(2006/09) SEPTEMBER 2006 MTB

helo michelle, forgot to answ ur question hehee. bottles i have both pigeon and avent, coz i bought the avent pump and the pigeon steriliser, so comes with it. as for ur question on steriliser, i know the big pigeon one can dump all breast pump equipment inside.
avent one can dump avent pump stuff inside, but sure about other brands pumps though, coz i heard avent one, though big, is quite customise for their own brands? i din buy that so can't be sure.

daisybuttons,
think after a while, you can guess which are kicks, which are boxings and which is hiccups. i go by gut feel lor. b'cos when my baby kicks, it's usually at one end of the tummy. the boxings are nearer to the center and the hiccups feels different.

smiley/michelle,
hee hee it's not like as if I catch hold of her foot. whenever she kicks me hard i will quickly press her foot lor. sometimes she's quite shocked so she took off her foot fast, sometimes slow motion, that's when i can feel it's a bit longish and guess it's the foot. besides it's nearer to my side. my baby is now lying sideways, she seems to like that position maybe b'cos she's still small. yesterday she must've did the kallang wave while i was lying on my back b'cos i can see the middle of my tummy becomes wavy in slow motion leh! i wish i can record that in camera. it feels ticklish.

Hahah...Michelle...that is cute. Even the bb is shocked with ur responses :D
Yah...i do get these kallang ways as well. I agree it feels kind of weird and ticklish.

Heehee.. that's cute.. My hubby always ask me how come baby inside the tummy moves so much, but new born babies seem to sleep all the time and don't move that much? I also don't know.. :p

Gals, where do u go to buy those bb bedsheets and crib protectors? I went to taka, isetan and kiddy palace, all the designs are same same...another other places to recommend?

Helo Bena, mothercare ones are european size 24 x 48inches, so pls check ur cot before buying kae? aussino also have whole set kind. if u dun wanna buy whole set, some brands like lollipop also nice mah, and not very exp.

melissa and smiley, i have not seen my own kallang wave yet hehee...hope to see it soon. perhaps i miss it when baby doing that.

actually hor, baby is so nicely tucked inside us now. every punch, movement, kick of his feet can be felt by us or seen. but when baby is out, baby still moves his feet and arms mah, newborns do that inside their swaddle a lot, moving their little hands and moving around when they awake. just that these motions somehow dun look as "big" when they are not being done outside ur tummy, coz u dun feel them. hehehee...

bena, yah loh. thats why i can't buy even though some of their designs are simply adorable..... but u can always get their matching towels or blankets though hehee.

daisybutton, yah lor. i went to surf the website of mothercare. Really very cute. Luckily u told me abt it...i already sent 2 designs to my hubby telling him that i wanted to buy these...heheh! But don think the prices will come cheap. Maybe should stick with those i saw at taka/isetan...cute and affordable

hehe yah the prices dun come cheap. they have many collections. my fav is winnie the pooh and baby jungle (girrafe) one.
so i make myself happy by buying the winnie diaper stacker, changing mat and prob top & tail bowl. baby jungle i buying their cot tidy.

so you confirm ur cot is 28x52inches?

u can always try mothers work that edksd mention, or see the aussino designs u like a not. the aussino baby collection can be quite nice. their old series got 2 very nice ones. one green set (which i bought), and a super sweet pink set for baby girls. this new collection dun rem got pink a not though.

wow! just finished work and the conversations are already going full steam!! i've got that cute little washing machine too, but not unwrapped yet...dunno how to use it. i'm very sua ku, but er..how does it work? you ladies are all washing clothes already? i've not even thought that far yet coz i figured if i wash now, i'd prob have to wash again later nearer the due date. my mum says i have to boil the clothes!! i'm quite horrified at the thought! any ladies bought breast feeding bras yet? not sure what size to buy as friends say we'll be humongous when we start to breast feed!

hi maeve, i ever read tt we can start buying nursing bra in our 7th mth.

for me, no problem coz my bra size did not increase much at all. in fact im still wearing my pre-pregnancy bras till now.

hi daisybuttons,
Yah we saw that the price between TMC & Mt E. Mt E is slight more Ex. But it seems the nurse to baby ratio there is better than TMC. So we decided Mt. E is better for the baby. At TMC, the nursery curtains were closed when we arrived and when the 'tour guide' requested to have it opened, we saw that some crying babies were left unattended. Whereas at TMC, each nursery only had about 5 - 6 babies and there were at least 2 nurses in there. And when I watch them pick up the babies, it was with TLC (or so it seems).
Regarding the bed for companion, someone the the tour group actually asked the question and the guide replied that the price o $75/night allow the companion to stay and includes the 3 meals. there is a sofa in the room, but its not a sofa bed. No extra bed is provided at this stage. Whereas in Mt. E, the sofa in the single room is a sofa bed which the companion can pull out and sleep comfortably in at night.

We will be seeing Dr. Yeoh S.C tomorrow morning. Hope I will be very assure by her, then I will confirm her for my delivery. Otherwise, will have to ask around again for a ob/gyn recommendation.

Hi all, i'm 29 weeks preggie, can i join in the thread?
Bena, I am with Dr Lee KW too. Can crush some charcoal and place in the new cabinet to get rid of the smell.

Welcome hellobaby! Congrats on ur new bb! 1st one? When is ur EDD? How's ur pregnancy so far?

It's my 1st one too, and my EDD is 4/9.
Urs shld be close to mine yes?

Thanks joon!

1st bb. it's a gal... EDD 9/9.. heh... ya so close to yours..

Definitely not enjoying my pregnancy with all the symptoms though love the feeling of my bb growing me me and her movements... simply amazing!so really mixed feelings! ha! :p I already put on 18kg from my last visit to my gynae.
now cutting back on carbo. During early weeks of pregnancy i had too much carbo i think. Cos i would feel faint and giddy if i dun eat carbo. so i kept on piling on them and now i'm big.

I'm now looking forward to my bb's arrival. I have been reading up on birthing to prepare myself for the pain. You leh? you going for epidural?

hi joon, my friend changed her mind and decided to get medela instead. so wont be joining us. so far how many of us altogether?

halo Hellobaby !

welcome welcome !

my EDD is on the 2nd Sept, one week before yours. but yours is a nice number leh .. 9/9

ya better cut down on carbo, heard some mothers balloon in the last trimester.

Mine is a gal too ! I gained 10kg so far ... so hope to control within 13 kg (max for me !)

anyway for me I will opt for epidural ... dun think can tahan the contractions for hours !

hi ilovebabies,

I am only hoping i dun need epidural, heh... i'll see if i can tahan when the time comes. Maybe i'll beg for epidural!! :D

my tummy suddenly grew bigger these 2 days. this really surprised me. I get very breathless now. Whenever i walk for about 10min or so my tummy will hardened and this makes me feel very uncomfortable. Dont know how to describe that feeling, like bit painful like tummy going to burst. Does anyone experience this? I heard about braxton hicks contraction but mine lasts throughout my walk once it hardens... this somehow giving me signal that my bb will arrive earlier? I'm thinking... I am currently overseas so cant see my gynae. Keeping my fingers crossed that my bb guai guai stay inside my tummy will full term. So now i try not to move around too much... but then i wish i can walk around more higher chance of a faster and smoother delivery leh... :|

hi hellobaby

I also got this feeling that my tummy is just like a balloon and gonna burst anytime. Yest measured my tummy, 38.5 inch leh !!

Now I cant walk much also... just like you, I tends to pant a lot ... and my soles hurt if I walked too much. Anyone experience this also ?

hellobaby you just have to be conscious on false labour contractions. Think it happens in the lower abdomen only. Real contractions happens at the abdomen and like a backache also.

450072.png

Hi hellobaby, welcome... I also experienced pain on the right side of the tummy if I walk for too long... always need to rest for a while before I continue walking.

Morning everyone

edksd, there are 5 confirmed orders now. Even if I cannot find 10 pple, I'll still try to get Mickey to give us the discount. Don't worry, I can be very insistent when I want to, haha!

Anyone else wants to join us for the Ameda Breast Pump bulk purchase?

hellobaby, well, of course <u>ideally</u> I don't want epidural, but realistically? I don't know if I can tahan or not! ilovebabies is right, eat less rice, bread etc... eat more protein - fish, lean meat, tofu - and vege of course
I put on a bit more than normal 1 mth and doc told me the same thing so I cut down on the carbo and managed to control the weight gain the following mth
Don't worry, u can do it

ilovebabies, I should measure my tummy! I wonder how HUGE it is now??? Oh yes, I pant easily too. Just climbing the stairs, I'm like *pant*pant*pant*... so far, my feet &amp; ankles are ok, no water retention, but lower back and sides of waist ache now and then... horrible!

450088.png

good morning girls!

ilovebabies,
I'm very angry at that news also. everyday praying that my company won't terminate me. how long do we wait for a reply of that letter? haizz..

450094.png

morning MTBs...

Hellobaby!! We are seeing the same gynae! Did you say that u put on 18kg since your last visit? 4 weeks?? Or in total u put on 18kg?
If overall u put on 18kg, i am quite similar to you and i am starting my 28wk today

Heheh...yah yah...my malay auntie contact is Rohaya. U also looking for her? I got her contact from a friend. She used her for both her pregnancies

Hey, i also got this heavy/bursting feeling whenever i walked. I only walk for like 10mins and the lower abdomen feels so heavy and it feels hard...dunno what's there...so i will stop walking.

ilovebabies, i dunno if i am starting to get water retention of simply getting FAT, but my shoes feels tigher, especially in the morning. However, during my last visit to gynae, he say water retention is normal, but i am very good...don have.

450137.jpg

? I always thought it is against the law to protect expectant mothers that companies are not supposed to sack pregnant women?? Geez... that's bad...

Melissa, your company so heartless one meh? Why you need to worry?

Yah lor...i also tot MOM has a law that companies cannot terminate pregnant women once they are certified pregnant by doctors? Hhmm...

Smiley,
My company is not like that yet but it is cutting down on manpower. I happen to belong to a department that under performs so our situation is quite vulnerable. But so far, no mentions of cutting us out lah.

We should keep updated on laws and pregnancy. It's silly the govt is encouraging couples to have children and yet the manpower industry is doing NOTHING to support the govt. Didn't even bother to restore our employer CPF contribution! Singapore companies sucks!

i agree with melissa totally though I am not in such a situation. I guess stat board are slightly safer than private companies as we are quite pro-family here.

but I feel it is very unfair to us. and they are sending a wrong signal to the rest of the females in the companies !! no wonder our birth rate is going down ....

Ehhh... yah loh.. actually I also feel the pressure whenever I told my boss I need to go for gynae appointment leh.. My boss is anti-children one, she hates children. There was this time when I had to rush to the hospital for an emergency and I had to be on MC and when I came back, my boss didn't even bother to ask me what happened. When I came back, she just said "oh, you are too stressed with work, doctor decided to give you a few days of rest har?"

Come on lah... I was rushed down for emergency leh... so unsympathetic hor?

smiley

she very GUO FEN leh !! hai .. i guess this kind of things happen when u r under a boss who is still single and available ???

my bosses are mostly married with kids .. so I am quite fortunate.

but now we need to protect ourselves against such unfair treatment from private employers ! I will keep track of the ST forum, see if MOM replies the letter.

haha.. ilovebabies.. yah.. tell me about it man. Very guo fen eh?

I have another team member who had an accident and was on MC, and guess what she told another colleague after she visited him? She said "he's just putting on an act..."

I almost faint hearing that.. heehee...

OMG, smiley, that's horrible. What a horrible woman. ilovebabies, u're right. This kind usually the unmarried, unhappy type, nowhere else to vent their frustration, so they take it out on everybody else. :p

I'm quite lucky, my boss and mini-boss are both married with kids so both of them (female) have been very understanding. *phew*

Joon, you are lucky leh.. I used to work under a very understanding boss in my ex company. She's married with 3 kids and still look gorgeous.. and she's super duper nice. Now that I have just changed job, this new boss I don't need to say much you also can picture her liao eh? Heehee...

Yeah u realise nowadays nobody give up seats for pregnant women anymore? Everybody pretend to be asleep ley. I also notice that marriage is no longer popular in Singapore. And even some married couples have the nerve to not have children. So if this goes on, family values will crash and nobody will have empathy over preggers like us anymore. It's really heavy ley carrying a baby around and have to stand for 1 hour in the train.

Really buey tahan sometimes. I remember giving up seats for old and pregnant ladies during my days but very sad this doesn't happen to me during my turn. Guess people are getting self-centered.

Smiley, that woman is really horrible. So 'no heart'.

Lucky for me, my boss and big boss are very nice and understanding...all married with kids...and somemore can give me advice on what to eat during confinement :p

BTW, any of you ladies went for the delivery ward tour already? Which week should we start going for such tour? Still can't decide between 1 &amp; 2 bedder. For glenE, the difference between the 2 is quite significant. My mom say with the difference in $$, can buy a lot of bu yao to eat during confinement...

Smiley,
my boss is also a single unmarried woman. scared ley it's getting common nowadays. i know sometimes it's hard to find a right partner but don't deny other people's rights of having a family. human being are created to procreate. reproduction is natural. that's why every living organism are sexual. your boss ah very inhuman one.

Bena,
Me in GlenE oso. Going to book a double-bedder next week. I'm going to err on the side of caution, in case a c-sect is needed, at least I don't have to spend a bomb on a single-bedder. Besides i don't mind having company to chat.

Yeah smiley, I am lucky... cannot complain... melissa is right... it's getting more common! oh dear...

Yeah melissa, so far, 9 out of 10 times I take the train, I have to stand. So far, since I've started showing and lookg pregnant, only 2 people have given up their seats for me... and once, there was an empty seat and I was moving towards it, another lady rushed from the other side and beat me to it! My friend said I shld have hit her on the head with my bag.

Bena, I haven't gone for the hospital tour... aiyoh... we haven't done a lot of things!