(2006/09) SEPTEMBER 2006 MTB

hi daisybuttons

This is from the other thread:
"I only put big bottles so far din topple la. If you carry small bottles then it may lean a little or shift a little 'cos there's lots of space inside. 4 big bottles fits nicely in it."

I think maybe we can put other things inside such as some towel if we have less than 4 bottles ?

this moses basket doesnt seem popular among asians right ? tot I see this in english movies though .. but it does looks v sweet leh ... but cant u help much on the price though ... cos have not tot of buying it.

hi, just to inform tt ive found out the gender of my bb after today's detailed scan.

it's a boy!

so far most of my friends guessed girl. only the nurse and one friend guessed boy. hehe...

ilovebabies oh i see, thanks...yah true can put towel hor why din i think of that hahahaa. hhmm...think i give this a miss lah. coz intending to buy the avent manual travel set that oredi comes with a cooler bag. and will put the bottles in the office fridge, or hubby also say maybe can buy a real mini fridge to put in office next time...

edksd, congrats on having a prince.
oh btw, abt the isetan sale, if u are not getting items from the coupons cut out that have limited number, try to go there later say 10am? so that u dun have to queue lah.

congrats edksd!

Daisybuttons,
i see before those moses basket, without stand ~35 sgd before.. think once at Isetan, but now no more leh! I also know Arab street got sell moses basket..can only use up to like 6 months?

edksd

congrats !! so on what basis ur friends guess it's a gal leh ??

daisytbuttons,
oh the manual pump comes with cooler bag ??

aiyah my ofc fridge is terrible, dun want to spoil my milk hehe

hi girls,
just came back from detail scan at TMC. everything's good and confirmed.. we're having a GIRL!!! woooot! Hubby is very happy b'cos he has always wanted a girl. Baby is currently on her sideways. Head on top and legs bottom on my right. No wonder I can feel her kickings on my right. My placenta is a little low so I asked if it's ok to still have intercourse and my OB said YES. Woooot! Baby is now weighing 350g! Mommy put on 2kg. Must be the durians. Yes!!

So now I can think about girl names!!! Suddenly I'm so excited even though every gender prediction and the chinese calendar is WRONG! Haha.

elmo88,
Details on your detail scan please!

amylim,
I haven't bought anything for babies yet. Will do so in my 7th month. Now still a bit pantang.

I'll most likely be using the cot... not that keen in yaolan....

edksd, congrats....

ilovebabies, thks for the info... My office has recently set up a lactation room specially for mums who are bf and there's a fridge to store the bottles.... don't think I'll be getting a mini fridge...

hi melissa

congrats !! heeh u so cute, still ask if can have intercourse ...

but why are u pantang ?

hi amylim
good for you lor

though I have a room here for us, but the fridge is shared by the ppl in my level.

hi ilovebabies,

my friends guessed girl becos of my pimples loh....

gynae oso checked the placenta, ok, normal position.

ive put on 1kg so far and 0.354kg goes to bb. hehe...

ilovebabies,
i think it's b'cos i know that viability outside the womb starts from 28 weeks with 34 weeks having the highest chance of survival. So until i reach that milestone i will continue to be cautious. i am the one with many losses remember? so the fear will never leave me. but you guys can go ahead and shop for baby's stuff lah. it's just me and my silly cautious ass.. hahaha.. lol.

and of course must ask the xxx question lah. i read in Mother & Baby magazine that if hubby don't release their sperm for too long, it will become unhealthy. and i want him to continue to train his soldiers so that we can immediately try for boy after this.. hahaha.. to make boys, must use the strongest soldiers u know.

edksd,
looks like our baby is measuring almost the same! congrats!!!

hi melissa,

same as u im pretty cautious too becos ive one loss last yr. im always anxious and excited and yet fearful. i think no others can understand this kind of fear unless they've been thru it before. nevertheless, im still goin ahead w the shopping.

i think our edd is 1 day apart right? mine is 28 sept.

edksd,
Wow so coincidental izzit. Yes it's 4 weeks from now. Now that all the major organs have developed, what matters is if baby is growing right on track. That's all. Used to find two weeks wait a looong time but now I'm ok with waiting for the next appointment. The baby kicks helps a lot!

Gals, how much did you all gain huh?? Edksd, envy you so much...only gain 1kg... I have oredi gained 7kg and BB weighs 509g @ wk 21. Am I normal??

Chng's wife,
Wow! 509g at 21 weeks is big! I think average for 21 weeker should be like 400g? Maybe you should avoid taking 3 big meals and take 6 small meals daily. In total I've gained only about 3-4kg to date and I did lost 3kg during my first trimester. What did your doctor say?

Re:cot bumper,
i oni start to use it when my boy noes how to turn...anyway..the way he sleeps is very jialat one..he will toss n turn n knock his head everywhere in the cot even though i hve bumper on..cant imagine,if without the bumper...how many bumps he will hve...

isetan sale is this thur??how come i still hve not received the mailer?u think in aug or sept,will there be another pte sale?

hi chng's wife,

yday when i did the scan i was at wk20 day5, my gynae said at this stage bb shld not be more than 400g. but then again it depends on mother's physique? its better to check w ur gynae.

i was detected as gestational diabetes ard wk9 or 10. therefore ive to be on strict diet to make sure my sugar level doesnt go up causing complication.

the strict diet made me lost 3 kgs overall and now im only putting back the 1st kg.

Gd morning!!!

edksd & melissa,

Melissa,
I guess all detailed scan almost the same.The gynae checked on the spine,heart,head, face,hands n legs etc.
The detailed scan lasted for 20mins but i felt not enough leh...I wish can see my gal longer.heehee
Just to check with u all har,
When you go for ur gynae checkup, u all take leave , mc or just informed your boss that u gg for checkup? My leave like not enough liao,my colleague told me just inform boss will do,if not take mc lah.

hi elmo, yeah lor, just inform boss no need take mc lah. for me, my boss is v pro-family and understanding. even for my colleague whose boss is not as gd as mine, her boss told her to just go and if possible just mc back just in case.

for my detailed scan it took quite a while, coz after scanning the internal organs, limbs, we're not able to see bb head/face portion and gender. so doc asked us to go for a walk and come back 30min later.

again, cant see. so go for lunch and went back again. this time can see the brain but still cant see the face to check for cleft and oso gender coz bb covering himself w his hand.

so we went back 2 wks later which was yday to check the face and gender. and tts it.

i think for urs, bb is cooperative so the scan is short. just a few things to take note, see the heart is pumping. see the left and right brain are symmetrical. see the position of the placenta.

hi melissa

oic ... ya agree on the semen thingy ...heheh ... me also want to try for boy for next one leh .... jia you jia you ..

i did ask my company's HR before on taking off or leave to see gynae. They say no official practice so it is purely between me and my superior. But I think no one practice giving off here leh ... but I am also lucky that I have a lot of leave lor .. and a one day off in lieu for the recent GE. eheh ...

elmo88,
I take a combination of leave, off-in-leau and MC. Sometimes I book a lunchtime appointment b'cos the my gynae's clinic is quite near my office. My boss is a family person but she's not very cooperative. Some women are just so nasty!

edksd,
My scan is done at TMC and took 20 minutes also. At first baby is lying sideways so a bit difficult to see her heart so she ask me to change position a bit and baby also kaypoh changed her position. haha. So in the end we managed to get it all done by 20 minutes. TMC gave me an ultrasound picture of baby's head profile and baby's face! Haha.. since it's a 2D scan, it's actually quite horrifying to see the eye socket b'cos really what you can see is a skeleton face! LOL. My placenta is posterior and slightly low. How's your placenta's position?

ilovebabies,
jia you to you too! How long do you plan to rest before trying for the next one?

hi melissa, seems like i took the longest to complete the detailed scan. like yday when were trying to see the lips on the face, bb purposely put his hand over the mouth, so we cant see. only after a while then he removed his hand.

mine is posterior and upper.

for my next one, it still doesnt matter it's a boy or girl. all i wanted is a healthy baby. boy or girl, i love them all equally.

hi melissa

I think the recommended period of rest is min 6 mths. Our womb need a good rest. But i hope I can be preggie by the time my gal turns one.. so that I would have supplement her food intake with formula milk and semi solid food, and not relying on my BM. I still need to provide nutrients to the 2nd little one

u ?

Hi Melissa, congrats for having a girl. The gender prediction was wrong for me too..
For now, from the shape of my tummy, can tell quite easily I am having a girl. My tummy is quite round. My fren who had a boy last time had a pointed tummy..

Edksd, congrats to you too, for having a boy.. Is your tummy pointedd?

hi smiley, i duno leh. my tummy has always looked the same to me before pregnancy or now.

maybe only 3rd party can tell.

i still looked the same size. all i know is now during pregnancy, i developed pimples.... :p

hi edksd

u posted a messaage at 5+am !! wow u wake up so early !!!

recently i had some pimples also leh !! hai dunno why suddenly got leh .. it was ok

chng's wife, at 21 weeks, my baby was 480g. so i guess its ok... since i am v tall... maybe my baby will also be bigger than most.. not sure... but do cx with ur gynae when in doubt..

ilovebabies,
yeah i intend to wait for one year too. need to make sure my body has gone back to it's original condition before starting a new one. b'cos my risk of miscarriages is still there. haizz..

hey is it true that eating so much durians can make a big baby?

yeah i woke up this morning for toilet trip. then couldnt get to sleep. i read tt we shld not try to lie on bed when cant get to sleep. so i went online for a while till i feel sleepy again, then i went back to bed.

me started to hv pimples right from the start of the pregnancy. it's the hormones. the same hormones tt made me morning sick :p

hi melissa

ya get more rest is very very important I think.

ya heard durians has many benefits for the baby leh .. some even say the newborn scalp will be harder.
But do not over eat as it may cause heat rash to the newborn.. this happens to my boss's child.

i have been eating a lot leh .. cant resist the temptation leh ... but I try to drink lotsa water ... maybe I will update u of my bb's weight when I see my gynae. See if the durian helps

hi i love durians too. but i cant take tt becos of high sugar level. so im not taking as i dun really believe in those benefits. i think a balanced meal will be more than sufficient to a healthy bb.

the book says do not just lie on the bed when u know u just cant get back to sleep. i forgot the reason. tts what i usually do.

edksd,
really? wow never seen that before. usually if i lie down on my side, i will almost fall asleep. i heard that lying on the side will help position your placenta better.

but if u cant get to sleep in any position after 15min, i think it's wise to get up and do something else first. till tired again, then go back to sleep.

yes, lying on the left to be exact. i used to lie on my back when i sleep. but now ive learnt and used to lying on the left.

ilovebabies, my hubby doesn't allow me to eat durian leh.. he doesn't believe that it will make the baby's skull harder this sort of stuff. He says durian is heaty and got high cholesterol..

I miss durian..

Yes, durians are very nutritious for the baby. We can start eating them now or perhaps for those who haven't started, you probably could start at the 7th month. Just a few will do. Not too much or else, baby will be big. And at the 8th month, take coconut water.

I m planning to take durian at the later stage. Right now, the smell of durian turns me off (I used to like durians)

I am looking at the wide range of strollers. I wonder what is best or recommended? Could you gals help me on this? The price range varies from $100 plus to $800 plus. How could i tell if the stroller is good or not? Light better or heavy better? And which brand better?

I think we discuss the stroller stuff briefly before in our thread but I can't find the information i need leh.

Please advise me, this ah blur

edksd & Melissa,

i understand your feelings lah.. me also same same.. so sometimes super worried also.. but the baby's kicks is helping alot.. Me now in week 25 liaoz.. so counting down to week 28 onwards..

But i still shop though, for baby stuff, as i fear i will be too tired by then.. and lucky i did, cos i am starting to feel clumsy & tired easily.. now only left with cot mattress, mobile, stroller, car seat, baby monitor...

edksd,
My blood test in week 10 also revealed high blood sugar, but it was discovered to be a false alarm, but i went through that period of watching my diet.. it was very xin ku and at times, i feel so frustrated as chinese pantang lots cannot eat liaoz, plus all high carbo & white sugar to avoid, so i know how u feel.. hang in there! I even drank birds' nest without rock sugar then, it was so terrible, i had tears rolling down my face everytime meal times come about!!

hi jasmine, how do u know it was false alarm? u did the glucose test and found out? i did the glucose test and confirmed it's gestational diabetes.

i agree it's quite tough in the beginning, but slowly used to it and in fact appreciated it. im big in size, if not for the strict diet, i may put on a lot of weight instead of losing 3kgs an d only putting on the very 1st kg now.

i intend to continue such a diet even after pregnancy. at least now im more conscious abt what i eat. though sometimes i do cheat by eating a bit of my husband's share but i think it's still ok.

at least the weight of the bb is good, my gynae says it shows my diabetes is under control. im quite relieved. as diabetic patient will hv lots of complication.

hi littlepony,

my hubby seems to hv more interest than me in the stroller. initially he was v impressed w stokke but damn expensive, it's like prada in fashion sense :p

so right now our target is quinny buzz. it's much heavier than the rest. but we think it's good and most importantly stable.

a lot of pple recommend aprica or combi. but we feel tt even without the baby sitting on there, the stroller seems to sway here and there when we push it. whereas quinny buzz is more steady, maybe becos of the bigger wheels at the back.

of course other brands are lighter and easier to close in one hand. but to me these are not impt as i dun predict going out w bb alone. even if so, i'll be taking cab, so shldnt be a problem.

i think it's best u go see see look look and get a feel on the many many different types of strollers.

Hi Edksd,
Thanks for your advise. Have written down the different brands to look at. Gosh, it can be quite a research while looking at strollers and car seats.
I have narrowed down the car seat to Maxi Cosi (which other threads say not bad and affordable), and stroller from : Combi, Maclaren, and your Quinny Buzz

Hi edksd,

Ya, i took the glucose test.. after the blood test showed high sugar, i had to do the glucose test, but i passed it.. in between, after blood test & glucose test, i controlled my diet voluntarily.. and it was a relief when i pass the glucose test lor.. Yes, it takes getting used to.. in fact, i eat more healthily also now.. so used to wholemeal bread liaoz..

edksd,
u are right..eating one or two durians..simply no kick at all...i always ended up eating one or two boxes..keke..

for stroller..i like maclaren one...

How much is it considered eating "too sweet"? If I eat the whole packet of Van houten chocolates or a whole packet of Ribena pastilles by myself, am I putting myself to risk of having high sugar? How about eating desserts everyday like Cheng Teng? I know doctor always advise eat in moderation, but how much is "moderate" and how much is "too much"??

smiley

same here .. but I think moderation means not EVERYDAY ? think u gotta listen to your body ...
but I think Cheng Teng is a no-no ! too cooling leh ...

for eg if i am given a box of chocs, i will not finish them all at once ... sometimes it takes me weeks to finish it.