(2006/09) SEPTEMBER 2006 MTB

helo morning girls!

ilovebabies, i believe its Smiley who felt the tug of the umbilical cord. u can check with her.

recently i also feel funny kicks that causes a pulling feeling at the lower pelvic region. i dunno what's that, but its actually painful. will ask doc...

michelle, Welcome to the Sept thread.

littlepony, u seeing doc this sat? eh, i tot our appointment quite close one? mine is next fri. tot urs is next sat.

joon, so how in the end did u buy the latex mattress? or the bathtub?
newborn weight think average ranges from 2.8kg to 3.9? have the impression around or more than 4kg is considered "big" by asian stds, not sure issit true. about the breastfeeding, hehehe think we all need to encourage each other after birth. but let's be positive okie? Jia you!

okie, one ticker coming right up! :p

446732.png

hey girls, rem i was talking about wall hangings deco for the nursery. it looks something like this. is anyone interested? I wanna buy, tot can share shipping through vpost if anyone interested leh.

446747.jpg

446748.jpg

446749.jpg

446750.jpg

morning gals!!!

Daisybuttons, i tot yours is this friday? haaa! i think i muz have written wrongly.. haaaa! mine is this coming Saturday..sigh! Old liao!

Michelle, welcome welcome!

I also feel pulling feeling but not very painful. Sometimes, i feel tummy being stretched.

And these couple of days, i watched soccer.. my baby will keep turning and tossing. I asked him what he wants (but obviously, he can't tell me right now..).. i tried all ways to calm him but no use. In the end, i go sleep and he quieten down! Errr... he's not a soccer fan?!! Sigh! So nowadays, not husband control me of what i do.. but it's my son controlling me!
446753.png

Hi daisybuttons

Haven't bought the mattress yet, but will do so this weekend when we buy the cot too
Have decided to get the one we saw at BB Hypermart. 2.8kg to 3.9kg? Wow! Our bbs are only about 1-1.2kg so far. Looks like they have quite a bit of catching up to do

Like ur ticker... esp the little duck

They are really cute, daisybuttons! How much are they? And how big are they?

littlepony, maybe ur bb likes soccer and is enjoying the game
when u sleep, he's got nothing to 'watch' too, so he sleeps!

joon,
izzit? ya.. i got different interpretation of why baby toss and turns.. either he likes or he doesn't..

U know, i wake up at 3am to watch abit of the games... and once i on the tv, sit down for a while.. i feel movements already... so wonder if he wants me to watch or don't want me to watch.
By the next World Cup, i am going to dress him in either England or Brazil jersey.. comb his hair like Beckham. haaaaaaa!!!!!

thks for the warm welcome everyone

little pony, u actually bother to wake up at 3am to watch the games ah? for me, once i zzz i will zzz all the way till morning liao not counting the the times i wake up to pee lah. hee hee. even if my boy kicks, i oso dunno cos i'm a heavy sleeper haha

btw, how often do u u all need to visit the loo at nite these days? i usually go about 2 or 3 times.

anyone using those maternity pillows to support your growing bellies? does it help a lot? when i sleep on my side i can feel my bb kicking/moving a lot more and i wonder is it cos he doesnt like it - perhaps he feels like he is being squashed?

littlepony, i'm just guessing, hee hee... It could be anything! Can u imagine? By the next World Cup, he'll be 4 years old!!

Michelle, my girl also tend to squrim about when i sleep on my side...but sleeping face up is qutie uncomfortable for me leh...i feel like something pressing down on my like that...

Do u feel that when u sleep on the side, the weight seems to all plop to the side...the feeling is weird :p

hi michelle

I usually go once a night, ard 3-4 in the morning. This has been going on for about 3 months
2-3 times is quite a lot! Maybe becoz I sleep late and wake up early, I only need to go once.

I didn't get a special maternity pillow, but a body pillow. It's about 1.3m long I think, longer than your average bolster, and flat like a pillow so it's easier to cuddle. My arms and legs can go over it comfortably. Paid abt $80 or $90 for it at Robinsons I think.... was hesitant initially, but now, I don't regret it one bit! It helps me sleep comfortably on my side, coz I hate that, am a sleep-on-the-back person.

Michelle,
Sometimes, i do lor...depending on which team is playing. Then i become zombie when i come to work. Err.. i don't often wake up to go to the loo at night leh. I heavy sleeper.. so sleep till morning.

I find it uncomfortable to sleep at the side... so i sleep face up.. but then, sometimes, it gets uncomfortable too. so i also change different sleeping position very often.

good morning gals !!

ok here one of the pic of the 5kg baby ! But i think this is either within the 1 mth or more than 1 mth oredi .. but he still looks big then ...

446789.jpg

my ticker !
446790.png

ya he is v cute when he is young .. cos super chubby ! v easy to handle him ...

Now he is 2 yrs + oredi ... and he looks like any normal kid ... not obese.

hi joon, think the size prob 6-8inches at the sides? just right to put on the wall. i haven't check the size so can't confirm. the prices range from $19.99 to $39.99 USD loh. thats why very gian but need to share shipping if really buy. which one u like?

hey wanna ask u about body pillow. been quite curious about it, saw it before. when u sleep with this on ur side hor, where is ur tummy. is it on top of the pillow? aka supported by it?

ilovebabies, the baby looks so cute and bubbly hehehee. actually, big babies at birth does not mean they will be obese. the size at birth is not related to size later. in fact, small babies tend to catch up by growing at a faster rate once born. thats the amazing thing about nature. and i read that for mothers who diet during pregnancy, their kids next time may have higher chance of being obese. reason being when the mothers diet, their babies feel that not enough food and nutrients is going to them so their body develops to store up nutrients and energy. end up their body tends to store up such things even when they grow up. so when they eat normally they become obese.

bena and michelle, hahhaaa yah i also feel my belly plopping to one side when i sleep on my side. so i have a pregnancy support pillow from first few yrs. quite useful, but sometimes i irriated by it in the middle of the night so push it away hehee.

daisybuttons

You are right .. I read abt this also. That's why I eat whatever I want .. dont want to deprive my gal of the good food !!

Hi daisybuttons,

Woah, quite exp eh, I think I'll pass, sorry! I like the giraffe, elephant and monkey

About the body pillow, it looks like this...

446830.gif

Right now, my belly is next to the pillow. I tried plopping it on the pillow, but found it too uncomfortable. Maybe my belly is not big enough yet? The only problem with these body pillows is, you need special pillow cases for them! And so, it's difficult to get them to match ur bedsheet etc...

Daisybuttons,
Thanks for showing us the pictures. It's really nice but i don't have a nursery for baby so i will pass on this. It's a pity. They are quite cute!

but do u gals feel a bit unsecure when ur tummy is too near the mattress... i.e. as if u are lying too flat ? I am afraid my bb will be affected.

adorable baby! really looks quite big leh !

yah i feel the wt of the belly plopping down when i'm on one side tat's y tot of getting another support pillow. i have one bodymate (also like a long body pillow) but find that it doesnt help much leh. tummy doesnt seem to be big enuf to go on top of the pillow yet, but yet can still feel the weight.. sigh.. so uncomfortable. sleep on back oso cannot cos tummy feels heavy and pressing down. i am a tummy sleeper actually and i really miss those days!!!

dieting during pregnancy means not eating wat u like or trying not to eat even when hungry? for me, put on a lot of weight liao so nowadays when i'm hungry i try to eat cereal bars and digestives instead of things that are more satisfying like curry puff and french fries haha . will this affect my bb next time? scared i dun eat now next time he will be damn "gian' this kind of food and eat more = obese!

ilovebabies, yes i do get worried that i'm lying too flat and will squash bb, tat's y when he start moving i will quickly try to move again so that he will be more comfy. true enuf tho, after that he seems to stop !

joon, i hv tat pillow too! but mine is not so ex lah. paid about $30+ for it? got it fr metro. like you, i oso find tummy not big enuf to plop on the pillow yet. but it really does help with the legs and hands part
but do u hv anything else supporting your back when u sleep like dat? cos i find that if i dont, the back will still ache

Michelle, I same as u...tummy sleeper...hubby say i am weird...where got ppl sleep like that :p but i have been sleeping like that since young. Had such a terrible time trying to change to back sleeper or side sleeper

michelle

ya .. same as mine .. bb could be complaining of lack of space ah ??

i dont snack now as often as I did in my 2nd tri leh .. but I do get digestive biscuits when I am hungry.

michelle, really? $30? so cheap! oh well, buy already! does metro sell the pillow cases? if so, how much are they? right now i don't have anything supporting my back and it's fine so far. phew!

my bb kicks too, the minute i turn to the side! maybe he's complaining about "falling" to the side too! hee hee

woah!
i'm stuck on a whole morning meeting and the messages overflowed!

finally get to see the 5kg baby! wow looks more like 3 months! I agree!

yes when i sleep on my side i can feel baby easily. seems to intensify baby's movement and when she kicks i could jolt!

michelle,
curry puffs or goreng pisang is like my must have tea break food ah! just can't go without them but no matter how much i eat, i can't seem to gain weight! both mommy and baby don't gain much wait. so far i only gain about 4kg since beginning of pregnancy. then again, i'm a bit overweight to begin with hehee.

446872.png

Hi! Juz came back fr gynae visit. We brought videocam but didn't record in the end! 'cos gynae juz upgraded his machine n was still learning how to use it, w someone guiding him, so we thot it not appropriate to record the whole process of him fumbling around w the functions! haha... So, we'll try again in 3wks' time. But i'm v happy tat i got to c so much of bb, cos gynae even took measurements of limbs, blood flow in umbilical cord and brain, and amniotic fluid, etc. And the scan is much clearer now w the new machine, so hopefully can capture some good footages next visit!

i was tempted to buy support pillow last time, but realise the reason i couldn't sleep comfortably on my sides is 'cos tummy not big enough to rest nicely on bed. Nowadays ok le... i jus use 2 big pillows n 1 small one to support. I move them around all night to support whichever position i feel comfy in!

But i've been feeling quite sore/aching around my hip area at night. Think itz due to the weight pressing down on the hip whole night... and I can only sleep on my sides. Any of u get that too?

Melissa

you can could be eating food of empty calories ?
is that the correct term ? gals pls correct me.
well it means it is providing very little nutrition to the bb. Try to take more lean meat, green vege and FISH !! and milk of cos....

puppylove

i dont have this ache. Prob it is due to ur mattress support ? I am using SIMMONS, i find it very good for support.

so how much weight u have gained ? and how abt ur bb's weight ? share leh ...

ilovebabies,
hmm... my gynae only told me bb is in the 'correct' weight range of 800g to 1kg! So i dunno exact weight. As for me, thankfully my gain slowed down a little, compared to my previous rate of 3kg over 3wks! I gained 2.7kg over 4wks. Total gain is approx. 8.5kg.

oic .. so how many weeks are u now ?

hehe we so both managed to control out weight gain .. mine was 1.6kg last mth eheh but my total weight gain is abt 10kg liao ..

Puppylove, i do get some ache on the hip areas, but not when i am sleeping...i experienced on 2 occassions...think i walked too much.
U are seeing ur gynae every 3 weeks?

Really envy u gals leh. weight gain is not a lot, but bb weight is there.

My girl weights about 785g when i was 25k, 5 days and at that time, i already put on 15kg liao

puppylove, I don't have any ache also leh... Don't have much problems sleeping on the side or on the back coz I usually put a bolster in between the legs when I sleep... Don't need anything to support the back also...

Wow,
on the other hands, i envy you girls having big and correct-weight babies. i have a small one. at 24w6d, she's only measuring 581g liao. so my baby girl has a lot to catch up.

ilovebabies,
i heard about empty calories but not sure what they mean. curry puffs and goreng pisang are my only sinful indulgence. other than that, i do take my vitamins, calcium tablet and milk/soy daily. but both of us still can't gain enough weight. haizz. but if it's any consolation at all, i haven't been feeling any pains and i sleep like a baby every night. hehehe.

puppylove,
i believe those hip pains are round ligament pain. try to do more pelvic exercise and strengthen the area.

melissa

prob u can ask ur gynae for more advice on this. well sleep is very impt in growing a healthy bb too as mummy also need more rest. glad that u sleep well. I wake up at least twice every nite , sometimes to pee and sometimes I feel I am v conscious of how I sleep cos I keep tellin myself to sleep on the left so that more blood and oxygen will goes to bb and then she can grow.

bena! me same as u! in my 26wk now and oredi put on 15kg!! hee somehow i feel slightly comforted that i'm not the only piling on tthe kilos like a whale ;)

joon, the pillow cases are about $16 or $18 i think. cant really remember but its definitely less than $20.

i just had a raelly sinful lunch - char shao and shao rou fan! wif yam rice some more... but oh so satfisying :D

ilovebabies..yah lor. So long bb grow healthy, i have no complains, still continnue eating as and when i feel like eating and whatever i feel like eating :p

Michelle! Me too, feeling more comforted. I feel like an obese penguin comparing to the other MTBs here

Hi hi..

Am missing out on the posts again.. too many to catch up.

Daisybuttons, you always have a lot of sweet stuff to share eh? I like the bag you showed last time, now I like the recent ones you post too.. but quite expensive leh...Btw, have you received the bag you ordered last time?

ilovebabies, I also wake up in the middle of the night, worried that my position is wrong for baby.. Often i wake up and realise I am lying on my back, then I will quickly turn to my left...

Hi michelle,
Thanx for the info... will go check it out
Are the colours/design nice? Wah... ur lunch sounds GOOOD! My cheese sandwich and tao suan pales in comparison, haha.

Don't worry abt the weight gain, bena... it's all for the bb!
After delivery, we'll be encouraging each other to lose the weight!

Puppylove, good that u got so much "air time"!

Melissa, it sounds like u're taking gd care of urself
As long as ur gynae says ur bb is healthy, that's gd
Anyway, she might surprise u at the next checkup! I was worried in the first few months coz my bb was always bigger/longer than normal, then lately, he's been falling into the normal range.

ya eat what we want .. why torture ourselves ? jusst ensure that we dun sin on unhealthy food too often ok ? that's my mentality hehe .. sometimes must satisfy myself .. i ate mac for lunch yest hehe

the Mac auntie who served was so funny. She asked if I want to change the drink, so I said Heaven and Earth Green Tea, then she stare at me and my tummy and she asked "are u sure?" haha then she smiled and req that I change my drink again, saying I am preggie and shld not drink green tea now. haha then I took Ice milo lor ... and she seems so satisfied that I changed my mind.

ya eat what we want .. why torture ourselves ? jusst ensure that we dun sin on unhealthy food too often ok ? that's my mentality hehe .. sometimes must satisfy myself .. i ate mac for lunch yest hehe

the Mac auntie who served me was so funny. She asked if I want to change the drink, so I said Heaven and Earth Green Tea, then she stare at me and my tummy and she asked "are u sure?" haha then she smiled and req that I change my drink again, saying I am preggie and shld not drink green tea now. haha then I took Ice milo lor ... and she seems so satisfied that I changed my mind.

ilovebabies...i met aunties like these as well. Ordered a juice with ice...then she say, u preg? no lah, don want ice...ha!

Heheh...that day i also had mac for lunch, the pepper wings meal :p

So funny!! I met one today too... she told me to order the gingko nuts, barley and egg white hot dessert when I ordered the tao suan! But I was craving the tao suan and yew char kuay, so I said no, I want tao suan! haha

ilovebabies,
wow such a nice auntie! really ah? cannot take green tea now? I like the jasmine green tea but i don't dare take it b'cos it's too cooling.