(2006/09) SEPTEMBER 2006 MTB

No prob, peachie
I just saw some latex mattresses at Kidzmall (Suntec). I think the brand is Baby Safe or something like that. Anyway, those are more exp, $159 & $169 for the 2 standard mattress sizes. The Kidzloft package seems like a gd deal. I'll prob get that after we buy the cot this Sat.
Yippee
I saw the Safety 1st bathtub u mentioned. It's so cute! Especially the bouncy duck base, and the duck pitcher is just adorable... so funny

Welcome Michelle! Congrats on ur 1st bb! Yup yup, u'll learn A LOT here... lots of lobang and info ;)

me back

bb is doing fine today ! she is weighing 1.364kg at 29 weeks. She was 704g 4 weeks ago ! Doc say slightly big for asian bb. At this time, they shld be abt 1 - 1.2kg.... ehehe but he still ok lah ... not as if she is sumo bb.

and luckily, I gained only 1.6kg this mth compared to 3 kg last month ! Doc was impressed

I told him I stop anmum and switch to fresh milk and my durians intake was reduced as well .. but he is ok that I take durians once in a while ... so glad that I gained little weight and 600+g went to my gal ... hippee !!

oh btw

gynae says I shld start monitor the bb kicks from the last month onwards .... and not neccessary need to count the kicks .. just make sure the bb behaviour is consistent, that's enough.

Hi Michelle,

Welcome!
I also think this is a great thread! It's good to have a support group of mums to be here to share info...

By the way, I am now at home and comparing prices of the packages obtained from GlenE today, which are effective for deliveries from 1 July 2006 to 31 Dec 06 (ie applicable to all of us). In short, GlenE has disgustingly upped the price of the package by $150 to $400 across all categories. To put into perspective, I list a few categories here (with the old prices effective till 30 June 2006 in brackets):

Normal delivery - double room: $1260 ($918-$1200)
Normal delivery - single room: $2035 ($1700-$1938)
Normal delivery (with epidural) - double room:
$1470 ($1118-$1400)
Normal delivery with epidural - single room:
$2298 ($1950-$2188)
Emergency cesarean - double room: $2940 ($2800)
Emergency cesarean - single room: $3988 (3798)

And moreover, the Citibank promotion for GlenE is expiring on 30 June 06. Under the Citibank promo, Citibank cardholders will pay $1788 for a single bedder normal delivery, and $2128 for a single bedder delivery with epidural. When I asked Jacqueline if this Citibank package will be extended after 30 June 06, she replied that currently the answer is no, but might be subject to change and she cannot comment. We can try and see if the promotion is available at the point of admission. Which means there is no guarantee.

Given the huge difference in price, the limited delivery wards and the small single bedder room (in relative to the price paid), I am seriously considering delivery in other hospitals (subject to my gynea's advice and agreement as well). Not sure about this. What I heard is that it is recommended to deliver at the hospital where your gynea is based such that he can check on you more often. So I really am quite confused here....

Does anyone here know the charges for Raffles Hospital? Thinking of going there (since not too far from GlenE)... Thought that place is pretty new, so thinking of checking it out. Thanks in advance for any inputs!

Hi Joon,

Thanks for the inputs on the mattresses! Will pop by for a look this weekend!

Hi ilovebabies,

Congrats on a growing baby! Hope mine won't be too heavy... I gained 10kgs in total. Haiz...

hi pjen,

how's ur c/u @ Dr Adrian place last nite?? mine will be next monday nite... cant wait to see how much me n baby gain now...
my sis delivering 2 wks later so so fast rite... cant wait for my turn too..

Peachie, the price at GlenE has increased ar?
I also cannot decide if i want the double or single...still thinking.

Peachie, if you change ur delivery hosp and ur gynae is not tied to that hosp, he will still be able to deliver for u izzit? My take is try not to change, unless ur gynae is comfortable with that hosp.

ilovebabies, ur bb is big hor...my gynae also say at wk 29-30, should be abt 1-1.2kg...but maybe it's just her limbs that are longer. So long healthy can already.

bena

ya ... doc did measure her limbs but din comment that she is tall or wat .. just told me abt her weight. I have a friend whose gal was 4.65kg at birth and she told me her gal was 1.6kg at 30 weeks ... ahah wonder my gal would catch up also ?

btw I asked my gynae abt 3d/4d scans. he says it's a gimmick and no medical benefits, so I wont do.

ilovebabies, Wow, ur frd bb is very big leh. That is about 9pounds? My girl is about 745g at 26wks, i reckon she needs to put on like 1kg per month starting from then...heheh!

I also asked my gynae about the 3d/4d scans. He say it's very difficult to get what you usually see on posters/books. Cos these images are actually produced by using the 2d scans and they generate the 3d images based on the d scans...so if the bb is resting the head on the placenta, etc, then the 3d image produced will not be accurate. He say those published on posters and books are so clear and nice, cos they have tried many many attempts before getting a clear 3d/4d image...

I also not going to do. He say not necessary to do.

Mi need to change my next visit date earlier by a few days, cos hubby is travelling...me so happy to bring forward the date...then can see her sooner :D

Hi Bena,

I checked with Raffles Hosp. They only allow patients of visiting consultants registered with RH to deliver there.... Haiz. Since I cannot get my gynea or his nurse, I surfed the thread concerning him and noted that he only delivers at GlenE or MAH. So not much of a choice here.... Will stick to GlenE after all.

I went for a talk by Dr William Cheng some time ago. He also shared that there is no medical benefits to be derived from 3D/4D scans. They are largely for cosmetic puposes only, allowing the parents to be to view the facial features of the unborn child. So will definitely skip that.

bena

ya that's why my gynae says it's gimmick only, don't waste the $.

but I hope my bb wont get too big that I cant deliver her naturally ... but I am not eating much last month oredi ... yet she still so fat haha ... maybe she is very greedy.

my next visit is still 4 weeks later which is 33rd week, then subsequently it will be more frequent !

Peachie, yah lor...if it's only for viewing of the facial features, no point spending the $$.

ilovebabies, ur girl can eat is good wot...she is absorbing well!

Morning mums

Yup, I agree that the 3D scan is just a scam. In fact, when I saw the doc last week, we got a 2D scan of 1/2 the bb's face and it looked so 3D! (can see the eye, nose, forehead & upper lip)

446107.png

Joon, me too. My last visit, the doc managed to capture the full face. It's actually quite clear to me...but gynae say the photo not very clear already...cos bb had her hands over her face (shy) so he had to scan thru her hands to get the face. Wow...can't imagine if there is no obstruction..the photo would have been much clearer.

Ur due date and ilovebabies is so near...

hehe yeah Joon and I will deliver abt the same time ;)

ya I also got a pic of my gal .. she shy also .. use both hands to cover her mouth .. maybe she is eating ehhe ...

hi! I've a colleague who's thinking of getting the Medela PIS Advanced from First Few Years, $599, but itz US voltage (with free transformer/adaptor). Do any of you know if itz a good buy? Does it really matter itz US and not S'pore version? Any other diff in features besides the voltage? Thanks!

Hi Bena, isn't that great? I didn't think it was possible to actually see the face, but... wow! Hopefully ur girl won't be so shy the next visit
Yup, ilovebabies & I are due 2 days of each other
How's ur back? Have u tried doing some stretches?

ilovebabies, it's great tt ur bb is doing well
and that most of the wt is the bb's. Since we're due so close to each other, we can use each other as benchmarks!

Wow, peachie, GE increased everything eh! What a bummer... well, if u want to consider TMC, just let us know, quite a few of us are going there and I have the rates with me.

BTW, anyone here has the Ameda lactaline pump? I'm keen on that, but am wondering if it necessary to buy the bag for the pump. If it's just a normal bag with no special compartments just for the pump and its accessories, I might as well use my own bag. (nicer too, haha!)

Hi puppylove,
I was at FirstFewYrs on Mon and asked the lady abt that too. According to her, the cheaper PIS is no diff from the $699 PIS. The only thing is the extra weight with the extra adaptor. Plus, with the adaptor, the whole plug part becomes really bulky. That's abt it. If ur friend will be carrying it about a lot, taking public transport, no car, then the $699 one has its advantages. But if ur friend doesn't really care, then I say, save the $100!

hi joon

ya ya .. at least we know if our bb is doing well ..

puppylove

I am not sure which model is good, but in terms of maintenance and support, have u wonder if the power adapter is spoilt, can they replaced it in Singapore ?

joon,
thanks for the info!
In tat case, yup, agree tat the $599 one is a better buy. U considering this as well?

My next gynae visit is 2moro. Really looking forward to c girl girl after 4 wks!
Am really tempted to bring in a videocam after reading wat some of u said, but not sure whether gynae will allow recording...

ilovebabies, so u brought ur videocam along?

ilovebabies,
hmm... u hv a point. I'll ask my colleague to call up FFY to check b4 committing. Think better check up on servicing costs as well, eg whether there're any additional charges. Thanks!

pupplove

ya brought my digital cam and rec her movements .. but not v clear lah .. not as if u zooom all the way to the monitor .. hubby just scan the process of scanning ... but better than nothing

Hi puppylove,
No prob
I think I'm quite set on the Ameda instead of the PIS. What ilovebabies said is right though, if the US adaptor is spoilt, will they be able to change it here? I didn't ask the lady abt that. On the other hand, both are covered by an extended 15 mth warranty, so I think it should be alright. Oh another thing to tell ur friend, the warranty starts from date of purchase, so if she hasn't delivered, some of it will be wasted.

Have a gd visit tom
Just bring the videocam... I think ur gynae shld be ok with it! Gd luck!

Joon, it's definitely great! No doubt abt that

Heheh..was telling hubby that the more i look at the photo, the more determined that i am that girl girl looks like me...ha! He say i think too much liao :p

Puppylove, just bring along then ask ur gynae see if he/she allows...don miss the chance! I already set my alarm to remind myself to bring for my next visit...if gynae don allow, then no choice.. bo bian...heheh

Ilovebabies, think whatever we can get, we'll be very happy lor. No complains about the images whether clear or not...got something very happy liao :D

Bena,
Hee hee I also think that you think too much. The thing about babies, when they come out they can look like you but after a few weeks, they will look more like our spouse, or the other way around. I've seen that happening so many times!

puppylove,
Bring your cam first, ask later. ;)

446175.png

Melissa, yah lor...babies tend to change quite fast. Different months may look like different ppl. I also seen babies who look like the parent's siblings.

yup, will definitely bring the videocam along! I already regretted not bringing it during my detailed scan cos I saw so much of bb and the staff was so friendly I'm sure she wouldn't hv minded!

joon, ilovebabies,
my colleague called up FFY. They say juz bring the PIS to the shop for servicing. She didn't ask abt any charges though. She has already given birth, so no probs abt the warranty starting upon purchase.

Thanx for the PIS update puppylove
I think if they're willing to extend the warranty to 15mths, they must have faith in the product so it shld be quite reliable! And ya, i think ur gynae wldn't mind the videocam!

Ouch! Just got kicked in the rib!

Hi Joon,

Thanks for the offer!
It's alright... my gynea doesn't deliver at TMC... only GE and MAH. Sigh...

My baby's been kicking very vigorously yesterday and today as well.

Very sleepy today. Went for a friend's wedding dinner last night, and only slept at one plus. Have problem concentrating at work. My eyelids keep refusing to stay open.

Have you guys find out your baby's sleeping pattern yet? I find that my baby wakes up at 7am, 10am, 3pm, 7pm, 10 pm and that's when she'll start kicking me hard. In between there's subtle movement but I figure she'll toss in her sleep too.. hehehe.

Melissa, my girl wakes up very early and sleeps early...for her it's usually 6am, 11am, 4pm, 9pm...usually ard 10+pm she is asleep liao. But funny lor, cos weekends she tend to sleep later...sometimes 11+ she still kicking.

wah.. u gals sure reply fast and furious man. i only post last evening, now login again got so many msgs! all no need to "chor kang" one is it? hee hee

peachie, u put on 10kg only and wanna complain? i oredi put on 14 kg ok! but gynae said no problem - juz that i need to suffer more to lose the excess wt after delivery haha

ilovebabies, your fren baby really very very big. 4over kg! that's the biggest i ever heard so far man. is there any limit as to how heavy the baby is before u hv to go for c-section? i really want a natural birth so i hope i dont hit that limit. is pelvis size same as hip size? i generally have small hips all along so sometimes worried if baby on bigger side then i wont be able to do natural...

my next c/u is next wk at 27 wks. cant wait to see my boy again! never tot of bringing video cam tho. wanted to use mobile phone but hubby said it'll be too blur cannot see antyhing so dun waste time

i think i damn kiasu - i bot the PIS advanced last mth and i still hv 3 mths to go. hee hee. hubby said after spending tat kind of money, i better bf until the bb is 5 yrs old haha

michelle

my tis friend I talked abt .. her 1st boy is 5.1 kg ahaha dun be surprised ... it's the biggest I have seen ... but he is very easy to carry !

usually doc will see if the shoulder width is too large for natural birth and advise accordingly.

Wow, melissa & bena I'm impressed! I haven't really taken note of my bb's sleeping/kicking pattern. But I do notice that he tends to kick/move about after I eat and before I sleep, around 1130-1230am... wish mine could be like ur girl, bena, an early sleeper!

ilovebabies, i think i've got a party boy too! Let's hope they don't continue with this pattern after we give birth

u know my friend once told me .. she is always v tempted to wake her bb up so that she can play with her ... ahah I guess some of us would the same thing ... initially hahha

michelle,
who say we all never chor kang. this is how we keep ourselves awake liao! hahaha.

ilovebabies,
wah lao 5kg?! natural birth? cannot be right. must be very chubby!!! got pictures? i wanna see!

you're right about newborns. basically when they're newborn, everything they ever did in the womb will follow after they come out. including sleeping pattern and the way they move. it's not until several months later that they realised they're a separate human being and begin to develop their own personality. got this from baby books. for the first few months, they will think that they're a part of you.

joon,
it's normal for the unborns to be active late at night. my baby girl's like that too but if i'm too tired, i boh chup her and sleep liao hee hee.

btw, do any of you ladies experience a tingling/numb sensation in your fingers? like pins and needles like tat. i didnt hv this until about 2 wks ago... wondering wat it is. it's only in my right hand and not my left.

wow melissa, really cannot catch up wif u all man.. think i better put in double effort here and refresh the pg more often haha

5kg baby... really cannot imagine. curious to see photo too!

WAH!! 5kg!! Amazing leh.

Joon, probably cos i am also early sleeper, so bb follow my pattern? Heheh...my girl also quite active before and after i eat...greedy girl :p

err i dun have his pic now ..and need to ask the mummy for permission to release his pic eheh ..

but overall, he just looks like a normal 3 mth old bb at full mth ! cant imagine when I carry him ... really heavy ok ?

oh dear, my boy usually kicks very feriously when I am abt to go to bed... then I'll feel very hungry. Need to eat something b4 I sleep, then baby will cool down... hmm.... I'm having a baby who needs to take supper

btw I am taking MEIJI LOW FAT fresh milk with BlueBerry morning almost every nite before I sleep. Since I gained so little this mth, I guess it is safe for preggies to take as a light supper.

Haa. oh gosh.. I just log in and realised the msgs r OVERFLOWING! haaaa!

Sleeping patterns: Mine is quite unpredictable. Nowadays, he doesn't seems to be sleeping.. or perhaps he does as i feel him stretch, toss and turn alot! But at nite, when i fall asleep.. i think he does as well coz i don't wake up middle of the nite becos of his kicks.

Heavy baby - WOW! 5kg?? carrying a packet of rice leh. But big babies r easier to carry... small babies very fragile! But hope all of ours be in the right size, right weight!!! Healthy most impt!

Checkup - i m seeing my baby this coming Sat! I really wonder how much he grow!

Morning mums

Melissa, I will bo chap him too! Usually so tired that I start to "zzzz" within 2 minutes of hitting the pillow

Wow, ilovebabies, 5kg! Your friend is amazing!

Littlepony, ya u're right, smaller babies are too fragile, bigger is sometimes better eh? Enjoy ur visit this Sat
Update us with ur bb's growth

BTW, what shld be the right weight of a newborn? Anyone knows?

ps: I really like my ticker today haha... where are all of urs? This page is lookg colourless! ;)

446718.png