(2006/09) SEPTEMBER 2006 MTB

hmm.. the forum a bit quiet today...

Any of u were told not to visit the zoo when u're pregnant? Any logical reasons other than the old wives' tale abt the danger of ur kid looking like the animals there?? I'm planning to go in a couple of weeks' time.. tatz why asking.

puppylove,
If you're not so superstitous go ahead lah. But don't overtire yourself ok the zoo is such a big place. Take the tram. I don't have to go to the zoo, just switch on Animal Planet, can see a lot of animals already. Does it make a lot of difference?

bijou,
Your development progress seems quite fast hor. I haven't measured my tummy yet. A little scared. Pre-pregnancy, I'm already using size 33 jeans. I'm big. I'm also envious that you get to feel the baby already.

E-ling,
I'm with you. If i put my palms on my tummy I'd think it's my heartbeat too b'cos your veins runs through your fingers too. It's consistent to my own heartbeat. Then again my bb is always facing upwards or downwards. Unless it's facing to me, backside facing tummy, I'm sure we can feel the heartbeat that way.

hehe puppylove ... ya i heard of such horror stories also .... esp snakes !! but I try not to look at them lor ..

i have increased by 7 inches eversince I got pregnant leh .. am I fat ?

edksd,
my gynae never said cannot but she said try to avoid it b'cos it's canned food and contains lots of nitrites (or was it nitrates) so if you crave for it, eat it moderately like once a week? once a month? should be ok then.

hi Melissa,
hahaha!! oops, i watch Animal Planet too!!

no lah, i'm not the superstitious type. Juz wondering if there're other reasons like too much germs at the zoo or something...

ilovebabies,
i oso increased 7 inches! i assume u measured round the fattest part of ur tummy right? 'cos i dunno where's my waist now!

hahaha ok ok i am pregnant ....

eh tell u all, i can still find my waist from behind ... so I know where is my waist .. so I measure from there lor ...

I can feel the bb's heartbeat without placing the palm on the tummy... The feeling is like something beating very fast inside your stomach. Did anyone feel something similar?

I put on about 5kg so far leh. Hope I won't go beyond 10kg...

Anyone drinking green tea? Heard that it contains a lot of caffeine. Wondering if it is safe to drink.

hi amylim

wow u r one level abv us !! can feel it !

ya I am also trying to control the wt gain within 10kg.

I stop drinking all types of tea now .. but sometimes I may drink a few sips of canned green tea when hubby is taking ...

edksd,
most canned food but not all. as long as it's preserved and processed, they're to be taken as minimal as possible. like i say, take enough to soothe your cravings, if any. my gynae also say, avoid big fishes like tuna, etc.

gd morning mommies..
401983.gif

FUAH..u gals aredi start measuring the waist huh??i haven leh...dun dare to accept e face that it has grown so many inches more..hehe

once a while i do feel baby heartbeat putting my palm on tummy..v amazing feeling..

ilovebabies,heard tat preggies can drink camomile tea i thk..my fren bot me a packet of camomile flower tea from moms in mind..quite nice..v calming after drinking

hi edksd,
i stil do eat sardine...after preggie i found out tat sardine is actualy sooo yummy...duno isit appetite changed

anylim, I also stop drinking all types of tea. But sometimes I will drink canned green tea also ... but i do drink alot of cold drink. Is it ok to drink cold drink?

I cant feel my bb heartbeat at all, can only fel my heartbeat.

yah me too. I will still be able to see and find my waistline though have increased 6 inches

hi eling,
not too much cold drink leh..my mama say bb wil get cold cough..bt can understand somex cannot tahan cos e weather sooo hot..

Morning! It's raining and such a nice weather to sleep in but hoh, have to work. So sian!

Eling, try not to take too much cold drinks. reason being, worry bb will cough next time. But hoh, weather so hot.. how to control? I just avoided the ice. I drink ribena, which is said to be good as well.

Oh.. if you can find big purple grapes.. buy them and eat it. Old wives' tale: eat more such grapes, baby's eyes will be big and bright!

I only feel only my heartbeat as well. Haaa! and err.. i haven't measure my waistline. haa!

pjen and littlepony, yah is becos the weather too hot, just couldnt control the feeling of drinking cold water. Yah i also drink ribena but will put alot of ice, is just that i dont eat the ices also.

hmmz... i ate alot of kind of noodles also. Almost everyday. Is it ok huh?? Heard that bb will born yellow in skin color, but dunno true or not.

yeah eling,thats e myth tat eat yellow noodles wil eventually cause bb to hv jaundice lor...bt in fact yellow noodles contains yeast wic is not too gd for foetus

Yes.. yellow noodles should be avoided. And less instant noodles as well. Like pjen says, it will coause bb to have jaundice. Therefore, refrain from those noodles.. try bee hoon or kway teow.. they should be fine!

wah so many posts ...

i guess we can eat all stuff lah, just do it in moderation ...

i know some no-nos are bananas, pineapples, smoking, alcohol. the rest is up to you and not to take it so often lor ...

yap.. the list of 'no-nos' seems to get longer and longer... haa! yes .. like what ilovebabies say.. we just do it moderately.. and i think should be fine. If you have craving for something, just go eat it!

little pony

yes ! but hor i also agree sometimes I have craving for instant noodles !! so sinful now .. but i dont have the habit of drinking the soup ...

ilovebabies,
me too! i put half of the seasoning only.. just to make sure i don't get too much msg. but yes, i have craving for instant noodles at times.. they can be quite delicious with egg as well! haaa!

littlepony, ilovebabies,

Nowadays instant noodles without MSG is selling in the market. Check out Super or Koka brand. Sometimes when I had to work overtime, I had to rely on instant noodles too. At least avoid buying those with MSG.

Just measured my waist/belly yesterday. I am 33" now. Up from 28". So I only gained about 5". But my hubby's waist is 38" leh. Then he smile shyly. Asked me when I can catch up with him!

melissa,
ya hoh! I saw the ad on Koka without MSG instant noodles. how come i never tot of stocking them up huh? i mean, sometimes.. i do eat instant noodles as well. i should go and buy those instead. Thanks for reminding me!
Huh.. u still work overtime?? do take care!

Aiyah.. i better go home and measure mine as well... my mum ransacked her wardrobe and pass me some of her clothes. haaa. i think i am tempted to wear my hubby's clothings too!

u gals wearing maternity clothes yet? i find my current size neither here nor there... can't really fit into my normal tops anymore, but not big enough for proper maternity tops. Hv switched to mat.pants a couple of wks ago though... Wore a baby doll-type of top to work today, which seems to make my tummy look bigger than it really is!

i haven't wear yet. same like you, i can't fit into normal tops and pants.. but yet, not big enough for maternity clothings.. and yes, if you wear baby doll top.. it makes your tummy bigger.. becos of the gatherings of the top.. but most important, you must feel comfortable.. and don't wear too tight.

hmm... how abt underwear? Do u just buy what u normally wear, but in larger sizes? I've seen maternity shops selling bras n panties but not sure what's the diff fr the 'normal' ones.

Thinking of getting bra extensions (not sure if this is the correct term) 'cos currently the cup size can still fit but the length a bit too tight loh... Any advice?

me too craving for instant noodle but i also nv drink much of the soup. I also cannot wear most my my clothes and all my pant and shirt le

puppylove, yah u can buy the bra extension, i also got three (different colour) for my exisiting bra. cos all my bra is too tight le. Even the big also not big enough to wear le but just wanna save so just bought bra extension for now. But i did bought one maternity bra also.
As for panties i still wear my existing one is only that i wearing it below my belly so will not be so tight and uncomfortable.

helo helo ladies, its a rainy day, so nice to sleep hor? :eek:

puppylove, yes since its the length thats tight u shld get bra extensions. i bought about 6 of them liaoz, coz i keep misplacing it hehehehe! i do have one maternity bra though, but i find the cup not that smooth so some clothes cannot wear that. as for underwear, i just wear the slightly more comfy ones that i already have, but as mine is below waist its okie...

littlepony, yep yep, koka got no msg instant noodles. but i tried the tom yam one, not nice leh. can't try other flavour liaoz coz boo hooo....my hubby dun let me eat instant noodles now. :p he will give me an accusing look when i browsing the supermkt for them. and though our house have the koka one, i need to persuade him very long before he lets me eat one packet, and thats the only packet i ate so far... anyone tried the spicy sesame before? looks nice leh....hehehehe...

huh?? yellow noodles got yeast so cannot eat. oh dear, i didn't know that ah. hhmmm...okie okie, moderation....after reading this, just changed my lunch order to kuay tiao hehehee.

ya I saw the Koka ad .. but I was thinking to myself how true can it be ? cos I tot it is the msg that makes up the addictive flavour ??
anyway will give it a try lah hor !!

I have not wear proper maternity wear except mat. pants and tops .. I think it looks nicer also ... but as we prog to 3rd trim.. cannot afford to look pretty everyday liao ,.. cos the tummy will be so big and we look kinda clumsy then eheh ....

I only bought some new panties that is under the tummy line ....

I went to see some maternity bras .. but I dont really like it as it doesnt comes with wire support .... i scared makes our enlarged breast looks sagging .... what u gals think ??

hey gals, where did u get the bra extension ?

ilovebabies, I bought my maternity bras from Perfect Mum. Can be use for nursing also. You can go and take a look when u r free, there's wire support and the sales person says we could take out the wire if we want to in future. Cost ard $55 (if I didn't rem wrongly) And they give free bra extension if u purchase 3 bra......

Chng's wife ... tks ...

Where is PERFECT MUM btw ?
My fren highly recommend the shop in KK. She said Zoe Tay used to patronise this store also. And my fren said the maternity bras are v good quality and she still wears it even after she delivered. but it is quite ex .. cost abt $70 she says.

anyway will go take a look.

helo ilovebabies, think most maternity bras dun come with underwire coz that will restrict the growth of our milk ducts. actually i dun like the underwire bras now coz they feel so hard.

maternity pants and tops ARE proper maternity wear what....hehehe what u mean? u are referring to those huge maternity dresses ah? think they not in fashion anymore...

i think the koka noodles really no msg leh, coz the taste really different, the kick not really there, or perhaps its coz i didn't put one full packet that day lah hehehee.

pjen and edksd, careful about chamomile tea. if u are in 2nd tri is okie, but 1st tri i think chamomile as an essential oil is to be avoided. coz it is an Emmenagogue, meaning it promotes menses, thus shld be avoided in early pregnancy. but 2nd tri onwards, it is one of the oils recommended to calm preggie mums, so okie...i assume that the herbal tea has the same properties as the oil...

wah i thot i e only sinful one eat maggie mee..keke quite a no. of u oso like tat..

hi puppylove,
me oso haven start maternity wear...oni bot baby doll tops n dresses frm mphosis...like wat u say lor..nw our size neither here or there..so sometimes stil wear my current workg tops...showing tummy bulging out..heck la..keke

oh ya bra extension can get at maternity shops

There's one at International Plaza and one at Suntec (family link). The one I bought looks like those normal bras, but in fact is actually maternity. And the best is the straps are detachable! Hehe

Perfect Mum is in suntec. I patronise Spring Maternity as well. The salesgirl very helpful.

You can get bra extension at the lingerie department at any department stores. I've got mine at Robinson. Err? they come in colors? I have two in skin color. I didn't buy any maternity bras as well. As for panties, mine is usually under tummy line.. so i am still wearing those.

Daisybuttons, your husband so sweet. haa! Well, it's right not to take instant noodles. i only eat them when my husband not around ... haaa!

huh daisybuttons,
really meh???aiyo heng i oni drink once during 1st trimester..

ilovebabies,who u work & stay?
perfect mum is located in 3 plcs
1)raffles plc - the arcade
2)international plaza
3)Kovan heartland mall

tks gals !! i will start buying them ...

daisybuttons .. eheh u r right lah ... those dresses lor ... u know what I mean lah .. I do have a lot of those dresses from my sis which are quite nice and very new ... but i just dun feel like wearing it now ... hehe v hiao hor !

some col also commented my maternity wear v trendy ahahah probably they are so used to those dresses type ...

btw the shop name in KK is call OIO. Details below:

#01-17
0I0 Maternity
Maternity apparel and accessories including lingerie and swimwear.
TEl: 6299 3935

ilovebabies
you are right. When come to 3rd tri, you find yourself so clumsy and ugly. Hahaha..and you dun borther abt what to wear anymore. Only during 2nd tri..u still hve the engery to doll up urself.

Eling - I tot im the only 1 who show tat fast, you are also showing huh. I am always on my maternity pant and normal top now.

Ladies, I'm going for my detailed scan on 2 May 06. Wat are we to look out for during the detailed scan huh?? Like NT scan is for down syndrome...how abt detailed scan?

chng's wife, are the bras comfy ah? coz i trying to image bras with underwire and yet comfy leh. now hor, even with bra extension, i feel my bras so uncomfortable and tight i sometimes undo them in the office hehehe. :p

pjen, yep, thats what i read when researching about safe/unsafe essential oils during pregnancy.

littlepony, hehehee yah he's sweet in this way loh, will forbid me from eating things he feel no healthy. but he try to accomodate me if the things are not too bad lah, coz he also scared coz his mum scold him before, she told him now whatever i wanna eat better let me eat hahahhaa. :p