(2006/09) SEPTEMBER 2006 MTB

my current airpot can set temp to 98, 90 or 60 deg cel.

smiley, u can do tt, i think once u're used to 60 deg cel hot water, u roughly will know whether the temperature ok or not before giving to the bb. in the past, pple oso dun use airpot.

where can we rent breast pump? and how do we know whether safe or not huh? a bit worried on the hygenie issue even though we need to sterilise it before use.

I think it should be fine. But the problem is we cannot use boiling water to feed the baby... The water should ideally be 60 degrees.

There is a Zojiroshi electric airpot at Robinsons which boils the water, and then retain it at exactly 60 degrees for formula milk preparation. It is a 3L model and currently selling at $110. There will be a $15 rebate voucher to be used for the next purchase, so it is effectively $95. Not sure if there will be any discount on this during the sale... Otherwise I am quite tempted.

if no choice, then just add room temp water to the boiling water for feeding babies. Use the traditional method of dripping some milk onto our back of our hands to test temp. we will get better by each day !!

edksd, maybe u can ask ur gynae for more advice lor .. meanwhile no squatting and straining (carry heavy things)

77 (peachie),

I can't PM u leh.. u gotta send me an e-mail @[email protected] if u interested in the desitin creamy.. please indicate how many tubes u want (dun get too many ah, 2 tubes should be ok for usage before expiry of ~3rd quarter 2007 or beyond)

I juz sign up for robinsons card but i haven't got any of their brochures about sale leh.. how? Zojiroshi very ex hor? sigh..

BTW,
Ameda pump cannot buy in stores usually right? only thru supplier or via online website (i think is MIM's website)

Daisybuttons,
i referring to avent disposable liners lah.. i hear about it being thin, there are other brands available, i think playtex? is a US brand also, but not available easily in SG. I have stocked up 4 boxes of Avent disposable liners (since kelly of Aug MTB say those mummies once establish milk, can use up more then 100 bags per month!). The price is the attractive point here.. for me lah..though i know it might be thin..

hi edksd,

I know which type of airpot you have. I bought that for my mum last year, she's using that to prepare milk for my baby niece now. That's why I think it is very convenient. However, my hubby thinks that since we would not be at home most of the time after my maternity leave, leaving the airpot on is quite a waste of money. He suggests using the thermal flask, so I guess perhaps I will stick to that till I find it a chore to boil water every time baby is crying for milk. heehee...

hi smiley

I am also using an airpot at home now .. i think the convenience is that u can have hot water as and when you can, esp with babies around. ... in case we forgot to boil water beforehand.

Usually before we sleep or we leave the hse, we will empty the water from the airpot and turn it off to save energy. But appliance which has heating elements will consume more energy, in turn $$. Such as water storage tanks, iron and airpot.

hi smiley, the airpot im using now can set to "on after 6hrs" or "on after 9hrs" so dun hv to worry abt wasting electricity while we're out at work.

hi edksd

but have to warn u that we cannot reboil water that has been boiled before ... saw it in the news think a year or 2 back .. that the so-called reboiled water can be fatal... so you have the feature of the "on after 6 hrs" means it will reboil the water ah ?

Hi Jasmine,

Thanks for the info on the diaper liners. Saw some during the JL sale but din buy... Maybe see whether the Robinsons sale or the baby fair offers any good deals...

By the way, the Zojiroshi airpot which I am keen is not listed as a promotional item in the Robinsons sale booklet. So if your card comes in time, you can pop down either on 17 May or 18 May for a look...

Hi ilovebabies,

I am curious too... why cannot reboil water?

daisybuttons,
the persaltic teat can fit in the wide neck piyo bottle..but not the normal slim piyo bottle hor...
but if u intend to use those normal small teat..then most bottles can fit in..

bf ah??hehe..i'm not a gd example lah..in fact..i'm thinkg if i shd bf this time or not...
i bot avent manual pump..but i dun like it lor...i got blocked ducts..n dunno y,i cant seems to pump out much milk..but it seems ok when my boy latch on directly...

i tried medela mini...n i find it painful...n i hve tried ameda too..i find tt it is more gentle...n cos it is dual..can pump both at the same time...

n cos tt time i stingy lor...hence did not invest in ameda pump..so in end,i oni partial bf...i oni let my boy latch on 2 to 3 times a day..n in the middle of the night...

bf is convenient in way tt u no need to wake up in the middle of the night to make milk..can just lie down n bf ur bb...n u can just go to sleep...

n of cos due to bf pregnancy,i hve sagging breasts lor..so suay lor..

peachie,
reboil water is not gd...cos aft boiling,the water is considered dead water...n this type water is not gd for bbs n even old pple...n it will make them age faster...
i will usu change the water in my airport everyday,if not,i will definitely make sure tt change it aft 2 days...

edksd,
u ask abt bbsafe bed sheet n cot bumpber earlier right?
no need to buy theirs lah..other brand one can fit the mattress too..but u must look at the size lor...
i got bbsafe bedsheet,cos i like the pooh design..n i like lollipop cot bumper cos i find tt it is thicker...
but for now,no need for cot bumper cos bb still dunno how to turn yet...

Hi forgetmenot,

Thanks for the advice about reboiling water!

By the way, saw this article about cot bumper pads some time ago, and thought it may be useful to share.

Crib Bumper Pads
=============================================

1) Are They Safe?
Crib bumper pads are a very common baby product, and parents often use bumper pads thinking they are increasing the safety of their child's crib. However, many health agencies and Sudden Infant Death Syndrome (SIDS) awareness groups are now recommending that parents skip the crib bumper, saying the need for crib bumpers has passed and that using these products may actually put children at greater risk for suffocation or death.

2) Why Do We Use Crib Bumper Pads?
Crib bumper pads became popular in older-style cribs where the slats were far enough apart that a baby's head could become trapped between the slats, posing a suffocation risk. Today, all cribs sold in the United States and Canada are required to have slats close enough together that it's nearly impossible for an infant's head to fit through. So why do we still use the crib bumper pads? For some parents, the reason may be as simple as liking the way the bumper pad looks. The matched crib bedding sets in stores are often cute and the package deal makes for a nice coordinated nursery. Other parents are worried about their child's arms and legs sticking through the crib sides, and some worry that the baby will hit his or her head on the crib sides and cause injury. According to Health Canada, it is nearly impossible for an infant to hit his or her head hard enough on the crib to cause bruising or injury. Health Canada also reports that serious injury is not likely when a child puts his or her arms and legs through the crib slats. The baby will either remove their arm or leg from the slats if possible, or make enough noise to alert a parent for help.

3) Which Groups Have Recommended Against Bumper Pads?
Some major children's safety organizations have recently suggested that parents and child care providers should remove crib bumper pads from baby cribs. The groups include: American Academy of Pediatrics, Health Canada, National Center for Health and Safety in Child Care, the Consumer Product Safety Commission and the First Candle/National SIDS Alliance. Some state and regional Back to Sleep campaigns now recommend removing bumper pads, as well.

4) Why Do These Groups Recommend Against Crib Bumper Pads?
One reason child safety organizations recommend against crib bumpers is that they pose a risk of suffocation. Just like a pillow or thick blanket, crib bumper pads can restrict a baby's breathing if the bumper is up next to the baby's nose or mouth. Suffocation risk is greatest when babies are very young and unable to move themselves away from potential hazards.
Rebreathing of air is another concern with crib bumper pads. The bumper reduces the flow of fresh air around baby during sleep. The American Academy of Pediatrics suggests that some infants, when they are overheated or lack sufficient oxygen during sleep, are unable to arouse themselves enough to prevent hypoxia and death. The AAP states that re-breathing of air may in fact be a contributing factor to SIDS.

5) Solutions
Since many infant safety organizations now recommend that nothing be inside the crib at all, the safest route for parents and babies would be to remove crib bumper pads altogether. For day care centers, the push for increased sleep safety may soon result in states mandating that child care providers no longer use crib bumper pads. For parents who are still concerned about their child sticking arms and legs through the crib slats, and feel that they must use a bumper pad, there are new mesh crib bumpers on the market today that allow more air to flow through the crib.

Hey peachie,

i reply your mail liaoz! juz let u know.. i heard from other mummies that for cheaper diaper barrier cream, they alternate with J&J diaper cream, but once kanna rashes, Desitin is still the best treatment.. not the creamy one, but there is one 40% zinc oxide content one, which is extremely difficult to apply on daily basis, & stinks.. but, it works very well on baby who already kanna rashes on butt..

I was given 2 sets of bumper pads when I purchased my 2 cribs. After reading the article, I decided against using them. However, my mom insisted on using bumper pads so that her grandson will not have any bruises from knocks against the guard rails. Haiz. Not easy to bridge the generation gap sometimes. So when the kid is at my home, there will be no bumper pad. But once I bring him to my mom's place on weekdays, I cannot stop her from using them.

By the way, just received Isetan sale flyer... They offering Medela PIS pump as well during the private sale on 18 May. Slightly cheaper than what Robinsons is offering - $668 (with 3% off for members). It is exactly the same with a free thermometer thrown in. For those interested, this is another option.

Hi Jasmine,

Thanks for the quick reply!!!
Guess I will self collect. Just let me know the time and location convenient for you. I am arranging to TT funds over now...

hi peachie, any idea what time does the private sales start at isetan?

duno whether to buy the PIS on tt day or wait till GSS leh. duno will GSS be offering a much better discount?

hi peachie, actually if we tie the bumper pad properly, will it still cause suffocation?

im thinking of just getting 1 set. daytime will put coz daytime, we're ard most of the time can check and make sure everything is ok.

then night time take it away since we'll be sound asleep, might not notice if anything is not right.

i do not remember the actual scientific reason for reboiled water but I only remember we should not drink them.
I change the water in my airpot everyday lor.

i still think the bumper pad is good leh, cos some bb grows v fast and they may start turning in the cot. W/O this pad, they may injure themselves ?
I tot as long as we tie them properly it should not pose any danger to the bb ?

any place selling nice bumper pad? i prefer those which are more pastel colored and plain design (eg. just one cartoon in the middle) rather than repeated design of the cartoon everywhere.

Hi peachie, I agree with edksd, if tie properly, should be quite safe. I have seen videos of my fren's daughter where she does not use any bumper pads and her baby's tiny legs kept kicking the crib and sometimes the legs stick out in between the slats and I think that's even more dangerous. You know how hard babies kick sometimes.

smiley

from what u described, I think better get the bumper pads. and some family already having kids, it is also a good way to keep the bb away from these kids.

They may just put their hands into the cot and disturb the bb.

i think whichever decision we make (on whether bumper pads r good or not), i think most importantly, we need to keep a lookout or be full alert when we are taking care of our baby.
We need to understand that not all baby stuff are fully safe..we just have to be more careful, that's all.

Hi edksd,

Cannot remember offhand when the Isetan sale starts on Thurs. Let me go back and check and I let you know tomorrow.

There is much more discount on all infant items for the Isetan sale than the Robinsons one... So will be popping by for a look. Maybe will take 1 day leave on Thurs.

Hi ilovebabies, smiley and edksd,

Thanks for the advice about the crib bumper pads. My husband also suggested that maybe can start using after the kid is more than 6 mths old. By the the risk of SIDS is significantly reduced and the kid will kick more vigorously. See first. Saw some nice ones at Seiyu last week with 20% off.

yah loh.. ilovebabies, that's also true.. Little kids can be quite curious. Don't want to risk them taking any things to try to poke the baby from outside through the slats..

hi edksd and peachie,
Yes, the preview to Isetan Mid Year Sale is on 18 May (this thursday) from 9am-10pm. This event at Isetan Scotts is open exclusively for Isetan cardholders and guests only.

Hi Smiley,
As for me, i will let my baby sleep in the cot. I won't go for yao lan. But i do have a musical baby swing at home. Perhaps will let baby sleep in the swing if he is comfortable.

Smiley

i will let my bb sleep in the cot for the first few mths then she can sleep in the yao lan after that. My nieces and nephew all go through this stage and they handled it very well. In fact the bb sleep longer in yao lan.

you all started purchasing baby stuff already? that is very early... I haven't bought a single thing yet.... Will only start my shopping in Jun/Jul during GSS coz my room doesn't have any space to put additional stuff...

Long time din log in bcos my gal and hubby have fallen sick so took leave to look after them.

Yday went for my detailed scan and glad that i have passed.*phew*
My next gynae appt will b in 1 mth time.Dunno why,instead of 3 wks, my gynae extended 1 more wk.

Wow, u all got so many stuffs for ur little one. I havent start buying yet but i guess i wont be buying much as i will use those hands me down since my 2nd one is a gal.

I think I will also let baby sleep in the cot first, then transfer to yao lan.. ilovebabies, are you buying the stand or are you drilling a hole through the ceiling to hang the yao lan?

elmo,

gong xi gong xi !!

smiley

my mum's hse has two yao lans that is drilled to celings. my sis got the mobile yao lan which she will pass to me. u leh ? the mobile one is quite sturdy as the base is big, so dun worry

hi skyloppy

wonder if this mini fridge is heavy ? do u know the weight ? it can be folded when not in use ?

cant imagine I carry this fridge and breast pump to work everyday leh ...

wat u gals thnk ?

ilovebabies,

I got the pack & go from last bulk purchase.. quite light..is actually canvas material with some cooling pack build in..same for minifridge..the mini fridge looks good siah... so tempting..i know what u mean.. plus, i normally carry my laptop.. i can't imagine manz...

Isetan sale starts 9am on thursday!

ilovebabies, my hubby is thinking of getting the mobile one with the stand becoz he doesn't really like the idea of drilling hole in the ceiling in the master bedroom. But we find the mobile one a bit bulky coz the base is, like you mentioned, quite big. So we are still considering both options loh.. My mum says baby's head will be nicer sleeping in yao lan, and easier to get the baby to sleep loh..

hi jasmine ..

thanks. but wonder if the fridge alone without milk is heavy. But it looks tempting .. cos my pantry fridge is miserable .. dun think I want to mix them with my breast milk.

I am getting more info of this fridge on the other thread. Will post here once I get them.

Smiley

my hubby also dun like the idea of drilling. mobile is good mah, can watch over the bb even when we are in living room.

my mum's theory is that bb will sleep longer in yao lan so they grow better lor ...

and if you think u wont be moving hse, then drill to celing lor ... cos I think hse value will drop if there are many drilled holes ... hmm I think lah ...

more info on the mini fridge

- weighs abt 1kg
- only color = white
- payment via internet bank transfer
- collection via meetup (venue not confirmed)
- fridge can be folded when not in use

helo forgetmenot, thanks for the info.
made me feel more confirm on buying an ameda hehehe. i did feel the medela suction cup, my hubby say it feels so hard. was wondering will it be too hard on our breasts. now that u say its painful, i wun buy liaoz...hehehee.

peachie, thanks for the info on bumper cots. very interesting hhmhmmmm.....

edksd, isetan private sale is on this thur, think starts at 9am if i not wrong. but be warned, hehehe the queue to get in prob starts forming at 8am. during the last private sale i reached there at 9plus. the queue already snaked all the way to the office lift lobby, and wound round 2-3 times.

helo ilovebabies, if we put only 2 bottles into this mini fridge will it topple?

ladies, check with u one thing. i thinking whether wanna buy this moses basket a not. its like a little basket crib that stands on a stand. to be put in ur room next to ur bed. mothercare sells them, but with the stand think starts from $200, very exp. do you girls know if i can get moses basket plus stand anywhere else cheaper? thanks..