(2006/09) SEPTEMBER 2006 MTB

Melissa, thanks for the medisave info.

Emma, i agree with Bena should go for natural unless gynae adviced you otherwise. And the healing for natural birth is faster i feel. i cant imagine how i can bend to care for my little one if i have a wound on my tummy. If you are afraid of pain, there's always epidural to opt for right?

Ask ur gynae for advise see if there's a need for you to opt for C-sect.

Hi melissa,
This is something very informative. I do not know we can claim pre-delivery expenses thru this Medisave Maternity package. I have been keeping original copies of the bills from my gynae to track how much i have spent. So now, i just have to gather the bills and then, claim them when i am delivering.

Btw, i have a question. I can actually claim such medical expenses through my company but till $600. Which is better then? to claim thru company or claim thru this Medisave package? Any idea?

Bena,
I muz start claiming from my office for my medical bills now... and muz submit original copies....
Don't think i can wait what is left over after claiming medisave then claim from company leh.

Ooh, ic. Littlepony, then what about u claim from ur co, then whateever is left over, during delivery, u claim medi-save? Cos i think the last time i did the triple test costs $200+ or so already right? Ur co really very good leh. Mine claim $0!

Heheh...yah lor...sad hor. haiz. govt should make it standard for amt that we can claim. afterall, they are the ones encouraging more brith

Medisave is still your own money right? Why not claim from company, then the rest claim from Medisave? If claim from medisave first, and that requires original receipt, then how to claim from company which is also asking for original receipts?

okie. guess it does make sense. Medisave also my own money isn't it! haaa! okie, i go claim from company first! thanks for all your advices!

Dumpty and Bena
My edd is ard 1st week of Sept or even end Aug according to my gynae since this is second baby. My toddler just turned 2 in June.

daisybuttons
Thks for the info on ticker!

ilovebabies
Ya, our edd sure seems very close! Where are u gonna deliver? Who knows we might bump into each other in hospital! My gynae is Dr Yvonne Soong at TMC.

Re:Diapers for newborn
Those who are gonna deliver at TMC, they provide a pack of pampers premium which u get to take back upon discharge. Don't overstock on newborn diapers coz i recalled my gal outgrew the newborn size after 1 month or so. As for drypers, they always leaked!!

456929.png

456930.png

littlepony, i was so disgusted when i read your post about the aunty who pushed you. it is simply not humane and she is behaving worse than an animal. sometimes i really think wif the pple that are living in this ctry, how are we ever goin to get better? world class? yah rite :p they gotta start teaching the pple basic manners first b4 anything can even progress.
your co really very generous hor? i guess it must be a offshore financial instittuion or smthg? cos fr wat i know so far, they are the only ones who hv such gd maternity benefits.

melissa, u oso get nosebleeds? i do too! told my doc abt it and he just said take at least 2 fruits a day so tat's wat i'm trying to do now. just a few days ago the moment i wake up, the blood just start flowing out fr nose! so scary cos i never had nosebleeds b4. so now diligently taking fruits everyday lor.

oops.. i oredi got 2 packets of pampers NB. u mean they really outgrow them so fast? i bot 1 from toys r us inhouse brand too, heard fr fren it's quite gd and cheaper too. some of my frens oso recommended nepia. anyone heard of that or trying it too?

456962.png

hi Michellen,
Thanks for sympathising with my plight that i had the other day! ya lor.. disgusted by her behavior but it's okie... at least, i m fine! sigh!

Oh.. haa. my company is not an offshore institution lah.. i just claiming my checkup bills under normal medical bills.. but only up to $600... so actually, that's all the company has in terms of benefits! haaaa!

Regarding diapers, i think it depends on individual bb's sizes lah... I've a colleague who has a 1-wk old boy. She couldn't switch to Drypers S yet cos bb is still too small for it, so she has to either continue w Pampers NB or try MamyPoko NB, which she says is cheaper.

For me, I may consider 2 packs of Pampers NB (depending on offer), which shld last approx 2 wks. Plus TMC will also provide one pack.

Littlepony, medical benefits in this way is also good. For me, it will be under the AIA insurance...so i just visit the panel of clinics and no need to pay...so cannot claim anything lor.

michelle,
Whoah what's the relationship between nosebleeds and fruits? I thought it's b'cos body too heaty? Hmmm I have very limited appetite so I can't eat so much. Usually after one simple rice meal I'm very full already. Hardly have dessert. Even eat one apple oso full. Something wrong with my stomach.

I just weighed myself and I hardly reach 62kg. Wah buey tahan like this. Last month checkup at 20 weeks, I weighed 61.2kg and 24 weeks, i weighed 61.8kg and this month, 28 weeks, I only weighed 62kg? I don't seem to gain weight!!! How is my baby going to grow! So upset! My appointment is not until this Saturday. I hope my baby is over 1kg. She was only 580g at 24 weeks.

melissa, dun worry about how much weight you've gained. it's not neccesarily true that the more weight a mother gains, the bigger her bb is, and vice versa
i've seen women who put on very little weight yet their bb comes out big and healthy too!

as for fruits n nosebleed, the doc just told me i need to incrase intake of vit c and the best way to do that is eat more fruits lor.

littlepony, my co. does allow some medical benefits claim for bb too, but worse than yours - only $300 i think. so pathetic but better than nuthin lah hor? i know some frens co actually pay for ALL the bb's medical expenses till they are like 2 yrs old i think? so gd hor..

btw, i think in terms of mc and hospitlisation leave, my co. is quite generous - 30 day MC and 60 day hospitalisation! i had some spotting in 1st tri too and doc gave me 2 wks hospitalisation leave which i tot was really nice of him cos then i wont eat into my MC leave hee hee

Melissa, did you take supplements like iron, calcium etc?

So long as you eat bb will grow lah dun worry. every bb grows at different rate mah.. maybe at your last trimester bb suddenly superbb leh?! :D

My friend's bb at birth abt 2.8kg only. but also very healthy mah...

dun worry too much.

melissa,
i've a colleague who only put on 7kg in total. Her bb girl was a healthy 2.84kg. So itz true tat our weight gain may not correspond w bb's weight. Your gynae shld be able to advise if bb's within the average weight range.

Hellobaby,
Yep I take my calcium tablets everyday without fail. It's a 450mg dosage and I eat meat almost daily to get my iron supply.

Bena,
Everytime I go for appointment, I will tell her about my appetite and she will give me multivitamins. Sian already. Maybe the girls here is right lor, as long as baby will grow healthy, nevermind me. At least I don't have to lose so much weight after birth hehee. I will keep u guys updated how much my baby weigh at 28 weeks since I'm not gaining weight at all in 1 month!

puppylove,
i think 7kg is still alright. minimum acceptable weight gain is 6.5kg so your friend's weight gain is healthy. i only put on 4kg total and now i'm 28 weeks. Wah so little. I wonder if all my hidden additional weight really goes to the baby. Will find out this Saturday

michelle,
so jealous about your company medical policy! I should've claimed hospitalization leave when i got spotting earlier. sigh never thought of that.

Melissa, don worry. I am sure ur bb is growing well. I have frds who put on very little and both her kids are healthy!

helo melissa, also have a friend's friend who put on 8 kg during preggie but her baby is 3plus kg, so dun worry. think most of the weight gain we put on now goes to baby.

michelle, u bought 2 packs oredi okie mah. coz NB only comes in 36s, so 2 packs can at most last you slightly more than a week. hehehe.

littlepony, my company can claim up to $300 only, same as the other MTB to posted, who huh? I am also in a dilemna which one to claim, coz HR also need original receipts. thing is, for my side, for private hospital, can only claim $10 each visit leh. i oredi forgot to claim for my visit in last financial yr, which is actually more. then this finanancial yr starting april til now, i only have 4 reciepts to claim, that means $40. HR said they can certify true copy for me, to use at TMC, but what if TMC dun accept? so shld i forgo the $40 and submit all to TMC on delivery? i also dunno leh. i find $40 really nothing, my friend reminded me that if we dun claim the $300 full, the balance goes back to our medisave also mah (at least thats the way for me). so i guess i will save all for TMC lah hehehee.

daisybuttons,
I also claim $10 per visit. My arrangemt w my HR is that I dun claim now. After delivery, I juz need to ask gynae to certify in a letter the no. of visits I've made. And i also attach the appt card i hv, which lists the dates of visits. So if total is 10 visits, HR reimburses $100. That way, i don't need to submit any original receipts to HR.

daisybuttons,
ya, do check w your HR. I also didn't know at 1st, a colleague told me. (I've 4 other colleagues pregnant this year, so I got a lot of tips fr them!!)

For my case, I submitted original receipts to HR for my 1st 3 visits, so claimed $30. From 4th visit onwards, which is the start of gynae's package, I only got 1 receipt which I'll keep for claims thru' TMC after delivery. So for claims w HR, I'll only submit appt card & gynae's letter certifying no. of visits (fr 4th visit onwards).

Little pony, puppylove and daisybuttons, your company's maternity benefits are really quite pathetic... Luckily for me, my company is co-paying 90% of all my medical bills and delivery charges... What SGH does is they will send the bill directly to my co and my HR will deduct the 10% co-payment from my salary... No need to submit any original receipts.

amylim,
wah... 90%??? Mine isn't even considered maternity benefit.. more of the normal medical claim limited to $10 per visit and a total of $350 per year...

halo gals

ya this morning rained ah .. hehe sorry lah I was on bed until 9 am .... heheh ... no wonder i felt a bit cold this morning ....

oh so can eat bird nest now ah ? hehe sorry then maybe I got it wrong ?

shall we buy so many diapers now ? cos I would be using cloth nappies and only use diapers at nite. What if they are too small or too big for my bb ?
anyway a lot of ppl recommended PAMPERS brand for newborn. We can switch to other brands when they gets bigger.

pringles

my edd is on 2nd Sept. I will be delivering in MAH .. haha so I guess I wont get to meet you ! My gynae is Dr Fong Yang.

hey michelle

my co also give 30 days MC and 60 days of hospitalisation leave ... hmm are we in the same co ? ;)
457354.png

amylim, 90% claim! That's so wonderful.

puppylove, at least urs still can claim as normal medical. Mine claim $0. Cos for medical, we have a panel of clinics to visit. haiz!

hi gd morning ladies,

i read from the mother n baby magazine tt there'll be a taka bb fair from 9aug-27aug. so if u missed anything during GSS, can look forward to the bb fair.

457630.jpg

Helo morning ladies! whew, another fair ah.....hehehee...but this on in aug leh...hhmmmm during 7th mth liaoz. think i wun be going coz hopefully by then oredi buy what i wanna buy? but thanks edksd!

amy, bena, for my side can only claim 90% provided its panel clinic or gov hospital and it has to be outpatient charges. coz our new medical scheme dun cover inpatient. aiyah bo bian lah....

hi daisybuttons, i think for us we've almost finished our shopping.

but some of the ladies here only buying bb stuff in their pregnancy 7th mth? was it melissa?

for me my friend is getting me a bb cot but duno when. i hope it'll be in aug so tt i can buy the babysafe mattress during the taka fair. hehe...

and oso bb bathtub. ive not bought it yet though i quite like the one at mothercare. buying it now means storing it and i really dun like to stock up my utility room w so many things :p

457637.jpg

amy,
you making me envious leh.. your company need more people or not huh? haaaa!!! Yes, damn pathetic hoh! haaaa!! So, we have to save more $ in order to plan for our next child!! ...

Great Savings On Baby And Kid Fashions At Mothercare

We are giving the following discounts on Mothercare Baby and Kid fashions:

up to 70% on Autumn/winter 2005, exclusively at Centre Point only.
50% on early Spring/Summer 2006, i.e. the white-tagged fashion items.
30% on late Spring/Summer 2006, i.e. the blue-tagged fashion items.

I haven't logged in for a few days, so u guys will have to fill me in on what's happening ;)

edksd, thanx for the info
Yippee! I just LOVE shopping for bb stuff... thank goodness got mid-yr bonus, phew!

littlepony, what happened??? Who pushed you??? OMG!

amy, 90% is AMAZING, you are really really lucky! Pei fu, pei fu! Mine's only $10 per visit, up to a cap of $300.
Horrible!

melissa, I couldn't find your post on the medisave claim info, so what's that about? I thought the Medisave claim/deduction is done automatically by the clinic or the hospital? Oh gosh, I have no idea :p Can anyone enlighten me?

Ya, melissa, don't worry abt ur weight gain. The other ladies are right, weight gain is sometimes not really indicative of ur bb's weight. Update us on ur bb's weight after ur check-up tomorrow!

Oh, I think I should tell everyone... I haven't really been logging on becoz I've been preoccupied the past few days. I started spotting 2 days ago and have been quite worried. Moved my appt forward by a week, so I'm seeing the doc after lunch later. It's prob nothing coz I have no cramps and feel perfectly fine, but still can't help feeling worried u know?

Anyone's facing this (spotting) now?

457640.png

Joon,
Oh.. an old aunty pushed me, thinking I jump queue over her taxi but i made a booking on that cab. Anyway, i am fine! Just feeling upset how Singaporeans r treating preggy women like us!

Spotting? Please go check with your gynae! Think maybe you have to rest in bed for a while .. but most imptly, go n see your gynae early!

Hi edksd, u getting the latex mattress too? I read a bit abt it and the feedback from other mummies is very good, so I got one too!

I got one from Taka abt 2 wks back, but I bought the Kidzloft one - Lollipop brand I think. It looks the same as the BabySafe one, but it's cheaper. The salesguy told me they're really the same thing - only thing is, BabySafe is from Thailand and Lollipop is from M'sia.

I paid $139 for mine and it came with a free pillow

HAH? SHE PUSHED YOU FOR A TAXI?? OMG! Aiyoh, that's horrible! But from my experience on the MRT, I notice that it's always the younger people and teenagers who will give up their seats for me. The older people (late-30s and up) tend to turn a blind eye... so sad... so sad...

Ya, will see her later... trying not to think abt it too much... been thinkg abt it for the past 2 days, so no mood to log on...! :p

hi Melissa,
dont worry abt e weight gain... my last visit to my gynae shows tat i didnt gain any weight since e previous visit 4wks ago... but baby gains 500grams... gynae say nvm cos as long as baby is absorbing n gaining weight then is fine. my MS came back again... n having bad heartburn everyday too... thk e next visit i might lose weight...

joon,
haa. yes indeed.. it's ridiculous.. but i have gotten over it. I juz have to be careful and understand that not everyone is as courtesy as others.. anyway, life still goes on! haaa!

Ya.. actually, you should see the gynae earlier... why wait 2 days leh? sometimes, even if it's a small problem.. just go to the gynae for advice. at least you ease your mind mah! I learnt my lesson when i had food poisoning.. i should have gone seen my gynae instead of a GP... GP don't dare to give me medicine.. but gynae gave me an injection.. and i am much comfortable with gynae giving me injection becos he knows if it's ok for the baby or not.

littlepony, thanx for the advice
Ya, I did try, but was so busy at work, couldn't find the time. When I had time, my gynae wasn't around. Anyway the nurse said if it's fresh blood, to come in immediately and just see any doc available. Since mine is not that sort, (it's the brownish sort of spotting) and the bb is still moving, it can wait. Oh well! I'll see her later

elaine, do u take antacids after meals? Whenever I get gastric pains after meals, I chew those tablets and they help. They work a bit slowly, but at least they help to settle my stomach. What did ur gynae say?

hi melissa, yeah, dun hv to worry abt weight gain. rem im the same as u! until now still 2kg gain only. pple worry they gain too much, why u worry gain too little? i rem wong li lin only gained 6kkg total in her first pregnancy and her bb is healthy!

457662.jpg

haaa. i think after all the weight gain we have... once we delivered, our weight will naturally go down becos we will have sleepless night and got baby to take care mah! So don't worry!!!

I have gained 10 kg since i preggy.. although alot of people say it seems i didn't put on weight but actually, i told them i hide it well... coz i see the fats at my arms and thighs.

amylim,
wah lao envious envious! my company must have the most pathetic policy ever. not pro-family at all. only 14 days of MC and 60 days of hopitalization leave and that includes 14 days MC u know! no wonder there's so many old spinsters and old bachelors in my company!

i just found out that if my company ever try to fire me now and deny me of maternity benefits, i can kpkb until the share price drop (my company is public listed). that's the tips that my colleagues told me! hehehehe.. sounds very easy to do.

ilovebabies,
I am so upset they took mr brown off the column! i'm so sure there are pro-govt elites behind all that!!! knn! oops sorry. i love mr brown. been following his website and SNL since year 2000. i am a nong nong time fan one.. hahaha..

edksd,
yes i'm the one who say i will start shopping at my 7th month! yiipppeeee! thanks for the baby fair info! maybe can get bath tub from there. so happy to be in the third trimester! thank goodness i can still walk and don't feel heavy! as for my weight issue.. ooops kena lecture by you.. so guilty! haha. it's just that initially i thought it's not normal but since everyone thinks it is, then it must be it. anyway can feel baby is bigger now b'cos i can feel her every movement even when she's not kicking me. it feels wonderful!

littlepony,
thanks for the mothercare sales info!!! good thing i live near causeway point!

joon,
i never expect to get any spotting this late. spotting in first trimester is quite common but this late? please keep us updated with what your doc says! but i'm pretty sure it's nothing wrong lor. as for the medisave claim, i was talking about prenatal package that is claimable by medisave. apparently you have to keep your receipts and then surrender to the nurse after your delivery so that they can compile and deduct accordingly. btw, what kind of pills are you taking? sometimes i take gelusil plus one hour after meal and i try not to take heavy dinner to prevent heartburn.

elaine,
thank you very much for your assurance. i was just thinking, did i lose weight while baby and placenta takes everything that i have left? hehehe..

so happy it's almost weekend and i'm looking forward for my 28-wk appointment tomorrow! yiippeeee!

hi melissa, do let me know how much ur bb weighs after tmr appt ok?

my appt is next tue. im so worried gynae is going to tell me bb is big again :p

can someone tells me how much ur bb weighs ard wk28 or wk29?

457681.jpg

Hi edksd, coz all the mattresses were wrapped up, I couldn't touch them to see if they were the same. But it does look the same to me, even the holes look identical! The Kidzloft guy told me they're the same, but of course he would say that right??

Hi melissa, prenatal package? Wah, haven't heard of that. I'll ask the nurse later when I go to the clinic
Thanx for the info! So this is on top of the medisave claim we can make after we give birth? I'm taking Hydrotalcite tablets. I bought the Bayer brand. Yup yup, I'll update u guys with what my doc says