(2006/09) SEPTEMBER 2006 MTB

Hi Smiley, hubby lor...cannot describe better. He just say sounds like a burb. Cannot be my stomach growling, cos i had my dinner not too long ago...so i also dunno how it sounds like
If only i could find my dad's stethoscope...maybe can hear?

Yah lor, our EDD quite close. Yeah, she's moving and kicking harder these days. Sometimes really gives me a jump when she kicks...that night she gave such a hard kick, my hubby also felt the bed move and turned to look at me in shock...tot what i doing, but i say i din do anything...it's ur daughter kicking!

HUH? So hard? Must be quite painful!? My MIL told me before for the third trimester, sometimes the baby might kick and shift so much that you have to rub your tummy to put her back "in place". I wonder how true. So far, I still enjoy and appreciate her kicks and wish to feel her more

Your dad's a doctor? How nice if you really can borrow his stethoscope and listen to baby!! I would love that!

Hi maeve
Wow... last lesson this week.... that's fast. I just started only... I'm on the Tuesday's class... so wondering anybody taking the Tuesday's class as well.

Hi Smiley, my baby gal also hiccup, i knew that it's not heartbeat cos i actually count it, 23 times per min cannot be heartbeat right. Hehe! And i attended the antenatal course (doctor's talk) and he mentioned that baby do hiccup when they are inside our tummy, is just that whether the mummy is sensitive enough to feel that. Now my baby is getting bigger so i can actually feel the hiccup very obviously. And not once only, i felt it afew times already.

Bena, me too sometimes my baby kick very hard till given me a shock and now can actually feel her shifting from one place to another.

449263.png

Smiley, it's actually not really very painful. More of shock, cos u don really expect it to be so hard...but yeah, i long forward to more kicks from her. Sometimes at night when i watching tv, i will disturb her so that she will start squirming ard and kicking...hahah! So bad of me, but just can't resist :D

Nope, mi dad is not a doc...just that he used to have this traditional pressure pump that has a stethscope that comes with it...but i just can't find it. If only i can find it...then i will be able to hear more of my girl, rather than having to depend on my hubby's poor description...hehe!

E-ling, wow, u actually counted. Maybe the next time i should also start counting! Interesting!! Wow, u are just 9 weeks away!

Chng, i am defintiely getting a massage lady, but i cannot decide if to go with those Malay aunties, or engage those from massage house like "Traditional Javanese Massage". Prices of both are quite similar, just that 1 does the upper thigh wrap, but the other doesn't. 1 does bb massage but the other doesn't...so still can't decide.

E-Ling, that's great. I think u should try and see if you can hear her hiccups or burps...keep us posted of u hear!

bena, eling, smiley

my gals hiccups like twice a day also .. once in the morning, once at nite .. consistent movements from her means hiccup

ya sometimes I get shock when she kicks too hard .. recently i even felt ticklish ! ehhe

yeah my ikea dresser is up liao ... but wont be washing the bb clothes so soon .. want the dresser to settle down also .. as in get rid of the wood smell.

Ilovebabies... so in the end which ikea dresser did you buy? I am thinking of applying for the Friends card first before buying.. heehee...

I decided not to buy the 6 drawer one but the 3 drawer one instead coz the price difference is $100...

ilovebabies, yah...need to get rid of the smell. Any suggestion? My drawer also got the smell, i only open up the drawers, hope the smell will diffuse...don dare to put any deorderizers in there.

bena, i know Barang barang sells a kind of charcoal that removes bad smell.. maybe you can try to get that..

Daiso also sells that, but I only look for the ones to put inside the shoes to remove the bad ordor. I think if they have for shoes, they must have for wardrobes and cupboards...

Hi ilovebabies,
nice to see you too! wondering if the antenatal class with have a live labour video also to watch and is there is hospital tour??

I also experience hiccups from my baby.. and her shifting around is very obvious... sometimes, my tummy is out of shape!

Washing of baby's clothes... erhh.. i already wash most of it for 1 round.. with baby detergent (brand is nappikleen which i bought from M'sia) and with baby softener from kodomo.. slowly washing through everything in my washing machine (full load cos of the cloth diapers!!)....

still got more cloth diapers & cot bedsheets pillow cases yet to wash... and yet to sterilise the milk bottles, breast pump..

i just opened the drawers and let it air.
probably we can use pandan leaves ?

i bought the 4 drawers white dresser, think the model is MALM. $169.

Hhmm, Jasmine, u just reminded me of the baby detergents/softeners used to wash the bb stuffs. Have not gotten those yet.

morning everyone!

wow! so many posts! been reading all the posts, haven't done any work, haha :p

about the washing of baby clothes, my hb exchanged his petrol points for a mini washing machine like this...

449349.jpg

we decided to get one coz bb clothes tend to get washed daily, unlike ours. so if we wash more often, we don't need to buy as many bb clothes i guess! (since they outgrow it so fast!) we also bought special hypoallergenic detergent for washing the clothes. pigeon i think...

morning everyone!

wow! so many posts! been reading all the posts, haven't done any work, haha :p

about the washing of baby clothes, my hb exchanged his petrol points for a mini washing machine like this...

449352.jpg

we decided to get one coz bb clothes tend to get washed daily, unlike ours. so if we wash more often, we don't need to buy as many bb clothes i guess! (since they outgrow it so fast!) we also bought special hypoallergenic detergent for washing the clothes. pigeon i think...

I'm starting a Bulk Purchase for the Ameda Lactaline Breast Pump and am looking for people to join in for a little discount from Euramedics. Here're the details.

Ameda Lactaline
Set includes:
- Dual Pump
- Motor
- Adaptor
- 3 Valves
- 2 Bellows
- 2 Funnels
- 2 Bottles (4 oz)
- 2 Feeding Cups
- 2 Caps & tubings

Usual Cost : $300
Bulk Purchase : <u>$285</u> (self-collect) <u>$290</u> (with delivery)

The warranty starts when your delivery is made, so don't worry about "warranty wastage" due to a later EDD. The accompanying bag can also be purchased for $80.

449357.jpg

If you're interested, please PM me your details, or just post it on this thread. I'll need the following details.

1. Name
2. Email
3. What you want (pump? bag? quantity?)
IF NOT SELF-COLLECTING,
4. When you want the pump delivered (pls give a window of 5 days)
5. Address

THANX

Joon, i saw this too. Was so tempted to buy it cos it itself looks so cute already. What is the load that the washer can hold? I am wondering if the water and electric consumption is high or not.

Gals, do u feel that you appetite has increased? I kind of eat more lately leh...always feeling hungry
Last night woke up at abt 2+am to visit the loo, felt so hungry, end up eat a bowl of cereal with milk...then this morning still very hungry

im washing the bb clothes, cloth nappies, towels, booties/mittens, handkerchief today.

for the next following wks, i'll probably wash the rocker seat. and my boss is buying me a bb cot, so i guess the last thing ive to wash will be cot sheets and pillow cases.

im oso afraid i'll be too tired to do much during the 3rd trimester. oso i had mild MS in the 1st trimester, so not sure whether will come back or not in 3rd trimester. so i hope to relax during 3rd trimester, so everything has to be settled.

im using pureen A-B-D detergent, and washing in my machine. 2 loads. 1 pure white colors only. 1 for colored ones.

as for bottles/pump sterilisation i think will leave it till wk36 i guess after ive packed my maternity bag. no point sterilise too early as i believe i'll sterilise again when need to use the bottles/pump.

how abt the rest of u?

449362.png

hi puppylove,
ya... i missed class again... (hb got tickets for x-men 3, how to pass that up??) i'm such a horrible student eh? :p

it's so exciting to read abt all of ur bbs hiccuping! i shall pay more attention to the little nudges i get... maybe their hiccups too

449366.png

oops, sorry for the double post just now! :p

Ya bena, it's so cute right! hee hee hee... I think it can wash 1-2kg loads... I'm not sure about the water/elect consumption though...

Oh gosh, I just looked at my ticker and realised I have 10 wks left... so fast!

Chng, let me detail down the 2 services i enquired. But the malay aunty is based on my contact, not too sure if it applies to other malay aunties.

Traditional Javanese Massage:
- option of 3, 5 or 7 sessions
- ~45min each session
- tummy + upper thigh wrap (wrap at least 6 hrs)-- bb massage optional @ $20 each session

Malay Aunty (my own contact):
- 7 sessions, including bb massage
- ~1 to 1hr 15min each session
- tummy wrap only (wrap at least 6 hours)

I did enquiry if the malay aunty can do thigh wrpas, she say cannot do, cos if she do thigh wraps, then we will be like 'mummies' cannot move ard.

Have u gotten any contacts?

Joon, yah lor...time flies real fast hor. It just seems yesterday when i first made an appt to see my gynae...and the scan just shows a little black dot!

Bena, I do have a few contact, will update you this evening..left it @ home. You have the pricing of the "Traditional Javanese Massage"?

Hi joon,

That washing machine looks interesting and sounds like a good idea! Which petro station is that? My husband pumps his petrol at Esso, wonder whether have that or not.

Do update whether that machine is working fine or not ok?? Am quite keen on that idea!

Wow guess all have start to plan to wash bb clothes n stuff liao. Me too! Juz went to buy the kodomo detetgent over the wkend, going to start my washing over the next few wkends. I also got a new pail and brush solely for washing bb stuffs, intend to handwash all the bb stuffs cos i m not sure if the kodomo detergent can be use for frontload w/m.

I think I need about 5-6 washes to finish washing all the stuffs, now my study room pack wif so many packs of bb stuff. hee....

Hi smiley,
We pump at Caltex, so I'm not sure if Esso has it too? We got it a few months ago... had to accumulate like $1000 worth of petrol receipts or something like that... forgot! Someone was trying to sell hers, I don't know if she's sold it yet... you can check out this thread

http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/270192/445708.html

We haven't opened the box... I hope the machine is working fine! Maybe we'll wash some bb clothes this wkend, hee hee... and I'll update on how its working

thanks joon for the link!

looks like brands of detergent/softener mentioned are Pureen and Kodomo... What brands hv u gals bought?

How abt bb shampoo and bath? What brands r good?
Asking around b4 i decide on what to use.

Monday blues today, so a bit 'gong-gong' at work... Would hv taken half-day leave if not for a meeting later... *sigh!* Guess this is nothing compared to the sleepless nites we'll get later hor? heheh...

Thanks Joon, that would be most helpful

I don't know whether I dare to watch the video on the labour process. So far, when they show on Discovery Channel, I don't dare to watch leh.. Even pictures of the labour process on books I avoid also.. :p Scared.

helo ladies!

i will be using Pigeon baby detergent and Kodomo baby clothes softener. intending to wash baby clothes prob in late july/august after my dresser is here and i have aired it well?

joon, wow the machine so cute hor? but we dun pump at carltex leh. i read that if we wash the towels and cot sheets together with clothes we shld be able to use the usual washing machine lah hor? coz if gotta spend more than $100 to get the small machine not worth it, what u think?

thanks for the bulk purchase. i intend to buy, but not now leh....hmmm.....shld i buy first ah. anyway the $290 is for individual home delivery? the bag no discount right?

as for baby bath and shampoo, think for the 1st few mths i will use the small sample from Latcyd that the TMC antenatal class gives. that is PH sensitive and meant for both body and hair. some other brands i heard are sebamed that is good. any other recommendations??? as for johnsons, think if want will only use after first few mths when baby skin not that sensitive....

Do you all get very absent minded these days? I am very very blur these few days leh.. getting from bad to worse.. now I am very worried. I can't remember whether I have off my iron this morning before I came out to work... Oh no..
Really worried now. I hope I did.

hi hi!
for me, i bot pigeon laundry detergent but hv yet to wash anything. hubby can do tat later on lah cos i oso think if wash now and keep, will hv funny smell cos put inside the drawer so long... are softeners necessary? wasnt planning to buy any leh.

i actually bot johnson's head to toe - is tat too harsh for newborn's skin? if so, then i'll probably go with lactacyd cos i think that's pretty mild.

looks like some of u hv oredi bot the sterilisers and milk bottles? which brand did u all buy? can u sterilise breast pump parts in these sterilisers meant for bottles too?

sigh. this morning oso had hard time deciding whether to come to work or not :p every mon is the same mental "battle" haha

Hi smiley and puppylove, no prob abt the info... I thought the thread was quite gd too... find out more abt what "real" mums are saying!

Hi puppylove, I heard from a friend that Mustela is a good brand (but exp!) and that Johnson's Baby stuff is not good. Aiyoh, I had no idea, I thought it was the best! But then again, I bet we were all bathed with regular soap/shampoo and Johnson's stuff and we turned out fine, hahaha!

Hi daisybuttons, actually, u have a point. We haven't gotten our dresser yet, so maybe shouldn't wash all the clothes eh? Well, I think the mini washing machine is a "want", not a "need". If your machine allows small loads and has adjustable settings for that, then you really don't need a small machine eh? It's just so cute, it's an egg! hee hee hee... plus, we sort of got it "free", so why not?

About the Ameda pump, $290 is for individual home delivery and that's the lowest for the bag. (but someone is selling it for $65 - "smurfie" I think - you can get it from her!) Here's the thread...

http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/cgi-bin/forumboard/show.cgi?270192/438474

As for when to buy the BP, I'm KS, I want to buy before delivery because I'm afraid of engorgement (painful!) and what if the bb doesn't want to latch on? At least I can still pump and feed him BM from bottles.
It's really up to you I guess. (I am KS!)

oh yes, i feel my bb shifting position too
but so far tummy still in proper shape lah.

smiley, i do become more forgetful and careless after i'm preggie! esp when it comes to work.. i can see myself making so many silly mistakes where i didnt use to.

shucks.. gotta attend a meeting now
hope i can stay awake man...

hi all!

Whoa I've been too tired lately and worse, got very bad heartburn throughout the night and not getting enough sleep. In the end called office, applied for urgent leave to rest at home.

I've been looking at fetal hiccups and I think my baby has hiccups very often too. It feels like a sudden squirm when she's quiet. Like her body suddenly shivers or something. She does it all the time. Which is a good thing b'cos it shows that some part of her body (think it's the oesophagus?) is already well developed. Cute lor. And when I lay down to sleep, she likes to kick me a lot. sometimes I can feel a foot on my belly and quickly catch it! She has such a small foot! haha so cute!

I'm an end sept MTB so I'm likely to wash my baby's clothes in mid sep. Intend to use my washing machine in gentle settings with a mild laundry detergent. haven't decide which brand to use yet. I forgot to look for it while I was at Kidzmall yesterday. haizz.

Hi michelle, yes, must pay additional for the 32 week scan. The scan basically assess the bb's growth and evaluate the placenta's location, amniotic fluid volume as well as fetal movements.

I'll be washing the bb's stuff towards the end of July using the washing machine with Pigeon laundry detergent... no point washing so early...

melissa, you can catch your baby's foot?! Amazing! How do you do that? Now I don't even know her position, which one is her leg/ hand or head leh..

Michelle, i am really really getting very blur these days leh.. Now my hubby got to leave his office early (as in sneak out) just to go home to check whether I have off the iron or not leh.. I feel so bad

Hi girls, sorry to be MIA for so long. Work has been extremely busy. Back in Singpore this weekend for the hospital tours and decided to go for Mt. E instead of TMC as orginally planned. Reason
1. the nurses at Mt. E were much friendlier than the ones at TMC during our tour. The nursery in TMC seems to be 'overloaded' with babies and the nurses looked rather stressed out. Where as the ones we saw in Mt. E were tenderly looking after few babies who were in the nursery.
2. the size of the single room is bigger in Mt. E than in TMC. Although the furniture and toilet in TMC looked better, my hubby noticed that the ceiling in TMC rooms were rather 'mouldly'. Also companions in TMC doesn't get even a sofa bed when they pay the overnight charge.

We were at Robinson's yesterday and quite liked one of the Graco play yard there that was on promotion. Any tips on where to go in SGP to see a wider range of Graco playpen products?

Already when to Shun Li Industrial Park. Did not find any suitable cots/playpen there. But did manage to buy some more cute baby clothings. (Gotto learn to control)

Smiley, it's common for preggies to have short memories. I have been like that think when i am like 2-3 months...don worry...it will get better. I used to be quite frustrated...but am taking things easy as days passes.

Hahah...Smiley, i same as u. I can't make out where is my girl's head, legs, hands...she seems to be turning from day to day. Sometimes the kicks are towards to top of my tummy, then at times it's on the right right...and sometimes on the left...ha! Anyway, i am more than happy to feel her kicks...whichever position she is happy, i just leave her be :D

Yah Bena.. and I am quite bad.. everytime I want to feel her presence, I disturb her and either tap my tummy or press my tummy down, then she will react.. heehee...

i cant make out the position of my baby either! dunno where head or leg is haha. hving my scan this wk so will only be able to tell then

melissa, really can catch your bb's foot meh? is it safe ?

I can't make out anything too! I just feel movements, and that's it. My friend actually touched my belly and said "oh, the head is here... the legs are here..." and I was like, "HUH? You can feel all that??" I can't feel squat!

hi smiley and michelle, yah i also very absentminded. the iron thing happens to me too, many times i have to open the main door again, take off shoes, and go into the room to check whether i have off the iron, or the stove. as for work, worse man. i am very very carless and less meticulous and alert compared to before. during one presentation, i made quite a mess and i felt so depressed. hubby told me baby more important so i shdn't feel so bad about work. true loh. sometimes din sleep well at night or extremely tired, i will take urgent leave to rest at home too hehehee.

edksd, i not sure can use until how old leh, if i rem tonight i will check the bottle let u know.

hi joon, i think i wun join the BP this time, coz i oredi have the Avent ISIS. will stick to my original plan of using avent and only get ameda in 3rd mth, but thanks.

melissa, tot hiccups are rythmic movements/jolts to our tummy? i do feel those rythmic movements, but not sure whether those are hiccups. but since the girls say it is then hehehe okie i will note that the next time they come.
so cute. i din count though...

Angeline, welcome back to singapore. and good that u have decided on where to go. but for the companion bed, i think they do provide with the price leh, i read it somewhere. what they dun provide is the meals, which u have to add on. actually, if u compare mt e price with tmc price, there is quite a difference also.