(2006/09) SEPTEMBER 2006 MTB

daisybuttons,
I dunno man, that's what the saleslady told me. She looked middle aged and assumingly, married, so I bought the 38C lor. It's so huge I didn't even think I'm ever gonna fit it after birth! Hehe. Maybe I should check out John Little or Metro.

ilovebabies,
Wow 4 pajamas? No need lah. Just wear hospital clothes can already. Bring a sweater. I'm sure they'll give u a fresh, clean hospital clothes everyday.

melissa

but I prefer to wear mine leh .. even the toiletries are actually provided by MAH, but I still bgt it.
hehe ok lah I'll just bring 2 sets of pyjamas.

469756.png

helo emma, is the maternity bras at OG drop cups ones?

melissa, hehehe yah hor then she shld be expert lah, anyway perhaps when u breastfeeding ur size will increase coz they will be filled with milk. so shld be okie.

ilovebabies, the more u bring to hospital the more u gotta bring home! just bring the bare min lor cos it'll only be 2 nites rite? i oso plan to just wear the std hospital gown. too lazy to bring additional pjs. hee hee

helo 2nd time mummies (forgetmenot, watie, bjiou...), can i check hor, for desitin creamy, is it meant to be used during every diaper change or only during the night diaper change? coz i notice it says for "overnight". and if only night, then daytime we use something lighter like drapolene issit? anyone knows? thanks!

daisybuttons..

dropcups means that there's a clip at the top there where u can easily remove the cup for breastfeeding right? if so, then yes... those bra are lidat...

and they are so comfy i went and bot 4 more!! hehe.... think its realli worth the $$$... underwire or no underwire.. all 2 for $17.90...

me started wearing them alr.. hehe... make them worthwhile.. hehe...

Hi daisybuttons,
u can apply desitin cream aft every diaper change..but i seldom use it..cos i dun like to apply too much of such cream to my boy..
wat i did is tt..usu during each diaper change,i will use cotton wool n water to clean his pte parts..then dry it with tissue paper...

the oni time which i apply the cream faithfully is tt time when he has diaper rash due to diahorrea...hope it helps..

daisybuttons (daisybuttons),
for me.. i dun use d cream after every diaper change.. im like forgetmenot (forgetmenot), same method for cleaning my baby gal.. and only use it when my daughter have a nappy rash.. oh, i do use some johnson baby powder once in a while..

I think my baby is one of the biggest here.... Went to see the gynea on Sat. At 31 weeks and 4 days, his head size is that of a 34wks 5days baby, and the body length and femur (thigh) length is that of a 36 wks baby. He weighs approx 2.3-2.5kgs.

Think my gynea is pretty stunned. He asked if I have gone for the diabetes test, and I said I did, and the results were fine. He said that if the baby grows like this, I will have to consider delivering through c-section as the head may be pretty big to pass through the birth canal by the time I reach 38 weeks. But he said he will monitor closely and see.... He will see me in 2 weeks' time.

Anyone here who is due on 19 Sept and the baby is of this size? I think he is running out of space these days.... He has been kicking and boxing vigorously, and my tummy is really getting pretty heavy. Anyone here has any experience with a c-section birth? How long is the recovery? Any side effects or complications?

Thanks a million in advance.

Hi Peachie,
Morning! I went for a checkup on Saturday and the gynae checked and say that my baby is about 30 weeks 5days although he is about 31 weeks 6 days. I am due on 18 Sept.
Yes, my gynae did mentioned that my baby is of a normal size. not too big and not too small. Normally, it will be better for natural birth.

Yes, your baby seems quite big and therefore, if your gynae think his head pretty big for natural birth then he will suggest you go for c-section.

This is my 1st birth so i can't share with you any experience with c-section. But i am sure there are mothers here who have been thru c-section. But don't worry too much! I m sure your gynae who is an expert will be able to advise you too!

littlepony, my due date is quite close to you. What is the weight of your bb?

Peachie, your bb is pretty big! I think your bb almost same size as Hellobaby.

Peachie,

Your baby very big leh... c-section can opt to have General Anesthesia (Total knock out) or epidural (lower part numb and u awake throughout the entire operation and hubby can still hang around).. think the wound on tummy is abit like the wound from appendicitis operation. which i had before. it was quite painful and can't really move about the 1st few days.. depends on your own pain threshold.. C-section, can't do malay massage so early... think muz have min. 2 weeks gap in between..

Daisybuttons,
the Impressions bras are drop cups, no padding.. very comfy also.. i have 6 of it liaoz.!!

You can actually opt to apply cheaper diaper barrier cream in day, and use the more expensive desitin creamy for night, when the wet diapers will be in contact with baby's buttocks for longer period of time..

Jasmine, talking about nappy rash cream. Is Desitin better than Drapolene?

MTBs, what are you preparing for bb bath?

i heard from a friend tt desitin is much better than drapolene. he suggested using desitin when having rashes and drapolene for daily use. drapolene much cheaper. desitin much effective.

are u all buying mattress protector for the bb cot mattress?

for the bb cot, do u just buy fitted sheet? or flat sheet too?

so far ive only seen nice ones at motherswork www.livingtextiles.com.au

those at departmental stores are usually from lollipop. any others?

edksd, i prefer fitted sheet, cos flat sheet need to tuck under the mattress and it has a tendency of coming out easily.

U can try Aussino baby. They are now having sale. Each full set (bumper, bedsheet, comforter, pillow and bolster) only $69 when the U.P is $99. I think the promo is till end this month.

Alternatively, u can try Moterhcare. I like those there, but they are sold separately the price is quite high. A comforter already costs $60+

for bb bath,

- bath tub
- lactyad (duno the correct spelling)
- towel
- wash cloth
- cotton wool
- jug/container
- bb lotion
- bb powder (just standby, coz usually nb has dry skin, so just use lotion, until sky condition ok, then use powder)

wah ! peachie ur bb is indeed v big ... and dun risk yourself or the bb and insist of Natural birth if your gynae recommend c-sect ok ?

i dont think you want to end up in emergency c-sect as well ... all the best

edksd,

i just bought fitted sheet for the mattress. Is that enough ?

actually my sis was telling me not to put anything on bb's butt after every nappy change. her principle is that the butt shld always be dry, that's all. We shld allow the butt to air for a while before wrapping the bb.

so far, her kids have no problem with nappy rash before.

470294.png

edksd

my list for bb bath is the same as yours. however I also bought the J&J top to toe bb bath. I haven decide whether to use this or the Latacyd .... what do u think ?

if we use Latacyd, we do not need to rinse the bb again right ? the J&J one do not require a rinse.

hi bena,

at motherswork, i saw tt they're selling in 1 package - 1 fitted sheet, 1 flat sheet, 1 pillowcase. so i asked the sales person why i need 1 fitted sheet + 1 flat sheet for what.

he told me, fitted sheet covers all over the mattress, then the flat sheet just cover 3 quarter of the mattress - tucked in nicely. u know like those high class hotel bed making. can oso use the flat sheet as blanket, tucking bb into the flat sheet.

i oso find it troublesome to hv so many sheets. but it really looks v nice loh.

ive seen mothercare ones. not bad. i think the price is abt the same as motherswork ones.

the aussino one, so many things, i dun want the comforter and bolster leh.

hi ilovebabies, yes latacyd oso no nd to rinse.

my instructor at antenatal class recommended latacyd so i use latacyd loh. no nd to think so much. hehe...

drapolene is v light, so it's ok to apply daily. whereas for desitin, it's much creamier and stronger, so cannot apply daily. i duno leh. maybe see what my mother says loh coz she's doing confinement for me.

i shld be using cloth nappies frequently at least for the 1st mth, so i believe bb can survive w/o applying any cream after wash.

i just saw the aussino ones. hmm... not my type leh. i dun like the pictures big big, like v messy. i like small wordings or pictures. more plain type.

hi <font color="119911">peachie</font>, my EDD quite close to yours. Mine is at 21st Sep. Baby also have big head like yours, except that the rest of the body are not so advance in number of weeks as the head, so probably weight estimation is less than yours.

I'm also hoping to use cloth nappies as much as possible for the 1st month. So actually I did not get the drapolene, only desitin since I heard it is more effective against nappy rash. Hopefully will not need to use even that at all!

Hi edksd, i didn't buy mattress protector and i got 2 sets of bedsheets for the cot, one from lollipop. Think we need at least 2 sets coz need to change if it got wet or dirty right?

For the bb bath, i have prepared all in your list except for lactyad and lotion. I have Avent top to toe bath. My SIL advice to apply lotion or oil only when neccessary and normally we get free sample from hospital so don't need to buy now.

I'm also prepared to use cloth nappies, and only use drapolene when there's a rash

edksd, ooh, so u prefer those smaller prints huh. So far those that i have seen are of bigger prints except lollipop. Mothercare also big big pictures right? I like the yellow giraffee one at mothercare. Hhmm, interesting, fitted sheet + flat sheet? so ma fan. Okies...since they have set, i will go check out. Any idea how much is the set? I reckon should be cheaper than getting separate items. So far, i only bought 1 set. Also dunno enough or not...think at least 2 set? Or maybe more bedsheets? cos if wash bedsheet, then need to have any set to change.

Bedroom slippers is good...then can walk ard the hosp room...and also to walk to the nursery to pick up ur bb (if bb not staying with u 24/7)

Ooh, Latacyd is the recommended izzit? I bought Sebamed over the weekends...it's baby bubble bath...sounds so interesting...dunno whether will really create bubbles or not. Hhmm, maybe i should go get latacyd since it's recommended huh.

Don't forget to prepare jacket/sweater for your hubby in your hospital bag cos it will be freezing cold in the delivery room.

hi bena, the sets at motherswork is abt 79.9 or so. sorry cant really rem coz yday was the first time i took a look at bb cot sheets coz my bb cot is delivering this sat.

sebamed is bb bubble bath meh? instructor says new born no need bubble bath. she did oso mention this brand sebamed but i think it's not bubble bath type leh.

edksd ..

tks .. my instructor at the MAH class recommend J&amp;J top to toe wash ahaha .. so I bgt two ! a bit kiasu lah ..

so how many drops of latacyd to use each time ?

I am also using cloth nappies as long as I can ...

oh yes, definitely will pack sweater for hubby coz he scare of cold. hehe... tt day i just asked him which sweater he's bringing... i think his sweater v big, takes up the space in my hosp bag. hehe....

i oso hv some samples on bb lotion, intend to finish using all those samples first. then see which one is gd then go buy tt brand.

any idea what's given in the goodies bag from tmc huh?

edksd, yah, the packaging says bubble bath...but reading the instructions there say a few drops...don think it will create bubbles...over there, besides the bb bubble bath (blue wordings) the other one is the green wordings which is for adult use...and the bb one is ph5.5 Dunno if it's correct. I asked my frd, she only say sebamed...but did not tell me the full description
Better to go check with my frd again.

Ooh, if it's $79.9 for the set, it's a good price to get...will go check out. thanks for the info.

ilovebabies, so maybe becos we had our class at different hosp! mine is from tmc. nevermind la. just use whatever u think u're comfortable w loh. i think they're the same la. bb wont be so fussy one. hehe...

i forgot how many drops to use leh. i think read the instructions. i rem just one or 2 squeeze. anybody can rem?

my bathroom slippers is not waterproof leh, so dun think can wear it to shower. in tt case i better bring my teva slippers.

i think can shower the 2nd day. right after delivery or 24 hrs after delivery, better not to shower esp washing hair coz lost a lot of blood during delivery, not advisable to wash hair coz when the water spraying on top of ur head or u bend ur head down to wash the hair, might get dizzy.

edksd, if u are referring to latacyd, if i'm not wrong, i remembered reading 1 capful...but i never see the bottle b4, so i dunno how big is the cap.

hi bena, im not too sure abt sebamed. i know latacyd has 2 types. 1 blue and 1 pink. pink is feminie wash. so just get the blue one.

i just bought the medela purelan nipple cream yday. tot of applying now. coz i realised some parts of the aerola a bit than other part of the aerola, not sure is it becos too dry or what. try and see how.

hi bena, no leh, latacyd packaging is those type w flip cap, so u just flip the cap open, and squeeze, and flip it close. not those screw cap type leh.

for those having boys, do u intend to shave off bb's hair? actually what's the purpose hah?

when i was young, my parents did not shave my hair coz im a girl mah. my hair was v sparse when young until abt 3 or 4 yrs old, hair start to grow a lot and v dark until now. ive natural curl. so i believe the hair type is inborn, whether u shave or not, u'll still get what u're supposed to get???

edksd

i also have this dilemma .. me having a gal but v tempted to shave her hair if it means better hair quality after shave ? Gals mah .... must be pretty ;)

ilovebabies, i also having a girl...and i most likely will be shaving her hair. Even the eye lash also thinking, but dunno how to do it :p

ilovebabies, like i said, shaving doesnt guarantee u better hair quality. like mine was sparse. and now full head and v dark hair. so it was totally different from young though i didnt shave.

quick bath will do i think.

bena

eyelashes !! wah u r daring .. I wont do that .. though I heard it makes them longer and curly eheh but i dun want to risk the eyes area leh ...

hmm see how lah ... see wat MIL says cos she will be the one doing shaving if I want.

i think all these are from the genes, if u and/or hubby has nice long curly lashes or nice hair, ur bb will hv too.

my mom has natural curl, so me and my brothers oso hv.

Bena/edksd, i just checked the labelling, it's 1 cupful for 1/3 filled bathtup. It's a screw cap with flip top also.

I have been applying nipple cream for a month now, i'm told it's good to moisturise the nipple to prepare it for breastfeeling.

I have a friend who shaved her gal's hair cos it was thin and sparse. The new grown one are also same so no different.

yeah, so for girls i think better dun shave. otherwise look like boys.

for boys it's ok. shave to keep it clean oso, not to get better quality hair.

when the instructor showed us during class, she just squeezed a few drops. so i think just squeeze a few drops will do. anyway, bb is not really tt dirty.

ilovebabies, yah...i heard it will be longer and curly...heheh, no lah...not shave all the lashes, just cut a tiny bit. My hubby cousin did for his kid and his eye lash is really beautiful leh! long and curly...for a boy! So hopefully my girl will have those kind of lashes.

hmm ok then ..

Cherrie
remember not to massage nipple area when applying cream as it may induce contractions.

my trainer taught us to use our breast milk to moisturise the nipple before and after every feed/express. I feel it is safer .. cos I am skeptical abt using nipple cream and then bb suck from there ...