(2006/09) SEPTEMBER 2006 MTB

tks again for ur wishes gals !

peachie

good mah, since your mum bought so much oredi, you can stop shopping ! but do be cautious not to buy a lot cos they grow real fast ...

I also take out the things I bought for bb once in while and admire them ... so cute right ? cant wait for the bb to pop .... but then .. we will be having dark eye rings then ... ahah ...

ilovebabies, CONGRATS! Two minds are better, isn't it?!

Oh.. i am also a POST cereal lover but i choose strawberry instead. Haven't tried the blueberry ones. Once, the strawberry cereal went out of stock for a while in supermarkets. And when it's out again, i stock them up!

Hi Peachie, your mum is so sweet! It's nice to see how mothers go panicking over grandchildren than we do.

My mum say that she has to get prepared gifts for baby as well such as anklet, necklace, pendent, a set of baby clothes. It's her 1st time being an ah ma..so she has to give these to baby. Baby will wear these during his 1st month. I wonder if any one of you following this tradition as well?

littlepony, my mom also prepared a little necklace + pendant. Havent heard abt the anklet and baby clothes yet. I tot the anklet is given by the ah ma (mil)? Whatever or whoever give i think also same...they love the bb mah.

Both my mom and mil are 1st timers...but think my mom more gan cheong than my mil cos mil still working and eventually, my mom is going to help me take care of the kid...so probably that's why my mom is more han cheong :p

Bena,
I dunno leh who should be giving the anklet but it seems my mum is giving. Haaa! I guess whoever is giving us, the more the merrier.. so that baby has lots to wear! haaaa!

Oh.. mine vice versa. My mil is taking care of the kid so she has been helping me to wash baby's new clothings...my husband and I just in charge of shopping and paying. Heee.

i think both mums will buy the jewellery, be it anklet or necklace ...

ya bb can wear a lot and then look like a small x'mas tree lor hehe ..

ilovebabies, congrats on passing your exam...

My bb always kick non-stop whenever I watch the soccer matches at night.. He's as equally excited as me, especially when my favourite team scored a goal...

Went for my gynae check-up on Tue... I'm in wk 29 now.. Gynae said my bb's head already turned (that's very fast)... Both my mum and mil said that chances are I may give birth early... not sure how true it is...

hi amylim, thats great, that ur baby's head already turned.
looking forward to my checkup 2 weeks time!!!
think when you watching soccer u excited mah, so ur body gives off this hormone that excites him too hehehee. just like when we eat caffiene or sweet things i guess.
wow, what team u support? i support whichever team my hubby supports! hehehehhee. But i like Brazil! heard their 1st game not impressive though, only one goal leh.

good morning girls!

wah wah most of you active here are in your 3rd tri already ah! so jealous to see week 28 there! Hahaha. i still got 3 more weeks to go leh!!

since some of you have mothers buying jewellery for the baby, i ask you, for girls esp., will you consider piercing the baby's ears for earrings? i didn't get mine pierced until primary school but i see some babies already wearing earrings leh!

and how to make baby put on weight fast ah? i can't eat a lot even when i tried. i just don't fancy eating. i think my baby's weight a little smaller than average. think durians will help? at least it does help with my bowel movement! (phew!) can't drink anmum and stuff like that, always give me stomach ache!

441146.png

Hi Amylim,
wow.. your baby's head turned?! Good loh. Normally, baby's head will start to turn when we reach our 7th month.

Daisybuttons,
your checkup in 2 weeks' time? Mine too. I have been eating too much of sweet stuff lately. Ice cream, snacks etc. I have been controlling so that at my next checkup, i be fine. haaa! cheating isn't it.

I woke up at 3am to watch the Germany vs Poland this morning.. now, got dark circles. My baby wakes up as well... i think he must have heard me shouting when Germany miss their goals. I like Brazil as well.. and yes, their 1st game not impressive at all... totally disappointing!

ilovebabies,

I might have missed the previous postings. What exams are you talking about?

Ladies, I need to ask about the classes.. maybe it has been discussed before also, but I have no time to look through the long history list of postings!! So sorry.. I am at my 25th week already, is it too late to sign up for classes at TMC now (Parentcraft or something like that is it? I am completely blur).

Can hubby come along for the classes and does he need to pay extra? Do hubbies usually go with mothers together?

Hi Amylim, so fast ur bb head turn already? that's good isn't it? My cousin's bb still haven turn even when she's into her 36wk.

Melissa, i heard from the gals here that eating durian will make the bb fatter. Maybe u can try? Also, if u are lactose intolerent, you can drink soya instead. my gynae say soya is equally as good as milk. Even the bean curd dessert thingy is good...not necessary must be milk.

Smiley, i think these classes are conducted for couples and i believe they strongly recommend/suggests hubby to attend, so they are prepared as well

Hi Bena,

Thanks.. then I better get my hubby to attend as well

LittlePony, wah, you woke up in the middle of the night to watch soccer?! You must be very tired now!! Pei fu pei fu...

Melissa, are you lactose intolerant? Maybe you can drink milk that are lactose free?

Smiley,
Yap..i am a soccer fan and i think four years once, i muz watch... haaa! Panda eyes loh! Now, my brain abit stone liao! haaa! Just hope my boss don't notice it!

smiley, u shld be starting classes in ur 6th, 7th mth of pregnancy, which is about now. so faster go and call TMC parentcraft to book your slot. 1st lessons oredi started so i guess u gotta start from 2nd lesson. some ppl will try to attend the 1st lesson of the new session in August or something, if u want. faster go book ah! the prices include for hubby as well.

melissa, u no appetite ah? yah can try eating durians? and whenever u eat anything, just make sure u eat more protein, like cheese, meat, eggs. hehe i am lactose intolerant too.

wah littlepony, u good ah! wake up 3am! hehehe. sometimes when i wake up and find hubby outside watching soccer, i will be so sleepy i dun wanna watch. yes my checkup is 2 weeks time hehehe. i think i rem our EDD one day apart right? my checkup is on friday, urs? looking forward to it. oh u cutting down on snacks? fine if its not healthy snacks. but try to eat healthy things when u hungry coz baby needs the food to grow leh. dun diet okie?

bena and melissa, i heard we shldn't eat soya beancurd leh. soya drink is okie. but beancurd contains "shi gao" which preggies not supposed to eat. thats what my preggie friend, who's MIL is working in a beancurd stall, tells me.

Daisybuttons,
Yap.. our EDD is one day apart! Mine is on Saturday. Wanna my hubby to accompany me so have to make it a weekend. Sometimes, i feel.. we all look forward for our checkup so we can see baby but then, checkup last only a couple of minutes. Sigh! Haaa!

Ya.. won't diet but i eat too much of ice-cream lately which is not good. But whenever i eat ice-cream, my baby will kick. Seems either he is enjoying it or he is saying ' too cold' ..haaa!

Yesterday, got leg cramp.. very badly. Today, my calves still very sore.

Oh gosh, i know! ilovebabies, so many things to think about right? Aiyah, sometimes I think the less I know the better! haha!

Yes daisybuttons! It's not Mrs Wong, it's some staff nurse, couldn't catch her name coz she mumbles alot
I think we'll just "tong" it out coz I looked at the programme and it looks more useful towards the end.

About the CBB, I'm can't be 100% sure, but I'm sure that if the CB is not enough, the only other place u can get it is at SCBB. I just read that private banks will store whatever they draw from the umbilical cord, even if it's just a little bit. SCBB, however, will only store the CB if enough is drawn out. And they do some sort of screening on the CB to make sure it's usable. Private banks do not necessarily do this screening (must check with them), they just store the CB straight away and charge u. So if ur child's CB is not ok, u're paying to store something that's useless, or just not enough. Must call them to verify their storage processes.

Bena, u're right. We'll surely get lots of gifts from family & friends. I think I shall stop buying!

Littlepony, I didn't know abt these 1st month gifts, but my hb wants to have a big dinner for family. I'm not sure... I'll be all fat and lumpy! How to let pple see me??? Aiyah, but then again, they'll all be lookg at the bb, not me, haha!

Wow amy, so funny! You've got a football fan inside there

Hi smiley, it's not too late to sign up
The only thing is, whether there's space or not, coz the classes are quite popular. According to some of the ladies here, Mrs Wong is quite gd. I didn't get her
and am quite bored at the classes... :p The price is for both hb and mummy. When I was there last week, everyone was a couple

daisybutton...really? i heard that "tou kua" the beancurd that we used to fry with vege taht kind contains quite a lot of "shi gao" which we try not to eat too much...but din know that the beancurd dessert (tou hua) also. Hhmm...but my gynae say tou hua ok leh...but luckily i not really a fan of tou hua...heheh. Then better not eat. Thanks for the info!

Littlepony, have u tried sleeping with ur leg raised? My cousin used to do that to relieve the pressure.

Talking abt bb kicking...wheneever i read my own novel, bb will move and kick, then when i stop, she will stop also...hehe...dunno if she enjoyed the book or telling me to stop ready :p

Hi Bena,
No leh. Okie. Maybe I try. I was trying to tip toe to put something on my cabinet and my leg got cramped very badly. Sigh! I will try to put a pillow to raise my leg and see if it helps! Thanks for your advice.

Joon and daisybuttons, yah.. I called up and the nurse told me the weekend classes are full already... Can only apply for the classes in July/ August, which I think might be too late by then?? Will discuss with my hubby tonight loh..

I also heard before that the beancurd contains some ingredients which is actually not good if consume too much. So I also just drink soy milk. But I think i read in the earlier posting from someone that the ones at hawker center is no good, but not sure what's the reason.. So which is the best? Soy milk from Mr Bean/ Jollybean or from hawker center or those that they sell in tetrapacks from Marigold (for example)?

Littlepony, think should avoid tip toeing and stretching to put something on the cabinent. Get ur hubby to help u put. My mom told me it's not good to stretch.

Yeah, u try elevating ur legs see if it works. I find it very difficult to fall asleep

Smiley, i also dunno wot's the reason why hawker soya is not good...but i tot it should be better, cos they don contain preservative?

i also heard that baby will turn at 7th month so 28 weeks and above should be the right time.

littlepony,
i also have craving for sweet stuff.. like mcdonalds hot fudge sundae.. yummy can't get enough but try to control by not eating more than 4 cups a week! hahaa. my baby loves ice cream. she will jump in joy whenever i feed on ice cream!

Bena, Smiley,
I have no idea if I'm lactose intolerant. I thought to be diagnosed of that, you need to be intolerant with everything that contains lactose and a lot of food contains lactose. I only have problem with low fat milk. I have no problem drinking UHT milk though. It's strange. anyway I've been drinking Nutrisoy soy milk. And i will definitely eat more durian!!! Thanks for the suggestion!

daisybuttons,
How do you know u're lactose intolerant? Eggs, meat all that I eat a lot leh hehe. They're my favorite and egg is a complete food but makes your fart very "sweet-smelling" as well. Hahaha. U mean tau hui is no good? How about tofu?

hey where are all your tickers. make this forum colorful leh!

Actually what's the difference between UHT milk, homogenised, pasturised etc? :p I am confused what type of milk there is, and which type we are supposed to drink.. I know we are not supposed to drink unpasturised ones right?
441291.png

UHT milk are those cheapo milk that's not refrigerated. i believe they're processed and has sugar added in it. and it's diluted so in terms of quality, the fresh milk is a lot more superior. that one, my stomach can handle. i think all of our milk selling in the supermarkets are pasteurized. the only thing i know is, don't drink milk straight from the cow liao.. hahaha...

Anyone still looking for baby cot? I was surfing the net and saw this baby cot from Motherworks. Usual price $999 but now going for $499.
441365.gif

Motherswork is at Great World City.

halo gals !!
wow so many post oredi ..

Melissa, if u feel bloated after drinking milk, u could be lactose intolerant. Well, I am.. but MEIJI LOW FAT milk doesnt have this prob on me, so u can try it out.
Ya I heard eating durians and beef makes the bb bigger but not sure how true lah !

Hi amylim

so where is ur bb's position now ? my bb's head has been below since my last chkup ... does that means she has turned also ? so early ??

I dont think I will pierce my gal's ears at such a young age ... i did mine during primary school .. my mum brought me to do it ... prob I'll ask my gal if she wants when she is bigger ... prob after Pri 6 lah ...

441379.png

Hi gals, any of you plannng to go for the malay massage after delivery? Would you engage service from places like "The Traditional Javanese Massage" or those traditional malay aunties?

I dunno which one is better. Price wise is quite the same.

ilovebabies, the malay aunty told me the wrap must wrap at least 6 hrs
wah..such long hrs leh, dunno can tahan or not. U got any contacts?

bena

got one from a friend
Grace Chong - indonesian chinese

Her shop name is Tres Jolie Beauty Studio
Tel: 6762 3206

my friend engages her for home massage, not the post natal massage, but she does it too. She even got some certification on post natal massage.

So many postings in 1 morning! Wah, I can barely keep up.

Went to Ngee Ann City for lunch. It was such a rushed affair cos I could only leave office at 12.15pm, and got to be back by 1.30pm for a meeting. Anyway, for those mums to be who are DBS Black Card holders, there is an additional 10% off for all shops located in Ngee Ann City today, as long as you pay using the Black Card.

Went down with a colleague who is a sucker for Vuitton bags. We trotted from Vuitton to Tod's (which is having a 30% sale for off season items), from Tod's back to Vuitton, and then back to Tod's. In the end lunch was darned rushed. Well well... you gals should have seen the stampede in Tod's. Things were flying off the shelves... I was tempted (since today got 30% + 10%), but since the baby is coming, didn't buy anything.

But a good way to ensure that you can always enjoy 10% off at Takashimaya is to get their gift vouchers. Bought $2K worth of Takashimaya gift vouchers today. With 10% off, they will be $1800. Can use these vouchers at Cold Storage (thought can use to buy diapers and groceries next time), at Best Denki, and at Takashimaya departmental store (which includes those luxury shops located inside Taka like Gucci, Coach, Tod's) as well as the food outlets at B1 such as Ajisen and Central. So still quite happy in the end.

Hi littlepony,

The cot you posted looks really cute!

Hi ilovebabies,

Thanks for the contact on the javanese massage. Not sure if I will use one. See how fast I lose weight after birth first.

Hi littlepony, thanx for the tip... i AM lookg for a cot, and guess what? Was going to GWC later, so I'll check it out. What gd timing, thanx! I hope they have it in white

Hi smiley, what abt wkday? I know Mrs Wong teaches some wkday classes. Starting in July is a bit of a tight squeeze, but there are benefits to that actually. The knowledge will be fresher in ur mind!!

Oh, I am lactose intolerant and I only realised it like 3/4 yrs ago. Everytime after drinking fresh milk (even choc milk) I pass really BAD GAS. It's quite bad for the people around me. (and my poor dog!)

I finally made the connection when my hb (who was then my bf) finally plucked up the courage to ask me why I always like that and asked if I was lactose intolerant. I experimented by drinking milk and then "see how" and it's true! I ALWAYS explode "fragrantly". So I concluded I was lactose intolerant.

This is what I found on the net...

Lactose intolerance is the inability to digest significant amounts of lactose, the major sugar found in milk. People who do not have enough lactase to digest the amount of lactose they consume may feel very uncomfortable when they digest milk products. Common symptoms, which range from mild to severe, include nausea, cramps, bloating, gas, and diarrhea. Symptoms begin about 30 minutes to 2 hours after eating or drinking foods containing lactose.

Believe it or not, ethnicity plays a part and Asians are more prone to lactose intolerance!!

hie to everyone...
been a long tym since i last post a msg here.. well, juz thot dat i shld share sumtin wif u.. i juz read a book titled "Win The Fat War for Moms".. its a book abt how women lost all their postpregnancy weight.. i find d book very inspirational.. and it inspired mi 2 watch my diet while i still can.. coz i dun wan 2 gain so much weight during my pregnancy..

most of them said dat BF is a good way 2 lose ur postpregnancy weight.. i didnt BF my 1st child.. but will try 2 BF my coming 2nd child.. by d way, will BF make ur breast saggy??

exercise during pregnancy is also an impt factor if u want 2 lose weight fast after ur pregnancy.. sum mums did running, aerobics, yoga throughout thier 9mth pregnancy.. i reali admire them.. coz im a lazy person by nature.. but after reading d book, maybe i will start doing sum light execrise.. like climbing stairs instead of taking d lifts..

so to sum up d whole book, proper diet, exercise during preg, BF are sum of d most impt factor 4 losing weight.. exercise also makes ur delivery smooth and fast.. it is written dat in general, mums who exercise during pregnancy, tend 2 have shorter labour period than those who didnt exercise.. by 2 hours on average..

i hope ol MTBs here will maybe be more inspired 2 take good care of themselves during pregnancy.. and try 2 avoid those empty calories.. like sweet stuffs and drinks..

take care.. ;p

;) (ilovebabies),
ive juz read d thread... its unbelievable.. yet so terrible.. reading it juz make my hair stood on ends.. quite a sad story...

;) (ilovebabies),
is dat true?? den i guez i shld juz stick 2 walking den.. i dun wan 2 give birth halfway climbing d stairs 2 my house.. n i also shld stick 2 proper diet.. ;p

thnx aniway..

watie, I walk a lot (esp weekends for the sales), but somehow I get a bit worried whether it will cause the placenta to be lower if walk too much (?).

Melissa, you mean homogenised and pasturised milk are not "processed" then? Then is UHT milk good? My husband mixes the UHT milk with milo everyday, if it is not good, maybe I will switch to the fresh milk then!

Smiley, according to my gynae, if got low placenta, not advisable to walk. But i guess don walk excessively should be ok.

I think lactose deficiency and irritable bowel syndrome are 2 common ailments which affect a sizeable percentage of our population. In recent years, there are quite a number of reports which shed light on these 2 and what can be done to alleviate the condition.

Lactose intolerance is genetically linked. Which means if you are lactose intolerant, it is highly possible that your baby may be. Hence, if you are not able to BF the baby, it is best to use a soy-based infant milk formula (such as Isomil) for the baby. My sis was lactose intolerant when she was born, and she was not able to ingest most of the formula milk fed to her. The problem only went away when she converted to Isomil.

This is some of the info I got on lactose intolerance:

Many cases of lactose intolerance are genetic. That means that something in these people's genes makes them more likely to develop it. The condition is more common among some groups of people - about 90% of Asians are lactose intolerant, and up to 75% of Africans, Hispanics, and Native Americans get symptoms whenever they eat dairy foods. If you belong to one of these groups, you're also more likely to develop lactose intolerance while you're young.

Diagnosis of lactase deficiency is made on the basis of:
1. a history of gastrointestinal symptoms, occurring after and aggravated by milk ingestion
2. response to an empirical trial of dietary lactose reduction or avoidance
3. a breath test demonstrating abnormal hydrogen levels
4. an abnormal lactose tolerance test
5. stool sample for reducing substances
6. small intestinal biopsy to assess direct lactase enzyme activity

Hydrogen breath test
This test is considered the gold standard for diagnosing lactose intolerance. It is simple, safe and non-invasive. The standard dose varies from the physiological dose of 12.5 g lactose (1 cup milk) to the tolerance test dose of 50 g lactose (1 litre milk) and should attempt to closely approximate the usual consumption of lactose in milk products. It will lead to increased intestinal hydrogen production in intolerant individuals. The test will show a high fasting hydrogen value and, 60 minutes after lactose ingestion, a secondary rise. An increase of > 10-20 ppm above the baseline value has been selected as the cut-off point. Some studies show a poor correlation between lactose maldigestion and intolerance; low hydrogen exhalation may occur without significant improvement of clinical symptoms. The test is also not lactose-specific, as any undigested sugar in the intestine will be fermented by bacteria and produce hydrogen.

Lactose tolerance test
In lactose intolerance, an oral dose of less than 50 g lactose will cause an increase in blood glucose less than 25 g/100 ml above the fasting level, and gastrointestinal manifestations. Little or no increase in blood glucose indicates that lactose has not been broken down.3,10

Fecal reducing sugars
This test is considered very reliable. After ingestion of a lactose-containing drink, a stool sample is collected and Fehlings solution is added. The presence of lactose will cause a change in colour from blue to red. A simple kit is available to perform this test.10

Fecal pH test
Stools collected after ingestion of a lactose-containing drink will be acidic (< pH 6) in cases of intolerance. This indicates fermentation of undigested sugars by the colonic bacteria.10

For absolute confirmation, a double blind placebo controlled food challenge should be done. This helps identify individuals who may be convinced of intolerance despite normal lactase levels and no symptoms after reasonable lactose intakes.2

Treatment &amp; management
Symptoms are alleviated by complete elimination or reduced consumption of lactose-containing foods. Most lactose-intolerant adults can consume some lactose without major symptoms, thereby reducing the need for strict elimination of dairy. Regular milk consumption in some lactose-intolerant individuals has been found to increase the threshold tolerance level at which diarrhea occurs due to colonic adaptation.

Tolerance seems to be improved with yoghurt (which may have bacterial culture containing beta-galactosidase to facilitate lactose digestion) or other cultured dairy products, and when lactose foods are eaten as part of a meal. Fermentation of dairy products breaks down much of the lactose into its monosaccharides. Frozen yoghurt is not well accepted, as the microbial enzyme is destroyed by freezing. In general, dairy products that tend to be better tolerated include more-solid and semi-solid forms such as cheeses (which cause delayed and slower gastric emptying).

Wow, peachie, that is very comprehensive info. Yup, i also read that yogurt helps to improve lactose intolernt and they are rich in calcium and other vitamins too. Good for health.

Had been reading tis thread but haven't got d time to join. Just wanna share my knowledge on the milk thingy.

UHT - Ultra High Temperature Treatment
Milk are heated at 140C for 2 seconds. This process totally destroys any harmful germs while preserving the true taste and nutritional values of fresh milk. The purpose is to be able to store the milk at room temperature for longer period and also easier for transportation.

Pasturise
Milk are heated to 75C for 15sec. This process is to killed any harmful bacteria. However, milk need to be kept chill during storage/ transportation. Nutritional value is slightly better the UHT milk.

Thanx peachie, that was helpful and super accurate! My brother and sister are also lactose intolerant like me, and the info's right. I can eat yoghurt and cheese with little problem, but milk? No no!

Thanx janice
That really helps too. So fresh milk is still better than UHT milk then? Coz I read that us preggies shld only take pasturised cheese, milk and even OJ... now I understand, it's to kill the harmful bacteria

I learn something new from this forum every day!

441816.png