be easier for her relatives too since most of them been to her place before for our wedding, new yr celebration, etc. she said not many relatives actually. alamak. so how? i was thinking then better not hv any form of celebration then.

keep it simple and quiet, just stay home and enjoy playing w bb

anyway, hv not really think abt this yet la. wait until gave birth then think.

i quite like the idea of giving cup cakes instead of those usual cakes or goodies. they're so cute. http://www.c-cup.biz/

Hi Bena,

The custom as far as I know is that you have to get cakes or give treat to those who buy you gifts. For those who visited you but did not buy anything (which I think is not likely), you may want to give cake. However, for the rest who did not buy anything nor visited you, theoretically you need not buy or treat anything.

Hi ilovebabies,

Wah, you will be due soon!!! So envious! I have trouble sleeping every night cos my back will ache very badly in the middle of the night. I can only imagine the next few weeks to be worse.

I also think getting cakes is a good idea... Wah, but to deliver them personally is very siong leh.... Plus need to call in advance to make sure they are home. If not home, also very troublesome cos the cake cannot keep long.... See first. If I really deliver by c-section, then dun think I will have the energy to do that. =p

My sister and I plus my husband are all lactose intolerant too...
So I told my husband last week to buy a tin of Isomil to put at home..... just in case during the first week of birth I do not have sufficient BM, then can supplement. Otherwise, we will have everything ready (ie bottles, steriliser, brush) and no milk for the baby! Hehe....

i dun like the idea of giving vouchers. i receive quiet a no. from those friends who've given birth. but sometimes i just chuck the voucher somewhere until i forgot and then expired liao.

so it's really a waste of my friend's $$.

if going to hv a buffet lunch, then no nd to give vouchers. or on the spot during the buffet lunch, just give out cakes to whoever came. too bad for those who cant make it - no lunch, no cake.

but i think it's ok right? pple give gifts to ur bb, not really wanting anything in return right?

my hubby always say ive extreme thinking from others :p

during the antenatal class, our instructor strongly advised tt we dun give FM to bb even when we dun hv enough BM. for the 1st few days, bb can still survive as they've reserve if they're of healthy weight when born. and the colostrum is v nutritious, it's able to give bb enough nutrients for the first few days.

when asked which FM is best, the instructor says none. she says no matter how the FM advertise tt it's close to BM, it's all bullshit. she's v pro BF one.

so i really hope not to intro FM to bb so soon. i just got 1 tin frisco free. going to hide it away. dun wish anyone to tell me to supplement w FM. dun stress me and my supply will definitely come

edksd, he cup cakes looks good. yummy. So u intend to give how many to each? They sold it separately izzit? I don think i saw any special package for full month right?

Yah, BM is THE BEST! Don get so stressed and i am sure there will be demand...nature is that the more u let bb suckle, the more supply there is to meet the demand.

hi bena,

yeah, they look so pretty! yes supposingly sold separately. i think can work out something w the boss. just email them to ask when date is nearer. i intend to give 4 diff flavors in a box.

ilovebabies,
haa. i drink milk but don't like milk powder smell. I only drink milk which r from packets.. and not milk as in powder form.

Ya. this is one fear i need to overcome!sigh!

just to side track a bit from the topic of the morning IE. full month celebration.

I have benefit so much from this thread, but got nothing to give back. I have prepared my baby buying list on the weekend and summarised it, so I thought I'll put it here and see if it can help anyone.

I've also read some baby care book over the weekend and drawn up a baby time-table based on their recommendation. Don't know if it will help anyone. Just wanted to contribute a little back here.
attachment_icon.gif
Baby Buying List
Baby Purchase Summary.xls (45.1 k)</td></tr></table></center><center><table border=1><tr><td>
attachment_icon.gif
Baby TimeTable
Baby Time-table.xls (37.9 k)</td></tr></table></center>

hi Angeline

wah your list is comprehensive ! but i dont really understand the bb time table ... do u intend to schedule your bb this way ?

I will pen bb schedule on a notebook, easier lah .. just write on it .. but of cos can transfer to your excel file for future reference.

Thanks anyway !

Hi Angeline,
Thanks for the two lists! It's going to be helpful in a way or another!

U know, we never know when we needed the time table.. n when we need it, we dunno where to find. so well, thanks for your handy time table. Very detailed but will use yours as a start!!

Glad that the files are of help.
The BB timetable is intial plan only, based on the recommended feeding times and sleep/nap time suggested in the books I read.

Of course I will not force baby to follow it, but will just print out and note down the actual and then can compare if BB is getting enough sleep and fed often enough.

The books recommended to have baby get into a routine as it is healtier for them and easier to manage for the parents.