(2006/09) SEPTEMBER 2006 MTB

peachie & ilovebabies,
Maybe back stretches will help? Maybe ur back is tight and needs a bit of loosening up. Try these exercises...

Factors that influence back pain during pregnancy. The spine is vulnerable due to the following factors during pregnancy:

* Hormone production during pregnancy makes joints less stable (to allow the pelvis to spread as the baby grows)
* Typical weight gain of 25-35 pounds during pregnancy, with the majority or extra weight distributed around the abdomen
* Increase in postural strain as the body compensates for changes in the pregnant womans center of gravity

Although it may seem enticing to rest when experiencing pain and not undertake an exercise routine, gentle stretching and movement will often decrease muscle spasm and restore improved spinal function, resulting in decreased pain.

Got that from
http://www.spine-health.com/topics/conserv/preg/preg01.html

hi littlepony, yes according to the book im reading wk27 is the start of 3rd trimester.

444295.png

morning gals!

Mi also not in favour of getting those branded stuffs for the bb...they outgrow too fast liao. Wasted leh...maybe when they are bigger then consider getting, at least can wear longer. Moreoever, bbs tend to lose their shoes very easily. I often see bb shoes along the road, heheh.

Peachie, i also don have those stuffs during GDL. Instead of the physical items, my mom gave an ang bao to represent those items...so now i use those $$ to buy the items

joon,
if you have leg cramps v often, go to the pharmacy to get cream that eases backaches and leg cramps... apply the cream on your leg and then, it should give you an icing cooling feeling.. and go to sleep. Recommendation from my gynae.. I bought it but haven't use it yet..

I also have slight backaches.... but ya, not necessary at night.. now, i feeling achy alreadi.

hi daisybutton, ive been to many other shops, but seems like their bathtubs quite limited leh. and im not sure the mothercare one on promotion now $28 will end when?

daisybuttons,
hmm... did Mrs Wong say anything abt how deep the bathtub shld be, if it need not be sloped? 'cos my red tub seems too deep for NB leh..

My Parentcraft instructor is not Mrs Wong... So far, hv been quite bored, esp. the video/powerpoint portions. And I can't seem to find a comfortable sitting position, so bb usually kicks and kicks me throughout...

btw, my sis-in-law gave me two boxes of Playtex pre-sterilised disposable liners (for milk storage). But she got them quite some time back, so I'm not sure whether they're still usable. Any idea how long u can usually keep these? The boxes r unopened. Thanks!

little pony, got burberry baby set??? what does it look like? oh dear, u got me excited, but so expensive hor???

i think 3rd tri starts in 28 weeks. so for us its next week.

joon, i will be buying ameda lactaline. what i learnt is that medela and ameda used to be under the same boss. ameda manufactures hospital suction equipment and only provides to hospital without retailing. Medela eventually disengage from ameda to form a retail line. so basically some of the features cld be the same. but i do think that the PIS is quite heavy, think i hear comments that the lactaline is lighter.even with the carrier bag its also $380, cheaper than PIS. everything almost the same except colour and design. anyway i intend to leave it in the office during weekdays and only bring home on weekends, so wun be transporting it too much back and forth.

peachie, my back always aching nowadays. at night coz when i lying down and i need to switch positions. there was once i dunno why, once i lie down on my back i can't move. any movement will give me excruciating pain, and i need hubby to support me and turn me on my side before i can get up. scary. then when doing exercises during parentcraft, my lower back always aches when lying on my side. i need to turn sideways to ease the discomfort.

hi daisybuttons

think mine is the 2inch mattress.

Joon, the pics you posted .. I learnt some of these exercise in my ante natal class last Sat too .. esp the pelvic exercise ..

instructor encourages the men to do it.. to improve erection ehhe

hi edksh, yep the lactaline is dual electric one.

not sure when mothercare sales end. think their staff also blur blur. once i asked them they say as long as GSS is on. another time they say til further notice. the tub is only $28 meh??? i think the price remains at around $40??

puppylove, no leh i din ask her about the depth. coz i have this bath support oredi, it will elevate baby. where do u usually sit in parentcraft? if ur hubby goes with you, and u sit in the centre where there's no support, ask you hubby to go behind u with 1 or 2 of the pillows for ur back. then support your weight while you lean back. it helps. if u sitting by the wall, think a pillow behind will do?

Hi daisybuttons,

Thanks for the detailed info on the latex mattress vs mattress pad! I also am keen to find a cheap one (if got any)... I am putting a playpen at my father in law's place. Anyone here knows if anywhere got sell latex mattress pad meant for playpens or not? I think the playpen has different dimensions from baby cot... So when I visit him on weekends, baby can sleep in the playpen. Got a hand me down playpen from a friend which I am going to put at his place. Think playpens are really versatile. Can double up as changing table, playpen and baby cot!

Hi ilovebabies,

Not sure if it is my sleeping position either. I will wake up in the middle of the night with an aching lower back.

Hi Joon,

Thanks for the advice on backpain! Will try stretching more and do more pelvic rock exercises... See if it helps.

Realised most of you gals are in 3rd trimester already! So envious.... It's going to be D(delivery) day soon!

Hi edksd,

A lot of confinement ladies do not know how to use the sloped type as well....
So if you are comfortable with the flat bottom ones, they are definitely much more economical.

daisybuttons,
yes.. it's ultra sweet.. baby pink for girl.. baby blue for boy.. and it's very adorable. I love it at its first sight but really think it's too expensive... and i could imagine wearing it only once! perhaps at the baby shower party....

U can go have a look .. at Taka Burberry Baby& Kids ...

nowadays, i have trouble getting up from the bed. I used to be able to just push myself (like i doing sit up) and then, within seconds.. get onto my two feet. Now, i have to turn sideways.. use my hands for support and then get up from bed. Sigh!! What to do.. we getting heavier.

hi peachie, think all shops selling mattresses will have something for playpens? can try kiddy palace?

littlepony, you are NOT supposed to get up the way u sit up! the right way to get up for preggie is always to turn to your side, then push urself up with your hands supporting your weight. NOT using your abdominal muscles to push urself up from lying position, even if you are able to do it. pls be careful. getting up the wrong way will hurt your back and abdomen.

edksd, i know its the tub itself, but din know its on offer hehehe.

peachie, i quite like the safety 1st tub u mentioned above. any idea how much is it selling now?

Hi Peachie,

May I know where I can get the mattress? So far, only KiddyPalace sells the mattress leh? The sales girl told me there's only one type - foam one. If I want the latex one, it's the Baby Safety one which cost $99!

ilovebabies, where did you get the Baby Safety mattress? How come you can get it for $35 only? And heehee... I also got the red tump pui! Hahaha!

Thanx daisybuttons
that really helps! There's someone organising a BP for the Ameda Lactaline. Are u joining in?

ilovebabies, for the men too??? I had no idea!!! Ya, I learn something from this forum every day, haha.

littlepony, thanx for the tip! I will try that... very desperate... trying a lot of things now, like eating bananas, taking more calcium...

edksd, from what I know, the Ameda Lactaline is the top of the Ameda range - electric piston, double pump. It's supposed to be quieter and less painful than the Medela Double Electic (not the PIS).

Smiley

I bought it at BB Hypermart. You can chk it out. I told the lady I am having a lucky baby playpen then she recommended me the mattress lor. I also intend to put it on top of the old mattress that my sis is passing me as well.

Oops, thanks daisybutton.. I have this habit of typing my message and then forget to click send after the preview and go back to my real work (ahem, heehee) By the time I click send, there are many posts related to my questions already..

I went to KiddyPalace and the only latex one they sell is the Baby Safety and only comes in 1 inch?

oh Joon,
if you r eating bananas, don't eat the ones which are quite big ones.. u know, they are yellow skinned without black patches. They are actually quite 'liang' means ' cooling' and it may explain why you r having terrible leg cramps.

You can go for the small and ugly looking bananas which are not as cooling as the big and pretty ones.

Aiyoh, daisybuttons, that's scary! I hope the stretches will help. Speaking of scary, I slipped outside GWC the other day. Rain + slippery shoes = the biggest fright of my life! Have thrown the shoes away, haha.

I think the latex mattress pad is a gd idea. Where did u get urs, daisybuttons? And how much?

ilovebabies, ur mattress is the latex one?

hi joon, littlepony is referring to the delmonte bananes, "cey gey jio" in hokkien. hehe get the normal size onces that looks stubby instead. i am not getting the BP for ameda now, coz i only intend to get electric on in my 3rd mth of maternity.
now i have a Avent out and about set which i will use for the 1st 3 mths, thereafter at night or during weekends when necessary. ameda is for work.

smiley, the brand is baby safe. actually i not familar with playpen leh, so i not sure what kinda of mattress they need. but i have the impression that for playpens u usually use thinner mattress? so the 1-inch one shld be alright? can try baby hyperstore then?

oh crap! I've been eating those long ones from Cold Storage. It's not Del Monte, it's Aloha I think, but they look the same. Ok, will stick to the small ones... which are tastier anyway
Thanx for the tip littlepony & ilovebabies

Hi daisybuttons, ya, that makes sense. But do we need 2 pumps? Can I get away with just using one? I thought of getting the Ameda with the BP, but only if the guy will let my warranty start when I give birth.

Hi daisybuttons,

You can look around, or wait for the next baby fair to come.... I don't see a lot of safety 1st tubs on sale at the major dept stores. I guess they take up a lot of space and are low margin items. So the stores dun tend to stock much of them.

The last Taka baby fair in March has a sizeable section on Safety1st bathtubs. There are quite a number of models available. If you dun need the temperature strip (which I really think is not necessary right now), then the same blue one without the temperature strip is $29 during the Taka baby fair. There is also a slightly larger grey version (with the same sloped base and anti-slip mat) that sells for $35. It does not have the temperature strip as well. It is best to look around and have a choice. There are different models with different features and different sizes (and of course different prices... hehe). But all safety 1st tubs come with a free rubber duckie for baby to play and a plastic pitcher to bathe the baby during the last Taka fair. So it is not too ex.

Personally I think the sloped tubs are not bad, especially for 1st time moms like me. No need to stress and baby can recline inside and the tub is built such that the head portion of the infant will always stay above water. When baby is 1 year or more (ie can sit up unaided), will get a red tub from the neighbourhood shop to replace. Saw a red tub selling for $12 at a provision shop near Hougang last week.

Hi Smiley,

Paiseh... haven't been keeping tabs on where got sell mattress...just saw them around the usual places such as Kiddy Palace, Taka and Robinsons. didn't really bother to unflip the folded ones cos I wasn't looking for one yet. But come to think of it now, I do need a mattress for my playpen. Maybe I look look around next weekend. Not sure if anyone here have found a suitable mattress for the playpen already?

helo joon, oh u better get good sheos this period leh. i also used to wear slippery shoes, then try to enhance it with nonslip pads. but realise the heel oredi spoilt thats why slippery, and the non-slip pad can't go onto it.
now i very happy with my birkenstock sandals hahahaa. if i wear pants to work, i will wear the sandals. dun care if its mismatch or what, coz my safety most important now. i feel so secure wearing them. but if i wearing dress or skirt then i have to revert to my other shoes loh.

i din get mattress pad leh, if u read correctly hehee.
i got the mattress, think 3inch thick. mine is not babysafe, mine is the brand Getha. Its distributed by Kidzloft, which is also the distributer for lollipop, Safety 1st products... and some others. think original price $159. but motherhood fair price is $119. for 28-52inches mattress. just checked, their mattress pad is 1.5inches thick. not 1 inch, sorry.

helo joon, think its up to individual. i wish to total breastfeed for at least a yr if possible, so i need to ensure i keep up my supply. and since i do not wish to bring my lactaline back and forth EVERY day from office, and since i also heard good reviews about Avent manual and i got it at very good price, and since i foresee if i pump at home i dun need the quickness of electric pump, i decided to spend less now and get the avent. then later will get the ameda.
spread out the spendings in a way. hehehee. if u get only one, then u have to bring it back and forth every day. some ppl do that, so its really up to ur personal preference.

do u all hv this stuffy feeling on the chest?

i had it today. duno what's wrong. feeling quite uncomfortable.

feel like coughing out.

nowadays when i wake up for toilet trip at night, hard to get back to sleep already just like in 1st trimester.

im so worried the MS will come back again in 3rd trimester.

444402.png

edksd,
U could be suffering from heartburn.

As for sleep, alot of MTBs can't get to sleep at the 3rd trimester. U not alone. Don't worry.

Hi ilovebabies,

Your mattress pad sounds good!
Hehe, think I will try to persuade hubby to go down to get it. but must go and get the dimensions of the playpen right first.

Then what about the bedsheet? Are there bedsheets for such mattress pads as well?

Joon,

Glad to know you are fine! Must be careful okie? This Friday got firedrill at my office building... The thought of walking down so many flights of stairs really put me off... Let me see whether I can "siam" or not....

hi littlepony, heartburn ah? then how? i feel like the stomach like quite bloated. but then again i duno is it bloatedness or just the bb growing. just feel like a zombie, cannot concentrate.

Hi peachie,
Fire drill?? Must try to "siam"! Don't worry, the pregnancy excuse can work wonders. ;) In fact, I'm not going into work today and I'm using the "i'm not feeling well... must be the pregnancy" excuse, hiah hiah hiah...

Hi daisybuttons, I guess u're right. I'd like to do TBF, but I've heard of pple trying, but giving up becoz of many reasons - too painful, bb cannot latch on, too troublesome etc... - so I'm worried I cannot keep up with it too... well, maybe the "burn 800 calories a day" will be incentive enough for me! haha

Too bad my boss quite "on" about such stuff... She will make everyone walk down with her. Walking down 30+ storeys of stairs is no joke. Maybe will take leave on Friday, or if got insider info, try to take the lift down first before they shut off the lifts. Otherwise quite cham to walk....

It's almost lunch! I am hungry....

peachie, preggie sure can siam firedrill one lah. u check the notice of the firedrill, did they list the ppl who are exempted? i had a firedrill 2 weeks back, the email got say pregnant women are exempted. so all i need to do is drop an email to my coordinator and let him know.
quite shiok sitting in office alone.

joon, i choose not to focus on the negative thoughts. and i believe if we read up or learn enough or seek enough help, we can avoid some of the problems. so i am determined to do it.

hey gals

my company also excuse preggies and ppl with movement problems from firedrill leh
so dangerous ! u can complain to HR u know ? we have our rights !

peachie

I bought 2 fitted sheeets from bb hypermart also that fits the mattress size. go take a look !

hi! i remember reading somewhere that there're two standard sizes for cot mattresses. Can anyone let me know what they are? Thanks!

daisybuttons,
i sit against the wall during parentcraft, and w 3 pillows! haha... but doesn't help. Guess my girl girl is also so bored tat she resorts to kicking me! haha... i find the videos so out-dated already... looks like they were done in the 70s or something! Juz look at the pp's clothes and hairstyles in the videos... *sigh!*

hi puppylove, the sizes are 24x48 (europe) and 28x52 (US size). think got another size, aussie, 135x175cm if i not wrong. but only certain shops have the bed.

yah the videos are outdated, mrs wong also told us. so she said some info are not valid. hehee.

amylim,
I took Gaviscon every night before bedtime and this is endorsed by my gynae. You can get it from any pharmacy. it helps to relieve the heartburn. i also read somewhere that some women drink yoghurt or milk before dinner, just to coat their diaphragm from acid reflux. i also like to drink milk 1-2 hours before bedtime.

444709.png

Hmm... other than Baby Safe or Baby Safety (or whatever is the right name), I dunno there's other brand like Getha.. The other ones I saw are always brandless, with the mattress wrapped either in white or colourful sheets..

Anyway, I also experience heartburn.. Been quite bad.. And I have terrible leg cramps over the weekend... SO painful! My hubby says the symptoms for third trimester is coming... But but but I am still at my 2nd trimester only!