(2006/09) SEPTEMBER 2006 MTB

Hi Michelle,

Beancurd contains calcium sulphate (shi2 gao1)hich is a coagulating agent which is required to in bean curd production. However, soyabean milk does not contain this. So it's fine to drink soyabean milk, and avoid taking beancurd in large quantities...

helo smiley, i not sure also leh. i only know beancurd contains shi gao like what peachie has mentioned aboved. so i wonder does jelly contains them? like almond jelly. peachie, do you know? i guess not right since jelly do not need that to coagulate?

ilovebabies, i where got very knowledgeable? so happens some things coz we did some research ah. my memory is super blur now. still so many things i unsure of.

edksd, then urs shld be the cot bed size then... or perhaps the australian size? if cot bed size then u beri good leh, can buy mothercare cot bed sets hehehe they are so nice.

hi daisybuttons, im not sure but my cot can be converted into a troddler's bed. so i guess like what u said, it might be a cot bed size.

im more or less settled on motherswork cot sheets. too bad taka bb fair might not hv it. otherwise might get it cheaper.

Hi daisybuttons,

Most jelly contains gelatin, which is a different coagulating agent from what is used to make beancurd. Gelatin can be derived from many sources, but most gelatin commercially available are from animal (natural) origin, which is better from artificial gelatin from chemical origin. Hope this helps.... If you are concerned, the avoid taking large quantities of jelly. Anyway, jelly contains artificial flavouring and food additives which is not beneficial to the growing fetus as well. But a small indulgence every now and then is fine. I am having a cup of coffee or tea every day.... Need the caffein boost or I will fall asleep.

Me very tired these days. Work load still as bad, but with the growing stomach, every day is a challenge. Sigh... I have trouble climbing stairs too, and my back aches every night. Cannot wait for the remaining 6-8 weeks to be over!

helo peachie, wow......hmmm are u a food scientist or similar occupation?? i din know gelatin can be derived from diff sources hehehee. yes occasional indulgence is fine i guess. smiley, did u see peachie's reply?

me too, getting more tired and sleeping and dun feel like waking up from bed every morning. and its also getting harder to fall asleep. nowadays even with massaging my legs i also get restless legs....sigh..... back not aching but when i turning and changing positions in bed will be quite awkward hehehee.

hehe u gals really research into such topics !! *bow bow*

me too .. soooo tired everyday even though I slept b4 11pm !! dun even feel like walking to my seat after hubby drop me .... how I wish there's sedan to carry me to my seat !!

my legs are aching ...

471199.png

Hi hi good morning. Thanks peachie and daisybutton.. I will try to moderate my intake of jellies..

Hey, I went to Mrs Wong's class and guess what? She also said that the soya bean milk we drink at hawker center has no calcium at all. (not sure whether got other properties or not though) She also said fortified soya bean milk sold in NTUC are better!
So I had been drinking sugared "soya water" all along... heehee...

hey smiley

that's wat my trainer told us at MAH classes as well.. but my gynae added that the calcium content in soya bean is v little .. he still wants me to drink fresh milk.

ilovebabies,
looking at your ticker, you r already in your 34 weeks. hey, r you taking early maternity leave or working till the last minute?
I have been tired lately.. the tireness is getting into me alreadi. Although i am able to sleep quite well at night but then, like not enuff. I have plans to work till the very last day but i m not sure if this is fine or should i take a couple of days break?

Littlepony

I may request for 1 week MC or hospitalisation leave from gynae before EDD. Dont think I can tahan till then .. and I want to be mentally prepared for the delivery !!

i dun want to make a mess in ofc ;) hehe

this morning rcv a sms from a fren. She delivered her gal last nite ..

as her number was not in my list .. I tot it belongs to one of you since we just rcv the list from puppylove yest !! ahha gimme a shock ! tot it was too early for you gals !

When is the baby considered mature to be delivered safely? Is it 38 weeks or 36 weeks? My hubby's boss is asking him to get ready the bag to bring to hospital already, and I am only in my 31st week leh...
471270.png

ilovebabies,
okie. i have a thought about it. At first, i tot i could work till the last minute but then, like you say.. need to be mentally prepared isn't it? I will re-consider my thoughts again!

Smiley, i am beginning my packing.. very slowly. Yesterday nite, i packed my two pyjamas, nursing bra, toiletries into the beg. I think it's not early to pack.

471296.jpg

ilovebabies, I thought it's a bit too early to pack the hospital bag.. haha.. I am only at my 31st week leh... but my hubby has been reminding me almost every day after his boss advised him.. So have you put the baby clothes into your Ikea dresser? I have done that few weeks ago! No doubt the dresser still has the wooden smell, but I can't resist the nesting instinct in me to prepare the baby's room, so I went ahead to pack the clothes into the drawers...

LittlePony, maybe I will follow you.. pack slowly so that my hubby will be more comfortable to see me starting to pack and prepare.. hahaha!

I was reading the August thread and apparently, it seems that some of the mothers have delivered....but errr.. not yet August leh! So what does that mean? So panicking hoh.. does that mean in August, we will be reading our Sept MTBs popping and seeing cute baby pictures posted on here!

Smiley,
Ya.. i just put abit of things into the bag everyday..and i do it in front of my hubby! haaa! Yesterday, i show him the bag and say
' this is my hospital bag' ... he just nodded his head while watching the TV. i wonder if he is paying attention or not! Sigh!!!

Smiley

I realised I need to keep the room windows open to get rid of the wooden smell leh .. and now it is indeed better. anyway I have washed all the bb stuff and packed them in ZIPLOG bags.

Littlpony

ya the earliest delivery in Aug thread was at 36 weeks leh !!!

littlepony

ur hubby is funny lor .. haha anyway I have packed my bag also .. except for some last min things to put inside such as hp charger .. face and eye moisturiser (still so vain at this pt !), camera ...

ilovebabies,
ya.not vain.. face and eye moisturiser very impt.. especially the air-con in hospital so strong, sure dry up our skin.. and most impt, we are expecting vistors as well..so try not to be too ugly hoh! haaa!

huh.. 36 weeks??? that's fast! i have mixed feelings leh. on one hand, i wish baby don't come out so fast.. on the other hand, i wish to see his face! Sigh!!! I feel i am so paranoid! haaa!

littlepony

hehhe so I am not the only vainpot here .. ya man.. oh yes .. and lip balm .. like what u say .. the aircon can be drying our skin.

err i rather bb come out later ..

1) she can gain weight from the food i take .. so that I dont have to worry whether my BM is enough for her
2) i can enjoy more peaceful nites hehe

ilovebabies,
Ya!!! haaa!! but then, u think.. if bb comes out earlier

1) we get to see baby
2) we get to go 3 months' maternity leave
3) we get to regain back our shape
4) the backaches n heaviness will be gone

Littlepony

but hor .. i wish to go back ofc later so that it is near the end of year holiday season .. then work will be less stressful !

for me, my pt number 1 is my main worry. cos have been reading the Aug thread and some are complaing that bb dun suck enough or BM not enough .. so quite worrying leh ..

ilovebabies,
ya ya.. actually me too leh.. i have been worrying about BM as well. Guess that's the most challenging task we have right after delivery, isn't it?
But i think juz let nature takes it course lor... if have, then good for baby and ourselves. If dun have, then just replace with FM..no choice.
I rather not add more stress and get depressed over it.

true true .. we dun want to end up in depression right .. anyway i have a friend who will guide me along as she is still BF her gal as well .. my SIL BF her gal for 1 year also .. so I guess with their support I shld be able to cope

we can also call up Breastfeeding org in case we need help. Dont give up !

wat i've been told repeatedly by frens who BF is that there's no such thing as not enuf BM lor. it only depends on when your BM supply kicks in. if you constantly let bb suckle, you will surely have enuf BM one. the only thing is that bb will definitely lose weight in the 1st few days so dun panic cos they said it's perfectly normal

Littlepony and ilovebabies, I am also very worried I don't have BM leh.. My mum and my sister both don't have a lot of BM and my sister stopped BM after 4 months. I think I will be like her, take after my mum , who doesn't have a lot of BM..

ilovebabies.. yah, I open the windows and the drawers to air it. But there's something that I worry, that lizards will come into my house and hide inside the drawer. I hate lizards leh.. They are not insects, so my hubby and I don't really want to kill them. They poo all over the place, so irritating. We didn't want to buy the sticky pads to trap them coz both of us didn't dare to touch the pads if there's really lizards trap on them.

Anyone has any idea how to keep the lizards away???

Smiley

ahha i am scared of lizards too .. yeeeeeeeee

i just let them run around the hse lor .. but so far think there's one in my hse ..

i only open for a few hrs a day so maybe you can close the window after certain time ...

anyway we still got some weeks to go before bb is out

Cherrie ..

your SIL has 5 kids !!!!!!!! wow !

ilovebabies...ya she was a kkh nurse and she loves children! just gave birth to the 5th last year which was actually not a planned pregnancy la..

I think there's no way to keep lizards out unless your house is air-tight. Probably the only thing we can do is make sure there's no food for them to eat...

talking abt lizards...actually i think lizards are not as scary as roaches. At least lizards will 'siam' u and run away but roaches will fly towards u...eekks! Talk abt roaches and my hair all stand!

let's change the topic and began something else.. should we? ( i hate roaches and lizards..haa)

Have you gals tot of where to get pastries for your baby's full month celebration?? Or too early to think about it?

I am scared of both. Usually lizards will hide and when you try to open the windows or draw the curtains, they suddenly appear right in front of you. I know they are scared of me as much as I am scared of them, but usually I would be more SHOCKED than them to see them appearing right in front of me.

As for cockroaches, they are the worst. They have a tendency to fly or run towards you when you discover them for whatever reasons. And I hate their spikey legs.. YUCKS. Cockroaches my hubby will use the insecticide to kill them, drown them in fact, coz he always spray SO much, I think the cockroaches are drowned in insecticide and not poisoned by the fumes.. hahaha! But lizards he doesn't have the heart to kill them coz he says they are not insects.

Ya.. this is recommended by my hubby's colleague. She recently ordered for her colleagues and then, my hubby said not bad. Packaging nice, food also not bad and quite affordable as well.

ahhah Smiley is still on the insects topic ..

v gross leh .. hehe

I have not tried Choz before haah .. but judging from the artistes endorsement, I guess it shld not be that bad right ? and it looks more traditional cos I only give cakes to relatives.

Hahah...so fast think of the full month packages liao ar :p

Littlepony, the sweet surpirse is really very sweet leh...the packaging very nice and it's choc bars in stead of the standard cake...very nice!

I was thinking of getting from The Patissier, cos i like the cakes there, but their full month cakes not very nice

ilovebabies,
ya.. i was also judging from the artistes endorsement so i am fickle about Sweet Surprise and Choz.
So have to depend on whether my mil wants to be trendy or traditional or not lor.

Hey, you can order Sweet Surprise for your colleagues and Choz for your relatives lor... haaa!! That's probably be my intention if my mil chooses to be more traditional.

both Choz and Sweet Surprise looks so good.

I was getting kinda worried cos I have no idea where to get such stuff for my baby's full month in SGP. I thought only Bengawan solo had such stuff, but thanks to this forum, now I have better choices.

The packaging for Sweet Surprise looks cuter, but Choz seems to have more variety.

Do we just send out the cards to the relatives, or do we really have to deliver the actual items to their soor steps?

Hi Angeline,
For Sweet Surprise and Choz, they only deliver to one single location. So guess you have to deliver the actual items to your relatives' door step.
Whereas for Bengawan solo, you can distribute the cards.

Oops... heehee... sorry.. Like I mentioned before, I always have a tendency to forget to click post after clicking on the Preview/ Post message and then when I go back to the forum, I realise I haven't post and so click on the Post button. THEN I am many posts late.. Heehee... :p Paiseh...

Are you going to throw full month celebration? Or just giving out the cakes? I am thinking of skipping the celebration leh.. I think it is quite troublesome and may end up political who to invite and who not to invite... what do you gals think?

Thanks little Pony, will have to compare and budget this weekend for these cakes.

So, what's the norm in SGP. To mail out the 'vouchers' or have to personally deliver the cakes?

Angeline,
Not sure what's the norm but actually, we have a fair bit of both. I usually receive vouchers from friends.. but i also receive 'personally delivery' from relatives.

But nowadays, the packaging has improved and everything seems so nice and cute.. so, i would rather personally deliver them. At the same time, collect gifts or presents! haaa! (just joking on this part)